This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 22 March, 2019
Advertisement

This is how you can block those annoying Candy Crush invites on Facebook

And anything else that happens to annoy you.

Image: Lauren Hurley/Press Association Images

SOMETIMES FACEBOOK CAN end up overwhelming you. While the news feed organises posts based on your interests (unless you go chronologically), it’s likely there are some things you would rather not see.

If you get an invite for a game like Candy Crush Saga, you may just dismiss it and think nothing of it. If you’re flooded with invites, then there’s a problem.

If that is happening regularly, or you’re getting tired of the same person or page interacting with you, then you should access the ‘blocked’ page in settings.

How to access it

When you go into settings (or by following this link), look to the menu on the left-hand side. The blocking option will be the fifth option from the top. Clicking it will present you with the following options.

Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 19.48.50

Restricted List

When you add people to this list, they can only see the info and posts you’ve made public. Your friends won’t know about this so this is a nice way of restricting their access to your posts.

Block users

If using the ‘restricted list’ isn’t good enough, you can go one step further. Once you block someone, they can’t see any of your activity, interact with you or add you as a friend. Consider this the nuclear option.

Block app invites

Since many free games ask players to add friends for points (or similar benefits), this will ignore any invites from a specific specific friend.

Block event invites

Similar to the last option, only this time it relates to event invites from a specific friend.

Block apps

You might not think it, but Facebook has quite a number of apps that you can download directly. Yet some can continue notifying you even when you’ve stopped using them. Adding them here prevents them from contacting your or accessing private info from you through Facebook.

Block Pages

Similarly, you can block specific pages, preventing them from interacting with you. It also means you can no longer post on its wall or message it. If you’ve ‘Liked’ a page, blocking it will unlike and unfollow it.

Read: Together, we’ve played one trillion songs this year >

Read: Here’s how you can unlock your computer using just your phone >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Quinton O'Reilly

Read next:

COMMENTS (12)

    Trending Tags