You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Cyclist uses bike shelter at Leinster House which cost over €336,000 to install. Alamy Stock Photo

Finance Minister calls for ‘full accountability for whoever signed off’ on Leinster House bike shed

In total, the bike shed clocked in at over €336,000.

LAST UPDATE | 4 Sep 2024

MINISTER FOR FINANCE Jack Chambers has said that whoever signed off on the new €336,000 bike shed at Leinster House must be held accountable. 

The new bike shed for Leinster House, which allows for storage of 36 bikes, cost €336,051.30 in total.

The cost of construction and installation was €322,282.78.

Speaking today, Chambers said the shelter is ”a complete waste of public money”. 

“I think people are rightly annoyed at this, and there needs to be full accountability for whoever signed off on it and they should explain why it cost what it has cost,” he said. 

“I think there is a need within the wider system for those who are responsible for capital projects to be cognisant of value engineering, value for money, and ensuring that whenever projects are advanced, and that they’re at the lowest cost in terms of the taxpayer.”

It comes after a Galway engineering firm said it could build the bike shed for less than a tenth of the fee paid by the Office of Public Works. 

However, street furniture company Larkin Engineering said that while its “competitors” charge over €322,000, it could build and install a similar one for €19,995.

The company added that an even cheaper alternative can be provided for €7,000.

Stephen Larkin, the general manager of Larkin Engineering, told The Journal that he doesn’t think “there’s anyone that’s going to be able to stand over the costing” of the Leinster House bike shed.

“Something has gone very wrong in the pricing,” said Larkin.

He added: “Going into a building like Leinster House, you’re always going to put a bit of a premium on it, because it’s a protected building.

“You’ll add on maybe 15% due to unforeseen things that might come up, but from chatting to people, the estimation that most people are coming up with for all the work is around €60,000.”

While Larkin said these estimations do not include the granite flooring of the bike shed, he added: “If you go over the top and add on another €50,000 for granite, you’re still only in the region of €110,000.”

Asked about the social media post, Larkin said: “We were just making a joke of the whole situation.

“The situation is a joke already, but we were just jumping on it and making a joke of it as well.”

The shelter, which was hailed by Transport Minister Eamon Ryan as a good example of public sector climate action, also required archaeological advice to make sure it fit in at the parliamentary complex.

These costs came in at €2,952.

Ryan has since said the fee spent on the bike said was an “incredibly expensive cost”.

While he said the bike shed is on a “sensitive site”, he added that he was “shocked when I saw the price”.

In July, it emerged that Labour leader Ivana Bacik had pushed for new bike shelters at Leinster House.

However, the Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl replied to say it was “extremely unlikely” that planning permission would be provided and that the existing facilities were underused.

Asked about the costs involved, a spokeswoman for the OPW said: “The bicycle shelter is a new structure located within the setting of Leinster House, a protected structure of national importance.

“In response to the character of the historic setting a well-designed structure with an appropriate use of high-quality materials and finish were required.”

Meanwhile, there have been examples in recent years of Government funded projects which include bike sheds coming in at a fraction of the price paid for the Leinster House one.

In 2022, €50,000 worth of funding provided to a Co Kerry GAA club by the Department of Rural and Community Development was used to develop a walkway, car parking, a picnic area and a bike shed.

Under the same funding tranche, €50,000 was given to a Co Cork sporting club to develop a fountain for a lake, to upgrade a walking surface, develop a car parking area, install seating, and develop a bike shed.

With additional reporting from Ken Foxe and Jane Moore

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

181 Comments
    Mute john o neill
    Favourite john o neill
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:14 PM

Unbelievable waste of our money

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:41 PM

Surprised there’s no solar on the covering to charge bikes etc.

Mute Fat Bear
    Favourite Fat Bear
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:42 PM

@john o neill: it’s a constant in this country. We need someone that will come in and seriously crack down on this kind of behaviour. There should be zero incentive for government/Council officials to do shady backhanded deals like this. We all know that’s all this was. A nice payday for someone and their mates

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:40 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: That’s a bloody good idea. Add in a vertical wind turbine they can be 2/3 ft high and bingo.

Sep 4th 2024, 3:04 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: yep, and it would have cost about 2million if they went for that option.

