You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Roderic O'Gorman (third from left) and other members of the Green Party pictured in Dublin today © RollingNews.ie

O'Gorman hits out at incoming government, says Green Party has 'good reason to be optimistic'

The Green leader said the general election was “hugely disappointing”, but his party will rebuild.

LAST UPDATE | 11 Jan

RODERIC O’GORMAN, THE Green Party’s leader and sole remaining TD, has said the general election was “hugely disappointing”, but the party will rebuild.

Speaking at the Greens’ annual conference in Dublin today, O’Gorman said the meeting provided an “opportunity to regroup, to reflect and to plan our next steps”.

November’s election was a massive blow for the Green Party. After winning 12 seats in the 2020 election, its best ever result, it only managed to keep one seat in 2024.

O’Gorman told delegates in Castleknock the Green Party had “a very successful period in government” but “despite what we’ve achieved, no one here this afternoon is under any illusion about the scale of the loss that we suffered in November”.

It was a very hard day for our party, and it was an incredibly difficult day personally for so many people here.

Despite the “challenge that lies ahead”, O’Gorman said the party also has “good reason to be optimistic”.

He encouraged members to vote for Green candidates in the upcoming Seanad election, namely Malcolm Noonan, Hazel Chu and Ossian Smyth.

In his speech, O’Gorman also sounded an alarm about the incoming government. He noted that, during the election campaign, he voiced his worries “about what a Fianna Fáil-Fine Gael government propped up by independents would look like in terms of policy”.

The Dublin West TD said, according to recent briefings in the media, the incoming government looks set to prioritise local road projects over “large public transport projects of national importance”.

He said Climate Action will likely be “watered down” if the incoming government is “instead focused on implementing a patchwork of local deals, rather than looking out for the national interest”.

‘We knew the risks’ 

Speaking to The Journal ahead of today’s conference, O’Gorman said party members are “extremely disappointed” with how the election turned out, but they are proud of what they achieved in government.

“People knew there was a risk going in [to government], and we’ve seen the consequences of that risk. I suppose people also see the fact that other centre-left parties have stepped away from talks.

“That was a point that we were making throughout, that the Greens are the party that is prepared to take the risk, to go into government, to deliver on these sort of policies,” he said. 

Yesterday, the Social Democrats, who have all but walked away from the prospect of entering into government, released a statement saying there must be no watering down of climate action ambitions in the new programme for government. 

What does O’Gorman make of such statements from the SocDems?

O’Gorman told The Journal ”the only place you can protect those sort of initiatives and indeed increase their ambition is in government”. 

“I have a real worry about what a government supported by Independents are going to do. I think we’ve already heard the kind of briefings about cutting the budget from big public transport projects and moving it over to localised roads projects.

“I have a real nervousness about what the next government are going to do,” he added.

The Green Party still has an important role to play in Irish politics, he said, adding: “We’re in the Dáil, we’ll hopefully be in the Seanad, and we have strong councillors around the country. 

“So, we have strong foundations and will rebuild the party from the ground up.

“We topped the poll in the locals across Dublin because people recognise the effectiveness of the Green Party at a local level. Someone will have to hold the next government to account on climate action and that someone is us.”

With reporting by Órla Ryan

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

162 Comments
    Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:44 AM

The risk of going into government? Both of the other parties held their vote while the greens were decimated, tax after tax for their policies. If their policies were strong enough and explained well enough they wouldnt need taxes to force people to get behind them

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:09 AM

@Paul Keenan: can’t think of even one tax they introduced during their term in gov.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:16 AM

@Paul Keenan: They’ll be fine if they can turn a punitive ‘do nothing’ ideology into actually building a sustainable future, but we need to build infrastructure and (imo) they are all incapable of doing so, Greens more than most, this will be a good period of reflection for them, I’m hoping they can untie their shoe laces and actually start to run the race.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:29 AM

@Paul Keenan: They were a small minority in the last govt. A fall guy for the other two….. Eamon Ryan didn’t help their cause with his limp performance as the transport minister

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:09 AM

@Dave G Doe: cool story bro

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:27 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: Aren’t you paying more for your drink bottles and cans especially if you can’t bring them back to get your refund?.They gave exemptions to airport shops and pubs who charge you the price plus the tax. You would have to bring the bottle or can with you on your flight then bring it back to Ireland to get your deposit back. So yes, the foc king green party did what they always did. Bring in taxes on things people use in order to make our lives as miserable as these little shits. Don’t forget about their carbon taxes on home heating fuels and car fuel costs. A truly disgusting party which hopefully we won’t see anywhere near government again.

