You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Martin: 'Public not excited' about issue of pro-government Independents joining opposition group

Opposition TDs have slammed the move calling it “bizarre” and “ludicrous”.

MICHEÁL MARTIN HAS claimed the “public aren’t excited” about the issue of pro-government TDs, who were involved in programme for government talks, joining a Dáil opposition group to get speaking rights in the Dáil. 

A number of independent TDs who are supporting the incoming government have indicated they intend to form a technical group in opposition, which would afford them speaking time in the Dáil. 

A technical group must have five or more TDs to qualify for Dáil speaking rights.

Such speaking rights include the ability to raise issues with the Taoiseach during Leaders’ Questions, something not available to Government backbench TDs or Independent TDs who are not part of a technical group.

TDs who have publicly stated they will be supporting the incoming government and who are also part of the Regional Independents group include Gillian Toole, Danny Healy-Rae and Barry Heneghan.

It is argued that they can be part of a technical group and enjoy Dáil speaking rights because they do not hold government positions. 

‘Ludicrous’ 

However, Opposition TDs have slammed the move calling it “bizarre” and “ludicrous”, with a number of political parties indicating they are seeking legal advice on the matter. 

They maintain that Independents that were involved in the programme for government, and whose colleagues now have ministerial roles, will be taking up valuable opposition speaking time, while at the same time, be supporting the government. 

Ceann Comhairle Verona Murphy has been advised that Independent TDs who support the government yet want to be part of an opposition grouping can do so. 

Asked by The Journal today to outline his position on the matter and whether such TDs should be classed as government backbenchers or opposition TDs, Martin said:

“They are clearly TDs that are supporting the government, which has happened in the past, by the way.  It’s not for me to adjudicate on that. That’s a matter for the Dáil itself, I’m a member of government. I’ll  assess the situation and form my own opinion, in terms of the legal precedence that apparently may be there.”

He went on to add: “I’m not as excited about it as the opposition are.”

When asked if he thinks the public are excited about the issue of TDs having one foot in and one foot out of government, he said:  

I don’t actually.

Martin said “the public aren’t as excited” about an issue such as this, stating that “the public are interested in the fundamentals that are facing us in terms of critical challenges facing this country”.

He said “people I meet on the street” care about things like housing and the economy.

He said there has been precedence in the past where Independents have supported the government from the opposition benches. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Jan 19th 2025, 2:58 PM

Banana republic

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:54 PM

@Joe Beirne: Booming Republic.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:01 PM

@thomas molloy: For the minority

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:08 PM

Loonies Republic

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:30 PM

@Luke Littler: How to run with the hares, and hunt with the hounds simultaneously!

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:31 PM

@Joe Beirne: Amazing all the thumbs up anti government comments get. If this was a reflection of public opinion FF or FG would not have a Dáil seat never mind being able to form a government.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:58 PM

@Luke Littler: “dictatorship”?? You’re having a laugh, for sure.
    Pretty much the whole political spectrum is covered – people just don’t vote for them. Or, at least not enough to form a government.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:59 PM

@Vincent Alexander: because the majority who comment here aren’t reflective of society as a whole

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:00 PM

@Luke Littler: we are neither, we are a vibrant democracy, one of the oldest in Europe

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:33 PM

@Joe Beirne: Its grotesque, unbelievable, bizarre and unprecedented what Martin is attempting to do, I’d question the legality of it and urge the real opposition to try everything in their power to put a halt to this ie. go to Court.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 19th 2025, 7:18 PM

@Johnny Wilson: Would we be up there with Ancient Greece?

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Jan 22nd 2025, 5:22 PM

@Johnny Wilson: Ireland is not one of Europe’s oldest democracies.Denmark, UK, Luxembourg, Sweden , Finland, Belgium,Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland ate all older.

Mute Me Me
    Favourite Me Me
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:35 PM

Not excited. Just gobsmacked. It’s bizarre.

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:07 PM

The aren’t in the door and the start back tracking

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:12 PM

They will never be leaders. Cry babies. Hope people learnt a lesson about Indo’s.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:44 PM

@John Boyle: Public not excited Micheal, because they have lost all faith in politics, young people so disillusioned, that they don’t even vote, congrats. We have watched a CC appointed, who was accused of bullying & took out an NDA. We watched a man whom a Tribunal found to be guilty of accepting payments from two of the richest individuals in Ireland, dictate negotiations. We watched an individual from Kerry who bate the head of a Tourist, hanging around the negotiations & one of the RIG photographed with a career Criminal. We watch as more Ministerial positions are created & given massive pay increases. It’s a hard watch following all the faux concern & lies told prior to Election, now thrown out the window. You wonder why Gerry Hutch got so many votes ! People have lost all hope !

