You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gareth Chaney/Photocall Ireland

Halve the size of the Dáil, says Bertie Ahern

The former taoiseach says the Dáil should be composed of 70 to 80 TDs, elected from single seat-constituencies.

FORMER TAOISEACH Bertie Ahern has called for an unprecedented cut in the size of the Dáíl – suggesting that Ireland could make do with as few as 70 TDs.

Ahern has also spoken out in favour of reforming the electoral system so that each Dáil constituency only has one TD.

Interviewed for a study commissioned by the Houses of the Oireachtas, Ahern argued that the abolition of the dual mandate – where TDs were no longer allowed to hold seats on local councils – had freed up time time for most TDs.

He also argued that most of a TD’s time, irrespective of that, was tied up in dealing with state agencies which were not well suited at interacting directly with the public.

“Dealing with various State agencies is a large part of a TD’s constituency work and if those agencies were more accessible and more approachable, people wouldn’t feel the need to have a TD or a Councillor speak ontheir behalf,” Ahern told the study.

The former taoiseach – who led the government between 1997 and 2008 – said a TD’s workload could be mitigated by having a support staff of five people, one of whom could be solely tasked with scrutinising legislation.

The document, compiled by solicitor Dr Brian Hunt in his capacity as the first Parliamentary Fellow at the Houses of the Oireachtas, was compiled in 2010 but formally released by the Oireachtas to the public this week.

Hunt noted that the reduction in the number of TDs would hamper the work of Oireachtas committees, which in turn would mean the quality of legislation would ultimately suffer.

Guillotines

Elsewhere in the document, Ahern says the use of parliamentary ‘guillotines’ – where the time allocated for a debate is deliberately limited – so that legislation could be passed wholesale without the possibility of vital amendments being defeated by the opposition.

“In an ideal world it would be better if we didn’t have the guillotine. It’s not good that sections of legislation are not reached during a debate, it’s clearly not agood process,” the former Fianna Fáil leader said.

He also argues that the nature of government means that while backbenchers are more likely to raise concerns directly with a minister, opposition TDs will raise them in the Dáil – consuming time “which could otherwise be used for scrutinising legislation.”

While he does not outwardly call for the Seanad to be abolished, he does suggest that the method of electing Senators should be amended.

“Major reforms such as the reduction in the number of TDs has not happened because to achieve it you need cross party consensus and that just is not forthcoming,” Ahern said.

The current government has asked the Constituency Commission to reduce the number of TDs elected, and is expected to present proposals in the coming months which will reduce the number of TDs from 166 to between 153 and 160.

Dáil sittings on a Friday are ‘a slap in the face of reform’ – Fianna Fail TD

‘Swords question’ dominates submissions on Dáil boundary changes

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute D Burns
    Favourite D Burns
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:14 PM

3 words: Fuck You Bertie!

Mute Corné van Rensburg
    Favourite Corné van Rensburg
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:26 PM

ditto!

Mute Bob Coggins
    Favourite Bob Coggins
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:54 PM

Or maybe the same amount on half the salaries?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Feb 11th 2012, 7:14 PM

I agree with Bertie. Halve the size of the Dáil…..get rid of the top half, or even just their heads.

Mute HELLO SPRUIKER
    Favourite HELLO SPRUIKER
    Feb 11th 2012, 9:58 PM

What the logic in that Bertie ”Pol Pot” Ahern ?

You have nearly halved the size of Ireland’s population, so now you think the government should be halved??

Mute HELLO SPRUIKER
    Favourite HELLO SPRUIKER
    Feb 11th 2012, 10:14 PM

Pardon
    Misprint

Whats the logic…..

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:15 PM

Because of Bertie Ahern, Ireland can’t get by!

Mute David Harkin
    Favourite David Harkin
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:16 PM

Bertie wasn’t saying that back in the day. It’s time he just disappeared and let us get on with coping with the mess him and his cronies created.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:00 PM

Does bertie’s suggestion come with his pledge to give up half of all his pensions ??
    No! Didn’t think so .
    Bertie , as my now deceased Dad would say ”Buzz Off”!

Mute Gerard Murphy
    Favourite Gerard Murphy
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:27 PM

Bertie, sure, thanks, that’s a great idea.

Now, would you ever please f**k off and hide under a rock for the rest of your existence?

Your policies and personal incompetence have bankrupted this country. All at the cost of buying elections so you could stay in power as long as possible.

God help you if I ever meet you in person.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:09 PM

How come this gobshite is actually still allowed to talk in public?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:43 PM

Welcome back my lefty friend.

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:48 PM

No mention of a cut to ministerial pensions Bertie no. Should be hung in public for economic treason. Swine.