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:42 PM

@john o neill: It’s not even a shed.

Mute Feargal De Cantuin
    Favourite Feargal De Cantuin
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:53 PM

@john o neill: the reason Eamon Ryan is so outraged is that he knows that extravagant spending on a bicycle shed will be blamed on the Green Party as wasting hard earned taxes. I wonder if whoever signed off on it intended the political blame to fall on the greens. At its most charitable it reveals gross incompetence in some group within the OPW and Dept of Public Enterprise and Reform.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:18 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: your right there. Bike shed needed to keep bikes dry. No side walls on it, so I’d guess no one took into consideration that the rain falls as the wind blows. I guess the hot air rising from the dail probably causes a micro climate keeping the clouds and wind at bay.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Sep 5th 2024, 3:49 AM

The bike shed is only the tip of the iceberg. Gives you a sense how they misdirect a lot of more money everywhere.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 5th 2024, 7:35 AM

@john o neill: surprised ?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 5th 2024, 10:28 AM

@john o neill: unbelievable, yet…………entirely believable. That’s what happens when you put the GP into positions of power & influence.

Mute Kevin O'Connell
    Favourite Kevin O'Connell
    Sep 5th 2024, 11:04 AM

@Thesaltyurchin: thats being kept for next contract of 500k probably

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:21 PM

Someone signed off on this. They need to be held accountable. This is the first time I’ve seen a picture of it. Outrageous cost but will we ever find out who is to blame?

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:05 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: they’ll do a D Forbes on it and ride off into the sunset

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:27 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: There must be more to this but would take the wow out of the “click story’

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:37 PM

@P. V. Aglue: Bring back the Troika and let’s see what Ajai Chopra would have to say about this.
    We clearly aren’t fit to govern ourselves.

Mute Tom McDonnell
    Favourite Tom McDonnell
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:22 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Corruption and cronyism at it’s finest! Perhaps a formal complaint to an Garda siochana might ruffle a few feathers!!

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:26 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: and then telling how shameful rte is governed!! talk about hypocrisy!!!

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:46 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: It’s the civil service, they are never held accountable for anything, if the name of the person who signed off on it is ever leaked they’ll either get a golden handshake and big pension or be watted to another department on a higher salary. As bad as corrupt politicians are, we can only blame fellow voters for not ensuring they pay a price (looking at you Tipperary). The civil service and unions have a lot to answer for when it comes to the huge waste of taxpayers money in Ireland.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:02 PM

@Tom McDonnell: A complaint to the police will not ruffle ANY feathers. Just think of what they COULDN’T do last week when they witnessed thugs driving around on a stolen motorbike which was burned out when it ran out of petrol. You or I break a speed limit, haven’t hurt anyone physically or financially and we pay on the double with fines and increased insurance premia. Try and explain that to a teenager heading into the real world.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:06 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: Exactly. No need for reviews or enquiries. The paper trail must be there….. follow the tender process….who quoted for the job and who got the job. Materials must be itemised and costed and labour per hour should be included. After that it’s only about who gave the go ahead. Its fairly simple stuff really.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:58 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: OPW is accountable to the comptroller and auditor general

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:53 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: how we hold to account is a bit like dee forbes a lump sum and pension,never changes.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:25 PM

Zero accountability.Whoever signed off on this should be sent packing.If it happened in the private sector it would be P45 time.

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Sep 4th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Sean Buckley: The crazy figure is due to public/private partnerships. This did happen in the private sector. Just like the Children’s Hospital and BAM. Or the concept of the private developer entering the Housing market a few decades ago coinciding with the start of the Housing crisis. It’s the selling off of industries like energy, waste, water etc. to the private sector where there’s no competition that has resulted to nobody being able to afford anything.

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:09 PM

@Uí Braonáin: Not sure that’s a logical conclusion – a private company would never spend this much on a shed.

Mute matthew dempsey
    Favourite matthew dempsey
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:20 PM

Do we know the name of the contractor who built the shed?

