You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IRELAND’S TRADE SURPLUS reached its highest level on record in November, as the value of exports returned to its previous highs while the volume of imports declined.
Ireland imported just over €3.7 billion of goods and services in November – down by €235 million from October – while its exports broke the €8 billion barrier for only the second time, up from €7.67 billion in October to €8.02 billion in November.
As a result, Ireland’s trade surplus stood at €4.31 billion – the highest it has been since the CSO began scraping such data.
The news, which has been welcomed by the government, will ease fears of a slump in the export sector, after figures from October showed a worrying slump in exports for that month.
The volume of exports in November 2011 was up by 9 per cent on the same month last year, while the value of imports was also up, though only by 2 per cent.
A breakdown of exports by sector showed that the exports of organic chemicals had grown by 11 per cent, while medical and pharmaceutical exports had grown by 8 per cent and dairy products by 28 per cent. Exports of computer equipment fell by 11 per cent, however.
Exports to the USA grew by 3 per cent, to France by 14 per cent, and to Britain by 4 per cent. In the first ten months of the year, the USA (23 per cent), Belgium (15 per cent) and Britain (14 per cent) were Ireland’s main markets.
Jobs minister Richard Bruton said the figures bolstered confidence in Ireland, and came a week after Eurostat said Ireland had had the second-biggest trade surplus in the EU behind only Germany.
“As I have said before, a strong export performance will be crucial to achieving the economic and jobs recovery we are all working so hard for,” he said.
Today’s figures were “particularly encouraging”, he added, given how exports are dependant on a strong eurozone which has seen its own economic growth begin to stagnate in recent months.
Chambers Ireland welcomed the figures, but warned that Ireland’s economic recovery could not come solely from increased exports, but rather a recovery in domestic demand.
“Government has made a lot of announcements recently of its intentions to introduce a partial loan guarantee scheme and labour market reforms. We now need real focus on execution and delivery of these initiatives,” said chief executive Ian Talbot.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
A lot of poorly informed people here. He was led up the garden path, factual. Read the Sunday papers. He guaranteed he’d clear his debts in full but classic paddy sly ball couldn’t have that. What is worrying is the amount of educated people that see Mr. Quinn as a gangster. There have been some serious beauties that never had even the smallest intention paying anyone, but not here.
Martin, the only way he could afford to pay his debts was by continuing to run his insurance business illegally, ie. without sufficient reserves to meet the cost of claims.
Mattoid,
Quinn put forward a perfectly viable plan on how he proposed to pay back all of the debt within 7 years. Anglo ignored this because they knew there was great money to be made in the insurance companies, group companies etc. The administrators came in and too wages that would knock you over. A lot of people have made HUGE money from the takeover of Quinn’s Irish assets. Sean saw that they were taking everything off him and that there was no way he could pay back the debt without any assets. He disputed owing the 2.3bn, and had already given them 450+ millions worth of property, business etc. He believes that he doesn’t owe the 2.3bn and wants the courts to decide this. However, as he put it on radio today ‘Anglo put cart before the horse’ and went ahead to take what is not proven to be theres. So he moved assets, yes, however Anglo have not proven that they are entitled to them. The don’t want this case against them getting to court. They want to make sure that Quinn’s money runs out long before it hits the courtroom. They’ve spent millions and millions in their pursuit of him already. Let the courts decide who owns them before jailing people etc..
@YF
His “perfectly viable plan” involved, as I said, continuing to operate his insurance business illegally.
Perfectly viable if you believe the law doesn’t apply to you I suppose…
Mattoid, where are you getting this crap from? The reserves were to be brought back up as part of the Quinn/ Anglo plan, involving a cash injection of less than a third of what was ultimately provided under the plan that was ultimately implemented, and to be paid back over 7 years.
What part of the plan involved illegal trading? Or did you perhaps just make that up?
I couldn’t agree with you more. And what’s more pathetic is everyone of the 114 people that have given you the thumbs down so far would do the exact same. Be it moving 20k here or there or putting the house in the brothers name or whatever. Hypocrites.
Exactly , if the baliffs were coming in to your home, you would be packing up valuables the night before. Was always a supporter of Quinns, have relatives in that part of country and was prob influenced by their views, however even I am shocked at what has come out in the last week.
