You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The State saw increases in all revenue streams last quarter but the main driver was corporation tax. Shutterstock

Over €68 billion in taxes have been raised so far this year

The figure represents an 11% rise in the State’s tax take when compared to figures from last year.

THE STATE HAS raised €68.2 billion in taxes so far this year, an 11% increase when compared to figures last year.

A quarterly update published by the Department of Finance this evening reported a “steady growth” in the amount of money coming from income tax, vat and excise duties, but (again) the driver of the tax take is from corporation tax.

Corporation tax receipts have so far raised €17.8 billion this year, a 23% increase compared to the same period last year. However, there was a decline of €0.2 billion in the sum of money recieved from corporation taxes last month.

This comes as warnings to Government over its reliance on the receipts were issued by the Irish Fiscal Advisory Board following the Budget 2025 announcement on Tuesday.

Finance Minister Jack Chambers said last month’s decline “remind us of the volatility associated” with the receipts. He said the Government has attempted to mitigate any risks through investing in long-term so-called ‘rainy day’ funds. 

Peter Vale, a Tax Partner at Grant Thornton Ireland, said Government should not be put off spending – particularly on infrastructure – over the slight decline in corporation tax receipts. 

“Gaps in key infrastructure areas is arguably the biggest threat to the ongoing strength of foreign investment and resultant corporation tax receipts,” he said.

Government saw other revenue streams increase too this quarter, including a 7% rise in the funds from VAT and a 7.1% rise in the funds from income tax.

In last quarter alone the State raised €23.4 billion, equating to a 14.5% increase compared to the third quarter earnings of last year. The Department of Finance noted that the “bulk” of these funds were from corporation tax.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:28 PM

Kids are also being let down by waiting lists in hospitals. Looking forward to hearing Simon saying this

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:37 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: Nothing like diverting attention away from real issues.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:03 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: As he has as Are Lingus is no longer state owned so nothing to do with him

Mute YKwkSIqW
    Favourite YKwkSIqW
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:20 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: Did anyone ever find those children who went missing, whilst under govt care? Why doesn’t the journal investigate some as serious and horrendous as this? Nobody takes you serious as a”news site”. None of you are considered to be real “journalists”. Seriously, do a journal investigates piece on young kids going missing whilst in govt care!!!!

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:25 PM

In another dispute any minister or taoiseach would say they can’t comment as they can’t interfere in industrial relations process or dispute

Mute SFO
    Favourite SFO
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:22 PM

Fine Gael, typically anti worker

Mute Gerry McAuley
    Favourite Gerry McAuley
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:37 PM

Who exactly is using the children as pawns? I haven’t heard either Aer Lingus or the unions mention it?

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:43 PM

@Gerry McAuley: Simon Harris is

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:52 PM

@Stephen Kelly: all soundbites as usual. “Get back to the table”…… They’ve been at the table for nearly 2 years. Now things have escalated. Doesn’t look like the pilots are going to blink so Aerlingus have made a decision to play hard ball and are losing money and damaging their own reputation to keep the workers down. If only management would publish their own pay increases like they published the pilots remuneration. That would be some reading.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jun 20th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Gerry McAuley: I don’t like prawns.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:23 PM

Yes, they should only strike between 1am and 2am, so it has as little affect as possible, that’s the way to have your demands met. Bit like why nurses are vastly underpaid, the odd time they do try to fight for what they should be paid they still make sure everybody is looked after so they get naff all.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:22 PM

I support the pilots. Not sure what gives Simon the impression that he can decide for the nation how they feel about this. Mental health services for children are non existent. The children that Simon promised would have surgery for scoliosis are still waiting. Children are being let down by this government and it’s a very cheap shot from Simon to use them as pawns on this issue.

Mute Patrick Treacy
    Favourite Patrick Treacy
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:37 PM

He is not too worried about the children he promised an operation to for scoliosis within four months in 2017and they are still waiting for it. Many of them are much worse now and have gone downhill since.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 20th 2024, 5:00 PM

@Patrick Treacy: Any chance RTE would challenge him on that issue? Not a hope.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:29 PM

Has anyone ever wondered why politicians never go on strike? Think about that for a minute and then decide if they should be allowed criticise others for fighting for their conditions. Pilots are well paid but if they didn’t fight for it they’d end up like nurses, underpaid. I do however think that people should stop clapping when they land the plane, that’s what we do for nurses instead of paying them more, it’s not fair that pilots get more pay and claps.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Jun 21st 2024, 9:26 AM

@Eddie Garvey: politicians can’t go on strike. They could not turn up but they can’t go on strike, they’re elected not employed.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:29 PM

Children in this country are let down by your Government everyday Taoiseach. But sure blame the pilots, absolutely laughable. Get your own house in order.

