You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GSOC offices in Dublin Niall Carson/PA Archive/PA Images

Gsoc access to journalists' phone records 'really worrying'

The NUJ is seeking to meet the watchdog over its accessing of private data.

THE NATIONAL UNION of Journalists (NUJ) has expressed concern over the accessing of journalists’ mobile phone records during a criminal inquiry into a third party.

The Irish Times reported today that Garda watchdog Gsoc studied the records of two journalists as part of an investigation into the leaking of information to the media.

The paper said the oversight body launched the inquiry after a friend of deceased model Katy French lodged a complaint about coverage of her death.

NUJ secretary Séamus Dooley told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that the union is seeking to meet Gsoc over the issue.

“What is unusual about this power is that the journalist is not told in advance and that is a major concern that we would have,” he said.

There is a veil of secrecy about this. I’ve been contacted by a number of journalists who have raised concerns about this.
Gsoc have not made any comment. I will be looking for a meeting with [them].

Granted new powers

Dooley added that the case could lead to people thinking twice about talking to journalists.

He said “the accessing of the data of journalists is something which should only happen in extreme circumstances” and that Gsoc should have to prove their case.

“The notion that, without any access to a court or justifying it, Gsoc can go in secretly without the knowledge of the journalist concerned and get this information is really worrying,” he added.

The watchdog was granted powers last year to access journalists’ record, if required, during serious investigations.

Gsoc contacted at least three gardaí last year to inform them that a study of phone records had shown they were in contact with the reporters, according to The Irish Times.

French, a 24-year-old model, passed away in 2007 after collapsing at a friend’s house four days earlier.

A postmortem examination found traces of cocaine in her body.

Gsoc  said it had no comment to make.

Additional reporting by Daragh Brophy

Read: Gardaí accuse senior management of bullying members

Read: State surveillance: How Gardaí and others can secretly monitor you

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:42 PM

They should need a warrant for this. It’s ridiculous that if a Garda officer searches xyz without a warrant and a citizen complains, they’d, ironically, probably be hauled before GSOC and disciplined, but GSOC themselves can do it no problem? Just because you work for a watchdog does not mean you are incorruptible and will never abuse your powers. They should be subject to the exact same safeguards as everyone else.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:45 PM

Your right . But who watches the watchers More watchers????

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:46 PM

Il do.it…

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 14th 2016, 1:05 PM

If they get a warrant a judge watches them…it’s not complicated. If the request is out of order he/she says “no, you can’t have a warrant”, end of story.

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan
    Jan 14th 2016, 1:43 PM

Ryan, I believe GSOC does have to apply for a warrant the same way.

The Garda Síochána (Amendment) Act 2015 amended 2 existing pieces of legislation to this effect, putting GSOC in the same position as the Garda Síochána to make an application for authorisation to intercept communications. In effect, GSOC was plugged into the existing legal framework for interception and its (limited) safeguards.

Meanwhile, it’s a bit strange for the Secretary of the NUJ to tell Morning Ireland “What is unusual about this power is that the journalist is not told in advance and that is a major concern that we would have”.
    As he must well know, it’s not at all unusual for the target of authorised surveillance not to be told in advance. That’s how it’s always worked.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 4:28 PM

Makes you wonder how many things happen ‘coincidentally’; ie listening to phonecalls illegally, setting up a convenient circumstance, and no one ever finding out about it!

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:19 PM

Big Brother eh!!!

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:30 PM

Big fu(king eejits more like.

Mute Scobee Gough
    Favourite Scobee Gough
    Jan 14th 2016, 3:55 PM

This GSOC crowd are turning into some bunch of Cowboys, they need to be taken to task with all this underhand carry on

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Jan 14th 2016, 4:26 PM

Another one of Fanny Fitzy’s quiet tuesday tweaks to the law. Everything about GSOC is concerning.

Mute John Ford
    Favourite John Ford
    Jan 14th 2016, 2:40 PM

A corrupt unsupervised authoritarian police force.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:11 PM

Who? GSOC? They aren’t a police force? You commenting on wrong article?

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Jan 14th 2016, 4:39 PM

A hunt on whistle-blowers, by those who regulate the police force. .. Loving this new Ireland.. Not

Mute Warai Aoi
    Favourite Warai Aoi
    Jan 14th 2016, 5:30 PM

Allegedly regulate the police, they have successfully prosecuted less criminals within the force each year then when the guards investigated themselves, an incompetent group, set up to fail, that neither the guards or complainants have confidence in.
    GSOC can’t (and more then likely won’t) do its job, the inspectorate is ignored and senior management remains a mass of political appointees.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 14th 2016, 3:07 PM

Somebody must have the power to tract terrorists and other criminals. They should be able to view emails and phone records of SF/IRA plus Bertie and friends. These economic terrorists were responsible for more deaths from suicide of ordinary decent people than Armed terrorists in the last decade in Ireland. We need whistleblowers who were lobbyists to let people know how all the Brown Envelopes were delivered, what was the purpose, and by whom. Just start at the local councillors.

Mute Paul Fanshawe
    Favourite Paul Fanshawe
    Jan 14th 2016, 4:44 PM

Great to see the NUJs wings clipped at last. Too long a law unto themselves.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Jan 14th 2016, 1:00 PM

who will watch you Mark.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jan 14th 2016, 1:27 PM

I will

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jan 14th 2016, 1:29 PM

And you can watch me watching Mark and

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jan 14th 2016, 10:04 PM

funnily enough it was leaked to a journalist by whom no one knows as there was no evidence of a crime or don’t you remember!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jan 14th 2016, 10:05 PM

^ for Dario fo, down below!