You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tens of thousands of homes and businesses in Ireland are without water and electricity amid a bitter cold snap across the whole island.

Public advised not to travel in Tipperary following heaviest snowfall in almost a decade

Tipperary Fire Service said it had responded to 24 calls across the county on Sunday, most of which were weather-related.

SEVERAL ROAD INCIDENTS have taken place across motorways in Tipperary over the last 24 hours, as the county faces the worst levels of recorded snowfall since 2018.

Incidents were reported on the M7 and M8 motorways yesterday, with major tailbacks bring traffic to hour-long standstills on the busy roads.

Significant snowfall across the country has led to treacherous driving conditions across Tipperary, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Kilkenny, Carlow, Laois and Wicklow, with widespread icy conditions throughout the country.

41,000 customers remain without power nationwide as Met Éireann issued a fresh Status Yellow snow-ice warning for the entire country today, which will stay in place until midday tomorrow.

Tipperary County Council has advised the public not to travel unless it is absolutely necessary, as the county’s Fire Service said earlier today that they had responded to 24 calls since 9am on Sunday, most of which were weather-related incidents.

In the wake of this, Tipperary County Council said its Crisis Management Team met this morning to discuss impacts and road conditions in Tipperary.

“The Winter Service routes were treated yesterday, overnight and again early this morning,” a Council spokesperson said in a statement.

“Conditions remain dangerous due to snow and ice including on routes where road surfaces have been treated. Further forecasted rainfall and freezing conditions may limit the effectiveness of road salting as rainfall can wash salt off the road and, combined with low road surface temperatures, allow ice to form”.

Tipperary County Council is responsible for 99km of motorway across the M7 and M8, which were cleared of snow this morning using salt spreading and snow ploughs fitted to Council trucks.

The Council’s Winter Service crews have said they are prioritising the clearing and treatment of the planned winter maintenance salting routes.

With further snow and very low temperatures forecast into the rest of the week, the Council added that this programme “will continue to be prioritised”.

In Cork, a truck jack-knifed on the N20 just before midday today between Charleville and O’Rourke’s Cross, entirely blocking the main route between Cork and Limerick.

Cork County Council has said that the truck was removed. The N20 from Mallow to Charleville is treated and traffic is moving, but warned that there is a lot of snow on the sides and middle of the N20 road between Buttevant and Charleville.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 50 comments
50 Comments
    Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:45 PM

Enoch Burke had no trouble getting to work. Not a day for standing around at the gates

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Jan 7th 2025, 9:30 AM

@P. V. Aglue: burk is playing the irish state like a cheap fiddle I know for a fact iff he was a kid from the hood he would have been banged up years ago

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:37 PM

7 years isn’t almost a decade, 9 years is almost a decade

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:10 PM

@P. V. Aglue: I think it was in late 2018 so really only 6 years ago

Mute Julio's Evil Twin
    Favourite Julio's Evil Twin
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:47 PM

@P. V. Aglue: 2009 is a decade, 2014 is another decade.. & 2021 is a third decade…
    Yet just 12 years have passed.. o¿0

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:56 PM

2024 one of the hottest on record… I guess comments are closed on that article in fear anyone with half a brain would call out this as utter tripe! With the exception of a week in May and a mild December, most of the year was wet and cold. It wouldn’t make the top 4 of the last 10 years never mind since records began. Comedy gold!

Mute Peter Finnigan
    Favourite Peter Finnigan
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:10 PM

@Jack: Thank goodness you found something online that turned you into an expert overnight, unlike the authors of that report who spent years in college studying what you call it. Oh yeh science. The report is based on overall temperatures across the entire year and the whole country. Just because you personally didn’t experience a warm summer in your garden doesn’t mean that wasn’t the case elsewhere on the island.

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:12 PM

@Jack: I don’t think you understand climate and statistics. Best to just go with your gut feel

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:43 PM

@Peter Finnigan: you should learn the difference between journalism and science. Btw I have degrees in environmental science, bio chem and a b eng. oh and a brain to think for myself and not be so gullible taking everything one reads as fact. There’s a science to that also but perhaps that may be too much for your narrow minded little brain to compute ;)

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:41 PM

@Jack: You do in your b******* have those qualifications, I doubt you have an IQ above 90 , it’s simply to spot , you’re articulation is child like, you’re posting the same drivel on every thread with all the same mistakes looking for an audience. Do yourself a favour and get help , therapy isn’t that expensive at €100 a session and it’s tax deductible and with you’re qualifications, you’re surely earning.

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:46 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: “it’s simply to spot” People ALWAYS mess up when calling others stupid. At least proof read. Come on man.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:50 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: I’d recommend proof reading your own illiterate waffle before attempting to critique others. Get back to the circus you escaped from.

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:41 PM

@FlipBip: autocorrect, Mr anal

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:52 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Here’s a simply tip to raise your IQ points, Read what you have typed before hitting the enter key.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 9:01 PM

@Pork Hunt: and remember which account you made your original with.