Mute Sami Hentunen
    Favourite Sami Hentunen
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:46 AM

@Gerry Lamont: Say what you say but there are no more discarded cans and bottles littering our streets and parks. The same can also be said about lack of discarded bottlecaps as they are now attached.

The last time I took a plane somewhere I didn’t really think that the 15c personal loss made a big difference on spending. Just made sure the bottle was recycled at the destination.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:59 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: carbon, increased the levy on electric goods, increased nct, driving licence, need I go on, you muppet

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:02 PM

@Sami Hentunen: The scheme that gave total control to the Drinks Industry to enrich themselves even further. Ossian Smyth allowed the Drinks Industry design the scheme, form a Limited Company & make themselves Directors. The make up of this group is people who are already mega wealthy. There are no answers or Transparency around Renumeration & Bonuses or what’s happening to the unclaimed Millions of Euros, it’s a major scandal. Minister Ossian Smyth was so incompetent, he couldn’t answer questions put to him in the Dail on this on four occasions. These bottles were already been recycled in private bins & now the Carbon footprint of people going especially to centres to recycle bottles is contradictory. A scheme that made the Drinks Industry multi Millionaires.

Mute Paul Keenan
    Favourite Paul Keenan
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:08 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: you obviously have trouble thinking then

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:14 PM

@Paul Keenan: It was also convenient for FF & FG blame greens for taxes etc when they were happy to do them in the first place.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:49 PM

@K O: they didn’t introduce carbon taxes and those other things are not taxes

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:12 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec:
    Roderick O Gorman certainly didn’t help with his open invitation to the illegal immigrants of the world, but especially the Middle East & Africa,
    to come and be guaranteed their own front door key – something that thousands of Irish aspire to but cannot afford.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:21 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: He doesn’t have a clue what he’s at really …. Comical in the debates as well

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:36 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: funny how you claim that every time it’s pointed out to you, that while technically right, you tend to forget that they A) did not delay the increase to the carbon tax, B) argued for the excise duties on fuel to be returned to the pre cost of living crisis rates, and C) introduced the stealth tax that is the DRS scheme as more and more families have started putting the items back into their recycling bins as they do not have the space to keep them, despite the idiotic suggestion of putting them next to the full ones. You keep forgetting that despite it being pointed out constantly to you by myself and others.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:43 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick:
    Carbon Tax right in the middle of a cost of living crisis

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:45 PM

@Pat Barry: they did not introduce carbon taxes I asked what taxes they introduced. When carbon taxes go up during the next government’s term who will you blame then? And I just bring cans and bottles back and get my deposit back, simple really.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 2:56 PM

@Paul Keenan: The elephant in the room is Roderic O’Gorman and open borders!

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:00 PM

@Paul Keenan: “Tax after Tax”. OK, I’m asking, name 2 taxes introduced by them.

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:18 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: fake news, as debunked by the Journal. He wrote in other languages so the current asylum seekers could read them in their language. And I’m no fan of the greens at all but just pointing out that your narrative got rejected by the Irish public, Billy No Seats! Immigrant bashers go no seats

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:20 PM

@Brian Hunt: your open borders narrative got rejected by 100% of the Irish public, Billy No Seats, but repeat away

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:31 PM

@F1rYnpWc: Which party, apart from Aontu (2TDs) supports closing the borders?
    BTW, in the Constitution Amendments, 80% of the people rejected them, despite all the political parties recommending them.
    Politicians in Leinster House have formed a cartel!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:33 PM

@Sami Hentunen: that funny as i was at the store returning my bottles & cans only yesterday and the lady had 2 big bags & told me that her husband had picked them up on his walks so it certainly not true to say they are not being discarded,

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:40 PM

@Dave G Doe: That’s just you, a complete clown. Nothing wrong with telling you that. It was actually Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael that brought in carbon taxes and you voted for them, clown.

