You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alexis Tsipras with Enda Kenny (File photo) Francois Mori via PA

'Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice... ': Enda reveals what he told the Greek prime minister

The Taoiseach has been defending the government’s stance on Greece.

ENDA KENNY HAS revealed that he told Greek prime minister Alexis Tsipras that some European leaders didn’t trust him prior to marathon talks on the debt-stricken country’s bailout deal earlier this week.

The Taoiseach has defended Ireland’s stance in negotiations on a third bailout for Greece in the face of criticism from opposition politicians that the government failed to stand in solidarity with the Greek people.

In an interview with the New Statesman magazine earlier this week, former Greek finance minister Yanis Varoufakis claimed that other indebted eurozone countries were “energetic enemies” of his government’s efforts to negotiate a better deal for Greece.

Speaking to Today with Seán O’Rourke, Kenny revealed the advice he gave to Tsipras: ”I actually spoke to prime minister Tsipras myself before the meeting started and I said to him:

‘Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice here, if I may. There are people around the table who don’t trust you.
‘You have got to show them that you’re serious about what you say here because you won’t build trust the way it’s been happening.
‘You’ve got to have a step-by-step demonstration and proof of your conviction and you’ve got to go back to your parliament.’

enda-alexis Enda Kenny and Alexis Tsipras at a previous summit of EU leaders

Kenny said that during its programme Ireland’s finance ministers had sought to build a relationship with the Troika and put forward alternative measures to those being proposed that would not tax work or create barriers to employment.

He rejected claims that Tsipras had been “thrown under the bus” by his fellow European leaders last weekend.

The Fine Gael leader said that Tsipras’ predecessor Antonis Samaras had overseen a primary budget surplus and one per cent economic growth.

“In the run up to the [last] election in Greece, which was triggered after the presidential election, the rise of populism brought about all of this instability.

There was a pattern of growth and a pattern movement in the right direction but Syriza came along and said: ‘You don’t have to pay for this, we’re going to re-employ all the people who’ve lost their jobs and everything.’

While consistently expressing his support for the Greece to stay in the euro and sympathy for its people, the Taoiseach bluntly opposed the idea of debt relief when asked about the matter during crisis talks on 25 June.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan also reportedly insisted that emergency ECB funding for Greece’s banks be reduced until it retracted demands for debt writedown. Noonan later told the Dáil his comments had been misrepresented.

The government has since insisted as recently as last week that it “fully and wholly supports radical debt re-profiling for Greece” as distinct from debt write off.

Latest: Greek parliament passes sweeping austerity bill in advance of third bailout

Read: Michael Noonan thinks the Greek referendum was an absolute disaster

State of the Nation Sinn Féin is standing by its friends in Greece

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

160 Comments
    Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:16 AM

Enda lecturing somebody about trust.bahahaha.He should have told him to f**k off.

Mute K Lawlor
    Favourite K Lawlor
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:05 PM

I’m sure lots of people trust Enda. Just none of his own.

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:06 PM

We’ll face a beating from the EU leadership in time as well. One downturn globally and we’ll be in trouble and the brown nosing of Schauble will be forgotten.

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:17 PM

The irony is almost to.much when we have the most detested mistrusted leader since bertie and his shower of filthy failures ruined this country talk about trust. Only trust enda has is from the jerries. Hope that works out well for u at election time and I only hope the ppl of mayp a4e not the sheep I think.they are and reelected this traitor

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:16 PM

no, the irony is that you’ve forgotten the mess the current government was left to deal with. plod on with your anti government agenda. you can vote for whomever you like but I recognise you are clearly a fool

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:28 PM

So Shickey… What about all the lies they told to get into government? No water taxes my arse… You’re the fool here….

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:13 AM

I rarely believe anything that comes out of Enda’s mouth these days.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:14 AM

How about anything he writes?

Jul 16th 2015, 11:23 AM

Rod Kenny has his well paid advisor’s to write for him so it’s not him doing the writing.

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:19 PM

What do u mean rarely? I wudnt believe him if he told me the sky was above me. Wud have to check wiki to make sure he’s not.lieing

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:39 PM

Was kenny telling tsipras all about his seismic shift in banking debt and his five point plan?

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:41 PM

Wrong choice of words on my part lol haha

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:20 PM

So basically his advice was “do what they tell you to do”

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:21 PM

He told him to put the lid back on the vaseline as sand is unforgiving. Wise words.

Jul 17th 2015, 2:45 AM

What about his rear then if not his mouth lol.

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:21 AM

Enda to Alexis : ” I’ve learnt to bake scones!”

