You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

FF and FG want to get tough on crime, but the parties have some differing ideas how to do that

Fianna Fáil wants a dedicated transport police but Fine Gael isn’t so keen.

FIANNA FÁIL and Fine Gael have both pledged to get tough on crime, but the two parties have some differing ideas. 

Micheál Martin’s party launched its justice manifesto today, pledging to recruit an additional 5,000 gardaí over the next five years if re-elected. 

This promise puts it at odds with Fine Gael, who today pledged to recruit an additional 6,000 gardaí.

How will such a ramping up of gardaí be achieved when the government of the last four years has struggled to reach its current recruitment targets? 

Fianna Fáil has proposed to increase the garda training allowance from €354 to €500 per week, as well as introduce other recruitment reforms.

It also wants to reform the Garda recruitment and training processes to increase capacity and to widen the net to include a graduate entry programme.

Fine Gael pledges to double the training allowance and reassign 500 gardaí away from admin desk jobs to frontline policing. 

The party also wants to expand the Templemore Training College, and open a second Garda training college, while also using colleges and universities around the country for gardaí to carry out the academic side of the training. 

At odds on a public transport police

Rolling out a standalone public transport police is another area of difference between the two parties. 

Martin revealed in an interview with The Journal last week that he wasn’t prepared to let garda management stand in the way of rolling out such a unit, stating that it is what the public transport unions have been calling for. 

Asked why she wouldn’t back the idea, Fine Gael’s Justice Minister Helen McEntee said outlined that current operations have seen gardaí police public transport, stating that she supported an enhancement of a Garda presence on public transport, but not through a dedicated force.

She outlined that Fine Gael favours increasing transport hubs at places such as train stations. McEntee emphasised the importance of maintaining a flexible workforce that can respond to various incidents, both on public transport and in urban areas, arguing that this would not be the case if a standalone garda unit was established. 

Aside from those two differences, the parties have many similarities. Both parties pledge to:

• Provide all frontline Gardaí with body worn cameras
  • Allow Gardaí to use facial recognition technology when investigating very serious offences, subject to appropriate oversight
  • Introduce a Domestic Violence and Abuse Disclosure Scheme and register of domestic abusers to give people the ability to know if their partner had an abusive past

The issue of facial recognition was a source of controversy in the last government, with the Green Party raising concerns over its use.

A number of experts, including a Trinity professor raised concerns about racial bias, while the the Irish Council of Civil Liberties (ICCL) highlighted concerns over “mass surveillance”

Speaking at a press conference today, McEntee defended the party’s position, stating that it would go further and seek for live facial recognition to be used for specific threats such as for terrorist attacks, national security issues and for missing persons. 

IMG_0309 Jim O'Callaghan, James Browne and Fiona O'Loughlin at today's launch. Jane Matthews Jane Matthews

Other measures in the Fianna Fáil manifesto include increasing prison sentences for those involved in the supply of drugs while Fine Gael wants to have specialised judges with special training used in cases relating to gender-based sexual violence.

Fianna Fáil said it will deliver 1,100 prison places, while interestingly, Fine Gael’s policy re-commits to Thornton Hall being used as a new prison, despite the Taoiseach stating this week that it is to be used as an accommodation facility for international protection applicants.

Drugs policy

At today’s Fianna Fáil press conference in Dublin, the party also defended its drugs policy. Earlier this week Fianna Fáil’s press office was forced to clarify that the party does not want to decriminalise personal possession all drugs, after its manifesto appeared to suggest this was the policy. 

Instead, the party only wants to decriminalise cannabis. Jim O’Callaghan and TD James Browne today insisted that the party’s position is still for a health-led approach to be used for drug users. 

A line in today’s justice today’s portfolio reads: “Those taking drugs “recreationally” will not be allowed operate as if they are above the law”. 

When asked how this aligns with a health-led approach, O’Callaghan said: “I don’t see any incompatibility between it, I think we need a compassionate approach for individuals who have addiction issues.

