You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sinn Fein leader Mary Lou McDonald and her frontbench team pictured today. Alamy Stock Photo

McDonald optimistic with new poll putting three big parties neck-and-neck days from election

In the final days of the election campaign, support for Fine Gael is at 22%, down four percentage points since the start of the month.

LAST UPDATE | 24 Nov 2024

SINN FÉIN LEADER Mary Lou McDonald said that her party is being received well on the doors as a new poll by the Sunday Independent/Ireland Thinks today placed support for Sinn Féin alongside that of the two biggest parties, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael.

The poll, which was done this week before Simon Harris’s tense encounter with a carer for which he received significant backlash, showed support for Fine Gael has fallen in the last three weeks.

It should be noted that the margin of error for the poll, which surveyed 1,420 voters, is plus or minus 2.3%.

In the final days of the election campaign, support for Fine Gael is at 22%, down four percentage points on the same poll from the beginning of the month.

Fianna Fáil is unchanged at 20%, and Sinn Féin has risen two percentage points to join them.

Speaking to reporters today about the poll results, McDonald said: ““I think the weather reflects our mood. You know, this might be a winter election, but we have sunshine today.

“I know talking to people, particularly over the last week, this sense of purpose now, this sense of energy, has come back very, very strongly.

“For us, this is very reminiscent of the last general election, where, when people had the space, cleared the space to assess what to do next, that appetite for change grew and grew, and I think that’s what’s going to happen,” McDonald said, adding that she believes that support is even ahead of the polling numbers.

Elsewhere in the poll, the Green Party, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael’s coalition colleague, dropped one point to just 3%.

The amount of people surveyed who said they’d vote Independent, which includes Independent Ireland, is up three points to 19%.

There is a rise of two points in support for Aontú, bringing the party to 5%.

The Social Democrats dropped one point to 5%, while the Labour Party is unchanged at 4%. People Before Profit-Solidarity are unchanged on 2%.

The margin of error in this poll, which surveyed 1,420 voters, is plus or minus 2.3%.

Includes reporting by Emma Hickey

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

199 Comments
    Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    May 30th 2013, 4:47 PM

How dare these backward men lecture anyone on morals!

They think TD’s should resign if they vote for abortion legislation,
    But Brady wouldn’t resign for knowing about and covering up sexual abusing priests?

Brady also wouldn’t walk the 20-30metres to his local Gardai station to report the abuse, but he’d walk around some religious shrine in protest of abortion legislation.

Pathetic bunch of so called human beings, it seems they care all about the zygot but they don’t give a crap once its a child.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 5:16 PM

Funny how they are threatening excommunication coz when I wrote to them specially asking to be removed from all catholic records I was told it wasn’t possible anymore. I’m up for excommunication if they want to excommunicate someone.

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    May 30th 2013, 5:34 PM

Spit out their magic bread and stomp on it. Then tell them you did it on purpose knowing full well l what you were doing. If they don’t kick you out then, tell them it’ll happen again and again until they delete your name from their records. They’ll reach for the tippex there and then.

Mute David McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 5:39 PM

Haha hilarious. I got a letter saying that I might regret my decision and my future wife would be displeased if I left as she might want a church wedding. I don’t think my future husband would be too bothered to be honest.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    May 30th 2013, 5:52 PM

Bloody brilliant David!!!!

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 6:19 PM

Can you sue under the data protection act to have your name removed

Mute Laura McDermott
    Favourite Laura McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 6:22 PM

You should have told them that. Because obviously your purpose as a man is to marry women and have lots of babbies.

Mute Joeleen Devery
    Favourite Joeleen Devery
    May 30th 2013, 7:13 PM

Priceless :-) well said .

Mute Tony Duncan
    Favourite Tony Duncan
    May 30th 2013, 7:16 PM

Was thinking that myself, what do I have to do to get excommunicated?

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    May 30th 2013, 7:40 PM

@Tony, I wasn’t joking about spitting out the bread, it’s called “defiling the host” and seems to be one of the mortal sins that are both victimless and can lead to excommunication. I had a quick look online and found this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Host_desecration it’s only Wikipedia though, but snopes.com might have put it through a bs detector. Replying to them when they refuse your countmeout request including your intention to defile the host might be enough.