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:35 AM

Alexis to Enda – in 6 months SF could wreck the Irish economy like I’ve done to the greeks.

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:45 AM

Enda to Alexis : ” You can use yogurt in scones,too !”

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute liam lawless
    Favourite liam lawless
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:51 AM

genuine question Baz. can you honestly see no wrong in anything enda does

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:59 AM

What’s wrong with talking to another leader of another country Liam?

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:59 AM

Don’t feed the troll, please. “Baz” is just one of many personas of a sick, twisted little individual who has absolutely nothing better to do than stir the pot on here. It wouldn’t actually surprise me if he’s employed by the Journal in some way to create more comments, hence more money through advertising. One way or another, the account (along with all his/her other ones are best laughed at and ignored.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:02 PM

In fairness, did Syriza wreck Greece?
    Obviously not, it was wrecked YEARS before Syriza was ever heard of.
    No-one, no political party across the political spectrum, could fix Greece. The county is completely bankrupt.
    If anything, the only good thing that’s come out of Syriza being in power in Greece is the fact that all doubt has been removed that the EU in it’s current state is not compatible with democracy given the number of highly influential and powerful people who have never participated in democratic process to achieve their positions and, as such, seem to espouse contempt for said process.

Also, to compare SF and Syriza and Ireland and Greece is moronic. Different countries, different political parties.

Mute liam lawless
    Favourite liam lawless
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:04 PM

I’m not just talking about that .It’s everything that man does. you defend it blindly. no matter what he does or says you back him up.nobody is 100% right in all their actions or words.but you don’t seem to recognise that

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:32 PM

Calling you out on that vin. Yes Greece was in bad nick last jan when syriza got in. However, the question is often asked “can it get any worse?” I think the events of the last 4 months have shown us it certainly can. What exactly did Tsipras achieve while in power? He irritated the rest of the EU, left his own people in desperation with capital controls and no cash to live their lives, and precipitated a massive flight of capital from his own country, and right up until the referendum last week, refused to agree to a deal. All of a sudden he turns around and accepts AN EVEN MORE SEVERE DEAL from creditors and leaves the streets of Athens in flames last night and a nation in turmoil. I’m no fan of enda, but give me his approach any day over those clowns. If Greece has accepted a deal even 1 month ago they would be in billions of euro worth of a better position now. It’s hard to imagine a more spectacular failure of a government.
    So next time you hear someone say “give Sinn Fein or AAA a chance, can’t be any worse than the current lot”, just stop, and remind yourself of the catastrophe that is Greece right now.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:32 PM

Enda trying to do a Petyr Baelish haha

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:48 PM

BS; how would Ireland end up in the same position as Greece is now?
    Did we cook our books to gain entry into the EU and the Eurozone?
    Do we have a long history of tax evasion?
    I’d argue that Greece should never have been allowed enter the Euro in the first place; don’t patronise me by trying to suggest that the EU were unaware of the Greeks questionable practices in terms of tax evasion and corruption; they had to apply, same as us and everyone else, the EU knew and let them in anyway.

Enda’s approach? And what might that be? Do as you’re told, is it?
    He was asked THREE times in one of the tamest political interviews I’ve witnessed as to whether he asked for a better deal for Ireland and thrice he dodged the question.
    Incidentally, his pre-election approach in 2011 also flirted with default, need I remind you,
    “Not One Red Cent”,
    “Ireland is a special case”,
    “Ireland could borrow money from America if the EU won’t play ball”.
    Then he gets to the negotiating table and complies like a nodding dog.
    Then, to add insult to injury, the promissory note was illegally converted to sovereign debt by Michael Noonan, shackling future generations with a debt that was never our in the first place.

Then just recently, the fool opens his mouth AGAIN, this time on the international stage, blatantly lying about how he never rose tax to facilitate Ireland’s recovery. Then he had the cheek to flatly deny the Greeks the right to debt restructure, in spite of his aforementioned flirtations with default prior to election.

So, yeah, Pepper, compare what Kenny said he’d do with he actually did. Then come back and “call me out” again.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:50 PM

IndaCorner: Be sure now and screw the ‘littlest’ pipple for any worth they have left!

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Jul 16th 2015, 2:03 PM

‘Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice… ‘ just bend over, i love it now, and i facilitate others giving it to generations of my own people to. Bend over and revel in it, the corporations and Bent business men never forget their rent boys, they’ll keep paying you long after you’re worn out.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jul 16th 2015, 2:24 PM

Totally off the point vin. I’m talking about Syriza and their unmitigated disaster while in power since January. You suggested above none of Greeces current troubles are Syrizas fault? Are you serious? Im saying you are 100% wrong. Surely you can agree that Greece are currently worse off now than they were last January?