Mute Johnny Lee
    Favourite Johnny Lee
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:43 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: circular economy tax. That was an anti baby tax.

Mute Johnny Lee
    Favourite Johnny Lee
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:44 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: carbon tax.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:06 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: They but another 50 euro on a fill up of the home heating oil we use to keep our families warm in the winter. Which is 10 months of the year, here. That on average equates to over 100 euros a year.

Mute James Casey
    Favourite James Casey
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:36 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: fuel on home heat and transport petrol and diesel. Huge increases

Mute Emer McDonnell
    Favourite Emer McDonnell
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:49 PM

@Gerry Lamont: well said!

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:54 PM

@Brian Hunt: all your anti immigration parties want closed borders. They got 0%. Rejected 100% by the Irish public. While ‘open border’ parties got elected.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:59 PM

@Sami Hentunen: yeah because the country was covered with discarded bottles ….. would you ever catch yourself on

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:04 PM

@F1rYnpWc: I’d say you have the IQ of a tadpole, only I wouldn’t like to slander the tadpoles!

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:30 PM

@Me Me: The rush of people coming in to answer my simple question speaks volumes.

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:54 PM

@Brian Hunt: changing the subject Billy No Seats, with all of your 0% of support?

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:23 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: solid fuel taxes. Gas, petrol, diesel

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 12th 2025, 12:30 AM

@F1rYnpWc: Yawn…..Zzzzzzz

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:08 AM

Can someone of the 300 delegates ask him why so many children went missing out of state care on his watch,..one being found in a brothel in Limerick? And why he deleted reports he received about missing children??
    And someone PLEASE take the loonatic tweeter’s phone off him….his ‘guests’ are costing us €2 billion a year now!!!
    That’s all,, enjoy the tofu and oat milk ye eegits

Mute Colonel Gaddafi
    Favourite Colonel Gaddafi
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:26 AM

@Finn Barr: very big scandal what he did with the kids. Covered up

Mute Finn Barr
    Favourite Finn Barr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:52 AM

@Colonel Gaddafi: he got away with an awful lot of skulduggery,, cos he’s part of the ‘rainbow mafia’ …he was quizzed in the Dáil one day about extra funding he gave to lgbtqxyz groups.. and he got thick and said ‘ your only asking me that because of my sexuality choices’ and flounced off in a huff …proper drama (ahem) queen..

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:28 AM

@Finn Barr: Did you find the kid on your visit to the establishment in Limerick.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:26 AM

@Finn Barr: A cover up akin to what happened with the Grooming Gangs in the UK, can’t be investigated here by Media or Gardai in case we upset those like Roderic O Gorman.

Mute Dennis L
    Favourite Dennis L
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:36 AM

@SV3tN8M4: there was no cover up of grooming gangs. It was covered on the front page of the Times in the UK, and there were three or four prime time television shows about it, including Panorama.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:07 PM

@Dennis L: There are many proven historical cover ups of Grooming gangs, well covered by TV, perhaps you should speak to the victims in Oldham. Anyone excusing or trying to defend the sexual abuse of people is disgusting & very suspect.

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:51 PM

@SV3tN8M4: What percentage of grooming gangs in the UK are of native white individuals? your answer if any will be very interesting.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:53 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Yeah, like the Catholic Church here and people still vote for those that let it happen. There was already a report carried out into grooming in Britain, amazing how Musk and his army of clowns never came across that? Why didn’t the Tories do anything about that? You’re being used

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:17 PM

@Finn Barr: https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/national-news/1531255/thirty-four-children-are-currently-missing-from-state-care-tusla-report-reveals.html
    Ignotance, absolute and utter, I suppose you were one of thpse calling him a paedophile because he’s gay?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 3:17 PM

@Finn Barr: No Mates Woderic must be the most detested politician in Ireland, his open borders policy is an unmitigated disaster, Cromwell would be more popular than ROG!

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:04 PM

@Trump24: Are you just checking ahead?

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:12 PM

@Brian Hunt: ‘no mates Roderick’ and the detested greens got more in seats than all your closed border parties combined, Billy No Seats!