I think it was Conor Buggy on here who said he was writing identical notarised letters to the parish and dioces of his baptism, some thought-crime unit in Rome called the congregation of the doctrine of faith (or something like that) and someone else…maybe the pope or Brady or someone. The letters would detail his rejection of their authority and disbelief in their central ideas like bread=meat etc.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    May 30th 2013, 8:23 PM

Excommunication does not mean you are no longer Catholic, it just means you are not permitted to partake in the sacraments.

Mute David McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 8:48 PM

@stephen at least its a step in the right direction. the furthest i can get away from them the better!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 8:49 PM

Thanks be to almighty god that your previous picture of you attached to an electric socket has been dropped. Who’s the wan? Your sister?

Mute David McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 9:10 PM

None of your business.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 9:16 PM

Ooops, I was referring to Stephen Mc Elligott The fundamentalist Catholic.

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    May 30th 2013, 9:16 PM

Not believing their horsesh!t means you’re not a catholic and excommunication means they can’t desecrate your body and your memory with their zombie inspired nonsense. Result.

Mute David McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 9:17 PM

@william lol. didnt know what was going on.

Mute Lieutenant Worf
    Favourite Lieutenant Worf
    May 31st 2013, 12:01 AM

@Fuh Qiu – you are to be pitied more than reviled.

Mute Roxy Blue
    Favourite Roxy Blue

My head just exploded with the hypocrisy of everything in this article

Mute DublinCity
    Favourite DublinCity

The church needs to F off and keep out of government business.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 30th 2013, 5:11 PM

Right you are… sick of the interference that goes on. They shouldn’t even be allowed to lobby unless it’s a point of law rather than morality. Religions seem to think they have exclusive rights over morality.

Mute brains for rocks
    Favourite brains for rocks
    May 30th 2013, 4:51 PM

Are the Vatican lads going on a comedy tour soon? Their material is priceless.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 30th 2013, 5:13 PM

Pretty sure they’re doing one during lent next year. Pretty sure Reginald D Hunter and Frankie Boyle are heading with them. The whole thing is supposed to be finishing with something special at Easter and rumour has it they’re gonna get god to finally do something by resurrecting Bill Hicks.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 30th 2013, 6:11 PM

And the hats, red shoes, etc, clowns!

Mute PunchUinFACE
    Favourite PunchUinFACE
    May 30th 2013, 6:29 PM

Bill hicks, George Carlin How we miss and could use them now!

#truthseekers and funny as f**k

Mute Laura McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 6:33 PM

I would LOVE to see Carlin’s reaction to this

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 6:34 PM

The dog collar comedy tour with Larry the Canon Law guy

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

Oooh, if only they WOULD resign, particularly Ms. Lucinda Cretin.

Mute Trisha Gordon
    Favourite Trisha Gordon
    May 30th 2013, 4:50 PM

Let’s rewind 50 years to when anyone gave a sh1t what the Church thought. Whether you’re pro-life or pro-choice it’s should be nothing to do with those bunch of hypocrites. They should stick to getting their own house in order. It’s not like they’re too interested in the welfare of children anyway! Rant over.

Mute Paraic Collins
    Favourite Paraic Collins
    May 30th 2013, 4:40 PM

Phew. That’s a relief.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 30th 2013, 5:17 PM

Was just about to say the same Phil! You best me to it!

Mute Rory Byrne
    Favourite Rory Byrne
    May 30th 2013, 5:01 PM

Abort the Catholic Church. Bunch of knob jockeys.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 30th 2013, 4:59 PM

No doubts the lingering threat of celestial judgement and eternal hellfire will remain in the minds of overly pious TD’s…time to give superstition the boot out of politics, no-one cares what a bronze age Palestinian cult says anymore.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 30th 2013, 5:21 PM

The only thing those lads do religiously is to devise more ways to make themselves a little bit richer.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    May 30th 2013, 5:08 PM

They don’t really believe that men touching boys is a sin. According to the reports on priests in arbour hill, they won’t attend counselling as they see no need. Most of these guys including the bishops, cardinals, even the pope grew up in seminaries where it was learned behaviour. Very difficult to change this behaviour as denial is their biggest defence.

Mute Lieutenant Worf
    Favourite Lieutenant Worf
    May 30th 2013, 11:56 PM

“…seminaries where this was learned behaviour”. What a most ridiculous statement.

