You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
A DUP MP has hit out at “lefty Lineker” as the Match of the Day presenter continues to stand by his criticism of the UK government’s immigration policy.
Gary Lineker told reporters outside his London home this morning that he does not fear suspension by the BBC.
Lineker has faced criticism from members of the Tory party after comparing the language used to launch the immigration policy with 1930s Germany.
He accused the UK Home Secretary Suella Braverman of promoting an “immeasurably cruel policy directed at the most vulnerable people in language that is not dissimilar to that used by Germany in the 30s”.
Announcing the plans in the Commons earlier this week, Braverman said asylum seekers arriving illegally in the UK will be detained without bail or judicial review for 28 days before being “swiftly removed” to their home country or a “safe third country” such as Rwanda.
They face a lifetime ban on returning once deported and will never be allowed to settle in the country or gain citizenship.
Responding to a message on Twitter, Linker said: “There is no huge influx [in asylum seekers]. We take far fewer refugees than other major European countries.
“This is just an immeasurably cruel policy directed at the most vulnerable people in language that is not dissimilar to that used by Germany in the 30s, and I’m out of order?”
Speaking outside his home this morning, Lineker was asked “do you stand by what you said in your tweet?” to which he replied “course”.
When asked “do you fear getting suspended?”, Lineker told reporters “no”.
BREAKING: Gary Lineker says he stands by his comments after he criticised the government's Illegal Migration Bill as "immeasurably cruel" and compared language used to announce it as "not dissimilar to that used by Germany in the 30s"https://t.co/UYxDZtltHk
A BBC source previously told the PA news agency the corporation was taking the matter “seriously” and expects to have a “frank conversation” with Lineker.
Speaking in the Commons earlier today, UK Culture Secretary Lucy Frazer said it was important for the BBC to maintain impartiality if it is to “retain the trust of the public who pay the licence fee”.
She added: “As somebody whose grandmother escaped Nazi Germany in the 1930s, I think it’s really disappointing and inappropriate to compare government policy on immigration to events in Germany in the 1930s.”
DUP MP for East Derry Gregory Campbell later called for “lefty Lineker” to face a salary reduction.
Last year he was named as the BBC’s top earning on-air talent for the fifth consecutive year, and was paid between £1,350,000 and £1,354,999 in 2021/2022 for Match Of The Day and Sports Personality Of The Year.
Campbell told the Commons: “Will she (UK Culture Secretary Lucy Frazer) meet again with the director general to ensure that the BBC reviews the contracts of well-known multimillionaire lefty (Gary) Lineker, who presents himself as a sports presenter with very scandalous views about Government policy.
“And decide whether he is a sports presenter or a political pundit and whether he should be paid about £1.3 million less than he currently is from the public purse?”
Culture Secretary Lucy Frazer replied: “I think I made my views on this subject clear. The BBC has a ten-point plan in relation to impartiality, but it is absolutely important that it maintains impartiality so that the public retains trust in it.”
BBC director-general Tim Davie warned staff about their use of social media when he took on the role at the end of 2020, and guidelines around social media use have since been updated.
Staff were told they needed to follow editorial guidelines and editorial oversight in the same way as when doing BBC content.
Lineker is a freelance broadcaster for the BBC, not a permanent member of staff, and is not responsible for news or political content so does not need to adhere to the same rules on impartiality.
A representative for Lineker declined to comment further.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
38 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
This Govt has no balls… They all talked the great talk to get elected… Frankfurts way… Not any cent more to Anglo… Etc etc etc… Where are we now? Up to our necks in a recession money being drained from an already struggling economy and the only one to win…. Bankers and bond holders!
As interest rates in Europe fall, Ireland’s rise… Enda says that they can’t interfere with banking policy… Noonan says that the banks must return to profitability!
My question is when they return to profitability will they re- align themselves with ECB rates? Or will Enda and the boys finally grow a pair and insist that this be the case.
Not a snowballs chance in hell will they. Our politicians are corrupt. They are self serving in the way that they won’t upset big business because when their political career collapses that’s where they turn next for The big pay packets to supplement their bulging pensions… The nations people can rot as long as that fool Kenny and the other p***ks with him in Kildare st are set for life while we are set for depression in Ireland and depression in our homes…
Look at the relationship between AIB in particular and government. That’s tells you all you need to know and why my local FG TD will not have my vits next time out
Good luck to my poor compatriots of this god forsaken country but i’m outta here in the next couple of months….