I’m not sure why you are lecturing me about FG election promises. I never even mentioned them. Ireland and Greece both had 2 choices in 2010. Accept austerity, a bailout and pay it back, or tell the EU to get f**ked. We choose the former. Greece flapped around a few years, eventually chose the latter, then realised they couldn’t survive without the EU and went grovelling back to them in humiliation, with a nation in turmoil. Meanwhile Irelands economy is thriving, and our people can take as much money as we want from ATMS. These are facts – what actually happened, not guesswork. It’s been a perfect case study in what was the best thing to do in 2010. Thank god we picked the right option.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m not a fan of the Euro project, it has many flaws and is not very democratic, but what could Ireland or Greece do about that in 2010. Once you are in, your in. No getting out without REAL austerity. Even the Greeks aren’t stupid enough to want that. Don’t try and con people into thinking we had an easy option in 2010. We had just 2, bad and awful. We chose bad, Greece chose awful. End of story.

Jul 16th 2015, 2:44 PM

CAN HE EVEN DO THAT?

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:09 PM

You never mentioned FG’s approach? Why did you say ” I’m no fan of enda, but give me his approach any day over those clowns” then?

Their election promises were actually closer to Syriza’s than the approach they took so it certainly is relevant to the topic.

I said;
    “If anything, the only good thing that’s come out of Syriza being in power in Greece is the fact that all doubt has been removed that the EU in it’s current state is not compatible with democracy given the number of highly influential and powerful people who have never participated in democratic process to achieve their positions and, as such, seem to espouse contempt for said process.”

Where, from that statement, did you get the idea that I support the road Syriza took? It merely shows how undemocratic the EU is.
    You say the EU ” is not very democratic”, that’s an understatement. It makes a mockery of democracy when unelected technocrats weild more power over countries than those that the people elected to represent them. Look no further than Jean-Claude Junker in this case and Mr Trichet in ours.

Regardless, this third bailout is just kicking the can down the road AGAIN. People in Greece are living out of bins, unemployment is at 30% and rising (massaged by the fact that there are Greeks working for no pay for fear of being unable to secure a job again if things do eventully improve), Athens burns and there’s rioting in the streets; these people are experiencing poverty and suffering that you and I can scarcely dream of. This bailout will require extra taxes and cuts to services which will further contract their economy. Realistically speaking, their only practical route is to default, leave the Euro and start anew. They’ll never pay the interest on their debts, never mind the debt itself.
    Also it isn’t correct to compare our situation to Greece’s in terms of our respective bailouts. Ours was the result of fear and stupidity; a blanket bank guarantee backed by the taxpayer. Theirs was a result of years of cooking their books, corruption, economic mismanagement and a culture of tax evasion

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:24 PM

Greece was fecked long before syriza got power,
    They just went the wrong way about rescuing their economy,
    Hopefully things will improve for the Greeks over the next few years.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:31 PM

In a nutshell, Ciaran.
    This third bailout was coming anyway. Syriza tried something different (with the massive backing of the Greek people, let’s not forget) and ultimately failed. If they hadn’t been elected and the last crowd that were there was re-elected, would there have been no third bailout? Not a chance; Greece is a basket case.
    How many more bailouts will the EU throw their way before they accept the reality that Greece is simply screwed?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:51 PM

Don’t get me wrong,I’ve no time for extreme left parties like syriza and the AAA,their policies are ridiculous and beyond crazy.
    But 1:Greece was in the red long before they were elected,
    And 2:the damage can’t be repaired overnight,this is gonna take time for them to recover.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:04 PM

I agree; it would be hard not to. However, to suggest that Syriza are responsible for Greece’ problems and, let’s face it, some people have tried to spin it that way is a laughable attempt to rewrite history.

Mute Veronika Hladová
    Favourite Veronika Hladová
    Jul 16th 2015, 6:23 PM

‘Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice…i am a school teacher”

Jul 17th 2015, 2:43 AM

Ciaran, the policy of austerity is a tool that destroys people, markets and jobs and only serves those who lend money out… No one else.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Jul 19th 2015, 3:51 PM

All politicians lie to get elected. The masses expect wild promises. Thank god most politicans don’t fulfill these mad promises.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Christ, getting negotiation advice from kenny is akin to getting skincare advice from a leper.

‘Remember Alexis, your opening position should be ‘Don’t worry lads we’ll pay back every penny we owe, and what everyone else owes as well…..”

