You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Meath East TD said the Government should be looking to take back control of the waste management sector. © RollingNews

Sinn Féin TD: Families 'punished' for using Deposit Return Scheme after reported bin price hike

Darren O’Rourke said it is “absurd” that households are expected to make up the lost profit of a few waste corporations.

SINN FÉIN TD Darren O’Rourke has said families are being “punished” for using the Deposit Return Scheme after reports that waste management companies are to increase bin charges as a result of lost revenue.

The Irish Independent reported earlier today that waste management companies could accumulate up to €15 million in lost revenue each year as they no longer sell the same tonnage of PET plastics or aluminum, both recyclable materials, to producers.

Though the newspaper reports the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications is engaging with waste management unions, O’Rourke has said Government inaction in the privatisation of the industry has brought us to this point.

“Ultimately, the government’s hands-off approach to waste management is not working. The private market continues to bolster a system in which perverse incentives dominate because households are punished for doing the right thing,” the Meath East TD said.

6235 Energy Poverty Strategy Bill_90656813 Sinn Féin Meath East TD Darren O'Rourke. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

He added that it is “absurd” that households are expect to make up the lost profit of a few waste corporations and that the Government should be looking to take back control of the waste management sector.

“Multiple EU states have proven that this is the way forward – not only is it better for consumers, but it is better for the environment too,” O’Rourke, the party’s spokesperson for Climate Action and the Environment said.

“Ordinary workers and families deserve a waste management system that doesn’t treat them as the collateral damage in the pursuit of profit maximisation,” he added.

The Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications has been contacted for comment.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:31 PM

So the deposit returned scheme costs me time and fuel to get my deposit back, and now I have to pay more for my bins despite the fact I use them less? What an amazing system.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:44 PM

@Ger Whelan: and someone else is making money from the recycling , hmm?

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:53 PM

@Ger Whelan: there’s a great point you’re burning fuel disposing of the bottles when that said bin is full. That’s a journey you wouldn’t have made and thousands more the same. There’s a great way to impact the environment either extra journeys by people overall throughout the country. Unless of course they can tie all the bottles to they’re push bikes and go down the cycle lanes of the green parties and there’s a recycling machine on it or at the end of it somewhere?

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:59 PM

@Paddy C: surely you bring your cans when you are going shopping. No need for extra journeys

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:02 PM

@Sean Hayes: some don’t they have a bin for it in they’re houses like the glass recycling they do it when that glass bin is full not every time there’s a few glass jars and bottles lying about.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:05 PM

@Paddy C: Not to mention the new requirement for trucks making special collections from the vending machines, whilst at the same time the normal bin lorry is covering the same domestic routes and lifting half empty bins.
    And of course, these reverse vending machines have to use power and be located in expensive retail floorspace.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan

@Sean Hayes: My wife gets our shopping delivered since COVID. So yes it’s an extra journey for us.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:06 PM

@Sean Hayes: And if you get your shopping delivered?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:07 PM

@Ger Whelan: waiting, in a que to get my money back, when I’d normally would have put them in the green bin is starting to really annoy the fluck out of me..

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:13 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: spot on but unfortunately those who implement these great green incentives obviously didn’t take the time to think it through just nodded off while the thought hit as eamon himself has in the past,hence half assed results.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:25 PM

@Ger Whelan:
    Let them get the money from the waste companies that now take our plastic bottles.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:35 PM

@Mary.E.: no they would say that’s a separate contract no doubt, although it’s most likely the same company or is connected to it or owned by the same group.Same old, great idea and those who’d benefit from it heard it and backed it knowing they’d make money, nothing to do with the environment at all.
    Now we have roderic heading to lead the green party the same idiot who pushed the migration act.Said ‘we have a legal and moral obligation’ to house whoever comes regardless. Board the plane with a passport(you need it to board anywhere in the world) then arrive without it,walla gangsters,fraudsters couldn’t dream of it in they’re wildest imaginations.Even the likes of Snowden who legged it to russia must be kicking himself now,doubt they hand out accommodation and the perks there not a hope.

