You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paul Murphy Oireachtas.ie

Have you paid your water charges bill? Paul Murphy thinks most people haven't...

The AAA TD has accused the government of “hiding” the figures.

Updated: 5.17pm

PAUL MURPHY HAS brought up the issue of water charges in the Dáil once again.

The Anti-Austerity Alliance (AAA) TD criticised the fact Irish Water won’t tell him how many people have paid their bills.

When Murphy asked the Taoiseach about the issue last month, Enda Kenny told him to “toddle along” to a meeting with Irish Water in Leinster House later that day.

The Dáil was suspended twice shortly afterwards due to a row over Kenny telling Murphy and his AAA colleague Ruth Coppinger “where to go”.

When Murphy didn’t get answers at the meeting, he submitted a Freedom of Information (FOI) request – but didn’t get the response he was looking for, saying the utility told him disclosure “could result in undue disturbance of the ordinary course of business”.

Murphy said Irish Water confirmed that as of 18 May it had issued 1,282,067 bills to customers. Of these, a total of 788,831 were due for payment.

As Kenny is in Brussels today, Jobs Minister Richard Bruton was answering Leaders’ Questions.

Murphy questioned why he wasn’t given the numbers, asking Bruton: “Could that be because payment levels are on the floor, minister? And disclosure of the figures would undermine your scare campaign?”

Screenshot 2015-06-10 at 12.26.10 PM Richard Bruton Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

Bruton suggested Murphy appeal the FOI decision if he’s unhappy with it, telling him: “I don’t have the information that the deputy seeks here available to me.”

The minister went on to say that Irish Water is an “important national structure” that will help deal with leaks, raw sewage and the fact that Dublin’s “supply system on a knife edge”.

Murphy said it is “simply not credible” that the government hasn’t discussed level of payment with Irish Water, and the only conclusion he could come to was that the coalition is “hiding the figure, whereas you boasted about the bloated registration figures, because the figures are on the floor”.

He went on to say the claim that the government saying it can take the charge from people’s wages or social welfare payments is a “dirty lie”.

Murphy shook his head as Bruton again reiterated Irish Water is “a very important element to a strategy to improve our water system”.

Screenshot 2015-06-10 at 12.27.59 PM Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

When Murphy said Bruton didn’t answer the question he asked, the Ceann Comhairle told him it wasn’t his place to answer questions but to chair, stating: “Listen, you’ve had your say, will you stay quiet please.”

In his response to Murphy last month, Noel Shannon, the FOI officer at Irish Water’s parent company Ervia, said:

“Releasing information relating to bill payment rates even before all bills have been issued is clearly premature and would unduly impact upon Irish Water’s ordinary course of business.

“In my view the most important public interest at issue is that Irish Water be afforded the opportunity to operate as a high performing commercial utility company and to bring about reform of Ireland’s water sector, on behalf of all the Irish people.”

Have you paid?

Poll Results:

No, and I won't (8025)
Yes (4338)
No, but I will (1417)
I haven't decided yet (1391)

Irish Water thinks it’s better you don’t know how many bills have been paid

Dáil suspended TWICE after Enda Kenny tells Socialist TDs ‘where to go’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 235 comments
235 Comments
    Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:10 PM

How dare you ask questions at Leaders question time ..What were you expecting? Answers ? #lol

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:37 PM

i know the cheek of some people ahh whats the country comming to.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:42 PM

Just wait until we outsource the name Ireland. ‘The Republic of Denis O’brien’

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:53 PM

Did not pay bill number one and number two will be out soon. That will also end up in the rubbish to.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:04 PM

funny how Kenny goes missing again…
    will return in say 5 days to announce a new cycle lane in a woods near ballintubber abbey which will employs hundreds over the next 5 years

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:09 PM

coming to a home near you. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=c_biMk9aY5c

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:40 PM
    Mute Biscuits Patinkin
    Favourite Biscuits Patinkin
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:52 PM

@Kevin Higgins As ridiculous as that sounds, the spanish have actually renamed the centre of Madrid from Sol to Vodaphone Sol. Like the Aviva Stadium, but on a grander scale!

Mute Jim Morrish
    Favourite Jim Morrish
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:19 PM

wtf!?!

what next: guinness temple bar? eircom phoenix park? kerrygold cliffs of moher?

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:09 PM

Well I never. A poll on the Journal showing 50% will pay their bills.

In the real world that probably equates to 90% adherence.

A lot of angry folk on here Id say.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:28 PM

It stands to reason that if more people were registered and willing to pay, the government would be driving this point home to impress the fact that a large number were registered and paying and to simultaneously put pressure on those resisting.
    The silence tells a different story, would you agree?

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:35 PM

the silence can and probably will tell whatever story you want it to tell, unless you wait for the facts of the matter to be presented

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:53 PM

Nonsense.
    Given the nature of the IW debacle; the threats, the lies, the pleading, the threats again, do you honestly think that had a satisfactory number registered and paid Alan Kelly wouldn’t be smugly proclaiming that those not registered and paying were now in a minority?
    Please….

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:03 PM

no, what I would do is wait until the full cycle of billing/payments has passed because until that point we are only looking at half the picture.

Paul Murphy doesn’t even have the available incomplete data and he is making statements of fact.

If he was doing a college essay he would get an F.

If he was playing politics to keep his pet issue in the public he would get a C.

Jun 10th 2015, 11:09 PM

Well stopit I guess if the government or Irish Water would supply the answer to what he has been asking then I guess no one could accuse him of “playing politics”?

