You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IT COULD BE “impossible” for an independent Scotland to join the EU, the head of the European Commission has warned.
“I believe it’s going to be extremely difficult, if not impossible” because the formation of a new member from a member state needs approval from all other EU nations, Jose Manuel Barroso told BBC television.
Barroso’s blunt statement ramps up the pressure ahead of Scotland’s key referendum on independence from the United Kingdom, following Britain’s warning that it will not be allowed to keep the pound if it votes to break away.
Scots are due to vote on independence on 18 September in a historic referendum that could result in the breaking up of its 300-year union.
“I don’t want to interfere on your referendum here, your democratic discussion here, but of course it will be extremely difficult to get the approval of all the other member states to have a new member coming from one member state,” Barroso said.
“We have seen Spain has been opposing even the recognition of Kosovo, for instance. So it is to some extent a similar case because it’s a new country and so I believe it’s going to be extremely difficult, if not impossible, a new member state coming out of one of our countries getting the agreement of the others.”
“Scottish people”
But he added: “It’s for the Scottish people… to decide about the future of Scotland.”
The comments drew a sharp rebuke from Scotland’s Deputy First Minister Nicola Sturgeon, whose Scottish National Party (SNP) is spearheading the pro-independence campaign.
“This is a preposterous assertion, as the ridiculous comparison with Kosovo illustrates,” Sturgeon said in a statement.
Deputy First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon. (Image: Dominic Lipinski/PA Wire/Press Association Images)
“Scotland is already in the EU and has been for 40 years.”
“As Mr Barroso rightly says, the question of Scotland’s independent membership of the EU is a matter for the democratic wishes of the people of Scotland and the views of other member states, not the European Commission,” she said.
The fact of the matter is that no member state has said that it would veto Scotland’s continuing membership.
Britain, which is campaigning for a “no” vote in the referendum, has already warned that an independent Scotland would have to leave the pound.
Finance minister George Osborne said on Thursday that there was “no legal reason” why the rest of the United Kingdom would have to share the pound.
All three of Britain’s three main political parties argue that they will not let an independent Scotland retain the pound sterling currency.
The Scottish government has previously said it will seek to negotiate Scotland’s EU membership in the 18 months after the referendum, should Scots vote in favour of leaving the UK.
He doesn’t want to interfere in Scotland’s democratic discussion – but he does just that. As President of the Commission he has no authority to comment on Scottish EU membership – it’s a matter for National governments alone. Butt out Barrosso!
See an independent Scotland close its waters to Spanish fishing trawlers and watch how quickly Spain drops any principled opposition to Scotland’s EU membership.
Excellent point. The Spanish fishing fleets survive be plunging the waters around the UK and Ireland. Take away their right to Scottish territorial waters fishing grounds and they won’t be long changing their tune.
For the Spanish keeping Catalonia part of a unified Spain is far more important then access to Scottish fishing grounds.It’s almost a certainty that the Spanish will veto any Scottish application for membership.
@al shamen: The Spanish are not naïve enough to believe that enforcing a veto against Scottish EU Membership would put an end to a rise in nationalism in Catalunya / el Pais Vasco.
Yes, break-up of Spain is a huge concern for Madrid from an exports point of view, but fishing is an important enough sector of the Spanish economy that Madrid would face huge domestic pressure to acquiesce to Scottish EU Membership. In any event, Madrid would itself have a veto on any application by a Barcelona government to apply for EU membership, so accepting or rejecting Scotland does not forestall the end-game for Madrid,
Belgium is another matter; is is already one of the world’s most federalist States. Already it the role of the Brussels Government’s Foreign Ministry is to coordinate compromise between what the Walloon and Flemish Authorities want on external matters (FYI Flanders already has a “Department of Foreign Affairs”) and “Belgium” allows both region to occupy the Belgian seat at EU meetings on policy matters of overriding concern in to either region. “Belgium” will not stand in the way of Scottish EU Membership.
‘in any event, Madrid would itself have a veto on any application by a Barcelona government to apply for EU membership, so accepting or rejecting Scotland does not forestall the end-game for Madrid’
But it certainly sets a precedent.And we can only judge on their actions so far.They have repeatedly blocked breakway region Kosovos attempts to apply for membership,one can only assume they will adopt the same attitude to Scotland.