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:21 PM

@SV3tN8M4: maybe if there was proper investigative journalism, those guilty of the crimes of children going missing in care would result in a subsequent criminal investigation. We shouldn’t let this go, I expect if Rod had any part at all, he would have had more than enough time to destroy any documents relating to the matter.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:45 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Whataboutery!

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:10 PM

@Finn Barr: I didn’t regard the result for the Greens as disappointing. In fact , my only disappointment was the fact that they got one seat

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:12 PM

@Dennis L:
    Pi@@ off with your gaslighting, the political and media establishment ignored the grooming gangs for years until finally public opinion forced them to take action,and even that was too little too late!

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 12th 2025, 12:34 AM

@F1rYnpWc: Yawn….Zzzzzz

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:36 AM

Potentially did more damage to Ireland than the Brits. The long term consequences of his gimmigrants will be enormous.

Mute Dennis L
    Favourite Dennis L
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:38 AM

@Pork Hunt: wow. That’s some level of willful ignorance. The Brits murdered people. You had a slight increase in tax, and a massive decrease in up front public transport costs.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:12 PM

@Pork Hunt: Roderic O Gorman’s policies now costing us over €2 Billion annually. Public Services at the point of collapse, especially our Hospitals & GP services, all courtesy to ROG & the Greens. Add in the stealth taxes they placed on families, making the Cost of Living the second highest in Europe. Certainly did enormous damage to the country.

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:09 PM

@Pork Hunt: Billy No Seats your narrative was rejected by the Irish public where even the detested greens got more in seats than all your parties combined!

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:42 PM

@SV3tN8M4: What about your old buddies the Bertie Kissers who he was in Government with and you put them back again this time with their Proxies

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:09 PM

@Dennis L: Ashling Murphy! Ring any bells?

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:23 PM

@Dennis L: Aisling Murphy etc etc you one dimensional woke one trick nodding dog dung head

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:50 PM

@Tim Higgins: Josip Štrok, an immigrant, was murdered by a couple of Irish men. Motivated by their hatred of immigration.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:07 PM

@Pork Hunt: Of course he did more damage than the Brits. You can recover from what the Brits did to us, like we did. But you cannot recover from all the hostile cultures coming to our country that are now here permanently.

Mute djdonohoe2000@yahoo.co.uk
    Favourite djdonohoe2000@yahoo.co.uk
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:33 AM

Eamon ryan turned the whole country against the green party … jaysis lads in fairness there is saner people locked up

Mute REAL kevvy kerr
    Favourite REAL kevvy kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:39 AM

@djdonohoe2000@yahoo.co.uk: in fairness, he didn’t stand alone….very able ‘assistants’ alongside him, Catherine Martins disastrous handling of the RTE scandals/ fiascos comes to mind….. Lies and falsehoods over & over…….. The solution???- a 750€MILLION government guaranteed income stream

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:18 PM

@REAL kevvy kerr: Catherine Martyn sat on the whole RTE scandal for three months, then disappeared. No answers, no accountability, nobody held responsible, no NBCI raid, no Revenue investigation, nothing, into the lies & corporate fraudulent activity at RTE, the “public service broadcaster” & Catherine Martyn sat idly by. Instead she allowed them walk away with mega Exit Packages, Pension Payments & NDA’s & then on top of that rewarded the Lies & Corporate Mismanagement with the Licence Fees & a near Billion Euro bailout. Truly Incompetence at its very best from one of the most Incompetent Ministers ever

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:50 AM

How appropriate that they are holding there conference in the affluent suberb of Castleknock.They need to get down off their high horses and recognise that there are people living outside Dublin.Im sure they wont be too happy that Michael Healy Rae has been offered a junior ministry.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:54 AM

@Willie Marty: more millions 4 michaels refugees housing rent racket in kerry s

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:05 AM

@liam ward: Ah! those cute kerry hoors but at least we might get some badly needed infrastructure into rural Ireland for a change.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:21 AM

@Willie Marty: 65% of roads deaths in the countryside, it’s not because of bai racers OR drink driving, it’s because our road networks are thousands of years without change, all contemporary traffic on the same 5 foot roads along with Freight, Agri, walkers, cyclists, 80 year olds going for prescriptions, mad altogether.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:35 AM

@Willie Marty: Sums up how they viewed rural Ireland. Their base is Dublin, made up of ideologists who turn out to be Hypocrites. Castleknock, sums up the Greens

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:01 PM

@Dave G Doe: he ,much like yourself,is a complete feckwit

Mute Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Ollie Fitzpatrick
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:31 AM

He said that they knew that there would be consequences going into government, but they still ploughed on and we are suffering as a consequence. Fold the party up, they are never going to get into government again. People have been hurt too much.
    Forget it Rodders, the Greens are now in Fiddlers Green.

