You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The IMF's headquarters in Washington DC. AP Photo/Jose Luis Magana/PA

IMF computer systems attacked but extent of damage not known

Attack described as a “very major breach” occurred sometime in the last several months, but the IMF hasn’t revealed the scope of the attack.

THE IMF, already reeling from last month’s arrest of its former leader, is investigating an attack on its computer system.

IMF spokesman David Hawley said the organisation is fully functional. He declined to provide further details on what he termed an “IT incident,” including its scope or nature and whether any sensitive data were taken. The IMF has confidential information on countries in financial trouble – including Ireland.

The New York Times cited unnamed IMF officials as saying the attack was sophisticated and serious.

The IMF told staffers about it on Wednesday but hasn’t made a public announcement.

The organisation is already facing a public-relations headache after the arrest of Dominique Strauss-Kahn, who resigned as its chief last month after being accused of sexually assaulting a maid in a New York hotel.

French Finance Minister Christine Lagarde, Mexican central bank chief Agustin Carstens and others are vying for the top job. Stanley Fischer, Israel’s central bank chief, emerged as a candidate Saturday.

It’s not clear if hackers were targeting the IMF. Hackers sometimes try to distribute malicious software code widely and see which organisations it can infect. But they can also choose targets. Using a technique called “spear phishing,” for instance, they can trick employees of a specific organisation into clicking a link that then gives hackers access to its computer systems.

Dave Jevans, chairman of computer security firm IronKey Inc., said he’s concerned by an uptick in “hacktivism,” where groups target organisations for political purposes.

It’s possible the IMF was the victim of such hacktivism. However, one official cited by the Times said the attack occurred over the last several months, before the troubles involving Strauss-Kahn.

Concerns about the IMF attack were great enough that the World Bank cut a computer link that allows the two organisations to share non-sensitive information, according to a bank official. The move was taken out of “an abundance of caution,” said the official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because of the security issues around the incident.

The IMF attack follows a string of major data breaches. In recent months, hackers have penetrated 100 million Sony PlayStation accounts, the networks of Lockheed Martin and the customer email databases of a company that does marketing for Best Buy and Target stores. Google has accused Chinese hackers of targeting the Gmail accounts of U.S. government officials.

About 200,000 Citibank credit card customers in North America had their names, account numbers and email addresses stolen.

- AP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View comments
Comments
    Mute Kieran Monaghan
    Favourite Kieran Monaghan
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:44 PM

My tree is up.
    In the attic where it belongs until December.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:37 PM

Proper order :-)

Mute Max
    Favourite Max
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:21 PM

@Kieran Monaghan: Mine is in the forest where it belongs.

Mute John finn
    Favourite John finn
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:36 PM

8th of December is tradition….and take down 7 January after little Christmas 6 January.

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:26 PM

No we wait until after the 8th we have just always done that and we get excited as the time nears. Each to their own.

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:46 PM

Spare a thought for atheists this Christmas. Can’t be easy for them watching everyone else having a ball, hugging each other, family reunions, eating mince pies and generally exuding an air of peace and goodwill to all men.
    If there’s an atheist in your neighbourhood drop a card in their letterbox to let them know they’re not alone this Christmas and hopefully they’ll glimpse a little bit of light in their lives before they go to hell.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:51 PM

@Tommy Haze: does that include a la carte Catholics?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:51 PM

@Tommy Haze: those little balls of misery, Tommy lol

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Ich
    Favourite Ich
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:13 PM

@Tommy Haze: Wishing people to go to hell contradicts the Christmas spirit. It‘s supposed to be all about love, kindness, forgiveness and caring for each other. I am agnostic.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:26 PM

@Tommy Haze: atheists can still celebrate an old European cultural tradition. Born from religion, but installed in a lot of people’s minds as more of a tradition than a religious feast.
    Unbridled consumerism (which is what Christmas has become in our societies) is probably not something the founders of Christianism would have approved of

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:27 PM

@Tommy Haze: What is ‘hell’?

Mute tommy bailey
    Favourite tommy bailey
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:31 PM

@Tommy Haze: You’re a muppet.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:33 PM

@Ich: Dont hear it often over here. Not sure most even know what it means really

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:51 PM

@Tommy Haze:
    LOL…. Love it. Look at all the angry atheists you triggered ! LOL. Take a bow sir !

Mute Naoise Gaffney
    Favourite Naoise Gaffney
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:24 PM

@Tommy Haze: I’ll celebrate the winter solstice and the return of the sun.

Seasons greetings and hugs to all!!

Mute kkjLtYn1
    Favourite kkjLtYn1
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:01 PM

@Tommy Haze: I’m an atheist, doesn’t stop me from eating mince pies, drinking egg nog and having a merry old time. All these pursuits are nothing to do with Christ or Christmas but rather are the invention of tawdry rip off merchants cashing in. Glad to see you enjoy these things in the true “Christian spirit”!!

