You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

McEntee said she believed the technology should be a daily feature in a driver’s journey. Alamy Stock Photo

McEntee calls for increased implementation of average-speed cameras on roads

The minister signalled that increasing the use of average-speed cameras could lead to a reduction in the road policing unit.

MINISTER FOR JUSTICE Helen McEntee has called for increased use of average speed cameras.

McEntee said that investment in mobile speed-camera “GoSafe” vans had doubled across the country but that average-speed cameras need to be “looked at more”.

The minister signalled that increasing the use of average-speed cameras could lead to a reduction in the road policing unit and said she believed the technology should be a daily feature in a driver’s journey.

Speaking to reporters at a garda presentation tent at the National Ploughing Championships, she said the road safety measure had been successful in jurisdictions such as Scotland.

“They use average speed cameras much more. They have less of a road policing unit, they use technology in a different way and I think it’s something we need to look at.”

Ireland currently has average-speed cameras on the M7 motorway and the Dublin Port Tunnel. She said there had been a high level of compliance with speed limits on these routes.

McEntee said: “So, if you were to apply that to certain stretches of roads that we know are really dangerous, that are black spots, I really think it would make a difference.

“Whether it’s fixed cameras, average speed cameras, GoSafe vans, we need to use technology to work to reverse some of these trends.”

Last week, The Journal reported that speed limits of 30 km/h is to be recommended for many roads across Ireland in one of the biggest overhauls of speed limits the country has ever seen.

The speed limit of 30 km/h will apply to all urban centres, residential roads, and anywhere with a lot of pedestrians or cyclists. In practice, this will include many parts of Dublin as well as town and city centres across the country. 

There would be exceptions for national, regional, arterial, and key public transport routes, where it’s recommended the speed limit will be 50 km/h.

Certain ‘transitional’ routes would have limits of 60 km/h, while higher limits will still apply on motorways, some dual carriageways and other main routes. 

In rural areas, the report says default speed limits should remain as they currently are on most rural roads – but drop to 80 km/h on national secondary roads, where the limit is currently 100 km/h.

On local roads, the limit would drop from 80 km/h to 60 km/h on many routes. 

Additional reporting from Christina Finn, Jane Matthews and Christine Bohan.

92 Comments
    Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:55 PM

I was driving on a long straight 50 km/h road last Sunday, there were no other cars behind me so I slowed to 30 km/h and drove along for a few minutes. It actually felt kinda surreal. I tried to imagine driving all over Dublin at this speed. It’s absolutely nonsensical and is not the answer to saving lives.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:03 PM

@Regular John: Sometimes it’s even more difficult to drive at 30kph. Changing down gears,clutching,breaking and trying not to break the ‘speed limit’. The most important lesson that should be taught is Drive carefully,Drive safely,Respect all other road users. Awareness is more important than ignorance

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:08 PM

@Larry Betts: what you have mentioned there is pretty simple car control so if you can’t manage the basic then maybe you probably shouldn’t be driving!

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:10 PM

@Larry Betts: and not driving while using your phone

Mute mainmsam
    Favourite mainmsam
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:12 PM

@Fiona Wyse: leave Larry alone, Larry’s alright

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:15 PM

@mainmsam: Larry’s a legend i wholeheartedly agree.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:19 PM

@Larry Betts:
    Absolutely. Nail on the noggin.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:22 PM

@Fiona Wyse: If you think slowing down from 80 kmh to 30 kmh and trying to drive that slowly is good for your car engine is easy,you are the mistaken one. The revs are overworked,foot on the clutch constantly wears it out,you’re constantly in fear of the engine cutting out if the car in front suddenly stops to let a passenger out to buy a loaf of bread.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:24 PM

@Paul Gorry: I’ll always stop to give you a lift whenever you’re hitching a ride,Paul. You’ll never walk alone.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:28 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: That’s been mentioned a few times recently on these topics of road safety. I hadn’t taken much notice,but in the last week,I’ve seen 3 or 4 people with phones up to their ears driving,or driving while looking down presumably at their phones,eyes not on the road at all.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:29 PM

@Larry Betts: That’s 3 or 4 drivers per day

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:35 PM

@Larry Betts: Hahahaha Larry ye never let me down very good….

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:42 PM

@Paul Gorry: Good comeback Paul. Ah,Jaysz,there’s nothing like a good comeback these days Lol!

