You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TheJournal.ie

Burton returns to Dunnes where she used to work to show solidarity with workers

The Tánaiste worked at the Henry Street store when she was a student.

TÁNAISTE JOAN BURTON today greeted striking Dunnes Stores workers at the Henry Street branch where she once worked.

The Tánaiste received a warm welcome from the crowd at the store where she was employed for a time as a student.

Speaking at the event, Burton, said, “The people in Dunnes Stores have given fantastic service down the years. I think the company should go and enter into negotiations and should settle. People shouldn’t have to be out on strike.”

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

She went on to address the issue of banded hour contracts – which is one of workers’ key demands – saying that research into the matter was under way in the University of Limerick and was expected back at the same time as the Low Pay Commission in July.

The Tánaiste also said that collective bargaining legislation would be introduced in the next Dáil term that would allow for industrial disputes to be moved to a Circuit Court level in circumstances where the employer fails to engage in negotiations.

Dunnes workers are currently picketing stores across the country.

Earlier today, Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams and Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin arrived at the St Stephen’s Green store to give their support to protesters.

The strike action today comes from a ballot held by Mandate Trade Union – which more than half of Dunnes staff are members of.

Dunnes responded to the strike today by offering an online discount of 20% to their customers.

Read: ‘Everyone needs to get behind Dunnes workers, in the name of common decency’

Also: As its workers strike over unfair treatment, Dunnes responds with 1-day only online offer

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

128 Comments
    Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:35 PM

Appealing to the common man while you have someone holding your umbrella.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:41 PM

How do you know its her umbrella?

Did you never share an umbrella with someone?

Mute William Byrne
    Favourite William Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:55 PM

gagsy you fool !

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:01 PM

I’m sure they take turns holding it

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

Will, do you know the 5 Lamps?

Mute Robert Burke
    Favourite Robert Burke

Seems people only get credit on this site if they are a member of Sinn Fein or the AAA.

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:05 PM

Oh Lord, this is just too much, just fell off the seat.
    This woman has a neck like a jockeys nether-regions.
    ROFLMAO

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:17 PM

Is she for real must think we’re all stupid

Mute Pj Quinn
    Favourite Pj Quinn
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:17 PM

It will look good for her on the six o clock news that’s all she cares about..

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:38 PM

Maybe that she is correct?

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:40 PM

Dunnes offering 20% off online purchases until midnight only. This is one rotten business that wants to control its staff and treat them like $hit. Horrible company.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:31 PM

They are trying to humanize her. She is has about as much compassion and likability of a rogue elephant bull. Irish are resoundingly friendly and non confrontational in majority of cases. If she got a welcome its because it was beat into to us to be polite.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:41 PM

The desperation of labour really jumps out of that story. Labour leader who introduced job-bridge joins dunnes stores strikers while some gobsh!te holds her brolly.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:52 PM

The dunnes store workers should remember that all whats happening with them is under joans watch are they not thinking at all.joan is in government she could fix that problem with a stroke of her pen.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:56 PM

Behave gagsy..

Mute Peter Grimes
    Favourite Peter Grimes
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:18 PM

Gags 99
    Her umbrella is bigger than most, custom made to cover that big empty head.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Apr 2nd 2015, 9:19 PM

Ugly as sin as well

Mute Michael Vines
    Favourite Michael Vines
    Apr 3rd 2015, 2:12 AM

Ann Buggy she does

Mute Paddy O'Ruadháin
    Favourite Paddy O'Ruadháin
    Apr 3rd 2015, 9:58 PM

4 Years in government and only now are they talking about the need for this legislation? This should have been one of the first things Labour would demand for a program for government, but no, instead they enthusiastically went on to cheerlead cuts to the most vulnerable, and the encouragement of low paid precarious work as a model for ‘recovery’

So no I won’t give Burton credit for going to a photo-op. So no I won’t give her credit for talking about bringing in legislation in an election year, that should been a core principle of labour from day one. I won’t let her claim to be a champion for the working class, when almost everything else she has done has been to make their lives harder.

