You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gallery: Yes and No campaigns make last ditch efforts to secure votes

We’re also taking a look back at some of the memorable images from the campaign …

AS THE BROADCAST moratorium comes into effect, the Yes and No camps in the Fiscal Compact referendum are engaged in some last ditch efforts to make themselves heard ahead of the polls opening tomorrow.

Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny has been canvassing in Dublin today, while Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams has appeared on Sky News in the past hour in the wake of the High Court’s ruling in Pearse Doherty’s complaint against the Referendum Commission.

YOUR Fiscal Compact questions answered>

Catch up on all of TheJournal.ie’s referendum coverage>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Scrap Croke Park
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 2:14 PM

If you want a resolution of this private German owned banking debt which was unfairly hoisted onto a terminally I’ll man by the sharks in the ECB, then vote No and let’s resolve it once and for all.

If you want to skype your kids and future grand kids over in Australia the vote Yes and it will come to pass.

This is our generations problem. Let’s not make it our generations legacy.

Vote No

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    May 30th 2012, 2:16 PM

So you’d rather borrow off bondholders at a much higher rate and not bother clearing our deficit?
    I’m undecided still, so if you can give me a good answer to that, it may sway me.

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 2:22 PM

If we give the private German bank debt back to Germany and cut our excessive upper level public service pay, our over generous welfare system, we can walk back into the markets.

If we don’t we cant ever pay off what we currently owe never mind the additional 60 billion that FIanna Gael-Fail and Labour want us to borrow.

Voting yes is a hospital pass for the next generation. I for one will hang my head in shame that we didn’t sort out our own mess

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 30th 2012, 3:16 PM

@Adrian,

A good reason in my opinion to vote no is the fact that we will be initially required to pay 11 billion euro that we don’t have into the ESM. That same fund will be drained almost as soon as it starts thanks to Spain being the closest it’s ever been to a bailout and inching further by the day. Once the ESM is drained it will need money to finance even more bailouts. Money we can’t afford to pay. We’ll be without ESM support no matter what way you vote.

Also look at the spending cuts that will be needed. Not one single European nation managed to achieve the budgetary targets set out in this treaty for more than 2 or 3 years during the GOOD times.

It’s your choice which way you want to vote and I commend you for using your right to vote no matter which side you go for.

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    May 30th 2012, 3:22 PM

Do you understand what “the markets” means? You give out about fg wanting to borrow and in the same post you want to encourage us to borrow.

As for clearing our deficit by defaulting on bank debt and cutting higher end public service pay. That won’t do even cover a fraction of it im afraid. As for cutting “generous welfare “. Yea that’s called austerity.

I’m sorry, but the more I find out about this the more it seems that the no side don’t really know why they want to vote no other than to punish the government or as some sort of anti bank debt, anti eu policy.

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    May 30th 2012, 3:23 PM

Thanks Jason that was a clearer answer, and is food for thought.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    May 30th 2012, 3:34 PM

No problem. I don’t claim that voting no will be a insta-fix solution. No vote will end austerity. What I do believe is that the markets will respond positively to a no vote and here is why.

Nobody wants to buy Irish bonds due to the belief that our sovereign debt combined with the banking debt we’ve taken on is too much for the state to pay back. And thus Ireland will default costing billions in investment. The markets want us to ditch the banking debt as much as they want us to reduce public spending or increase taxes. Voting no is a move towards shedding some of the bank debt and thus will be positively received by the markets.

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 3:45 PM

@Adrian. It’s not a default. It’s negotiating with Germany to take it back or use a European wide mechanism to handle it as is being mooted with the Spanish banks.

I’ve outlined in previous posts many more measures where we could cut waste and didn’t want to be repeating myself

Personally I’d prefer to balance the books immediately but I accept that the cuts required might be too bitter a pill to swallow all in one go. We also have the hangover of normal sovereign debt from when the govt sanctioned Croke park and refused to reign in public spending. Yes, we’d have to go to the markets for that, and for any deficit we couldn’t immediately close. My point is, if markets saw we had a sustainable debt and were running an efficient public service we could go back to them for our borrowing needs.