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:57 PM

@Fiona Wyse: Perhaps you don’t understand the basics of RPM and what is required at that speed to prevent the car from stalling… Larry is spot on. Most of us would be driving in 2nd gear to maintain that speed in a mid sized car which inevitaly leads to much higher emmisions output so is ultimately counterproductive in every sense.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:02 PM

@G Bot:
    That fella in the Ferrari caught doing 225 the other day would be in 1st gear up to about 50 I’d say !

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:04 PM

@Regular John: Absolutely!!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:07 PM

@G Bot: Exactly. Even at 50kmh I find myself driving in 4th gear not 5th. Bad for fuel efficiency,engine overworked. I find it acceptable enough driving through villages at that speed though if the road signs advise it,what I hate is clowns coming up on my tail end pressing me to go faster,and threatening to overtake and sometimes actually doing so because I am observing the speed limit

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:16 PM

@Regular John: Driving at 50 is too slow

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:16 PM

@Larry Betts: I think we can both agree that the city centre and certain built up areas a speed of 30kph is acceptable. If we’re balancing emmisions targets with saving lives 30kph is not the answer

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:26 PM

@Someone Financing The Welfare Leeches:
    Incorrect on both counts I’m afraid ducky, I’ve driven all over Europe and driving below 30 in Dublin 90% of the time is nonsense.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:30 PM

@Someone Financing The Welfare Leeches:

By the way, the name you use makes you sound like a prat… just saying like.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:37 PM

@G Bot:
    Don’t get me wrong, 30 is absolutely fine with me in a lot of places. Reducing all 50 zones to 30 and all 80 to 60 is just ludicrous.

Mute Davy Smith
    Favourite Davy Smith
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:52 AM

@Fiona Wyse: I live near Brussels which has this crazy speed limit it’s a nightmare in my diesel car 2nd gear makes for a jerky ride and 3rd gear means I’m probably spewing out toxic gas while doing just over idle speed. Bring in these limits when we all have electric cars and no gears.

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:59 AM

@G Bot: lower speed in a petrol diesel means higher revs for the engine. Which means more pollution. Obviously a lot of people commenting on this don’t have any basic physics knowledge.

Mute G Bot
    Favourite G Bot
    Sep 20th 2023, 8:08 AM

@Corey Dalton: I think a few people have made that point including myself. One or two probably not, the whole issue is having to drive in 2nd gear as opposed to 3rd or 4th which is likely for most cars at 30kmph

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Sep 20th 2023, 1:52 PM

@G Bot: I’m just amused reading these comments I drive a 1.8 turbo petrol. Absolutely no issues slowing down and coming to slower moving traffic, prime example of this being the Naas Road last Friday coming northbound. We need a whole new topic though to address the fact that people don’t understand how to use their hazard lights to warn people behind of slow traffic ahead. I live in a town so we drive regularly at a slower speed limit and as well 20K speed limit in the estate it’s not a problem.

Mute empty
    Favourite empty
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:50 PM

Most people call for limits on our borders too!

Mute No Label
    Favourite No Label
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:52 PM

@empty: Good point

Mute Thomas Hayes
    Favourite Thomas Hayes
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:52 PM

@empty: what happens with all the foreign reg cars some here for over 2 years.

Mute empty
    Favourite empty
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:03 PM

@Thomas Hayes:

greens smash them

hulk eamon angrey/sad

hulk eamon smash smash

Mute paddy fc
    Favourite paddy fc
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:24 PM

@empty: they tell ya, they have a moral obligation. Kip.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:06 PM

Were the speed cameras since day one not meant to be in accident black spots or dangerous roads? And suddenly they turned up on the safest stretches of roads all over the country!! Now Helen wants to put more speed vans to be where the other ones should have been in the first place ahhh jayus ……

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:31 PM

@Paul Gorry:
    I’ve been saying that for years, the van placement has always been about generating income. The UK put their vans at known accident black spots and warn drivers very clearly beforehand. Here we put them on the safest roads and hide them behind bushes.
    I got caught doing 62 in a 50 last year. The difference between the 2 speeds is barely perceptible to a driver who is watching the road ahead. 3 points on my licence and my children’s inheritance reduced by €160. I’m driving 35 years, all over the world, accident free.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:43 PM

@Regular John: 100% agree it’s actually disgusting the way its done. Ok sure most will take the hit on the fine but them penalty points being added that will undoubtedly affect you going forward ( no pun intended) are a flucking pain for the scenario you got done for..

