You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Empty site in the Dublin Docklands George's Dock Lido Campaign

'Dublin City Council is the only one who can drive this public pool forward'

A campaign group is pushing to get a public lido built in Dublin’s docklands.

THE CAMPAIGN TO build an outdoor pool – or lido – in Dublin’s docklands is raising money to push the idea forward in the hopes that Dublin City Council will take on the project. 

The volunteers behind the campaign have spent the last three years raising funds and interest to make the community-centred development possible. 

The prospect of a lido at George’s Dock was first mooted after a suggestion to build a white-water rafting facility on the site was shot down by the public and politicians. 

Due to planning restrictions, the site must still be used for a water-based development.

The lido group want it to not only have a pool, but saunas, green spaces and other community spaces.

“In our vision, it would cater to everyone. It would be inclusive, accessible and affordable; cater to accomplished swimmers, learners and non-swimmers,” says Sarah Walker, who has recently been appointed as joint-director of the group.

They’ve started a GoFundMe to create an updated 3D image of what such a development could look like. The plan is to bring it, along with a feasibility study, to the Council in hopes of advancing the project.

Capture Original proposal for the lido

The original conceptual image was designed “to capture public imagination” and therefore didn’t adhere to the planning standards of a 19th century dry dock conservation site like George’s Dock.

Walker says the Council recommended a less imposing design, which the fundraiser will help fund.

The feasibility study aims to address other concerns, such as the economic and operational viability of the lido.

“DCC needs to take ownership of this project. It’s a public site. It will be publicly funded,” says Walker. 

We’re happy to contribute, but DCC is the only entity that can drive this public pool forward.

Dublin City councillor for the Pembroke area Dermot Lacey said his view is simple. “I will support anything that’s positive and constructive for the area.”

He also thought the white water rafting facility was a positive and constructive idea, but the lido is “the next best suggestion”.

“I don’t believe that the cost will be extravagant. Money is not Ireland’s problem. Imagination is a problem and political leadership is a problem.”

Lacey accused some councillors of talking about big ideas but never following through. He hopes inner city councillors will raise the lido project at the next meeting in September.

South east inner city councillor Danny Byrne told The Journal last year that, while he supports the idea, he is not entirely convinced of the lido’s feasibility.

Carbon emissions from the development, a lack of parking space and high construction costs are roadblocks to continuing with any plan, he said.

Nearly two million euro had been spent on the white water rafting idea before it was shelved due to considerable backlash. There is a fear that the lido project could be a repeat of this.

“To be spending all this money at a time of a homelessness crisis just didn’t sit well with me,” said Byrne.

However, Walker said: ”We recognise that there is a massive shortage of housing, a massive shortage of critical infrastructure. We are not saying that an open-air swimming pool is more important than any of those things, but because of this water-based development stipulation, this could be a public amenity with so many far-reaching benefits.”

The “non-elitist” public lido idea was inspired by those of London, Berlin and Barcelona.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Aug 18th 2024, 8:14 AM

I live in Denmark. Public pools on lakes and in the cities is the norm. We can’t be like the Danes though…Irish people can’t have anything that isn’t profit motivated, insurance crippled or anything nice because we nurture s k rotes who destroy everything.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:25 AM

@Thomas Meaney: Because we are Irish, we do what suits us.
    We have lots of things that are not profit motivated.
    The location is wrong, firstly and secondly it would be used by such a small group of people it would never be cost feasible.
    Dublin City needs a lot of things before it needs an outdoor pool.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:53 AM

@Thomas Meaney: Agreed, you will only find reasons against this in these shallow waters. This is what global cities do, aspire and imagine a better place, as Irish people we have never known this and don’t understand things like ‘quality’ or ‘design’ these are posh terms for rich people. Way more ‘s k rotes’ in London, multiple lido’s constantly used.