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:25 PM

It’s a crazy way to run a democracy. Opposition is Opposition

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:25 PM

@ian: Its more like north Korea now, Government not only control the media but now opposition as well, this is what a dictatorship looks like.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:01 PM

@087 bed: is it nice down there in the rabbit hole? Feel free to leave.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:19 PM

@087 bed: You haven’t been well for a while now..

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Jan 19th 2025, 8:29 PM

@ian: It’s a crazy way for SF to run a political party by whinging four times a day every day. But if the lads in Belfast say so, then so be it.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:50 PM

@087 bed: North Korea, that is way over the top.

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:20 PM

Is aul longer Martin still denying the bailout or has he finally gotten over that bout of amnesia he had from 2008…..

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:02 PM

It’s another farce and a sham and all before the government has even been formed. I would be embarrassed to be associated with it as Taoiseach and it just goes to prove what a farce and a sham Michael Martin himself is.

Even if there is no rule that says they can’t form this technical group they should not form it in the best interests of the gov and the people they represent.

These independents only wish to form this group to take speaking time away from the opposition, to me that is treacherous. The citizens gave you their backing and you respond with treachery, start as you mean to go on lads?

MM a few days ago – ““I will work every day of those three years to do what I can to get this programme for government delivered to make life better for people,” ” – Not off to a great start so Michael.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:25 PM

@Paddy Short: He never has or never will represent the people of Ireland. He has proven that over and over again.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:30 PM

@Paddy Short: they don’t serve the people. its themselves, then the party. thats it.

Mute Johnny Wilson
    Favourite Johnny Wilson
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:02 PM

@Paddy Short: the running on the Dail can’t be changed by the Government

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:59 PM

Hard to be ‘excited’ about anything you do, Mr. Martin.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:58 PM

@Thesaltyurchin: Martin must wonder how we have reached the point where we celebrate as good news when a terror organisation is releasing 3 of the not killed kidnap victims. Martin and others should not measure right and wrong behaviour in a terrorist war by Irish civilisation measures.

Mute common sense
    Favourite common sense
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:00 PM

I’m excited about Trump taking back power tomorrow.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:08 PM

@common sense: good for you. But what’s your opinion on the ridiculous matter of independents who are part of the government also being in opposition to the government?

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:10 PM

@common sense: I’m sure you’ve a box of tissues at the ready to celebrate. I suppose that’s what fanboys if a sexual predator do..

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:45 PM

@common sense: good on you. But that’ll make jack shyte of a difference to your life and the goings on in Ireland. But you do you. Have the hankies ready coz your going to lose your body weight in jizz seeing the orange lad and malaria

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:49 PM

@common sense: Get up off your knees.

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:15 PM

If this is allowed to ahead. The international reporting will feed into the gombeen backwater image Ireland worked hard to eradicate.

Mute Concerned Driver
    Favourite Concerned Driver
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:04 PM

Shocking. Just shocking. The whole thing about forming this government is just bizarre. FG was the second biggest looser after GP, and they behave like winners. Nonsense.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:14 PM

Back to government formation talks. They won’t go far with this bunch.

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:52 PM

FF WILL GO IN TO POWER WITH TALIBAN

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:20 PM

@Paul Byrne: As long as it wasn’t with SF we’re on a winner.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:40 PM

@Dave f Doe: show me some evidence of this claim…oh wait you cant because sinn fein have NEVER been in govt and have NEVER had any power to do ANYTHING

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:53 PM

@Paul Byrne: Taliban, who is the Taliban in Irish politics?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 19th 2025, 11:45 PM

@Gary Kearney: The Healy-Raes!

Mute A.D. Benzion
    Favourite A.D. Benzion
    Jan 21st 2025, 11:02 AM

@Vincent Alexander: correct

Mute Daniel Gilroy
    Favourite Daniel Gilroy
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:36 PM

MM all the spine of a jellyfish. F ing weasel. A purge day for politicians wouldn’t go amiss.

Mute Tony O'Toole
    Favourite Tony O'Toole
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:28 PM

What would else would you expect from a Giknah .

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:43 PM

@Tony O’Toole: Great expression, sums up Martin to a tee.