Mute DJ Points
    Favourite DJ Points
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:29 PM

I drove from Cork to Dublin this morning and the M7 is grand. Snow in a teacup

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:42 PM

@DJ Points: Take a guess why?!?! You used a motorway which has had regular use and was gritted…… Different story off the motorways….. The mind boggles at how some people can’t understand that their experience might not be what others are experiencing!!! Maybe read the article, do a search on X or Instagram!!

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:56 PM

@DJ Points: well in case you’re interested in that tiny universe you inhabit..we in the south of the country have ground to a halt…its snowing again, businesses and schools closed, power and water outages and not a sliced loaf or carton of milk to be got…but as long as your OK…

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:04 PM

@Clare Power: surely you have the skills to make bread

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:09 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: excuses

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:13 PM

@Argus Romsworth: I can knock up a loaf when needs must but you need milk or buttermilk pet…and it’s very hard to bake a loaf without the electricity..

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:20 PM

@Clare Power: sure you have electricity. You’re online commenting all day. Flour, yeast and water is all you need for a loaf by the way. Call yourself a woman, lol

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:32 PM

@Argus Romsworth: troll account?!?!

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:33 PM

@Argus Romsworth: do u need electricity to use your phone??..I posted 3 other comments, hardly constitutes all day…..just coz u got burned don’t take your ire out on me…

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:54 PM

@Clare Power: you’ve been caught out consuming electricity all day clare

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:28 PM

@Argus Romsworth: And you’re here all day trying to p*** off other commentators. It’s time to seek mental health support instead of seeking attention?

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:50 PM

@Argus Romsworth: may I suggest you upgrade your phone to a smart phone, they’re a marvel….

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:20 PM

@Clare Power: no snow in cork!
    What “south of the country” are you referring to??

Mute Sean Sheep
    Favourite Sean Sheep
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:48 PM

@DJ Points: but try the M8 from Cork to Dublin yesterday ( Sunday)? A whiteout, but the M8 in and around Tipperary hadn’t been gritted – it was fine at the Cork side. It was so dangerous. We drove in the tracks of cars ahead as the road couldn’t be seen. Nearer the M7 it got clearer and was just raining from Kildare up.

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:52 PM

@sean weir: I don’t live in Cork,…

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:00 PM

@sean weir: and what part of Cork are u in…other commentators seem to be disagreeing with u….

Mute DJ Points
    Favourite DJ Points
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:14 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: ehhh maybe you should read the article. It talks about the M7 you gombeen

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:57 PM

Genuine question, what do people do to heat their house if they only have a heat pump and no fireplace (like the new builds)? Power hasn’t gone here on the east coast but would like to hear suggestions, clean preferably, it’s still before the watershed :-)

Mute CP
    Favourite CP
    Jan 6th 2025, 9:08 PM

@The next small thing: nothing, backup generator and even at that it’d want to be a powerful one to drive the demand required. Anyone with no fireplace and heatpumps in these modern houses are feck3d in a power outage

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:57 PM

An even longer way now……..

Mute Dawn Harvey Artist
    Favourite Dawn Harvey Artist
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:53 PM

Considering snow plows are made by a company in Birr, not sure why they weren’t any to sort the Motorways yesterday and today. It’s not hars to send one up and down it when the snow is falling hard so it’s kept clear. We are snowed in and will be tomorrow too but no excuse for motorways

Mute Julio's Evil Twin
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:32 PM

@Dawn Harvey Artist: …Ice cream vans are made by a company from Mulligar, yet we never see one at the beaches of Westmeath …
    Go figure ○¿0

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:49 PM

Not a drop of snow where I am, don’t know what all the fuss is about

Mute Jack Jack
    Favourite Jack Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:54 PM

@Joe Beirne: Oh Shut up

Mute Julio's Evil Twin
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:55 PM

@Joe Beirne: Drop? Flake, you mean flake.. now that’s all the attention you’re getting, let yourself & DJ wear the losers hats for the day.. you both have failed triumphantly. Have a cookie.

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:23 PM

@Julio’s Evil Twin: flute

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:43 PM

@Joe Beirne: Another gombeen

Mute Danny O'Mahony
    Favourite Danny O'Mahony
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:33 PM

Drove from North Kerry to Cork city this morning over the Cork/Kerry mountains took 30 mins longer than usual only. Didn’t freeze last night down here so once you avoided the snow on the side of the road it was grand.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:37 PM

9.5 hours. Sweet Jesus id go off my rocker

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:18 PM

Of all the things on my bucket list there snow way that travelling in Tipperary was on the cards anyway…

Mute Ivan Dickson
    Favourite Ivan Dickson
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:56 PM

Still waiting for the snow here I roscommon !

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:58 PM

@Ivan Dickson: Where?

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Jan 6th 2025, 9:22 PM

@James Leahy: I Roscommon, it’s the new county that apple launched. It holds everything every other county has in one handy location but if you move there they’ll own you forever

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:47 PM

Global warming…

Mute PhiBo
    Favourite PhiBo
    Jan 7th 2025, 1:11 AM

Never noticed.