Mute Brendan Palmer
    Favourite Brendan Palmer
    May 30th 2013, 5:52 PM

Where does this paedophile ring of old guys get off lecturing anyone. Their superstitious clap trap has been superceded by education and open access to real knowledge. Irrelevant is not the word for them

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 6:55 PM

They are not on their own, Muhammad married a nine year old, seems to be a bit of a habit with these holy guys.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 8:55 PM

Steve, the Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Hari Krishnas, the Presbyterians in NI, Evangelical Christians in the US, and many others have been raping children, seems to go with religion for some odd reason. Maybe it’s the control freakery.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 9:17 PM

William, proof, please.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 11:07 PM

Smiley, you can google as easy as I can.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 11:10 PM

Lazy reply.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 30th 2013, 6:22 PM

Funny how Sean Brady never got around to excommunicating his rapist pal Brendan Smyth! The Catholic Church doesn’t excommunicate priests who destroyed the lives of countless children. When they’ll keep the faith with those sort, is it an organisation you really want to be associated with?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 8:51 PM

This has always puzzled me. Is it that they don’t think raping children is wrong? It’s very hard to know what goes on in their nutty heads.

Mute Susan Wyles
    Favourite Susan Wyles
    May 31st 2013, 9:36 AM

I know catholic faith needed clean out closet and that is what happened and should go on until all evil is rooted out.people seem forget the good catholic people these days.we are also here.

Mute Aindriú de Domhain
    Favourite Aindriú de Domhain
    May 30th 2013, 5:22 PM

BAHAHAHAHAHA!

Again, it’s almost cute how the Church still thinks its relevant and has as much sway as it did decades ago.

Once they put their own house in order, and and emerge as a more humble and less hypocritical organisation, then their input might be taken more seriously.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    May 30th 2013, 5:49 PM

From the RTE coverage on this:
    “Speaking to the Irish Catholic newspaper, Monsignor Jacques Suaudeau said that if the Taoiseach does not want to impose his Catholic belief on people, and the time has come for a more moderate line on abortion, then he too should resign.”

So this dude reckons that Kenny has a duty to impose his catholic teachings on others? Or have I read that wrong?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 8:59 PM

There’s about 30% of the Irish who are non religious, so don’t vote for Catholics.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    May 30th 2013, 9:00 PM

They really do.

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly
    May 30th 2013, 5:26 PM

The church has every right to suggest excommunication for those who support legislation against its teachings

However they have no right to suggest people resign from their roles in government

They still think they have power over the lay folk , in reality they have serious issues with maintaining moral teaching rights over their own flock
    Wish to god they would shut up

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 30th 2013, 5:57 PM

The church has no place in legislation, they can excommunicate anyone they want inside the realms of their own cult but they’re delusional to think they can still influence politics with superstition.
    Any politician who brings religion to work with him/her is a hypocrite and cannot act rationally.

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly
    May 30th 2013, 6:03 PM

Any politician who doesn’t bring their beliefs to legislation is the hypocrite,
    But id suggest many have had any belief in the teachings of the Catholic Church shattered over recent years, rendering them teaching irrelevant

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 30th 2013, 6:14 PM

You can’t make rational and informed decisions towards legislating for every person in this country if you seek moral advice from a sky wizard or act under the influence of a supervisory and judgmental sky wizard..it’s preposterous.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 6:18 PM

Shay, politicians are there to represent their constituents, not themselves.

Mute shay o'reilly
    Favourite shay o'reilly
    May 30th 2013, 6:48 PM

Smiley, this legislation presents an issue that is moral in nature for the people who vote them in
    Whatever decision they make will go against the wishes of someone, therefore they must make that decision with their conscious and personal beliefs
    Ps I’m a firm believer that a woman should choose for herself and that
    all options should be available to her
    I believe that decision is compatible with my personal beliefs but can understand how others may view the decision differently

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 7:13 PM

Funny 99% of the world manages it though. Obama is obviously unfit for office due to his sky wizard worship.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 9:02 PM

Kevin, Obama is an Atheist. He couldn’t get elected in the US if he told the truth. Only 6% of Americans state they are Atheists.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 9:36 PM

So, he’s a liar? That’s ok then.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 30th 2013, 10:31 PM

@ kevin. A) where are you getting your 99% figure from? B) Obama is a politician, of course he’s a liar.