Yes the welfare system is “generous”. A married man with 4 kids in private rented accommodation is paid about 4,000 a month net between dole and rent, back to school allowances, medical card, free dental care, free buggies, communion payments and so on

Vote which ever way you feel is right by all means and good luck to you but personally I feel borrowing many more billions on top of what is already an unsustainable burden, just does not compute

Mute Johnny Gobstock
    Favourite Johnny Gobstock
    May 30th 2012, 8:35 PM

@Scrap Croke Park: i don’t know where you’re getting the ‘free dental care” from, once a year check up, a filling, clean, and thats it. and the prsi will only give you the same thing! hilarious

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 8:45 PM

Gobsmack. Them days are over. Prsi gets u nothing at all now. Zero.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 30th 2012, 9:37 PM

Same applies to med cards. 1 check up and thats your lot, and this applies to prsi aswell. The only reason they have allowed everyone in the country 1 free check up per year is as a form of oral cancer screening.

Mute Declan Lynch
    Favourite Declan Lynch
    May 30th 2012, 2:15 PM

Ok PLEASE READ PEOPLE, no party political spin, here is the truth: The treaty has been designed by Governments in the interest of their parties so they have permission to make cutbacks to education, health etc across Europe so they can tell their people we had to do it because of the treaty when their countries General election comes up as they must pay the gambling superrich bondholders who pump millions into their parties to implement the policies that favour them instead of the middle and lower classes!! Millions across Europe are voting governments out for implementing austerity and the parties in power know the only way they will get back in is to get permission from the people to implement it through this treaty. History has proven the bondholders will continue to gamble even if they are not paid back, although reluctantly. Its also proven no country has exited a recession without stimulating the economy. Neither side are telling the full truth and spinning the story to suit the electorate. Its completely unjust to pay back German bondholders for their gambling losses and it’s also unrealistic to tax the superrich at 70% as they will just work in a different country unless all of them have a socialist government like France. My view is to follow the independents who gain nothing from the outcome and push for a fair bank deal. Although this Countries leader is promoting the treaty, it is quite obviously seriously wrong due to The British Prime minister rejecting it, The Netherland parliament rejecting it’s policies, french people rejecting its policies, Greek people rejecting its policies, even the German Parliment have refused to ratify it yet. The Grandson of Eamon Develara Eamon O Cuiv risking a forced exit from his Grandfathers party for opposing it, many Labour, & Fine Gael councillors plus trade Unions opposing it, Nobel Prize winning economist Paul Krugman promoting the no vote, Obama stimulating America and China have now opted to stimulate China, which has helped the markets.The best point so far has been made by Richard Boyd Barrett TD by stating if Europe refuses us another bailout should we need it then the books can balanced on the Department of finance Growth projections for 2014 plus refusing to pay the interest rate on the last bailout which is what the people want anyway. Books balanced simple. Vote No for a Bank Deal and as Minister Bruton let slip the Government will ask for a deal on the unjust bank dept for the second referendum which the Dog on the street knows will happen!! Article 15 of the treaty also states that any country can sign up to the fiscal compact even after 2013. No Country in history has accepted a treaty that was’nt fully finalised, Dont make us the First, however we should respect the peoples decision as alot of them have been bullied into it. I will understand if people are bullied into a yes vote, AS THEY DONT know the facts, however understand if you do, then a yes will guarantee that we can APPLY for another bailout, not guaranteeing we will get it but It will guarantee that its written into LAW FOR GOOD and that the future generations of your children will be forced to pay back debt belonging to Foreign Bondholders. I wont be bullied, will you ?? Its time for bravery and gut instinct and confidence that no matter what happens the irish people with their backs against the wall are will not be bullied. Although the EU will force a bailout down our necks again as if they dont then their bondholders & banks wont be paid and it would have a huge adverse affect on the world economy which Obama wont let happen. This is the most important treaty since we joined the EU in the 70′s, this is our only chance to have our say on unjust bank dept, DO not be rushed into it, Push for a Bank Deal and second referendum by postponing this with a no Vote. Whatever happens have your say and vote as this will go down in History. Many Thanks for reading and sharing if you wish to copy!