Mute BigEd
    Favourite BigEd
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:37 PM

@matthew dempsey: yeh…its Ryan&co contractors LTD

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:39 PM

@matthew dempsey: a friend of Paddy the plasterer.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin

@matthew dempsey: No, Irish society does want full specifics, keeps us guessing and assuming, which we love doing.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:45 PM

@matthew dempsey: Does anyone? There are plenty of cowboys about ready to grab easy money. As my dad used to say, “Fools and our money are easily parted.” My questions are 1. who signed off on it ?
    2. Was there a tender process ?

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:11 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: there are 3 prices to any job, the real price, the irish price and the irish governments price. The wining tender was 2euro to cover the cost of the stamp, everything else was an add on

Mute Pól Ó Broin
    Favourite Pól Ó Broin
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:02 PM

@matthew dempsey: BAM go figure that over spend on nch and then get this contract

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:25 PM

@Ollie Fitzpatrick: I’m not sure but I don’t think there was a tender for this specific build, I think the OPW have a contractor on hand for ‘smaller’ (!!!) jobs like this

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:52 PM

@BigEd:
    Laughing all the way to the bank.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:47 PM

@matthew dempsey: of this work was charged from agreed framework rates then someone needs to identify what other work they have been awarded under this framework and the charges for same.
    Next someone needs to look at the office for government procurement to see how such rates qualified this supplier to be on the framework and also what sanity checks were or weren’t in place for the award of this piece of work at such an exorbitant price. Someone signed off on it and needs to accept responsibility.

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:00 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Probably OPW themselves. OPW OFFICE of PUBLIC WASTE!!!

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:07 PM

@matthew dempsey: they are a company owned by Sisk

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:36 PM

Well played Larkin Engineering, well played.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Ciaran: Yes: a nice bit of opportunistic marketing.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:08 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: always defending the miscreants

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:15 PM

@Ciaran: not to mention Larkin Engineering is owned by Noel Larkin, a Galway city councillor.
    Very nice chap in fact.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:27 PM

@Oh Mammy: Not defending anyone.

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:56 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: denounce the whole project then Brendan

Mute Shimo F
    Favourite Shimo F

What happened to due diligence and getting 3 quotes ? Basic basic stuff. This is corruption pure and simple

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:52 PM

@Shimo F: purchased off a framework so probably went to tender so we need to see the tender documents and how it was evaluated the 338k wasbest offer and represented value for m0ney. They need to look at OGP for documents and answers

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:42 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: I’d say the tender was probably full of ridiculous requirements that meant only one company tendered for the work

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Sep 5th 2024, 1:33 PM

@Mick Duvanny: Yeah alot of this going on

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:25 PM

I presume when Eamon Ryan is awake and shopping he must not look at the price of anything when he’s spending his own money. Just expresses dismay at the price when he’s leaving the shop, baffled at how it costs that much and how he got his shoes on that morning.

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:38 PM

@Bryan: 1. ,He is not the minister responsible for the OPW. 2. This type of project would be signed off by a civil servant, do you think every bus shelter built is signed off by a minister ?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:44 PM

@mark sheehan: They really hardly ever build them. It’s why no one ride the bus, be soaked.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:56 PM

@mark sheehan: It’s a bike shelter. And the man who cycles bikes and is the leader of the green party who are in government, was surely pushing for a bike shelter for government buildings. His colleague was asked about it on virgin media last night and she said more bike shelters should be installed by places of work around the country before addressing the extortionate cost of it. It’s the green party who were pushing for it.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:01 PM

@Bryan: Read the comment you’re replying to again. Ffs.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:30 PM

@honey badger: yes dear.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:59 PM

@Bryan: You still don’t see or better, don’t want to see the difference?
    “The green party” might well be pushing for more bike shelters, which is fair enough – I believe.
    “The green party” is not the one putting out the tender, select it and approve the – in this case – enormous price tag.
    It’s not really that hard to understand?

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: I have a badger and a wolf attacking me over my comments about the green party….Im not directing the blame at him personally. I’m directing the blame at the government he has been a part of over the last 4.5 years who have treated the taxpayers money with neglect which has created a culture inside government buildings. Whether it’s children hospitals, useless bike lanes, bailing out RTÉ etc + when he’s asked about a bike shelter costing over €300k he grins back at the camera saying “It is rather expensive isn’t it”. Obviously it’s not just him but he was at the top table running the show. Matt Cooper asked him why this kind of expenditure has been allowed to continue over the years, following yer logic he shouldn’t have dared ask him as it has nothing to do with him?

