You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gerry Adams Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Gerry Adams wants to restrict the sale of alcohol in the Dáil bar

The Sinn Féin president has said his party intends to ensure the bar closes at the same time as every other establishment amid continuing controversy over TDs drinking during Dáil business.

Updated 7.40pm

SINN FÉIN PRESIDENT Gerry Adams has said his party intends to ensure that the sale of alcohol in the Dáil Private Members’ Bar is subject to the same laws as other establishments in the country.

Adams was speaking in the wake of more controversy surrounding the bar following TheJournal.ie‘s story this morning in which a number of TDs admitted to having “one or two” or a “couple” of pints while the Dáil debated the abortion legislation this week.

The now infamous ‘lapgate’ incident involving Fine Gael TD Tom Barry and his colleague Aine Collins has also brought the spotlight on whether or not it is appropriate that TDs be allowed to drink alcohol while conducting Dáil business.

The Dáil bar remained open until 5am on Thursday morning as TDs debated the Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill.

“It is the intention of Sinn Féin to ensure that the sale of alcohol in these establishments is subject to the same licensing laws as every other establishment,” Adams said.

“It is ridiculous that alcohol is available here, as it was during the debate on the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill, until five in the morning.”

The Louth TD has previously raised the issue of deputies being intoxicated in the chamber, telling this website earlier this year that at least two TDs within his earshot were drunk when the Dáil debated legislation to liquidate the former Anglo Irish Bank in February.

Several TDs told this website yesterday that they had drank alcohol on Wednesday night, but one insisted that there was no “obvious level of drunkenness” in the Dáil chamber as the abortion bill was discussed and voted on.

United Left TD Joan Collins said “one or two” deputies “were a bit wobbly” while her colleague in the Technical Group, Waterford TD John Halligan said that “a lot of TDs were drinking coffee and coke”.

Adams said that there was an onus on TDs and Senators to be “sober and correct” when debating and voting on legislation which effects every person in the country.

“This behaviour would not be acceptable in any other work place.  This is a work place and it should not be acceptable here,” he added in a statement issued this afternoon.

First published 5.21pm

Read more: Some TDs drank during abortion debate… and ‘one or two were a bit wobbly’

Read: The grab seen around the world – the internet reacts to Tom Barry

Read: Male TD pulls female colleague into his lap – in the Dáil chamber

Previously: There were some TDs intoxicated on night of promissory note debate

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

166 Comments
    Mute Kay Tighe
    Favourite Kay Tighe
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:26 PM

Just get rid of the feckin bar full stop

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:40 PM

Good to see SF jumping on the popularise band wagon as usual, it’s a place of work close it down.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:05 PM

Agree. Perhaps it would spur the other parliaments to follow suit, (the UK upper and lower houses come to mind), but I’ll not be holding my breath. Maybe the EU could pass this as a useful directive? No ? Ah well, just a thought.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Rita Teehan
    Favourite Rita Teehan
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:07 PM

What are they doing drinking ,aren’t they supposed to be working,and on life and death situations

Mute Gerry
    Favourite Gerry
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:21 PM

Drink ruined just as many Irish families as Adams mob did so he should know! Brass neck!

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:32 PM

Most predictable comment ever made on the Journal

Mute JayK
    Favourite JayK
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:57 PM

Saw the article title and thought, “I wonder how people will try to twist this into a bad thing?”. Good to see that the majority of people didn’t jump to immedate, knee-jerk dissenting comments.

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:07 PM

Thata boy Gerry!!

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:42 PM

Indeed. Ridiculous to even have one. Open up a coffee shop or something.

Mute Aaron Mac Gafraidh
    Favourite Aaron Mac Gafraidh
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:58 PM

He’s not jumping on a bandwagon, he’s the guy who highlighted the problem to a mob of completely locked gov’t TDs the night of the vote on prom note legislation (incidentally, the bill that the new FG whip Paschal O’D. said he didn’t need to read before voting!) That mob of drunks famously heckled Adams, like he was some kind of lunatic for making the suggestion.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:06 PM

Yes M, it would be really awful if our politicians actually listened to the people wouldn’t it?