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:17 AM

Your frustration sustains me

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:18 AM

See the auld fake thumbs are out again Jammin.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:18 AM

Water Baz?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:29 AM

Ah look Baz the Accidental Troll returns. Now remember Baz, switch your accounts when you are praising your own comments.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:33 AM

Greece was showing growth & a budget surplus before the populists took over- the Greek people have only themselves to blame – they elected the Syriza party thinking everything will be free & we won’t have to pay our taxes the Europeans will! Now they are starting to realise they will have to pay the same rates of taxes that everyone else does & they don’t like it.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:34 AM

Hi Les – never been away chum. Only use the one account Bud.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Another clown trying to blame a six month old government for 20 years of mismanagement. Even the IMF have stated the deal is unsustainable and that also applied to the last deal secured by the pervious Greek government.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:39 AM

IMF are more concerned about reform and realises the Greeks need to pay taxes first chum

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:42 AM

Yeah you probably only use one account now seen as using 2 confused you greatly :-)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:43 AM

‘Hi Les – never been away chum. Only use the one account Bud.’

One of the many articles where baz was caught using multiple accounts…..

http://www.thejournal.ie/good-friday-pubs-shut-2029421-Apr2015/

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:45 AM

Enda kenny is just failed excuse for a man .Cowardly traitor like the rest of the failgeal slime bags

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:50 AM

The falling unemployment, economic growth, booming exports and overdue cuts to our outrageously bloated public service bill and Union wage agreements that have been implemented under this traitor’s government totally disgust me.

I’m voting for anarchy in the next general election. It is the only way we can reverse all he has done.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H

Baz getting a little uppity today

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:54 AM

Yeah Jammin – we know that was you chum. Nice try

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:57 AM

reform in the columns of industry….they want the feta cheese freeze dried and shipped to Bolivia where water can be added and then freight trained to Canada for repackaging to whiteplane conservative governments.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:06 PM

How about his ” there is nobody getting on the buses in Letterkenny”? That was funniest, Baz is the worst troll ever :-)

Mute Stephen Ó Briain
    Favourite Stephen Ó Briain
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:40 PM

Baz
    Apr 3rd 2015, 5:26 PM # 104 111
    Do the Spanish have as much proper explaining their siesta’s? Or likes if Edenderry or Moate even Maynooth where must local businesses still close half day on a Wednesday. Give over. It’s for 1 Day a year.
    Also anyone with an ounce of street worthy Ness knows a place who let’s people slip in the side door on a day like today.
    Reply Tweet | Share | Report this comment

Darren Kennedy
    Apr 3rd 2015, 5:28 PM # 174 43
    Baz sometimes I think you’re the only person here who talks any sense.

lolz

Mute Stephen Ó Briain
    Favourite Stephen Ó Briain
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:55 PM

FYI, Baz shares both these accounts… But I assume those two red thumbs are from these accounts :)

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:04 PM

FYI – I don’t – do one

Mute Dylan Drein
    Favourite Dylan Drein
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:04 PM

The Letterkenny bus slip up was by far the best. Couldn’t dig a deeper hole with a JCB.

Mute Sunshine on a rainy
    Favourite Sunshine on a rainy
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:12 PM

Were jamming calling people out! Ha.. Banned usin were jamming and is back as for Connolly.. Won’t be long til he is banned again

Mute John Sheehy
    Favourite John Sheehy
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:25 PM

The IMF report also said the policies followed by Syriza have cost the Greek economy approx 60billion Euros since January.
    Varoufakis is being heavily blamed in Greece for this abject failure. He got the negotiations completely wrong and the Greek people are paying a heavy price for it.

I cannot believe he still being allowed to to speak in the parliament even though he was not elected.
    Not very democratic and harks of the cronyism the IMF is complaining about.

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Jul 16th 2015, 6:17 PM

“The IMF report also said the policies followed by Syriza have cost the Greek economy approx 60billion Euros since January.”

No – the IMF said that the situation had been deteriorating for the last 12 months – that’s since June 2014, not January. The deterioration began with the Troika refusing to pay out money under the previous program to the previous Government. This provoked a steadily worsening liquidity problem for the Greek banks. When Syriza won the election the liquidity problem was already serious. The ECB then started a program of Emergency Liquidity Assistance – short term lending in other words. When the Government had the temerity to call a referendum, the amount available was frozen, effectively making capital controls essential to prevent a bank run.

Varoufakis got he negotiations wrong? Your country is unable to pay back the loads already generously offered to pay off German and French Banks. Your economy has shrunk by a quarter in 5 years. You ask for a debt write-down or restructuring (just like the IMF says is necessary) and the answer is “NEIN! NEIN! NEIN! You must take another loan and you must squeeze your economy even more!