Mute Caoimhin O'Connor
    Favourite Caoimhin O'Connor
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:43 PM

No surprise here from Fine Gael – completely anti worker and against collective bargaining.
    Aer Lingus pilots have gone through the negotiations for 2 years so it’s clear where the fault lies here. Looking for pay to match inflation is something every worker deserves, especially as we’ve seen that corporate greed is a massive factor in inflation

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:14 PM

Leave the kids out of a dispute workers action, just like your Government left them out for scoliosis surgery, Disgusted at you!

Mute Patrick Khan
    Favourite Patrick Khan
    Jun 20th 2024, 4:20 PM

Children’l from 20 years ago have been let down by Simon and his buddies. Have all emigrated and left this country cause can’t afford to live. And they are still doing it today to today’s children

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:50 PM

Travellers or not we are all pawns in the daily grind that our elites have planned for us.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:24 PM

@JP: we ARE the product.

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jun 20th 2024, 5:57 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Wrong article, that’s social media.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 21st 2024, 2:50 PM

@Steve O’Hara-Smith: nope, it’s never been exclusive to Tech, it’s 100% how our government view us

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:20 PM

It’s a disgrace from the greedy pilots

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:26 PM

@John D Doe: Greedy pilots? Would you be happy in your job with no pay rise in 5 years all the while inflation is reducing your wage slip. I’m guessing you wouldn’t be but of course you get outraged when others stand up for what they feel they are entitled to while you cry

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:26 PM

@John D Doe: they haven’t had a pay increase since 2019. Inflation since then sits at over 21%. The average Irish workers wages since 2019 in figures released by CSO last month has increased by 24%. So tell me, how are they greedy?

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:35 PM

@John D Doe: The pilots took a pay cut when everyone was required to help out the economy messed up by or Govt. Most employees got the cuts reinstated. That is their entitlement. The limits haven’t got theirs back. I have no skin in the game, but I am appalled by the abuse Mark Tighe gets on RTE when he puts the pilots case across.

Mute MegaLlong
    Favourite MegaLlong
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:53 PM

@Unridden Ana: jaysus no pay increases here since 2018!!

Mute YKwkSIqW
    Favourite YKwkSIqW
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:27 PM

@John D Doe: You’re a disgrace to your parents. I’d say they’re seriously embarrassed by you and your unintelligently informed direction in your sad life.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:37 PM

@MegaLlong: Well do something about it instead of just complaining on the internet

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jun 20th 2024, 4:04 PM

@Ger Whelan: Ger don’t respond to him, he just spouts out involuntarily and is getting help for it!! Tablets didn’t help!!

Mute Paul Kavanagh
    Favourite Paul Kavanagh
    Jun 20th 2024, 2:35 PM

Fair play to him. Speaking a bit of sense irrespective if your party position.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Jun 20th 2024, 7:33 PM

Has Simon Harris now taken over from Ryan Tubridy as the patron saint of children?

Mute Daithí Ó Gruagáin
    Favourite Daithí Ó Gruagáin
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:02 PM

Hi. Is it possible to do a fact check on the Air Lingus pilots claim that inflation has gone up by 24.8% since 2019 and that’s why they’re looking for such an enormous increase in their pay.

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Jun 20th 2024, 4:16 PM

@Daithí Ó Gruagáin: Google it

Mute Maurice Dinan
    Favourite Maurice Dinan
    Jun 20th 2024, 5:07 PM

Lots of people here trying to distract from the point. A pilots job not much more difficult than a person driving articulated truck and some already earning well over 200 K a year . Tell me ..a pensioner..how that kind of wage deserves a 25% wage increase. Blackmail . Nothing less

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jun 20th 2024, 6:04 PM

@Maurice Dinan: A pilot’s job is a lot more difficult than driving a truck. 99.9% of the time ticking along on autopilot with almost nothing to do for hours on end but be constantly ready to respond in a split second to any emergency and try to keep everyone alive in a broken aircraft several kilometres up.
    Then there’s the radiation hazard associated with the job because most of the time is spent in the upper atmosphere.
    I would not do it for 200k.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jun 20th 2024, 3:25 PM

I do enjoy how gangster he looks. Sort like De Niro

Mute Pink Freud
    Favourite Pink Freud
    Jun 20th 2024, 6:28 PM

The Taoiseach is a jackeen disgrace!
    Whinging about something that never happened – “using children as pawns”. Such absolute hysterics! Next he’ll be claiming that all employees in a Trade Union are using Trade Unions “as human shields” fer gawwd sake!