However, in this instance even your accusation is ill informed. Don’t you remember who started this “bandwagon” in the first place? You might want to ask why is it that it took Sinn Fein to point out the ble*ding obvious!

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:11 PM

Exactly, if they want a pint they can cross the bloody road!

Mute Barrys Bodhrans
    Favourite Barrys Bodhrans
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:24 PM

who cares what any parliaments do in a foreign country..

Mute Glenn Polley
    Favourite Glenn Polley
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:52 AM

The ironic thing here, unfortunately, is that in any other workplace, drinking would be considered heavily sanctionable, even dismissible – pilot, doctor, driver, etc. Yet, when some of our elected representatives are getting off their faces while debating one of the most controversial bills of the last decade – (something which requires a clear mind you’d think) – it’s somehow “grand”…I wonder if many of them drove home afterwards too…

Mute Jeff Conroy
    Favourite Jeff Conroy
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:24 AM

It’s sh!t like this that makes me hate politics. This a clear cut example of jumping on the popularity bandwagon. Regardless of whether you favour the current government- its a bar, let them have a pint!

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:39 AM

A silly response. Sinn Fein were slamming the drinking in the dail bar the night of converting the promissory notes to soverign debt before it was ever mentioned in the media.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:48 AM

Some people will always find a way to criticise Sinn Fein. Whatever you think of Gerry Aams he has pretty much dedicated his life for a cause he believes in. His life is always in danger. How many people would choose that life for any cause. You have a brass neck making such a ridiculous comment Gerry (if that is your real name)

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:16 AM

Thank you Ruairi. This man was forced into politics to help his community. It must gall him to see privileged politicians (many who are just there for the gravy train) act so reckless with the power they have.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:26 AM

He was also interned without trial and shot, Peter, and judging by some of thses comments on here there is quite a percentage of small minded Irish people who dont see the larger picture. If it wasnt for Sf there would be no transparency behind the scenes in the dail whatsoever.

Mute Garth Sutherland
    Favourite Garth Sutherland
    Jul 14th 2013, 11:00 AM

Methinks there will always be negative comments about SF from certain pathetic individuals. As they, in their heart of hearts, know the following. The SF commitment to the people of the island of Ireland is the deepest, most genuine and sincere of all the current political parties!

Mute James Hyland
    Favourite James Hyland
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:21 PM

didnt some newspaper do a drug test on the loo,s in the dail not so long ago.
    and did or did they not find evidence of excessive cocaine use in the very same loo,s.
    so if their not outa their heads on drink their off their face,s on coke.
    the mind boggles.
    no wonder t.d,s are so detached from the real world.
    and yes hell yes that bar/old boys club should be ditched

Mute Glenn Polley
    Favourite Glenn Polley
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:21 PM

I can assure you I’m not jumping on any bandwagon. I’m just making a very clear point that it is unforgivable really that the Dáil culture permits it’s members to drink openly and without sanction during working hours – whatever about coffees/cokes etc. The stories of a few TD’s being “wobbly on their feet” on Wednesday night is a disgrace – can you imagine a surgeon walking into a theatre after “having a few”?…thanks to Wednesday night, we’ve been made to look like a bunch of clowns once again – we made headlines all around the world because of the carry on, in numerous international news publications, for the wrong reasons. Not to mention, it was during a debate with extreme implications and the world was looking on.
    Whatever about having a pint after work – I have no issue with that, but somehow I don’t see any repercussions take place on the TD’s who drink during working hours unlike the rest of us…

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Jul 14th 2013, 4:34 PM

Good old honest Gerry we hang on your every word.

Mute James G Kearney
    Favourite James G Kearney
    Jul 14th 2013, 5:47 PM

Good comment Jeff
    On the one hand I see Adams as just a cheap populist And on the other hand making public what is actually going On the Dail bar should at least be looked into. The only reason that they were voting into the night was because they could not get the Legislation done otherwise. Maybe as a future Incentive to get there legislative programme in order it may be good to offer salt water and dry bread for refreshments To 10 o’clock the following morning.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:28 PM

It should be closed down.
    What job would give you a subsidised bar open when it suits.
    The Garda are quick enough to walk into a bar after closing time but the “lawmakers” can drink until 5!!!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:40 PM

… And drive home from the Dail Bar with a skinful on them and get away with it.