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Bryan: I understand, i believe. But, do you really think the smallest party in government has that much power to influence all kind of decisions?
    Or is it just used as scapegoat?
    I believe it’s mostly the later and the greens are simply not good enough to make it clear.
    Or they keep quiet to keep the peace in the coalition and then they deserve everything they will get in the next GE.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:44 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: Actually, many, along with myself, do believe that the Green Party are the ones calling the shots in government at the moment. They have a hold on the larger 2 parties, using the threat of collapsing the government and forcing a GE. One where SF will most likely get a majority, and that has FF and FG running scared. Why else would they have gone into coalition with each other, and why else do the Green party get everything they want, from the DRS to the thr Galway city bypass being turned down. Now, how do you think they are being scapegoated ….they are getting what they want, aren’t they?

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:18 PM

When it comes to gross incompetence and the inexcusable waste of tax payers money the bike shed is just another added to a long list – E voting machines that end up being sold as scrap
    Thornton Hall site bought to build a prison that was never built.
    A large printer that couldn’t fit into the building. Ventilators during Covid-19 that couldn’t be used. The list is an endless story of incompetence.
    Nobody ever held responsible.

Mute Pat Duggan
    Favourite Pat Duggan
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:31 PM

Did nobody question this before it went ahead. That was the time to ask. A bit late now !!

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:16 PM

That would be €400,000 plus after the brown envelopes.

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:10 PM

Corruption at its finest , as a contract engineer, I wouldnt be working onsite for long if I presented a bike shed for over 300k to my client , how anyone could justify this spend is beyond me … they will never change 100 years of Corruption built into that masterpiece

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:53 PM

Terrible waste of taxpayers’ money. OPW should be held accountable. What else have they spent money on, I doubt, we got value for money.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:41 PM

They’re pedalling too many excuses. Costs were pumped up,then blamed on inflation.

Mute paul ruddell
    Favourite paul ruddell
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Larry Betts: I’m tyred off all these lads forking us bout. They need to be chained up and to stop acting the bell end with our dosh

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:10 PM

@paul ruddell: Those puns are wheely bad.

Mute Tom O' Donnell
    Favourite Tom O' Donnell

@paul ruddell: Are you the spokesman?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:20 PM

@Eamon: You’re pushing it a bit there.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:45 PM

@Tom O’ Donnell: No, he’s not. He’s further down the chain of command. But he does work in tandem with the spokesperson.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:16 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: He was saddled with the job,and told to choose the correct gear necessary to complete it.

Mute paul ruddell
    Favourite paul ruddell
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:27 PM

@Larry Betts: these replies have me feeling deflated. Everyone needs to get a grip. But I’ll just carry on acting a basket case. You will have to lock me up to get me to yield

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:24 PM

@paul ruddell: I will try and carrier through this. Even though it could be a bumpy road ahead,a stiff upper lip and a well groomed handlebar moustache could just be the job

Mute Marie Power
    Favourite Marie Power
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:10 PM

322k ! So about what it costs the State for one pensioner for twenty three years. Now that’s real context.

Mute paul egan
    Favourite paul egan
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:59 PM

Why has no good journalist asked for an interview with Kieran O’Donnell he is the Minister responsible for the opw. (Or do we have any good journalists)

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:03 PM

I wonder will someone lose their job for signing off on this ? I’m not going to hold my breath…

Mute Kevin O Gorman
    Favourite Kevin O Gorman
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:02 PM

Have no lessons been learned after the children’s hospital fiasco, or was it a case of one hundred and fifty grand for you and a hundred and fifty grand for me and get someone to do the job for thirty six grand,.how many quotes did they get, obviously Larkins or anyone else didn’t get a chance to quote for the job,
    who got the job and who are they related to?