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:44 PM

They will shorten Ireland to Dobby Land. Where is Spitting Image when we need it. Where are good Satire Commedians?

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:45 PM

no the point is, if he wanted an accurate picture he would wait until the full billing/payment cycle was completed.

he either hasn’t thought through the validity of his questioning or else he’s playing politics.

and look sure we’re here talking about it so it his politicking has worked

Jun 10th 2015, 11:53 PM

Well allegedly IW knows how many bills they have sent out would have though it would be fairly straight forward to establish what % have paid against those bills after all they spent €85 million on their systems so what’s the problem providing a straight forward answer to a straight forward question??

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:11 AM

I’ll try to make this as clear as I can.

1. not all bills have been sent out.

2. if they gave him the information now he would have to say something like ‘at this date, X% of X% of the total possible payments have been made’. This would be a confusing statement and open to spin.

3. He should wait until all bills have been sent out and due to have been paid so he can say with clarity and honesty ‘X% of all bills have been paid’

I realise he’s trying to create a story or at least keep IW on agenda but without the proper facts (which he doesn’t have) it’s all spin and bluster.

Mute Frédéric Ghys
    Favourite Frédéric Ghys
    Jun 12th 2015, 4:20 PM

That’s statistically improbable MK76

Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:18 PM

If people were paying they’d be shouting it from the rooftops. Their silence speaks volumes.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:23 PM

I think the opposite. People who are willing to pay are more likely to not advertise it for risk of ridicule from family, friends or work colleagues. Believe me….a lot of people are paying.

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:25 PM

Believe you………..Yeah, right, LOL

See 32 more replies ▾
    Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:27 PM

@Beano. I was referring to IW, FG/LAB. And sorry, I don’t believe you.

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:30 PM

I think that Annie meant that the government would be shouting it from the roof tops if people were paying, not the people themselves.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:30 PM

@beano. I think Annie means that if people had paid that iw would be shouting from the rooftop

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:33 PM

Sorry Beano – I don’t belive you

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:36 PM
    Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:37 PM

Beano,
    Whether individuals are prepared to admit they’ve paid the water charge is not the issue really. There is no doubt that if the payment rate was high then Irish Water, the government and RTE would be hammering that message home.

The payment rates are low because large numbers of people understand that Irish Water has been established as another mechanism through which the citizens are to be fleeced to pay for the systemic failure of speculative financial capitalism in 2008.

This is why our Troika ‘partners’ made it a condition of the bailout (stitch up) agreed with the FF/Green government in 2010. The IMF & ECB could not care less about maintaining and upgrading our water network and conservation which is the fairytale justification for the charges peddled endlessly by establishment. We could be all drinking slurry as far as Mario Draghi is concerned. What Mario is interested in though is the €1.2 billion + that the Irish citizens currently pay annually to run the water and sewerage systems.

If the water charges are successfully enforced, then this €1.2 billion annual revenue stream can instead be diverted to meet the repayments on Ireland’s ‘bailout’ loans (plus interest) used to directly cover private and illegitimate banking debt. In this way the EU & IMF gets to have the Eurozone banking system stabilized at the expense of the Irish people and we get to pay for the privilege through Water charges, Home tax, USC, vicious health, education and social support cutbacks, Pension levy and the extra 3 years added to our working lives etc etc etc..

It’s an ingenious neo liberal Catch 22 and we are the chumps. It’s time for the people to stand up now and refuse to allow the ransacking of the country to continue. Boycott the Water charge. Can’t pay. Won’t pay.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:40 PM

@ Annie Apologies, I misinterpreted your comment.

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:48 PM

No one with any sense has paid it!!! Nor should anyone pay the 5K for pipes!!! They shouldn’t have laid lead pipes in the first place so now go replace them Enda!!!

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:50 PM

@Annie I read so so many idiotic comments on water charges and this is right up there.

Why in gods name would people be shouting from the roof tops about paying tax? It’s only the noisy minority who have their knickers in a twist about this one.

The rest of us are too busy getting on with the enjoyment of life.

Mute Fisics
    Favourite Fisics
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:53 PM

MK76, Irish water would be shouting from the rooftops. I think you owe Annie an apology.

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara

Such an simple effective explanation Waddler. U have to wonder how people can in anyway support IW after everything that’s happened? Someone has to explain that kind of mentality to me…This whole debacle was never about improving our water..

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:55 PM

Not as idiotic as your comment, which reflects the fact that you TOTALLY misinterpreted what she said,
    I bet you feel like a right Gombeen now MK76, But why am i not surprised that yet another idiotic comment comes from you?

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:08 PM

@MK76

Sorry, so it’s a tax is it?

Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:14 PM

@Beano. No problem. I still don’t believe you though ;-)

Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:21 PM

@MK76. You’re one to talk about idiotic comments alright! Read my comments before you go off on one please. Then again, you likely don’t have time to read other opinions as you’re probably too busy enjoying life and only have time for inaccurate digs at strangers on the Journal.

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:22 PM

Too busy been a coward more like it Mk .You must be the type of person that every one takes advantage of .Its cowards like u that have let these corrupt slime bags get away with these scams.

Mute Yuba Bill
    Favourite Yuba Bill
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:52 PM

Don’t forget, IW gets revenue from commercial customers, too, who have been paying water bills for years.

So, many of the paying customers are shops, restaurants etc., rather than domestic customers.

Mute Jānis Circenis
    Favourite Jānis Circenis
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:54 PM

I paid my water bill, because it’s very likely that the same govt will be elected next year and I don’t want any trouble.