Mute Stíofán Bearnán Mac Uileagóid
    Favourite Stíofán Bearnán Mac Uileagóid
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:13 PM

How’s about a breathalizer thingy at the door before they go in instead? If they are over the limit then out you go and stay out until ya sober up.

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:32 PM

I didn’t know you even read non abortion related articles Stephen…

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:33 PM

jim ………………your right the gardai do it too but dont stay till 5

Mute Debbie fitzpatrick
    Favourite Debbie fitzpatrick
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:24 AM

Makes my blood boil, one rule for us and another for them… Who the hell do they think they are …I’m absolutely fuming with the arrogance of them.

Mute Roibeard Ò Riain
    Favourite Roibeard Ò Riain
    Jul 14th 2013, 4:27 AM

Under our fantastic legislation. They cant be prosecuted leaving a government building

Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:25 PM

I was so locked, I meant to press the green button instead of the red……..oops!

Mute JayK
    Favourite JayK
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:54 PM

Too late, you’ve just voted Danny Healy Rae’s drink driving motion through. It’s now the law of the land.

Mute Samantha Branagan
    Favourite Samantha Branagan
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:27 PM

I’m finding myself agreeing more and more with what Sinn Fein say, which is something I never thought would happen. It’s so true though, if we went into work under the influence of would be gross misconduct and we would be dismissed! I’m also curious about whether the bar is free or not?

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:29 PM

It’s not free but they do get it at a reduced rate due to subsidies.

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:29 PM

No workplace should have a bar to be honest, especially those muppets who can’t make a proper decision on something when sober, nevermind letting them have the opportunity to have a beer.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:46 PM

Except a pub of course :)

Mute John Aldridge
    Favourite John Aldridge
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:36 PM

In the days of Garret Fitzgerald and his ilk, I would have had some respect for TDs. Difficult now to find many in the houses of the Oireachtas that one would have admiration for. SF is right – what the hell is a bar doing AT ALL in a place of “so-called” work?!

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:42 PM

I’m pretty sure they had a bar in that golden age when politicians were honest and people respected their elders.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:09 PM

Groan. Just because Fitzgerald was a plonker doesn’t mean he deserves admiration. FG is basically FF’s incompetent idiot twin, and you can see the seeds of that all the back to Garret (was there a bloke called Haughey who was one of his generation? Did Fitzgerald foolishly and greedily invest in GPA based on advice from his buddy that he appointed to high office? What happened to the debt?)

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:53 PM

They all drank, some quite alot when passing votes on a very heated and important law to do with people’s lives.. It should never be aloud to happen, close the bar and open a cafe that sells coffee, because that is what you need on a late night in work passing important laws.

Mute Killjoy
    Favourite Killjoy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:22 PM

What populist claptrap. It’s this right here that would show me voting for Sinn Fein is a bad idea, as they jump on whatever bandwagon appears most popular at the time.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:34 PM

Actually they have called for this before. When the bank debt was ‘crystallised’ as national debt at 3:00am after a 15 minute dail ‘debate’, they were outspoken on the number of TDs who were well oiled the time.
    Somebody texted Matt Cooper during the week, “vote with your conscience, get sacked!. Drink on the job and grope a colleague, nothing said!”.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:40 PM

….and then a hero comes along!!!

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:45 PM

Like him or not.this makes sense.most of us never make great decisions under the influence of drink.so having TDs making decisions that can be quite important to the future of the state half cut is crazy.well said Gerry.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:35 PM

Adams is spot on,maybe he is jumping on the bandwagon,so what,he is just stating what any normal sane person would agree with,which is alcohol should be not only restricted but banned from the dail,where important decisions are taken that effect every citizen in this country,its time this country grew up.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:11 PM

Let’s face it, you’re just looking for reasons to slag off SF. Bit stupid, eh?

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:26 PM

The Dail bar should be closed now. What private company had a bar in their premises?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:14 PM

Doesn’t matter who said it … it makes perfect sense. The anglo debt thrust on the shoulders of kids and grandkids by supping TDs.

