You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/PongMoji

Thousands of drivers to get refunds after collapse of Enterprise Insurance

The insurance firm, which was declared insolvent on Friday, has about 14,000 Irish customers.

THE IRISH COMPANY that sold policies on behalf of Gibraltar-based Enterprise Insurance has said it will refund customers.

The insurance firm was declared insolvent on Friday. It has around 14,000 customers here.

Wrightway Underwriting, which is based in Wexford and owned by Zurich Insurance, issued a statement on the situation today.

The company said it is “committed to helping its broker clients deal with affected policyholders and … has decided to make an ex-gratia payment to its brokers to pass onto their policyholders which is equal to the value of the premiums from now until the end of their current policy contracts”.

Wrightway said it has worked closely with the Irish Brokers Association to set up the deal.

Wrightway’s action will ensure that policyholders receive a payment to put towards the cost of replacement cover, following Friday’s announcement. With the benefit of this ex-gratia payment, brokers can seek out an alternative insurer of their choice for affected policyholders.

Wrightway said it won’t be making any further comment at this time, and policyholders have been advised to contact their broker for further information and advice.

Read: 14,000 Irish motorists at risk after collapse of Gibraltar-based insurer

Read: This is how drivers will be protected if a motor insurance company collapses

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    Favourite Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    Jul 11th 2013, 7:59 PM

Am I reading this right? If a woman was raped she can’t have an abortion? After enduring such an experience and wants a abortion still has to travel to the UK?

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:02 PM

or if she cant afford it risk ordering pills off the internet and get a longer prison sentance than her rapist if she gets caught

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:04 PM

That’s exactly the situation in ireland, and groups like youth defense think allowing an abortion in such a situation is wrong.

Sure why would they care about a women who’s been brutally raped?

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:06 PM

Why so surprised Conor? This has always been the case in Ireland and this legislation was never going to change this. We need political parties to commit to a referendum on these issues.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:08 PM

Welcome to Ireland 2013 where women are shipped off too Britain in their thousands so we can pretend abortion doesn’t happen in the country.

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:22 PM

Utterly ridiculous and incredibly unfair. These politicians are not listening to the majority of the irish population who would be in favour of supporting such women. stubborn, small-minded, useless, cold-hearted,bible-bashing, looking-out-for-themselves fools!our constitution is out of date! Dont dismiss common sense in favour of an out of date document!

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:32 PM

Oh no the looney’s have won. Could all the Christians and Muslims have the decency just to leave all us rational thinking people alone. You’ve had your day in the sun and you f’ed it all up

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:39 PM

This is the die hard prochoicers fault for trying to railroad abortion on demand into Ireland on the back of poor sativas death, instead of having proper legislation put forward through a referendum. Even prolife people think it’s f#cked up that a women should have to carry a child that wont live.
    Put yourselves on the back. This is all your fault.

Mute Suzanne Chase
    Favourite Suzanne Chase
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:48 PM

@Mr Jingles – her name was SAVITA, is it so hard for you to give her some respect by spelling her name correctly?

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:55 PM

Mr jingles
    Should I address you by the name you hide behind? Na whatever. You are without a doubt the saddest individual ive ever heard. I hope you never have a child raped. You sir are a class 1 idiot.

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:55 PM

Sorry my mistake its not a common name and just because I spelt it wrong doesnt mean I dont have any respect. Another example of the prochoicers pulling at emotions to futher their cause. Have a bit of repect yourself. Makes me sick!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:59 PM

Further

Mute Pauline Lynch
    Favourite Pauline Lynch
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:07 PM

It’s a bloody disgrace.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Favourite Michael Geraghty
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:08 PM

It’s times like these you wish you were born in Egypt, at least they have the balls to kick out their government!

Mute Pauline Lynch
    Favourite Pauline Lynch
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:10 PM

Shame on you.

Mute Caoimhe Fitzgerald
    Favourite Caoimhe Fitzgerald
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:35 PM

*spelled

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:57 PM

Leslie you’re unemplyed and I’m an engineer, who’s the idiot?

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:13 PM

Rational John? If your so keen on abortion why dont you become a doctor and perform one, just a matter of slicing an unborn child to peices and throwing whats left into a bin. Your lucky to be alive unlike the countless others in this world with no protection in the womb.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:16 PM

Martin what a sick vile comment.