1) Guarentees and sharepledges were signed 6 months after money was lent to support shares. Correct me if Im wrong but is this not the same as me going into paddy powers now and placing a bet on Euro 2012, spain to win when the result is known?
2) The youngest signed signed a 1 page document provided by Anglo at 19 in the students union in Galway. For €79 million
3) Anglo tried to get the Quinns to sign retrospective legal advice 6 months after the fact.
Now I am not a conspiracy theorist under normal circumstances but something here stinks to high heaven. Anglo, under the control of the government, aided and abetted by the media, are destroying this family to protect who /what ? Previous Government/ Financial Regulator/ Irelands business reputation ? Never has a government agency fought a family so hard, you have to wonder why ? Red thumb away.
You’re right Fiona.
I too, have never lived in a world of vendetta’s, cover-ups, propaganda and witch-hunting but there’s something VERY wrong with the way this whole thing is playing out. Let the truth come out…
And therefore you should go to Jail too Dean, that is of course if your not a bored troll , Dean Pritchard, how are all the faculty @ Harrison University anyway?
Some life saving medical service for some child sometime in the future will not be available as a direct result of that “concious decision” to try and stay filty rich.
Paid,
That isn’t fair. He said he would pay the full 2.8 billion back at the very beginning. He didn’t mention that the loans were made illegally. Anglo took all means to pay away from him when they wouldn’t accept the 7 year plan he submitted. This plan was viable, and was passed by the Deutsche Bank.
Take this from the start -if u bought shares in a company whose accounts were signed off by the biggest accountancy firms in the world to then find that the company u bought into was broke at the time u bought the shares.wouldnt u feel a bit p—–off and because of that ur own asset values halved overnight u would b doubly p—–off.and then u find the very same institution is running after u like u were the bad one then u’d b trebily p—– off. People have hung themselves over less . Stick with it Sean .
That’s capitalism. He made his fortune through capitalism so he can lose it through capitalism. One of the first thing a secondary school student learns in business studies is about risk. When you invest money you do it at a risk. You can make money or lose money. Unfortunately for Quinn his risk was bad so he needs to pay.
Eilish, take it back a step further – the money he invested wasn’t his to spend. He was legally obliged to maintain sufficient reserves to meet the cost of insurance claims. He flouted the law, took a huge gamble and the authorities quite rightly called him on it.
Well said Eilish! Let’s hope he does stick with it. It’s the very last thing Anglo want. They’ve thrown every obstacle in the book in his way, in hope the case he’s bringing against them doesn’t make the courtroom. Shame on you Anglo. Let Sean have his say. Prove that you are entitled to the assets before you decide to bring men to court over the movement of them! You go Sean!
Eilish it’s not the same institution running after him you foolish girl! It’s us the taxpayers because that institution is now OURS. Whatever Anglo sold to Quinn he didn’t have the money in the first place. He siphoned that off the Company which was fraud. This guy is an unmitigated rogue who began to believe he could do no wrong and now he wants to steal our money to live in a lifestyle to which he has become accustomed!
Eilish He did NOT buy shares. He had CFD ie he agreed to buy the shares at a certain price, but only pay 10% or so at that time, and possibly sell them at the same time if the price was right so making a profit. When price started to go away from him he had to come up with the difference so he borrowed it and agreed to buy more. Classic double up to make up.
@doesnotcompute – how exactly would you do this homework? Using the fraudulent accounts? Investors are entitled to be protected as well as the public.
@maura – he DID buy shares as well as CFDs.
There’s a thing in business called due diligence. Before doing a deal that big you send in your team of lawyers and forensic accountants to rifle through the books. You don’t just do this to protect yourself, you also do it because when you find any problems you can then use them as a bargaining chip to haggle down the price. It is not that much different from buying a second hand car- it’s in your interests to find faults with it to get a better man gain.
But Quinns style of business was never about doing due diligence. He is more the type of old style guy who would decide if you’re honest by looking you up and down. That doesn’t cut the mustard when the consequences are €2.3bn. And because he didn’t do his due diligence he got sold a pig in a poke over the telephone by Sean Fitzpatrick. The very fact an Anglo employee got his niece to sign a €79m document in a students union bar proves that the whole thing was done at breakneck speed. That suggests that Quinn thought the share price was going to go up, not down. He wanted to get it done asap before the share price rose. But if he had of done his due diligence then his team would have come back and told him to avoid Anglo like the plague.