Remove the Jinks privilege as well

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:41 PM

Do they have serve Chicken Curry to get the dinner dance licence?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 5:11 AM

Showing your age there Steve …

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:11 PM

Disgrace that the country in in tatters
    and these boys and girls drinking cheap pints are our expense. They just
    don’t see the big picture. The ordinary people are struggling to meet bills and live. TD’S just party on, REAL CHANGE is needed.

Mute Colin Ryan
    Favourite Colin Ryan
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:03 PM

I don’t think there should be alcohol available considering they are supposed to be running the country. They say one pint can cloud your judgement when driving. These clowns make decisions that affect all of us, and they should be made with a clear head. The dail bar should be abolished along with the seanad.

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:31 PM

Do they have the records from the night of the bank guarantee?

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:35 PM

No it was done on the back of a beer mat.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:12 PM

At the very same bar .

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:57 PM

Sure ye can’t deproive an elected Paddy of his pint. Remember, bejaysus, dat he’s not just drinkin’ for himshelf, he’s drinkin’ for hish constitch… conshit… da bhoys dat voted for him ash well!

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:24 PM

No Gerry is right. It’s dangerous to sell alcohol when some members of the Dáil might be carrying or have access to firearms

Mute Francis Cussen
    Favourite Francis Cussen
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:07 AM

Gerry is serving free shots

Mute Niall J Murf
    Favourite Niall J Murf
    Jul 14th 2013, 2:30 PM

So many red thumbs for that, thought it was pretty funny myself. Maybe people think you are serious?

Mute Nigel Carvill
    Favourite Nigel Carvill
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:16 PM

Name and shame the offenders.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:03 PM

FOI the end of month tabs.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:17 PM

Name and acclaim the innocent, it’s just easier.
    Time for a clear out, if that means suffering independents for a while, so be it.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 5:46 AM

I will be asking my local TD for evidence from bar receipts that he wasn’t drinking and how he travelled to his bed that night.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:24 PM

Special nightclub license for the Dail on the way, to stay open late.

Mute Aileen Parnell
    Favourite Aileen Parnell
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:15 PM

I understand the need for somewhere to recreate but perhaps a cafe or restaurant would be more appropriate. I was once in the Dail bar and happened to see an important figure at the time, ridiculously drunk, sleazing all over a woman who was not his wife. It was shocking considering it was his work place whether he was on duty at the time or not.

Jul 13th 2013, 10:10 PM

They have made us a laughing stock internationally again.. Cheers lads

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:11 AM

I suspect most TDs who hang around that bar think they are in private session. Tom Barry to my mind is either 1. A consistent feeler of female parts or 2 a pissed up first timer. Either way an arse hole. His missus needs to fit him with an electronic arousal reporting system. As useless as my local first time TD it seems. FF have alot to answer for.

Mute anto Byrne
    Favourite anto Byrne
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:26 PM

Restrict the sale of alcohol and raise the price of pipe bombs

Mute Steve Hardy
    Favourite Steve Hardy
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:42 PM

I think the market should determine the price of pipe bombs, we need less government interference in our economy.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:18 AM

Stick a 200% tax on alcohol in LH and make the drunken yobbos at least pay back some of the dosh they take from the taxpayer.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:32 AM

IRA never used pipe bombs. That was your loyalist friends who are still rioting in the North who used pipe bombs because they didnt have the brains to make anything else

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:30 PM

You all know it’s a disgrace that in this time, with the country in this shape, that the legislators are getting pissed on duty and making a mockery of the government.
    “One or two” of your colleagues were a “bit wobbly”? Well man up and let us know which ones, so we can spank them at the ballot box, the fecking sots.
    I’m all for fun, but there is a time and a place, and the Dail in 2013 is not that time and not that place.
    Gerry, it’s not the defining issue, but it’s one long overdue for overhaul.

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:18 PM

Never mind restrict it. CLOSE IT.

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Favourite Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:12 PM

So in addition to incompetence, cronyism, and nepatists. Irish politicians are drunks too? Wonderful!