“We need a compassionate approach in respect to a health led thing, but when it comes to drug dealers who wreak havoc on our society. It’s absolutely essential that we’ve strong policing response to that so we can get rid of that scourge from our society.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

57 Comments
    Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:06 PM

FG had their chance and have wrecked havoc on society in every sector. They brought in fund-ownership of housing over homeownership. Change the govt

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:26 PM

@F1rYnpWc: FG gonna win bigly

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:39 PM

@Tired Jim: yawn, lack of originality pretty much describes you & all the other woke mind virus infected automotons

Mute F1rYnpWc
    Favourite F1rYnpWc
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:50 PM

@Jim: I have some Trollfiles muted. It just shows a blank space where they commented. They’re best muted.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 15th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Jim: Don’t feed them Jim…good man

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:08 PM

What comvinced me that Dublin was safe was McEntee walking down a street in Dublin with Gardaí beside her

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:22 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Yes if we all could get an escort like McEntee we’d all be safer, sure may as well get driven around in a blacked out limousine too so as not to even see the peasants ;)

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:03 PM

Have FFG commented on the farm being searched for Jo Jo Dollard the media silence and the reason it took 28 years

Mute Daniel Gilroy
    Favourite Daniel Gilroy
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:23 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Just doing what FFG have done since the foundation of the state. Cover up, after cover up. Protecting their own, no matter how evil.

Mute micheal gilsenan
    Favourite micheal gilsenan
    Nov 15th 2024, 4:14 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Would that be the farm of a former fg mep

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:58 PM

@Daniel Gilroy: there are over 800 babies, killed by the state still buried in a sewer in Tuam.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:03 PM

@micheal gilsenan: mep or td?

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:04 PM

Which party plans to build a new prison?

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:29 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley:
    None, that I’m aware of!

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:34 PM

@P. J.: then it’s pointless, judges will continue to give suspended sentences to repeat offenders because not only there’s a housing crisis for the free, but also for the incarcerated; it’s a joke but there’s not enough space to imprison our criminals

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:44 PM

@J Ven:
    Why can’t judges give out tougher sentences? They were giving out soft sentences when we had loads of prison spaces so what was the excuse then? It’s just a cop out to say they’re giving soft sentences because
    of low capacity. Sentence the criminals appropriately and let the prison service sort out the accommodation it’s none of the judges business where they get locked up.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:51 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: The purchase of a decommissioned cruise liner to be used as a floating prison would be the job. It could inadvertently be sunk when inmate capacity is reached. A twenty minute heads up start could be given to the staff and for humanitarian purposes, an algebra based maths clue could be sent on an inmates WhatsApp group chat to unlock the shackles around their wrists and ankles.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Nov 15th 2024, 4:52 PM

@Paul Linehan: I like where you’re headed.

Mute Paul O Connor
    Favourite Paul O Connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 7:40 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley:
    Why would you waste money on a new prison when there’s an empty one in Cork which can house prisoners tommorow?

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:54 PM

@J Ven: they legal fraternity don’t want them locked up, more money to be made when there roaming the streets creating mayhem, and lots of court appearances on legal aid.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:16 PM

And would they be like the promises ye made before ? …. and before that …. and before that…

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:30 PM

They have been in power for a full term, but only if we return them to power then they will tackle the growing problems of increasing crime.
    Does not fill me with confidence.
    Talk is cheap. I can’t give them a second go, I neither trust or believe them.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Nov 15th 2024, 6:20 PM

@John Farrant: They and ff have been in power for the last 100 years.

Mute Sean McGarr
    Favourite Sean McGarr
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:28 PM

Laughable that the party of Helen McEntee and her (delayed till after the election) early release scheme are somehow tough on crime.

Mute Michale Kane
    Favourite Michale Kane
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:19 PM

Anyone for 7,000… last bids now.

Mute nollaig o cellaigh
    Favourite nollaig o cellaigh
    Nov 15th 2024, 4:23 PM

Wow all these promises you’d think there was an election coming up

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:33 PM

Doubling the training allowance (FG) would actually put training gardai on higher earnings than newly appointed gardai. So that’s not going to happen. Well done you have been attested, here’s a pay decrease.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:17 PM

All about the biometrics….they want to introduce Chinas system but they know Western people value their rights and freedoms, so they’ll have to be subversive and let crime spiral till people demand it.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:20 PM

@Dere: And you are basing this on ….?

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:41 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: taking the head out of the sand and looking at what’s actually going on in the world?

The woke mind virus infection must be rotting you physically at this stage.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:46 PM

@Jim: No need for facts or evidence: just feelings. Gotcha.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 15th 2024, 4:03 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: lol. it’s the ‘Mystic Meg’ approach

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 6:16 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: nah, it’s called empirical evidence.

Hilarious coming from you when all your ‘facts’ are given to you by RTÉ & the rest of the corrupt MSM

They’ve really done a job on you & the other NPC’s with the mind & body rotting vaccines.

