You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell via RollingNews.ie

Gardaí to begin withdrawing overtime in first of five Tuesdays of industrial action

They will enter a de facto work-to-rule by not working overtime on Budget Day, Halloween night and three other dates in October.

RANK AND FILE gardaí will withdraw from voluntary overtime today, in the first of five Tuesdays earmarked for industrial action.

They will enter a de facto work-to-rule by not agreeing to work overtime on Budget Day 10 October and Halloween night 31 October – as well as 17 and 24 October.

The gardaí have colloquially begun to call the action the “Drew Flu” – which is a reference to their 1998 withdrawal of labour known as the “Blue Flu, when gardaí called in sick in a dispute over pay and conditions.  

Last month, the Garda Representative Association (GRA) members took a vote of no confidence in Commissioner Drew Harris – with 98.7% of the 85% member turnout backing the motion. 

While the main gripe recently has been Harris’s intention to change garda rosters, the GRA says it’s more than that.

Speaking on RTÉ radio yesterday, Brendan O’Connor of the GRA said the vote of no confidence in Harris was not a misstep. 

“Our members have become very unsatisfied with a lot of things that are happening in the job. They felt their voice wasn’t being heard. We were being dismissed… this was building for quite a while,” he said.

He said the organisation deferred a vote of no confidence at last year’s AGM, “so the writing was on the wall that there were serious problems emerging”.

He said it was obvious that the problems “simmering under the surface” were going to “boil over”, despite the insistence of the Commissioner and Minister for Justice that there was no morale issues. 

Asked whether the GRA had personalised the dispute, O’Connor said it was not personal in nature but that it had become “very entrenched”, adding that some of the commentary surrounding the issue is very unhelpful and is leading to “irreparable damage to the relationship between the members and by default, the workforce and the leader”.

He said it remains the GRA’s position that it will not return to the negotiating table unless there is a withdrawal of the implementation of the old roster on 6 November.

Justice Minister Helen McEntee said on Sunday that she had confidence in Harris and would not intervene in the dispute.

“I will not direct the Garda Commissioner nor will I direct members as to where or when or how they should be working,” she said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute l
    Favourite l
    Oct 29th 2021, 1:46 PM

Behind all the fanfair, I think you will find a tax structure that shields the company from the new global tax agreement reached eventually.
    No doubt being fed the necessary information all along by some of our very own, feathering their nests for their futures after getting turfed out of government.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    Oct 29th 2021, 2:01 PM

Much like Windscale became Sellafield became Thorp …. What are they called now? Auntie Franny’s Puppy Home or something.

Mute Jules
    Favourite Jules
    Oct 29th 2021, 8:04 PM

@Shelly Levine: perfect analogy

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 29th 2021, 3:21 PM

I wonder if it has anything to do with a certain whistle-blower of late, and trying to distance themselves from the negative publicity

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 29th 2021, 2:14 PM

“That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet” Shakespeare 1600

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Oct 29th 2021, 1:36 PM

The same reason Google changed its name, no idea.

Oct 29th 2021, 1:59 PM

Jist let people be people this meta verse is enslaving people .

Mute john smith iv
    Favourite john smith iv
    Oct 29th 2021, 2:56 PM

@: the metaverse is fairly scary alright. Even by zuckerberg’s own description.

Mute tony murphy
    Favourite tony murphy
    Oct 29th 2021, 6:00 PM

META
    Money Earned Tax Avoided….

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021
    Oct 29th 2021, 4:20 PM

Answer: Tax reasons and because they are meta data hungry poxes on society. Fix your pongy fa$cist algorithms would be more in there line.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Oct 29th 2021, 5:32 PM

@Twitruser2021: LOL, the algorithm banned me for 24 hours last night because I quoted the old Dublin saying about the “Five Lamps”, do you know the 5 lamps??? :-)

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021
    Oct 29th 2021, 6:18 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: I think it’s become self aware and it wants to take out good jokes, but you know what you can go hang your bollix from them? And as for the feckers that wrote it they can goose step off.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Oct 29th 2021, 10:01 PM

@Twitruser2021: I’ll be out of FB jail in 2 hours, can’t ‘kin wait, not! I think it’s had its day .

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Oct 29th 2021, 4:28 PM

Monetise Every Technological Advance.

Mute L a u r a
    Favourite L a u r a
    Oct 29th 2021, 5:55 PM

@alan: Make Every Tick Ask

Mute Josh Joyce
    Favourite Josh Joyce
    Oct 29th 2021, 4:00 PM

It’s lipstick on a pig

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Oct 29th 2021, 5:01 PM

Simple answer. If data is so valuable monetize it so those who’s data it is gets paid.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Oct 29th 2021, 5:01 PM

Do adults still do facebook?

Mute Larry Rawson
    Favourite Larry Rawson
    Oct 29th 2021, 7:00 PM

Mark Zuckerbergs Name is so apt,He Zucks you into his treacherous waters where his barely seen iceBerg Damages your Life as you can only see the Tip of it before you realise he has Sunk your Real Life into a series of Tap Tap. Taps. Your sleepwalking into your Coffin………..

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Oct 29th 2021, 1:39 PM

Based

Mute Peter G McLean
    Favourite Peter G McLean
    Oct 29th 2021, 9:34 PM

Who cares?

Mute Koen Smet
    Favourite Koen Smet
    Oct 29th 2021, 10:15 PM

There’s already more than a few interesting metaverses out there ( Ceek Vr, Victoria Vr etc.). A bit late to the game.

Mute Clurichaun
    Favourite Clurichaun
    Oct 29th 2021, 9:54 PM

Make it sound like intelligent?