Tax the downtrodden and bail out the wealthy.. I’ve had enough!!
I’ve a mortgage , and to hell with them all….. I’ll start again in a new country,,,,,, bunch of liars cheats and back slappers,,,,
Connolly,Griffith, Pierce and Dev, let alone Collins must be doing somersaults in their graves, as the men and women that represent their ideals dance merrily on their graves!!!
Return to profitability. A special land , the promised place. Not so long ago they were all there and where was the benefit to their mortgage customers , now they’ve been in trouble we must buy into to this vision if profitable banks so we CAN KEEP PAYING, what changes for people , oh my cynic awakes YES it has changed now we pay tax on top of out of line interest rates. It’s okay though because thank The Lord Enda and his group of merry men penalty diving TDs can’t intervene in banking policy , imagine if they could help , the trouble , the disaster , they would yield.
Best way to complain = don’t vote for labour, ff or fg ever ever ever again. No matter if you think the politician running locally is good, if they’re in any of those parties, don’t vote for them.
This government unfortunately was voted in by the people and so we have to suffer them.
Just don’t forget when the next election comes around, and please, have some balls yourselves and go out and vote for anyone else but ff, fg or labour.
And just to add to the list of ‘Bankers first’ government, just look at the way our credit unions are being screwed by the proposed (& being steamrollered) personal bankruptcy rules. Rather than share a fair pro rata percentage of write downs, credit unions are being told they will lose 100% & banks get 1st rights to any remaining value.
As has been said already, it was banks’ that were responsible for reckless lending on a property Pyramid scam, not credit unions. But who pays? Again, not the banks or their executives, but the rest of us.
So whose interests are the political leaders & senior public servants actually representing? Looks like the bankers & their own again, not ours. By any definition, this is not democracy.
I suggest that before we do anything else, we demand a right of referendum to be able to cancel a government that does not do what is said it would, & have a new general election.
Sealing a government in place for 4 years to take decisions of massive & far reaching importance, for which they have no mandate, is not democracy.
When a politician makes a pre election promise (such as the BS FG/ Lab promises about Anglo Irish) they must be required to sign a legal undertaking to act on that promise or be forced to resign. FG/ Labour knew they were going to sell this country down the river and lied through their teeth.
Well there you have it. A bunch of low life liars protecting their “buddies” in the banking sector.
These liars are determined to do as much damage as possible.
Let’s see the hacks spin this shite.
Don’t mention manifestos … Before last election both FG and Smoked Salmon labour said that there would be no rise on the 3rd level Reg fee .. By the time their term on office is up it will have gone from 1600 to 3000 euros…. That’s what piss’s people off with politicians and as I was informed by my local TD from the Labour party before the election that Labour in Government with or with out anybody else would protect education I now could not give two hoots about the next election
Excellent article. However I think the biggest problem facing Ireland is that there is no proper mechanism, other than armed insurrection, to remove corrupt, inefficient, or just plain disobedient governments. There is endless back and forth on this forum about, well you voted for them, sap – etc. Etc. There is room for a citizens petition to the EU, however you must have exhausted local remedies! No matter who voted for who, I can guarantee NO-ONE signed up for what we now have.
Sheik,
Mass civil disobedience is a hugely powerful force if the necessary numbers can be found to make a stand. A national mortgage strike would bring the government down in a matter of weeks.
No Our People voted this current Govt in under false pretenses, not 1 red cent & the 5 point plan shite, now look were thst has got Us as soon as thry got into Power all promises null & void. Fianna Fail Fine Gael both the same & as for the party of the working class Labour they will face same fate as the pds & greens come next election & watch this space ff/fg coalition next time around as they are 1 of the same anyway as has been proven by fg implementing ffs policies from their failed Governance.
False pretences Ritchie? Nearly half the country voted FG and obviously didnt bother to read their manifesto. FG are leading a gov doing what they said they would, mind the rich and screw the rest of us. Wait till they sell out assets, we’ll be rightly screwed then. Hopefully labour won’t prop them up much longer…..