Who would pay my fines – Paul Murphy?

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:37 PM

T’would be a good question only for the “it’s very likely that the same govt will be elected next year” part ,

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

@ everyone Yes I did misinterpret it, but because of some shocking grammar.

“If people had paid it they’d be shouting….”

I take 25% of the blame for that one, but zero % for the moronic and overly dramatic comments that followed. That’s all down to the LLA.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:45 PM

Oh dear

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:46 PM

Who is ‘everyone YES’ ,MK76?

Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:53 PM

@MK76. Apologies for the “shocking grammar”- my bad. There was no need to post an overly dramatic comment about it though, or was there?

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:00 PM

@Annie Based on the my interpretation of what you said, yes.

Based on what you meant, probably not.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:41 PM

Good man Janis but when iw is abolished you wont get your money back but I hope thats not any trouble for you.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:51 PM

Tom the only low life on the journal is yourself grow up idiot

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:21 PM

Mk76 has no problem with corruption proper fg

Mute Redacticus
    Favourite Redacticus
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:57 PM

BlueBot 76…..do you do nixers for Confused.com or just impressions of Brian!?….ERROR….ERROR….FAIL!

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:14 PM

@ Bobby Ha,you’re as witty as you are original

Mute Brigid Popps
    Favourite Brigid Popps
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:24 PM

MK76 then go on enjoy your life and don’t get worked up about what a mere minority thinks ! Oh yes and please get surgically re moved from the Kennys

Mute Jānis Circenis
    Favourite Jānis Circenis
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:54 PM

If FG stays in power – and it most likely will, then IW is here to stay. And I don’t see any alternatives + they still are the most popular party. And the last thing I need is trouble with courts and/or garda.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:40 PM

Have you never heard of the silent majority?

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:34 PM

IW is a omnishambles, if people were paying in large numbers the government would be shouting about it. they sre now facing scandals on all sides, there will be an election this year. tierney and their marketing manager seem to have disappeared. the whole debacle has cost us billions. heads need to roll.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:29 PM

@John Fergus: “heads need to roll”.

Perhaps we need to take a leaf out of the French revolution and make the above statement more then a catchphrase.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:24 PM

@John Hagin Meade:
    À la lanterne!

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:36 PM

John, whose head are you going to chop off first?

Mute John Devoy
    Favourite John Devoy
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:02 AM

Revenue have reduced motor tax on new cars over the past 7 years. Handy if you can afford a new car. My road tax is €673 euro as I cannot afford a new car (nor do I need one). An effort by the state to boost new car sales and support the Irish Motor Industry. Imports. What we need is a consumption tax. Not perpetual growth.

Jun 11th 2015, 12:22 AM

Nobody minds paying their way and thus contributing to a functioning society that is fair to all. This is not happening. Taxed to the hilt and where does it go?

Burn ‘em

Jun 11th 2015, 12:31 AM

Our healthcare system is a shambles, teachers stretched to breaking point and guards sleeping in cars. Taxes everywhere, people in negative equity. Banks calling the shots. Govt useless/powerless/complicit. What do you do?

Jun 11th 2015, 1:07 AM

The polling booth is your greatest weapon. Make it count.

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:14 PM

He wouldn’t have had to bring it up again if he had gotten a straight answer in the first place.

The online polls are fairly close.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical

it’s fairly obvious that they won’t release the figures because they don’t look good, if they were favorable for the government they would be shouting about it. read between the lines at the very least half are not paying, and that’s just the people who registered.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:44 PM

They have a new, more credible spokesperson from Iraq.
    http://i61.tinypic.com/2mnf1wz.jpg

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:28 PM

Less than 24 hours ago enda Kenny was on his feet in the dail exclaiming that he attempts to answer questions ‘as fully and completely as possible’. Today Richard bruton failed to answer a question from an elected representative, that was also not answered 4 weeks ago when Kenny told that representative ‘where to go’ and ‘toddle on’. Also sat beside bruton was the man who previously failed to satisfactorily answer 19 questions in relation to the topic being debated today.

Is this the revolution in politics we were promised?

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:15 PM

I have no intention of paying.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly

Or me

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:21 PM

or the other 90%

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:09 PM

He’s right you know…it’s on the floor.

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval

Then pick it up and read it then. Jaysis!

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:10 PM

10 days to go until the next IW march in Dublin city centre – See you all there!

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:47 PM

You won’t see me

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:58 PM

I couldn`t care less if i did or did not rod, there will be enough people there to more than make up for your absence, You can thank us later for getting the IW bills down so far for you, now pay up like a good little chap, leave the rest to us.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:01 PM

Yes Pearse, I don’t get a water from IW so I wont get a bill, I don’t remember everybody coming down and helping me dig a well, but I guess it’s only us country folk who should pay for water

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:06 PM

Don`t worry rod, If IW was EVER allowed to be successful, they will have their eyes on your wells and septic tanks, I believe that there is already a plan ready to be implemented in such an event to TAX the hell out of the “country folk” too.
    Maybe you should do a bit of research into this yourself, then you might realise that the “I`m alright jack” philosophy which you cling to will be yur downfall – they WILL come for your private wells and tanks, make no mistake about that.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:09 PM

So they are going to charge me for something I don’t get, oh wait a minute they do already, I subsidise your water supply. User pays is the only way forward with the water supply problem

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:10 PM

How many 100′s of thousands are you planning on claiming attended?