Mute Ferg
    Favourite Ferg
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:03 PM

The child is protected in this country no matter how it is conceived because it had the same right to life as you or I. There are other options like adoption. Murder is the most obscene of all the options available.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:18 PM

Ferg, have you said that to many rape victims recently? People like you are dirt.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:29 PM

I don’t think an abortion should be ok if the conception was a mistake between parents or the girl changes her mind or whatever circumstance like that may arise, but if the unborn child has no chance for survival, and is putting the mothers life at risk, or the mother was raped, it’s a no brainer! How can people be so narrow minded… I’d love to find out I’m the result of a rape! Lets boost the suicide rates in the country too!!!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:44 PM

Was my friend was. Engineer. Any one can be an engineer. All ye have to do is use a monkey wrench

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:45 PM

Itd not your body michael so its not your choice

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:56 PM

I know it’s not my body, but it could be my sisters or my daughters and sure as shit if they were stupid enough to consensually conceive a child by mistake or change their mind after months of pregnancy I’d say man the hell up you made your choice! The child has every right for a shot at life! It’s the child’s body too! But when it’s a horrible or unfortunate circumstance like rape or development defect of course the choice should be there. There was a story in the journal today of a mother throwing a baby out an apartment block window in china that was run over in a car. The mother had a choice for abortion in china. I’m not pro life or pro choice! I’m pro circumstance and each one can be different!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:15 AM

Good points. But in what you say at the end, circumstances. ..then should that be the womans choice so?

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:27 AM

Many people I have talked to believe that even if a girl is raped should go through with the pregnancy. I was disugusted at this. They told me they could put the chip up for adoption. I then asked them if in 18 years the child wanted to see it’s birth mother. I was annoyed and disgusted at some of my friends about this

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Favourite Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:35 AM

Michael, you do know that contraception and emergency contraception fails sometimes don’t you? It doesn’t mean anyone is stupid I’d hate to be your sister or daughter since they couldn’t rely on your support in such a circumstance. 90% of abortions take place before 13 weeks and an embryo is not a child, it’s not sentient in anyway, the brain development simply isn’t there. Since you think its the ‘child’s’ body too then why are you ok with it being aborted if it’s Father was a rapist? You can’t have it both ways.
    You think your daughter’s future should be ruined because a split condom? And what about the guy who got her pregnant, is he stupid too? An early abortion is like a heavy period, it’s not a person. I’m very glad I have a supportive Father who would put me first.
    What you think is irrelevant anyway as it would be their body and choice, not yours or would you imprison them until the birth? Disapproval is all you would have.

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 12th 2013, 2:02 AM

Yeah, leslie the difference is your grass engineers friends (lawn more men) and a proper engineer is a vastly different degree of a comfortable life. Speak soon after I go to test drive me little Z4

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 12th 2013, 2:07 AM

And to say anyone can be a engineer makes me f#cking sick, it’s not like doing a youth supervisor scheme that ANYONE can do . Your silly lazy liberal buzz of “everything should be handed to on a plate” makes me fear for the next generation.

Mute IplayerQueen
    Favourite IplayerQueen
    Jul 12th 2013, 5:31 AM

Why so harsh on Mr Jingles? Aren’t you violently [very] agreeing with each other?

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:20 AM

The insults coming from jingles are shocking but typical.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Jul 12th 2013, 9:21 AM

Circumstance is not really a choice although i wouldnt say you could deny fully the choice of the mother of course they have a large part to play in the decision making, Im thinking from the perspective of young girls having sex with multiple partners at parties etc. That get drunk, get pregnant etc, there should be enforcement in place that the mother and father own up to their responsibilities. If this was not the case, wouldnt everyone in this situation just abuse the system? The alternative you might say is that they have the child and live off the handouts from the government affecting tax etc. ITs not easy to determine what a right and a wrong circumstance is, but it shouldnt be, at the end of the day it is a life that is being affected.

And Kelly, you say “Since you think its the ‘child’s’ body too then why are you ok with it being aborted if it’s Father was a rapist? You can’t have it both ways.” Of course you can, there is a big difference between a drunken mistake and a rape. Did you not read what i posted about circumstance and each one being different?

Mute Martina Mahony
    Favourite Martina Mahony
    Jul 13th 2013, 12:26 AM

You make some very good points Michael, I just wonder and a young couple being forced to have the child, what hope is there for that child if firstly they didn’t want it, and secondly weren’t equipped to rear it properly?

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:08 AM

That’s very true martina, but is that reason for abortion? I wouldn’t think so, adoption is always an option.

Mute Martina Mahony
    Favourite Martina Mahony
    Jul 13th 2013, 12:36 PM

In an ideal world the baby would be given for adoption but I think (not having been in this position, thank God) that people would find it harder to hand over a baby. I just worry about the welfare of a child being brought up by parents that may resent it and not look after it properly. It’s a very sad situation from all sides…

Mute Mick McDonagh
    Favourite Mick McDonagh
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:10 PM

Welcome to Ireland. Please turn your clocks back to local time, the 19th century.