Mute Lorna Macgillivray
    Favourite Lorna Macgillivray
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:11 PM

Could the goverment disgrace Ireland anymore then it has. We are the laughing stock of Europe. Since when has it become an acceptable behaviour to drink while on duty?
    I am certainly angered that my future and tax money is in the hands of mind altered people.
    I would not have a job if I drank at work. I haven’t seen a policy from health and safety on how to drink and make competent decisions at work. Maybe someone wouldn’t mind posting a copy.
    Disgusted tax payer

Mute Keith Dickinson

Its a sad state of affairs that a man like Gery Adams is the only man talking sense in an irish parliament. Speaks volumes about the quality of Irish politicians!

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:36 PM

Most Gombeen Politicians are not fit to wipe the boots of Deputy Adams – a man of principle & conviction.

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:41 PM

Begrudgingly I concede he is a man of great principal. However he has a past that is difficult to excuse.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:44 PM

And what past is that?

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:59 PM

You’re joking right? If I am afraid I can’t help you. Perhaps you need a different forum.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:18 PM

What past Keith? What are you accusing him of?

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:34 PM

Oh… Have I offend some Republican sensitivity? O what a pity.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:40 AM

Still waiting for the details…..

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:55 AM

Werejammin, I think Keith is referring to the accusations that Gerry was a leader of the IRA and I think you know that. Personally, I’m willing to believe Deputy Adams when he says he wasn’t and I don’t think throwing around these accusations does anything for anyone, but don’t pretend that you don’t know what he’s referring to because we all do.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:40 AM

Accusing does not make something true.
    Proof is needed for that.
    Why acknowledge a rumour as fact?

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:53 AM

I agree with you, I’m not saying we should the rumours as fact. Werejammin’s questions seemed to suggest that he had never heard any allegations about Gerry Adams, which we both know everyone in the country has heard. As I previously said, I’m willing to take Adams’ word for it but no-one should act surprised that these allegations are still out there, it’s disingenuous.

Mute Gregory Fitzsimons
    Favourite Gregory Fitzsimons
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:50 PM

They must be locked out of their minds on the night of the bank guarantee, cheap beer for some, and we pay the price for the rest of our lives

Mute John Finnegan
    Favourite John Finnegan
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:24 PM

My memory is better than I thought. Anyone remember the swabs taken in toilets of Leinster house?? 2007 riddled with cokain. Happy daze!!

Mute James Troy
    Favourite James Troy
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:36 PM

Adams should have been restricted to the same laws as the people of Ireland a long time ago and he should also be restricted from the Dail.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:09 PM

What are you talking about?

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:13 PM

And interned without trial eh? You may want to consider looking up some of those “same laws as the people of Ireland”. We’re not yet a fascist state, some semblance of legality still exists. Sorry to burst your bubble.

Mute Mary O Gorman
    Favourite Mary O Gorman

Never a truer word said James Troy.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:22 PM

The implied notion in this comment is that Adams is somehow above the law, or the law turns a blind eye to any alleged criminality on the part of Gerry Adams.
    This would make 9/11 conspiracy theories look dated and boring!

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:16 AM

@ James Troy. Are we to believe you dont recognise the democratic right of the people of Louth.Was he not voted into the dail? A moronish statement

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:36 AM

So you are anti democratic too Mary?

Mute Ciaran McMahon
    Favourite Ciaran McMahon
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:57 PM

I have visited suppliers on the continent who have bars in their workplace for staff to have a beer with lunch. No problem to them. However, the Irish would not be trusted with this. Our attitude seems to be drink as much as you can, not as much as you need.

Mute Tatjana Kytmannow
    Favourite Tatjana Kytmannow
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:58 PM

I think the idea is that you have a drink after work and not instead of or during work.

Mute noel finnegan
    Favourite noel finnegan
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:22 PM

i once heard someone say Ireland’s alcohol problem is akin to china’s opium problem.

Mute Stephen Devine
    Favourite Stephen Devine
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:47 PM

His point is moot. It’s a private members club it observes the same laws as other establishments of the same type eg casinos or residents bars.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:20 PM

It’s not a private members club!
    Do they pay annual subscription fees?

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:20 PM

It’s also a place of work. No other job (wine-tasting aside) permits people to drink on the job.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:24 PM

Stephen, they barely pay their bar bills!