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:45 PM

You want to live in the sticks, that’s the price you pay. Nobody forced you to buy your house there. You could live in a city like the majority, pay twice the price for your house and enjoy a domestic waste/water service.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:48 PM

You want to live in the city, that’s the price you pay. Nobody forced you to buy your house there. You could live in a country like the minority, pay twice the price for your water and enjoy a domestic water and waste system.

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:59 PM

But your all right jack .

Mute Patrick Bartholomew Ahern
    Favourite Patrick Bartholomew Ahern
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:10 PM

If Rod lives in the countryside as he claims he’d know country folk already pay a septic tank charge. So Rod, I’m calling you out, you’re a big fat liar!

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova

Irish water is finished.. People power and persistence has paid off. People were not fooled by scare mongering from the government and bully tactics. Roll on the the GE.. #voteforchange

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:51 PM

Sorry. Must have missed the bit where Paul Murphy’s opinions were fact.

Has IW been disbanded or are you just sharing your opinion?

Jun 10th 2015, 11:11 PM

Well seeing as IW or the government appears unable to disprove Paul Murphy’s claims maybe they are facts?

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 11th 2015, 8:33 AM

So what someone’s statement that is based on opinion becomes fact, because it can’t be disproved?

By that logic, most of the dramatic rantings (including my own) on these forums must be nailed on facts.

Hmmmm

Mute SUSAN LLOYD
    Favourite SUSAN LLOYD

Don’t engage don’t pay take it from the money we already pay in vat and motor tax

Mute mcdb06
    Favourite mcdb06
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:34 PM

Not everyone who uses water pays motor tax. For example why should a family with 2 people and 2 cars pay more toward water than a family with one car and 4 people in it?

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:01 PM

because the people with 2 cars use twice as much water in their window washers #youdothemaths

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:02 PM

You will still be paying that extra charge on your motor tax even if everybody signed up with irish water.

Doesn’t that bother you? Are you okay with being used like that?

Wake up and tell irish water to F*** off

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Favourite talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:35 PM

was the motor tax system not changed in 2008? are a lot of people not paying a hell of a lot less motor tax than they would have under the old system?

Mute mcdb06
    Favourite mcdb06
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:38 PM

So why not call for a reduction of other taxes that are currently being used to pay for water? Taxes like motor that have nothing to do with water usage?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:23 PM

no we don’t Susan. the law was changed.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:33 PM

I don’t pay motor tax.

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:13 PM

Water charges are €160… If motor tax came down during this govts administration by €160 (or even €140 and a similar decrease in vat) I might consider paying Irish water but both vat and motor tax have gone UP since fine Gael and the right-wing-labour-party took office so I think I’ll hold off!

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:20 PM

Really how anyone can now defend this quango is beyond me. Disband it now.

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:20 PM

some one should put that ignorant Ceann Comhairle on the floor!!!!

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton

Richard bruton, a failed politician who made a heave against the weakest leader the country ever had and failed. Michael noonan, a failed politician who near led the party into oblivion as leader and lost his job a year later. The fact that these failed td’s are back in prominent positions shows that fg is a failed party. Their record is atrocious. IW is finished.

Mute josecafe
    Favourite josecafe
    Jun 11th 2015, 5:35 AM

How are they failed politicians if they have reached some of the top jobs in politics ?

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:15 PM

next big bluff : if you dont registet with irish water we will put you a boil ordsr until such time that you do

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:21 PM

They’re doing what now?

Mute Jason Presents
    Favourite Jason Presents
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:24 PM

‘Toddle along’… That condescending fu cking tw at, he can’t even be civil to his fellow human beings. Enda Kenny seriously needs to disappear…

Mute eamonn sullivan
    Favourite eamonn sullivan

Sinn Fein and R2W policy of not calling for boycott of Irish water has clearly missed the mark. Nobody is paying this charge and that’s going to make Irish water the battleground on which the general election is fought on. #nowaywewontpay

Mute Pearse McMullen

This comment section should be good…..Pass the Popcorn someone please

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:07 PM

I always pay my motor tax!

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:03 PM

I haven’t met a single person who has said they have or will pay IW. Not a single one. The numbers are on the floor as Dep Murphy has said today. NO WAY WE WONT PAY

Mute Bearsass Hairyarse
    Favourite Bearsass Hairyarse
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:37 PM

Irish Water can kiss my hairy arse!!

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:02 PM

There’s a massive law suit lying in wait for Irish water over these poison pipes. They know it and are covering their arse again at the expense of the poor Irish tax payer. Don’t see Irish water surviving. Everyone knows this, yet Kenny remains quiet . He remained quiet on site serve and DOB. The Germans won’t be happy that the Irish refuse to pay this one. RIP Irish water and Kenny and Joan will be thrown on the scrap heap come election. Enda looking for transparency from John Delaney and the FAI says it all really about this government. Ming is right. Fascists.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:08 PM

He hasn’t gone away you know, unfortunately!!.

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:20 PM

He’s a one trick pony and after the next election he’ll be off to the knackers yard.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:22 PM

Isn’t it an awful day for FG/ Lab. with this news and the news emanating from Europe too ?

Is Democracy beginning to work at last – after all the lies that we were fed ?

Mute J's Back
    Favourite J's Back
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:44 PM

What would Sinn Fein/IRA know about democracy?

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:59 PM

Stay strong folks, Irish Water are on the ropes but for those of you who are still undecided about paying or are worried about the repercussions of not paying, grab a cuppa tae, watch this video and share it on social media ….