Mute John G
    Favourite John G
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:13 PM

Martin is a sleeveen still despite his holier than thou behaviour …. he never changed his FF attitude … always knows better and pontificating like a Christian brother. But FF and FG are true sleveens if he passes this ‘definition’ without very clear rules that exclude Zionism from the mix… Zionists are not Jews they are fascist ideologues, rascists, thieves and murderers some of who may be Jewish.
    Michael D Higgins is no rascist, no murderer and no thief and he speaks with a clear conscience and a real depth of knowledge. Dana Erlich as ambassador of Israel is no spokesperson for Jews but is for genocidal behaviour and a country with no ethical or moral legitimacy. Shame on her and shame on Martin and the new government if indeed it gets past this disgrace.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Jan 19th 2025, 9:05 PM

@John G: What a disgusting antisemitic rambling we have here. Zionism is Judaism because, by definition, it is the belief that Jewish people have a right to live in their ancestral homeland. 95% of Jewish people are Zionists and 5% of Jews are simply self-hating. Zionism is one of the clearest examples of a belief system against racism because it believes in the right of the power for Jews to decolonise the area that they used to control. The only “genocide” that is happening is the imaginary one in your mind. The civilian to combatant ratio in the current Israel-Hamas War is 2:1. The average for conflicts around the world is 4:1. Care you explain why your buddies in Hamas haven’t built a single bomb shelter in the entirety of Gaza in the 18 years that they’ve ruled the place?

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 19th 2025, 9:15 PM

@John G: What about the fact that civilians aren’t allowed in the underground tunnel system in Gaza but Hamas militants are? Jewish people never stole a single piece of land, but the Arabs did. Name me just one Jewish settlement that was built on stolen Arab land before the six Arab armies invaded Israel after they declared independence in 1948 in order to wipe out the Jews and failed. Michael D. Higgins is an antisemitic clown who continually embarrasses himself on the world stage. He lavishes praise on authoritarian dictatorships like Cuba and Iran and refuses to condemn their blatant human rights abuses while simultaneously singling out the only Jewish State in the world and repeating slanders and lies about them. Shame on you for being a complete and utter uneducated plank.

Mute John G
    Favourite John G
    Jan 19th 2025, 9:15 PM

@William Jennings: that’s clearly untrue considering many Zionists are irreligious despite being Jewish in name only. Don’t fall for equating all Jews with Israel when there’s a very considerable and disparate body of Jews both in and out of Israel who despise Israel and despise Zionism and are practising Jews. Einstein did not agree with the idea of a Jewish state either. So go I form yourself please.

Mute John G
    Favourite John G
    Jan 19th 2025, 9:18 PM

@William Jennings: I think your swallowing pure Israeli propaganda from the state that allows no journalists enter Gaza or provide ‘any’ tangible evidence of hospital bases or weapons stores etc. Speaks for itself like sniped children with head shots does.

Mute joe moody
    Favourite joe moody
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:22 AM

@William Jennings: the Nakba of 48! When Zionist sertlers from all across the world invaded and displaced a million Palestinians creating ghettos and prison camps like Gaza and the west bank..
    You seem to have zero knowledge of this colonial adventure into Palestine but don’t worry we are here to educate you..

Mute joe moody
    Favourite joe moody
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:29 AM

@Dave f Doe: it’s great you zio psychopaths show the world exactly who you are these days with your open blood lust and psychotic tenancies!

Mute David Cotter
    Favourite David Cotter
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:07 PM

Poor old mehole…..being bu€€ f@€ked by the Healy raes

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:21 PM

@David Cotter: He is one sleazy operator. The most insincere man of all times.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jan 19th 2025, 3:45 PM

@David Corrigan: 100 per cent. The very definition of a Sleeveen that fella.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:24 PM

@Brian: If he had any real ability as a politician or a man he would be dangerous.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:17 PM

@David Cotter: Hope you were wearing protection.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:19 PM

@David Cotter: do you really believe fffg were not behind this?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Jan 19th 2025, 7:23 PM

@Brian: I think you’re being very charitable calling Mehole a slieveen!

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:47 PM

Hiw do you make something illegal but not illegal; rewrite the Occupied Territories Bill that was accepted by every party in the Dáil, disgusting.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:36 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Comment sense prevailed. Taking a multi-billion euro economic hit for the sake of a bill that does nothing of any description for Palestinians in any way shape or form would have been an act of unprecedented national self-harm. You’re confusing hubris with solidarity. We’re lucky that the authors of the bill – various partisan ngos and demented anti Israel headbangers – aren’t running the country.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:37 PM

@honey badger: * Common sense

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:55 PM

Id say most people are very unexcited about seeing you as taoiseach.

Mute martin finnegan
    Favourite martin finnegan
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:14 PM

Well ye voted these shower in what u expect fairness. All politicians are same

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jan 19th 2025, 7:52 PM

X fine Gael minister Lowry running the show
    Well done voters enjoy the next 5 years of abuse

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:56 PM

I actually really detest that piig, MM and his FF party.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jan 19th 2025, 7:54 PM

Bending to their masters Israel already watering down the occupied territories bill

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 19th 2025, 9:00 PM

@Kevin O Brien: No actually, it’s because America called out the idiots in Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil for their uneducated and unqualified anti-Israel ramblings. It was a foolhardy and nonsensical bill which had no basis in history or in the present day. Martin already got a clip around the ear before the election for his antisemitic comments, he needs to be given a bigger clip so he knows that no sort of farcical legislation like this should be passed at all, watered down or not.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:58 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Actually it is because of the way the bill is written. A bill can not be passed if written incorrectly in relation to the constitution and the law.
    They have said the department of justice says the present bill does that.
    I am no expert in constitutional law but they have them on staff!