Mute Larry T Bird
    Favourite Larry T Bird
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:44 PM

And next week ‘Jurry’ O/C Dail Eireann Batt. will be proposing the good weather stays with us a few more weeks.

Mute Tara Moriarty
    Favourite Tara Moriarty
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:53 PM

It would be interesting to know if any SF TD’s were in the bar drinking. I agree there should be a coffee shop . How can we trust their judgement on anything if they have had alcohol ?

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:59 AM

I can assure you that there were no SF TDs in the bar at all.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:33 AM

And you are?

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:59 AM

What the hell do we have to do to rid ourselves of these “leaders” blatantly and constantly taking the absolute p!ss out of us?? I go to a pub for lunch every day but don’t have a pint because I STILL HAVE TO WORK! Mind you, i don’t have to make decisions for the whole country to live by. Sorry, lads, for burdening you with that task (although I didn’t vote for any of you). I’d like to say it won’t happen again but, with the whole “what choice do we have?” conundrum destined to keep us bouncing between FF and FG forever more because of people’s inability to move on from SF’s past, it probably will.
    You’ll keep getting away with it. Might as well keep drinking and laughing at us. I hope it causes at least one of you to choke though. Deplorable reprobates.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:22 PM

I don’t have much time for Gerreh (none at all in fact), but he’s right.

There are a number of bars in the House of Commons, and if they make tits of themselves over there, it certainly isn’t down to being in one’s “cups” like our crowd.

For that reason alone, because the facility is abused, it should be withdrawn.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:22 AM

So Gerry Adams makes a sensible comment yet most of the comments on this forum are about the ills of SF. We are getting away from the point that politicians are drunk while making decisions that effect us all. But the politicians dont need to worry because FF and FG have a lovely little merry go round of power because half the people criticising them here will go out and vote for them again

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:48 AM

They need to choose between the coors lite and the ballot box

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Jul 13th 2013, 6:38 PM

Leave the bar open. They probably make better decisions when they are pissed.

Mute Samantha Branagan
    Favourite Samantha Branagan
    Jul 13th 2013, 5:27 PM

*it would be!

Mute Ciara Sherlock
    Favourite Ciara Sherlock
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:22 PM

yes quite correct, but Gerry should also be encouraging democracy and given his own TDs a free vote in the abortion ‘vote’…which he didn’t. He told all his TDs they had to vote for abortion and follow party whip, one of his TDs voted against it…and he is out of the party for 6 months…lets start getting our priorities right in politics…

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:56 PM

I think that the decision to follow the party whip was arrived at by a vote of the party at the ard feis, was it not? The party membership made that vote, not Adams. Let’s start by getting our facts straight in politics.

Mute Ciara Sherlock
    Favourite Ciara Sherlock
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:40 PM

I didn’t see any major amount of Sinn Fein TDs asking for a free vote like in FG, bar the honourable Peadar Toibin…if these politicans really believed in true democracy for our country on a mater of this importance and sensitivity the free vote would have been asked for and allowed by the party…Micheal Martin allowed it in FF, why not Sinn Fein.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jul 14th 2013, 2:05 AM

Because our Party is ruled from the bottom up ie the Ard Fheis voted on this in Mayo, unlike FF who are ruled from the top down ie who has the most money has the most power!

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:36 AM

So in sf terms Tom Barry is yer man

Mute Michael Carroll
    Favourite Michael Carroll
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:10 PM

Gerry Adams has blown this out of all proportion.

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:21 PM

Within his earshot? So he’s saying that frontbench Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail deputies were drunk. Ghastly.
    They call that an opposition?

Mute Helen Kennerney
    Favourite Helen Kennerney
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:17 PM

We would all be fired if caught drinking on the job, yet the so called leaders (sic) are allowed !

Mute Darren Englishby
    Favourite Darren Englishby
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:57 PM

Can you tell me why this story was run twice in couple hours ? Is it because there wasn’t enough fighting and name calling , starting to think this journal.ie is just a slag fest as opposed to being a news journal and I base that on months of story’s that draw members of different party’s just slagging each other …. Sick of it .ie !!!!!!!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Jul 14th 2013, 6:45 AM

Yet you keep coming back…

Mute Roibeard Ò Riain
    Favourite Roibeard Ò Riain
    Jul 14th 2013, 4:24 AM

I rarely agree with Gerry but why is there a need for a bar in our decision making, government building. Please stop the madness. More beer=more taxes
    I give up!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:09 PM

When we need someone to take the high moral ground we will get someone qualified. No doubt he was cold stone sober when he made past decisions…

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:29 PM

Which decisions?