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:52 PM

@Paul Gorry:
    If I’d been going backwards at 50 I wouldn’t have got done !!

Mute TheDosGuy
    Favourite TheDosGuy
    Sep 20th 2023, 7:23 AM

@Regular John: agree over here they are in spots to generate revenue but I wouldn’t be praising the way the UK do it either, they’re just as sneaky as gosafe and they’ve fixed gatzos every 100meters on some roads, it’s ridiculous over there

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 20th 2023, 10:26 AM

@TheDosGuy: Yes, I know they’re doing a bit of that alright but I just like the way they proactively get people to slow down where accidents have happened before. I’ve never seen any of that here.

Mute Johnny 5
    Favourite Johnny 5
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:57 PM

Give us a break ffs

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:59 PM

@Johnny 5: what the? Doh!!

Mute David Connell
    Favourite David Connell
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:01 PM

Fix the roads first.

Mute Joe Mc Dermott
    Favourite Joe Mc Dermott
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:43 PM

@David Connell: now your talking.. council’s are not topping roads and haven’t been for years, its causing crashes and deaths.. but eh.. let’s blame spending at 50kph

Mute Lilly Lalogue
    Favourite Lilly Lalogue
    Sep 19th 2023, 9:55 PM

McEntee calls for funds to be made available to get the Luas Northside and The Metro up andrunning. ..to actually give drivers options…instead of just making life harder. Not all can cycle or use public transport. Oh sorry that was a dream.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:01 PM

I don’t see an issue with average speed cameras at accident black spots but they’re more likely to put them on roads with ridiculously low limits which will be most roads by the time she’s done with this knee jerk insanity.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:34 PM

@Declan Doherty:
    Yup. Ching Ching.

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:45 PM

This plan for lowering speed limits has to be the biggest joke from FFG and that’s really saying something. For some politicians it’s merely a way to look like they are doing something and for others it’s a handy revenue stream to pay for all the gravy. We need to speak up now and protest this idiotic plan before it gains traction otherwise don’t be complaining when you get a speeding fine of E100, 3 penalty points and higher insurance premiums for doing 34km (21mph) in a 30 zone. 30kph is 18mph ffs, what is the point of roads and cars and all that investment to end up farting along. You can ignore your mirrors, your indicators, forget you are in charge of a tonne of metal and watch TV on your phone but you can’t go over 20 miles per hour! Absolutely pathetic from the government.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:58 PM

@Paddy Short:
    Fully agree. I’ve said before you could drive the M50 in reverse as long as you don’t break the speed limits. The fine is 160 now by the way, I found out the hard way last year.

Mute Big Haus
    Favourite Big Haus
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:08 PM

Educate in secondary school, and learn and leave with a full licence , and fix the roads surely this will help fix behaviour long term?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:37 PM

@Big Haus:
    Learning about that aul-wan buried down in Dingle is far more important than road safety.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:40 PM

@Big Haus:
    A course in basic first aid would be no harm either. More useful than all that triggernometry malarkey.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:05 AM

@Regular John: Don’t get me started on the ox-bow lakes

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:28 AM

@Larry Betts:
    Ha Ha, I remember them ! And the blanket bogs. Been many moons since I heard of them, funny what you do remember all the same.

Mute Johnny
    Favourite Johnny
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:28 PM

Absolut nonsense from thie waste of space

Mute Darren Gorman
    Favourite Darren Gorman
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:19 PM

Limiters and tachographs for cars next. Watch this space.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:08 PM

@Darren Gorman:
    I drove on tacho’s as a young fella years ago. They used to say take it out and swallow it if you were ever stopped ! I think they are all electronic now.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:30 PM

@Regular John: Great app for driving is Waze. Journal have blocked this comment 6 times already,this will be the 7th if it doesn’t get through. Check it out.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:32 PM

@Larry Betts: olé olé olé! They must be asleep at the wheel!

