You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Thousands of people who registered to vote may not be able to if election is held before 15 February

It has emerged that the updated register will not become valid until after Valentine’s Day.

THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE who registered to vote for an expected general election could be missing from the electoral register if the country goes to the polls by Valentine’s Day.

The problem has been highlighted after it emerged that the updated electoral register does not become valid each year until 15 February.

The issue could affect those who registered to vote in the last year, as well as those who changed the address their polling card is sent to. Both groups will currently appear on a draft electoral register.

The exact number of those currently on the draft register is not known, but it is believed to be in the thousands.

The issue has been raised by Fianna Fáil TD Sean Fleming, who has called for the government to remedy it by passing legislation to bring forward the date the register is updated – which will only be possible if the Dáil is not dissolved before it returns tomorrow.

“If the election happens before 15 February, those people who last September and October put their names on the draft register to come into effect this year will find they won’t have a vote…” he told Morning Ireland on RTÉ Radio 1.

“It’s only and solely because of the date of the election. We’ve never had an election in the middle of February before, when the new register comes into effect.”

Meanwhile his party leader Micheál Martin said: “There was an onus on the Government to clear all that up before they named a date and I’m surprised that they let that situation develop.

“I think thousands of people should be facilitated, who are on the draft register, of being able to vote. We may even have the anomaly of people who voted in the local election but won’t be able to vote in the general election, which is very odd indeed.”

Fleming called on the government to pass a motion to update the register by 1 February, and cautioned against another proposal that individual local authorities could use their discretion to add those on their draft registers to the supplementary register.

He said that this may not be possible because of a legal process which requires gardaí to stamp a form to allow individuals to be placed on the supplementary register.

Members of the public have been urged to check  if they are registered to vote by contacting their local authority, and to request to be put on the supplementary register up to 15 days before the date of the election.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:31 AM

Vote SF and change..

Mute nothing witty
    Favourite nothing witty
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:43 AM

I am one of these people. I moved in August and in October registered myself and my other half to vote at our new address. They better not deny me my democratic right to get try to get them out of office!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 14th 2020, 11:16 AM

@nothing witty: I sincerely hope that you &others in your situation get your democratic right to vote,no matter who & others want to vote for!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:00 PM

@nothing witty: Government can request Local Authorities to automatically transfer all new 2019/2020 registrations onto the supplementary register!!
    It won’t look good for Government to deny thousands of voters their democratic right to vote!!
    I wonder if people in your predicament can contact their Local Authorities and ask to be put on the supplementary register,it’s worth a try but asap I’d say!Best of luck!

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:04 PM

@nothing witty: surely you can still vote in your currently registered address/constituency – you do not even need your polling card to vote but bring id I would advise – if you are on the current register I guess you can vote… I think it is only if you are not on the current register then this issue affects you.

That said I do think it is a sneaky way to deny some people a vote.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:47 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: As article states the updated electoral register doesn’t become valid until Feb 15th each year so I’d say if Government won’t request Local Authorities to automatically transfer all those to supplementary register this week then those affected should try to contact their own LAs to request transfer to the supplementary register.
    I don’t know which would be faster eg ? Government ‘s request to LAs.So at least these voters could contact their own LAs to get information,etc

Mute Councillor Bill Clear
    Favourite Councillor Bill Clear
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:04 AM

This just requires a simple amendment to electoral act and should be done.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 14th 2020, 11:20 AM

@Councillor Bill Clear: Fair play to Sean Fleming highlighting this&it was to be brought up in Dail tomorrow but Taoiseach calling election date today!

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:02 AM

Don’t worry….. FFG Will get back in and that’s a guarantee…

Mute Joe Mc
    Favourite Joe Mc
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:11 AM

@windbag: run down to the bookies and put your house on it then. But your going to lose your house. Ffg will lose alot of seats and big seats at that. Ff and sf will benefit but ff will not have a majority. Will fg support ff this time in a confidence agreement, I don’t think so. By the way is undemocratic in my opinion

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:13 AM

@windbag:
    Sad but true.

