You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach and Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny with Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore. Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Kenny and Gilmore off to Brussels to discuss outcome of European elections

The European leaders will discuss the impact of the election results as well as the Ukraine crisis.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY and outgoing Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore are to meet European leaders in Brussels today in what is their first gathering since the election.

The European leaders will  be discussing the outcome of the elections and will consider who the possible next head of the European Commission will be.

The political landscape in Europe has changed following the election of eurosceptic and far-right parties.

That tremor was delivered by European voters backing eurosceptics in a stinging rebuke to Brussels, with France’s National Front (FN) and Britain’s UKIP leading the pack of anti-EU parties.

France’s President Francois Hollande went on national television to call for the EU to reduce its role, which he said had become for many citizens “remote and incomprehensible”.

The embattled leader saw the far-right National Front (FN) come out on top in France’s vote, pushing his Socialist Party to a humiliating third place in the elections for seats in the European parliament.

“This cannot continue. Europe has to be simple, clear, to be effective where it is needed and to withdraw from where it is not necessary,” Hollande said in his address to the nation.

Across the Channel, British Prime Minister David Cameron faced a similar sentiment from voters, with the anti-EU UK Independence Party’s victory at the ballot box.

The European leaders will meet from 5pm today to take stock after the four days of voting across the 28-nation bloc, which came to a close on Sunday.

They will also discuss the election of the next president of the European Commission, the head of the EU executive.

The crisis in Ukraine is also on the agenda.

- © AFP, 2014

Additional reporting Christina Finn 

Read: Ruairí Quinn ‘resents’ how Eamon Gilmore was treated>

Read: State of Play: Just 6 seats to be filled in local elections>

View 27 comments
27 Comments
    May 27th 2014, 9:30 AM

2 people totally removed from the population in Ireland travel to meet other people also well insulated from life to discuss appointing a president to an entity total divorced from the population of Europe. That will bring lots….

Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    May 27th 2014, 9:45 AM

That’s a pretty good summation of what Europe is and why it is a disaster

Mute jack the stroller
    Favourite jack the stroller
    May 27th 2014, 9:49 AM

going off to tell more lies is he watch this :Labour leader supports mullingar’s Columb Barracks: http://youtu.be/YA6nhGFHzls

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    May 27th 2014, 9:58 AM

Going to be told , You’re the best in the class.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 27th 2014, 9:37 AM

“… so basically the mainstream parties got hammered almost everywhere, and the anti Europe parties made huge gains. What shall we do?”

“Just carry on I suppose.”

“Good idea. Now I’m sure I saw the caterer bringing in some caviar. Let’s get out of here. The drones can write a statement for the Press.”

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    May 27th 2014, 12:23 PM

The government parties in Italy, Germany and Portugal all did remarkably well – winning the elections and in some cases gaining seats.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 27th 2014, 12:34 PM

Do you know why? Lets take Germany as an example since I know the most about them out of the 3.

1. They did nearly no austerity, with all they did do focused mostly on cutting PS waste and inefficiency.
    2. They did a MASSIVE 40billion euro pro-growth stimulus package that was a huge success
    3. They have interest on loans coming in from all over the EU.
    4. Their population were not drunk on credit like ours were and were diligent savers so they were able to tap into that and the recession consequently didn’t take much of a bite out of them

5. Their government stood up for them at EU council meetings, aggressively fighting their corner.

Ours did the opposite of all of those things, so it’s really apples and oranges.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    May 27th 2014, 1:39 PM

I’ll accept those comments regarding Germany. And what of the other two countries then? None of those reasons apply to Italy or Portugal.

And:

“4. Their population were not drunk on credit like ours were and were diligent savers so they were able to tap into that and the recession consequently didn’t take much of a bite out of them”

Yet when this comment is suggested by the Taoiseach, for example, it is shot down as untrue etc.

Also despite the gains of the Eurosceptic parties, they will still only hold around 20% of the seats in the European Parliament.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 27th 2014, 9:38 AM

Listen, Eamo, if they ask you a question, just move your lips; I’ll sit behind you and do the talking.