Mute corky2004
    Favourite corky2004
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:40 PM

Back into your box Bertie you little sh?t

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Feb 11th 2012, 9:32 PM

Bertie prefers the cupboard …

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:10 PM

Wind your neck back in Ahern, you treasonous rat!
    The only opinion he should be asked for is his preference for bread or water!

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:17 PM

Now that Bertie has suggested that I suspect it means bigger brown envelopes for a select few.
    I suggest that a ban be placed on Bertie opening his mouth – stitch it closed.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:04 PM

Amen to that -

Mute Kieran Gallagher
    Favourite Kieran Gallagher
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:30 PM

Now if only he had said half my pension

Mute Laura Crowe
    Favourite Laura Crowe
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:00 PM

There should be a plus 5 thumbs option for this one

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:31 PM

So Bertie wants us to double the amount of seats in the Dáil!!! Because any advice that deluded fool says Ireland would do the opposite. Go to hell bertie ahern. You should be speaking from a prison cell!

Mute DubInNaas
    Favourite DubInNaas
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:20 PM

Yes Bertie the clown, and you worked for *years* to bring in those changes in your time running the country, sorry ‘ruining’ the country !!!!!!

Just leave quietly before someone takes a cattle-prod to you. No one is interested in your opinion

Mute Matt Crosbie
    Favourite Matt Crosbie
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:34 PM

With all due respect, f**k off, Bertie

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:50 PM

should be with no respect Matt!

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:16 PM

Agree on lower numbers, disagree on single seats because they don’t reflect party support. Interesting to hear Bertie support them considering FF would have gotten only one or two seats under that system last year.

Bit late to be complaining about using the guillotine Bertie!!

Mute Barry Aston
    Favourite Barry Aston
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:39 PM

Take a hint and JOG ON bertie. You are in no way needed. You will be remembered for corruption and the 20 year set back YOU caused.

Mute Oliver Brennan
    Favourite Oliver Brennan
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:48 PM

I’m sure Bertie could get by with half is current pension. :)

Mute Sheila Murphy
    Favourite Sheila Murphy
    Feb 12th 2012, 1:23 PM

i;m sure he could get by without any pension; after all he has fierce luck on the GGs and also charges something like €40,000 to give speeches worldwide telling anyone who’ll pay how / how not to run a country………..

we’re borrowing (at interest) to pay his pension …………… I think that anyone who gets a pension from the public purse and is under 65yr old should have the excess above the average ind wage (i.e 28k currently) levied at 85%.
    The excess for those over 65 should be levied at 50%.

Mute Michael Manson
    Favourite Michael Manson
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:58 PM

Bertie Ahern is like this nuisance weed cropping up again and again.
    He has an unbelievable cheek of making comments of this nature.
    Politicians in other countries have faced wartime tribunals.
    Bertie has utterly destroyed an economy which could have flourished for many years to come if it had not been for his Incompetence and inflated ego.
    He should be investigated for treason.

Mute Dermot Purcell
    Favourite Dermot Purcell
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:56 PM

spot on michael but this is Ireland nobody gets investigated here to many big boys would bite the dust

Mute Glyn Carragher
    Favourite Glyn Carragher
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:32 PM

Mmm yes a reduction in Dail numbers would be a good idea and I could think of a few places to start. Another good idea would be to round up all the former corrupt politicians and prosecute them for the damage they have done ….what do you think Bertie?

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:12 PM

The only thing id like to see in half is you bertie,your dirt..

Mute John Wooldridge
    Favourite John Wooldridge
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:21 PM

I agree with Ahern on this point, we do have far too many TD’s. On the other hand why is Ahern still out on the streets? He should be locked away for corruption and what he and his government did to the country.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:38 PM

Dail seats do need to be reduced and the pay of the lackwits that occupy them. Bertie had 14 years to impliment such changes so offering his ‘venerable wisdom’ at this stage is a worthless exercise. I imagine everytime he opens his mouth poor FF lose another few hundered would be supporters. Go away Bertie and allow us the people to deal with the economic carnage you created.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:28 PM

The way it’s heading 5 or 6 people from Frankfurt will be running the show so real need for 100 plus useless Val Falvey types

Mute Lelookcoco
    Favourite Lelookcoco
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:59 PM

By kicking out Fianna Fail. Oh wait that would only be a quarter…

Mute Noel Madden
    Favourite Noel Madden
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:42 PM

I dislike Bertie for what he has done but if you take him out of the article and focus on what is suggested, I have to agree with halving the dail. It is grossly oversized for a country of 4 million. We are paying these politicians too much, so why pay twice as many as we really need. While we are at it, let’s get rid of the Seanad which is an undemocratic concept anyway. Is it any wonder the Europeans have no sympathy for us, as we have some of the most highly paid politicians in Europe, a high threshold for corruption, an oversized governmental system and a public sector that is highly inefficient?

