You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

palomaleca via Flickr

Survey finds most people check Facebook or Twitter while on holiday

A survey of just over 200 Irish holidaymakers has found almost all of them check their social networking profiles why away from home. Do you?

A SURVEY HAS found that many of us check social networking websites such as Facebook and Twitter while away on holiday.

A survey of over 200 people, 69 per cent of whom were women aged between 18 and 55, by Hotels.com has revealed that three-quarters of people (75 per cent) spend at least a few minutes per day while away on holidays checking their Facebook and Twitter to find out what’s going on at home.

An overwhelming 99 per cent of the Irish holidaymakers surveyed admit to logging on to one or more social networking sites while on holiday.

Facebook is the most popular choice with nine-out-of-ten people saying they check their Facebook profile while away followed by just over half of people (51 per cent) who admit to tweeting and 7 per cent who say they check their LinkedIn.

Those surveyed said that the main reason for checking their social networking profiles was to keep an eye on what was going on with their friends back home (51 per cent).

Others identify more devious reasons such as 15 per cent of those who say they log on to make family and friends jealous of where they are and 10 per cent who said boredom is a reason for logging on.

Around 53 per cent of holidaymakers said that uploading pictures is their favourite holiday activity followed by updating their status (49 per cent) and checking in (44 per cent) on Facebook.

Other findings from the survey included:

• Sixty-eight per cent of people who said that they don’t mind when those they are on holiday with check their social networking accounts.
  • Most use their smartphone (81 per cent) with the hotel room being the most popular place to log on.
  • Almost half or around 45 per cent admit to logging on while lounging beside the pool.
  • An addicted three per cent admit to checking their status on a ski lift.

Another finding was that just under half of those questioned (48 per cent) said that on an average one week holiday they spend up to an hour of that week on Facebook and Twitter.

Over one in four (28 per cent) say the spend up to two hours on social networking.

Poll: Do you use social networking websites like Twitter or Facebook while on holiday?

Poll Results:

No (309)
Yes (182)
I don't go on holidays (76)

Read: 11 jokey holiday snaps every tourist takes at major monuments

Open thread: What are your top tips for entertaining kids on school holidays?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Ciaran O'Connor
    Favourite Ciaran O'Connor
    Dec 25th 2013, 6:57 PM

Might also spare a thought for the Gardai, the HSE paramedics not just in Dublin but all over Ireland, the other Irish fire services, the ESB line crews working their b*llocks off in awful weather to restore power in parts of the country, the nurses who are stuck in messy A&E depts and wards, and frankly anyone else who is stuck in work on a day everybody else is spending with their families and friends. Happy christmas.

Mute Ray McMonagle
    Favourite Ray McMonagle
    Dec 25th 2013, 7:15 PM

To be fair the Author was writing about Firefighters working at Christmas. I’m sure if the ESB or NAS wanted to write an article about their work over Christmas the Journal.ie would accommodate them.

Mute Ciaran O'Connor
    Favourite Ciaran O'Connor
    Dec 25th 2013, 7:24 PM

Wasn’t intended as a malicious comment. Just sparing a thought everyone stuck in work. Happy christmas.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Dec 25th 2013, 8:30 PM

Hats off for the firefighters, and the linemen(ESB) and engineers, and the cooks and hotel workers and the Gardai, the nurses, doctors, funeral directors, water treatment operators, and even those at Centra on the Gort Rd in Ennis who are still at work today.
    I feel a kinship, having worked at professions that often required working holidays? Where? Data centers, hotels, hospitals, television production….all 24/7, 365 day operations. Couldn’t live without ‘em.
    Cheers, boys and girls. Enjoy.

Mute lawrence mulgrew
    Favourite lawrence mulgrew
    Dec 25th 2013, 9:30 PM

It’s all just a ploy by the Dublin fire brigade. There trying to make out their great as some day soon they will lose the ambulance service and will be just firemen doing the job like the rest of them in the country. But they love having the public think that their dublins Heros, out save life’s on the ambulance cos there’s no one else to do it. The fact is 80% of them hate working on the ambulance.
    One day the two tier ambulance service in Dublin will end. Ambulance will be sent for sick people and fire engines send to fires and life will go one and no one will think twice about the fire service or the ambulance service.

Mute Tom Dallas
    Favourite Tom Dallas
    Dec 25th 2013, 9:53 PM

Lawrence i am going to say you have an axe to grind with the DFB. I Have seen some of your posts before and its quite obvious your not a fan, which would lead me to believe you have failed the aptitude test for the Brigade several times, or you are involved with another private ambulance service that is vying for the ambulance service in the city. It’s not a fact that 80% hate the ambulance, explain two tier service. The Fact is the Emergency services nation wide are stretched to breaking point. Fact is DFB have twelve ambulance to serve the greater Dublin area. Fact there is not always one available, a motor is sent with qualified staff on board. Please keep you hate filled comments to yourself, i would bet your probably listening to the DFB on a scanner radio saying it should of been me i could do that job..