Fishing is important to the Spaniards but the importance of access to a fishing ground is miniscule compared to the importance of the two main industrial and economic regions of Spain.
I can’t believe that Spain would veto Scotland’s application and seriously piss off 5 million people, many of whom go to Spain on holidays and buy Spanish products. They would also piss off the Irish, the Scottish living in the rest Europe and even other right thinking people in the EU. It’s a silly comment by a stupid politician. The more the English threaten the Scottish the more likely independence will be.
The amount of Scottish people it would annoy is tiny and their economic value to Spain is insignificant compared to Catalonia. The Spanish PM told them in November that they would not agree to an independent Scotland joining the EU.
Firstly, Spain opposes bilateral recognition of Kosovo as a State; but within the EU itself Spain is not opposing the negotiation of an SAA with Kosovo, which is traditionally has been the first legal step to EU accession negotiations with eastern block countries.
Secondly, assuming that Madrid would regard Pristina and Edinburgh in the same way is something that does not stand up to critical analysis; not alone for the historical ties Spain has with Edinburgh both through history and through EU institutions, and not alone because Spain already maintains diplomatic links with the Scottish Executive through its Consul General in Edinburgh; but also for the purchasing power of Scots as consumers of Spanish goods. Scotland’s population outstrips Kosovo’s 3:1 and the Scots’ purchasing power outstrips the Kosovars’ by several multiples.
Therefore, the same domestic Spanish concerns simply don’t apply: for Madrid, Kosovar independence is opposed on domestic policy grounds, but the conflicting interests of Spain’s foreign and economic policies will necessitate a much more nuanced response by Madrid to what happens in Scotland once it happens. Scotland will remind Spain that Britain did not veto Spain’s accession to the EEC at a time when democracy in Spain was fledgling after decades of Franco – simply put, the current intransigent position of Madrid on Scottish independence is one of posturing, targeted at a domestic audience, nothing more.
‘I can’t believe that Spain would veto Scotland’s application’ They probably won’t be the only ones vetoing it.
‘other right thinking people in the EU’ other right thinking people being people who think like you.
‘they would also piss off the Irish, the Scottish living in the rest Europe’ Irish and Scottish people make up 11 million people out of 500 million in the EU a miniscule amount of people and liable to strike fear into nobody.
@Winding Down I see you are now moving away form your original position that closure of Scottish fishing grounds will force the Spaniards to play ball.
All of what you say ignores the fact that the central issue for Spain is the retention of Catalonia and the Basque country the main economic and industrial regions of Spain.This overrides any purchasing power of the Scotland or any other issue as it is highly debateable wheter Spain as a nation is viable with the loss of those two regions.
I see you also ignore the fact that it is likely Spain will not be alone in vetoing Scottish accession.
A Spanish veto would be grossly immoral and couldn’t possibly succeed. No one could be allowed veto an application by a country obviously in Europe for domestic political reasons. The French generally have a sense of fair play so it’s not just a 10+ million Scots and their allies but all moral individuals. I actually think the idea of a veto is absurd. Scotland upon achieving independence would have every attribute that would allow them enter the EU. In fact for all sorts of reasons they would effectively be in it from day one.
Veto-the power (used by an officer of the state, for example) to unilaterally stop an official action, especially the enactment of legislation.
The Spanish have one and so do every other member state.France has it’s own issues with separatists regions will in all likelihood back the Spanish.
‘in fact for all sorts of reasons they would effectively be in it from day one’ Except for the main reason that like any other potential member such as Turkey or Ukraine their membership has to be unaminously agreed to by every existing member state.The process takes years.
@al shamen: I have not moved from my soundbyte about fishing trawlers. I simply decided it was best to challenge your arguments, rather than just repeating my own.
There are of course very serious economic implications for Spain if the independence agenda is pursued by any of its autonomous communities. Spain is however (hopefully) grown up enough to realize that the independence agenda within its borders inflamed or ameliorated by far more than the Scottish EU Membership question.