Mute joe moody
    Favourite joe moody
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:34 AM

@William Jennings: nobody wants to hear the ramblings of a zio Nazis stop with the ridiculous comments everybody in the country has watch what Israel is all about over the last year we know they are baby killers with no legitimacy

Mute William Jennings
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:50 PM

So why hasn’t he tried to block it from happening? Fianna Fáil is the largest party in the Dáil, they could easily tell their doppelgängers in Fine Gael that they don’t want such a thing happening. I personally couldn’t care less though because such a thing has precedent when left-wing TD Tony Gregory was a longtime supporter of the government despite sitting on the opposition benches. It’s a smart action by the politicians who are engaging in it this time and it’s perfectly permission even if it is politically opportunistic. Take Danny Healy-Rae. It will give him the flexibility to push for funding and good deals for Kerry while not being whipped into voting for bills which are anti-agriculture and anti-farmer that would annoy his voters.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:14 PM

I wish they’d just get on with it. All the headline seekers are desperate for attention. I’d prefer to see how the new government addresses our many issues before judging them.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:27 PM

@honey badger: Nothing will be fixed HB and you know it. We will be looking at the same issues again in 5 years after firing another few hundred million at the people in charge and still nothing fixed. It’s the greatest disaster of all time.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:33 PM

@David Corrigan: I don’t know that, and you saying it’s the greatest disaster of all time is credulous nonsense. Dial down the silliness.

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:46 PM

@honey badger: If they didn’t fix the problems in the previous 5 years then why would they start now? Especially after the electorate has basically told them that any current issues are tolerable.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:53 PM

@Rochelle Hart: That’s what I’m waiting to see, Rochelle.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:57 PM

@honey badger: That’s why I dramatised it for you. You are waiting on a bus that will never arrive.
    They are the CAUSE of all the countries social problems. They have no intention of reversing what they have done.

If you can’t see that by now, then there really isn’t any hope for you.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:02 PM

@David Corrigan: Yeah, I’d say that’s why you ” dramatised it” alright…

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:13 PM

@honey badger: And here we are. You still believing they will deliver on items they have promised on for decades.

I will leave you to it. You need time to reflect.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jan 19th 2025, 6:05 PM

@Rochelle Hart: Just more disingenuous bs from the usual pro estaishment protagonists.. FG are in power 14 years but apparently it’s gonna take another 5 and essentially 2 decades to decide if they can deliver.. such drivelous ramblings. These lads are,as Simon himself would say, gowls.

Mute Stephen oflanagan
    Favourite Stephen oflanagan
    Jan 19th 2025, 8:43 PM

Bread buttered on both sides.
    We want a creadbel opposition to hold the government to account.
    Isn’t that how democracy is supposed to work?

Mute Pork Hunt
    Favourite Pork Hunt
    Jan 19th 2025, 8:28 PM

Mm 2 faced rat .

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 19th 2025, 4:07 PM

The Left tried to cobble together the most unlikely to work together alliance so it could be worse.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 19th 2025, 5:20 PM

Just wondering????? Is negativity a trending thing or is there a competition I haven’t heard about. ?

Mute Tom Moylan
    Favourite Tom Moylan
    Jan 19th 2025, 7:46 PM

@thomas molloy: ” with so many things coming back in style, I can’t wait until morals, respect and intelligence becomes a trend again “

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:37 PM

Maybe he should speak to the public before claiming we support govt tds taking up speaking time from opposition tds

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Jan 19th 2025, 11:08 PM

Can Mehole not give a sentence with using the word fundamental, jesus every time he speaks he belts it out.

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Jan 19th 2025, 10:26 PM

The electorate has basically handed these people the reigns (again !) to do whatever the hell they want with the Irish. Sadly, it was the majority of the Irish voters who have put them straight back there (again!).
    The Irish.
    I don’t know whether to laugh at them
    Or cry for them.

Mute Thomas Brophy
    Favourite Thomas Brophy
    Jan 20th 2025, 5:50 AM

God help us the banks will give all the away again and then it wasn’t me

Mute Pat O'Shea
    Favourite Pat O'Shea
    Jan 20th 2025, 6:56 PM

Speak for yourself Mr Martin. If this goes through, it will be a disgrace- we need a proper functioning democracy and having government-leaning TDs eating up opposition speaking time smacks of autocratic tendencies.