Mute Johnny Magory
    Favourite Johnny Magory
    Dec 25th 2013, 10:41 PM

Trolling Clown. Get back under your rock

Mute Singen O'Rourke
    Favourite Singen O'Rourke
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:36 PM

Lawrence, the HSE is taking over all ambulance 999 calls including Dublin when the EOC in Tallaght opens next year. The actual ambulances are being transferred to the National Ambulance Service on a phased basis over a 2-year period. New ambulance officers have been appointed to the Dublin area in-line with coming changes. The tetra and computer dispatch system is almost fully nationalised meaning the closest ambulance will always be sent. 120 trainee paramedics to go through the ambulance college over the next year. The new chief fire officer for Dublin is seeking to fully implement the Keeping Communities Safe policy without delay. Positive news for the public. A dedicated fire service and a dedicated ambulance service. It’s a no-brainer. As usual the proven system in the UK is copied here decades later. Hopefully the Gardai will start catching up with the Brits too.

Mute Johnny Magory
    Favourite Johnny Magory
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:47 PM

Bullshit

Mute Singen O'Rourke
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:57 PM

I assure you it’s not, and this is primarily as a result of concerns raised by the HSE & HIQA combined with the €10m per annum cost for the fire brigade ambulances as opposed to €7m per annum to provide it directly via the National Ambulance Service and Dublin City Council’s decision to implement Keeping Communities Safe, which was put in place to create a national standard for fire and rescue services.

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Dec 26th 2013, 4:41 PM

Fact is that during the day there are 12 additional Emergency Ambulances up to 7pm at night between swords, james.st and tallaghts NAS stations as well as a motorbike RRV and an AP car fully equipped and four or five ambulances at night.
    I have no issue in requesting the NACC to send us a motor or an AP from DFB to support us, I hope DFB crews realise that they too, can request the same help from us. When we start working together hopefully this them and us bullshit will end.
    The national ambulance command and control centre is happening and DFB will have there EMS control integrated into the system at large. That means the closest ambulance to any incident will be sent be it DFB or NAS including support units.
    We are a new generation of DFB and NAS. So let’s start cooperating with each other.

Mute Dublin Sheriff
    Favourite Dublin Sheriff
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:54 PM

Their,they’re,there.
    Please learn the difference.

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Jan 12th 2014, 6:18 PM

You have a lot to concern yourself with Dublin Sheriff

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:35 PM

Hopefully you won’t get many call’s and it’s a quiet shift.
    Nice and comforting to know your there .
    Happy and safe Christmas folks.

Mute Gary Mason™
    Favourite Gary Mason™
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:36 PM

Fair play to ya

Mute Sam Power
    Favourite Sam Power
    Dec 25th 2013, 6:34 PM

My dad is a firefighter and is working a shift right now, Christmas Day night, somebody has to do it bit I always hate to see my dad work on Christmas. He is also working New Years Eve night and that is a very busy night and he has to be in work instead of at home with us as a family.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:43 PM

Nice article trev. Happy christmas my aul mate

Mute brian carrick
    Favourite brian carrick
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:53 PM

Great article trev. Merry Christmas to you hope the control room isn’t too busy

Mute Kevin Thornton
    Favourite Kevin Thornton
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:52 PM

Yas all do a great job 365 days a year even tho nobody wants to work christmas the dedicated do and fair play to all you brave souls happy christmas to all duty tonight

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Dec 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

All the best lads. Itll be me before long in the control room.

Dropped some goodies into the folks on A watch in 13 will throw some into my mate on B watch in 6 on the way to my girlfriends house

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Dec 25th 2013, 8:25 PM

Very nice they were too, thanks Al. I’m
    Happy to be home now with the family. Merry Christmas everyone

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Dec 25th 2013, 9:04 PM

They kept you some this time I hope

Mute Neal Dempsey
    Favourite Neal Dempsey
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:01 PM

Lawrence…you’re an ignorant and trolling idiot… If you want to pop into the fire station someday we will take you up the ‘big ladder’ and even give you a ‘firetruck savings box’. Then one day when you’re older you too can “hate” the ambulance…Get your facts straight… TOOL

Mute Ray Carney
    Favourite Ray Carney
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:27 PM

Lawrence, if a member of your family is seriously ill and a fire appliance is sent along with the ambulance you’d be very glad of their help and expertise if they arrive first. Fire appliances are not routinely dispatched in place of an ambulance, it’s related to the seriousness of the call. Your information is incorrect with the majority of DFB and HSE personnel wanting to do the best they can for those who need their help.