It’s a rather facile analysis by you of Spanish current affairs and the political history of the Iberian peninsula to suggest that by shutting its eyes to the evolving EU borders, Madrid can expect its domestic problems to go away. They are issues that Madrid needs to tackle head on, irrespective of the outcome of the Spanish referendum. And they are issues Madrid will still need to tackle head on, irrespective of the outcome of Edinburgh’s application for EU Membership.
And you’ll find that I already dealt squarely with Belgium’s likely stance on Scottish Membership – maybe not in this thread, but elsewhere on this page. And for the record – I don’t have a position on how Scotland should vote; I merely have a position on their entitlement to decide their own governance and by extension what international organizations they ought to be allowed to apply for membership to.
‘I merely have a position on their entitlement to decide their own governance and by extension what international organizations they ought to be allowed to apply for membership to’
While Scotland should of course be entitled to decide it’s own for of governance,the ultimate arbiter of Scotland’s entitlement to membership of certain international organisationans is the current members of those organisations.Spain in the case of the EU being one of those members.
al shamen: You’re a poor debater, Sir/Madam. It wasn’t at all as vacuous as your presumptive conclusion that Kosovo and Scotland independence are comparable for Madrid. Or as vacuous as your facile assumption that a Spanish veto on Scottish EU Membership would do anything to address the popular causes for Catalan or Basque grievance with Madrid.
Kosovo and Scotland are comparable in so far as that they/potentially are both secession states.That’s a realistic conclusion rather then a presumptive one.
Maybe my debating skills are poor,but not as poor as your reading skills.Can you highlight where I stated a Spanish veto would address the Catalan and Basque issues?
Also , does the pound sterling operate on the open market? … Yes so England cannot stop any country from using said currency
If Iceland wanted to use sterling tomorrow as their currency the only way England can stop them is to remove it from the currency market …. Same way as the Russia could use the euro tomorrow or South Africa could use the US dollar
He is terrified if Scotland vote for independence and join the EU then Catalunya and the Basque Country will try and follow suit and we know the boys and girls in Brussels are big fans of the status quo……..
Salmonds must be delighted at the faux pas of Brussels – surely Barossa’s position is now untenable after this gross interference . Add to that the actual fact that Scotland , together with England and Wales is an existing Member of The EU !
Collectively Ciarrioch, England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland being the United Kingdom is part of the EU, not as individual member states. Therefore you are incorrect.
Al Shamen – they are all collectively Members of The EU – as The United Kingdom .
Are you saying that Brussels will throw out Scotland and keep Wales and England in ?
I would bet my €100 that this will never happen !
You are missing the point Carraioch. The United Kingdom is part of the EU. If Scotland suddenly became independent, it would no longer be in the EU. It would have to apply if it wanted to join.
The UK is a member of the EU.If Scotland decides to secede,and leave the Union the remaining UK continues as an EU member.Scotland as an independent nation has to apply for EU membership separately .It does not automatically become an EU member by virtue of the fact that it is former member of the UK.So no Brussels does not have to throw Scotland out since they willingly left the club.
I am willing to double that 100 eur bet.
The UK will have to reapply also cause their charter no longer exists as they won’t be the entity the joined in first place as Scotland was part there of
Alex Salmon has made it clear he sees the future with the EU but Spain is desperate to discourage Basques and Catalans from seeking seperation so they will veto Scotland’s attempt to join EU not because they care about UK or Scotland but to preserve Spain
Spot on Seamus, he doesn’t give a rats ass about Scotland per se , its the broader ramifications of the decision to separate from the UK, as rightly pointed out by many comments, it’s a Pandora’s box effect .
“I don’t want to interfere on your referendum here, your democratic discussion here, but of course it will be extremely difficult to get the approval of all the other member states to have a new member coming from one member state,” Barroso said happily interfering in another countries referendum….
Barroso who happens to be head ot the EU commision was asked a question regarding Scottish application for EU membership in the event of independence.He answered the quesion honestly as anybody with a passing interest in EU politics would know that Spain and possibly Belgium will in all likelihood block their application.When Scottish nationalists and some commenters on here don’t like a realistic answer,they resort to accusations of ‘bullying’ and ‘threats’.