Mute REAL kevvy kerr
    Favourite REAL kevvy kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:33 AM

Might be no harm if they did a bit of RE- branding, be honest with the electorate…..how about the “TAX party”??

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 12th 2025, 12:40 AM

@REAL kevvy kerr: How about The Toxic Party?

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:59 AM

What’s the obsession with a party that got 1 seat

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:26 AM

@Dixie: advertising

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:04 PM

@Dixie: Journal was their main defender on MSM, many of the Contributors/ “journalists” on here were involved in promoting the Green party & actively involved.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 11th 2025, 4:57 PM

@SV3tN8M4: lol

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:41 AM

A lot of people are genuinely concerned about environmental issues, both national & global.
    The problem with green parties across Europe is that they bring all that other lefty woke nonsense with them, AND they veer into we know we’re right & that gives us the right to ignore everyone else territory. They oppose everything that makes our country prosperous, and their policies hit those on low incomes hardest. They appear to me & I’m sure many others as middle-class Marxists, using the global warming issue as a mask for a completely separate agenda.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:25 PM

@Gerry Kelly: They didn’t bring the people with them. They hate the Irish people & especially those in rural Ireland. Ciatan Ciffe wrote to financial institutions across Europe asking them not to lend to Irish Farmers. The Greens have more time for those arriving weekly in record numbers than for the Irish people. Rural Ireland wasn’t going to tolerate much more of the Green parties dictatorial policies, there would have been war.

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:53 AM

Eamon Ryan, worst leader the greens ever had, literally fell asleep on the job and was a walking contradiction in what he preached and then did himself. Roddy O;Gormless……well enough said about him as minister and the damage he caused and the carnage left after his time in government, and then lastely we have Catherine Martin I mean RTE’s very own santa claus who literally approved a 700 million bailout for the state broadcaster without any real terms and conditions, and hadnt the guts to push to have that likes of dee forbes dragged in for a chat despite her sick note. And thats before you go onto the greens going to war with car owners and rural Ireland in general. And yet their posh toff support wonder why nobody likes them

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:53 AM

@Patrick Newell: Eamon Ryan, cost us the Taxpayer a fortune. Surrounded himself with over 10 Special Advisors, 10 ! It was an insult to Taxpayers & an embarrassment worldwide, to watch this guy fall asleep at a sitting of Dail Eirinn, it showed his contempt for the people. Despite his 10 Special Advisors, his Department was the worst performing of all Govt Depts & we lost our on funding from the EU, because his Dept failed to furnish certain applications on time. He wasn’t fit for public office & his incompetence was breath taking. His purchase of EV Buses & them sitting parked for over a year because of no charging points, same with Generators. His role around Data Centres needs a Tribunal investigation, re the pressure on the National Grid & our Emissions Targets blown out the window.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:50 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Aided and Abetted by your buddies the Bertie Kissers

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:49 AM

You’d have to be some saddo to be at that

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:54 AM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: Is Peter Tatchell attending.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:41 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Probably, with the missing children!

Mute tiobraiddroicead
    Favourite tiobraiddroicead
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:20 AM

How can he justify sending out those tweets in what was it, 8 different languages to come to treasure Island??… And gets voted back in? He should go back to where he got his education and ask for a refund.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:58 PM

@tiobraiddroicead: Do you live in this state? Forget about Social Welfare, it’s hard enough to work and live here but you blame asylum seekers, truly tragic, like the Irish who fled from here and were met with the same ignorance. I’d love to see a report on asylum seekers working here, despote it being extremely difficult and let’s go back to how they were treated during Covid, ring up sick and don’t come back which saw clusters developing in meat factories etc and yet they don’t work? Get a clue and stop being used to oeddle rubbish.