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:06 PM

Lawrence where did you get that 80 % stat?Personally I enjoy the ambulance but I would like to do a little less than an. average of 20-25 cases a night.What do you work at your self?

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Dec 26th 2013, 4:19 PM

There’s no reason for DFB ambulances to be as busy as they are, I’m in NAS and nothing irritates us more than seeing a DFB Ambulance passing our station from a distant station and we have a far closer Ambulance to respond .
    This is not a dig at DFB crews, who I find very professional but it seems to me INTEGRATION of the EMS command and control, that the nearest Ambulance, motorbike response vehicle or Advanced Paramedic response car or Appliance be it DFB or NAS would serve the city more then the current situation that exists. This will also mean far less pressure on DFB Ambulance crews as the work would be evenly distributed between all available resources ,
    FYI in addition to DFB’s 12 ambulances, we have in the Dublin area 12 available Ambulances during the day with support from rapid response vechicles, with a minimum of Paramedic or AP, that are available for DFB to call on, at night we have 3 ambulances with an extra one at weekend nights.
    These articles always end up as a them or us but at the end of the day, operational staff on both sides want to serve the people of Dublin.
    The NAS national ambulance command centre is assuming control of call distribution. When it does, hopefully this them and us bull can hopefully be left behind. I worked in areas where you would love to have this support, that neither DFB or NAS seem to appreciate.
    Finally let’s hope that all Emergency Medical Service personnel working in Ireland have a safe holiday period.

Mute Tom Dallas
    Favourite Tom Dallas
    Dec 26th 2013, 7:55 PM

DFB take a call ring over to EHB have you anything available for Swords, reply no we dont, so a DFB ambulance gets dispatched, DFB call EHB have ya anything available for Thomas street, EHB no sorry nothing available. DFB ambulance dispatched. DFB take a call four car RTA reckon this could make the news EHB ambulance crawling out of the word work, mundane cases are as much part of emergency service ambulance work as the big news worthy ones, not shit stirring any ambulance worker in DFB would say the same.

Mute Singen O'Rourke
    Dec 26th 2013, 9:10 PM

Of course stuff like this goes on Tom but it goes both ways. As you know until recently with the introduction of Intermediate Care Vehicles, HSE emergency ambulances were regularly tied up with AS2 (GP) calls or inter-hospital transfers, which of course is unavoidable at times and mundane would be an accurate word to describe it but this is an essential part of the country’s health service. Dublin Fire Brigade currently refuse to do these calls. However all this dysfunction will come to an abrupt end when the National EOC opens in Tallaght. No need to call across the room anymore as there will only be one system covering all ambulances, so the closest ambulance will be dispatched to emergencies but conversely Fire Brigade ambulances will be tasked to AS2 calls and inter-hospital transfers as and when required for the remainder of their tenure.

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Dec 26th 2013, 9:29 PM

Tom I strongly disagree there on some big points.
    1, firstly the EHB ambulance service you speak of was dissolved into the ERAS in 1999, it was further incorporated into the National Ambulance Service in 2005 which over the past few years has begun to modernise it’s deployment model, has in cooperation with the Irish Air Corp has developed Ireland’s first dedicated HEMS service. For you to call it an outdated name shows the lack of respect you have for the service.
    2. Both NAS and DFB use the ProQA AMPDs automated triage system in the control rooms. For members of the publics benefit emergency calls are prioritised to a calls urgency, so echo delta Charlie and bravo calls are considered the most serious. Alpha and Omega calls are triaged as low priority cases where life is not in danger and so have a non blue light response( driving normal conditions like every member of the public)
    Internationally Alpha and Omega calls tend to be considered a huge issue in ems provision because these calls usually don’t require an ambulance response and could be treated by gps etc. they make up more then 25% of an normal ems systems calls.
    According to DFB 2012 clinical audit Alpha and Omega calls make up less then 10% of there responses, where do they go? Well interesting in the Dfb service area NAS answer higher amounts of calls of A/O categories then they do in parts of Dublin where Dfb ems is not prevalent.

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Dec 26th 2013, 9:38 PM

This could be construe that DFB are passing on lower priority calls that as they have a slower response means ambulances tied up in calls longer.

In the case where a serious incident such as a traffic accident comes in, ambulances that may be mobile to lower priority calls but are not in attendance yet, will be redirected to the more urgent calls.
    This circumstance is becoming rarer as NAS introduce ICS into the region. A nonemergency service that handles A/O calls and transfers leaving NAS emergency ambulances to respond where there colleagues in DFB may require the ambulance. Also NAS covers a larger area then DFB in the Dublin/ Leinster area hence there can be times where we may not have an ambulance available.last year NAS had
    Nearly 1million patient interactions .

