You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Senator Jim Walsh tells Senator Ivana Bacik to "get treatment for haemorrhoids"

Really, he actually said that.

Newsworthy. ie / YouTube

THE SEANAD WAS reduced to shouting and pleading this afternoon after one Senator told another to get “treatment for haemorrhoids”.

Senators Rónán Mullen and Fidelma Healy-Eames were speaking about RTÉ’s coverage of the abortion debate when an insult by Mullen was objected to by Senator David Norris.

Uproar ensued.

Mullen was commenting about yesterday’s BAI ruling that a broadcast of the Ray D’Arcy Show featuring Amnesty International’s Colm O’Gorman breached rules for “fairness, impartiality and objectivity”.

Mullen claimed that Labour members are being hypocritical for seeking to have religion removed from State-funded schools but not seeking a balanced debate on the State-funded broadcaster.

If you only object to bias when it upsets yourselves and your point of you, then you’re no real democrat. You go on like harpies everytime somebody calls for simple fairness.

Norris objected to Mullen’s use of the term ‘harpies’ and it began three-way shouting match involving the pair and Healy-Eames.

haem Youtube Youtube

Cathaoirleach Paddy Burke attempted to maintain order before Healy-Eames accused Senator Ivana Bacik of trying to “stop the debate”.

Senator Jim Walsh then rose, saying he had a point of order:

On a point of order, can somebody please give Senator Bacik some treatment for haemorrhoids.

It was met with an angry reaction from the chamber with Norris attempting to have Burke rebuke Walsh’s his statement.

Mullen, meanwhile, pleaded to be able to finish his “concluding two sentences”.

mullen Youtube Youtube

Read: Senator calls for dismantling of RTÉ and its ‘pro-killing of unborn babies policy’ >

Read: ‘Disgusting and insensitive’: Fianna Fáil senators condemn… Fianna Fáil senators >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:44 PM

Soooooooo glad we kept the Seanad.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:45 PM

We were promised immediate reform which never came

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:16 PM

Politicians aren’t that big on reform

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Dec 10th 2015, 5:00 PM

They make the journal comment section look like a bastion of wisdom, knowledge, courtesy and rationale debate. Seriously.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:43 PM

Just shut it down for Christmas. Tell them to go home. They’re an embarrassment to Politics and Society.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:17 PM

Nothing more then an attempt by the usual suspects to take the attention away from the voting down by the Government of the anti corruption bill last night. Ironically two days later then Government Councillors are seen on national television taking bribes and acting in a completely corrupt manner.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:20 PM

Not sure you understand what ‘government’ is.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:23 PM

the group of people with the authority to govern a country or state

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:47 PM

Sen Mullen is in the wrong place, better suited to Craggy Island.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:06 PM

A few decades the wrong side of the 16th century as well…

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:05 PM

Alien8,

I’d say the 16th century is already far to advanced for Mullen, after all it was the century of the Renaissance and the start of the Enlightenment, Mullen is stuck in the dark ages, when the Church ruled freely and could burn anyone who objected to it.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Dec 10th 2015, 9:25 PM

Mullen is no ordinary idiot….he’s a real idiot

Mute Jack f
    Favourite Jack f

I doubt if ivana is the first person to develop a pain in her ar$e listening to bull in the Seanad

Mute Pepper
    Favourite Pepper
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:10 PM

She spouts enough of it.

Mute Emlyn Grant
    Favourite Emlyn Grant
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:10 PM

She is a leach. Told twice by the electorate that she is not wanted and then the great labour party ignore the electorate and make her there Senate leader.Nice money when your in the know….

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:37 PM

The day of the Labour party having power are coming to an end thank God or is that a politically correct thing to state.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

Nonetheless, it is incumbent on all right thinking folk to defend Ivana’s arse to the best of our ability. Who’s with me? :-D

Mute Rita Henderson
    Favourite Rita Henderson
    Dec 10th 2015, 11:54 PM

Emyln Grant – LEECH. THEIR Senate leader. YOU ARE in the know. Let’s pretend we are literate.

Mute Emlyn Grant
    Favourite Emlyn Grant
    Dec 11th 2015, 12:35 AM

Sorry Rita. My anger took over..

Mute Patrick O'Farrell
    Favourite Patrick O'Farrell
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:50 PM

Jim Walsh, living proof of the Theory on Empty Vessels is on a run today. First holocausts and now piles! How , in the name of logic and reason , is that idiot allowed a platform? He is an absolute and utter idiot and not shy about it for some reason.

