You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of a person filling in the Census form Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

If your Census form hasn't been collected yet, you've been asked to post it back

Returning Census forms by post is free of charge to the householder.

PEOPLE WHOSE CENSUS form has not yet been collected have been asked to post the form back to the Central Statistics Office (CSO).

Enumerators are now completing their collections. However, the CSO has advised people whose form not yet been collected, to “post it without delay”.

Returning Census forms by post is free of charge to the householder.

Census forms can be returned to the following address:

Central Statistics Office
PO Box 2021
Freepost 4726
Swords
Co Dublin
K67 D2X4

Once the two million forms are all returned to Census Head Office in Swords, they will be scanned and the data analysed before being published as anonymised statistics.

In a statement released today, the CSO said: “These statistics are vital for planning public services such as roads, schools, hospitals, and housing. Preliminary population figures from Census 2022 are expected to be published by mid-summer.

“As well as producing the results from Census 2022, the CSO is now looking ahead to the next census which will take place in 2027. Plans are progressing on providing an online response option which will be part funded by the European Union National Recovery and Resilience plan.”

Eileen Murphy, Head of Census Administration, added: “We have seen great public support for the Census so far and would encourage anyone who still has their form to please post it back as soon as possible.

“By law everyone who was present in the country on Census night must be recorded on a form, so it is really important that the completed forms are returned to us now. If you know of someone who needs extra support with their form, we ask you to check in with them and help them get in touch with us for further information if required.”

If a form has been lost or damaged, people have been advised to contact the CSO for a replacement form online or by calling 0818 2022 04.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

15 Comments
    Mute Randy savage
    Favourite Randy savage
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:47 PM

well done Ó Ríordáin you scored some cheap political points with this stunt. Nobody cares about your opinion you certainly dont represent me or my mates. I come from a hard working background and never got anything for free. you are getting no sympathy from me and whats more how dare you waste the cops time to further your political career at a time when crime in the inner city is up the walls you want them to investigate rubbish… grrrrr

Mute Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Favourite Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:59 PM

Spot on Randy!

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:12 PM

“If we are to have a debate about immigration in this country then we need to do it in a calm, responsible and well researched manner with a view to an end, with a view to a particular course of action to take place.”

Good, so next time don’t call the Guards when the other side speaks!!!

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:37 PM

The other side? I will not represent black people is not a side of any argument.

Mute PaddyPatPa
    Favourite PaddyPatPa
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:07 PM

@conor, black people in his constituency, there is a difference, who’s to say he has not met every single one and decided that he should speak the truth. It might have been that they were just plain rude because they were and not cos of race or nationality

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:14 PM

Errrr, because Paddy, that’s not what he said. What he actually said is all over the web for anyone to plainly read.

Mute Dublin City
    Favourite Dublin City
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:19 PM

What other side? The comments of Darren Scully were racist. He said he would no longer deal with a particular race. This seems to be accepted as a ‘side’ to a non-existent debate. There certainly can be a reasonable debate about immigration of integration, but simply saying ‘I won’t be dealing with or representing that particular group’ based on nothing other than their race is racist. If he had said ‘I henceforth refuse to deal with people originally from Kerry resident in Naas, because most of them who have come to see me in my surgery have been abusive’ we would see him as an idiot. Sadly a large number of people accept his comment on black people as acceptable. His comments suggest that all black African people are the same, which is patently ridiculous, and before a range of people ride in to say he probably meant Nigerians (a group who have become a bit of a punchball for abuse), Nigerians are not all the same, in much the same way that all Irish people are not the same.

There are different ways to deal with this. We could ignore it, which allows it ti be unchallenged and sends s very clear message to Africans resident in Ireland that we think it is okay or that his comments are the side of an illusory debate. We can criticise him, but say free country and all that, who cares if his comments give succour to those who would sow further division and hatred in our communities, as long as we can combat it with words. That is all very nice and liberal, but it does nothing to stop more nuts from saying similar things and it certainly does nada for families with baying mobs at their doors trying to drive them out or kids picking up on the acceptability that an alleged debate gives an argument and attacking their black classmates. Someone needs to take a stand! Hate speech is violence and is no different from picking up a rock and throwing it. Darren Scully picked up a racial grenade and threw it, hoping to win the hearts and minds of those who were filled with hate and intolerance. Aodhan O Riordain did what decent citizens should do. He reported an act of verbal violence to the Gardai. Let’s hope the Gardai do their work and disarm and decommission Mr. Scully!