Mute Andrew Lyall
    Favourite Andrew Lyall
    May 31st 2013, 8:11 PM

No one has the right to threaten legislators in a democracy, whether with violence or words.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 31st 2013, 9:25 PM

So if an Amnesty International member votes in favour of the death penalty that organisation cannot threaten him with expulsion?

Mute Andrew Lyall
    Favourite Andrew Lyall
    May 31st 2013, 9:55 PM

Not if he or she is a TD and the threat is before the vote in order to induce him/her to chnage it.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    Jun 1st 2013, 12:31 AM

Is that a yes or a no? Can the NAACP threaten to expel a racist or is that anti-democratic according to you?

Mute Andrew Lyall
    Favourite Andrew Lyall
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:05 AM

I think I was quite clear.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 5:45 PM

The opinions of these people aren’t worth a bucket of spit

Mute Laura McDermott
    May 30th 2013, 5:57 PM

Tis a pity, I would have loved to see how they would have enforced it. Bouncers at the door? Everyone required to bring photo ID? What if you spotted one sneaky yoke who crept in halfway through mass, would you stop what you were doing and shoo him out with a cattle prod? All talk, no action. Go backing to praying lads, we’ll be the ones really fighting.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 30th 2013, 6:41 PM

@ Laura: Surely a bolt from the heavens or hell fire & brimstone? No more fanciful than the nonsense they preach

Mute Gus Whearity
    Favourite Gus Whearity

Had to do a double take at the pic

Mute Michele Tobin
    Favourite Michele Tobin
    May 30th 2013, 6:17 PM

The really annoying thing is the calls of ‘abortion abortion abortion’ or ‘aggressive abortion legislation’ have these jokes even read the legislation? Its to save a mothers life! I fear for my daughters future because these neanderthals stll have influence on our legislators.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 9:01 PM

I REALLY object to calling these primates neanderthals. Neanderthals were very clever they just died out due to climate change.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 9:18 PM

…and Neanderthals had religion that wasn’t a business seeking money.

Mute Theresa Johnston
    Favourite Theresa Johnston
    May 30th 2013, 9:59 PM
    Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    May 30th 2013, 6:07 PM

The Catholic Church – what a weird sect

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 8:56 PM

The French for a religion is cult

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    May 30th 2013, 6:02 PM

The Catholic Church nowadays is like that one annoying kind in the back of the class who raises his hand to say the most pointless things..!

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    May 30th 2013, 6:03 PM

Kid*

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    May 30th 2013, 6:06 PM

What about the Priests, Bishops & Cardinals who helped the Nazi war criminals escape to South America, were they also just following orders, Dear church you also helped child abusers escape justice too you Hypocrites.

Mute Charlie O Neill
    Favourite Charlie O Neill
    May 30th 2013, 7:48 PM

Respect is earned or lost as to ones behaviour so this is why a lot of people have no tolerance or time to be lectured by the Church

Mute Andrew Lyall
    Favourite Andrew Lyall
    May 30th 2013, 7:24 PM

Threatening TDs to induce them to vote in a particular way should be made illegal.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    May 31st 2013, 2:32 AM

The church is making our politicians ‘an offer they can’t refuse’.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    May 30th 2013, 6:57 PM

When can we expect to see Cardinal Brady excommunicated for his role in the cover up of child abuse?

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 30th 2013, 6:45 PM

The Christianity enthusiasts are very quiet today…what are they up to I wonder?

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    May 30th 2013, 7:28 PM

Sometimes I wonder if the Vatican are having a laugh? These fools are so deluded!

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    May 30th 2013, 8:42 PM

They would prefer to let a woman die :
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-22712756

Mute Charlie O Neill
    May 30th 2013, 6:46 PM

Who cares about this irrelevant bunch of old men in dresses and there sky daddy

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 30th 2013, 7:30 PM

Of course they are threatening and interfering but you cant argue with them on this one. You are either a Catholic and follow their rules or you have critical thinking skills, renounce your Catholicism and don’t. Simple. The whole a la carte religion thing really bugs me. Become an atheist – its a lot more fun and you will have a much better time http://www.newstiller.com/en/society/686-burn-in-hell-at-least-the-sex-is-better

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 6:58 PM

Nice to see tolerance is alive and well amongst commenters on the journal. With no irony they decry hypocrisy and then display the kind of religious intolerance that would make even the fascists in the EDL baulk. Well done everyone.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 30th 2013, 7:03 PM

I don’t see any intolerance here. We live in a secular Republic, not a Catholic theocracy and people have every right to take the piss of of the church and all its ridiculous trappings.

