#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 13°C Friday 18 September 2020

Galway, Wexford, Clare and Down prepare for crunch minor hurling clashes

There’s six teams left in the running for this year’s All-Ireland minor hurling title but that will be reduced to four after tomorrow afternoon’s games.

Clare's Shane O'Donnell and Galway's Sean Sweeney will be in minor hurling action today.
Clare's Shane O'Donnell and Galway's Sean Sweeney will be in minor hurling action today.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

GALWAY BOSS MATTIE Murphy is able to call on three members of the team that lifted the All-Ireland MHC title last September for their opening game of the 2012 campaign against Wexford in tomorrow’s All-Ireland quarter-final clash in O’Connor Park in Tullamore at 1.30pm.

Full-back Paul Killeen, centre-back Sean Sweeney and left half-forward Jason Flynn all lined out in that 1-21 to 1-12 final triumph against Dublin while centre-forward Darragh Dolan came on as a substitute during that clash. Murphy can also call on several other talented performers with corner-back Barry Keane, wing-back Shane Caulfield, midfielder Cathal Mannion, full-forward Michael Mullins and left corner-forward Brian Molloy all members of last year’s triumphant panel.

Wexford have made three changes from the team that was defeated in the Leinster final recently by Dublin. Shelmaliers  James Cash replaces Colm Heffernan at  midfield, Donal Shanley replaces Rosslare’s Jordan Broarders at left corner-forward and Ben O’Brien from Faythe Harriers comes in for Tony French at right corner-forward. The winners of the game will face Munster champions Tipperary at the All-Ireland semi-final stage on August 19th.

GALWAY: Mike O’Conghaile (Michael Breathnachs), Daragh O’Donoghue (Kilnadeema-Leitrim), Paul Killeen (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry), Barry Keane (Clarinbridge); Shane Caulfield (Kilconieron), Sean Sweeney (Loughrea), Shane Cooney (St Thomas); Brian Murtagh (Ardrahan), Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh); Adrian Morrissey (Liam Mellows), Daragh Dolan (Cappataggle), Jason Flynn (Tommie Larkins); Ronan O’Meara (Portumna), Michael Mullins (Gort), Brian Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim).
WEXFORD: Oliver O Leary (Buffers Alley); Sean Doyle (Naomh Eanna), Sean Murphy (Buffers Alley), Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna); Liam Ryan (Rapparees), Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley), Anthony Roche (Oulart the Ballagh); James Cash (Shelmaliers), Conor Devitt (Ballyfad); Kevin Foley (Rapparees), Sean Kenny (HWH Bunclody), Jack O Connor (St Martin’s); Donal Shanley (Oli/St Fintan’s), Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna), Ben O’Brien (Faythe Harriers).

The other All-Ireland quarter-final clash tomorrow sees Clare face Down in Cusack Park in Mullingar at 2pm. Clare were denied the county’s third consecutive provincial minor hurling crown by Tipperary recently when they suffered a 1-16 to 1-12 loss in Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Clare have yet to announce their starting fifteen but have several talented players that they call upon like goalkeeper Eibhear Quilligan, defender Conor Cleary, and attacking trio Jamie Shanahan, Bobby Duggan and Shane O’Donnell.

Opponents Down enter the game on the back of recently winning the county’s first Ulster minor hurling crown since 1994. They claimed silverware after a final replay win over Antrim by 0-18 to 1-12 with Lorcan McMullan, Conor O’Neill and Chris Egan central to their hopes of success. The winners of this tie will face Dublin in the All-Ireland semi-final in Croke Park on August 12th.

‘The draw has been kind to us’ – Jimmy Barry-Murphy

Clare v Kerry – All-Ireland SFC qualifier round four match guide

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: