You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Lee Carsley, right, says he will not sing either national anthem when England play Ireland in Dublin this evening. PA

English media outrage as Lee Carsley opts not to sing national anthems

Carsley said that he has never sung a national anthem as Ireland player or England coach and is set to stick with that stance.

LEE CARSLEY HAS come under pressure from sections of England’s media after indicating that he will not sing either the Irish or English national anthems in the Aviva Stadium this evening.

Carsley, who takes charge of England for the first time in Saturday’s Nations League opener against Ireland, said that he has never sung a national anthem as Ireland player or England coach and is set to stick with that stance.

The 50-year-old says the Dublin clash will be a “proud moment for myself and my family”, but singing either anthem looks out of the question for a player that represented Ireland 40 times as player.

“This is something that I always struggled with when I was playing for Ireland,” Birmingham-born Carsley said of anthems.

“The gap between your warm-up, your coming on to the pitch and the delay with the anthems. So it’s something that I have never done.

“I was always really focused on the game and my first actions of the game. I really found that in that period I was wary about my mind wandering off.

“I was really focused on the football and I have taken that in to coaching.

“We had the national anthem with the U21s also and I am in a zone at that point.

“I am thinking about how the opposition are going to set up and our first actions within the game.

“I fully respect both anthems and understand how much they mean to both countries. It’s something I am really respectful of.”

Carsley’s comments provoked a backlash in Saturday’s papers, most notably in the Daily Telegraph where chief football correspondent Jason Burt argued that “if Carsley doesn’t sing [the] anthem, he can’t expect to manage England”.

Meanwhile, the Daily Mail’s front page splash describes the “disbelief and anger” at Carsley’s position, while journalist Jeff Powell branded it a “betrayal”.

Originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View 77 comments
77 Comments
    Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:16 PM

We need Europe wide solidarity among the people to stop the banks and governments turning us all into slaves.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:19 PM

…very well off slaves i would say.

Mute Ianwalsh79
    Favourite Ianwalsh79
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:35 PM

Debt slaves and taxed to death.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:43 PM

taxed to death- is that painful I’ve never heard of that?

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:07 PM

Its too late the die is cast,The people of Ireland have been enslaved by Enda and Co to decades of misery to save the Germany and the Euro.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:15 PM

Do you have to troll every article looking for attention. And your “witty” comebacks are pathetic. Grow up

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:16 PM

Mrgillowley I’m talking to

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:54 PM

Seriously mr/mrs/ms Gillwhoever, will you just stfu and give kennys arse a break.
    Are you paid by the topic you destroy.

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:35 PM

And you got your figures where exactly…fine gael fantasy land no doubt..are they starting to believe their own spin now or what

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Feb 8th 2015, 4:08 PM

Yes its agonising, “death by a thousand cuts”

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 4:19 PM

sounds horrific

Mute Alan Biddulph
    Favourite Alan Biddulph
    Feb 8th 2015, 5:07 PM

Not as painful as your jokes.

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville
    Feb 8th 2015, 6:29 PM

Landlords MAX your Rent … Banks MAX your Debt …. Political Parties MAX your Tax. EU citizens should seriously consider bringing their brains to the Polling Booths.

Mute Andrew Deegan
    Favourite Andrew Deegan
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:35 PM

His Twitter account has been suspended, delighted

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:49 PM

@mrgill… not as horrific as you

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:58 PM

Kieran, just because people think different to you doesn’t mean they are trolls

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Feb 8th 2015, 11:20 PM

mrgillhouley, You are one of the lucky 10% who can say that, how nieve

Mute Boo!-Fight the Board
    Favourite Boo!-Fight the Board
    Feb 9th 2015, 12:08 AM

It was FF that caused it. Were you asleep?

Mute TheJeff
    Favourite TheJeff
    Feb 9th 2015, 11:08 AM

Can we have the 350m back from Greece that Irish taxpayer gave them as part of the last bailout back 1st ?…

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Favourite BannerBoyDesmond
    Feb 9th 2015, 2:41 PM

The Greeks are hopeless its time to dump them. There has to be some kind of standard for membership to the EU. Think of the EU as a pack, if one of the pack gets weak then the pack tries to help it. But if it just rolls over and does not want to help itself, then those who are strong move on and prosper.

Mute WarningBeaconsofÉire
    Favourite WarningBeaconsofÉire
    Feb 9th 2015, 3:29 PM

banner,

The standard is how low can you grovel, how low can you bow down and crawl in submission to the world bankers, how much can you lick their shoes and allow you and your children not to have the real future they would otherwise have without debt enslavement.

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Favourite BannerBoyDesmond
    Feb 9th 2015, 4:37 PM

Warning,

There are people out there applying for car loans and loans to invest, as we speak. As long as there is human nature there will always be debt!

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Favourite finbarr ocormac
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:14 PM

Greece will get a right down and we will look like a bunch of dopes..I remember Kenny talking the tough talk like Syriiza before the last election and then when in power he relented to Merkel. They have a profeesor of economics as their new finance Minister we have a school teacher..says it all really it

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:16 PM

‘Write down’ – but sure go on and call Kenny a Dope. More populist nonsense

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:18 PM

what else is he

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:20 PM

european of the year

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:21 PM

The SF front bench must be quaking in their shoes if you want degrees & London school of Economics standard scholars in our political system.

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:23 PM

Anything thing would be better than the crowd from Mary Isle

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:26 PM

Shinners are looking for anyone who has simply passed maths at any level. its baby steps for the shiners…

Mute finbarr ocormac
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:33 PM

SF are excellent for local issues ..While i vote for Johnathan O Brien here in Cork City i have expressed to him that I would not like to see them control the Countrys finances..they do take things like that on board

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:34 PM

Enda Kennys failure has nothing to do with Sinn Féin.
    Although I can understand how FG trolls might be attracted to the idea of blaming Sinn Féin for Noonans inability to count.

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:36 PM

“Greece will get a write down”, Finnbar. Did you win the 10.2 million Lotto, and if not why not.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:36 PM

And there you have the official yfg views.
    Charming bunch of people really.

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:37 PM

A failed school teacher is what we have.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:39 PM

European of the year,? Sure wasn’t Hitler Time Man of the Year back in the day

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:40 PM

Not a member of YFG – but what views are these Mike – The poor grasp of English, the idea a School teacher is not an Economics Graduate. Tell us Mike?

You do know Pearce Doherty has a certificate in Engineering then dropped out of college and is the SF spokesperson on Finance. #facepalm listening to so much populist BS

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:44 PM

dont menton hitler around the shiners, they want to forget their evil association with the nazis

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:57 PM

European of the year should be a critisism not a positive

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:58 PM

Mrgillhouley
    I think you may want to look into Fine Gael history regarding the Nazi party before you throw critisisms around

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:27 PM

European of the year ??? If you have any more gems like that you’d have a future in stand up

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:39 PM

Correct paul..enda doednt need any help in being useless..def the most inept taoiseach ever..just look at his father doogle moment on the first day back aftrr xmas..how people were runging about their wage increases and then when asked who rang ..well actually nobody rang at all..
    A 2 year old would have more cop on

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:47 PM

he gets so many awards its hard keep up with them

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Feb 8th 2015, 4:13 PM
    Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Feb 8th 2015, 6:06 PM

Everyone in europe knows the irish taxpayer shouldered the cost of a debt that is not ours.brian cowen should be held accountable for enforcing the catastrophic bank guarantee

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:38 PM

He does actually get quiet of lot of awards..you’re quiet right there. Tool Of The Year…Wannabe Statesman Of The Year…European Bootlick Of The Year…and that most coveted of all Bald Headed Bare Faced Liar Of The Year.