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:58 PM

@Tommy Haze:
    What a comment, they’re still biting ! The Christmas gift that keeps on giving. Well played Tommy, LOL.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 4:05 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    A grown adult getting upset over a comment that is obviously a wind-up and you call him pathetic? You absolute Muppet . LOL

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:18 PM

@brian o’leary: It will be great when all us Catholics go to heaven, and there’s. One of them pesky non believers there. I bet, they’ll be sorry

Mute John Deer
    Favourite John Deer
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:06 PM

@Jerry LeFrog: It’s christianity, not christianism, founded by Mr Jesus H Christ (The clue is in the name :) ).

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 10:29 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:

Still biting ? LOL…

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:26 AM

@Tommy Haze: must be decent wifi in hell since you are able to post from there so much…..

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:30 AM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    LoL … Still biting ? You took that one hook, line and sinker ! Like taking candy from a child … Nobody needs to be put straight by you. I’m laughing at you, you’re a gullible clown. LoL

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:38 AM

@Regular John: Falling for obvious bait being slightly less embarrassing than someone over the age of 15 trying to wind people up online. Any attention is good attention when you don’t get any in real life though, I suppose

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:45 AM

@Tommy Haze: I fear hell as much as you fear valhalla. Atheists celetrate Xmas as well btw. We just drop some of the Fairytales and leave it at Santa and the elves.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:49 PM

@Megan Ward:
    I didn’t wind anyone up, someone else did, save your insults for them. I’m just laughing at all these self proclaimed “atheists” getting all bent out of shape by it. I don’t think it was that obvious to some of them !

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:21 PM

@Regular John: Yes I’m aware, I am able to differentiate between different ‘names’, I was responding to your comment that laughs at the poor eejit who can’t recognise bait but doesn’t make any mention of the one throwing the bait being sad.

“Atheists” so I presume we’re going to start calling everyone ‘self-proclaimed “Catholics”‘, ‘self-proclaimed “Muslims”‘, ‘self-proclaimed “Protestants”‘, etc? Just to keep up the use of redundant quotation marks :)

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:22 PM

@Megan Ward:
    Ah here, it’s only having a laugh ! I’d say you’re great craic on a night out…

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:05 PM

@Regular John:
    They’ve still biting John, and that’s not even in my top 10 of atheist wind ups.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 11:01 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    You think I’m a God botherer ?LOL… You still don’t get it ! Oh man, you would swallow a brick. I can honestly say you are the most gullible person on here !

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 27th 2023, 11:04 PM

@Tommy Haze:

Oh man…. That has to be the comment of 2023. Keep them coming ! LoL…

Mute Megan Ward
    Favourite Megan Ward
    Nov 28th 2023, 2:43 PM

@Regular John: I am yeah, great observation, no auld da humour on the lash helps that

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 28th 2023, 6:05 PM

@Megan Ward:
    I bet you’re not a Dub? The Dubs love an auld wind-up.

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:05 PM

@Tommy Haze:
    An atheist is just someone who doesn’t believe in one more god than you do.

Mute I can see clearly now
    Favourite I can see clearly now
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:49 PM

Christmas is about family, friends, happiness, good cheer, the kids & santa – I don’t associate it with religion. The tree, it’s assembly and decoration I associate with a bottle of chardonnay, kindly gifted by a friend a little closer to Christmas than now.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:00 PM

@I can see clearly now: what consenting adults do behind closed doors is up to them.

Mute I can see clearly now
    Favourite I can see clearly now
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:43 PM

@brian o’leary: Clearly your bells haven’t been jingled in a while dear. Get them out, blow the dust off them and mind you don’t damage them on the pine needles.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:22 PM

@I can see clearly now: I wasn’t being critical, just suggesting to each their own. If people want to be religious, or buy lots of presents , that’s up to them. Your Christmas sounds pretty good BTW, except for the chardonnay…. I’m a sauvignon blanc man myself.

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:07 PM

Should never EVER be up before the first of December.

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:39 PM

@Todd Hebert: would you not even allow for 1st of Advent? The 4th Sunday before Xmas itself

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 10:43 PM

@Jimmy Wallace:
    Nothing to do with you, atheist boy. LOL

Mute Daithí O'Gruagáin
    Favourite Daithí O'Gruagáin
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:18 PM

Usually they put up around the 8th Dec. This year it’ll be the 15th Dec. Always taken down on the 7th January. Although one year when I was a student we took the decorations down two days after Paddy’s Day.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:37 PM

@Daithí O’Gruagáin: I remember that year – your Christmas tree was just a giant pyramid of empty cans.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry

I am going to have a steak the size of a toilet seat for dinner

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:21 PM

@Paul Gorry: Make sure to chew it well Paul,or you may have trouble later. Maybe slightly smaller than a toilet seat

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:47 PM

@Larry Betts: home bowl is the best bowl, Larry

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Favourite Damien O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2023, 4:29 PM

@Paul Gorry: Any peppercorn sauce and sautéed onions with that?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:21 PM

@Damien O’Sullivan: roast spuds as well, Damien

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:38 PM

@Paul Gorry: Fancy!!!