@al shamen: You’re wrong – Barrosso has more than a passing interest in EU Affairs; so he should respect the boundaries of his current role. As Commission President what he ought to have said was that it wasn’t the European Commission role to comment on a political matter like this, since it is not within the Commission’s legal remit; and it isn’t. The Commissions’s sole legal function in this area is to negotiate the acquis communitare with prospective member states and to give them updates on their implementation. Political decisions on proposing or approving membership are taken by The Council, composed of a Heads of States and Government.
It isn’t President Higgins’ role to comment on plenty of political things, so he doesn’t. By commenting on this, Barrosso has not only interfered in Scottish politics, he has stepped into the shoes of Hermann van Rompuy, President of the Council. He’s doing the job for years, and should absolutely have known better.
Technically maybe he should or should not have said it.To be honest I don’t really care.I find Barroso repulsive.But in this case what he said is accurate and close to the truth.
@al shamen: Technically he should not have involved himself in the debate. There is no “should or should not”. The people of Scotland are bright enough to know what is happening in Madrid without getting veiled threats from an over-zealous EU Commission.
If President Higgins rode into a political debate he’d be dressed down by the Government. A similar rebuke of Barrosso by The Council – or by an EU Head of Government (like our Taoiseach) – should happen here.
Watch the interview.the man was asked a question for his opinion,he answered it.Maybe he should be sent to the Bastille?
Higgins has answered numerous ‘politcal’ questions in his time as president.Bad example.But I understand your point.
The fact is though that his answer was correct.Something that you or my numerous red thumbers above don’t dispute.So how does making a correct and realistic point amount to bullying and threats?
@al shamen: It amounts to bullying and threats because Barroso is the Commission President and has no legal role orinfluence over national governments on this matter. As a former Prime Minister of Portugal Barroso knows the importance of avoiding giving an answer to a contentious question from a journalist. Also, his term as Commission President ends in October 2014, so his meddling in the debate on Scottish national self-determination could cynically be seen as an attempt to win over certain national governments for an EU appointment elsewhere when he steps down from his current role.
But yes, I accept that President Higgins isn’t the most perfect example. Let’s try ex-President Cearbhall (“thundering disgrace”) Ó Dálaigh instead :-)
Al Shamen: You’re entirely missing the point – Mr Barroso stepped outside his role and should never have said what he did in his official capacity as EU Commission President – David Cameron could go around making public statements undermining political in Ireland, but he doesn’t because it isn’t his role, and to do so would be meddlesome.
Winding down already made the same point which I acknowledged. My point is maybe he should not have said it,but just because he should not of said it,does not make any less true.
why would belgium block it al shamen ?? genuinely wondering,i do agree though it is a certainty that spain will i cant believe how naive the two lads argument are,as if spanish fishermen hold that much sway over the government or that the french have a sense of fairness !!! haha spain will veto for a number of reasons but mainly because they will not want to even remotely encourage or en-flame two regions already on the edge,it really is that simple
Belgium has it’s own problems with secessionists Hibernicus.The Dutch speaking Flanders not wanting to be part of the same nation as French speaking Wallonia and vice-versa.
Obviously you are one of the few commenters on this thread who has a sense of realism.
didnt have a clue about that tbh,must read up on it some more i generally find that type of thing interesting,in my ignorance i always thought flanders was the french speaking part,maybe thats from association with WW1
ah yeah realism is generally not a strong point of the internet,i think they you are right but are too stubborn to admit it,happens to us all in fairness !!
Hibernicus Exul: Flanders is Dutch-speaking and is the industrialised size of Belgium; 60% of Belgians are Flemish. What I’ve learnt from living in Belgium and from having both Flemish and Walloon friends is that there’s a strong sense of inevitability about their nation eventually breaking-up – even from the Walloons who are the ones less wanting to split because they (like Madrid) are economically dependent on the Flemish (Catalans/Basques). They hold the WORLD record on the longest period ever taken to form a national government after parliamentary elections. The only things really tying Belgium together are the monarchy and the “ownership” that of them all feel regarding Brussels (including NATO/EU HQs in it).