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:43 PM

Yes of course people should be qualified for the jobs they do. But in politics that strangely doesn’t apply. Isn’t it odd that the only Taoiseach this country had, who had a degree in politics was Brian cowen.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:46 PM

cowen was a solicitor

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Feb 8th 2015, 11:25 PM

#mrgillhooley where do you get the time to write the jokes?

Mute Brendan Wallace
    Favourite Brendan Wallace
    Feb 8th 2015, 11:29 PM

Dim wit

Feb 8th 2015, 11:30 PM

European Quisling of the year is Kenny. Absolute prat.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:56 PM

Was I not just reading the indo saying ireland will oppose debt write down for Greece? How is that solidarity ?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 8th 2015, 5:21 PM

You read the Indo?

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 5:40 PM

I’m sure my name sake will agree. The Indo is good for a laugh.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:36 PM

I only read it for Gene Kerrigans pieces to be honest

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:11 PM

I’m surprised they even print his articles. A real journalist that hasn’t been shut down yet. A lot to be learned from him. Pay heed journal.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:12 PM

Solidarity is one thing, but giving them 1/2 billion of Irish tax payers money to facilitate their write-down is another thing… They can do one..

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:37 PM

He hasn’t been on it for weeks. Haven’t seen today’s.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:54 PM

The Irish people may show solidarity with Greece, the Irish government on the other hand are a bunch of thieving hypocrites who couldn’t give a shite about Greece or their own people.

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Feb 17th 2015, 12:16 AM

Oh give it a rest – moan moan moan moan moan. Everything is the Irish governments fault isn’t it? Moan moan moan.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

Ireland is a highly conservative and politically reactionary country which is ideologically fearful of anything which looks vaguely or remotely left wing.

The political establishment in Ireland will do everything to undermine Greece for no other reason than that Syriza is in power.

Right wing economics and right wing politics has produced this economic mess. The prescription is more and more right wing economics and policies.

Mute Morgan Young
    Favourite Morgan Young
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:19 PM

It is a pity that Ireland always cave into the European demands. It is a real pity because Ireland is held to a European bluff and we don’t have anyone in power or aiming to pursue power who is willing to call out the EU and ECB and use it to reduce our debt burden.

A big issue is when the Irish banks were giving out reckless loans they were accessing funds from the ECB. Billions and billions was accessed by the Irish banks, seemingly appearing to go unnoticed. There was a massive failure of regulation by the ECB. If Ireland were to default on repayments, more and more attention will shine on the fact on how they accessed unregulated funds and it will also highlight how Portugal and Spain did the same. If more light is shined on how the ECB failed to monitor and regulate the ECB, it will force a restructure of the ECB. This would be a massive blow to the Germans and France because it will undoubtedly reduce their influence on the ECB. The Germans would lose a windfall of cash if it meant more and more debts must be written off as a result of a restructure.

Another factor is Ireland’s relationship with the UK. If the UK was to leave the EU it would be a massive blow to the union. The union relies heavily on the UK. As it stands Ireland has positive and good relations with the UK. The Germans and French have somewhat an awkward relationship with differences of opinion. Any negotiations the EU may have with the UK will require Irish mediation and support. If Ireland was to be castigated by the EU, any efforts by the EU to use Ireland to contend the UK will prove fruitless.

Ireland does have leverage in seeking to reduce EU debt repayments and gaining a reduction on the interest paid on the loans. We just need to encourage some of our successful business people and ambitious entrepreneurs to actually run for office. No offence to teachers, but the Dail is over populated with teachers. The profession lacks the criteria required to run a successful country. But it is down to the people to start demanding the political parties to start recruiting the right people for the jobs, and only if the parties oblige and to do that should we vote for them.

Mute yorkie
    Favourite yorkie
    Feb 8th 2015, 10:24 PM

This belongs in every news paper

Feb 9th 2015, 4:35 AM

There wasn’t a massive failure, it all went according to plan. The international banks made a killing, got western Europe shackled into debt slavery, and now we and our childrens future is chained, while the banks made money on their gambling and now make more money with us paying their debts, you couldn’t make it up, but the same Chosen Ones bankers have had the same debt burden schemes for over a century, its how they acquire countries. But let’s keep blaming Germany.