“I cannot believe he still being allowed to to speak in the parliament even though he was not elected.”

What the f*ck are you on about? He stood in the last election and was elected a Deputy to the Greek Parliament.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:15 AM

I’m embarrassed other countries believe this man represents the opinion of the Irish people.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:23 AM

You mean you are embarrassed at who the Irish people elected democratically?

Hopefully the Irish people’s choice in the next General Election suits your personal view better.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:27 AM

oligarchic politics.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

Do you understand how Irish politics work? We don’t elect Taoiseach

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:31 AM

Baz are you familiar with punctuation?

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:36 AM

Weren’t you the guy who was clearly lying about counting people getting on buses in Letterkenny during the water protests?

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:36 AM

Check out this article to explain the big lie others are so keen to enforce. http://www.theguardian.com/world/economics-blog/2015/jul/10/ireland-no-model-greece-troika-austerity

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney

baz you are to hard on yourself. would you not get a job or something stop the self loathing.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:40 AM

Baz never lies, it’s just a turn of phrase like Enda.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:43 AM

In the end Plato could not see himself living a private life of the mind; he felt that he had to make his contribution to the construction of a rational and just society. Reason and justice, he thought, could not be a matter of personal conduct alone; they had to become attributes of society at large. A rational state of affairs could not come about on the basis of Athenian politics-as-usual, however. For more than a generation politics-as-usual had produced an incessant series of wars and civil strife. If peace and just conditions were to be secured in the future, an alternative to the limiting choice between oligarchy and democracy had to be found. A convincing blueprint for such an alternative was the task that Plato set for himself in writing the Republic

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:53 AM

sounds like a good description of yourself there baz

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:57 PM

Seriously Keith? An article published in the Guardian by UNITE the Union? What would you expect them to say Comrade?

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:15 PM

your the only low life on here u coward baz aka kennys rent boy

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:16 PM

Accepted John, but the rhetoric that’s being peddled is that everything’s fine now, we’re fixed, why don’t Greece just do what we did? Which is bullsh*t, everything is not fine, we have passed debt on to our grandchildren, we will not be fine for a very long time if ever. Putting private debt on public purse should never have been allowed.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:37 PM

He fed the prime minister of Greece the exact spiel he was told to feed him by his overlord Herr Schauble , Who has a vested interest it seems in stealing Greece;s prize assets

http://www.thepressproject.gr/details_en.php?aid=79155

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan

Kenny’s arrogance knows no bounds.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:47 AM

this is just another thing that didn’t happen but enda thinks it did he is delusional,like anyone would believe anything that man has to say between men phoning him up with the shock of getting 50 cent pay rise and men visiting cathrine byrne and being shocked that water came out of the tap, may be the delusions are catching.

Mute Eva Vlavianou
    Favourite Eva Vlavianou
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:15 AM

Shut up Enda you waste of space. You’ve given every person in this country a debt over their heads that they didn’t create and you’re so far up Merkels backside begging for crumbs from the EU table it’s abhorrent.
    A pathetic excuse for a country’s leader

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:17 AM

Who is that muppet to give advice? Can’t stand the fu€king slimey bast@rd!

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:24 AM

Enda just telling him the best lube to use when Merkel gets the strap on out

Advice from Kenny? That’s a cruel and unusual punishment….

Jul 16th 2015, 2:42 PM
    Mute Just Hurling
    Favourite Just Hurling
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:26 AM

Do they not realise that the argument was lost once the Irish government/establishment decided to bail out the banks.

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:29 PM

Let me tell you Enda if I may the people of Ireland don’t trust you or your cronies so please get lost

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney

It appears that Indah has forgotten that Samaras pleaded for ” a little breathing space – a little dignity for our people “. Did he get it? No because the plan to loot Greece was well in train. Samaras then lost the election because of this failure. Kenny and Noonan have led the charge against the Greeks and I’m sure Tsipras can do without Job’s Comforters like our gangsters. The nerve of Kenny

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:07 PM

Well Rashers – if you are in possession of information which makes you believe the greek nation was ‘looted’ – I’d forward that to the relevant authorities instead of wasting your time putting notions into the heads of the loons / shinners on here.

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:25 PM

Sound advice Baz. Cmon Rashers, toddle along to your local garda station and report this looting, that will sort it out.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:36 PM

@Pantytoetoejam123. Right you be, Panty, I’ll get toddling ASAP. Beaches, Islands, strategic ports – none of these are desirable items for privatisation. It reminds me ofthe Worlds -” with cold and unsympathetic eyes, they laid their plans against us”. (paraphrase).