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:03 PM

@Damien O’Sullivan: bog standard in fareness:)

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:18 PM

@brian o’leary: Beats a spice/snack box any day!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:21 PM

@Damien O’Sullivan: You can’t beat a boiled egg

Mute Damien O'Sullivan
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:26 PM

@Larry Betts: Shepherds pie on an evening like this.
    Leave Paul eat his dinner in peace now lol

Mute Thom Thumb
    Favourite Thom Thumb
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:53 PM

Terrible attitude Mr Haze.
    I’m an atheist myself, but at least I believe in goodwill and in God .

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 12:56 PM

@Thom Thumb: I thought an atheist was defined as someone who doesn’t believe in god(s)?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:05 PM

@Thom Thumb: I’m a dyslexic atheist and I don’t believe in dog

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:31 PM

@brian o’leary: Someone who believes that Christian doctrine is rubbish. Agnostic is more of a ‘not sure’ category. You could celebrate Yule which is what was around before people who worshipped the land were told this place was a landfill by comparison to ‘heaven’ where when you die you meet your rellies (only the ones you like) and have a whale of a time for eternity… however long that is, lol.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:48 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: that’s interesting, what’s your take on the East 17′s song, Stay another day?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:15 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: You stepped in a poodle because it was raining cats and dogs.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:27 PM

@brian o’leary: Pretty much same :)

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Nov 26th 2023, 4:10 PM

Christmas trees are lovely, but is there any update on the condition of the five-year-old girl who had her throat slashed on Thursday afternoon? Is she even still alive?

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:00 PM

@Tríona Commode: It’s all over the news. The five-year-old girl remains in a critical condition in hospital along with the teaching assistant.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Nov 26th 2023, 9:27 PM

@Jimmy Wallace: Put down the pipe there, gorge – if you can use this comments section to cynically question people’s belief in god, then I can use it to ask other important questions.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 10:35 PM

@Tríona Commode:
    Go easy on him Tríona, he’s been very upset by a comment above winding up the atheists. He’s obviously a very delicate little flower. LOL.
    As regards the young girl that was attacked, I didn’t see anything about her condition today. Hopefully no news is good news and she pulls through.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s

I dont until december, my sis put hers up a week after halloween

Mute Quinn
    Favourite Quinn
    Nov 26th 2023, 2:25 PM

For me the birth of the Christ celebrates the winter solstice, the return of light, as Jesus represents the light of life. Trees? Meh!

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:26 PM

@Quinn: ‘The modern Christmas tree originated in Germany, where families set up a paradise tree in their homes on December 24, the religious feast day of Adam and Eve. They hung wafers on it (symbolizing the Eucharistic host, the Christian sign of redemption).’

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 4:17 PM

What fascinates me is the story of how the wee man himself was born in a manger,as there was no room at the inn. It beggars belief how they expected to find anywhere to stay anyway,as hardly anywhere is open at Christmas.

Mute JP
    Favourite JP
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:35 PM

Xmas is for atheists and everyone else who loves self indulgence, since religion has been kicked out it’s just empty.

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:40 PM

@JP: Nothing stopping you from celebrating your own Christmas in your own way. Although maybe you should go off & join a monastery.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:46 PM

@F Fitzgerald: You’d make a great Mother Superior yourself, Fiona.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Nov 26th 2023, 7:23 PM

There won’t be too many advent calendars in the shops this year. Their days are numbered.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 26th 2023, 11:08 PM

@Larry Betts:
    Ha ha ! You’re some boyo !

Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Nov 26th 2023, 3:13 PM

Do the children of atheists believe in santa? Just wondering

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 26th 2023, 6:36 PM

@Allo Allo: What is the ages of the children we’re talking?

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:09 PM

The deciduous trees in my overgrown back garden hedge are decorated with hedge birds all year. I don’t need a Christmas tree.

Mute Tríona Commode
    Favourite Tríona Commode
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:32 PM

@Garreth Byrne: Good man. Plastic robins have nothing on the real thing.

Mute MM
    Favourite MM
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:20 PM
    Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:48 PM

@MM: It isn’t, not a Christian one anyway!

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Favourite Philip Gallagher
    Nov 26th 2023, 9:30 PM

Tradition in our house is, it goes up after the Toy show. It’s up and it’s flashing away. The two cats are in it most of the day. Everyone to their own. I feel it is comforting

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Nov 26th 2023, 1:41 PM

No Christmas tree religion causes war and trouble

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Nov 26th 2023, 4:11 PM

@sleepy joe: Power hungry men cause war and use religion as an excuse.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 26th 2023, 5:18 PM

Today

Mute Colette Walsh
    Favourite Colette Walsh
    Nov 26th 2023, 11:28 PM

I never liked it that English people call Santa father Christmas. It seems that they’re the only ones who do.

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:22 AM

FFS its still November. I really would not object to a law banning all Christmas-related decorations, displays or music before December 1st.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 28th 2023, 1:08 PM

Sure why take them down ways going. Buy buy buy… greedy time year

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Nov 28th 2023, 1:06 PM

People put decorations up way to early. Getting earlier every year. Christmas not same as was when I was growing up ment more than buying stuff dont need. Heck people may go mass but dont bother rest year .