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:52 PM

@Ger Whelan: combine returning your cans and bottles with going to a pac a sac compactor and stuffing your waste in that. Or opt for pay per lift and just don’t put out your bins as much. I step in the bins several times. Last time our recycle bin was out was 30-4-24 and that weighed 17kg total cost €4.49 but we do pay a montly service charge of €12. Hope that helps

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:12 AM

@Sean Hayes: And when the superduber machine is not working, ye bring them back with your shopping if you have room and try again next time.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:23 AM

@Paul Gorry: well at that point you’re in the shopping centre with you’re trolley if you do so you’ve to carry you’re bags of empty cans around aswel or get them in the trolley and set off the sensors on the way out aswel, great crack altogether.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:30 AM

@Nemethon: Me granny attempted to step in a bin once. It didn’t end well, tho. Rip granny…

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:55 AM

@Ger Whelan: She should go back to the supermarket. Covid is long in the rear view mirror.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:15 AM

Only decent thing a shinner ever did was starve themselves

Mute Eric McTible
    Favourite Eric McTible
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:47 AM

@Paddy C: A journey you wouldn’t have made ? Do you not go to the shop for food? The recycling machines are at the shops not in some obscure location. People typically have to go to the shop for food and the basics, while there you can simply bring back your few bottles.

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:26 AM

@Eric McTible: people getting awful excited about having to bring bottles back to a shop they are going to anyways. I don’t get it. Working in other countries for years. The hike in bins being collected is a joke though to be fair.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jul 2nd 2024, 10:13 AM

@Thomas Sheridan: they are not at all worried about the environment,that’s just a con job for a money racket….

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:37 PM

@Ger Whelan: The waste companies should be paying us for our “raw materials” seeing they get paid by producers for said products!!!

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jul 3rd 2024, 9:34 AM

@Ger Whelan: so why not when you go shopping the next time you bring the bottles with you, no extra travel or fuel, but agree on bins charges

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Jul 3rd 2024, 9:36 AM

@Paddy C: big plastic bag, if you do it weekly, you wouldn’t have much

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:43 PM

I was perfectly happy recycling plastic bottles in the green bin, as were most people. Now I’m paying more and then having to bring these bottles to the supermarket, that’s a twenty minute drive away, in the hope the machine is working. It’s an absolute joke

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:30 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey:
    You feel like a right prat standing there trying to smooth out any dinges that have been rejected.

Mute Don Knox
    Favourite Don Knox
    Jul 3rd 2024, 4:44 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: I presume you’d go to the supermarket to shop anyway . How about you bring your plastic bottles at the same time. Genius

Mute Kev Mc
    Favourite Kev Mc
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:24 PM

Green Party strikes again

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:20 PM

@Cormac Carroll: Add SF to the list. The usual words of wisdom from SF. Four days ago Belfast Telegraph – Stormont plans to add three recycling bins to collections in NI will cost taxpayers £1 bn. No Greens, FF or FG in the Stormont executive but plenty SFers.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:05 PM

@Vincent Alexander: Why is this SFs fault? It was the greens who pushed this, and it’s the gov that didn’t see the greedy waste disposal companies furey at being down money. So lay the blame where it’s meant to go. By the way, dont believe all you read in the Telegraph.

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:38 PM

@Kev Mc: They need board positions once they leave government!!!

Mute GEORGE STAGG
    Favourite GEORGE STAGG
    Jul 2nd 2024, 1:29 PM

@Vincent Alexander: methinks you are trolling

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:59 PM

@Mona Murphy: When the scheme was announced SF expressed no opinion on it. Now they are in with their populist rhetoric. It is often good to look North and see SF’s stance on issues there. It would appear that they are backing six as opposed to the current three bin system with the additional cost. I would have more faith in what the Telegraph prints as opposed to An Phoblacht.