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Aug 18th 2024, 2:03 PM

@Gary Kearney: Denmark is not a paradise either, I’ve been there and lived in other Nordic states. What makes a country great are its people, never forget that. I’d kill myself in Denmark, there’s no craic, not everyone here has a boss culture, just a minority making a lot of noise exaggerating the essence of this beautiful island.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:07 PM

@J Ven: what utter bs. I’ve being living and working in Denmark since 2018. If you need someone else to facilitate your craic for you then I’d take a long look at your life. There are plenty pubs and clubs in and around Denmark (if that’s your type of craic). If you have lived for any length of time in any of the Nordics you should or would know….. There is something better than what we have or offered in Ireland.

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Aug 18th 2024, 6:58 AM

Outdoor pool in Ireland. Did you ever hear the like?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:24 AM
    Mute Paul Conlon
    Favourite Paul Conlon
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:25 AM

@marklars81: you know we already have quite a few

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:57 AM

@marklars81: yeah, in several sites in Ireland. Why wouldn’t Ireland have an outdoor pool? You clearly not only lack local knowledge but imagination as well.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Aug 18th 2024, 9:54 AM

@Niall Brew: I have imagination and local knowledge and I would stick anything there that wasn’t secure and had to pay to use! The white water rafting at €50 would have kept the locals that wreck everything out!!

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:17 AM

@Niall Brew: Nobody wants an outdoor pool except a few. It’s useless 70% of the year.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 19th 2024, 12:09 AM

@Alex: The outdoor pool on the Clontarf road is used all year round.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 18th 2024, 8:25 AM

Unless this is put in the hands of a greedy developer with good political connections, who will then build said pool for 3 times the initial cost and about 5 years after and then when said pool eventually opens, will likely be the most expensive to use in Europe…..it will never be built. It’s how Ireland works

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:49 AM

Will the outdoor pool be a rival to the indoor pool currently under construction across the road ? Does anyone charged with the running of our city actually know what they’re doing ??

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:22 AM

@Gerry Kelly: This is not the council this is a “lobby group”!!!
    DCC killed the idea before!

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:58 AM

@Gerry Kelly: which pool is that?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:30 PM

@Gerry Kelly:
    What pool “being build across the road” are you referring to?

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:19 AM

I am surprised how Ireland it’s closer to a 3rd world country than a western democracy when it comes to facilities for its people. Almost 0 public pool, 0 ice skating, poor public transport, poor healthcare, poor education. It wouldn’t be a problem if we didn’t pay up to 52% taxes but we do.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:27 AM

@Alex: When are you leaving if it is so terrible.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:37 AM

@Gary Kearney: I have money I pay for those services, unlike you and unlike many people who can’t afford it. Why should I leave when I want to improve things? You are a loser Gary, and it shows.

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:44 AM

@Gary Kearney: What do you do to improve things Gary? Probably nothing while I work actively with my local councillors and was able to get one more bus route and more amenities for my community. I also sponsored a free access to gym classes for people. Luckily most Irish don’t have your pathetic mentality.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:38 AM

@Alex: GDP chest puff, we’re still only 2nd world.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Aug 18th 2024, 12:15 PM

@Gary Kearney: Why should he leave? is it because you cannot accept simple facts and the truth? 42 50 metre indoor swimming pools in the UK and just 1 Ireland which is a fact, should I leave Ireland also?

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:03 PM

@Alex: what are you on about, plenty swimming pools, two where I live fantastic sports facilities, full sized artificial football pitch, huge tennis club, two GAA clubs, rugby club, public golf course, three or four soccer clubs
    Dublin has two state of the art stadiums

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:33 PM

@Alex:
    There was a ice rink up in Smithfield until the local rodents started lobbing bottles on to the ice.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:38 PM

@Alex: Corpo public pool just 5 minutes walk away from proposed outdoor pool, Trinity collage pool 10 min walk, and Guinness pool Watlin St 20 mins away. All open to public.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:51 PM

@Leonard Barry:
    National Aquatics Center 50 meter pool.
    University of Limerick 50 meter pool that’s two.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 19th 2024, 12:04 AM