Also don’t forget that Quinn refused to hire actuaries in his insurance business, citing them as too expensive. An actuary is the cornerstone of the insurance business, they use complex quantitative analysis to assess and evaluate risk which then informs the underwriters how to price the policy, T&C’s, etc so the insurance business isn’t left exposed if a rake of claims come in simultaneously. If you don’t employ actuaries then you’re not an insurance company, you’re a bookie who makes up odds on the fly and hopes for the best. And that is how Quinn operated, basically as a gambler. His gambling instincts transferred from insurance to banking deals and this deal was the one that was one step too far.
Absolutely not. Due diligence refers to analysis undertaken in a merger or takeover. Ordinary shareholders (even of the size of Quinn) are not privy to the intricate details that would be provided in a due diligence process. Analysing publicly available information does not constitute due diligence.
Instead they must rely on information provided by the company and it’s Auditors. There is no scope for an ordinary shareholder to just demand additional information and rifle through the books in any more detail those provided by the audited accounts and company reports.
So to say Quinn should have just magic-ed up additional info, under the assumption the audited accounts were fraudulent, is not only unrealistic, it would have been impossible. And to say because you feel he was wreckless, it’s fair to assume he wouldn’t have used the valid information if it was available is typically presumptive of the opinions in some of these comments.
You’re also wrong on Anglo sending someone down to Galway for Quinn’s daughter to sign guarantees. This was done much later than the investments were made, and for the sole purpose of giving ANglo additional leverage over the Quinn family when the shares were tanking. It wasn’t to take advantage of an expected share price burst. The Quinn family went along with Anglo, but should have jsut refused.Their paying the price for going along with Anglo in more ways than just the investment.
“I’m not the easiest man to advise” so says the man himself above. He went into it with his eyes full of dollar signs. Greed, ego and hubris are what made him, and the very things that destroyed him.
Where in any report about Sean Quinn does it say he refused to pay his loans. It does say however that Sean Quinn has in the past said he could have his loans paid back in 7 years but no it was not good enough for most people and it seems that most just wanted to destroy the Quinn group completely So congrats to all who have ridiculed possibly the most successful employer in Ireland he gained such respect from his employees.
The man took money (illegally), gambled it and lost, that’s clear. What I can’t understand is those of you defending him. Sure, there are others that are guilty of this and worse, that’s not much of a defence though. I hope he, and those of his family involved, spend the rest of their lives paying for this, not necessarily in jail.
His novel defence is akin to an armed robber saying that he shouldn’t be jailed whilst there are still murderers out there who haven’t been caught yet!
Sean, Anglo are gone. It’s the IRBC that is chasing you on behalf of us, the citizens. While you didn’t take flight to some foreign country, you made every effort to send your assets abroad. What ever happened to your tears and snots pledge on RTE TV doc to pay the tax payer back every last cent…
Anglo were unaware that Quinn was amassing such a large stake in the bank because it was done through indirect means such as CFDs. When Fitzpatrick and Drumm found out they were horrified as it had the potential to do serious damage to the share value; if the market got wind of a large holding in the hands of one person they would start dumping the shares because of the danger Quinn himself would offload them, in turn devaluing the shares (basically a game of chicken except the winner panics first!). The whole maple 10 and Quinn 6 fiasco was an attempt (most likely illegally, that’s before the courts at the moment) to get out of this situation and unwind Quinn’s holdings. Although Anglo certainly misstated the performance of the bank they did not encourage Quinn to buy so many share, quite the opposite. He took a massive, stupid gamble for which he is too arrogant to accept responsibility and now we are all paying for it. Certainly the heads of Anglo would be before the courts, and some of them are already, but that in no way exonerates Sean Quinn. If he really feels Anglo people should be prosecuted he should contact the Gardai abd give evidence
@Noddy. The race card for the 3.15 at Leopardstown won’t have reports from teams of regulated entities confirming that the horse’s leg is 100%. And if they did, you’d probably feel justified in saving some of the stake from the bookie
Noddy the law going after the wrong people.he put a lot of time
Money and effort into his lifetimes work and the crooks at the banks wrecked the whole show.they were the bankers he was the worker .