Mute tiobraiddroicead
    Favourite tiobraiddroicead
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:36 PM

@Brian D’Arcy:
    Ah that old chestnut, the Irish went everywhere, they did, and what was handed to them when they landed on foreign shores? No handouts. Take your head out of the sand and wake up.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:38 PM

@tiobraiddroicead: He was educated at the Josef Goebbels Academy of Journalism!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:47 PM

@Brian Hunt: lol are you seriously suggesting that thousands of Irish didn’t land in the UK and immediately claim dole and housing benefit?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:45 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Where did I say that? don’t put words in my mouth!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:31 PM

@Brian Hunt: now now Brian, you intimated it. It’s quite clear from the thread. It’s a common comparison made by the anti immigrant crowd, of which you are one: immigrants here get handouts, Irish emigrants never did – it’s BS

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:11 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: asylum seekers don’t work in meat factories,shows how you think when everyone that isn’t Irish is a “asylum seeker”
    Dope

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:14 PM

@Kevin Kerr: You assume a lot and then present it as evidence. You are very manipulative, deceptive and dishonest, but then, you’re paid to be!

Mute Michael Curtin
    Favourite Michael Curtin
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:52 AM

The one man party identifies as ‘they’.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:26 AM

@Michael Curtin: He thrives on that, every time there was justified criticism of him, he played the sexuality card. Nobody cared what his orientation was, it was his performance not his orientation that was the problem, but it was a very effective way of shutting down debate or any investigation of him. I have no doubt that this forum on the Greens will be shut down by the Journal Greens very soon. There can’t be any accountability of their actions in the Media, but the People, the Electorate made them accountable for their abandonment of the Irish People

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 12:59 PM

@SV3tN8M4: No he didn’t. I amn’t a fan of the Greens, do you not remember that he was called a paedophile because he was gay? Ignorance knows no bounds.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 4:09 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: John won’t reply to you. He has posted at least a dozen comments on this article that are littered with misinformation. I’ve given up challenging him

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:36 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I think that was about his friendship with Peter Tatchel!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:45 PM

@Brian Hunt: More fake news from you, Brian. He is not friends with Thatchell, but was photographed with him at Pride in 2018

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:25 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: is he a pedophile tho?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:09 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Only your word for that Kevin!

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:28 AM

Donkeys the lot of them

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:55 AM

@Martin Ridge: Hey hey now thats not on, I have seen some disgraceful language and comments on here, but enough is enough

How dare you compare those loveable and smart creatures of donkeys to the bloody green party. If donkeys formed a party they would likely get more seats than the greens

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:23 AM

If the Russians or Chinese or even the Yanks wanted to sabotage a country’s economy, what better way to do it than set up a Green Party in the target country? No need for any blood to be spilled and the country would be crippled within a generation of the Greens getting into power from all the rules & regulations and uncompetitiveness on the global market.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:19 AM

@Staker Wallace: Roderic O Gorman has been responsible for destroying Tourism along the Western Seaboard in just 2 years, a lifeline & income for many families that depended on it, in often disadvantaged areas, a business that took decades to build its reputation wiped out overnight. Instead he dumped Thousands of Immigrants, most who destroyed their documentation on arrival here, dumped overnight on rural communities, often doubling their population overnight, without providing any extra services for those Communities, just empty promises & lies about consultation. He has caused massive division & destroyed social cohesion in many Communities & yes he is a dangerous character to foist on any country.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:07 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Completely untrue, try the cost of everything which was reduced for tourists, so ok for us mere mortals to pay exorbitant prices but not tourists? Yet another redundant point by you, the Greens most certainly didn’t crush anything. Sure now you can blame ‘independents’ for what Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael do.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:36 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: U must be one of them so If u believe O’Gorman was not responsible for any taxes or anything else u are deluded

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:48 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: you are deluded. The immigration policy has made millionaires out of hoteliers and some politicians but treating gimmigrants better than.our.own by providing so much for them at tax payers expense

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:07 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: it was the greens idea to make desiel the same price as petrol,this has caused the cost of living crisis, everything you buy has been delivered by a truck ,put the haulage prices up then ALL prices go up

Mute Paul H
    Favourite Paul H
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:29 AM

Will this crowd just give up already every choice they made was incorrect.