@Alex: Have you ever being in a Third world country?
    Plenty of Corpo pools in Dublin,
    Ice rink in Smithfield had to deal with locals tossing glass bottles in, Ice rink in Dundalk closed due to lack of interest. Poor education? don’t think so. Tens of thousands interact with the health services every day. Some ring Joe Duffy.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Aug 18th 2024, 8:47 AM

Ice skating rink? We seem to be lacking one of those.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:53 PM

@Rebecca Owens: One in Dundalk closed due to lack of interest. Lads who play Ice hockey head to Belfast to train.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Aug 18th 2024, 9:49 AM

When people say for the community, they mean the community involved in anti Social behaviour.. the community that would reck it given half a change! Having money and contributing financially and moraly in Ireland is now nearly a crime.

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Aug 18th 2024, 9:33 AM

If only Ireland was surrounded by water. Oh wait

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:05 AM

@Nemethon: not much good if you are miles from the coast. Even at that a lot of the bathing spots are very tidal and have varying water quality. Dublin bay has been pretty decent of late but there are plenty of bathing locations that have a serious dip in water quality when heavy rains hit

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Aug 18th 2024, 7:22 PM

@Liam OTailliuir: There are tons of lakes in the midlands too, Ireland isn’t that big, most will be max of an hour from swimming water

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:41 AM

All a bit wishful and hopeful.

I think an indoor pool would be better due to our weather – and if there is space then build a multi sport venue, with plastic pitches for football, tennis, basketball and leave space for a weekend, open air food market.

And leave it in public ownership to serve the whole community no just those who can afford it, whilst also having very strict anti social rules and guidelines to deal with potential trouble makers.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Aug 18th 2024, 8:57 AM

Good news, soon plagued by youknowwho…
    Ice ring hockey stadium is sorely missing though

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:26 AM

@Dominic Leleu: Ice rink, missed sorely by how many people?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:20 AM

Crazy stuff, looks lovely on paper but the reality of it is very different. Like Smithfield another pink elephant.
    Oh but it works in Denmark, is the reason!!! Why do these people think that it will work here automatically.
    Same with an ice rink, or the last CEOs passion a white water rafting facility!!!
    What will work in the area, what will pay dividends to the communiity

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:01 AM

@Gary Kearney: given how many kids go swimming in the canal and how busy Sean Mac is during the summer months, I think a lido could be well used by the local community. Depends how it is run really. Lots of gym/pools (including Markievicz) don’t allow kids in unaccompanied.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:54 AM

Sad to read how miserable most people are here.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Aug 18th 2024, 12:45 PM

A place to wash the drug addicts

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 19th 2024, 12:13 AM

@Fergus O’Donnell:
    Might get it passed the do gooders if that’s presented as a benefit to the local community

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Aug 18th 2024, 2:48 PM

I take it that the pool is already there on a trailer, otherwise how can DCC drive it forward?

Mute Balloon Boy
    Favourite Balloon Boy
    Aug 18th 2024, 12:42 PM

“a lack of parking space”

Cop on, Danny Byrne.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 18th 2024, 8:21 PM

The locals will ruin it, like they did the Liffey Boardwalk

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 19th 2024, 12:19 PM

@Paul: It is not locals ruining the Boardwalk.

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Aug 18th 2024, 2:06 PM

So Lacey has moved on from AirBnB locks

Mute Dermot Lacey
    Favourite Dermot Lacey
    Aug 18th 2024, 10:02 PM

@You’re Not Serious: Delighted to report that I work on many issues – one does not stop the other. Perhaps it is because of that varied work that electorate voted for me to have a seventh term on Dublin City Council. Not having engaged much here in the past I look forward to responding in the future.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Aug 18th 2024, 11:10 PM

A pool of piss within a week. Mark my words. Little Gets.

Mute Mhairtain Ó Treasaigh
    Favourite Mhairtain Ó Treasaigh
    Aug 20th 2024, 3:50 AM

There’s a swimming pool in Coolock nsc