Apr 2nd 2015, 4:36 PM

It’s a pity she didn’t stay working for Dunnes…

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:19 PM

She wouldn’t have all the perks

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:35 PM

She probably had a proper contract with them back then

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:33 PM

She actually doesn’t give a sh*t….but she thinks it’ll look good in the papers.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:38 PM

Cos she’s so malevolently evil?

Perhaps you’re reading too many comics. Batman isn’t on his way to smite her.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:39 PM

Just like Adams and Martin

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

No…not evil…….just so removed from the working class she once represented, she’s forgotten what it’s like to struggle and juggle with bills every week.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:42 PM

I’m sure most of these are against IW too, and want nothing to do with this treacherous low life!

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

So you actually think she doesn’t care at all?

I mean this is the thing about political discourse on the comments here – it goes from the sycophantic pro gov party hacks to the vitriolic opinions that all politicians (except the commenter’s favourite) are treasonous, immoral or amoral, greedy, corrupt, evil etc.

I don’t have any particular affinity to Labour or Joan Burton (have probably given them votes somewhere in the top half of the list) but I don’t doubt that most of them are in it for well intentioned reasons and I think that applies to all parties.

Burton for example, a woman in her 60′s, – if she is smart enough and hard enough working to have risen close to the top of her profession, chances are she could probably have landed a far more lucrative and less stressful job outside of politics.
    Even now she could easily walk away and land a few cushy non-executive directorships pulling in a tidy few quid and leave all the abuse and stress of politics behind. I can’t imagine its self-interest that stops her.

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:04 PM

I don’t know many jobs outside of politics that are lucrative to the extent she will be getting.
    A very very well paid job for life
    pensions she can take at 50 while still working
    multiple pensions
    no accountability for the work they do, can’t get sacked.
    not allowed to call them liers
    expense accounts to beat the band,
    as long as you can sleep well at night knowing all the lies and depict, you’ll do well

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:18 PM

what about the elections every 5 years?

I know lots of more lucrative jobs.
    Pensions are pretty good, yeah.
    Not allowed call them liars? Are you having a laugh? No amount of money would entice me to put up with the amount of abuse politicians have to take.
    Expense accounts exist in most professional occupations – but yeah, the political expenses could do with further reform, fair enough.

But when you consider what she could be doing – no way at her age she’s in it for the money and unlikely to ever have been in my view.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:51 PM

Excuse me Gagsy, it has not always been like this…..Joan had an easy ride in politics up until the last election, spending most of her life in opposition and rarely having the principles that the Labour Party enthused being tested.
    When the test came she(Joan) and the old guard(Howlin, Rabbitte, Gilmore) threw the working man and the Labour party under a bus for a last chance at a Ministerial pension.

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner

They lie in elections then stab the electorate in the back. How can the public influence liars like her.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:34 PM

Must be looking for votes.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking

Looking for votes.. She’s probably there for the managers.. Wouldn’t surprise me if she was one of them that we’ve been hearing about.. She heard about the 20% discount..

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007

Not a blueshirt to be seen
    Then again they just support farmers and high paid workers

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:49 PM

Talk about two faced opportunism?, pass the sick bag please….

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:48 PM

So, jobbridge joan is trying to convince us that she stands in solidarity with low paid workers inflicted by terrible terms and conditions, the same woman who has implemented the closest thing to slave labour she could get away with in a first world country?

Excuse me while I stuff my lunch back down my tract……

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:43 PM

What a coincidence there used to be a Joan Burton in the Labour party but she moved to Fine Gael

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:39 PM

All part of electioneering. Doesn’t fool anyone. Abolish the water rates Joan. It would be one less thing for the workers to worry about.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:23 PM

Keep water rates, get rid of USC – working people would be much better off with that.

Apr 2nd 2015, 5:47 PM

Workers better off handing money over to a private company who will increase water prives yearly?? Really.

Mute Repeating history
    Favourite Repeating history
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:39 PM

USC is a multiple of what water rates are or will be

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins

She’s a fraud. Doesn’t give a toss about Dunne’s workers, only how it will appear in the papers. Fooling nobody/.