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:58 PM

@Larry Betts:
    I’ve heard of it alright but never used it, I will check it out. I’m an Android Auto / Googley maps man at the moment.
    I wonder why that comment is getting blocked, I’ve heard you say a lot worse ;)

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:14 AM

@Regular John: Reply has been blocked again. Journal obviously more interested in silly clickbait articles than serious debate. Goodnight John,chat again

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:33 AM

@Larry Betts:
    Goodnight buddy, stay between the hedges in the morning.

Mute Nora Cummins
    Favourite Nora Cummins
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:33 PM

Just wait till these clowns come looking for votes in the next election. They don’t have a useful policy between any of them. The answer is simple enforcement of the current laws and simply pull in drivers that can’t drive and make them retrain and re test . The standard of driving in this country is a joke. If I was to look back over my dash cam footage for one week and show the ridiculously bad driving I see everyday you could make a whole prime time special on it.

Mute Claudia Varell
    Favourite Claudia Varell
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:53 AM

@Nora Cummins: It’s not only the drivers of cars. Pedestrians and cyclists, especially in towns and cities are acting ridiculous as well. Just as if a red traffic light is just a broad recommendation. Like speed limits, no parking areas or other road traffic laws as well.

And as soon as someone tries to enforce the laws, people are crying loud, as if we are living in a police state.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Sep 20th 2023, 6:30 AM

The tunnel / let’s talk about the tunnel / a smooth controlled environment / double lane each direction / one way / modern cars are designed for maximum safety and comfortably manage these environments , how many accidents were there before the average cameras were installed , how many deaths , how much does it cost to use , how much revenue raised on the new 160 euro minimum fines for doing 89km in an 80km zone / that’s 5 miles per hour in real money btw / I paid the fine but honestly are we saving lives or are we generating revenue , because using the tunnel as an example has no evidence it’s saving lives / it’s shooting fish in a barrel and collecting revenue / not a single death recorded in that tunnel since it’s opened / need to target the road problems for sure not shoot fish

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 20th 2023, 10:36 AM

@Dave Hammond:
    In fairness I can understand why they are so strict with the tunnel. The consequences of an accident or fire could be a lot worse than normal. But in regard to raising revenue from speed traps in general I’m with you 100%

Mute Claudia Varell
    Favourite Claudia Varell
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:50 AM

@Dave Hammond: Why did you drive 89km/h when you obviously knew that it is against the law in that area?

When you are shopping, put a chocolate bar worth 2 Euros into your pocket and forget it at the till, you might get caught and receive a high fine. Would you then also blame the government for trying to create revenue out of a small breach of law?

Mute Nestor
    Favourite Nestor
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:52 PM

McEntee is worse than us%less. She is a liability making peoples’ lives miserable to enhance her own talentless career!

Mute Darragh Murray
    Favourite Darragh Murray
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:29 AM

Ah the auld minister for flying kites and the Irish Times is at it again. Let’s shoot up thst barrel of fish good and proper! Is there anything to be said for bringing in more laws to add to the laws we already have and don’t enforce? Whatever you do keep those civil servants busy not doing their core work but looking for glass hammers, taking long stands etc. pure gombeenism at its finest.

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:39 PM

When will this useless woman get off the national stage? The proposal is only applicable to motorways or the more specialised tunnel situation. So basically the safest road infrastructure we have. Where there are virtually no lethal accidents.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:21 PM

Journal why have you prevented me from posting a comment about road safety 4 times in a row?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 11:22 PM

@Larry Betts: Why is there “a problem with your comment “ about saving lives,but you let me post this question?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:00 AM

@Larry Betts: You have blocked another comment about road safety,The Journal. Why? Are you deliberately blocking sensible comments?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sep 20th 2023, 1:36 PM

@Larry Betts: Maybe what you ‘perceive’ as sensible is actually ridiculous? What people see or believe can often be hugely subjective.

Mute justme
    Favourite justme
    Sep 20th 2023, 8:59 AM

Is this just part of the push to get us to go electric? Veiled in a safety measure. I am not a fan of electric vehicles and dreading the day. I also detest the way electric cars creep up on you before you know it as a pedestrian – surely this has serious health and safety issues still outstanding before its too late?

Mute Hector turtlehead
    Favourite Hector turtlehead
    Sep 20th 2023, 7:29 AM

1984 Ireland

Mute Owen Mc
    Favourite Owen Mc
    Sep 20th 2023, 1:17 AM

This Minister and Government are clearly out of touch, justifying the possible reduction of the Policing Unit because of additional investment in Cameras, this might be achievable if you have high numbers in the unit, but not here as the units depleted already. When will they ever get it into their heads that it’s more Garda that’s needed on the Streets and Roads. Perhaps we could invest in some new technology so as to get rid of these inept Politicians.