Mute Grainne T
    Favourite Grainne T
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:56 AM

The only way to stop it is to shut the bar, you’d never restrict, that’s just ridiculous.

Mute Vinny Doc
    Favourite Vinny Doc
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:53 AM

Just have random alcohol and drug tests like they do on the railways and mines in Australia. Drink twenty pints if want,fail the test though, lose the job and you’re not allowed to work in that sector again!Simples!

Mute Sluggermctugger
    Favourite Sluggermctugger
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:09 PM

Pint of Semtex please.

Mute JL Pagano
    Favourite JL Pagano
    Jul 13th 2013, 7:54 PM

Politician jumps on a wagon by trying to get politicians to fall off one.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jul 14th 2013, 5:15 AM

In fairness to Mr Adams, he runs the risk on a daily basis of being taken from behind by Mr Barry.

Mute o4kxpGx9
    Favourite o4kxpGx9
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:06 AM

Better if he and all the other poiticians restricted the banks, corruption and screwing the people of every cent they have

Mute El Nig
    Favourite El Nig
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:59 AM

Why is there a Dail bar ? I don’t have a tax payer subsidised bar where I work

Mute Aoife Carr
    Favourite Aoife Carr
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:42 AM

In any other job an employee who drank when at work would be at the least suspended and possibly dismissed!

Mute JH
    Favourite JH
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:14 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I once heard that Sinn Fein members are not allowed to consume alcohol. Is that true?

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:50 AM

They are allowed shots..

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jul 14th 2013, 2:01 AM

I hope not or else I will be expelled!

Mute Jonathan Lannon
    Favourite Jonathan Lannon
    Jul 14th 2013, 2:59 AM

I totally agree with him here. It should only be allowed trade alcohol under the same hours as any other bar. To think that they are under the influence of alcohol while debating any serious issue is ridiculous. Goes to show either we are that buggered they don’t care any more. Or they just never cared to start off with.

Mute leona mc cartan:)
    Favourite leona mc cartan:)
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:13 PM

Nothing would shock me…..Abortion doesn’t un-rape a person.no matter what stage the pregnancy is at its a life 2,4,12,20 weeks its a life at different stages,Ireland will regret what they have done!Abortion is MURDER end off

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:57 PM

Idiot!

Mute Daniel.
    Favourite Daniel.
    Jul 14th 2013, 10:38 AM

Fukc off you odd ball.

Mute Méalainí Drake
    Favourite Méalainí Drake
    Jul 13th 2013, 8:59 PM

Is there any chance we could rid ourselves of the second Gerry Adams diatribe today and laud our new Irish Champion. Or does this not merit anything?

Thank you!

Congratulations to Donna O’Mahony from Middleton TKD for winning Team Ireland’s first world championship gold medal of the tournament!

This happened today!

Mute Keith Dickinson
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:26 PM

As long as Irish politicians behave in this manner Jerry will never run out of ‘ammo’. Pardon the pun.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 13th 2013, 9:57 PM

Let’s laud the new irish champion in an article about the new Irish champion.

Mute Ben Leonard
    Favourite Ben Leonard
    Jul 14th 2013, 10:43 AM

Thanks people of louth. This guy Adams has a lot to contribute.

Mute Killian Murphy
    Favourite Killian Murphy
    Jul 14th 2013, 4:19 AM

How is it not a bigger issue that they were drinking while a law was being pasted!! In no other country would it be acceptable and it shouldn’t be here

Mute Michael Mc Gauley
    Favourite Michael Mc Gauley
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:15 PM

It’s a pity he just wouldn’t admit the truth.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:55 AM

@Michael McGauley…..and the truth is what you or Enda Kenny says it is?????