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:37 PM

They have some neck showing up,
    Labour Are turncoats who leach of the workers union subscriptions .

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien

Can’t the government rush some legislation through this bankholiday weekend to make Zero hour contracts illegal?

seems they can rush plenty of other things through when they want to take money from us

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:29 PM

Given the fact that she is tanaiste and minister for social protection, I would imagine that it is within her powers to ban such contracts – something she seems to have overlooked. Controversy surrounding zero hour contracts is not new and the dissatisfaction at Dunnes did not happen today. Had she expressed her concern earlier, a strike may not have been necessary.
    Her government has actively facilitated such employment practices.

Mute Repeating history
    Favourite Repeating history
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:38 PM

Ahh, but Annmarie this way she gets a good photo opportunity “standing up for the common workers” while she doesn’t actually have to take a tough decision and amend the legislation!

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:43 PM

Bit ironic really. Supporting low paid workers . while we have zero rate hours . jobs bridge and she thinks these are grand because she has done nothing to stop them.

Mute Jonathan McKee
    Favourite Jonathan McKee
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:58 PM

She really does not give a toss about the every-day working person…

Look at the difference in expression whilst meeting liar Rabbitte 11 sec and then looking at the workers protesting at 14 sec. This was nothing more than a publicly stunt, for Joan maybe would have been better to do as most normal people and hold her own umbrella or walk with a hood up, instead walking like a queen and expecting everyone to be thankful she turned up.

Never again will I vote for Labour, you deceived the people and lied all the way to the bank.

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:12 PM

If she really gave a shite then she would be pushing to make zero hour contract illegal. cause lets face it a zero hour contract is basically not a contract at all, it just a way to have workers on hand in case you need them.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:38 PM

I’d say she was about as welcome as a fart in a space suit.

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:51 PM

Can’t blame Dunnes really. … they take their cue from Burton. Pay people low rates in dead end jobs with hours that suit the company rather than staff. Just like Jobsbridge.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:22 PM

I have a feeling in my waters that this is the start of some blatantly electioneering by labour.

Mute nolblog
    Favourite nolblog
    Apr 2nd 2015, 11:25 PM

you must have the second sight o_O

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:48 PM

And of course nothing to do with this being election year

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:57 PM

Its next year.

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:06 PM

i think it just might be this year

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:59 PM

Umbrella over her head while the strikers get soaked. Pretentious b*tch.

Mute Owen
    Favourite Owen

Says the man with the nice hat…

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:42 PM

Say’s the bunny rabbit with his perked ears

Mute itzme
    Favourite itzme
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:51 PM

Same woman went about destroying what’s left of the building industry yesterday, some neck of her.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:00 PM

Too little to late joan

Mute Kenneth Graham Dissident
    Favourite Kenneth Graham Dissident

publicity stunt how to look good which wont help the labour party or her…… did you ask rte for a balanced report on the news or will we get the usual government propaganda crap. there was a protest yesterday at iw hq nothing mentioned on rte although utv managed to mention it but of course that is unbalanced reporting.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:00 PM

Looking for Votes MAGGIE couldn’t give two cares about the ordinary working person as she has proved with the venomous streak and utter contempt she has shown towards the working class ! Too little to late you will be banished too political obscurity Joan AKA Maggie Thatchers nemesis

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:27 PM

That comment makes absolutely no sense
    You do realise that a nemesis means an enemy right?
    Don’t use big words if you don’t know what that mean

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan

Don’t make the mistake between education and intelligence

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:41 PM

@reg gordon

He made a mistake but I understand exactly what he means.

Mute Tony Pagel
    Favourite Tony Pagel
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:29 PM

This is a PR stunt from the lot of them in the run up to an election. You can expect much more of this over coming 12 months. If Dunnes workers were at this 12 months ago, you would not have seen sight nor sign of a politician, as politicians don’t care about workers they only care about votes. Don’t be fooled sheeple

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:07 PM

Desperate to court the left vote days after she condemed media support for the left.

What is wrong with her? Is she deliberately trying to make herself look like an idiot?

Mute john Gallagher
    Favourite john Gallagher
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:36 PM

Fair play to her!!!