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:42 PM

He didn’t call the Gardai, though. He got his secretary to submit a boilerplate version of his tweet.

It was a lazy attempt to make political capital out of Scully’s stupidity, nothing more.

Mute Ballyer Rules
    Favourite Ballyer Rules
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:16 PM

Cop on to yourself man. We should of had a national debate on the whole refugee policy of the government years ago. It’s a shambles and there is an impression that these economic migrants are here to abuse our social welfare system. People who contribute to society are welcome in my book wether there black or white. And before the ‘Irish went all over the world’ brigade start, yes we do but we work our way and contribute to society.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:38 PM

Have you been abroad to see that Ballyer? I have, and trust me, NOT ALL Irish do work hard abroad. Just like not all foreigners are here to bleed the system! That’s the problem with making brash generalisations.

Mute debbie
    Favourite debbie
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:18 PM

Spot on

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:22 PM

What’s funny is that people can slag the Irish abroad and not get jailed or Fred from their jobs. Bloody White Irish.

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:11 PM

Brilliant stuff Aodhan. No racists welcome in our society.

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:20 PM

No blank one sided one sentence commenters welcome either. Highly counter productive

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:43 PM

Good job you managed to squeeze a second sentence out then. Just.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:46 PM

True. All sides need to be heard.

Mute PaddyPatPa
    Favourite PaddyPatPa
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:50 PM

Careful we don’t want to ‘incite hate’ against racists, I mean they’re probably a minority group within the country. This PC bull goes too far sometimes

Mute Eamonn O'Neill
    Favourite Eamonn O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:52 PM

Racism of any type has no place in modern Irish society

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:58 PM

who red-thumbed this?

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:21 PM

This whole thing was blown out of proportion on this site. Fair enough the councillors comment was misguided and unwelcome, but the underlying fact that us natives are getting hot and bothered about is that the majority of our African friends come across rude and brazen and feel that they’re owed everything from a house to a mclaren buggy for their kids. I personally don’t think he was picking on an ethnic minority for political gain, he just had a pain in his hole dealing with rude people who happened to be African. Last thing, I think mr o snodaigh should concentrate more on the likes of corrupt bankers and bond holders than reporting someone for inciting hatred.

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:34 PM

That’s my point too. There needs to be discussion on these things.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:51 PM

Spot on, Jambbie

Mute Paul Cunnane
    Favourite Paul Cunnane
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:26 PM

“…the majority of our African friends come across rude and brazen and feel that they’re owed everything from a house to a mclaren buggy for their kids.”

Naturally, you have statistics to back up this assertion…?

Or is this the new definition of “majority” which means “I just pulled a baseless assertion out of my ass”?

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:30 PM

Not to mention the fact that Scully apologised several times in the media for his comments. Yet an apology still isn’t good enough for Mr High and Mighty Ó Ríordáin.

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:35 PM

@Paul who says all Africans are black? How is it racist? It’s countryist/continentist. That ain’t racist

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:46 PM

Scully referred to “Black Africans”, Aidan.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:47 PM

“he had a pain in his hole dealing with rude people who happened to be African” or was it ” he had a pain in his hole with African people who happened to be rude”? There is a difference . If the FG councillor had said “I’m not going to represent anymore people who are rude to me (including black Africans)”, then no problem. But he didn’t say that he said it the other way round. And given the amount of verbal abuse being thrown about, it would appear the “incitement to hatred Act” is appropriate here.