Mute Dave Callaghan
    Favourite Dave Callaghan
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:48 AM

Awwwww poor Woderic in the Dail………”I’m so ronery”

https://youtu.be/UEaKX9YYHiQ

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:08 PM

@Dave Callaghan: Yet more ignorance

Mute D White
    Favourite D White
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:39 AM

I hope this cult never returns.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:54 AM

Like all greens they have a short shelf life, especially the organic produce. They have withered before our eyes.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:21 AM

@JP: Pippa Hackett not even elected by the people, appointed as a Super Junior Minister, destroyed the Forestry Industry & Horticultural Industry, disastrous appointment, but walks away with a Ministry pension pot, leaving the mess behind.

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:02 AM

There were lots of things the green party could have done to improve our environment without it costing anyone a cent but they had no interest in anything that didn’t rake in the taxes and they were not alone as there buddies in fffg were only to happy to go along. A real green party needs yo have a say in the changes we need but these fools are definitely not it.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:33 AM

@Gavin Smartr: Spot on assessment. The Irish people love Nature & Diversity & are well aware of Climate change & are really positive participants around Recycling. The Greens had a great opportunity to bring people with them, but they did the opposite, instead of offering incentives they penalized people & the whole Retrofit debacle was not accessible for working families. Instead they heaped massive increases on the Cost of Living on Working Families. They lost the people from Day 1, concentrating on Woke issues & Immigration, instead of the bread & butter issues affecting every day Working People.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:57 AM

Their meeting today? We’ll an old phone box will come in handy for the meeting

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:52 PM

Proposing July 12th as a national holiday for the Orange marches here capped it all!

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:24 PM

@John Nolan: once you begin to tolerate it you have started to lose.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:56 AM

They are utterly inept.
    Even friends of the earth said so.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:28 AM

Remember this
    https://youtu.be/Wld8KjxBAI8?feature=shared

My good God.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:04 PM

@Dan Murphy: Ha ha, a libretarian ha ha. Yes, you cannot go in and shoot up a school but I guess that is undemocratic? New World Order, that old chestnut, boring and yet you support a billiknaire in Trump to fight on your behalf, the irony.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:45 PM

All the dangerous immigrants that rodders attracted will fester for generations. Muslims want a Sharia state wherever they go they don’t integrate

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:32 PM

@Pork Hunt: Have you offered a welcoming hand?

Mute John Reynolds
    Favourite John Reynolds
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:14 PM

Hopefully rebuilding the green party means he loses his seat next time along with any councillors and senators they have

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Jan 11th 2025, 1:41 PM

I wish they would just acknowledge they got it wrong !
    Policies were sound but implementation was dreadful
    Adding more tax in a cost of living crisis showed that the party were either inept or just didnt care about ordinary people
    Ryan was a disaster His lack of empathy perceived or otherwise added to the Greens woes
    Oh BTW The greens aren’t a Center left party a bit like Labour

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:46 PM

People just want to raise thier children and live a life best they can, ireland rejected the ultra progressive greens can use not just leave it there lads, we got got sick of tax after tax after tax, tax china and India on their products to generate your green tax leave us be we barly scratch the climate surface individually again ireland and let’s face it the world now really is rejecting ultra progressive green agenda political wise, people are doing their bit we drive cleaner engines cleaner diesel and petrol admission we put the green bin out every two weeks we don’t throw batteries into rivers we recycle them we don’t have fires in our new homes, we have played and keep playing our part go away no one ever wants to be taxed to near starvation again

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jan 11th 2025, 2:19 PM

I had to google the murder of Kriss Donald, the 15 year old whose fate was singled out by Musk during the interview with the AfD and whose killing the former FM of Scotland said was only brought up to inflame tensions. Actually, of you read it is shocking what government and the legal establishment will do.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:40 PM

The Green Party is a prime example of how theft is dressed up as virtue. They champion policies that rob the hardworking public under the banner of saving the planet, yet their solutions are little more than economic scams. Carbon tax hikes, inflated energy bills, and punitive measures on agriculture – these are not environmental initiatives, they are tools of coercion. Then to add insult to injury, they give wasteful taxpayer subsidies to certain sectors, pretending it’s some grand favor. These are nothing more than bribes, designed to make people complicit in their own financial ruin. Not to mention the fact that O’Gorman kept inviting illegal immigrants to come to Ireland and claim a free house, free healthcare and free dental care with his official statements and open borders policy.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:45 PM

@William Jennings: Bullsht! As are most of the comments.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 11th 2025, 11:40 PM

@Chutes: You haven’t provided any sort of coherent response to the points that I made. Is that because you know I’m right?