I didn’t hear this crowd complaining when Bertie was handing them money hand over fist. Strange I’m thinking, because this money was being handed out at the same time house prices were going through the roof. I suppose it was easy to turn a blind eye to all this though, when benchmarking was the only game in town.
The money that was being dished out to nurses during Bertie’s watch was stamp duty income, so it’s not very surprising that the INMO had so little to say about the property bubble at the time.
The sad thing is Richie that it will all happen again next time with the promises and the propaganda. “We will fix this and right the wrongs…” blah blah blah. The Irish people are sheep with bad memories. Also it doesn’t help that there is nobody to vote for. All wannabe governments are of for themselves an their wealthy friends fires. The public is nowhere bear the radar. I GUARANTEE this will all happen again next general election. All mouth from all parties and independents but just more b@astards at the trough.
Great article, it should be engraved into the walls of the Dail. It’s the complete opposite of Robin Hood except there was very little fighting. I dread the day when I have to explain to my children how we let these eejits take everything from us because they lost all their money and wanted to stay rich.
Eric,
Every person in Ireland who bought a home to live in from around 1999 to 2007 or so was ripped off to a greater or lesser degree. This problem needs to addressed if the country is to recover. A large part of this mortgage debt will not be repaid as it cannot be repaid. The banks played a large part in the exploitation of ordinary people and must be made to shoulder some of the burden. It should be remembered also that their massive speculation on commercial property caused every Irish bank to collapse into an insolvent heap in 2008, years before the ordinary people began to default on their residential mortgages. The bill for the collapse of that banks was handed to those very same home owners along with everyone else in Irish society.
Ireland has tried to preserve the banks as private concerns with the injection of 100 billion (including NAMA) or so of public money in the past 5 years and it has broken us economically. We cannot continue with this illusion that the banks can be saved as private profit making institutions and the policy of placing the interests of the parasitic banks over the welfare of the people.
The retail banking system needs to be nationalised properly. The banking function should be retained for the benefit of the people and not left in the hands of free market capitalism. This would involve a true nationalisation of the banks where the banks are run for the general good of society and not for short term profiteering. Nationalisation would allow the state/people to collectively benefit from the relatively easy profits to be made from the banking utility as well as enforcing proper regulation so that the self destructive pursuit of short term profits at the expense of long term stability is eliminated. The banking institutions could be run as separate entities and measured against each other to preserve competition and maintain efficiency but the controlling stake in each would be held by the state and its citizens.
The bank nationalisation would also allow us to deal with the looming mortgage default crisis in a holistic manner. Mortgages in trouble will be restructured, extended and written down as appropriate to keep families in their homes. Investment properties can be repossessed and used for social housing needs for example. If other institutions or people choose to engage in investment banking and trade in the riskier instruments of financial capitalism then so be it. But they will do so at their own peril and will not be bailed out with once cent of the citizen’s money if they incur losses in their speculation.
Always thought it is only matter of time before someone is pushed too far loses everything and takes one of the bankers out. Wouldn’t pretend to be upset if someone put a few bullets into Seany or Fingers.
Various proposals such as the one above have been floated and rejected for one straightforward reason, they all require banks to accept write downs of outstanding loans across classes of borrowers. Their insistence on write downs on an individual case by case basis allows them to pretend every other distressed loan in similar circumstances is still an asset that may yield its proper return over time. Should they ever had to agree to the proposals set out by the INMO it would expose their balance sheets as works of absurd optimism if not outright fiction. They are secure in the knowledge that nobody in any official or regulatory position, whether in Government, in the Dept of Finance or in the Central Bank will ever permit allow such a burden be imposed on them. It is reminiscent of Vichy France, our leaders are collaborating with the enemy.
I like the article but unfortunately the unions in this country are also more than partly to blame. They supped at the table of Ahearn and co. for the sake of their own pockets and now those roosters are coming home to roost as they say.
Heard a load of td’s got their bank debts wrote off…..this would explain why the people of this country are been treated the way they are…..next time you meet one of your bank’s workers ask them about the rumours going around the staff. One of mine was very informative.