Then explain to me what a CFD has to do with running an insurance company, or a packaging company, or any other type of business? The man gambled his fortune and lost. Simple as that.
Sean Quinn is an Entrepreneur that provided 1000′s of jobs for people in the economy during the boom, he took calculated risks and worked hard. The bankers with white collars & bent government officials should be the ones that are weeded out and put behind bars – not Sean Quinn. I agree he is been made a Scape Goat.
Turlough if he was that benevolent he wouldnt have risked all their jobs on such a high risk adventure as trying to own a bank. Sean Quinn has spent his life telling people who have run industries for many many years that they havent a clue, that he can run them better. Quarrying, hotels, insurance and banking. The sheer arrogance of the man has been what has brought him down. Failures to heed the rules of the insurance industry placed him in an advantageous position to build up the vehicle that he hoped would pay off his debts. Had he had to play on a level playing field with everyone else he wouldnt have had that behind him. I dont understand peoples need to defend this man. His actions are reprehensible, but we are the ones who are going to end up paying the bill. of course the rest of the muppets who brought the country down also need to be dealth with, but thats for a different day. Sean Quinn and his family deserve nothing from us, pity, defending or bailout. Its baffling that people seek to protect his actions.
Mr McGivney, Anglo Irish Bank created 1,000′s of jobs for people during the boom too. Both gamblers, both lost, and all those 1,000′s of jobs disappeared along with them. It was a mistake to bailout Anglo, but we don’t have to bailout Quinn just cos he gave your ma a job or he goes to mass every Sunday.
It beggars belief that Anglo have gone from such a hated company, to the ‘good guys trying to retrieve the money from the bad guys’. Let’s not forget that Anglo’s debts are in excess of 30billion. They are pursuing Quinn for a disputed 2.3bn. … Best timing ever for them to pursue someone. Takes the heat off them for a little while..And why were the government so quick to bail out Anglo and burden us all with their huge debts…to pay off the bondholders? It makes you wonder
Y.F., what part of Anglo no longer exists don’t you get? Quinn is being chased by the IRBC, a company set up to achieve the maximum return for the Irish citizen. It is they we champion and they’re doing a pretty good job on our behalf. This Anglo are now jerks argument is null and void…
O Reilly, You champion IRBC? You champion the fact that we pay them 1000 euro an hour (MC Killop and Co). You champion the fact that the top guys of IRBC have paid themselves 400 million in 27 months? You champion the fact that they spend hundreds of millions of tax payers money on legal teams so that Quinn cannot bring their case against them?????
He admitted taking some of his money out of Anglo’s reach. These guys owe 40 billion, have paid themselves mad money (1000 quid an hour), have got rid of local sponsorship eg GAA (they are not Irish so they wouldnt understand the importance of the community in Irish business), and have antagonised suppliers to the companies they are ‘running’, And Sean took money out of their reach???? How could he??
I’m sorry Charlie, he’s a common criminal, a thief. He has admitted this on radio and to add insult to injury he has also stated that he is glad to have committed this crime. His statement may incriminate the rest of his family, so now they will also quite rightly go to jail. I now await him ratting all his buddies out, and because we now are run from Germany there is some chance of this large group of fraudsters and criminals being held accountable. I’m delighted to see an end to their sleazy behaviour.
Has anyone seen Pat Neary lately or seen a bad word written about him for that matter in our tax exiled and government owned ”unbiased” media??
Do you remember Pat?
Pat was the Financial Regulator who presided over many classics including the bank guarantee and the famous Anglo €7.5 Billion ”Sub” from PTSB etc,etc,etc.
Off the 100 plus comments on this article this is the best! It’s been along time since i’ve heard Pats Neary’s name mentioned and it’s not even in an article written by a journalist! I would be very interested in an article written by thejournal.ie to inform us on where Pat is now and what he’s doing. I wonder has he spent his €600,000 plus “golden handshake” yet!?