Tom

Mute Kevin Gill
    Favourite Kevin Gill
    Dec 26th 2013, 9:42 PM

Tom who thinks calls are news worthy? Most NAS/DFB personnel respond to aid there fellow citizens not based on a calls news worthiness, in fact Dfb have a press office, NAS does not. Think that comment shows you up more then any service

Mute Ryleigh kane
    Favourite Ryleigh kane
    Dec 26th 2013, 12:37 AM

As a nurse I understand what it means to be on the front line…as a professional…I know heart surgeons and A and E doctors whose work saves lives every day.Our heroes are firefighters….ye have no idea.God bless them all and protect them from harm. Frontline does not even describe what they have to do do in a day, let alone a week.

Mute ian mccormack
    Favourite ian mccormack
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:20 PM

Lawrence your wrong in what you say ya pric# , obviously a scab with a problem with a great service ,on the other hand well done trev

Mute Gareth Pierce
    Favourite Gareth Pierce
    Dec 25th 2013, 11:35 PM

Lawrence……shitebag.

Mute john behan
    Favourite john behan
    Dec 25th 2013, 4:56 PM

Ask me bollix

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Dec 25th 2013, 6:47 PM

What a stupid comment

The firemen deserve all the praise they can get. They risk life and limb to keep the people of this country safe and sound, especially at this time of year, when there arso many fires.

I know a fireman who went into a blazing house and carried an old woman out of her burning bedroom

Mute Ryleigh kane
    Favourite Ryleigh kane
    Dec 26th 2013, 12:54 AM

I would expect the reply would be far superior too the reply that would be gained from ….why bother?

Mute glenn fitzgerald
    Favourite glenn fitzgerald
    Dec 25th 2013, 5:12 PM

Trev ye hero!

Mute brian carrick
    Favourite brian carrick
    Dec 25th 2013, 10:06 PM

I hear this trev bloke is a bit of a looker

Mute Teresa Hudson
    Favourite Teresa Hudson
    Dec 26th 2013, 12:23 AM

It’s an insight into what we do in DFB that’s it folks like any other job has its highs & lows and if we didn’t love it we wouldn’t do it! Hope everyone who is working over the next few days has a safe one.

Mute Niall Murray
    Favourite Niall Murray
    Dec 25th 2013, 5:34 PM

Nice one Trevor

Mute Dom Taaffe
    Favourite Dom Taaffe
    Dec 25th 2013, 10:20 PM

Well covered trev…..

Mute Neil McCabe
    Favourite Neil McCabe
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:21 AM

Trev, nice light hearted write up about what we do, how we enjoy it and why we do it. Lawrence, is obviously just a hoax. There could never be a need to critasise any emergency service openly like that. Apart from being unprofessional it would also become a personal attack on Trevor’s article that he was asked to write. Trevor has not once asked to be called a hero nor would he ever! I looked at Lawrence’s twitter account. Apart from not having a picture,(odd) he seems to comment all the time on DFB related issues. If Lawrence is real – then we are obviously faced with someone bearing a grudge – misinformed – biased and unfortunate. Perhaps he couldn’t get into DFB or perhaps someone in DFB is unwittingly supplying him with bits of information that he is purposely manipulating, such as FireFighters going sick yesterday. We love being FireFighters and Paramedics, it is something we considered while applying for the job. We see it as a chance to make a social impact in our day in our way. Of course sometimes we moan and give out about things! Such as long nights on the ambulance, that’s one of our coaping mechanisms not a hatred for anything, so finally: will the real Lawrence please stand up? Are you employed? If so where do you work? Are you a professional service person in a full time emergency service? Why do you hate DFB? How many times did you apply for DFB?
    Is the journal and twitter your only chance to talk? Do you need someone to talk to? Can you please stop misinforming people?

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Dec 25th 2013, 10:32 PM

Well done Trev

Mute Simon Finglas
    Favourite Simon Finglas
    Dec 25th 2013, 6:22 PM

Well said Trevor! Hope is wasn’t too hectic.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Dec 25th 2013, 8:33 PM

Well put Trev, back to the grind in the morning

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Dec 25th 2013, 6:35 PM

Were you in the callendar

Mute lawrence mulgrew
    Favourite lawrence mulgrew
    Dec 25th 2013, 9:31 PM

Fair play Trevor not going sick like a lot of the other lads did yesterday

Mute Andy Young
    Favourite Andy Young
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:24 PM

Good man Trev. Nice article from a all round nice guy. Lawrence, see ye after school.