I will say this though, when there was worry about being kicked out of an entire religion for voting one way or another on a health care bill, the church’s critics mus feel pretty undercut.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 7:08 PM

You’re right. Mocking people’s deeply held beliefs and traditions is incredibly tolerant. My bad. Catholics aren’t Catholics because they’re trying to be backward/cruel/sky wizard worshippers, it’s because of deeply held faith and conviction. If you can’t at least respect the other side of an argument then our liberal democracy is lost to be replaced by the tyranny of the majority.

See 45 more replies ▾
    Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 7:30 PM

Catholics are catholics because their parents are catholics, (bare some converts), if they were born in Scandinavia 1500 years ago Thor would have been their sky buddy. Believe whatever you want, but leave you fairy dust at the door of Dail Eireann.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 7:40 PM

Am I a Catholic because my parents were? Probably. Does that mean my beliefs are any less deeply held or important to me? No.

I’m not expecting us all to agree on every issue but for fcuk’s sake let’s leave pejorative stuff like “fairy dust” and “sky wizard” out if it.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 30th 2013, 7:42 PM

Kevin tolerance of a belief means you do not object to people believing what they want. It does not mean you have treat it with the same reverence as its adherents.

Criticism of a religion is no more intolerant than criticism of a political opinion.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 7:45 PM

Not asking for reverence John, just the same respect I would accord your beliefs (or lack thereof).

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 30th 2013, 7:51 PM

Respect has to be earned Kevin, and IMO the Catholic church is not worthy of respect. I will not pretend to respect an institution which I find morally reprehensible; to do so would make me the worst type of hypocrite.

Just as I do not get offended when people belittle my beliefs (whatever they may be), I think a lot of Catholics need thicker skins.

If your faith is important to you (and I have no issue if it is), you should not object to valid criticisms of it. You should relish those opportunities to defend it

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 8:02 PM

I do. In respect of the subject matter of this article, I don’t think it’s unreasonable for the Church to ask people who purport to be Catholics to behave accordingly. Is the Church not entitled to ask its adherents to obey the rules they purportedly believe to be the law of God?

If Catholicism is not for you: leave. If it is, you should be expected to have the courage of your convictions, to walk the walk. Why the outrage at the Vatican asking Catholics to be Catholic?

That being said, I still don’t see how insults and mockery advance any reasoned argument.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 8:08 PM

The Vatican is trying to force their will on the entire people of Ireland. Now you can dress that up however you like but we both know that is exactly what they are doing.
    Nobody has said any untruths about the church in this column. They have committed some unspeakable evil acts right from their conception 2000 years ago through to present times. Do not ask me to respect them because you believe their nonsense. Should I also respect the kkk because they believe in something I think is evil?
    If you can’t handle the very fair criticism of your church, that is your problem. Not mine.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 30th 2013, 8:17 PM

Kevin I think there is a fine line between mockery and criticism. For example, many people believe in the existence of a supernatural entity. Others, because of scientific advances etc., would consider such belief ludicrous. This position is understandable given how much we now know about the origins of ourselves and our planet.

Now arguing that belief in a supernatural being (which runs contrary to the majority of scientific teaching) is ludicrous is completely justified. It is as justified in arguing that the economic policies of a communist are ludicrous or that the views of the Ku Klux Klan on equality are ludicrous.

Religion is a set of beliefs which takes a position which a lot of people find silly. That is their opinion; and the degree to which a position is held in reverence by its adherents should not limit the rights of others to criticise those beliefs as ridiculous if they believe them to be so.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 8:22 PM

Very fair points, expressed in measured and considered terms.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 8:41 PM

I will stop with the sky wizards stuff when your mates in Rome stop threatening our democratically elected representatives.