Belgium may have its identity issues, but the strength of Flanders’ input into Belgian foreign policy (and Flanders’ and Wallonia’s own regional cooperation with Scotland at lower levels of EU governance) means that Belgium would not use a veto to oppose Scottish EU membership.
Spain is obviously far more complicated, but there’s a growing realisation within national politics that the issue of increased autonomy for Catalonia will not go away. It’s going to come down to a pragmatic weighing of pros and cons for Spain as to how they deal with Scotland, but by that stage Scotland would be independent so the “damage” to Madrid by what Scottish independence symbolises would already be done. I can’t see it being as forgone a conclusion as al shanem is presenting.
Assuming that the Scots voting for independence is the biggest fallacy of all on this thread.Typically Irish people view this issue through the prism of Irish Nationalism,when in reality the situation in Scotland is very different.
The reality is that this vote will come down to simple personal economics.Will Scots view independence as likely to improve their prosperity?Considering Salmonds lack of foresight or vision on the most important issue of all;the currency question,most of them will probably decide to stick with the union.Nobody wants to have the value of their life savings or pension plan wiped out overnight by a politician’s signature.
Barroso Seems To Be the 1 doing the bullying England You’d Expect It From Now Barroso Shows His Imperialistic Views On Scotland a Country That Never Conquered Another Or Slaughtered Innocent People In The Execution Of Same,
thanks eamon that was informative and made sense,though i will do some reading up on it regardless
i do think however you are missing the point,its not about scotland leaving the uk its about them joining the EU,i am suggesting spain would veto that so as to discourage the catalans from getting any notions as in that they can leave spain and then just join up to the EU with no problems and that independence will be easy or prosperous
Al …… What gives you the right to say that irish nationalists can have rights and choices but everything in Scotland is about personal economics …. You just insulted the integrity of a whole country with your narrow mindness
Typical bully boy tactics from the EU. I can see why the British are sweating. This could set a precedent for other budding nations. It could backfire by galvanising people behind the Independence campaign.
People in Scotland are more concerned about the currency issue.And anyone who is following this topic know’s that Salmond came up short on this issue last week.No plan b to rUKs refusal to allow an Independant Scotland continued membership of the British Pound.
The Unionists don’t particularly need to do much scaremongering.Salmond who clearly visualises himself as a modern day William Wallace has been at loss of words regarding the currency question,now that continued membership of the British pound has been ruled out by the main political parites in England.
I think you will find that is highly unlikely the EU will ‘welcome them in’.The Spanish and possibly other would almost certainly block their application.
That is the point that Barosso is trying to make. To be “welcomed in”, they need the backing of all 28 existing Member States. Spain and possibly Belgium may not vote in favour for fear of setting a precedent in the future.
We’re both speculating here. I doubt that the EU would refuse an application by Scotland to enter the EU. If Spain decided to make it difficult, I believe this would lead to discord and increasing tensions within the union. The Spanish would simply be told to accept it.
The Spanish like every other member has a veto and is free to use that veto.And it’s hardly the only nation with reservations.You are being unrealistic.
I think you are. Suppose for a moment that Scotland votes for its independence. The EU would, in my opinion, go into full damage-limitation mode and probably fast track their entry. The Spanish government would be told, in no uncertain terms, not to rock the boat. If the spanish were allowed to freely exercise their veto, they would have to give internationally justifiable reasons for doing it. “We don’t want the Catalans and Basques getting ideas” is not a good enough reason.
So the loss of the main economic proucing regions in Spain are not good enough reason?Spain is the Eurozones fourth largest economy .If you believe the Eurozones fourth largest economy have less influence then a yet to be born(probably never will be) nation that has not even began accession talks,well then I think you are being incredibly naive.
Also you are been naive if you think the Spanish are the only member who would have reservations about Scottish membership.
You are entitled to your opinion, as am I. Just let’s not, either of us, get confused between our opinions and facts.I used the Spanish because they were the exapmle you used.
You are entitled to you opinion,but are you unalble to answer the question I asked you;
‘So the loss of the main economic proucing regions in Spain are not good enough reason’
I think your opinion is based on unsound reasoning.