Mute aidan martin
    Favourite aidan martin
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:27 PM

The new ireland ,we bailed out the banks ,now we’ve to bail out company’s when their profits are down,

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:32 PM

@aidan martin: Well, We’ve been bailing out RTE for Decades! But still you’re local TD Won’t do Nothing about it!!!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:56 PM

@Mick Hanna: It’s ” your ” mick anywaysanall it was worth it to see biddy get rid of miley..

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Jul 2nd 2024, 9:13 AM

@aidan martin:
    Now you have it, remember the bankers that couldn’t count. This racket was about not bringing the plastic and tin back, so profits could be maintained all round.

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:27 PM

If ever there was an industry to renationalise it’s waste management …but will a politician ever suggest that no.can’t spook the capitalist/investment/shareholder class horses

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:36 PM

People are not only happy with capitalism, they are going further rightwards to a more concentrated form of capitalism, like oligarchy.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:41 PM

Basically going to get our pockets picked for doing the right thing..the government should Penalise these Cartels if they pursue this..

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:48 PM

@Will Q: can’t blame the bon companies. Their business model included revenue from selling aluminium scrap, now its been taken away and given to Return crowd. It should be Return that have to subside the bin companies.

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:59 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: why subsidiaries, plenty of companies loose contracts or supply chains and have to diverse without biting the hand that feeds them…

Mute Glenn Halpin
    Favourite Glenn Halpin
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:13 PM

@Will Q: gas how this story only breaking after local and europe elections, so none of the candidates have to deal with it. And then it will gave quietened down nicely for next years general election .. great little country.

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:25 PM

@Will Q: Profits from the new scheme should more than cover it

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:37 PM

@Glenn Halpin: it’s even more gas how the migration pact was avoided at all costs. Rather, replace ‘gas’ with unbelievably underhanded and scandalous.

Mute Tony G
    Favourite Tony G
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:41 PM

Return Scheme, the gift that keeps on giving…..

Mute Andrew Kenny
    Favourite Andrew Kenny
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:47 PM

ÈIRE translates to Gougeland!! At evert turn it’s gouge, fleece rip off etc. We’ve lost our way.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:48 PM

Another gem from the government

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:24 PM

So now we drive back with our gathered bottles we have to pay more for our lesser used green bin..

It’s all about the profit recycling my backside

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex

I call it, the return scam, not scheme.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jul 2nd 2024, 9:21 AM

@Alex: Hope you weren’t up all night thinking of that!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:40 PM

No surprise as usual what else was expected. The green party are like the father ted episode were they used rabbits to race instead of greyhounds thinking it would solve they’re problem. If those green clowns had any cop on they would have kept the recycling bins and offered incentives to make sure people place ALL of they’re recyclables in the appropriate bin, by maybe small discount depending on the weight of that bin itself on the overall bill every month. They’re half assed decisions have cost huge sums of taxpayers money to no real avail. Most of the time the machines aren’t working properly or full and I’ve seen people get fed up waiting for it to be sorted and putting it in the nearest bin. Absolute farce and roderics incompetence hopefully will finish them now for good.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK

Eamon Ryan’s Swan song to the Irish electorate.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:30 PM

NOW, Isn’t it Enough. Time to get some Value out of the Council. Come on TDs show some decency for Once!!!

Mute Happy As Larry
    Favourite Happy As Larry
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:26 PM

It’s a joke much wants more

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:08 PM

It’s a crazy system that might have made sense 20 years but not when everyone is already recycling at home.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:45 PM

Ossian Smith must be the thickest TD in the Dail, no foresight, no planning & no answers. The Drinks Industry allowed to design a scheme that suits themselves & increases their profits & control on the industry. Then they form a Ltd Company place themselves as Directors & no transparency around Salaries or what’s happening to the Millions of Euro in uncollected monies. Ossian Smith now heaping even more pressure on hard pressed families with the Waste Companies increasing prices. The Greens (Neasa) wondering then why events in France are happening, Smith should be fired with immediate effect, a clown.