Mute John J Rambo
    Favourite John J Rambo
    Feb 9th 2015, 5:32 AM

Hungry? Have a snickers

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:25 PM

Our TDs are cowards,Greece fight for the people and whatever they get we will get also that’s what they are hoping.enda still the good boy and will all try to spin it that they got it for us,none of them have a backbone, destroy all of them come the election

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:45 PM

They will get terms changed just like Ireland did nothing more. If they write down for Greece they will have no choice but to for Ireland or Portugal.

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Feb 8th 2015, 4:31 PM

@Ronan, not so, Greece already pay 1% less on interest on loans & have moratorium on paying any interest at all fir few years..
    Did you hear us asking for that. No.
    Why?

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 9th 2015, 7:49 AM

And France & Spain.

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:28 PM

Ireland renegotiated?? Did I miss something?? We got what we had already – sweet feck all!!

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:11 PM

Saw Kenny on TV a few days ago basically undermining Greece, and saying we should all play by the rules like good little people . Being nice to the Euromeisters is getting us nowhere, except a pat on the back for toeing the austerity line. We are mugs to be tolerating this financial straitjacket.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:31 PM

I’d be very wary of such words from Coveney the bilderberger.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Feb 8th 2015, 9:47 PM

Next thing he’ll be advocating solidarity with the irish people

Mute Shane Denham
    Favourite Shane Denham

Mr gill are u enda or are u just lickin his balls

Mute liam
    Favourite liam
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:48 PM

Kenny will do whatever best serves FG/AIB
    He will skrew the Greeks as easy as he skrewed the Irish

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:15 PM

Beware of Micks bearing gifts.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:02 PM

In 1919 the victors of WW1 insisted that a bankrupted vanquished Germany pay its unmanageable debts, that didn’t work out so well.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Feb 8th 2015, 6:40 PM

Sound like mr FG man wants the greeks to do the fighting and then want to claim the prize.
    Could someone define the word coward to these little FG>lab men

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:41 PM

So is this the opposite of what enda said a few days ago?

Mute Joe Sullivan
    Favourite Joe Sullivan
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:30 PM

Coveney. Owned by bilderburg and monsanto. Treasonous sham.

Mute Pani
    Favourite Pani
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:17 PM

There’s McGrath :”here lads, ye’re doin it all wrong, ye know what ye should be doin”. As he shouts from the bottom of a deep deep dark pit of opposition that he’ll never ever get out of.

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Feb 8th 2015, 4:26 PM

Mrgillsomething,
    apologies if I red thumb any possible future positive or interesting comment you may make. (unlikey)

I have read countless amounts of #Horseshite from you so will just be scrolling on when I see your cråp.
    After the obligatory red thumb of course.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 5:24 PM

your irrelevance has being duly noted

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 8th 2015, 10:23 PM

Thank you Shano,this mr/ms/mrs Gillwhatever/inktoner is a wannabe troll that thrives on dishing out antagonistic posts.
    Just a pure spoofer really.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:41 PM

I am overcome with emotion, doe this mean a rise in me pension , no more paying income tax and no more talk of €10 for a bottle of wine ?

Mute Vadim Gerkis
    Favourite Vadim Gerkis

Greece got €240billion from EU and IMF. Extra €8.2billion is coming this year from IMF. And they stil in deep sh.t!

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:14 PM

So we’re going to scrap income tax and let public servants retire at 50…

Solidarity like :)

Mute John Rowan
    Favourite John Rowan
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:50 PM

Minister Coveney is also Minister for Defence.

Mute Red Marauder
    Favourite Red Marauder
    Feb 8th 2015, 2:05 PM

The problem is that Greece is also infamous for mass tax evasion. That means severely limited revenue. So when the money ran out, Athens turned to European banks for loans. Soon, the government was borrowing billions and those debts, like subprime mortgages in the United States, were often repackaged and sold off around the Continent. Everyone, especially banks in France and Germany, wanted a piece. Now  they have it.