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:44 PM

Sapirse Mc Hugh, who ran for the Greens and left them warned, warned about their lack of socio-economic awareness, they ignored her warnings abd niw they have one seat. A Green Party for the rich was never going to work.

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:02 PM

Deluded folk. I watched that wagon Pauline O Reilly eith her mad eyes…a fanatic if ever there was one. She has denied the people of Galway traffic relief with her relentless opposition to the Galway ring road.
    To piss her off I propose a Goldrn Gste style bridge linking connemara to north clare.

Mute DavyDoDa
    Favourite DavyDoDa
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:51 PM

Was all down to their leader in my opinion. A complete tulip. Falling asleep in the dail on numerous occasions was the last straw for me.

Mute Michael Cooney
    Favourite Michael Cooney
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:02 PM

Should be in jail for treason

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Jan 11th 2025, 9:09 PM

Maybe instead of running endless puff pieces for this individual the media might do their job and press him about the blatant lies he told in the run up to last years referendum defeats! Also his repeated lies claiming his department didn’t send out invitations to Ireland in multiple languages promising ‘own door accommodation’. Why does our useless, cowardly media continue to give this spoofer an easy ride!

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:17 PM

@Jonn: Glad I’m not the only one that realises the media in this is an utter joke and a complete waste of space.

Mute Jonn
    Favourite Jonn
    Jan 12th 2025, 8:07 AM

Useless, the whole lot of them..you get ahead in Irish media by having the same set of approved opinions on every subject as everybody else! You’d wonder why they even bother because all they get is dogs abuse for their lies and seemingly the money isn’t even that good anymore, unless you’re in the marble hallways of RTE!

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:29 PM

Him and his co##upt party are beneath contemt

Mute William mc cabe
    Favourite William mc cabe
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:48 PM

What a load of bull even one is one too much

Mute JS Stanford
    Favourite JS Stanford
    Jan 11th 2025, 10:36 PM

My my the poor man is delusional

Mute Harry Callahan
    Favourite Harry Callahan
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:47 PM

Delusional as always….

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:38 PM

Delusional

Mute Canon
    Favourite Canon
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:29 PM

Soare a thought for poor Crocodiles, they also have to live in De Nile.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jan 11th 2025, 5:39 PM

Huge amounts of deliberate mis-information in here!

Mute James Casey
    Favourite James Casey
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:36 PM

@Chutes: nonsense there’s not

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 11th 2025, 7:27 PM

@James Casey: yes there is

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Jan 11th 2025, 6:04 PM

I don’t know what that guy is smoking, but it just better be smokeless lol.

Mute barry lyons
    Favourite barry lyons
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:31 AM

There are politicians who are bad for Ireland and it’s people.. Then there is Roderic who is in a class of his own . Is mission was not to look after the people of Ireland but to encourage every Tom dick and Harry to arrive here . He is probably the most unliked and worse politician that Ireland has ever had. The Green Party care nothing for Ireland and its environment. Dublin bay is still as polluted as ever..we import peat and turf from Germany and Holland . 70% of our veg comes from the UK including the so called Irish staple, the potato.
    The greens gave us woke..

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Jan 12th 2025, 12:11 AM

You on drugs Roddy?

Mute DC
    Favourite DC
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:10 AM

Same fella invites the dregs of every country in the world to come and take the social houses , social welfare and children allowance and ruined this country for ever , good riddance to the greens c un ts

Mute gregory pym
    Favourite gregory pym
    Jan 12th 2025, 11:55 AM

O’Gormless should seek help. His time in office has left him deluded.

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Jan 11th 2025, 8:44 PM

I’d like to see what they are going to do about this;

https://greenlens.ie/2025/01/10/industrial-farming-an-environmental-crisis-in-ireland/