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvpI2LNH7J4

Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:11 PM

You must not have been listening very hard then Mark

Paul Murphy TD- Vote YES to Marriage Equality

http://www.thejournal.ie/vote-with-us-video-campaign-1967752-Mar2015/

The Anti-Austerity Alliance held its final press conference today in Dublin to call for a Yes vote. TDs Joe Higgins, Paul Murphy and Ruth Coppinger were joined by Helen Redwood an LGBT parent, and Meabh Hennelly a school student involved in the Spectrum group, a new LGBT school students’ campaign.

http://antiausterityalliance.ie/2015/05/press-statement-anti-austerity-alliance-19th-may-2015/

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:22 PM

what news ciarraioch? I have been working not sponging. yourself?

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:53 PM

I think the issue to focus on here is *Irish Water* not Paul Murphy nor the principle of paying for water.

Regardless of your political leanings, Irish Water has far too many questions surrounding it.

Incidentally we haven’t heard much from Chemical Betty lately, has she managed to get the hell out of Dodge ?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:05 PM

J’s Back – New fake Twitter name – same old Blueshirt FG nonsense Guff !

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:08 PM

Thomas Aquinas – Proud to say -Working forty five years and employing eleven people .
    Like most Citizens in this Country – I don’t set out to exploit people like FG /Lab/FF Members do !!!!

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:39 PM

Why would he be off to the nakers yard? He represents the less well off!

Mute Jonny Lennon
    Favourite Jonny Lennon
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:38 PM

MK76 is likely another fake log in for the FG troll Paul Carey or Top Cat, regardless you and the rest of the paid FG trolls are again making utter fools of yourselves. IW and the government are are at deaths door and only a matter of time before they are gone. The sooner the better too.

Mute dave ocallaghan
    Favourite dave ocallaghan
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:16 PM

Looks like it’s low tide

Mute Barry O Leary
    Favourite Barry O Leary
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:18 PM

I do not know anybody who has paid

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:33 PM

How do you know?

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:35 AM

Same here Barry, the majority of people have copped on to this scam and will not be paying. Hilarious watching the blueshirts and their liebour lackeys commiting politicial suicide on this redundant quango.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:38 PM

Poll please:
    ‘Have you or do you intend to pay your water bill?’
    a)yes
    b)no
    c)I’m going to wait and see what everyone else is doing first.
    d)I like trains

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:41 PM

I read that a d) I like trans

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:45 PM

That’s your own business

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:41 PM

No I haven’t registered with IW nor will I .I have however been paying for water for 18 years through general taxation and I would like an investigation into how this money has been spent , 1.2 billion is a lot of money collected year on year we should have a first class water system .

Mute Frank Dwyer
    Favourite Frank Dwyer
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:27 PM

Hear hear

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:45 PM

This is another scare scam by Kelly. It will increase the numbers registering and they will charge you 5000 euro for the privelige, if you dont register you wont get the grant.
    The thing about the old lead pipes is that they had such a residue built up in them that no lead was leeching into the water at this stage. It was when the cowboys fro GMCSierra made such a hames of installing the meters they disturbed the residue built up in the pipes. So really GMCSierra should be footing the bill for replacing the old lead pipes.
    Anyone wanting to make a little wager as to what company gets the contract to replace the pipes??

Mute AnDruidDearg
    Favourite AnDruidDearg
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:38 PM

We already pay for our water through taxes, this is just a reactionary idea, a product of the recession so I’m not paying and never will, only the idiots and gombeens will pay, and shame on them.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:03 PM

IW, what’s that, ? Any bill that comes to me from any entity that I have made no contract with goes into the bin unopened. Junk mail, I don’t know why they bother.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:21 PM

Good man Janis, I hope you feel suitably stupid when, after the coming GE , the IW debacle is brought to a halt.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:06 PM

Saw a Facebook post that stated ‘ from an inside source’ that 10% of customers have paid. I’ve no idea if it’s true but it made me smile anyway

Mute Lorcan Quinlan
    Favourite Lorcan Quinlan
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:44 PM

Cmon guys pay up Elizabeth and John need some extra cash ! poolside parties in Malta aren’t cheap !

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:14 PM

since Irish water stole our water and set up as the sole private company doing this in Ireland I can’t see how the release of the figure would damage them, they have no competition to worry about. It’s a red herring to claim otherwise.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:16 PM

they stole your water? I think your telling porkies.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:30 PM

Ok. talking sense, perhaps you’ve forgotten how all this started, pps numbers and Phil Hogan, threats to turn off water to households. Isis situations, massive consultancy fees, privisation in the pipeline. you think that’s perfectly acceptable in Ireland. I don’t. It’s a fat bloated quango Irish style.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:41 PM

they didn’t steal your water, I’m sure if you turn on your tap water will come out. lie number 1. there were threats to reduce pressure but not cut water off, lie number 2, and your just guessing about privatisation. if any of the above were true no way would I think its acceptable, but its not so quit the scaremongering

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:47 PM
    Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:52 PM
    Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:01 PM

Ok talking sense, your own beloved leader said that it would be cut off, if you dont want to believe me fair enough but here you have it from the horses mouth. I can’t find a link but a while back Irish water had the misfortune to accidentally have a part of their website stating about privatisation, when it was brought up in the media it mysteriously disappeared the next day. Really are you sure you’ve been following this fiasco cos you sound unsure to me.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:01 PM

one link to an article that comes up as a 404 error and another linked to speculation. thanks for proving nothing. well done.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:06 PM
    Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:11 PM

my beloved leader? that’s the problem with you fooking morons. you think because someone doesn’t agree with you on iw they must be fg supporters! I don’t like enda as much as anyone else but of course, you and the rest of the anti water bridge are too foolish to separate the 2

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    Jun 11th 2015, 9:46 AM

You don’t like Enda ,TS .Good lad . Are you a FG supporter ?

