You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Not backing down: 48-hour Luas strike likely as company hits back at drivers

24 or 48 hour stoppages on the tram system are “quite likely” drivers have warned.

TRANSDEV, THE COMPANY that runs the Luas, is standing firm in the face of a threatened strike from drivers.

In a strongly worded statement this afternoon, it said pay and conditions on the Dublin tram system were very favourable, and called for fresh talks at the Workplace Relations Commission.

Drivers voted overwhelmingly in favour of strike action last week, with a Siptu representative saying that 24 or 48 hour stoppages were “quite likely”.

223 Luas employees took part in the ballot. 221 voted in favour of industrial action, with only two people voting against.

The union needs to give 21 days notice of any action.

Drivers are understood to be preparing for a two-day stoppage.

Escalating row

Speaking last week, Siptu organiser Owen Reidy said the union had been talking to management for 18 months but had been “getting nowhere”.

“I anticipate that given the result and the fact that it is emphatic that there will be a lot of frustration, and the ballot can allow us to do 24 and 48 hour stoppages,” Reidy said.

Drivers are essentially seeking pay parity with heavy rail drivers for Irish Rail.

Currently, the top salary after ten years of service is around €42,000. Siptu’s calling for an increase in the starting salary to €35,000 – up from €32,000 – rising to €60,000 after ten years.

Management hits back

In today’s statement Transdev Managing Director Gerry Madden said he believed “pay and terms and conditions of Luas employees are, and always have been, very favourable”.

The Labour Court issued a recommendation in December 2015 “that both parties should enter into realistic and meaningful negotiations under the auspices of the Workplace Relations Commission (WRC) on the issues in dispute,” he said.

Transdev firmly believes that the Labour Court’s recommendation provides the only framework within which this dispute can be resolved and is calling on SIPTU and internal staff representatives to re-engage under the auspices of the WRC to resolve this dispute and avoid any unnecessary disruption to our customers.

According to Transdev:

“The claims being pursued by SIPTU on pay alone are between 8.5% and 53.8% depending on the pay scale, and would cost Transdev €30 million over the 5 years of the Luas operating contract – €6m per year.

“This is at a time when Transdev finds itself in a loss making situation.

“The loss incurred by Transdev in 2015 was €700,000 and we are predicting further losses in 2016. The financial status of the company has been independently verified by Mazars and this analysis has been fully shared with SIPTU as recommended by the Labour Court.

“The Labour Court recommended that the Mazars report should provide a context for the parties to engage in the discussions under the auspices of the WRC.

SIPTU members rejected the Labour Court recommendation.

Pay scales 

The company, in its statement this afternoon, included a link to detailed information on pay scales. 

It also highlighted a bonus system for workers, in addition to pay, of up to 6.5%.

“This averages out at between €2,200 and €3,000 per employee per annum. Over 96% of employees achieve the maximum bonus.”

Signing off its lengthy statement, the company said:

“During the economic crisis, Transdev, unlike many other employers, did not cut pay, freeze pay or change our employees’ terms and conditions. On the contrary Transdev increased pay between the years 2009 and 2015, with increments ranging between 1.25% and 5%. During this period we also reduced average working hours.

121 out of 243 union employees received a salary uplift in the year 2015.

Related: 24-hour stoppages ‘quite likely’ as Luas drivers vote overwhelmingly in favour of strike

Read: The owners of Coppers are sitting on an absolute treasure trove of cash

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

105 Comments
    Mute Katrina Mc Donald
    Favourite Katrina Mc Donald
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:51 PM

So a tram driver starts on more money than a nurse & earns more after 10 years! What a country!

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:53 PM

Wants it to nearly Double to 60k for 10years service !!! Seriously like wtf .. the unions are going destroy the place if they keep going .. Fools

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:07 PM

Katrina nurses are grossly underpaid for the excellent job they do. Hospital consultants and specialists are sucking the HSE dry. You deserve much much more.

AND SO DO LUAS DRIVERS. The LUAS generates millions annually. Time to pay those who keep those trams rolling 24/7 .

Mute El Dineeño
    Favourite El Dineeño
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:13 PM

The trams don’t roll 24/7, as anyone who’s tried to get one on a Sunday morning has found out.

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:22 PM

Theres a huge difference in generating millions and turning a profit from it !!! Simple maths if you spend more then you take in your at a loss , adding more expenses to a loss gets you nowhere fast ..

Mute George Knight
    Favourite George Knight
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:23 PM

Very well said Katrina!

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:32 PM

Its a pitiful joke isnt it. A nurse needs a four year degree and a tram driver what 10 minutes?