Mute Proinnsias O'Dubhlaoich
    Favourite Proinnsias O'Dubhlaoich
    Sep 20th 2023, 9:12 AM

She must be a fan of Trudeau who has singlehandedly turned Canada from one of the most free and liberal (in the true sense of the word ) countries into basically a police state. It’s obvious this current bunch here with their gombeen men NGOs ( all mainly taxpayer funded ) are determined to do the same to us. They just can’t resist inserting themselves into people’s lives and heaping more stress and financial hardships on to us, I think the word we’re looking for is tyrants.

Mute Claudia Varell
    Favourite Claudia Varell
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:44 AM

@Proinnsias O’Dubhlaoich: The same people who see enforcing of existing laws as creating a police state, are hitting out on politicians, as the roads are too dangerous to let kids walk or cycle to school or about unsocial behaviour in parks.

Mute Peter Barnwallace
    Favourite Peter Barnwallace
    Sep 20th 2023, 12:28 AM

Excellent idea, but cameras should also be used to automatically issue FPNs for out of date tax and insurance too.

Mute Corey Dalton
    Favourite Corey Dalton
    Sep 20th 2023, 1:12 AM

@Peter Barnwallace: You’d love China Peter, why don’t you head off over there.

Mute june donnelly
    Favourite june donnelly
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:23 AM

McEntee hustling for some publicity shes never out of the news now trying to get herself re elected

Mute Brendan Mc Gowan
    Favourite Brendan Mc Gowan
    Sep 20th 2023, 9:04 AM

These new cameras are a state investment which will yield 10 s of millions and will be placed on all the motor ways which are fairly safe and not on our secondary roads were people are crashing, the limits are 100 km and and 80 km …

Mute BL Music
    Favourite BL Music
    Sep 20th 2023, 10:53 AM

An we have a new minister .. this one is broken

Mute PRdLQWQF
    Favourite PRdLQWQF
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:41 AM

Go away! This is nothing more than a revenue generating ploy!

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:11 PM

Can they not use drones to patrol the roads. I know the privately thing, but if limited to speeding, dangerous driving checks. They would cover allot more road with less effort. Eye in the sky.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Sep 19th 2023, 10:38 PM

@did you every wonder: I’m driving from Gorey to Clonmel tomorrow,as I do every Wednesday for a work assignment. I guarantee you,I will be faced with at least 3 or 4 absolutely atrocious driving incidents,as I have done each and every week since late May. The standard of driving in Ireland is absolutely shocking. Not by the majority of good,careful experienced drivers,but the 5% or lower who have an absolute disregard for other road users. Normally you won’t notice other driver’s behavior,but it’s those other reckless idiots that make you wonder how they are allowed on the road at all

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Sep 20th 2023, 8:06 AM

Yes that is better than reducing the speed on the roads.

Mute Claudia Varell
    Favourite Claudia Varell
    Sep 20th 2023, 11:39 AM

Simply do speed limit checks like in most countries in the EU. Put the cameras into ordinary cars with no specials signs or markings on them and park them somewhere. Or use mobile speed limit cameras. Some of them are quite small and they can be put into a bush or on top of a wall.

If legislation is changed like that and on top, private companies are allowed to do speed limit checks, I’d invest into such a camera instantly and would fix it at the gate to our house. Especially when the sun comes out, it is like living at a race course here and as barely anyone adheres to the speed limit here (or in the village down the road), I’d make a fortune.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Sep 20th 2023, 2:33 PM

@Claudia Varell:
    Hiding the cameras is precisely the wrong way to do it….

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Sep 20th 2023, 1:48 PM

The only people who are worried about speed limits are those those who break them.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Sep 20th 2023, 8:18 AM

My speedometer goes to 320.

Mute Desmond Higgins
    Favourite Desmond Higgins
    Sep 21st 2023, 1:37 AM

Is it possible to install average speed cameras into GoSafe speed camera vans and link the vans together as a network. This would mean then that when a car passed an average speed camera van the driver would not know where the next van is located and would therefore have to keep to the speed limit.

DH, just saying.