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:06 PM

Heads should roll for wasting so much money, it is disgraceful. The civil servant and minister responsible should be sacked.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:28 PM

Nobody will be sacked, those responsible will go out sick, refuse to attend the PAC or answer any questions. They will then text the OPW rep at the PAC telling them what to say. The OPW will then give them a massive Exit Package with a Non Disclosure Agreement & Pension, telling the public their hands are tied & the WRC ruled that those responsible must be rewarded. The Govt will then install an ex OPW insider to run the Organization who won’t be able to answer what his salary is & receive a Billion Dollar Bailout to continue the Largesse, this is how the country operates now & just continue struggling at work & hand over your Tax to them, so that they can continue to screw you.

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:52 PM

How was there no project price set out at start for approval?

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Sep 4th 2024, 5:07 PM

Fat chance that an investigation team will arrive at the door of whoever is responsible for this debacle. In contrast to the unfortunate Garda Sergeant who was suspended for 3 years for lending a bike to an elderly man in his community during Covid. Golden Circles come to mind .

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:20 PM

This outrage is a joke, this kind of waste and alternative brown envelope is rife in every part of the public sector, go look at what the HSE pays for meals to be provided for staff from Delicatessens round the country , or what The Lourdes Hosp in drogheda paid for a bird specialist to deal with birds of prey on the Hospital roof only to discover they were plastic birds of prey put there the year before to frighten sea gulls away, dail printers, buses that can’t be charged, it’s rife everywhere. As for anything procured from the construction sector, vaseline time, I know I worked in it. It’s a joke, it’s a big part of the greed and rampant inflation in this country. For all those who say it’s not the govts fault, well your very naive, behaviour always emanates from the top down, always, and with so many politicians with little or no real life experience it’s going to continue, keep voting for celebs, teachers, estate agents and don’t try something different, the bogeyman will get you if you do l.

Mute larry whelan
    Favourite larry whelan
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:33 PM

CORRUPTION AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL.
    Simon Harris,should name and shame whoever was responsible..

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:52 PM

@larry whelan: He should sack them.

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:16 PM

That’s what happen when ffg know that a large section of the irish voting population are terrified of change ,And just keep voting the same entitled wasters ove and over again

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts

They were told the money was going to pay for a new tube station. That’s what they got. A bicycle tube station.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:28 PM

What sickens me about this is that it is just a big joke to many people. Instead of being up in arms there is just an acceptence that this is the way things are done here. Little wonder these piigs in government are still in power. People who support them are just as culpible as the TDs themselves.

Mute Tony Kavanagh
    Favourite Tony Kavanagh
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:18 PM

Simple question. Who signed off on this and what else have they signed off on in the past. As a taxpayer I want the name of that individual and what sanctions they will face. More that likely early retirement with a lump sum and pension. No accountability with taxpayers money

Mute Tom tom
    Favourite Tom tom
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:42 PM

I’ve a ford fiesta for sale for 185 grand if the OPW need one.

Mute Philip Slevin
    Favourite Philip Slevin
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:03 PM

As I said yesterday it’s a job for the boys, if it’s taxpayers money then no problem, spend whatever,

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:51 PM

Will anyone get sacked over this scandal?

Mute David Dawson
    Favourite David Dawson
    Sep 4th 2024, 5:18 PM

The plot thick ends with the quote from Larkin Engineering was the construction of the bike shed not put out to tender? more questions to b answered

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:36 PM

If you were a Government Minister or the Taoiseach and you didn’t already know exactly who signed off on the Leinster House bike shed, you could find that out in ten minutes or less with one phone call.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:46 PM

@Dvsespaña: 100 per cent.. more codology and can kicking. It’s quite simple .. whoever signed off on this needs to be sacked. They’re either grossly incompetent or hold tax payers in disdain. Either way they should not be left next nor near the taxpayers money.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Sep 4th 2024, 5:04 PM

OPW!!! The gift that keeps giving.

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:00 PM

They don’t care how people feel, they certainly don’t care about how much money they spend… Why.. Because we keep allowing them to get away with it, I just wonder what it will take for us all to say no that’s it enough is enough and take it to the dail and protest, because they are laughing at you, me and everyone else, they look at us as pathetic fools.

Mute Patrick Kelly
    Favourite Patrick Kelly
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:41 PM

Three contractors a Mayo, Kildare & Kerry tendered for the bike shelter at Leinster house.

They were interviewed by an OPW officer.

The Mayo man quoted €100,000 the OPW officer asked for a breakdown in the figures the Mayo man said “€33,000 for parts €33,000 for labour & €34,000 profit”.