Yes, so far the banks have won, but the game was fixed. Banks have the ability to “buy” politicians and even entire political parties. You can’t except teachers, self important hearse chasers and all the rest who have been getting money from banks since their collage days to stand up for people who they only have to fool once every five years. its a good bet for a gambler to rig the play so that even when he looses he wins. Since the days of beef barons straight through the church scandals and now for the second time a bank bailout the person who pays is never the one making donations to politicians.
There is a simple weapon in the ordinary citizens armoury but too few have the balls to follow it through, and that’s to halt the repayment of every loan, credit card and mortgage to financial institutions and i suggest that we’d have a solution on the table from banks within 5 months. Problem is we’d need at least 500,000 as a minimum figure to make it work, and there’s too much fear out there for people to give it a shot.
Ehh, no, the biggest problem facing me is that even though I did not speculate on the property market during the boom, i have to pay higher taxes to cover for peoples property speculation loses. That’s the biggest problem facing me. I couln’t care one bit about any other problem that is not relevant to me.
And there we have it ladies and gentlemen͵ the reason why we‘re being so easily trodden on as a nation. Typical me-feiner attitude there buddy. Bet when Iceland sorted their situation out there was some bigger thinking involved than “I only care about my situation“. Have you considered running for election? You‘d fit right in upstairs at the big house.
‘Ahh me feiner’ ‘ ahh begreudgery’ …Is that all Irish people have to say?
Well Sarah, this country was destroyed by FF and I have completely given up on it. I will not raise my children here as I am lucky enough (intelligent enough) to not have bought a silly little cardboard box in rainy, dull backward, religiously-controlled Ireland for e400k.
I am here working in the tech sector and am earning a nice salary well above the average, but as I said my biggest problem is with my taxes paying for all you suckers who thought Ireland was the best place in the world with your ‘rent is dead money’ stuck up attitude…
Well guess what, someone doesn’t give a c**p about you…. get over it.
We have to support the 2 pillar banks otherwise FG plans would lie in even more tatters. Small little men in government bowing down to the “experts” who got us into this situation.
No wonder suicide rates have gone up.. to look at the way we are beaten down at every turn.. flipped on our heads as money spins the earth with greed,, “leave no man behind” is a thing of the past, I’ll grab my shovel and dig a shallow grave, for all that life is worth to the hungers of the rich, would fit beneath the soils..
sick to death of banks,, i am in trouble with my mortgage,,, cant sell my home as worth less than i bought for ten years ago,,, they keep coming up with a new scheme for me,, and change their minds so often,, i got an offer of 20 thousand less when i went to sell, went to bank and asked would they take it,, as what i paid and payments over the years is way more than that,,,interest of course,,,,,, lol,,, and they said no,, but will put on auction block and take 50 thousand less,, then government will have to house me and kids,,, this is what is going on in homes,, i am depressed,, hungry and sick of it all,, i could walk out that door and not look back, live in my car and be happy and never again answer a phone call,,, i would never again take a mortgage, or have a bill, i will happily live in a caravan in the middle of nowhere,, but nope banks still calling me ,, now they want to extend my terms,,, what a year,,,, and still going on,,,, if i had money i would hire a secretary to talk to them,, but nope i just gotta listen to more crap and gain more pain,, and the simple cure is a job,, a real job,, not a scheme,, just a job,, but not in kerry in any near future,, ha ha,, we cant even get an ambulance now,, gotta call cork,, so dont have a heart attack in kerry,, you only have a time limit for medication,,, you wont make it,, i gotta go to bed and dream and get out of this country for a while,,,,,,
As I always say…to bring the banks to heel we need to reverse all the legislation that makes a bank account a necessity for everyone. If everyone had more control over their own money the banks might behave !!
Judging by the verbiage directed toward the elected, would a direct system suit the country better than proportional representation, thereby eliminating the entirely pointless party structures who swing each election via their organised ‘party line votes’?
Larry Donnelly: From Washington to the Áras, uncertainty reigns on both sides of the Atlantic
9 mins ago
Ah here
Almost 2,000 fines were issued to motorists in Dublin for parking in disabled bays last year
38 mins ago
ires reit
Ireland's biggest landlord sells 16 apartments for €6.6m and welcomes new rental regulations
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 220 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 154 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 201 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 163 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 124 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 125 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 52 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 49 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 181 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 79 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 113 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 119 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 67 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 38 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 128 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 96 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 69 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 120 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 108 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say