Mute Patrick Linehan
    Favourite Patrick Linehan
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:37 PM

19th century? Your getting ahead of yourself. We’re still in the dark ages. What we need is a renaissance.

Mute Richie Phipps
    Favourite Richie Phipps
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:09 PM

Just wondering if a 12 year old girl was raped by her father and became pregnant with a non viable fetus, would the pro lifers force her to go full term. Frightening to thing how sick and depraved people can be in the name of ” MORALITY “……

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:38 AM

Richie, they absolutely would, the foetus is more important to them than any born child.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:17 PM

Religious zealots and fascists seek to control and to impose inhumane limits on individual freedom.

Although it is gratuitously hurtful, victims of rape and incest will travel to the UK and elsewhere where they wil receive the mercy and compassion unavailable in Ireland.

I have been admonished, even by pro-choice supporters, for contending that religious zealotry and fascism contributed to Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution. Apparently political correctness requires that pro choice supporters must accept that pro-life advocate are merely misguided. This is so even though it is the pro-life lobby seek to dictate the freedom of women by force of law.

I am of the opposite view. Pro-life seek to impose their authoritarianism and religious dogma inspired views on others because they are fascist members of a fascist organisation, the Roman Catholic Church.

How many members of Catholic Comment, Youth Defence, the Iona Institute, the Life Instiitute and the platform groups are non Catholic?

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:27 PM

Hard to disagree with you Tony. Hopefully this is just the start of dismantling that disaster of an article.

Mute Michael Geraghty
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:31 PM

Praise jebus!

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:44 AM

Completely agree with you Tony. They hope it will all go away now, well there are many, many of us who won’t ever stop until we get a referendum to remove the vile Article 40.3.3.

Mute Ian Reynolds
    Favourite Ian Reynolds
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:01 PM

Stupidity!!! It’s just gonna cause more arguments after this bill is passed.
    Why not just let people make up their own mind, I can’t understand how and why a politician has the power to influence something that has F all to do with them!!!. It’s not their body, it’s not their life.

Mute Rhiannon Eilis
    Favourite Rhiannon Eilis
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:38 PM

Seems to me those on the pro life side of the debate can pack up their rosaries and head home with a sense of a job well done. With no exceptions for inevitable miscarriage, fatal foetal abnormalities, rape, incest and an unworkable term date, nothing has changed and it was all a tremendous waste of time. All that seems to have been achieved is the criminalisation of women wanting abortions, and yet another layer to the wall of the irish “dont ask, dont tell” least we have the UK as a carpet to shove our problems under. As for our shoddy democracy…well was that ever news?

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:26 PM

The problem is not the legislation but the constitution. Until Article 40.3.3 is removed we won’t be able to add in provisions like this. For all the talk on both sides about this all this legislation is doing is simply codifying and putting rules around what the Supreme Court said 20 years ago. This was all it was ever going to be.

And given how vitrolic and nasty this debate was does anybody think we are going to look at Article 40.3.3 in the short term. Not a hope.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:15 PM

This whole thing is now a complete joke

Mute Daphne Duck
    Favourite Daphne Duck
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:08 PM

This whole debate is a fricking joke!!

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:52 PM

Remember the names of those who voted against this. When they come to the door…looking for the vote next time. Chase them up the street with your anger. Tell them to take their catholic church ethos and fcuk off.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:58 PM

And just when I thought I was getting an ounce of respect for kenny…….its gone. He never changed from bring a spinless useless parish pumper

Mute Dublin Double 13
    Favourite Dublin Double 13
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:16 PM

I’d say you’ve been parish pumped before Lesley

Mute Fran ner
    Favourite Fran ner
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:29 PM

In a shed in Kildare. Baaaaaahhhhh

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:51 PM

With both yer oul ones…get up the yard

Mute Dublin Double 13
    Favourite Dublin Double 13
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:02 PM

Lesley…. King of Kildare/altar boy/wannabe culchie

Does anyone value this clowns opinion?

Mute Fran ner
    Favourite Fran ner
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:05 PM

I value it. Value it like haveing a steamy shite. Man u are shite bags les.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:01 PM

What a backward country, I’d be ashamed to be Irish right now

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:06 PM

As one of the proudest Irishmen around, I can say I am.

Mute Richie Phipps
    Favourite Richie Phipps
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:21 PM

This is so messed up, it must be a smoke screen for something really big that the Government is trying to slip by us unnoticed ……..

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:22 PM

Did you not read about the 100% cut in wages then and the introduction of a tax of tin foil hats.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

@ Rhiannon, much as I hate to agree with your assessment, it is absolutely correct in the short term.