Mute Tim Carey
    Favourite Tim Carey
    May 27th 2014, 9:58 AM

“Ah Eamo, ’tis terrible what’s happened. Come on we go for an ol break away from the mean people and have a few pints, sure they can pay for it” ;-)

Mute Paul Chandler
    Favourite Paul Chandler
    May 27th 2014, 11:37 AM

Could be their last romantic holiday together.

Mute Munsterite60
    Favourite Munsterite60
    May 27th 2014, 10:01 AM

Reporting to their Big Boss Angela.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 27th 2014, 10:01 AM

Anybody see the french guy EU NO JUST NO!
    He changed his tune rapidly.
    They are in a panic, finally see People are not weak sheep they hoped to instill their control over and slavery and see writing on the wall.

Mute Sargon
    Favourite Sargon
    May 27th 2014, 9:39 AM

Europe is in chaos, thank duck. Hon the euro sceptics and the reasonable right. Next step is to remove the cancer that is this socialist nightmare. I am at the stage in my life and career where there is no point looking to get promoted when I will have to pay proportionally much higher taxes if I do, therefore I am lazy as duck in work. I do the bare minimum and that is fine. What is the point in working hard when there is no incentive?

Mute Charles
    Favourite Charles
    May 27th 2014, 10:18 AM

Why do they need to congregate in Europe? What’s wrong with a video conference?

May 27th 2014, 10:41 AM

Charles a video conference means no luxury travel, food, acommodation and most importantly no pat on the head from the German Cow and her pals! deutschland deutschland uber alles……..

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 27th 2014, 10:19 AM

They’d b best staying here negotiating a new program me for govt in align with their 2011 promises not running off on a junket

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    May 27th 2014, 12:27 PM

You disappoint me with your populist comments Ryan. Normally you show more insight in your comments.

The next Commission President will have a major effect on Europe in the coming five years. Ireland should be there when discussions are taking place on the appointment. Meanwhile the Ukrainian crisis is incredibly important to the stability of the continent as a whole. We also need to be at those talks.

Whether or not people like Gilmore or Kenny is irrelevant. Their job is to go to these talks and they should do it.

Plus they’ll probably fly back tonight or tomorrow morning. Not particularly a very nice “junket” if you are in meetings all the time you are away.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 27th 2014, 10:24 AM

I believe that Kildare Street is to be renamed “Frankfurt’s Way”.
    Copyright John Ward!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    May 27th 2014, 9:52 AM

Do little, but do it well.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    May 27th 2014, 11:18 AM

Wouldnt it be great if europe returns to the open trading block it started out as!

Mute Jack Reilly
    Favourite Jack Reilly
    May 27th 2014, 10:31 AM

Hello Angela
    We did as you said but Eamonn here has had to resign
    ” Gis a job”
    I’m even wearing my best interview suit!

May 27th 2014, 10:43 AM

And the Dail to be known as Merkels Mansion!

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 27th 2014, 12:32 PM

Leave your keys on the table before ye go, lads.

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    May 27th 2014, 11:51 AM

So you are the Chairman of a top Multi-national Supermarket chain in the country,which after a bad few years, makes losses and sees staff take jobs at competitors. The Staff you do have lose faith in your ability to lead and you decide to quit your position for the sake of the company. But hey,good news is that the following day,you and your buddies in Head Office can swan off to another country where your brand trades and discuss with other failed Chairman where you went wrong

Mute Jack Daniels
    Favourite Jack Daniels
    May 27th 2014, 12:14 PM

Of the Two Terrible Twins go to inform their ECB/EC masters that if they dont throw them a few bob for a stimulus package they’l be thrown out in next general election and they wont be able to do their ECB/EC dirty work going forward into the future. They’l prob throw a few billion at it to when election and make the citizens pay for their campaign. ECB/EC will demand the dig out back and more cuts will come . The fact that FG/L didn’t have to political will to protect or listen to the people before the recent elections should be taken in to account when they try anything to con the people in to re electing them in 2016. Hollywood from now until then. FG/L #Showbiz

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    May 27th 2014, 11:33 AM

Enda is taking Eamon to Europe to see if the European Commission can find him a job and keep him out of Enda’s hair.