You are continuing to speculate, in this case that the Catalan and Basque regions would be successful in seceding from Spain.
Let us talk now of naivety. If you think for one second that the EU would let the Spanish government throw their toys out of the pram and drive the union into even worse turmoil than a Scottish declaration of independence, then you are the naive one. Look what happened here with the Lisbon treaty, our “veto” in this case didn’t matter very much, did it?
If they where given the same vote as the Scottish,their independence would be a certainty.I see you also avoided the fact that Spain are hardly the only nation who would have issues with Scottish accession.
Comparing Ireland with the Eurozones fourth largest economy is also naive.Just like in animal farm all veto’s are equal,but some veto’sare more equal than others.Do you really believe a Irish veto is equivalent to a German or a French one or for that matter a Spanish one?
Scotland has the distinct advantage of being a country in a union, rather than a region with aspirations of independence. The independence of Catalunia and the Basque country would be by no means a certainty.
I have not avoided the issue of other states’ objections; I have merely responded to the specific case you mentioned.
A veto is a veto. Some are more important than others, but all are subsidiary to the EU’s will to remain intact.
I no longer wish to converse with you. Take that as an admission of defeat if you like.
It’s sad how the EU and UK are holding these ‘threats’ over Scotland, ridiculous… I love Scotland and have friends there, I’d be surprised if it’s a yes vote, pretty amazing landmark referendum, very interested to see the outcome
Explain how exactly it’s a threat?I’m no fan of Barroso but in this case he is just being realistic.Spain in all likelihood will veto any Scottish application as they fear breakaway states set a precedent regarding their own issues with Catalonia and the Basque country.Witness their continued opposition to Kosovo’s application for membership.
But Kosovo, Catalonia and the Basque Country are not the same as Scotland. Catalonia and the Basque Country remain integral parts of Spain. Kosovo’s was a unilateral declaration of independence, and if the Catalans or the Basques wish independence then the unilateral route is the only way for them as the Spanish government has stated they will not respect the democratic wishes of those people. Scotland’s case would be a bilateral negotiated independence. If the Spanish don’t believe in either bilateral negotiated or unilateral independence, then they shouldn’t recognise the independence of 10 EU member states.
If the Spanish respected ‘bilateral negotiated or unilateral independence’ then Catalonia and the Basque country would have got a referendum years ago.
If the EU respected democracy rather than ‘democracy as long as it’s the right answer’ then Ireland never would have re-run the Lisbon and Nice referendums.
I think a EU membership would be crucial for an independent Scotland, they would need to join the Euro and they couldn’t afford any taxes and regulations when doing business with member states. What is disturbing though is that EU officials now basically threatening the Scots that a vote in favour of Independence could see them out of the EU altogether, a ludicrous statement given the same officials voted in favour of letting Bulgaria and Romania join….
The of way the Euro is then Scotland is probably best having nothing to do with it. And now with the bullyboty tactics more people should stand up against the EU!!!
How is being realistic a threat exactly?Spain in all likelihood will veto Scotland’s membership for reasons regarding their own issues with Catalonia and the Basque country.Belgium probably would veto Scotland’s membership as well.
I’m not the biggest fan if the EU in it’s current state either, I like the idea but our politicians got it all wrong once again, having said that an independent Scotland outside the EU treaties with neither Sterling nor EUR for official currency wouldn’t realistically survive, so I don’t think they will have much choice if they vote for independence.
Spain and Belgium are currently in no position to veto anything that France and Germany don’t want, they would threaten to veto and then would be bought off with a few billion they are hardly in any position to refuse
France has it’s own regions such as Corsica and the Basque country who are agitating for independence.France in all likelihood would be in agreement with Spain on this issue.
And I think you will find that the loss of Catalonia,the region with the largest industrial and economic output in Spain could hardly be ‘bought off with a few billion’.
While we are talking realism, yes there are eu countries like spain and belgium who fear the breakup of their nations.
However, if scotlands independence were a done deal, nobody in the eu would want to keep a rich country like Scotland out.
In fact, if Spain were to lose Cataluyna, then they would be the first to open the door to their new neighbour into the Eu.