Mute derek long
    Favourite derek long
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:46 PM

This was bound to happen to make up for the loss of revenue by the waste disposal companies

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:30 PM

This country continues to punish the less well off and middle class. Pushing more people into poverty. So hard get ahead with in particular young irish people forced to leave here as cant survives living in this rip off country. Yet irish people being overlooked when comes to housing and health. Sad state in

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:45 PM

@martin finnegan: and set to worsen thanks to the migration pact now unfortunately, whats done is done unless enough people kick up and they’re taken from power with the hope of what goes in they’re place has more cop on. Hard to believe the country with its housing,health and cost of living is in the state its in. Blame it on the war in Ukraine or global warming or some crap not the idiots in power who allowed it to unfold and watched it worsen rapidly.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain

This is Fine Gael FF all over. Half of them are broken and the stench of booze off them, a lot of people putting those flaggins of cider I assume but sometimes it’s puzzling why they can stink of booze so badly. Re the other matter, It’s completely unacceptable what the gangsters looking after bins in Ireland were already charging.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:15 AM

I told you all it was a scam from the very start. But no one listed.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:34 AM

I have been saying since the introduction of Return, that this would be the obvious outcome from removing the majority of premium items from household green bin.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:31 PM

SF are for laughing at

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:39 PM

@John D Doe: why?

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran

@John D Doe: Childish comment from a manchild.

Mute Caroline Otoole
    Favourite Caroline Otoole
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:13 AM

When picking litter I can’t ever remember picking a 2 liter, only cans and 500ml. So take away the levy on the 2 liter and we can go back to putting those in the green bin.

Mute martin finnegan
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:03 PM

Thats Ireland for u

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh

It’s 50/50 chance the can/plastic bottle recycling machines are working. I’ve seen people putting used plastic nappies into them locally.

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:42 PM

@Meh Meh: what sort of babys are going around wearing plastic nappys

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:00 AM

@Patrick K: roderic o gorman might conjure up an idea for it with a stealth tax on it nothings hard to believe with his way of thinking combined with eamons grow lettuce on a window sill in covid. Would want to be a big window sill if you’ve to feed more than a rabbit with it.

Mute AD Cahill
    Favourite AD Cahill
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:49 AM

@Patrick K: Plastic babys

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:55 PM

O what a surprise tell us something we didn’t know .the government are leeches

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:38 AM

So if the bin companies are losing 15 million,we can now assume the supermarket s are making 15 million,

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:32 PM

I stopped reading after Families.

Mute Patrick K
    Favourite Patrick K
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:50 PM

What does the weirdo who was on here the other day calling everyone buttercups have to say about this

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:07 PM

@Patrick K: ‘suck it up’ as he says no doubt, shame the bottle recycling machines don’t seem to, they get clogged or out of order more often than not

Mute martin finnegan
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:02 PM

Thats ireland paying for you.

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Jul 2nd 2024, 10:36 AM

I was perfectly happy recycling my bottles and cans and now I have to pay for not doing it government needs to take back bin collection

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:29 AM

How about not buying these plastic bottles in places where tap water is drinkable?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:03 PM

Sinn Fein would know all about people being punished.
    2,000 punishment beatings in NI since the GFA. Plus a couple of murders.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:16 PM

@John Mulligan: Jaysus John, can you not for once, just once, comment on the story at hand and not come out with the usual “Gerry Adams ate my hamster” rubbish? It’s really boring and to be honest, I worry about your mental wellbeing.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:47 AM

@John Mulligan: Very relevant to the topic as usual …. Clown

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:54 AM

@John Mulligan: militantly anti SF and possibly mad

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:59 AM

@Anthony Curran: nice to see that the ‘activists’ are on duty again after the drubbing the IRA got in the elections — they were on silent for a while there.
    The army council must be spreading some of the diesel dollars around again.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:12 PM

Who has given out punishment beatings? What evidence have you got? My family lives in belfast, and i haven’t heard of any punishments beatings but I’ve heard a lot about gangsters torturing decent people and cops doing nothing.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:09 PM

Lol John Mulligan bitter Little orange man

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:08 PM

Lol theres John .Come on weres your little attacks on working class people.