It is also an absolute disgrace that Aer Lingus was ever let go from National and indigenous ownership. New owners have done nothing but defame, from the very start, the Irish people, the Irish Nation, the Irish culture and more importantly the established **class** of a prestigious, high-end, and proud Irish brand that always engaged respectfully with worker’s unions and *loyal*, consistently hardworking, employees – as is our [dissident, worker-centric and pro-TU] culture.

There should have been caveats written into that sales contract prohibiting them from engaging in behaviours, activities or policies that are anti-Trade Union and (therefore) defamatory of or to the Irish people, and/or the Irish Nation.
    Their carry on is a disgrace!
    And more importantly, their carry on is indicative of a corporate culture mentality of pro-colonialist WASP supremacy. They have essentially placed British pilots in ethnic superiority to indigenous Irish pilots, they have platformed and condoned pro-colonialist supremacy and relegated Irish pilots to an inferior employee position and designation via pay disparity.

Basically, British owners have practiced and endorsed a policy of ethnic supremacy through pay apartheid.
    Denigrating Irish as “less than”. “Less worthy” of pay parity.

While the actually inferiorly educated British, and their post-Brexit, “can’t reverse”, inferiorly licenced, HGV truck drivers are mowing down Irish cyclists and pedestrians the length and breadth of Ireland!!

That said, these pilots should be Striking over being forced to still fly lethal Boeing planes, fer jaysus sakes lads!!
    Or at least incorporating the phasing-out of Boeing useage, as part of their demands (such as: “we’ll drop to 21% if all planes are swopped to Airbus before Christmas, and if Aer Lingus provides alternative guaranteed and recession-safe perks. Like a company gym and pool or free local gym membership, subsidised pet insurance, or free company-funded human health insurance for whole family. Or company housing and/or subsidised housing or, better yet, a company Credit Union that can back&support mortgages for all employees”).
    Where are the European and International Regulators on serious Boeing problems? EASA, IAA etc?
    Obviously the American’s can’t be trusted.
    Obviously the yankee FAA can’t be trusted.
    American consumers have been switching their flights to Airbus flights…..FOR MONTHS NOW!!
    How many investigative journalistic reports, and documentaries, do Irish (EU+Australia/NZ) pilots actually need before they start *refusing* to fly ALL Boeings?

From European National Broadcasters to Netflix to Al Jazeera – I have personally gone from cautious confidence (reliant upon engineering to the letter of the law, and absolute transparency with safety obligation) in the 20th Century feat of engineering to bypassing any development of a ‘fear of flying’ phobia, directly to: “Nope. Ferry.”
    (…and I’ll take yer horse with me, for a few bars of Kerrygold! ;-P )

Why has nobody asked the question though – how have half the country not already shifted their holiday plan to Ferry (France/Spain) and Trains over flying (any airline) with Boeing?

I support all workers who are in a Trade Union.
    There is nothing in this life more righteous.
    And who are exercising their Rights through their Trade Union.
    But to really get me to rally behind these pilots – striking at the very last minute in the thick of sunmer season – they had better be striking the match of an International Pilot Boycott of Boeing.

[side note: it is the nurses, junior doctors, and later also Consultants, who should be implementing intensive "Work-To-Rule" actions during the non-flu season. Let's see how far that gets the HSE's supposedly "fully staffed hospitals"!]

Mute Adrian Aungier
    Favourite Adrian Aungier
    Jun 21st 2024, 8:21 AM

Your a pathetic minister using emotional language like that. Stop your condensing rubbish and call an election. You should keep out of issues you know nothing about.

Mute john logan
    Favourite john logan
    Jun 22nd 2024, 10:57 AM

To the pilots on the forum and there be many, three questions already posed multiple times without reply. Let’s see if we can do better this morning.

Do you guys use the free parking at Dublin airport for personal trips, holidays abroad and the like?

If a pilot prefers to use public transport to travel to the airport can they allow a third party to avail of it?

Do any pilots earn a 2nd income in this way ?