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Feb 8th 2015, 3:07 PM

The problem with socialism is that it runs out of other peoples money, look at Venezuela once a role model for the left now it’s a basket case just like Greece will be under leftwing loons.

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    Feb 8th 2015, 10:05 PM

Windom earl quoting Thatcher! Lovely, though you forget we used a socialist solution to fix a capitalist problem! Capitalism failed! Our banks were (are) bankrupt! The citizens of Europe have been forced to shoulder the debt burden of our rich elite by the Muppets we elected! FF, FG, Slave Labour, RTE and the joke that is the mainstream media are doing everything within their power to protect the status quo! It’s to late, ordinary people from all walks of life have taken to the streets in appalling conditions to send our masters a message. They haven’t listened but they will, when the water bills arrive, along with more pleasant weather you’ll witness the risen people and we shall take what ye would not give! To quote Pearse!

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Feb 8th 2015, 11:00 PM

Ireland shows Solidarity with Greece Not on Kennys Watch,The Irish People May be but not Our Little Blue SHirt Dictator, Franch

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Feb 8th 2015, 11:01 PM

Franco

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:24 PM

that picture is very rodney and del boy esque… just saying :D

Mute yorkie
    Favourite yorkie
    Feb 8th 2015, 10:18 PM

Its not gona be a 5 or 10 year solution
    So the sooner they get stuck in
    And it is in everyone’s interest to show support and prevent dictatorship like the irish got instead of all the people at fault jumping ship

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:18 PM

We will muck them like a busted flush as soon as there is nothing in it for us :D

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway

there is a little matter of the €350 million we have contributed to their bail out. do you want it back Mr gill

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 8th 2015, 1:46 PM

then aint getting a deal that much is very clear, thats why they look like two teenagers who were caught mitching school and have being dragged into the principals office

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Favourite Patricia McCarthy
    Feb 8th 2015, 8:51 PM

More HorseBurger anyone?

Mute Carly Bailey
    Favourite Carly Bailey
    Feb 8th 2015, 10:59 PM

So we’ll look for the benefit of any deal the Greeks manage to negotiate, but we won’t support them to achieve their aim? Let them get their hands dirty. Can’t they see that a better deal for everyone can only be achieved if we stand together? Nice one Fine Gael.

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Feb 9th 2015, 1:27 AM

Ok if ireland wants to show solidarity with Greece the government here has to resign that would go a long way to show our brothers and sisters in Greece that were with them. Enda you gave it a go the job was just to big for ya it’s time to jog on. There’s nothing you or the Labour Party can bring to the table that will help us the Irish people to forgive you. So It’s time to say goodbye Enda and co

Mute rpmc
    Favourite rpmc
    Feb 9th 2015, 8:29 AM

Our Government has to stop the hypocrisy . No more ministerial running with the Fox and hunting with the Hounds, we must now call a ‘spade-a-spade’. Without delay launch a mass campaign “Mise an Gréig” .

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Feb 17th 2015, 12:15 AM

Greece lied to get into Europe in the first instance by hiding its debts so now I don’t see why we should show solidarity. Greeks never did play properly and pay their taxes – they always hid part of it. Its a corrupt country and you want to show it solidarity? Really? Greece should pay for its debts like everyone else and this crazy notion of ending austerity is a joke. Come on, apply it to a household – you can’t simply spend money you don’t have. Is it really a good idea to take out a mortgage to cover daily household expenditure – I don’t think so. So what is the new government going to do? Austerity is just a word for cutting expenditure as surprise surprise Greece is broke!

Feb 9th 2015, 3:34 PM

Until you focus your ire on the international bankers based in Wall St, and City of London you and children will never have the true unburdened potential you should be having.

Over-taxation is slavery
    Multiple taxation is slavery
    Taxation without representation is slavery

People do die because of such taxes, money gone into paying debts we do not owe is money lost to health services etc, for Irish people