Mute Jimmy Savage
    Favourite Jimmy Savage
    Jul 2nd 2024, 11:29 AM

It is actually a pain in the hoop that i lose my deposit due to the bin being full and then get charged more for my private bin. I don’t think this was thought through. They charge me 15 cent on every bottle/can but don’t have the capacity to recycle every bottle/can. We’ve been scammed.

Mute Gerard Hayden
    Favourite Gerard Hayden
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:24 AM

If your bottles are being rejected for dinges, try reinsert them with the return logo uppermost. That is often enough to have them accepted

Mute Galway Carpenter
    Favourite Galway Carpenter
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:04 PM

I laugh at this, I once was paying local council over €300 for a none service in Galway, bins everywhere, no customer service and now pay €219 a year with a service better than most utilities! I’m paying less now for a better service, long may it continue!

Mute Karl Phillips
    Favourite Karl Phillips
    Jul 2nd 2024, 9:19 AM

C’mon this little racket has exposed the the green bin recycling ♻️. Little guy gets a few bob back for helping the environment and we are wrong, what about competition. What a great little country.

Mute Hugo Omar Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Omar Martinez
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:10 AM

Now you can see in city center a lost of people looking in the rubbish Bing for plastic bottles and cans
    Healt /safety gov

Mute Neil Mahony
    Favourite Neil Mahony
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:53 PM

If these waste collection companies are allowed to increase their fees, It will only be a matter of time before we start seeing bags of recyclables on the paths and country roads.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:47 PM

But here’s the thing.
    Do waste collectors actually sell to recyclers/manufacturers?
    Where can we see the breakdown of these sales?

Mute Peter Dunwoody
    Favourite Peter Dunwoody
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:16 PM

They are claiming, on what ! losing maybe 12-14, million a year, that’s a serious amount of money, just goes to show how much they were profiting, by reselling our recyclable, products, if they are making that much and more they should be paying us, for collecting, it in the first place. I have put out maybe ten bins, over the last year, green and black, between a service charge, ( now €25.00 with Panda), I have paid them, nearly €200.00, that works out at €20.00 a lift scandalous.

Mute Nicholas Grubb
    Favourite Nicholas Grubb
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:47 AM

Was not the most stupid thing ever done by our politicians and supported by SF, the charging for the refuse and the giving of the water for so called free. Despite the fact 250,000 rural household having to pay. Now we have a grossly underfunded water system, not fit for drinking in many cases and litter all over the place. Populist politics at its worst.

Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:22 PM

It’s a lose lose for joe public again!
    Why can’t joe public have a share of the profit and get their nose in the trough??

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:49 AM

The usual contributions from the usual suspects on here just whinging and moaning. Like sheep bleating in tandem. Baaaaaa. Baaaaaaa. You just can’t help yourselves and are in no way self aware enough to realise that you all exist in an echo chamber.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Jul 2nd 2024, 3:31 AM

@Sun Rise: I feel entirely justified in complaining about something that makes me waste a lot more of my time, and ends up costing me more money.
    I’ll say the same thing about Minimum Unit Pricing, it’s done nothing of note except for costing me more money.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jul 2nd 2024, 4:53 AM

@Sun Rise: don’t you love people who take time out to come on here and moan about people moaning on here, abit hypocritical innit.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jul 2nd 2024, 7:08 AM

@Sun Rise: There’s a reason nobody likes you, pet..

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jul 2nd 2024, 6:35 PM

If it wasn’t for drugged up long term innercity doleheads littering, we wouldn’t have to pay this charge!