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    May 30th 2013, 8:48 PM

Kevin I love and respect people, real people. Stupid religious superstition deserves all the ridicule that it receives.Why should I respect lies and nonsense bullshit peddlers motivated by power and money.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 8:50 PM

The title of this article confirms no such threats have been, or will be, made.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 9:05 PM

Kevin, when you can understand why you’re not say a Hindu, you should be able to figure out why you shouldn’t be a Catholic. Try and put your brain in gear.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 9:06 PM

Yes it does and is about as convincing as New Jersey Mafiosa stating that he is a legitimate businessman. What has legislation in a secular state got to do with the Catholic church anyway.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 9:12 PM

So what threats were you talking about above? When did my “mates in Rome” threaten any politician on this issue?

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 9:22 PM

I didn’t know that Ireland is a secular state. I thought Catholic Church is written into the Constitution.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 9:33 PM

Why would your organisation state “pushing themselves out of the Church”, if it was a business that would be constructive dismissal

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 9:34 PM

There is some nonsense about the holy spirit in the preamble, but nothing in the constitution

Mute Fuh Qiu
    Favourite Fuh Qiu
    May 30th 2013, 9:35 PM

They didn’t threaten but they advised our leader, bad and all as he is, to “impose” their doctrine on us (monsignor whatshisface’s word)

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 9:42 PM

Article 44.1 of the Constitution:

“The State acknowledges that the homage of public worship is due to Almighty God. It shall hold His Name in reverence, and shall respect and honour religion.”

Still no luck finding those Roman threats yet?

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 9:47 PM

So nothing about the Catholic Church in our constitution. Thanks for clarifying Kevin.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 9:50 PM

Fair play, there isn’t. My point is, the Constitution isn’t completely “secular” and religions have the right to state their positions on the issues of the day, including prospective legislation.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 9:52 PM

Well Kevin if you can’t see the threat then your parents taught you well. Where is the reference to catholicism again?

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 10:00 PM

State their positions, fair enough. But I think the Vatican is being sinister in all this. Today they likened Enda Kenny to a nazi.
    On a wider note about religion, I just don’t see the point. Why do you need to worship your god via Rome? Surely god would be more pleased with direct worship without all the politics and money? Honest question.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 10:04 PM

If the Catholic Church isn’t written into the Constitution, why does it have so much sway?

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 10:07 PM

Honestly, it came from a study of history. I believe in God because (without getting too drippy) I have felt his presence throughout my life. From that starting point, through looking at history and ecclesiology, the Catholic Church and its teachings are the only ones that make sense to me. Only my personal view.

Cardinal Newman – a famous convert – said (admittedly in a slightly different context) that “to study history is to cease to be Protestant.”

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 10:10 PM

Thanks for answering. But I still don’t get it. You said you felt the presence of god in your life. Why do you need to complicate that presence with silly man made rules and tradition?

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 10:19 PM

In my view it came from what Jesus said when he was here: the authority he gave to Peter to “bind and loose,” the mission he gave to his apostles to continue to teach and forgive sins after he was gone. I believe the Catholic Church are the direct successors of those apostles (that’s the study of history bit).

The traditions are all about continuity with the Church through the ages. They are a visible reminder of that critical historicity I’m talking about.

I realise it’s not for everyone btw!

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 10:33 PM

I guess my point is, the bible is another man made text. So all your beliefs are based on faith. But not faith in god, but faith in the bible not being a lie written by men as a way of controlling the masses.
    But you last point about it not being for everybody is what gets me riled up about the church. The church doesn’t share your view. They want our laws to reflect their beliefs instead of letting their members make their own decisions based on their beliefs.
    An example is marriage equality. If they are against gay marriage, then don’t have one. But don’t try stopping those who do want it from having one.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 10:41 PM

I take your point. But at the end of the day, do we not all want the law to reflect our own beliefs? Surely that is the reason for political debate.

Law, by definition, is about imposing society’s beliefs. Eg. society believes theft is wrong, therefore it imposes that law on thieves, it isn’t enough to say “I, personally, will not steal.”