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:57 PM

Sorry, but I’m not buying this. What Darren Scully said was wrong, idiotic and racist. He was gratuitously and unnecessarily offensive, but the author of this piece needs to get down off the cross and stop playing the martyr. He talks about having a calm, responsible debate on immigration, but like a true doctrinaire liberal, for all his talk about tolerance and the protection of immigrants, he is clearly deeply intolerant of any opinions which differ, however unsavoury they may be, and will only defend the right of people to agree with him. A calm debate on immigration is impossible in this country when you have a shrill, hysterial lynch-mob of political correctness police who attempt to criminalise and exclude alternative points of view. I found the glee smugness with which he announced that he tried to have a man charged a bit sickening to be honest. His actions WERE cynical, and WERE an exercise in political point scoring.

What’s VERY interesting to me is how the PC-Left’s opinions stink of a different, but more insidious form of racism. He makes a couple of interesting assumptions about immigrants – firstly, that they don’t have access to media. This is stated, but not substantiated. Why is this? With one statement he has infantilised immigrants and exposed a rather condescending view of them, he feels compelled to be offended on behalf of those he doesn’t think can express it themselves. Maybe he underestimates the ability of immigrants to express their own opinions? He also says that many immigrants can’t vote. All legal immigrants can vote in local elections.
    There are many many foreign countries where this privilege would not be conferred on Irish immigrants.

Mute Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:50 PM

I just don’t trust a bloke that tries so hard to make his name even more Irish than it already is …all those fádá’s !! …your name is Aidan O’Riordan get over it, I would have thought a T.D. would have more pressing engagements(in view of the state the Country is in) than running around telling tales to the teacher so to speak and then taking the time to write columns about it ! ….I am not sure who’s inciting what here I am just glad you are not my T.D. …playing politics is not a good idea right now , your people are suffering put your personal feeling to one side and go do your Job ,yes Job that thing that most of your people wish they had ,oh and leave off with the fádás you realy don’t need them …

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:58 PM

What’s your stance on hyphens?

Mute Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:05 PM

?

Mute John McHugh
    Favourite John McHugh
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:14 PM

“What’s your stance on hyphens?”
    lol

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:30 PM

There’s so much wrong with your post Jilly. There are no fadas in fada. Sorry about that snide bit of racism from Jilly Aodhán but I can’t stand racism either. Don’t mind noting differences as I love variety but only noting the negatives drives me mad.

Forgive my name Jilly but it’s pronounced wrong without my fada and it’s always been really important to me! Is óinseach thú.

Mute Gerry Baker
    Favourite Gerry Baker
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:44 PM

I don’t trust people with more than one surname.

Mute Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:48 PM

Tracing my family roots on both sides, I use both parents names to make it easier for family to find me hence the hyphen ,is that ok with you Nivag? lol

Mute Darren O'Neill
    Favourite Darren O'Neill
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:45 PM

The reason the reputable newspaper would not publish your letter Aodhán Ó Ríordáin is probably because they seen through your self-serving political hype.

Its good to know Community Watch is alive and well and paid TD salary rates.

Mute James Lawless
    Favourite James Lawless
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:19 PM

You’ve explained why you are against racism. No problem with any of that. You’ve outlined how you have suffered (presumably pro-racist) abuse as a result of your actions. Bit surprised by that but you have my sympathies. However nowhere have you explained how Scully’s behaviour is governed by the act, what provisions he is alleged I have breached, what sections he has violated or what charges might be protected on what grounds? The court of justice is not the same as the court of public opinion. One column later, I’m still waiting for a credible legal explanation.

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:18 PM

aodahn why do you think it’s racist? He was just talking about a group of ungrateful unworkable people no?

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins

Idiot!

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:40 PM

He was talking about basically people from an entire continent. It just happens he only has to (or rather, refuses to) deal with a small group of them.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:12 PM

FFS, ok here you go, Aidan
    “I just made the decision, a conscious decision, earlier this year, that I just was not going to, myself personally, was not going to take on representations from black Africans.”

Mute debbie
    Favourite debbie
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:19 PM

He said what where all thinking let’s be honest

Mute Ballyer Rules
    Favourite Ballyer Rules
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:44 PM

@ Dave. Did you bother to read my post before you commented on it. I did not say all foreigners are here to abuse system. I said there is an impression that economic migrants are posing as legitimate refugees and abusing the social welfare system. There is a strong case to be made for that. The problem with this subject is the PC brigade with a holier than thou attitude don’t listen to what others are saying.