Now off with you for your 15th booster & hopefully we won’t have to hear from your trolling again.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:28 PM

There are too many do gooders in this country. No point in blaming immigrants for our own failures. It’s about time that parents were held fully responsible for the actions of those who either can’t be name, or apparently can’t be imprisoned. The voice of victims needs to be heard, not the voices of vermin with multiple convictions.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Nov 15th 2024, 4:18 PM

@Paul Linehan: Just telling nasty people not to do it again approach caused most of the child abuse victims. Nothing has changed it seems. Society needs to toughen up

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 15th 2024, 5:05 PM

@Paul Linehan: gradually remove social welfare, if there is none then fines. Cheapest and least effort. Costs a fortune to lock people up. I cant see Irish people paying for a ‘super prison’ if we wont pay for the transport infrastructures we need.

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:03 PM

@thomas molloy: The lads in fianna fail took that approach with irelands most prolific paedophile brendan kenneally.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:19 PM

how can you having compassion for addicts by criminalising them? how can 3 different assemblies/ committees arrive at the same conclusion (decriminalisation of all drugs possession) and yet the government ignore it.. FFG out..

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:46 PM

Clampdown on the illegal use of drugs in public. The smell of weed is toxic, with folk flouting the law everywhere.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 15th 2024, 10:44 PM

Things have got to a low pitch in Ireland where two convicted criminals are running for election, and one of them seems set to take a seat, spending a fortune on posters and canvassing.

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:07 PM

@John Mulligan: Michael lowry is the deal maker for fine gael every time, a convict. A man who helped de fraud the state of millions. #moriartytribunal

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:12 PM

@John Mulligan: matt coopers last word show has perjurer Sarah Carey, a woman who sold her soul for a couple of Maltese dollars and lied to a tribunal, as his main political journo commenting on the upcoming elections. It’s how ireland works. #moriartytribunal

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 15th 2024, 11:31 PM

@John Mulligan: don’t forget all those great patriots running. They have amassed many convictions including shoplifting, drunk and disorderly and assault to name but a few, all to try and save our country from violent criminals. Ivory Coast go bragh!

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 16th 2024, 12:15 AM

Nothing more than lip service from the two parties who have emboldened criminals with their soft-on-crime policy. The same people who say that they have a plan to tackle crime if they get into government are currently in government. You couldn’t make it up! Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have sat around and twiddled their thumbs as people with 70 prior convictions were released out on bail 24 hours after they were arrested, free to attack, mug or stab another innocent bystander. Crime is the number one issue for me this election and that’s why I won’t even be ranking Fine Gael or Fianna Fáil on my ballot paper.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 16th 2024, 10:03 AM

Judge Woulfe, Prisons full, failed Judicial system, Gardai now a dysfunctional force, gangs running amok, people with serious mental health issues & criminal records entering the State weekly, Law & Order has completely broken down under Fine Gael & Fianna Fail. Four & half years in power & nothing achieved & now the empty promises of getting tough on crime, time is up !

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:28 AM

Lowry is an absolute legend

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 2:59 PM

I can’t wait to vote for FG

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:06 PM

@Tired Jim: You don’t even attempt to change your comment to differentiate it from your other profiles.

Mute Brendan O'Brien

@Brian D’Arcy: Yes: his ‘Fintan Pox’ profile had the same messaging except that it was supposedly pro-FF.

Mute DJ D
    Favourite DJ D

@Tired Jim: Because you’re an uneducated gobshyte. People like you shouldn’t be permitted to vote

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 15th 2024, 3:24 PM

@DJ D: they are gonna win bigly

Mute Paul M Doe
    Favourite Paul M Doe
    Nov 16th 2024, 2:27 AM

Serious paranoia from the far left trolls

Mute Todd Hebert
    Favourite Todd Hebert
    Nov 16th 2024, 5:06 PM

For starters, they need to legalise controlled substances, regulate them, and tax them. It immediately eliminates a tremendous amount of effectively victimless crimes and eliminates things like deaths from substances that drugs are “cut with” since the purity can be regulated, and the taxes can be earmarked for better drug treatment. This approach works extremely well everywhere it has been applied.
    Next, they need to get all non-violent drug offenders out of our proteins to make room for actual criminals.
    The Gardaí resources freed up, and the prison space freed up will allow Gardai to stop wasting their time and put away ACTUAL criminals and they’ll be able to STAY put away because the prisons won’t be so overcrowded.

Mute Martin Ridge
    Favourite Martin Ridge
    Nov 18th 2024, 2:29 AM

To late