This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 22 September, 2019
Advertisement

Google Maps knows where you've been and it's making it easier for you to check

But you can disable location tracking pretty easily if you want.

Image: Shutterstock/Ratchapoln

GOOGLE HAS UPDATED its locations feature, making it easier for users to see what locations they visited and the times they were there.

Timeline is essentially a revamped version of location history, making it easier for users to check and understand where they’ve been and the information Google has. The setting is rolling out to Android and desktop and appears to those who have location history activated.

In a blog post announcing the change, product manager Gerald Sanz said that timeline is only visible to the user and you can delete a full day or history if you want.

Your Timeline allows you to visualize your real-world routines, easily see the trips you’ve taken and get a glimpse of the places where you spend your time. And if you use Google Photos, we’ll show the photos you took when viewing a specific day, to help resurface your memories.

2015-07-15 13_47_42 Source: Google Latlong

While location history is used for a number of services like Google Now, chances are you might not like the idea of this. If you don’t, then there are ways to turn it off for both iOS and Android.

iOS

  • Go into settings > Privacy > Location Services.
  • Scroll down to Google Maps and turn off location tracking.

Android

  • Go into Settings > Location.
  • Scroll down to the bottom to Location History. Select it and you will have the option to turn it off.
  • If you want to go a step further, you can delete your location history at the bottom on the same screen.

If you want to remove your history on Google itself, go into My Account, click ‘Personal Info & History’ and scroll down until you see the Places You Go tab.

personal info and privacy Source: Google

Read: Lost in translation? This Irish language-tech startup is here to help >

Read: YouTube is addressing one of the biggest problems with mobile videos >

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Quinton O'Reilly

Read next:

COMMENTS (23)