You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micheál Martin and Catherine Ardagh RollingNews.ie

'Exhausting': Senator outlines struggle to find school place for son as FF criticises slow progress

Meanwhile, Sinn Féin has pledged to fully staff CDNT teams amid reports of 800 vacancies.

LAST UPDATE | 20 Nov 2024

FIANNA FÁIL PARTY leader Micheál Martin today hit out at the HSE and the Green Party for a lack of progress in delivering school-based therapies for children with disabilities.

Fianna Fáil and Sinn Féin both separately launched their disability policies in Dublin earlier today.

Sinn Féin said there had been a “decades-long failure” of successive Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil governments to provide for disabled people.

Meanwhile, Dublin South-Central Fianna Fáil candidate, and former senator, Catherine Ardagh spoke about her personal experience with the system.

“As a mother of a son with autism who is non verbal, I know first hand the daily struggles families face. My son, Darragh, is full of potential and brings us so much happiness and love, but like so many other children, he’s held back by the system that hasn’t caught up with our family’s needs,” she said.

Standing next to her party leader, she added:

“This week, many families, including my own, have received rejection letters to school places across the country.

It’s frustrating, it’s heartbreaking, and it’s absolutely exhausting, and it’s a reality that no family should have to face.

She called for “real change”, stating that a nationwide roll out of a one-stop-shop for school applications, whereby there is visibility on school availability. She said this would remove the administrative burden on parents and ensures no child is left without a school place.

MICHEAL MARTIN CANVASS  8L5A6045_90589961 Fianna Fail party leader Micheal Martin and Catherine Ardagh with her twins boys Darragh and Sean McShea shortly after they were born in 2020. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Speaking at his party’s launch, Martin said a new national therapy service in schools is a “red-line issue” for Fianna Fáil in any future programme for government and that significant investment and reform is needed in disability services.

The Tánaiste said he wanted to address gaps in children’s disability network teams (CDNT) and roll out a new national therapy service in education, which would see a multidisciplinary response including therapists directly providing therapy in schools.

Assessment wait times

He added that too many families were waiting too long for assessments of need, which are a HSE process to identify a child’s needs and must be completed within six months.

Fianna Fáil would “ramp up” the numbers of therapy clinicians and assistants, as well as occupational and speech and language therapists, the Tánaiste pledged.

He admitted that these measures, along with an increase in regional assessment hubs, would “take time” – adding that his party would ensure increased procurement of private assessments in the interim.

Pressed on what would be different about a future Fianna Fáil term, the Tánaiste blamed HSE delivery and recruitment of therapists.

“The recruitment and retention plans are not working. There seems to be a morale issue, a human resources issue, an overload issue within the CDNT teams.”

He said there was a “fundamental issue” of the system not delivering on services: “It’s unfinished business as far as I am concerned.”

Martin also said there was “resistance” from Green Party leader and Minister for Children Roderic O’Gorman to Fianna Fáil’s school-based approach, who instead preferred a programme within the HSE.

Fianna Fáil’s plan includes the development of a disabled person’s organisation, the expansion of summer provision, the increase of the disability support grant to 1,000 euro, doubling the housing adaptation grant, adding 20,000 personal assistance hours, and public sector pay parity for section 39 staff.

Fianna Fáil has held the Health and Education portfolios for the last four-and-a-half years, along with the Minister of State role for disability.

Asked if she was frustrated by a lack of progress, Ardagh said 1,700 special classes had been introduced since 2020 but added there was a need for further ambition: “We’ve come from the ground, and we need to reach the treetops.”

Martin added that there needed to be obligations around inclusion at every school in the country.

Elsewhere, Sinn Féin said it would fully staff CDNT teams amid reports of 800 vacancies.

Sinn Féin disability spokeswoman Pauline Tully said her party would increase annual current funding for disability supports by €829 million and provide €659 million of additional capital beyond what has been pre-committed for existing levels of service.

She said Sinn Féin would ensure disabled children have their needs assessed, have school places, and summer provision of support.

Tully said her party in government would make sure young disabled people are supported to pursuit their goals in education and employment.