Mute Alan Carroll
    Favourite Alan Carroll
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:51 PM

The way I see it they can’t sort things out sober . Let them at it , sure a big punch up in the Dáil is what’s needed. It’ll show exactly what they are ,filthy , drunk, morons .

Mute Kieran Fagan
    Favourite Kieran Fagan
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:48 AM

Be OK to kneecap people after closing time, no doubt.

Mute Grainne T
    Favourite Grainne T
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:57 PM

Course he does…. Because that’s what he thinks everyone wants him to say!!! Once again spouting the ‘what everyone wants to hear’ as opposed to something that they can actually make happen! Are they going to employ someone to stand beside each TD counting the drinks they have? The obviousness of their tactics irritates me. And for the record I am not anti-SF I hate them all equally!

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:40 AM

So we cant do anything about it Grainne and therefore we should let it go????

Mute Grainne T
    Favourite Grainne T
    Jul 14th 2013, 8:53 AM

No, just suggest something realistic, like shutting the bar entirely, why do they need a bar anyway? What other office in the country has a bar? It’s not like it would be impossible for them to get to one after work. Suggesting restrictions is entirely unrealistic, who is going to monitor each ministers intake? And the barman will say what, “I’m sorry Taoiseach, you’ve had your 3 pints already’?? A licensed premises can only legally refuse alcohol to an intoxicated person, so there is no basis in law (or logic) for this idea. It’s just clamouring for the popularity with unattainable ideas

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jul 14th 2013, 9:24 AM

Grainne I agree with you on closing the bar but we wouldnt even be talking about this if Gerry Adams hadnt highlighted it. He doesnt have the power to shut the dail bar but he has the power to highlight drunken Fg ministers making crucial decisions.

Mute Jarlath Corrigan
    Favourite Jarlath Corrigan
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:35 PM

Only have to read a lot of the surnames to know the they are of West Brit origin!

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:58 PM

Most Irish people have some Norman or Anglo-Saxon blood, like a lot of British people have Irish blood. What does someone’s genetics have to do with who they are as a person.

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jul 13th 2013, 11:54 PM

That may have sounded a bit soppy but seriously, Margaret Thatcher had an Irish grandmother and she would never be considered Irish so why does it work in reverse?

Mute freo boy
    Favourite freo boy
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:50 AM

What about a pay cut ?

Mute Karen Forde
    Favourite Karen Forde
    Jul 14th 2013, 1:21 AM

Fair enough Gerry, but he might want to get the next enterprise heading to Belfast and sort out his own back yard before worrying about the Dail bar in the week that’s in it. (And I agree that it should refrain from selling alcohol in such circumstances)

Mute cheryl parsons
    Favourite cheryl parsons
    Jul 14th 2013, 7:15 AM

I assume all the TDs that had “one or two pints” got a taxi home at there own expense.

Mute Niamh Hickey
    Favourite Niamh Hickey
    Jul 14th 2013, 2:59 PM

I don’t always agree with Gerry, but when I do… It’s to stop people getting drunk in the workplace!
    Why are they allowed serve past normal hours? And while they’re in session?
    I could understand if a few members wanted to unwind together after a long day, away from the gen public, but lapgate was embarrassing and uncomfortable for everyone involved.

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:59 PM

Ah yes, the Irish politician, they love their luxuries, but Adams is correct but it should be closed altogether, why should their be a bar in the Dail, what possible benefit can it bring.

Mute Jarlath Corrigan
    Jul 13th 2013, 10:13 PM

This site is full of narrow minded free state tramps !

Mute Killjoy
    Favourite Killjoy
    Jul 14th 2013, 12:04 AM

What does Gerry Adams have to do with the treaty?

Mute Killian Lynch
    Favourite Killian Lynch
    Jul 14th 2013, 3:58 AM

Jarlath, the ‘Free Staters’ or ‘Blueshirts’ or whatever you want to call them could just as easily call you a dissident or a provo, so could we please stop throwing around decades old insults.

Mute Jarlath Corrigan
    Jul 15th 2013, 12:51 PM

I’m very proud of being an Irish republican , and if it wasn’t for an armed struggle you’s wouldn’t have a Dail to sit in , but you’s forget that ! Like it or not Sinn Fein are not going away !