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:17 PM

Worse case is an extra 50 euro after 15 months. So I’m not paying

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:43 PM

When will he take on the USC? Or is that not his demographic?

Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:33 PM

He has no other mandate at all. Sure why target something that will save all workers thousands per year, that would make no sense.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:36 PM

Did he decide to run for the Dail on daddy’s yacht?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:20 PM

His father died when he was a child….so what’s with the yacht reference?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:25 PM

I was unaware of his father’s death. And I was referring to the silver spoon he was born with.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:53 PM

If he was in it only for the money wouldn’t you think he’d join FG or FF and have an easier life?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:38 PM

Because shouting from a position of no power is a much harder thing than actually being in power. Yes he’s quite the working class hero.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:40 PM

I have a well and a septic tank, I tried to ring them but they kept me on hold for 20 minutes so I hung up. I don’t understand what the 100 Euro is for anyway.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada

You get a loyalty rebate of 100 Euros (although you have paid nothing!) if you sign up your well and septic tank.

This boosts the numbers of official “customers”.
    If however, they get firmly established-and are still short of revenue,-watch out for a new charge for tapping into an Irish aquifer.
    You only own the land your house is built on-not any assets underground:such as oil, minerals, water etc.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:58 PM

It costs about 300 a year to run the system so if they want they can take over that.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:03 PM

They’ll take it over Rod and charge you a grand……you don’t think it’s going to cost them do you?

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:05 PM

100 euro is for bait and switch

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:07 PM

How much tax do I pay for water at the moment plus my 300 euro?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:20 PM

How much tax do you think you’ll get back if IW succeed?
    …….would you like the answer in noughts or zeros.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:25 PM

I reckon it’s about 600 euro in total, so 600 for corporation juice or 300 if you do the work yourself, I think that’s pretty fair.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:57 PM

over 1000 people saying they have paid on this are they stupid or just idiots don’t they realise we pay already through our car tax and vat …Some people are just so thick

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:20 PM

funny you say that, since the 5% was added to car tax in the 90′s, motor tax was overhauled in 2008 and a lot of people now pay a lot less than they would have under the old system…. some people are just so thick

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jun 11th 2015, 9:43 AM

Well my tax is still €1000 PA and everytime we buy something a percentage of that goes to cover it ……reduce car tax reduce vat ..abolish the usc. …abolished then we may consider a water charge but paying twice for something is just rediculous

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:08 PM

Anti tree hugger. Doh ! That’s the effin point to why a majority aren’t payin, WE ALREADY ARE FN PAYING.ZZZZZZZZZZZZ go back to sleep now.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:39 PM

I will Not Pay For Water already Paying and anyone who signed up will pay through the nose for IW and now you are going to pay for your own pipes too!! You will get a grant of €4,000 and pay 10,000 to have them fixed!

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:21 PM

wow, imagine paying for repairs to your own property, the fookin neck of them

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:43 PM

So you’re not going to pay IW for water services but you want them to do your plumbing as well? Freeloader?

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:37 PM

64 euro for 3 months not on your Nelly will they get a penny!

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:55 PM

You’ll have to pay one way or another. It’s not something that’s going to go away. I’m not saying I agree with it. but remember the bin charges. how did that work out. people were saying they weren’t paying and refusing to pay and blah blah blah. is there anyone now that doesn’t pay bin charges. we live in a world now where we actually have to pay for things. all these people refusing to pay. I can guarantee in 3 years time everyone will be towing the line. including the wonderful Paul Murphy that some of you all know and love.

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:04 PM

It’s going to go away. And we will be hugging tree’s when it does ;-)

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:05 PM

Yes there is – I don’t pay bin charges.
    I bring all the recycling to the local site.

You just don’t get it do you – we already pay……

Mute Liz Bermingham
    Favourite Liz Bermingham
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:09 PM

Antitree Hugger. We already pay what part of that do you not understand ????????

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:17 PM

The part where the amount we ‘already pay’ doesn’t cover the full costs of a state of the art infrastructure for supplying water.
    The question is are we prepared to pay more than we already do for high quality drinking water?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:39 PM

AntiTreeHugger, no we fcukin’ wont pay at all.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:59 PM

Yes you will dave.if IW is abolished taxes will be hiked up to pay for the water infrastructure,
    SF and AAA have said they will abolish it,but are retaining USC.they even know that it has to be paid for one way or the other.
    So hope you do t mind more income tax to pay for water

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:00 PM

No I wont Ciaran. So you admit that it is no more than a further austerity tax to pay someone else’s debts. The truth of IW is that it was set up as part to the agenda in getting the country ready for TTIP, it will be privatised if this government has its way. It is why they have ignored and wont give the referendum that really matters to people to safe guard our water.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:08 PM

No,it was always gonna come in.at some stage it was gonna have to be paid for.