She added that adults with disabilities will be supported to live independent lives.

Elsewhere, the party has committed to providing 3,000 additional residential places for people with disabilities, expanding day service places by 4,000 and adding 345,000 personal assistance hours annually.

At the start of the election campaign, Sinn Féin briefly parked a small truck with a billboard over double yellow lines and a footpath for a press conference on Dublin’s Merrion Street.

Asked if her party had to do more internally to promote inclusion and accessibility, Sinn Fein employment spokeswoman Louise O’Reilly said: “We’ve done a huge amount of thinking about disabled people and, indeed, sometimes we are constrained by logistics – that happens.”

She added: “Sometimes in the teeth of an election campaign, you don’t always get to the venue that you want.”

O’Reilly said the party makes “every effort” on accessibility, adding that Sinn Féin was seeking a “holistic” approach around employment strategies and universal access to public transport in the country.

She said that, for her own part, her constituency offices are fully accessible.

Includes reporting from Cillian Sherlock, Press Association.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

63 Comments
    Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:12 PM

FF does NOTHING for disability services while in government then blames someone else. Never accountable. And over HALF A MILLION ADULTS live in their childhood room because of FFG’s housing failure. We can try a new approach. We can put ordinary workers ahead of vulture funds. Homeownership over fund-ownership. Vótail Sinn Féin.

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:15 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Exactly and RSA for road deaths…there to deflect Ministers’ shortfalls

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:03 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: every road death is the fault of Roderic O Gorman. Nothing to do with FG or FF.

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:18 PM

@F1rYnpWc: that’s why you should vote FG

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:36 PM

@Cole Palmer: you appear to be obsessed with him. How is he responsible for road deaths?

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:09 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Exactly and the buck stops with both the Taoiseach & Tanaiste who take decades to get anything done, vote FFG and live in a tree.

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Paul M Doe: Tired jim / Paul m doe / william slevin / fintan pox / john doe / john m doe / john p doe /ulysses / exhausted jim / tired jim / john jon / lefty tears / lefty cries and dozens more troll accounts . Read any of their posts and you will see the quality of his comments, he has never added anything constructive or of any merit to any conversation on this platform. He has been banned on many occasions for good reason.
    On one hand , it is sad to think how someone’s life choices have led them to be this desperate for attention , while on the other hand it is easy to see that he is so pathetic that nobody will interact with him in the real world.

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Nov 20th 2024, 8:56 PM

@William Slevin: william slevin 24 May 2023 “I’ve must have had 3/4 of my comments deleted…I’ve been banned nearly 80 times because of them…” after this admission it would be extremely difficult to deny that you are a multi account troll

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:32 PM

@Paul M Doe: FG, dose that stand for fuc!ings gangster. Dim wit.

Mute tom o reilly
    Favourite tom o reilly
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:11 PM

@William Slevin: no stalking here william, I have distinct recollections of watching your paranoid melt-downs in real time. Very easy to track your previous comments , just Google william slevin + the journal – all your comments that are not deleted are there for everyone to see . On 24th May 2023 you claimed to have had 80 accounts banned, now 18 months later that number is over 300 accounts banned, that averages at 12 accounts a month – or 3 accounts a week by your own admission. Now tell me you are not a multi account troll.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:19 PM

If only we had a FF minister of health who the HSE should answer to eh Michael

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:04 PM

@Ger Whelan: spoken like a true Roderic O Gorman apologist.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:22 PM

@Cole Palmer: eh no. Roderic should be before a committee groveling for forgiveness for the children that have gone missing from state care. But let’s call a spade a spade her Stephen Donnelly is minster for health and he’s who the HSE answers to. So it’s some cheek of Micheal Martin to ignore the failing of his own minister

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:56 PM

@Ger Whelan: I agree with you. All 3 have to go

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:21 PM

@Ger Whelan: And who set up the HSE without the backbone to make the tough decisions that just turned it into a quango?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:09 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: That would be Michael Martin himself

Mute A M
    Favourite A M
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:19 PM

If only he were minister for health at any point in his political career & the HSE board were ever accountable to successive health ministers – hmmmm.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:27 PM

@A M: It’s worse for MM. He was the health minister who set up the HSE. He was pushing it for years. He was moved to another ministerial position a couple of months before the HSE officially took over and Mary Harney took over.