Mute Micheal Ó Maonaigh
    Favourite Micheal Ó Maonaigh
    Dec 11th 2015, 11:48 AM

Indeed. I presume he’s just kept on for entertainment value. he and Mullen clearly believe Ireland is a Theocracy.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

I must say there are some one can short of a six pack politicians in the dail but the seanad just seems so much worse when you consider it’s size. We need a vote on seanad candidates, I don’t want my taxpayers money going toward ronan mullen & this crazy fianna fail lad who compares abortion to the Holocaust. Then there’s dissident mairia Cahill & the wiffy code Senator. It’s a joke and they all know it

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

The hilarious thing about it is that the people who elect these idiots have to have an honours degree from University to do so in most cases because it was assumed that the intelligentsia would elect learned and knowledgeable people to be Senators. This stops me from voting for them however my father can seeing as he graduated years ago and always likes to throw play the “Honours Degree” card at my inability to voted for the learned class.

Can’t wait to show him this clip and show him that a little piece of paper might show that you can pass a test but it doesn’t stop you acting like a fool.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:15 PM

Sorry only 6 are elected by universities. The rest are appointed by enda kenny or voted on by politicians. 90% of the loopers come from appointments and other political hacks. In fact some of the sane senators have come from university votes

Mute Eugene O'Gorman
    Favourite Eugene O'Gorman
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:29 PM

True, but the NUI electors have to take their lumps and accept blame for Mullen.

Mute Brendan Kernan
    Favourite Brendan Kernan

And we pay them for this Joke

Mute Cillian McCormick
    Favourite Cillian McCormick
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:47 PM

To be honest, I’m more concerned with the shite that comes out of these fools mouths then the shite that comes out there arses.

Still happy ye kept the Seanad??

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:56 PM

I’m happy a rejected it’s abolition under the premise that enda kenny said he will accept reform, which he didn’t. Time to vote out the liars and elect a gov that will reform the seanad so it can finally serve it’s function

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:16 PM

The best reform would have been to scrap it altogether.
    It’s mad to think that they’re on big money to be there. Actually, there’s meant to be 60 senators. I presume the others get paid too.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

A reformed seanad can be very effective in holding the dail to acvount. If the last 5 years are anything to go by we will need them in the future

Mute willr
    Favourite willr
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:56 PM

Half the faces in the seaned actually look like heammorroides

Mute Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    Favourite Garáiste Ó Churáinn-Seisean
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:46 PM

The right wingers are kicking off in style , and the world was peaceful while they locked their big fulminating sores after the marriage referendum

Mute Ciaran Bolger
    Favourite Ciaran Bolger
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

How many times has Ivana ran for the Dail? It must be a right pain in the *** losing every time. Hmm

Mute D J Moore
    Favourite D J Moore
    Dec 10th 2015, 5:04 PM

It’s probably she spends so much time mouthing off…

Can’t sit down for long periods of time….

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:08 PM

They are like a bunch of drunken fools around closing time arguing over nothing in particular, having nothing in particular to say but shouting over each other to say it.

Mute boildyeggs
    Favourite boildyeggs
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:15 PM

I voted to keep it under the naive belief that we would see reform and allow adults to get elected. Unfortunately we still have a bunch of pre schoolers arguing about who forgot to pick up who.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:06 PM

I hope this will give pause to those who voted for retention of this Seanad. A rest home for unelectables, lunatics and party hacks.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Under fine gael yea. We were promised reform so let’s vote in a party who will bring it

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:53 PM

Utter wasters of good oxygen……….tired of seeing their antics day after day

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:43 PM

That was below the belt.

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:13 PM

Jesus wept! You couldn’t make this shįt up. What hope is there for the country with this lot of clowns pulling the strings?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:57 PM

This won’t sit well with the public, there’s a pile of work to get through and all they talk about is assteroids.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:05 PM

There’s a pile of work to get through, in the seanad? Good one

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:34 PM

A bunch of sour grapes is all they are.

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:12 PM

Ronan Mullen is like that geeky kid you sat next to in Primary school who constantly had his hand up in the air.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:25 PM

Yeah, to tell the teacher when someone was talking.

I doubt very much it was to answer a question. That would indicate intelligence.

Mute John Mac
    Favourite John Mac
    Dec 10th 2015, 7:18 PM

I presume i’m not the only one that thinks yer man on the Inbetweeners is Ronan Mullen’s lovechild ?

I know thats highly unlikely.

Ronan probably hasn’t had sex yet..

Mute Andrew Eager
    Favourite Andrew Eager
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:01 PM

Between the liberal and conservative ideologues in the Seanad, I’m left wondering is there anybody in there who actually has the perspective of the vast majority of the people in this country. Anyone want to chance the name of a Senator who comes close?