Mute Toby Parker
    Favourite Toby Parker
    May 30th 2012, 2:39 PM

Well said Declan. I will be voting NO.

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    May 30th 2012, 3:02 PM

Too Long: Didn’t read.

I’m voting YES ( wouldn’t put it in capitals, but if you insist…..)

:p

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    May 30th 2012, 3:19 PM

You’re voting Yes, Colm? Was the treaty too long for you to read as well??

Mute Daffy Duck
    Favourite Daffy Duck
    May 30th 2012, 3:42 PM

Declan that was a superb piece. No No No.

Mute Nollaig Lonergan
    Favourite Nollaig Lonergan
    May 30th 2012, 5:25 PM

No from me :-)

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 5:52 PM

No better explanation of why to vote No. Why oh why has Inda no balls? Why didn’t he do the right thing and DEMAND this from Merkozy before he put it to the “peoples”.

He was too busy having his locks ruffled by Sarkozy and too drunk on the high of his over whelming mandate (we wanted rid of FF, Inda, it had nothing to do with u). I genuinely think the Inda himself thinks he is infallible.

What he is, is a weak, ineffectual, buffooning gombeen who could not get a real job to save his life. He couldnt be a leader if you put “cheer” in front of it. He’s a follower. In stone age times this guy would have starved – or would have been eaten – by me or any number of others. Lily livered lackey.

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon
    May 30th 2012, 6:18 PM

Let’s look at this treaty in another way. What will it achieve really? Well it’s main achievement would seem to be a harmonisation of economic policy throughout the member states using the Euro. So what’s the point of that? Okay, first we get the economics harmonised to achieve closer economic union. So now we have a shared currency and a shared economic perspective. The next step will be to “harmonise” political institutions throughout the Eurozone. Gradually transfer more power away from the nation states to Brussels. Practically this treaty holds no solutions for the current economic situation. The only purpose I can see in it is as a further stepping stone towards creating a centralised european super state with Ireland returning to it’s pre-independence dominion status under the rule of Brussels instead of London. Brilliant, so we end up as the Alabama of the EU! Let’s all start buyin chewin tabakky and takin them thar whittlin classes boys!

Mute PJ Brennan
    Favourite PJ Brennan
    May 30th 2012, 11:15 PM

Well said Declan…no for me

May 30th 2012, 2:12 PM

Jaysus that first picture did Kenny think he was meeting Merkel :-)

Mute Paul Morrissey
    Favourite Paul Morrissey
    May 30th 2012, 3:07 PM

He’s a fair snake in fairness to him.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    May 30th 2012, 3:19 PM

Pictures of Enda Kenny.

The legendary leader who bravely said that jobs in computer gaming are going to help get our country out of this economic black hole.

Truely historic.

Epic.

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    May 30th 2012, 2:14 PM

Tut tut moratorium was supposed to start at 2, and you posted this at 2:08pm :-)

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    May 30th 2012, 2:21 PM

Oh, I think it only applies to broadcast, shame, I was hoping thejournal would give it a rest too.

Mute Chris Dunphy
    Favourite Chris Dunphy
    May 30th 2012, 7:47 PM

Love pic No.8. What is the story with the Socialist Party and GUE/NGL? Making posters with such obvious and easily debunkable lies was a very stupid strategy.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    May 30th 2012, 3:24 PM

Has Enda Kenny got false teeth?! (Photo 10).

Mute Scrap Croke Park
    May 30th 2012, 5:54 PM

Hope he doesn’t sit on them. He’ll get enough of a bite in the ass tomorrow

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    May 30th 2012, 4:41 PM

Joan Collins T.D. ‏@JoanCollinsTD
    “I’ve released to the media the Bus Éireann meeting next week with unions and the covering up of it until after the #euref is over.”

https://twitter.com/#!/search/joancollinstd