In the longer term, there is widespread awareness that the real problem is Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution and that we will remain cursed by this piece of religious fundamentalism until that Article is repealed by a Referendum of the people. It should never have been introduced and thirty years or more later, it is time to repeal this terrible Article.

Mute Patrick Linehan
    Favourite Patrick Linehan
    Jul 11th 2013, 8:46 PM

I never thought I’d see the day that I would agree with J. Higgins & R. Boyd Barret.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly

@ Patrick, I know what you mean!

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:40 PM

Normally find them a bit eye-rolly, but they were dead on about the impossible situation survivors find themselves in. How the hell is a girl like X, sexually abused at the age of 13, going to be able to afford to travel to England?

Mute Trish Ni Laoire-Duinn
    Favourite Trish Ni Laoire-Duinn

absolutely disgraceful.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 11th 2013, 9:21 PM

The sad reality is that adding this in could never have been on the agenda because if it had been included the most likely outcome is that it would have be challenged and struck down in the Supreme Court as unconstitutional therfore taking the entire piece of legislation out. This is the same reason that the suicide clause could not be taken out of the bill because attempting to narrow the law would have been equally open to challenge.

The bill is driven by the Supreme Court judgement in the X case and is legislating for that judgement and nothing more. I wish the situation were different but until Article 40.3.3 is removed we are stuck with the situation.

Mute Anon MG
    Favourite Anon MG
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:06 PM

Where can I see a list of the TDs who voted against this motion so I can be sure never to vote for them again?

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:21 PM

I thought there was a record on the Oireachtas website of votes but I had a quick look and couldn’t find anything. That’s not to say that it isn’t there.

Mute Anon MG
    Favourite Anon MG
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:56 PM

Hmm, I’ll have to keep an eye on it. They won’t be getting my vote in the next election anyhow. How dare they reject this clause, the one opportunity to actually change something.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:24 AM

They didn’t have a choice Anon. Don’t get me wrong. I’d like to see this provision included but the reality is that adding it in would most likely make the law unconstitutional because of Article 40.3.3 because appaling and disgusting as rape and incest are they do not directly threaten the life of the mother which is the nub of what Article 40.3.3 is all about.

If we want real change we have to remove Article 40.3.3 first. But that is really unlikely to happen in the short term. After this debate I think most politicians aren’t going to want to touch this issue for a long while.

Mute Kelly Davis-Jordan
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:52 AM

Sad but true, to have access to abortion for rape survivors and fatal foetal abnormality Article 40.3.3 has to be repealed by referendum which the politicos will try to avoid doing as long as possible. We will just keep the pressure on, this is nowhere near the end.

Mute Anon MG
    Favourite Anon MG
    Jul 15th 2013, 11:47 PM

It sickens me. Is there any way the public can call for a referendum? I really hope abortion will be legal in my lifetime. I don’t my children growing up in a country where they don’t have a choice.

Mute Niamh May
    Favourite Niamh May

Are the government just making a hulabaloo so they look like they’re doing something but in actual fact they’re doin f¥{£ all? Surprised much? Nope!

Mute Fionn Ó Deá
    Favourite Fionn Ó Deá
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:32 PM

It would have been struck down as unconstitutional. The constitution (and as discussed, established in X case) allows for abortion where the life of the mother is at risk (has equal regard for the lives of both). So really there is no way that rape and incest can be included in this bill – it’d need for the constitution to be changed. I’m not arguing the merits either way of the inclusion of either, I’m just stating that a referendum would be the only appropriate course of action to make it law.

Mute Rebecca Stuart
    Favourite Rebecca Stuart
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:05 AM

This should be put to a referendum and only the women of Ireland should vote! Each and every woman should be in control of there body, mind and soul! Any woman who has become pregnant due to rape or incest or who’s life is in anyway threatened should surely be offered abortion as a choice. Any woman who has a medical history physically or mentally then surely the team already involved in her care needs/plan should help and support those woman who want to have an abortion upto, during and after the procedure!

Mute Liam Mycroft
    Favourite Liam Mycroft
    Jul 12th 2013, 12:27 AM

I agree with your point that everyone should be offered by a choice, but you set a dangerous precedent campaigning for only some of the population to be allowed to vote on constitutional amendments.

What’s next we change the constitution to allow TDs to shoot people on site, but as it is only them who get to decide to pull the trigger then only they get a vote?

Mute Deirdre Ní Cheocháin
    Favourite Deirdre Ní Cheocháin
    Jul 11th 2013, 10:27 PM

no wonder with r**ist creeps like TD Tom Barry , in our government making decisions for Women!

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Jul 11th 2013, 11:48 PM

what RBB holding up there