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:51 PM

Hurrah, the Tanaiste is on strike!
    Wait, what….

Mute Ronan Walsh
    Favourite Ronan Walsh

Front of tomorrows indo, burton stuck in a shopping trolley being rocked by po’ed dunnes workers.

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:03 PM

Did u heard her on leaders questions this morning this is a complete publicity stunt to turn up here it’s all about thinking we the public are stupid and if I go there it’ll be good publicity must have great spindoctors

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:34 PM

Enda didn’t receive such a warm reception in Ballymahon Longford today.. Lucky phoney Joan was welcomed with her act ;) Times a running out
    :)

Mute Aoife Ni Ici
    Favourite Aoife Ni Ici
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:30 PM

So Enda didnt get a great reception in Ballymahon? Where can i find out more please? :)

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:50 PM

I’m confused, Joan Burton is out in the public (Henry St no less) and there’s no anti-water meter protesters/banners to be seen.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

They were busy stocking up on drink sees as they can go out tomorrow!

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

Cant

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall

Seems like you’ve started already.

Mute Derek hutchings
    Favourite Derek hutchings
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:13 PM

Did she noticed all the camera phones this time

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:21 PM

Labour reaching out to the workers!!! Election or what?

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:44 PM

Who would want that parasite around them shes just lookin for votes

Mute gavin ward
    Favourite gavin ward

How do u know she doesn’t give shh11t?! Look at unemployment rates, easy to shout on a crowded bandwagon isn’t it!

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

Yes other parties would have 0% unemployment within 4 years of being in office!

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:07 PM

Gavin it was in their program for government. read up on it

Apr 2nd 2015, 5:56 PM

Two bit slave labour and emigration to fiddel figures. Are you actually that easily fooled?

Mute Aoife Ni Ici
    Favourite Aoife Ni Ici
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:19 PM

FG-LAB-FF Our very own home grown ‘troika’, corporate shills all in the pockets of corporate establishment intetests. Dont believe the hype. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. OUT OUT OUT

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:27 PM

Bit late in the day for that act , Iphoney Joan..
    Times up. … Oblivion and beyond …

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:08 PM

If that was me on strike and moany Joan arrived or any other pleb from FF/FG Labour I would tell them to p*S’s off,Using people’s protest about their working conditions as some sort of publicity stunt.
    I would also ask Joan why she won’t answer a question put forward.

Mute sam 987123
    Favourite sam 987123
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:19 PM

Ahahahahahahahaaa April fools. Oh wait… she’s serious?

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:22 PM

Cheap photo op Joan, you would be better off doing something about zero hour contracts than standing there with sh!t eating grin on your face, but you won’t because zero hour contracts are a vital cog in your departments smoke & mirror job figures, you are very much in the running for my annual phil hogan face I hate the most award

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:45 PM

She’s a true woman of the people , she would never take advantage of a photo opportunity, God bless you Joan , Ireland’s Joan of arc so she is .

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:18 PM

Did ye hear the wicked witch iMoan Joan in the Dáil diverting to workers in the North of Ireland instead of dealing with the reason for the Dunnes stores strike,

Herself and Kenny THINK they are masters at diversionary tactics – wrong !

Tick tock …….

Mute Aoife Ni Ici
    Favourite Aoife Ni Ici
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:20 PM

Shameless huckster hussy. Phony. Zombie. A plague on all their houses. OUT OUT OUT

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:10 PM

The cheapest of cheap propaganda. As if that woman cares about the wellbeing of workers

Mute Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Cuilleanáin
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:36 PM

You need people working so they can pay for water charges.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:07 PM

If only she was in a position to help these people instead of just giving them polite platitudes…

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:20 PM

iMoan Burton is more interested in trying to score political points against Paul Murphy in the Dáil than addressing the laws that allow the exploitation of young workers by Dunnes stores.

Pathetic Burton !

Tick tock …..