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:04 PM

James Heffernan maybe? Everyone has an ideology of some sort it’s how tribal they are with such an ideology that decides how open they are.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:13 PM

There is Andrew, they never show up, collect their maximum expenses , keep their head down and mouth shut…

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Hardly

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:10 PM

I’m sorry but the few good senators in the seanad are being unfairly attacked via this generalisation

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins

I bet Maria Cahill regrets she ever agreed to join this motley crew. The peace and normality of Belfast must look very attractive now..

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:11 PM

I bet labour regret asking a known dissident republican to join their party for the sole purpose of attacking Sinn fein.

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:21 PM

I think the chairperson should be able to use any language necessary without issue, like “sit the f**k down, shut the f**k up” and other such phrases.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:11 PM

He has the power to kick deputies from the house. You don’t need a 2ider vocabulary

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Wider* where did that 2 come from?

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Favourite Thomas Mac Donagh

hilarious :D

Mute Oisin O'Riordan
    Favourite Oisin O'Riordan
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:07 PM

Priceless! She’s an awful specimen I’d say there’s a line of people who’ve been waiting to say something similar to her.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB

Nasty

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:37 PM

Don’t get childish, Oisin!!

Mute Jacob Marley
    Favourite Jacob Marley
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:57 PM

David Norris’ faux outrage is horsesh.t. This is the same guy who went on an apoplectic rant about “Enda bloody Kenny “?? As for Bacik, her sense of supreme entitlement could be bottled its that dripping that thick from her sanctimonious lips. At least Walsh had a sense if humour about this in his clearly tongue in cheek comment.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Dec 10th 2015, 5:39 PM

David Norris.
    The Master of operatic indignation.
    An embarrassment to Irish political life.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Dec 10th 2015, 2:53 PM

Is this part on FG new free GP on the spot diagnoses thing.

Mute D J Moore
    Favourite D J Moore
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:28 PM

Bacik and Mullen are two sides of the sane coin….

Mute Michael O'Connor
    Favourite Michael O'Connor
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:43 PM

Jesus Walsh is some useless eejit.

Mute Martin Healy
    Favourite Martin Healy
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:14 PM

Jobs for the boys and girls

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Dec 11th 2015, 10:52 AM

Yes an we had a chance to get rid of them all. Ah no we had to vote to keep it so again no 1 to blame only ourselves.

Mute Dave Purdy
    Favourite Dave Purdy
    Dec 10th 2015, 5:13 PM

Remind me please how much is the payers paying for this circus again.

Mute Patrick J Casey
    Favourite Patrick J Casey
    Dec 10th 2015, 4:57 PM

Life is precious. If politicians have the guts to stand up and be counted so be it. The terminology may be regrettable and inappropriate but the thinking and beliefs are to be welcomed

Mute John Kinsella
    Favourite John Kinsella
    Dec 10th 2015, 3:53 PM

Well done everybody. Senators are supposed to be wise but some of them seem to think that means “Act like Ernie Wise.”

Mute Séamus O'Ceallaigh
    Favourite Séamus O'Ceallaigh
    Dec 10th 2015, 6:57 PM

Healy-Eames accused Senator Ivana Bacik of trying to “stop the debate”. I agree Ivana is always doing that.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 10th 2015, 6:02 PM

They actually acted like elected TDs

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Dec 10th 2015, 6:13 PM

Why oh why did we not abolish this superannuated talking shop? Right wing ideologues on one hand, and utter contempt for the electorate by Labour on the other by adding ex dissident M Cahill to the less than inspiring duo of Lorraine Higgins and Ivana Bacik. Even makes the Dail look like a hotbed of intellectualism.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Dec 10th 2015, 9:49 PM

What a bufoon Norris is

Mute Micheal Ó Maonaigh
    Favourite Micheal Ó Maonaigh
    Dec 11th 2015, 12:05 PM

Ah Ronan Mullen. The special adviser to to the arch diocese and Desmond Connell in Dublin when they publicly denied child sexual abuse covers ups and now he is in the Senate pontificating on the protection of children. You couldn’t make this loon up and nor would you want to. As is always the case with this crowd, the babies are only important before they are born. After that, it’s none of their concern.

Dec 11th 2015, 5:56 PM

The rest of us has Joan and Enda to suffer with, he is lucky lol.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Dec 11th 2015, 1:47 PM

I was one of the few that voted to get rid of this retirement home home for failures ,and nothing has changed my mind .A useless bunch the few that show up that is spouting hot air ,Reform ? Ha, reform it with a bulldozer and knock it down ,Waste of money ,

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Dec 11th 2015, 7:57 AM

Go Sheen!