The Kildare man quoted €150,000 and his breakdown was €50,000 for parts €50,000 for labour & €50,000 profit.

The Kerry man quoted €300,000, the officer was shocked at the price & asked for his breakdown the Kerry man said “well it’s €100,000 for me, €100,000 for you & we give the job to the Mayo man

Mute Peter McCormack
    Favourite Peter McCormack
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:37 PM

We should have an inquiry into this but that might cost a million euro more..

Mute Mick Cullen
    Favourite Mick Cullen
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:16 PM

I think the luas is going to go to Leinster house shortly,so they built the shelter first

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:17 PM

Scale it up and you have the children’s hospital fiasco. And Simon Harris was the health minister when that all broke. I’m reminded of the dáil printer as well that couldn’t fit into the room it was supposed to go into so they had to start knocking down walls. That all came to over €1m. That was only a few years ago. Jack Chambers wants someone to explain why it costs what it did. They can’t. Because it’s an obvious astronomical rip off and to actually explain it they will have to incriminate themselves. Like everything the government spends money on. There is no point in taking in all of this extra tax as we get zero value for money. I mean 335k for that. It shows there is no accountability or even vague attempt to get any value for tax payers money. We’ll blow the money that the country is taking in and will be back to square one.

Mute Hugh Lynch
    Favourite Hugh Lynch
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:49 PM

It’s wrong … But only a drop in the ocean compared to children’s hospital. And who was held accountable for that?

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Sep 4th 2024, 6:31 PM

Whoever put bicycle hut up is laughing all the way to the bank

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:41 PM

Arrah shure I could make it meself for around 200 quid. Few shates of galvanized and couple of lengths of 2×4. I’d even throw ya back a tenner for the luck.

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:44 PM

The bike shed in Leinster House is super duper deluxe version, hence the hefty price tag. I really thought everyone knew this

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:15 PM

@Nigel Hayden: it’s not a shed. Have you ever seen a shed? It’s a shelter. You don’t talk about bus sheds!

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:57 PM

They speak as if THEY are not responsible and are now looking for THOSE responsible when THEY THEMSELVES ARE RESPONSIBLE!!!

An absolute disgrace turning into an absolute farce. Resignations or dismissals have to follow.

Mute Mark Fox
    Favourite Mark Fox
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:59 PM

Minister call for “full accountability” knowing full well it will be a senior civil servant who make all the decisions and are untouchable.

Mute Brian O'Brendan
    Favourite Brian O'Brendan
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:14 PM

I don’t see a problem with it.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:53 PM

@Brian O’Brendan: a bit of common sense talking more like.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:06 PM

@Jb Walshe: my comment above was meant for Brendan o Brian’s comment regarding opportunistic marketing.

Mute Brian O'Brendan
    Favourite Brian O'Brendan
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:07 PM

@Jb Walshe: What about the Climate though?

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Sep 4th 2024, 3:12 PM

@Brian O’Brendan: defending the indefensible

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:03 PM

I hear the rustle of a carpet being lifted and a brush sweeping rapidly towards it.

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:35 PM

I may be wrong but my understanding is anything over €5000 must go out for tender with at least 3 separate quotes to be considered.

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:53 PM

Ryan tubridy owes 350 thousand and there’s nobody in government saying a word not a vote catcher the shed is a shed and no tax payer will ever see or use it get rid of free parking in dail grounds

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:02 PM

Everyone look over here – forget the hospital – forget housing crisis – forget emmm ohh I’ve even forgotten what I need you to forget —- grrrrrr it’s all because of the bike shed, let’s be angry together on that issue and get to the bottom of it and take all our pain out on that civil servant!!!

Mute Frank Heffernan
    Favourite Frank Heffernan
    Sep 4th 2024, 4:02 PM

All that glitters is not gold.

Mute Graeme Salter
    Favourite Graeme Salter
    Sep 4th 2024, 7:02 PM

@Frank Heffernan: ‘Glisters’ actually!

Mute Manni M
    Favourite Manni M
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:34 PM

Scams in Ireland go beyond bicycle sheds. Illegal immigrants have realized this and have swarmed on this country like flies on a rib roast.