Unfortunately none of this suggested reform will happen, at least not true reform as reducing from 166 to 153 or 160 is a joke.

[Rant over]

Mute Eddie Walsh
    Favourite Eddie Walsh
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:03 PM

Noel,
    The whole country knows what needs to be done..
    We only have the population of a lot of cities around the World..
    We don’t need have half of the idiots but we certainly don’t need the likes of Bertie Ahern making comments like that and him with his feathered nest from been the ring leader for creating the situation,..

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:13 PM

Spot on Eddie, Let him advise us from the gallows, might listen to what he has to say if they’re his last words.
    …then again, maybe not.

Mute sean finn
    Favourite sean finn
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:57 PM

he’d ten yrs to do it

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 12th 2012, 1:43 AM

14 actually….well Fianna Failed did anyway….

Mute Pilib O Muiregan
    Favourite Pilib O Muiregan
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:31 PM

I think its laughable the man is always goin to have his opinion, and in this case i agree with his opinion. Lower the number of TDs and change how the seanad is chosen. Just because you don’t like the person you can still agree with his ideas.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:22 PM

I actually think that’s a great idea….good man bertie

Mute Tim Henchin
    Favourite Tim Henchin
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:35 PM

Prov 12:15
    The way of a fool is right in his own eyes.

Bertie is probably the lowest piece of shit that God ever cursed this country with and the thieves and gangsters in his party that backed him are no better.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:38 PM

It’s a good idea, TD’s manage national issues councils manage local.
    Half the amount of TD’s and get rid of the senate.
    Oh and if a minister needs an advisor then he can’t do the job so he should quit.

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:52 PM

So the president of the united states should resign?

No political leader should be making decisions on their own, they need people around them to ensure all events are covered. Watch the West Wing and you’ll see.

Mute Robert McDonnell
    Favourite Robert McDonnell
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:49 PM

Not a bad idea really.

Although if it was intended as a money saving initative, perhaps employing 5 staff (no doubt obscenely compensated) would be the rock on which this plan would perish.

Mute Jon S W Rainey
    Favourite Jon S W Rainey
    Feb 11th 2012, 3:58 PM

**laughing hard**

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:03 PM

The people voted in Bertie.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:08 PM

the people voted in hitler too.

Mute Michael Manson
    Favourite Michael Manson
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:16 PM

What does that say for your people then?

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:44 PM

It doesn’t say anything about the people, rather the governments who don’t always (or should that be ever?) perform their duties with the welfare of their peoples in mind.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:11 PM

People need to start understanding that it’s their fault. A politician who told the truth couldn’t get elected.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 8:25 PM

Yes, not doubt there’s some truth in that, but people should also know that they have the power to change that – and use it.

Mute Punt Nua
    Favourite Punt Nua
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:06 PM

Great idea! The TD’s will be queuing up to retire! Sure, they make more money with their pensions and expense allowances than from the exorbitant salaried… Just like Bertie did

Mute Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:12 PM

The number of TDs we have is not the problem. We actually have the optimal number of representatives for Democracy. The problem is that the Dáil is a hopelessly weak institution, and fails to hold the Government to account.

Mute Martin Dorgan
    Favourite Martin Dorgan
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:09 PM

Interesting comments ,probably worth thinking about considering that the government ate nowhere near political reform. Bertie has made his mark, discussion should focus on what he said rather than the man himself. Whatever outcome of Mahon, the past cannot be brought back . Blame it is said last refuge of fools. Move on!

Mute Michael Manson
    Favourite Michael Manson
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:14 PM

Martin…
    And history should teach us.
    And then you move on.

Mute Martin Dorgan
    Favourite Martin Dorgan
    Feb 11th 2012, 4:32 PM

Bertie is history Fianna Fail also has moved on otherwise it cannot survive !

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Feb 12th 2012, 2:47 AM

@Tim: That comment is libelous…!
    The Mahon Report has yet to be published & if you’ve seen an advanced copy, the Tribunal should be suspended on on the grounds on leaks!!
    If you haven’t seen an advanced copy, you should immediately apologise for your hasty & libelous comments! Either way, an apology is in order!

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Feb 12th 2012, 2:51 AM

Also Tim: I notice your fb page is on private (funny, considering you’re obviously, from your comments, a Sinn Féin stalking horse… Tweet any false info about presidential elections of late?!) You’re lucky. I was attempting to take down exactly who you are… Utterly libelous comments concerning Micheal Martin!! Not the first time a Shinner has made cowardly, libelous comments via social media…(!)

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Feb 12th 2012, 2:59 AM

@Gavreilly: How come this person can make comments from a fb page that’s private?
    I can’t do that…
    Surely, it defeats the whole purpose of peopel signing their comments if they can make their pages private…?