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:42 PM

You do kno forced privatisations of state assets is including in the bailout deal ,right baz?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:44 PM

Don’t know how that happened – I was of course referring to Her Well’s War of the Worlds. I don’t consider it over dramatic. The difference is, the threat here is not from Mars, but from our beloved 1%.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:48 PM

Baz and toe jam , i have posted a link to where the 50b in Greek assets are going to end up , please read it and educate yourself’s a little , This fate is also what awaits Ireland when we catch up with the can the boot lickers you support kicked down the road , The blue shirts have condemned our children to a debt that is not ours , but rest easy in your ivory towers there I’m sure you are well rewarded

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:56 PM

Hi matt. This is their 3rd bailout. Of they paid their taxes or told tbe truth they would not need the 3rd

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jul 16th 2015, 2:28 PM

Yes it is their 3rd bailout , all of these bailouts were not to benefit the greeks it was to prop up the Euro at whatever cost to the greeks and their economy aided and abetted by the previous EU supporting governments who followed blindly what they were told to do , a lot like our current crop of boot lickers . Assuming every greek pays the correct rate of tax would come any way close to even denting this level of debt is ludicrous , Attacking them over the tax is only a crutch used by the EU and the Troika to beat them with. The IMF’s latest statement speaks for itself , or you could read the below to understand a little more of whats going on . And you mention truth ? , i think the current government have finally told the truth in saying this debt is not sustainable but yet they still voted in favour of it last night , because the alternative laid out for them by Schauble and his cronies including a very vocal Noonan was absolute armageddon for the greek people .

http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/2014/01/31/the-history-of-the-imf-and-greeces-bailout/

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Jul 16th 2015, 7:06 PM

Matt, if the bailout won’t help the Greek people, why did Tspiras agree to it?

Why didn’t he just walk away and default if that is the better option for the Greek people?

Surely he would have taken your advise and not signed this deal if default and walking away was better, no?

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:30 AM

Despicable Taoiseach..

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac

Came across as thick as ever on the air waves. A definitive Fine Gaeler.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:28 AM

The more I see of Kenny , the more I like my dog!

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn

“Toddle on”

Mute sheena gallagher
    Favourite sheena gallagher
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:32 AM

And by that you mean Jobsbridge, emigration, Clerys and child poverty..?

Mute David Tunney
    Favourite David Tunney

F*** you you f***ing tw*t

Mute sheena gallagher
    Favourite sheena gallagher
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:30 AM

Alexis…. Please never take his advice

Mute Darren the grouch
    Favourite Darren the grouch
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:52 AM

‘Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice here, if I may. There are people around the table who don’t trust you.

EndaKenny let me tell you a piece of advice,if I may. There are people in Ireland who don’t trust you.In fact most do not trust you and call you Pinochio.

Mute niall mullins
    Favourite niall mullins
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:53 AM

And then a man with two pints in his hand showed up and explained how austerity is great for everyone because he, for one, couldn’t understand why he had so much extra money in his wages every week. And they all lived happily ever after.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:58 AM

Plus more water in his taps since he paid the water tax/charge.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:23 PM

Greece should leave the euro if they feel so oppressed by the eurozone countries Default on the debt and start again

Jul 16th 2015, 4:57 PM

…..until a sinister fringe caused a seismic shift blah blah zzzzz

Mute Keith Benson
    Favourite Keith Benson
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:44 AM

Ends showed him how to pull his cheeks apart

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Favourite Lauren Masterson

I have to admit I felt a bit embarrassed reading that headline. My husband asked why I was going red . Scarlehhhhhhhh

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:48 AM

I think Movember is a good time for a GE.

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:33 AM

Enda advice ” Go for it, Merkel’s hot in bed !! “

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Sounded like sound advise. If you want something from someone, best to build a relationship and trust with them.

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:19 PM

Indeed. Enda not doing too well at home in that regard though.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:46 PM

Yes reg , at least get dinner out of merkel before she bends him over

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley

its gonna make for good squishy on reeling in the years in ten or so years time,,,will have everything stupidity comedy tragedy dirty rotten scoundrels list will be endless

Mute Mickey Nice
    Favourite Mickey Nice
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:50 AM

Im surprised Enda, with his head so far up his hole, knew that Alexis was a government minister and not a type of car.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:38 AM

Cute hoor enda

Mute Joe O'Brien
    Favourite Joe O'Brien
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:31 AM

Boring… I thought it was going to be something to do with Angela’s bedroom habits!!

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:15 PM

Looking at Tsipras’ body language I reckon he was thinking, and paraphrasing, what Henry the 2nd said of Thomas Becket – ” will someone rid me of this meddlesome pest”?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice

Tsipras has the most to learn from Kenny above all other EU leaders.