Mute eimsley
    Favourite eimsley

So many racists in ireland! And mostly in denial… Time to go back to the basics! Generalising by nationality, skin colour etc = racist

No debate required

Mute mr x
    Favourite mr x
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:00 PM

Cheap political points scoring nothing else, if he was a labour representative would you have been so quick to report it to the guards?

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:29 PM

I’m Irish and lived here for a number of years with my Canadian partner. When staff in hotel or restaurants heard the Canadian accent the usual assumption was that we were tourists. The sudden change in manner and attitude when informed that we lived here was striking.
    There were numerous situations where even insults were made by staff in shops and restaurants on hearing the ‘American’ accent. I just hate to think what it would have been like if my partner had been black!
    Irish people need to get a grip. If we need to make our way with our own currency once more tourism will be one of our main stays and xenophobia won’t pay the bills.

Mute Jilly Smyth-Gannon
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:57 PM

I am Irish John and my husband is Egyptian and I have never experienced any kind of racism ,my husband made some realy good friends in Dublin and we are always treated well wherever we go or stay when we go home …

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:17 PM

I take it that you live abroad and visit Ireland. We done that too. I lived in Canada and we visited here on a fairly regular basis and, like yourselves were treated well then. My point Jilly is the negative reaction only started when we actually lived here and told people so. The message was clearly out there you’re welcome as a visitor or tourist but not as a resident.

Mute Charles Mark
    Favourite Charles Mark
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:05 PM

Scully is a disgrace and deserves to be punished in the court of public opinion and at the ballot box but this kind of gesture politics is what makes the self-regarding wing of the Labour Party so irritating.

Mute Kieran Dunne
    Favourite Kieran Dunne

I agree fully. The racist underbelly which has being building in this country over the past number of years is nothing short of shocking. The reports are there. The gov, however, are not brave enough to tackle the issue – or even address it for that matter.

Mute Kieran Dunne
    Favourite Kieran Dunne
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:15 PM

Firstly – his name is O’Riordan and not the SF TD you make reference to.

Secondly – if you think this has been blown out of porportion check out the comment threads under the relevant articles. Completly racist comments receive hundreds of likes.

And finally, check the UNAR Ireland website – their latest report on Ireland took place before Scully affair. Makes for interesting read

Mute Aydo
    Favourite Aydo

Ireland was always racist. Theres nothing building over the last few years. It stems from a religious past and British rule.

Anyway, Calling anyone up for racism is 100% correct. Everyone is essentially the same, it’s just our upbringings that differ. Differences and diversity should be celebrated.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:25 PM

One dumb-ass jumping on the back of another dumb-ass!!!!!

Seriously does our country not have some real issues that require this TDs attention?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:51 PM

Thanks Aodhán for having the courage to bring the racism debate out in the open. There’ll be those that will say you’ve just done this for the glory. I think anyone awake in Ireland over the past few years would know that all you’d get would be the type of abuse you’ve duly received.

All it takes for evil to flourish is for good men to stay silent… and all that. Sick of reading this racist shite from all these here but just wanted to join you to share a bit with you.

Slán agus go raibh maith agat.

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:25 PM

Well done Aodhán on doing the correct and conscionable thing. I cannot believe or understand the amount of abuse that you are receiving for your actions! Nor can I comprehend the level of cynicism on this column – it seems that you can’t do something good without having some ulterior motive or other.

Cllr. Scully’s remarks were completely without basis and inflammatory. I firmly believe in the principle of free speech, nevertheless the right to free speech comes with a responsibility not to cause serious offence. Would all of the racists on this column be okay if Cllr. Scully came out and said that he would be no longer willing to represent the disabled? Would they send Deputy Ó’Riordáin letters calling him a child molester in this instance? Would the defenders of reckless free speech be out in force on this column. I should think not.