The arguments are about which beliefs we, as a society, are willing to import into law.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 10:44 PM

Also, on the new testsment being a lie to control: 90% of the lads who wrote it were violently executed as penniless men. They got nothing out of it, it’s that sort of thing gives it the ring of legitimacy to me.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 10:45 PM

I agree with you entirely. Poll after poll plus two referenda have shown the majority of our society want x case legislated for. The church won’t accept this.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    May 30th 2013, 10:52 PM

They were executed by other people with different beliefs in their own god. I believe the founders of Christianity, seeing how successful religion as a tool was, tried using it to their own political gains. But trying to wrestle power from the powerful usually doesn’t end well. Especially back then.
    Indeed the establishment of the Catholic Church was an attempt by the Romans to keep control of the growing number of dissidents.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 10:53 PM

A big reason why the referenda failed is because Dana and some hard liners felt the proposed pro-life constitutional amendments didn’t go far enough. So I don’t think you can quite extrapolate out that therefore a majority favours legislating for X. That being said, I think a majority probably are in favour of it. That doesn’t mean the Church has to accept that view and is forbidden from arguing against it. That’s what they’re doing now.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    May 30th 2013, 10:57 PM

Kevin, do you believe that, during mass, the bread and wine is transubstantiated into the body and blood of christ?

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 11:01 PM

Yep

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 11:04 PM

That’s mental, you actually believe that

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    May 30th 2013, 11:08 PM

You do believe it kevin? I can see where your lack of common sense and reason comes from. Were ypu indoctrinated as a child like most catholics?

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 11:09 PM

Yeah. Gave it a lot of critical thought as an adult… still buy it.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 30th 2013, 11:12 PM

To study history is to cease to be a Catholic. Look at the Inquisition, for starters.

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    May 30th 2013, 11:21 PM

Fair fecks to you Kevin, gotta admire your backbone, when I hear hooves I think horses not zebras

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 11:23 PM

So Kevin, you were brainwashed as a child into believing in one particular version of Christianity out of the estimated 16,000 different Christian sects. You don’t believe in the 250,000 gods of Hinduism. You don’t believe in the Koran, the Talmud or the sacred writings of dozens of other religions. Shinto does nothing for you. HOWEVER, after studying history and “experiencing god” you by an astonishing coincidence decided as an adult that the Catholicism you were brainwashed into believing as a child was after all the correct religion and all the others now and in the tens of thousands of years of human history were wrong.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 11:30 PM

In a nutshell, yes. Obviously my upbringing made me predisposed to Catholicism so of course it’s not the “coincidence” you sarcastically suggest.

What were the odds? Pretty slim, the majority of my friends are atheists and lapsed Catholics which shows that a Catholic upbringing or “brainwashing,” to use your word, isn’t enough. Critical philosophical analysis as an adult coupled with a Catholic upbringing makes me believe.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    May 30th 2013, 11:40 PM

Kevin, so you admit that the chances of being brainwashed into a particular religion AND then figuring out through “history” and “experiencing god” that it was right after all is slim yet you still bash on believing in it? Please explain to the next brainwashed Hindu or Muslim woman wearing a tent you meet where they’ve gone wrong in their study of history.

Mute Kevin Bell
    Favourite Kevin Bell
    May 30th 2013, 11:43 PM

Will do. I’ll tell them you said hello.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    May 30th 2013, 7:16 PM

To be honest I was kinda hoping they’d stick to their threat, would have been interesting!

Mute DublinLad
    Favourite DublinLad
    May 30th 2013, 7:51 PM

Glad I wasn’t the only one to see the irony in this article.

Phew.

Mute N/ A
    Favourite N/ A
    May 30th 2013, 6:33 PM

The cap looks suspicously like a penis!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 30th 2013, 5:01 PM
    Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    May 30th 2013, 9:59 PM

Roman Catholicism and Fascism. Easy to compare. Harder to contrast.

Mute Andrew Brennan
    Favourite Andrew Brennan
    May 30th 2013, 9:20 PM

Catholic Church loves fetuses – and physically and sexually tortures children.

Mute Charlie O Neill
    May 30th 2013, 10:14 PM

Isn’t it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too?

Mute Clive Clarke
    Favourite Clive Clarke
    May 30th 2013, 9:23 PM

Why do people still care about the Catholic Church if any other organisation committed half the crimes they have you would have nothing to do with them. They have no right to interfere in anything in the country they are a pack of money grabbing power driven liers.

Mute Andrew Lyall
    Favourite Andrew Lyall
    May 30th 2013, 7:25 PM

If it isnt already.