Mute A M
    Favourite A M
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:33 PM

@Ger Whelan: He also seens to have forgotten all about what he promised in the health strategy 2001 23 yrs ago.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:58 PM

@Ger Whelan: he stepped down from the organ retension scandal. Another disaster.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:17 PM

As much FF’s responsibility as the Green’s.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:03 PM

@Ross: Actually it is not. I was amazed he said it! But it is the truth!

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:04 PM

@Ross: It’s the responsibility of Roderic O Gorman, no one else. Stop making excuses for him.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Ross: Micheal out pretending he is a bystander & shocked at the Disability Services & telling lies that he will ramp up services & they are a red line issue for them. He hangs the Greens out, but nothing about his own failures when he has been Taoiseach, Tanaiste & been at Cabinet level for 17 years, he also forgot to mention the Minister for Bags of Cow Dung, who as Minister for State is responsible for the failures that her party colleague Catherine Ardagh speaks of & also Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly. Micheal is some Cowboy, deflecting blame & responsibility from himself & his party, lowest of the low. The truth is they couldn’t actually care about people with Disabilities & if they did, they would have done so over the last 4.5 years, with their Budget surpluses. FF out now !

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:54 PM

@Cole Palmer: it’s the responsibility of the HSE also. And the HSE is Stephen Donnelly’s responsibility. So yes it’s as much FF’s fault as it is the Greens

Mute Cole Palmer
    Favourite Cole Palmer
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:56 PM

@Ger Whelan: that’s True

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:10 PM

@Cole Palmer: Excuses for the Big Rod? Where?

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:39 PM

@SV3tN8M4: he was bertie aherns right hand man for nearly 30 years.

Mute hans vos
    Favourite hans vos
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:36 PM

They are in charge for a long time and now they want action. Till the elections are finished I presume.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:13 PM

Were fianna fail not in Government with the Greens

Mute Finian McG
    Favourite Finian McG
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:12 PM

The circle of blame…. We want you gone as well Chrome -Dome!!!

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:39 PM

that’s the limit.. government hits out at government for lack of progress.. GFY ffg..

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:13 PM

Throw the Greens under the bus time. They knew what they were getting into when agreeing to go into a coalition.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 20th 2024, 8:43 PM

The €1,000 savings account is a freebie for the well off who could provide a savings account for the child anyway but mothers and families need tye 1,000 now because of the economy that Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have created, setting up a society based on bank loans to survive off of, just liie the Celtic Tiger and for those who say that Fibe Gael had nothing to do with that, John Bruton claimed that it was Fine Gael who started that. We don’t need boom to bust or an economy for the well off, we need an economy for the ordinary person, the majority, not the minority abd that it was the deadly duo have given, an economy for the 1% pushing us ever closer to the American economy of haves and have nots.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:03 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Simon actually said my children won’t suffer from austerity like I did. Or words to that effect. When did he ever suffer. And children from last recession are still suffering in hubs and hostels.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:59 PM

He has Some cheek holding these children after the government he was part of put this country on its knees, and how he has the position he holds now is beyond belief, holding our children of the future to destroy their lives(shame)

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:51 PM

@Phillip Smyth: it really beggars belief

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:21 PM

Wake up people, It has been proven Harris lied about the number of children waiting more then four months for spinal operations while he was minister for health, he’s trying to blame everyone, but will not take the blame himself .

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:31 PM

@Jimmy Kiely: He got flummoxed the last night in the 10 Leaders debate, when asked did he sign off on the NCH. While he didn’t sign off on it, as the Minister he gave his ok towards it, couldn’t acknowledge that of course.

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:39 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Harris and Martin makes a sad double act. According to Martin we didn’t Bailey out the banks, and Harris never signed off on anything bigger then sweet paper.