Mute Charles Mark
    Favourite Charles Mark
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:48 PM

What are you going on about? If the right to free speech is curtailed by an obligation not to give offence then freedom of speech is meaningless.The bar for criminality should be set very high, much higher than in this case.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:59 PM

If he was so worked up about this and it wasn’t a cheap stunt then why didn’t he go down to his local police station and file a proper complaint? http://www.independent.ie/national-news/td-told-to-refile-racism-complaint-against-mayor-2953048.html He sent his secretary down instead with a scrap of paper ! Does this sound like a man who was serious about his outrage? Does he seriously think that sending a post-it note down to his local Gardai and expect them to jump into action just because he is a TD is anyway to show respect to the Gardai? What a load of horse shit! A cheap political stunt and he is fooling no-one.

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:51 PM

He’s doing about as much to further a mature discussion on the issues of immigration, integration, and welfare dependency as Scully did, which is the square root of bugger all.

And it needs to be discussed. Without blanket condemnation of entire continents, coupled with death threats and copious “n” words on one side-and accusations of racism levelled against anyone who has an opinion, denials of any problem, and spurious tweets to the Gardai on the other.

Mute Multi talentless
    Favourite Multi talentless
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:07 PM

He’s not doing this to gain votes from immigrants because ” Many of them can’t vote ”

Bit of a sweeping generalisation about immigrants there

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:17 PM

in the past couple of months we’ve seen racist remarks by a mayor, newspapers banned and debates cancelled in tcd, and a mob try to shut down the israeli film festival. is this modern ireland or nazi germany? what next? enda kenny refusing to shake hands with the black athlete who brings the olympic torch to dublin?

Mute Monor Curry
    Favourite Monor Curry
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:49 PM

Very well said! Céad míle fáilte?

Mute declan harkin
    Favourite declan harkin
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:37 PM

Ireland the land of a 1000 welcomes…not so much anymore! The problem is that the Irish historically emigrated to English speaking countries, got jobs and became part of the communities they moved to. This hasn’t happened with many of the immigrants here which has created a divide. Scully just threw the shit into the fan.

Mute Michael Forde
    Favourite Michael Forde
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:02 PM

No, Scully decided he was going to deal with one section of the community en-masse rather the taking each case at its merits. This is the problem. It has nothing to do with Irish people emigrating to english speaking countries or anywhere else. Scully’s actions were racist they should be investigated. If he was do the same for any other section of the community there would be outrage, so why is it different for “black africans”. At the very least this constitutes gross negligence, as he was an elected official and it was his job to represent all of those in his constituency, not just the one that voted for him.

Mute Dublin City
    Favourite Dublin City
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:35 PM

Irish people integrated, but usually in the first generation born in that country. The Irish immigrants to Britain, America etc tended initially to cling together, to socialise together, to intermarry. We have had immigration for about 15 years. Give it time and you will see the kids of the immigrants will be integrated, because well this is their country, they know no other. They also will grow up here and already we are seeing kids entering college who speak with Dublin or rural accents and happen to have Nigerian parents or Ukrainian parents or Chinese parents. They have grown up there. They will want the same things as their classmates. I was in the Jervis Centre a few weeks ago and witnessed a very excited queue of several hundred teenage girls (and the odd boy) queuing to get the new JLS album signed by the band themselves. What struck me was the ethnic diversity of the queue. Here was a gaggle of Irish teenagers on the verge of fainting due to the excitement at meeting a boyband all queuing around the Jervis Centre together. I am sure their parents’ music may have differed but they all grew up here and like the same stuff. Integration takes time and it happens usually through kids. Watch this space!

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:38 PM

“The problem is that the Irish historically emigrated to English speaking countries, got jobs and became part of the communities they moved to. This hasn’t happened with many of the immigrants here which has created a divide.”

Very true point. The Irish integrated, where as the trend towards multiculturalism in recent years means that very different people with different cultures are supposed to live side by side and get on. History shows this is never a good idea. Integration of migrants should be the government policy.

Mute Keith Maguire
    Favourite Keith Maguire
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:55 PM

Cheap political stunt on your part too. Trying to make yourself out as a hero. The former mayor may have been racist and stupid but he was hardly trying to incite hatred or a breach of the peace.