I dont see mr Quinn as some sort of victim however if you think he will go quietly into the night you are all mistaken. Unlike the masses in this country he will give the banks the politicians & the legal system, which are all corrupt, a bloody nose & I admire him for that. Thats what we need people to stand up to corrupt authority. Sean Quinn did not wreck this country the banks & the politicians did. Ireland has a short memory.
Yes I find it hilarious that Anglo/IRBC are now the heroes. They only owe 40 billion after all….But good plan at shifting the blame. Quinn Oh so Bad! Anglo OH so Good! ???????
Funny how the comment section to this article is business as usual. But when it comes to Seanie Fitz, you’re not allowed to say anything because it’s an ”ongoing case.”
Am I right in thinking that this case is still ongoing as there’s a possibility Sean Quinn can be put in jail?
Our freedom of speech in Ireland is as suppressed as the poor people of China.
Quinn can be put in jail for civil contempt of court, it’s not a criminal matter and he has already been found in contempt. If criminal charges are brought against him I suspect they will be closed. Seanie Fitz has been charged with criminal offences which are before the court which is why comments are closed on his.
Elisha, Anglo would have been dead and buried many times over since then without any of the Quinn related stuff or the accounting issues. Look at the 10s of billions of recapitalizations they’ve needed.they were lending massively to property developers far more aggressively than any of the other banks and were way more concentrated in this business – when the crash came, game over.
I think lhe likes of KPMG or price water house would have a little more about them than a horse at a race course-but it’s not about that it’s about lending him money for shares under false pretense
he made the decision to gamble his money, nobody put a gun to his and told him to invest in anglo, all we ask now is that he pay the money he owes. he refuses so he should be in prison. no argument will change these facts!
Eilish, he signed the loan agreement. He knew what the money was going to be used for – propping up the share price. Who would have benifited from this – he would off because of all the shares he had. Why did he not shout foul then instead of waiting till now, because it did not work. The judge was spot on in what he said.
What am
Axes me is that Quinn believes that he is some sort of victim. His righteousness is frankly astounding. He owed the monies to Anglo, now effectively to the State. He thinks it unfortunate that the courts agreed with this position. He was very rich but that was not enough. He gambled his riches and lost. Don’t whinge about it now and look to place the blame elsewhere.
If Anglo hadn’t cooked the books as they did nothing much would have gone wrong with the share value.its just they were s——-themselves for running a rogue bank is why in reality the share price dropped.
Eilish, Quinn amassed his shares using money taken from his insurance company illegally. He clearly got hooked on the notion of controlling a large bank. All this done without the knowledge of Anglo execs. When they did realise the extent of his stake, that’s when the shit hit the fan. But he got that far all on his own. Looks to have been a case if working boy done good – on top of the world ma – until it all came crashing down…
Eilish, what exactly is your agenda here? Do you accept or not the law of the land? The Quinns are paying top dollar for legal defence so I don’t get this “mother’s union” of voices suddenly jumping to defend them. What do you make of the convicts wife working as a part-time receptionist at Joe Duffy motors while “earning” 300K from a Ukranian company. They’re an underhand, ignorant bunch who shat in their own nest when greed got the better of them.
Anglo were crooks and broke all sorts of company law but there is whether people like it or not there is a case to be made that this was market manipulation in which case Sean Quinn may be entitled to compensation but this shall be for the courts to decide. I for one wouldn’t be shocked if he won the case against Anglo.
But Eilish this bit;
“If Anglo hadn’t cooked the books as they did nothing much would have gone wrong with the share value”
If you honestly believe this then you are living in a fantasy land, Anglo would be bankrupt not because of sean quinn and cooking the books, Anglo is bankrupt because its business model in the long run was deeply flawed and relied far to heavily on property investment in overheated markets.
AIB and BOI didnt cook the books ( that we know of) yet they went bust too.
This notion that Quinn took money from his own companies to buy the Anglo shares is nonsense. He used share guarantees as collateral, which the Irish financial regulator approved. Elderfield later disagreed on who would have first call on the guarantees, but this case again has not been heard. Elderfield took 3 days to make the decision to toust Quinn and disallowed him his right to contest – by any stretch this was an exceptionally rash move and unheard of for a regulator to make such a dramatic move without any due diligence completed.
It’s very easy to emotively say “He stole insurees money in investing in Anglo” but that’s grossly inaccurate.