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:58 PM

@Jimmy Kiely: I am looking forward to voting for the awesome FG

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 20th 2024, 9:59 PM

@SV3tN8M4: fact he didn’t sign off individually the Government signed off any bottom line the hospital will open and the health outcomes for all our children will be enhanced.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:21 PM

@Tim Brennan: They’re responsible for squandering obscene amounts of taxpayers money and should be held accountable. Taking accountability is the minimum we should expect from those in government, seeking re-election. Simon looked like a small boy when asked about signing off on the blank cheque for BAM. Zero respect for people’s money

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:33 PM

@Tired Jim: FG fuc!ing gangster’s. FF follow the fo!ls

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 20th 2024, 11:00 PM

@Jimmy Kiely: butsimon was on the ball when we had covid 17 and 18. He was all over that.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:14 PM

and Who brought the Greedy Greens into Government to tax us more?

To the electorate in Cork South Central, vote this man OUT, he can’t even remember that the troika had taken over the country’s economy in October 2008. He established the unaccountable HSE monopoly that no one will ever be disciplined over incompetence like Mehole

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Tommy: I cannot believe people will still vote for this shower, FF at my door today in cork South central,the brass neck of these lads is incredible

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:41 PM

@sean weir: their is a bronze bust of Charlie Haughey in Dingle .An old man was asked on tv what he thought of it.He said the best thing about it was its brass neck.And that just about the sums up the Fianna Fail party.

Mute Colette Byrne
    Favourite Colette Byrne
    Nov 20th 2024, 10:43 PM

Well, firstly, with Simon totally lying about numbers on scoliosis waiting lists and them being in the hundreds. While families are being removed from active lists without being told. To young adults having no consultants when they turn 18 and no checks being made for scoliosis.
    How can anyone actually believe anything these two say.
    The care referrdum showed the power families of disabled people and carers who can’t get out and march but can vote.
    Can change things for our kids.
    Time for change but not the change michael or Simon are talking about.
    They are more concerned in schoolboy antics on tv than actually making a difference.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:10 PM

I’m sick of these constant expressions of love for children seeking services. As a family we have spent years fighting and screaming at the system. We only succeeded because we were stubborn and would not go away.
    Credit to Michael Moynihan TD in Cork Northwest whom we could never vote for but his persistence eventually got us what was required.
    Michael Martin could not even recognize Mr Moynihan for his dedication to his job.

Mute Brian Molloy
    Favourite Brian Molloy
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:58 PM

It’s a serious offence to lie in court, same laws should apply to politicians who constantly promise everything but deliver nothing

Mute Daniel Gilroy
    Favourite Daniel Gilroy
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:15 PM

@Brian Molloy: it suits FFG members to have toothless bodies like SIPO and our pointless regulatory bodies as it means more jobs for the boys and no one is ever held to account. It’s the FFG way you know.

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Nov 20th 2024, 8:25 PM

@Brian Molloy: They are not lying in court you id1 it

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:28 PM

If FF or FG told me they were actively going to pursue Dee Forbes and her ilk from RTE I’d consider giving them a high preference.
    Thats an attainable target for them.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:32 PM

Hahahahahahahahahahaha.

Mute john salmon
    Favourite john salmon
    Nov 20th 2024, 5:23 PM

People must remember that this is boom time and every failure of FFG will be multiplied when things go pear shaped as they will sooner or later.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 20th 2024, 7:24 PM

@john salmon: What happened in the last boom time? Oh yeah, the ordibary person paid for the rich to be bailed out.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:08 PM

Have to smile as people have a pop at MM and forget what the article is about. Don’t care what the article about is closer to the fact.
    It is about disability services which the HSE, the greens have not supported.
    HSE boss refused to meet the Minister for Disabilities and her senior minister did nothing.
    Staff having wages cut during austerity and not brought back up to scale, cuts made across the support services yearly.
    Able people mostly have no idea unless they have skin in the game.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Nov 20th 2024, 6:20 PM

The only credible proposal so far on Disability is to appoint a Senior Minister to the position