Mute Barry Lynch
    Favourite Barry Lynch
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:49 PM

This is not directly related to Darren Scully’s comments but related to the issue of racism. 4 Muslim women who attacked a white girl in Leicester in the UK reportedly while yelling “kill the white slag” were recently freed after the judge hears “they weren’t used to drinking because they were Muslim”.
    During the attack, there were lumps of hair ripped from the woman’s head. Can’t post a link for the story here, but do a search for ‘drunk Muslim girl gang’. Does this seem fair compared to what the woman at the centre of the #mytramexperience case (completely verbal from the 2 minute clip which she is apparently being judged on) is facing?

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh

A heinous miscarriage of justice.

Bit like that guy who drove bollixed the wrong way up the Naas dual carriageway and slammed into a car killing the driver. Got a suspended sentence because he was a “good guy” or some such nonsense.

That tram lady was a vile harridan though.

Mute John McHugh
    Favourite John McHugh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:31 PM

Your right, your assertion is not relevent at all. Its almost like saying because the majority of holiday destinations are sick of loud, obnoxious drunken irish/british visiting and creating a mess that they should paint all irish/british with the same brush. Nobody in their right mind would agree that this is fair and if say you do your lying.
    You would hardly think its o.k if you were refused/judged because you were irish.

And that comparison is not 100% accurate either becuase the statement in question was over someones skin colour. A nationality may have societal norms but it has nothing to do with skin colour. People defending this guy are morons.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:49 PM

No Blacks, no dogs, no Irish… How things have changed, eh?

Mute Chopper
    Favourite Chopper
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:33 PM

I know Daisy, with the reaction I’ve seen to Scully’s comments, I’m half-seriously waiting to see the sign:

“No Blacks, No Dogs, Only White Irish (except for Paul McGrath, ’cause we like him!)”

I don’t care if someone calls it PC-gone-too-far, or disparages the whole “Irish over the world” argument-brigade (like commentators above); fair enough, that’s their opinion, I don’t agree.

There is nothing politically correct about standing up to racism; no discrimination should be tolerated, whether it’s because you are black in Ireland, a catholic (or protestant) in Northern Ireland, or, like in the 50s, 60s, 70s, and 80s, a spud-thick mick working the tunnels and sites of London.

Like a lot of folk, I lived in England during the 80′s recession – I met a West Indian preacher who said: “You Irish understand, you were treated like us when we came here in the 50′s. Brothers… [as he put out his hand]” Any Irish person who lived abroad and who’s been on the receiving end of intolerance should at least have patience, if not understanding, with immigrants try to adapt to this country.

I don’t like Ó Ríordáin, but I’ll give him credit for this one – if only to keep the debate about racism and immigration alive.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:54 PM

Very very well said chopper. I’ve been at the receiving end myself abroad – it aint nice.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:00 PM

I agree racism is wrong and should be acted on.In regards to yourself were the Garda informed before or after the Media.

Mute John Hughes
    Favourite John Hughes
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:24 PM

‘What Darren Scully was trying to do was make cheap political gain’. Ironic! It’s easy say now that this wasn’t your intention, just as I believe Darren Scully would probably now try to defend his indefensible statement.
    Politics is about perception and I think time will show that people feel that both of you were wrong and should have chosen more sensible courses of action.

Mute Jambbie
    Favourite Jambbie
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:22 PM

O riordan … Apologies

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 8th 2011, 7:23 PM

And you should be down there talking to the constituents, not spending time re stating your points. You should be down there working on resolving any tensions. Get involved

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty

@nivag quoting like that is exactly the type of people that are nit picking. See ya

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:32 PM

What, nit-picking like judging him on what he ACTUALLY said rather than on what we HOPED he said? Great stuff.

Mute John McHugh
    Favourite John McHugh
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:43 PM

I suppose its nivags fault that this guy was too stupid to even try and conceal is idiotic racist behaviour. He is racist, whether you want to listen to his words or not is irrelevent.
    The fact you are defending and hiding from them speaks a hell of alot for how you think.
    Oh, no’s please don’t use his own words to prove what a moron he and his posse are.