The current model of funding is not sustainable,
    Low emission cars mean a reduced tax intake for the likes of water and roads.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:38 PM

Ciaran, no one has any problem paying for water. People have a problem being taken for fools, people want the fact that we pay for water acknowledged, and the appropriate reduction is made in the taxes. People object to a quango that was set up in corruption and lies and forced on us. People object to the fact that this government refuses to give us the referendum that will safeguard our water from profiteering private enterprise. People dont want Smart Meters forced on them either. Smart meters that we have not being told the purpose off, but are part of this TTIP agenda. Smart Meters that were bought on the quite, secondhand, by John Tierney when he was Dublin City manager, under the instructions of Phil Hogan,and stored away until the Irish Water quango was set up. With guess who as CEO. People refuse to but into such corruption.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:16 PM

But but Ciaran the economy is improving,unemployment is nearly down to 1%,everyone will have a job by 2018, our growth rate is nearly 99%.There will be plenty of money to pay for iw. So there you have it Dave we are saved, But then again??????????

Mute Dublin Living
    Favourite Dublin Living
    Jun 11th 2015, 11:25 AM

If it goes away you’ll still be paying in some other way. Or you won’t have a water supply system soon.

Welcome to reality.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:49 PM

Well said Dave – exactly,
    No one has a problem paying for water.
    If half the money spent was put in to the water system we would have gold plated pipes

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Jun 15th 2015, 6:52 PM

But it IS Going away, In the next General election like the parasites in government.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:43 PM

Paul Murphy is obsessed with this one policy.
    I hope to god he’s voted out in the next election.tallaght needs someone who actually works on behalf of the people.
    Banging on about one thing and doing feck all about other issues on the area

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:38 PM

Always found it hilarious considering he’s a leafy Blackrock boy.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:23 PM

Why Gordon……do they autofit ideologies into peoples brains depending on where they’re born or is there independent thought allowed?

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:28 PM

Brian HAYES Charlie O’Connor & Pat Rabbitte ALWAYS worked hard and did good work for the betterment of Tallaght. This Murphy chap is a mouth to read Joe Higgins scripts.He drives a mean bir when claiming expenses.Check out this Socialists record under F O I .for his time in Europe.

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:35 PM

Brian HAYES Charlie O’Connor & Pat Rabbitte, Equating them with working hard and doing good work in the same sentence………….LMAO !
    You WOULD have to be wearing a Cowboy Hat when you typed that, Wouldn`t you??

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:51 PM

A straw hat ; a cowboy hat ?. What a genius you are. Your comments show your knowledge of Tallaght are in line with the clown you support.One question. What has Murphy EVER done for Tallaght outside of promoting himself?

Mute Mark McAuley
    Favourite Mark McAuley
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:56 PM

Ciaran – parish pumping politics has resulted in people dying on hospital trolleys, thousands of families being evicted from their family homes, The Dublin City Council offering families sleeping bags instead of a roof, 1 in 5 children going to school or bed hungry.. unprecedented immigration and a government thinking they can charge people for water and who threatened to turn families water supply down to a trickle if they didn’t pay. Do you still think a TD should be focusing on pot holes? If theres issues in the area, what are councillors employed to do?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jun 11th 2015, 3:04 PM

Well I would hope that a TD That represents the area I live in would be as passionate about other issues as he is water.
    Murphy is a champaign socialist.hes a bull shitter.just says what you want to hear while lining his pockets and watching his TDs pension grow.#onepolicypaul

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 11th 2015, 7:56 PM

@Ciaran, quick lesson, how many other td’s can you name in the cabinet?, backbenchers? opposition td’s (easy one for you)
    now read your statement above and ask yourself who is fooling who?

Mute Bingy
    Favourite Bingy
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:20 AM

Certainly won’t be paying,my water is brown just like they people who implement these charges!

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Jun 10th 2015, 2:52 PM

Good to see PM up in arms about the really important social issues again, as his silence was deafening during the marriage equality referendum.

One trick pony anyone?

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:02 PM

u trolls are boring. 6 followers on twitter…I would love to know the mindset of a troll. Is it because u have sad existence that u love to be hated?

Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:36 PM

Paul Murphy TD- Vote YES to Marriage Equality
    http://www.thejournal.ie/vote-with-us-video-campaign-1967752-Mar2015/

The Anti-Austerity Alliance held its final press conference today in Dublin to call for a Yes vote. TDs Joe Higgins, Paul Murphy and Ruth Coppinger were joined by Helen Redwood an LGBT parent, and Meabh Hennelly a school student involved in the Spectrum group, a new LGBT school students’ campaign.
    http://antiausterityalliance.ie/2015/05/press-statement-anti-austerity-alliance-19th-may-2015/

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jun 10th 2015, 3:17 PM

i contacted irish water this morning to arrange payment. i made three calls in total, first call i was cut off mid way through the call. second call i managed to speak to a human, was told i could not set up a direct debit over the phone but i would be transferred to another human, was subsequently cut off before i could speak to them. I was again cut off mid way through the third call. no wonder people aren’t paying – Irish water make it impossible.

Mute Jānis Circenis
    Favourite Jānis Circenis
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:14 PM

I logged into their website and paid by credit card – no problems whatsoever…

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:35 PM

There are umpteen different ways to pay. You just don’t want to. At least be honest about it.

Jun 10th 2015, 10:15 PM

Janis you trusted IW with your credit card details seriously?

Mute Jānis Circenis
    Favourite Jānis Circenis
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:03 PM

Why not – they didn’t charge me more than required.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:35 AM

Best form of protest is non payment. When they haven’t been crowing about the high payment compliance levels, you know the money coming in is miniscule.

Mute Michael O'Hehir
    Favourite Michael O'Hehir
    Jun 11th 2015, 4:33 AM

Kenny and Co-unts are going to the same place as Bertie

Mute josecafe
    Favourite josecafe
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:32 PM

I’ve paid its a common utility charge all across Europe. we got away without paying long enough now for a reality check.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:28 PM

You mean our infrastructure to date was built without any money being invested? that’s a neat trick.