If Tsipras could get Greece to where Ireland is today within 5 years he’d be a very happy guy. That’s the only reason he has agreed to the troika deal; to achieve the result that Kenny and Noonan have. Stability, recovery, productivity and growth.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:32 AM

Yet even the IMF believes the deal to be unsustainable.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:37 AM

Sustainability doesn’t matter. Greece can proceed and then if after 6 months it isn’t working, they can renege.

They can pull the plug at any time if it proves truly unworkable.

Ireland’s debt on paper isn’t sustainable either; however taking each year as it comes we are doing better now than we were last year and the year before.

Ultimately the EU bond market will need to merge into being a single issuer. That will resolve these problems when all debts are merged and netted. That is the only way the EU/Euro will survive.

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins

@onetruevoice. Get a life. Nothing has changed here since the cuts We have been waiting a bleeding 7 to 8 years living on it.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:40 AM

economic statistics prove you wrong Dolphins.

If you personally haven’t progressed as the economic statistics have, then you are the outlier and you need to examine your choices in life.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:01 PM

Kenny and Noonan implemented FF’s policies along with the troika.Only when they began to implement their own they royally f**ked up case in point IW.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:48 PM

Stats dont put extra money in peoples pockets ,or more food on the table , and in 3 yrs time stats wont pay for water when the cap is lifted from the water tax

Jul 16th 2015, 2:31 PM

So Greece has got 84 billion in loans over 3 years and Greece in return has to put 50 billion worth of assets into a segregated account that will later be sold off to the global community and when they are sold off by the Troika to banks and to hedge funds. It is estimated that it will make the Troika under 200 billion minus the 84 billion.
    These assets will collateralise the loan but is a LEVERAGE BUYOUT by the global community, banks and Hedge funders.
    Yet banks and the E.U. knew everything before loaning the money to these countries especially Greece, Many who were in Goldman Sachs are employed in the E.U. civil service like Dragi and it was Goldman Sachs who cooked the books for Greece joining the E.U. in the first place.
    Yet only the Troika are the only ones who can sell Greece’s Income Producing Assets and make a profit from them to the Hedge Fund Community.

In 2010 Merkel protected the European banks and Hedge Funds from Billions in losses by putting the debt onto European tax payers. So PRIVATE DEBT from the loans made to countries like Greece were made knowing that they were bad loans. Yet Merkel knew in 2010 what was going to happen.
    Then Merkel stepped in as the saviour of the E.U. and transferred all the bad debt from the banks and put it onto the European tax payer by making private debt sovereign debt issue then and therefore a problem of the whole E.U. falling apart.
    Austerity was brought in for this, to look after the financial system using politics to cause LEVERAGE BUYOUT SENARIOS. Remember at the beginning of the Euro that the ECB made countries borrow Euros cheaply at low interest rates to banks that caused a boom and a rise in the value of the Euro and yet the ECB knew the financial make up of every country in the Eurozone in tax intake and debt.
    Yet these same people knew that AUSTERITY causes debt to rise, to cause job losses and therefore countries to borrow more as jobs create taxes, imports and less borrowing on the international markets but the Troika forced Austerity as it looks now to create LEVERAGE BUYOUT SCENARIOS.
    The TROIKA played us, they fed us, they pretended to look after us and when they are ready they will slaughter us like a butcher and that is what the E.U. is.
    After Greece then who else as there is Italy, Portugal, Spain and us before they start on Eastern Europe? We have been fattened like farmyard PIGS for Farmer Merkel and friends.
    What is left will be used to make TTIP soup with and the only thing that won’t be used is our squeal as no one is listening.

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon
    Jul 16th 2015, 2:37 PM

One true voice: economics also dictates that the Greek debt is unsustainable.

Mute John Sheehy
    Favourite John Sheehy
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:54 PM

He only agreed to the deal because there is no one else who can help them, it’s the only option or lay off a lot of public sector workers.

The Varoufakis plan failed to catastrophic effect.
    I bet he rues the day he brought him in.

Jul 17th 2015, 2:09 AM

The Varoufakis plan would have worked but the Troika didn’t want it because they wanted austerity in order to get their hands on state own assets for a LEVERAGE BUYOUT SENARIOS, these assets will be used to make great profits for banks and hedge funds as well as these countries then having to pay what the difference is with interest…

Mute Larry O'Doherty
    Favourite Larry O'Doherty
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:13 PM

Alexis……I am a wa#$@r and all the Irish people know it and I’m going to be out of a job this time next year!