Mute The Trek Directive
    Favourite The Trek Directive
    Jan 14th 2020, 9:12 AM

@Joe Mc: They may lose seats Joe, but its still going to be FG/FF or FF/FG – and that’s not changing anytime soon

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 14th 2020, 10:26 AM

@Joe Mc: you seem to not understand what FFG means. Recent opinion polls have FG to get most votes, SF second and FF third. FG won’t work with SF so it’ll be FG/FF/IND, based on the opinion polls, but we all know what opinions are comparable to so we’ll take that with a grain of salt

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 14th 2020, 11:25 AM

@Dave O’Keeffe: Unlikely but SF &FF&SDs,I4C could be a scenario.

Mute Joe Mc
    Favourite Joe Mc
    Jan 14th 2020, 3:44 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: fg won’t get most votes dave.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:13 AM

Between these voters and the lazy armchair mouthpieces that have an opinion on everything but couldn’t be arsed to vote ffg will get in again.
    Ireland can look forward to another 100 years of ff/fg .
    We will never learn and we deserve the government we get.
    (Waiting for the “who else is there” or “who are you voting for” brigade)

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:08 AM

What a load of crap, maybe hold off the election until 2022 just to allow any 16 year old be eligible to vote by then, or to see what happens with Brexit, or in case the government change their ways, . It’s excuse after excuse after excuse. It’s going to be a Ff or Fg government either way. FF fecked us up the last time but sure nobody remembers that so we best vote them back in to save is. It’s a load of shite the Sheep in this country always vote the same way and if you don’t get what I mean ….. probably because your one of the sheep too.

Mute David Memery
    Favourite David Memery
    Jan 14th 2020, 9:10 AM

@gary mullen: I don’t think you understand how democracy works somehow

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jan 14th 2020, 10:58 AM

@gary mullen: technically we do not have to have a General Election until April 2021.
    But I would like it sooner rather than later.

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:38 PM

@David Memery: I do understand how it works, I don’t think you understand that the two main political parties in this country are fecking this country over and running it into the ground but hey, don’t worry about it and when it comes to the vote in Feb you just go and follow everyone else like the good little sheep that you are

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:39 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: true, but regardless of when it happens the outcome will be the same

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Jan 14th 2020, 9:01 AM

How about no body vote and we go for a couple of months with out any government and let Micheal D look after the country for a while.. twould save a lot of money.

Mute Declan Snow
    Favourite Declan Snow
    Jan 14th 2020, 9:09 AM

@John O Brien: I’m pretty sure the current government ministers remain in charge until a new government can be formed. So even if no body was to vote the same people would remain.

Mute Cindy Brolin
    Favourite Cindy Brolin
    Jan 14th 2020, 10:41 AM

This is clearly unconstitutional, in fact so is the requirement of having to register to vote. Most other modern states handle this registration automatically.

Mute Lyndsay Rehn
    Favourite Lyndsay Rehn
    Jan 14th 2020, 12:27 PM

This is obviously a strategy to cut the numbers of younger people who can vote as they are the ones who tend to move addresses. We also have the problem of people suddenly being dropped of the live register. We have a outdated system to say the least and people who are responsible for the maintenance of voter registration are failing to make sure our constitutional rights are upheld. All this plays right into FG/FF hands,

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Jan 14th 2020, 8:39 AM

I’ll be home to vote for anyone but tweedle dumb and tweedle dee.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jan 14th 2020, 10:23 AM

@Ibhar Mac Suibhne: waste of a trip

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Jan 14th 2020, 11:34 AM

These people have a right to vote therefore the election will have to be postponed untill that date had passed …

Mute Siobhan Rosemary
    Favourite Siobhan Rosemary
    Jan 14th 2020, 10:26 AM

If someone registers to vote from January 2020 will they be able to vote? Say if they are in the same boat as anyone who voted last year? If this is sorted

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jan 14th 2020, 11:06 AM

@Siobhan Rosemary: click on link to see if you are already registered. https://www.vote.ie/register/

If you are not registered follow instructions.

Mute Gearoid O Chorraigh
    Favourite Gearoid O Chorraigh
    Jan 14th 2020, 2:50 PM

You may bet that all the new 18 year old FF/fg voters will be on the register no matter what happens .. have to try and keep the cosy lifestyles going for themselves.

Mute Lionheart1
    Favourite Lionheart1
    Jan 14th 2020, 2:33 PM

Looks like a tactical master stroke by FG.

Mute Michael Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Michael Mc Loughlin
    Jan 15th 2020, 10:01 AM

This oversight by the outgoing govrrnment further questions their performance record and the competence of their senior civil srrvants and advisors .