1stpoint. Drumm and Fitzpatrick were in shock as they would have to give full disclosure of the books having realised Sean quinns stake 2nd point.whoever was looking after the shares of Anglo should have alerted the CEO.that a predatory purchase was being made at 22% therefore could have closed down any further share issue.
Eilish thats not really accurate,
1. They were in shock not because they’d have to ” give full disclosure of the books” they were in shock because they thought worst case scenario he might only hold 10% of Anglo, the fact that he had in excess of 20% through cfd’s and the ramifications for the Anglo share price was what shocked them.
2. Your second point makes no sense who is this person “looking after the shares of Anglo” “to alert the CEO”? Quinn built up most of his shareholding through CFD’s which do not have to be disclosed to the market or registered anywhere. No one but Quinn and his advisors could have known he was doing this and to the extent he was.
closing down any further share issue would have done nothing either as the volume of shares the market was already so high.
Ha Ha
People go on about Sean Quinns life style and greed.
And Seanie Fitz is the one with the Villa in the Golden mile and the all year round suntan?
And Drumm is the one buying expensive homes in the U.S?
And Fingelton is swanning around the Mediterranean?
The guards have to make appointments with these guys?
Not to mention the Golden boys on the 200k a year NAMA Dole and their aircraft and art collections?
I look forward to the day that Quinn, Dunne, Seanie Fitzpatrick, other senior Anglo Bankers as well as the bankers in AIB and BOI who lied on the night of the bank guarantee are behind bars for a very very long time. Crooks the lot of them.
He’s done what he can ,he s worked as he could , is this countryreduced to the voyeuristic lynching of a man ?when s it on should we bring our sandwiches
Yes which is an established practice nothing unusual when being a predator in the stock market . The failing was Anglo not recognising such practice , hense the cowboy outfit they were .it could have been someone like say Richard Branson (read his life story) wanting in on the most successful bank of the decade so much was the s—- coming from Anglo and its auditors. Torture the entrepreneurs why don’t we. Great way of getting the economy back on its feet.
Why does everyone have to b accused of having an agenda .i don’t have one at all . Just think a man who took a chance did well in a few years because the banks had money to throw around.would have stayed good but for the property price collapse should not b put through this when it was the banking system let him. like the rest of us down. ,and that only happened because the Germans and French threw money at us as they did the Africa n south American countries .My agenda -don’t like seeing unfairness meeted out from instructions -it happened for too long -and just glad of the journal as an outlet for my frustration.
You have contributed about 10% of the posts on this thread and you have posted on every Quinn related article I’ve seen. Seems to me you do have an agenda, otherwise I find it odd that you’d champion the cause of a multi-billionaire who gambled his fortune, lost it, destroyed what he built, destroyed the livelihoods of his employees and now wants to renege on his loans so the tax-payer will foot the bill for him and his brood. Strange sort of underdog you’re supporting ther Ailish. Quinn’s not starving at the side of the road you know.
Clive ,
There’s a bitchiness in your tone that is not needed…talking about comments above. I don’t think you’re seeing the full picture. Quinn was happy to pay back his debt and put forward a perfectly viable plan that was approved, however Anglo wanted him gone.Why did they not want to go with the 7 yr. plan? I believe you could call this a vendetta against Quinn as they seem to have been more interested in getting rid of him than getting the debts paid off. NOW their PR campaign is to make everyone think that they’re trying to retrieve assets, as best they can. There is no mention of this plan. He did not renege on his loans….he was robbed of the opportunity to repay them. You go with Anglo Clive……and all the propaganda!
‘First Day’? As in the first day he started to bulid up his very successful businesses resulting in thousands of jobs, paying thousands of mortgages???
Money saved through free schoolbooks scheme is being swallowed up by school laptops, parents say
3 hrs ago
Trump Tariffs
Trump's planning 250% tariffs on pharmaceuticals - and he hasn't forgotten about Ireland
Updated
4 hrs ago
Clondalkin
Teenage cyclist who died after being struck by car in Dublin named locally
18 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 216 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 150 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 197 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 160 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 120 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 121 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 51 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 48 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 178 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 78 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 112 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 117 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 66 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 37 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 123 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 127 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 95 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 68 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 117 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 104 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say