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Feb 12th 2012, 4:09 AM

Woah dude.. It’s something some random person wrote on the Internet – its not about you, in fact it’s not even about Michael Martin – the guy said FF have confirmed its not him.. He merely asked who it was. He has made no statement, merely asked a question.. That’s not libel..

I have a far bigger concern however..
    Because of this comment, you basically stalked this guy. Then you come back here to complain about him having the good sense to have his profile on private..
    Ever consider that maybe the reason people keep their profiles private is because people with differing views in online discussions might get a little out of hand and try to use their profile to identify and possibly harm them??

I think you have just proven why all social media should be private by default..

And as for the fallacious attacks on the dude, not only is that totally uncalled for in an adult debate, it’s also against the rules for posting here.. Attack what he said by all means, but making loaded statements and accusations about him is merely making a hypocrite of you..

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 12th 2012, 9:02 AM

Admit it Paul, it was YOU in that car park wasn’t it???
    I think you protest too much! :-P
    Your comments are ridiculous.
    I see you have your profile set to private too.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 12th 2012, 9:05 AM

Oops, I stand corrected, not entirely private.

Mute Martina Tierney
    Favourite Martina Tierney
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:00 PM

why do we need any dail

Mute Holemaster
    Favourite Holemaster
    Feb 11th 2012, 7:35 PM

I wonder who is paying Bertie to talk up anti-democratic levels of representation. He’d say anything for a steak and spuds.

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan
    Feb 12th 2012, 2:21 AM

Bertie has got to be the most un ideologically driven, self-promoting piece of shit i’ve ever come across in my life. He will say ANYTHING to get some attention. Bertie you’ve been driven out of office, now will you just feck off and shut your mouth for the rest of your life, we don’t want to hear a word from you, corrupt scumbag

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:12 PM

“In an ideal world it would be better if we didn’t have the guillotine. It’s not good that sections of legislation are not reached during a debate, it’s clearly not a good process,” the former Fianna Fáil leader said.

Punch in the face imminent.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Feb 11th 2012, 5:19 PM

We shouldn’t be feeding this troll by commenting on articles where he’s the subject. :-D

Mute Stephen O'Connell
    Favourite Stephen O'Connell
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:38 PM

Yes because we should take all our advice from this imbecile. Neck like a jockeys ******

Mute Stephie Fitz
    Favourite Stephie Fitz
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:58 PM

Not a fan of Bertie at all, but I do agree with him here.

Mute Alan Bolger
    Favourite Alan Bolger
    Feb 12th 2012, 1:28 AM

Who actually cared to ask his opinion because in my opinion no one in Ireland could careless what he has to say. The gobshite’s history and that’s we’re his legacy will stay. The man ended up a total waste of space unfortunately though with an obscene pension paid for by the tax payer.

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Feb 11th 2012, 8:15 PM

“Halve the size of the Dail” Says Bertie Ahern boldly , who continues on to say ‘because these fking cuts to my wages are cat!’

Mute Thomas Mc Grory
    Favourite Thomas Mc Grory
    Feb 11th 2012, 10:00 PM

Roth in he’ll Bertie

Mute Aidan Kenna
    Favourite Aidan Kenna
    Feb 12th 2012, 1:31 AM

I’m headin there great party

Mute William O'Shea
    Favourite William O'Shea
    Feb 11th 2012, 6:37 PM

…….. there there now posters……… shhssshh alanna, shur hasn’t he already visited you in your sleep……. and gave ye sweets… and made ye feel all cosy and arrogant as a New Age modern entrepreneurial Paddy……. Free enterprise…… no rules…….. and the highest paid premier appointed by the Sandman…….. sshhh now pets, the bogeyman can’t harm ye anymore………………..

Mute gingerman
    Favourite gingerman
    Feb 12th 2012, 12:04 PM

Halve your pension while you are at it Bertie

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Feb 12th 2012, 4:40 PM

It is easy to say that now when the damage is done. If he thinks that way why did he not suggest it while he was Taoicheach.

Mute Emmet McCarron
    Favourite Emmet McCarron
    Feb 13th 2012, 3:23 PM

charge him with sedition.

Bertie what a twat you are…

Mute Conor Flood
    Favourite Conor Flood
    Feb 12th 2012, 3:02 PM

Bertie I was sure you were DEAD

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    Feb 12th 2012, 3:23 PM

Why is that arrogant, greedy, pathetic excuse of an Irish man still getting space in the media. He ran us aground and abandoned the ship when we were in need the most. Change begins with us, the people, the individual and unless every man and woman on this island takes full control and responsibility for their actions we will remain a fledging economy. Everyone needs to do that little bit more and it will costs us nothing. Politicians should be listening to our voice not looking for our silence.