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:13 PM

Can we get full accountability for the (another) new record level of homelessness?

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:21 PM

A drop in the ocean, people need to calm down

Mute Ben F
    Favourite Ben F
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:27 PM

@Fintan Pox: I prefer Blur.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:46 PM

@Ben F: I used to like The Cure. But then another band appeared on the scene that were amazing,called The Prevention. Everyone said at the time that The Prevention were better than The Cure.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:56 PM

@Larry Betts: Also The Cure were worse than The Disease.

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:23 PM

Just wait for the excuses to come that will give the money spent a nice brush over or under the carpet.a bloody disgrace people should call for an end to this government.childrens hospital now this what money has been outrageously that we don’t know about

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:26 PM

@giles wolohan: spent

Mute Ed Hughes
    Favourite Ed Hughes
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:33 PM

People blame politicians for most things and rightly so! But politicians get voted in and out of office every so many years, the one constant is the civil service. They are the mechanism by which all this bòllǒx happens. This whole system needs to be reformed before any real change can happen in this country.
    Thousands of clock watchers with no motivation to do a good job, churning around in a broken bureaucratic hell hole of a system with no desire for change.

Mute Hugo Omar Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Omar Martinez
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:38 PM

Corruption is the fashionable word

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:29 PM

It’s about time that somebody looked at all the projects the OPW are involved with. Just imagine Sinn Féin’s idea of a national building company to provide housing, that would be some fiasco. Bring in a couple of Chinese companies and they would get all of these major projects done at a fraction of the cost.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:34 PM

@Fintan Pox. Welcome back! Do you not agree that sheds should be banned?

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 4th 2024, 2:49 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: worth considering, people should not have sheds if they are left idle

Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:51 PM

He knows who, this is just nonsense, what they’re doing is creating a scenario to get said person protected. Then things can stay the same

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:19 PM

It’s a wasn’t me enquiry!

Mute matthew donoghue
    Favourite matthew donoghue
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:03 PM

Who’s been held accountable for the billions lost on the childrens hospital?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 5th 2024, 8:54 AM

@matthew donoghue:
    No one, all the dishonest Irish sub contractors who got stuck in will walk away.

Mute Hugo Omar Martinez
    Favourite Hugo Omar Martinez
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:36 PM

This is the new housing plan bike shed

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:52 PM

Here we go another waste if it was a comedy you’d say the script is not believable but it’s actually happening

Mute notgivingmyname
    Favourite notgivingmyname
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:29 PM

If the 325k is only for the structure sitting above ground, it expensive. The glass method used isn’t cheap, and one option is tinted glass called Evergreen. Anyway it looks to be a top class finish by the various trades. We don’t know what went on underground, yet, nor the logistics involved for lorries entering the site. Health & safety given its slap bang in the middle of government would have been onerous or most likely OTT. Not to mention the TMP. The professionals involved are likely pros at their job, and if their boss looked for an cost update, an update spreadsheet could be mustered lightening fast, as could the spec., BoQ etc.
    And don’t forget the time cost spec triangle…

Mute Daniel Killeen
    Favourite Daniel Killeen
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:40 PM

@notgivingmyname: Found the contractor

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:53 PM

Who ever signed off on this one needs to do a RTE special and stick a pair of underpants on their head two pencils up their nose keep saying “wobble” and get a doctors note.

Mute Darragh Mcnamara
    Favourite Darragh Mcnamara
    Sep 4th 2024, 1:18 PM

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Darragh Mcnamara: very cheap

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:13 PM

‘Full accountability’. That’s funny!

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 5th 2024, 7:52 AM

May I suggest to investigate the degree of relationships between the shed builder and the one responsible for the go ahead ?

Mute bridie lyng
    Favourite bridie lyng
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:41 PM

When election comes around. We all know who not to vote for.

Mute higgy636
    Favourite higgy636
    Sep 5th 2024, 7:09 AM

“there is a need within the wider system for those who are responsible for capital projects to be cognisant of value engineering, value for money, and ensuring that whenever projects are advanced, and that they’re at the lowest cost in terms of the taxpayer.”
    The greatest work of fiction since the French marriage vows.