Better to have then within the same single market.
No different to us fearing Britain leaving the Eu while we remain inside – big loss of open market to us.
I don’t think you realise the precedent it would set.Independence movements all over Europe would be given new impetus.Catlonia and the Basque country in Spain.Corsica and the Basque country in France,Northern Italy,Sicily,Cornwall,Flanders,Wales there is no end to it.
Brussels desires more centralised control not more fragmentation of an already fragmented union.
The independence movements in Catalonia and the Basque Country of Spain are quite strong. However, if put to a vote I doubt even 10% of the Basque Country in France would be supportive. Possibly only as high as 30% in Corsica. Wales only narrowly voted for an assembly (a step below Scotland’s parliament in terms of the amount of independence it has from Westminster, and Plaid Cymru are on a downward spiral). Cornwall’s only nationalist party, Mebyon Kernow, only ever manage to gain between 5 and 10% of the vote. If independence movements were allowed to declare independence and be recognised as sovereign states, the likelihood is that in Europe today, only the Basque Region of Spain, Catalonia and Flanders would become independent, with Wallonia merging with France. The only other European territories likely to gain independence within the next 10 years are the Faroe Islands and Greenland, neither of which are part of the EU.
The currency is a none issue….. If Scotland wants to deal in bit coins , sterling or the euro it won’t matter ……. They can trade on the open currency market just like any organised group …… If bill gates bought all the sterling tomorrow and held it for a week and offloaded in panic what could the UK govt do ???? ,,,,, nothing only to watch
If China bought all the euro tomorrow and bought bonds in the German govt and the devalued their own money by choice ……… Wake up tomorrow and sell all and re value their currency and buy it all back ……. What can we do …… Nothing ….. So just like Scotland with the North Sea oil it don’t matter who name on the coin
I think you will find it’s Barroso who made the statement quoted in the headline.Barrroso is Portugese.Britain or more accurately David Cameron is the British PM who is enabling the Scottish to vote on the independence issue.Hardly smacks of imperialism or bullying to me.In fact it appears to be the total opposite of ‘imperialism’.
europe is run like a mafia so why would scotland wanna join if they do go independent from the english it cud awaken a monster that is needed to stir things up around europe
Seems like everyone seems to be bullying and scaremongering the Scots on the issue. In reality I can’t see why an independent Scotland wouldn’t be granted membership of the EU pretty quickly. If they do vote yes the EU would change its tune on this.
You may have missed the point. It is not the EU that will say yes or no but individual nations and it is extremely unlikely that Spain would say yes and all countries have to approve any new member
Watch this space ……. The eu will beg Scotland to join ….. Biggest oil reserve outside OPEC ………. Control of airspace and North Sea shipping lanes ???? ,,,,, duh
Seems the English are so important today they can get an idiot like Beroso to make such idiotic claims. He should be called bosco the muppet. The only ones that could veto it is the British government but they are more likely to be gone from the EU before Scotland is free.
I seriously doubt there will be a yes vote. Can someone tell me what the economic benefits will be, or any other kind of benefits for that matter apart from being “independent”? I have independent in air quotes because nothing is really independent anymore. Heck, even Ireland is not a sovereign nation anymore I don’t know much about Scotland’s economy, but I would assume that a yes vote would hurt the economy by shrinking it immensely and losing the synergy that exists today with GB
It is clear to me that Westminster will do all in its power to resist Scottish self determination. There main tool to date is Alex Salmond. Despite the arguments for and against Scottish independence the fact of the matter is that “conservative” scots hate him and make most their money down south. The scots are different from the English and should stand up even after the sasanach has robbed all their oil or stay as is and wait for the crumbs from the Westminster table. Scare tacticts are the order of the day. It is amazing that Sterling which is managed like the Zimbabwe dollar is preferable to some in Scotland to a less than perfect Euro. “Wake up Scotland and smell the coffee”
‘It is amazing that Sterling which is managed like the Zimbabwe dollar is preferable to some in Scotland to a less than perfect Euro’
I think you will find confidence on International money markets is far higher in Sterling then it is in the Euro.Sterling does not have basket cases like Greece,Italy and Ireland as members of that currency.