Mute Dublin Living
    Favourite Dublin Living
    Jun 11th 2015, 11:26 AM

Ah, you want the investment to happen magically with fairy dust pulled from a unicorn’s a*se. Then you’ll happily pay, eh?

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:08 PM

You’ll pay for this. you’ll all pay for this. for the water I mean.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:06 PM

No. They can extract it from me on an involuntary basis but I won’t voluntarily pay it.

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:17 PM

Has that little bolli# anything else to say ?

Mute joe reilly
    Favourite joe reilly
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:18 PM

Did pay as I think we should , my only issue was that the bill I got was wrong, wrong amount used and it had to be as it was not read from meter that serves my home. A visit tomorrow from Irish water hopefully will fixed that.Also my usage is low

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:40 PM

great Joe. can I send you a invoice to pay your years vat again while your at it. there’s one born every minute.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:56 PM

It’s laughable that the clown “protestors” have spent more on travel/fuel to attend protests than they would ever pay in water charges. And still end up paying the charge, in one way or another (most from their dole payments I’m guessing)

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:33 PM

@Paul:
    You haven’t a clue have you?!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:37 PM

John -yes he has a clue

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:14 AM

@johnward oh yes i do. Remember the property tax tax that ye all swore not to pay? That ye are now paying in many different involuntary ways? LOL

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:36 PM

He’s still talking about water?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 10th 2015, 11:02 PM

Yup.And I have proof that his bill has already been paid. His mammy did it behind his back, afraid her little boy would get in trouble

Mute David Breese
    Favourite David Breese
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:23 PM

I registered months ago and am still waiting for my bill.

Mute niall gargan
    Favourite niall gargan
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:49 PM

still waiting on my bill.cash waiting..lefty trolls!

Mute niall gargan
    Favourite niall gargan
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:51 PM

waiting on me bill..cash waiting..leftys..

Mute Mark McAuley
    Favourite Mark McAuley
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:49 PM

I honestly can’t believe this stupidity of some people. The quango and the real purpose of Irish Water is right before their eyes yet they feel obligated to pay – just because a deceitful government rammed through legislation. I reckon that if the government said, ‘We’re going to introduce new legislation to begin applying lethal injections to the sick because our health service is in crisis. We also don’t have the money to pay for the lethal injections so when you visit the hospital, you will pay for the charge’.. I reckon some ‘law-biding citizens would pay. Its obvious if they are prepared to pay for water again. Remember, this govt had every intention to turn families water supply down to a trickle. The only reason they didn’t was because real Irish citizens decided enough is enough..

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Jun 11th 2015, 7:30 AM

Im planning on paying, but unless IW can produce solid proof that the water flowing through those pipes is theirs,Im paying nothing.

Mute Will J. Browne
    Favourite Will J. Browne
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:52 PM

When IW tried to explain why water services cost money, ant-water charge protesters complained that they were being condascending. They said that it implied that people were so thick that they couldn’t understand the concept. I’m beginning to wonder though.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Jun 11th 2015, 9:27 AM

The whole what?

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jun 11th 2015, 4:09 PM

I have more important bills to pay, esb, gas, car ins, car tax, phone, food, etc The water tax doesn’t rate in my house.

Mute Lennie
    Favourite Lennie
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:07 PM

I hear 10% of bills have been paid.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:57 PM

Resist, resist and continue to resist. This Government must be brought to heel.

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Jun 11th 2015, 8:24 AM

God,that man is some pain in the whole.

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Jun 15th 2015, 6:50 PM

See the people on this who paid. All I can say is I wonder where the thickest people in th e country are and I just found them. Now I know for sure The Journal is a Fianna Gael favourite.

Mute Dublin Living
    Favourite Dublin Living
    Jun 11th 2015, 11:24 AM

I’m one those who thinks we should have a reasonable water charge and that the rabble-rousing of the protesters has damaged our country terribly.

But, even I will be slow to pay right now because it’s obvious you can get away with it and why I should I pay when others don’t. This factor will badly distort any figures about how many have paid.

The reality is a lot of people, probably a majority, think a proper water charge is a good idea. You don’t hear us because we’re not shouting as loudly. We’re not defending the mistakes that have been made and we certainly don’t like DOB but that’s separate.

Mute Pippin Cox
    Favourite Pippin Cox
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:04 AM

I have very angrily paid my water charges today because I feel as though my ‘voice’ does not count in my own country. I have no faith in our political parties believing they have ‘agendas’ and don’t fight the causes of the people. I always voted against Europe, believing instead that we should become self sufficient. I also went on every march against Irish Water but I feel powerless. Many of this older generation have had it instilled in us to pay our bills on time. However, I haven’t met anyone yet who supports paying Irish Water as we have always paid it through our tax system. However, we do feel that we have been bullied into it. Please don’t listen to the politicians ‘crowing’ about how many people have paid the charges. The mindset of the older generation is based on ‘fear’ certainly not justice.

Mute Paul Mc Carney
    Favourite Paul Mc Carney
    Jun 11th 2015, 2:49 AM

I have been on a private water scheme for 10 years and received a water bill for € 64.10 . This joke of a corupt organization don’t even know who to bill and who not to chancers

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:21 AM

I paid the water charge (not metered as I can’t see a way they can meter these flats) as I’m a Corporation tenant and I don’t want any trouble with them for not paying charges. On the other hand both my brother and my daughter who both own their own homes are refusing to pay for water.