Mute maha freeman
    Favourite maha freeman
    Sep 4th 2024, 8:53 PM

Someone is getting thrown under the bus!!! Where’s the governance?…oh..is that not the ministers job ????

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:00 PM

@maha freeman: it’s not, no Minister micro manages the OPW. But they are accountable and I’m sure the comptroller and auditor general will be looking at their spending.

Mute S banter
    Favourite S banter
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:35 PM

How can they think that we think they’re serious when they ‘care’ and want someone to be held accountable. It’s a load of BS that they want to be seen to be outraged. It’s a joke, they’re all having a joke and as always it’s on us because we bloody pay for it every damn time. They play us for fools and no one, NO ONE will be held accountable…ever…really. Stop insulting us with these afterthoughts. The thing is built, it was probably approved a year or two ago, that’s when it should have been raised and stopped and something been done. Stop pretending to give a damn.

Mute MrBkavanagh
    Favourite MrBkavanagh
    Sep 5th 2024, 10:06 AM

While you’re at it, hold the people responsible for the children’s hospital to account. The electorate deserve to know who is squandering the tax payers money and getting away with it!

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:21 PM

“Tut Tut, don’t get caught again”.

Mute Edith Kennedy
    Favourite Edith Kennedy
    Sep 4th 2024, 10:57 PM

Name, shame and fire!

Mute dave moran
    Favourite dave moran
    Sep 5th 2024, 5:43 AM

This is only what we know about I’ll bet this waste of money is commonplace…….?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 5th 2024, 8:58 AM

@dave moran:
    There is also the matter of sub contractors when invited to tender for state work getting together before hand and agreeing between themselves not the go below a certain price.

Mute Owen Mc
    Favourite Owen Mc
    Sep 5th 2024, 2:11 PM

Accountability, does this mean demotion or some other sanction, or will we ever know the outcome of this costly scenario as the individual involved will be protected by the GDPR regulation.

Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Sep 5th 2024, 8:42 AM

We need root and branch reform, that will fix it.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Sep 5th 2024, 9:51 AM

The Mafia would not have that bare faced cheek.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Sep 5th 2024, 7:31 AM

Accountability in this country. There is never any of that. We don’t believe in it. Why should anybody take the blame. It’s only tax payers money.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Sep 5th 2024, 9:00 AM

@John Flanagan:
    They go running to the courts if held accountable.

Mute Carl Campbell
    Favourite Carl Campbell
    Sep 5th 2024, 10:19 AM

Why isn’t the contractor who done the work not asked to account for their exorbitant pricing for a fairly ordinary looking lean to??? They are equally culpable in this and should be publicly named.

Mute Sean Beirne
    Favourite Sean Beirne
    Sep 5th 2024, 12:02 AM

So jobs for boys .. keep paying your taxes

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 5th 2024, 8:49 AM

The bikes will get wet

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:58 PM

Think how many bets doleheads could have had down the bookies for the price of that bike shelter!

Mute Jonathan Beatty
    Favourite Jonathan Beatty
    Sep 4th 2024, 9:17 PM

Pure rothar nonsense.

Mute Melanie Keane
    Favourite Melanie Keane
    Sep 5th 2024, 9:56 AM

The people need to take a stand against this government. We have the power in numbers, we’re the ones running the country. Hospitality staff should refuse them service, drivers should refuse them travel, binmen should stop collecting their waste, cut them out of society one way or another until there is real change.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Sep 5th 2024, 7:23 AM

As with the nch the job would have been tendered and the cheapest INITIAL submission would have been excepted. Once the work begins then the builder starts loading on extras. The civil servant has ticked all the boxes knowing full well they are about to get rode and the tax payer get it crouching tiger style. Basically just a massive piss take from start to finish.

Mute Dave G
    Favourite Dave G
    Sep 5th 2024, 8:55 AM

Who got the contract?

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Sep 5th 2024, 3:25 PM

Someone had to agree the price and sign off on the job.
    We may never know, who or why. That’s the way the system works, when it’s the tax payer paying.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Sep 4th 2024, 11:42 PM

Publish the Pulse number

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Sep 6th 2024, 9:53 AM

Somebody has been very careful to put a lot of bicycles in the bike rack for the photo op while this scandal remains news.