‘It is amazing that Sterling which is managed like the Zimbabwe dollar is preferable to some in Scotland to a less than perfect Euro’
If all of your life savings or pension plan was in sterling,I think you would also find the pound to be preferable to the Euro.I think it is you who needs to wake up and smell the coffee.This is not Braveheart part 2,this is real life.
These are only scare tactics before the referendum. If Scotland votes for independence the attitude of the EU and Britain will change immediately to welcome them into the fold. As an Irishman however I hope they stay within the UK as I suspect an independent Scotland would provide a very real alternative to foreign investment in terms of language, education, low tax and access to the UK and EU markets.
This bollocks needs a lesson in reality. Who is going to oppose an independent Scotland applying for EU membership? Barosso is just trying to protect Cameron from the UKIP threat.
I can’t see why Camoron is sticking his upper class public school educated toffee nose in this either. As it was once remarked there are more Pandas in Edinburgh Zoo than Tory MPs in Scotland. Two bamboo eaters v One Tory MP.He doesn’t care about Scotland he just doesn’t want to be seen as the British PM who was in Downing St when the UK broke up. Spain is worried about separatists in Catalonia and The Basque region, Belgium about the Walloons. What next referendums for Wales? The Lombardy league in Italy? What if the UK if it still exists in Sept votes in the EU Referendum about continued membership in a few years votes to leave? Will Irish people working in London need Visas like the Aussies have?
Bearing in mind that Cameron is the PM that granted the referendum in the first place, and is the head of the British government, I am completely baffled as to how he could keep his nose out, even if he wanted to. Which he doesn’t.
I do accept your point Padraig about Cameron granting the Scots a referendum in the first place, but Lord Snooty is only the PM because a load of Lib Dem Judases betrayed their principles and formed the first peace time coalition since 1931 for a couple of seats around the cabinet table. The Lib Dem douche bag lost his deposit the other night and disappeared after the count quicker than Lager turns to p#ss. Couldn’t face the media typical of a Clegg boy these days. UKIP are now the third party this side of the Irish Sea these days.
UKIP uplift is the classic mid term sh1t time protest vote. British politics is in a loop since the winter of discontent, bust then boom with labour coming in, spend too much, Tories come in, go far too far, Labour get in, spend too much, ad infinitum.
Come the next GE UKIP will be nowhere
So the Spanish basically killed off the Darien Scheme and sent a very financially stressed Scotland straight into the arms of a Union with England.Now the Spanish will be looking to veto an independent Scottish entry into the EU.
Lol.
Yes that’s what happened. Not that the Scots made a pig’s mickey of setting up a colony in Panama, bankrupted themselves and had to be bailed out with English money. No siree.
Barosso has just swung to referendum towards the yes camp. There’s nothing Scots like more than a politician threatening them. He obviously doesn’t understand anything
Barrosso obviously got a phone call from 10 Downing St. The UK Govt normally pretty well ignores the EU and all things EU. Amazing how a threat to whats left of the North sea oil reserves can suddenly rekindle their interest in their old friends in Brussels and ask for some support. Barrosso should have reminded David Cameron that he was about to hold a referendum on whether or not the UK should be in the EU at all , and reminded him that its not his business. The EU are so weak , they’re a joke.
Hopefully Scotland exits the EU and cannot get back in again.
Ireland can then claim EU Protected Designation Of Origin on Tartan/kilts, Whiskey, Blackpudding/haggis, Gaelic and all things celtic and ban Scotland from ever again trying to market these products into the EU as Scottish.
Would anyone believe that these pillars of society in Europe and Scotland, Manuel Barroso and Alex Salmond, have both named as being involved in separate pedophile rings.
Que a heap of nonsense from the shinner subhumans who thing it’s actually their choice to have a united Ireland. You gave to laugh at such idiots their inbreeding program definitely worked
Gardaí renew appeal for missing Kerry farmer Michael Gaine
1 min ago
u-turn
Trump announces 90-day tariff 'pause' on countries that 'have not retaliated', ratchets up China rate to 125%
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say