Mute Mick Cullen
    Favourite Mick Cullen
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:43 PM

He told him to screw the people like he did

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:49 PM

How much for one of your islands, best price for cash! I’ve just gotten a pay rise.

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:36 PM

You have to show them your serious, this coming from the lilt drinking scone baking Denis o brien puppet that they pat on the head and pull the cheek of in Europe, irish politics has a serious world in your own bubble affect, jesus wept

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:16 AM

Kenny knows best .

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery

… how to follow the orders of his European masters.

Jul 16th 2015, 2:41 PM
    Jul 17th 2015, 3:08 AM

GEORGE or The George, LOL.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:59 PM

Kenny is a shame on this great country. he is turning it into an EU factory owned by elites.

Mute James Kelly
    Favourite James Kelly
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:49 PM

It didn’t matter what “advice” Kenny gave Sipras as he, his party and his people were screwed from the start as was proved by the outrageous but wholly predictable tactics of the standard bearers for the creditors all of whom could not tolerate dissension or for the Euro to be derailed in any way.
    The Germans surely turned the thumb screws at the end by insisting on Greek assets being ring fenced in an externally controlled fund (extra insurance ) to be called whenever necessary.
    A bit rich coming from a nation who directly benefitted immeasurably by vast right down of debt after WW2 and of course untold benefits under the Marshall Plan where huge sums of debt just left the building. Look at the Germans now. A big contrast to what the Greek nation will be like in 70 years time for sure as the generations are locked in to repaying German bond holders . It’s a bit ironic to think that Herr Hitler warned against the economic power of the Jewish financiers in his rise to power and look at the fiscal stranglehold his nation now has on all the smaller nations of Europe. Still be grateful for small mercies as no Greeks were gassed in arriving at the latest bail out

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:17 PM

Alexis you should have let Angela give it to you up the arse instead of acting the bollx

Mute Keith Ryan
    Favourite Keith Ryan
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:51 PM

Enda “proposals that won’t tax work or form barriers to employment” yet you created the greatest barrier of them all, jobsbridge. As a recent IT graduate the only graduate positions available are on the scheme. Without it companies would eventually have to hire graduates.

Mute frank
    Favourite frank
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:52 PM

‘Alexis, let me give you a piece of advice here, if I may. Be really really good. Don’t mind those Greeks forget about them. Do exactly as Angela says and I gotta tell you she gives the best belly rub you’ll ever get. Trust me.’

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:35 PM

That’s alright, Enda. Most of the country don’t trust you either, you weasel.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:42 PM

the word trust seems to be the common denominator:
    Merkel says. The most important currency has been lost and that is trust,”
    Enda says “you have got to show them that you’re serious about what you say here because you won’t build trust the way it’s been happening.”
    Easily known they both belong to the same centre right european peoples party
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_People%27s_Party
    scroll down to see him in the 2011 summit with..

Mute Dáire Seosamh O'Nuamáin
    Favourite Dáire Seosamh O'Nuamáin
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:06 PM

Enda is a parasitic traitor to the Irish people

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Jul 16th 2015, 12:44 PM

‘Dont eat yellow snow’

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:47 PM

God help us with him as Toiasigh, last week he said he did not raise any taxes

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:05 PM

He’ll say that Noonan did it.

Mute Pat Moloney
    Favourite Pat Moloney
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:44 PM

Alexis at the time had a pint in each hand.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:51 PM

Enda says to Alexis ” I hope you remember me at the next election”

Jul 16th 2015, 4:50 PM

Enda, let me give you a piece of advice….nobody trusts YOU!

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:19 PM

Next Enda will say that alexis is ringing him to say thanks & asking Enda how do I do what u do ?enda the great . Not.

Mute John Sheehy
    Favourite John Sheehy
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:46 PM

Tsipras made a gigantic mistake bringing in Varoufakis but I do like his honesty.

Kenny is a buffoon and a parody of himself, if that is the advice he gave Tsipras.
    What is Greek for ‘duh’?

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Jul 16th 2015, 1:06 PM

He’d probably would have got a much better deal had he followed Enda’s advice.

Jul 16th 2015, 2:31 PM

BE SUBMISSIVE AND WORSHIP E.U. PLUTOCRACY?

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Jul 16th 2015, 3:21 PM

I wonder what happened to my side-splittingly hilarious anti-Enda comment?

Mute Jo Murphy
    Favourite Jo Murphy
    Jul 16th 2015, 4:09 PM

There was me thinking he was going to give him a tube of his special lubricant.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jul 16th 2015, 6:39 PM

Now who can belive Enda !

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    Jul 16th 2015, 11:36 PM

Was it bend over and kiss your country goodbye