Mute Daibhi_eire
    Favourite Daibhi_eire
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:59 PM

TWO FACED TRAMP

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:37 PM

Jobbridge

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho

There’s no doubt that Joan Burton has achieved a level of success gagsy. But that’s not the point. I don’t agree with the personal insults or attacks. What I am not in favour of is the relentless, labour-backed taxes and charges introduced since coming to power. One of the first cuts introduced by Labour was the drastic reduction in disability allowance (€80), a huge faux pas which was reversed following a public outcry. That’s the only language listened to by politicians. Even now, on top of all other additional taxes and charges, the extra bin levies were about to be introduced with the nod from Labour but have been quietlyshelved until after the election. The reason why the extra bin levy was shelved is because of public reaction to the water charges. If we don’t shout, and shout aloud, Joan and the rest will ignore us

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:05 PM

Tally, they are all absolutely fair points and well made.

But this is a report about her showing up to support the strikers, leading to a deluge of hate posts. Its like its not enough to just disagree with her policies or decisions, she has to be hated and vilified as a an evil traitor.

But sure that’s the internet for you, wha’?

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:57 PM

Pity she didn’t show the same empathy with the under 25s. .when she slashed their rate’s and left the parents take up the slack..

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:04 PM

The devil wears Prada

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:02 PM

She looks about 6′ 6” in that clip.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:04 PM

Ah, good oul’ JobBridge Joan, maybe she has a few internships to hand out to the beleaguered workers.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:57 PM

Stupid cow hoping to get some votes feck of joanny

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:08 PM

Labour must be worried about losing their share of the union dues.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:02 PM

How low can this Government go?
    As low as a snakes belly.

Mute Joey Hashish
    Favourite Joey Hashish

Same people .. Same script. The comments on these stories are getting boring

Mute Denis O Brien
    Favourite Denis O Brien
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:11 PM

stop commenting then

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:15 PM

But Labour look after the workers right ?? Big Jim ….you there big Jim ????

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:43 PM

No.

Mute gavin ward
    Favourite gavin ward
    Apr 2nd 2015, 4:45 PM

I don’t understand your point Ronan

Mute Kalon Dillon
    Favourite Kalon Dillon
    Apr 2nd 2015, 9:47 PM

She’s probably replaced full wage workers with jobsbridge slaves.

Mute Keith Masterson
    Favourite Keith Masterson
    Apr 2nd 2015, 8:39 PM

Used to work in Dunne’s …now she dines with the likes of heffernan , fg and other capitalists who have contempt for workers rights.

Apr 2nd 2015, 10:45 PM

Joan stands over the jobs bridge scam but turns up at Dunnes what a waste of space.

Mute Kieran Roche
    Favourite Kieran Roche
    Apr 2nd 2015, 8:25 PM

And everybody listens to Joan of course

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:28 PM

Yes Gagsy. I agree.

Mute Derek Carroll
    Favourite Derek Carroll
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:00 PM

At least she had the liathroida to show up,,just saying

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:29 PM

She might be able to help you with your Irish ….

Mute gavin ward
    Favourite gavin ward
    Apr 2nd 2015, 5:45 PM

Ahh rabble rabble rabble!!! The economy will dictate the success or failure of this government , majority of commentators here spouting empty vacuous statements,

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Apr 2nd 2015, 10:54 PM

was she there to charge them for the rain?

Mute mike
    Favourite mike
    Apr 2nd 2015, 6:53 PM

That’s the contract they signed up to.

TOUGH $h^T

They knew the conditions when they started.
    If they don’t like it, leave.

Dunnes are completely legal in what they are doing.

Sack them and get people that will be happy for a few bob

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Apr 2nd 2015, 8:17 PM

Listening to Leaders debate on ITV, how come Ed Milliband can say he would Ban Zero Contracts, Why has’nt Joan!!!

Mute mr hopkins
    Favourite mr hopkins
    Apr 2nd 2015, 7:01 PM

This is again young peoples fault will they ever fecking learn.

Mute Ger Clifford
    Favourite Ger Clifford
    Apr 10th 2015, 11:43 PM

Something tells me that the General Election is nearer than we think . Watch Labour drown in the cesspit they created.Kilkenny bye-election will open their eyes but too late.!!!