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:34 PM

What the hell Travis????! You do realise that the company was in the red by 700,000 last year?! They earn too much as it is. Sack the lot of them, cut the pay and rehire.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:34 PM

Travis, luas charges a ticket price to cover operating costs. The State I.e. you and me, picks up the tab for the sunk capital cost which was massive. The only reason this is being tried on is because the State awards the operation contract after a tender. I presume SIPTU feel that if they bankrupt the current operator the State will have to either subsidise the operation or up ticket prices. Light rail drivers are not heavy rail drivers. There is no real comparison. Also luas is operated by a private company which will stand or fall on profitability. If the company had cut their wages during the downturn as happened to so many other workers including public service workers (but not commercial semi states) I might have more sympathy.

Mute Michelle Flood McDonald
    Favourite Michelle Flood McDonald
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:53 PM

How do you know there pay was not cut.?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:14 PM

Michelle because the article said so! Read the piece at the end by the company.

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:57 PM

Ah !! Just give them a big pay rise. They work very long and hard hours and it’s not easy dodging cars that break the lights continously

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Jan 14th 2016, 8:17 AM

100% agree Katrina , a tram shunter on that money for a loss making company getting more than nurses if massive f€€king joke . Hope the company counters with wages cuts or redundancy for bloody greed. And those aaa fools backing it of course

Mute Pete
    Favourite Pete
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:15 PM

Let them strike, they’ll get no sympathy

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:40 PM

Solidarity with the drivers. Paying all workers a decent wage is in the interests of the economy and society as a whole. Business in general wants its customers to have as much money in their pockets as possible to purchase their products and services and generate revenue and profit. In contrast, each individual firm wants to pay their workers as little as possible to reduce costs in order to maximize profit. In the macro economy, the workers ARE the customers and this glaring contradiction is lost on the slavering neo liberals eternally demanding wage cuts and ‘flexibility’ such as minimal hour contracts in the labour market.

It’s always aggregate demand and spending through the whole economy that ultimately creates and maintains jobs. Someone’s spending is always someone else’s job and income as the macro economy is circular. It is the aggregate spending of everyone in the economy, public, private, individuals and businesses that maintains and creates employment. We have seen the result of slashed government and private sector spending over the past 7 years of Austerity reflected in our massive dole queues, planes full of emigrants and mounting social problems such as the homelessness crisis.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:51 PM

Wally – if that’s the case then why not just pay everyone 100k as a basic salary? If the drivers get their way (for what is, let’s face it – a low skill job) – then luas costs rise. They rise for me and you. So now I need a bump from my employer. There’s a knock on effect of costs. Get the cost of living down is a better method – or we have a grown up conversation about low skill jobs and earning potential.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:03 PM

Do you not think that €32,000 to €42,000 is a good wage for a 36 hour working week? I presume staff can work overtime also. There is also a 6.5% bonus.

The higher the wage, the further prices will increase, impacting us all, ensuring any wage increase is negated by price increases.

I don’t really understand a person taking a job where they know the pay scale before they start, only for them to complain about it once they start.

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:17 PM

Scarr,

We don’t need to pay everyone a €100k but to increase the average industrial wage to say €45k would be very beneficial for the economy and society as whole.

We’ve been conditioned to think that higher wages inevitable means higher prices. But equally higher wages could instead mean reduced profits (while keeping prices static) which would return a greater share of the wealth produced to labour and away from capital.

As the data clearly shows, the trend over the past few decades has been overwhelmingly in the opposite direction with greater and greater wealth accumulating to capital owners and less and less to the workers. This has disastrous consequences for society and it’s long past time we stopped the rot.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:24 PM

Ok so we increase the wage to 45,000 would you then be happy for prices to increase to this level to meet the increase?

You cannot drive up wages and expect things to stay the same price, remember with reduced profits comes reduced corporation tax.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:26 PM

I don’t know how you can say increase the avg to 45k without any impact. If you want 45k it has to be linked to skills demand. Let’s say the avg worker in a UPC call centre is on 35k, we now make the avg 45k, UPC have to raise their wages to 45k to attract workers. Are profits going to go down or are prices going to increase? Also, do you think that having an avg wage of 45k makes Ireland more or less attractive to multinationals?

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:29 PM

Wally what planet are you living on ? Pay everyone €45k a year. Sound like Sinn Feins economics.
    I guess you don’t employ anyone.
    I employ 35 people and this would put all my staff out of work and would close my business.
    wake up !

Mute hard yaka
    Favourite hard yaka
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:04 PM

You obviously don’t pay anyone wage Wally. Typical , give everyone more money and don’t worry about employers who pay the tax and have to sell the goods to pay it.

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:09 PM

LUAS Drivers dont want sympathy. You can keep that. LUAS Drivers just want the wages they deserve to reflect the demanding job they do.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:10 PM

The Reds say it all wally …..kapitilist lackeys

Mute Brian Casey
    Favourite Brian Casey
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:18 PM

Driving a tram for between 32k and 42k a year sounds pretty sweet :) typical public sector BS. If it was privately run they’d be on less and if they under performed they’d be fired. But alas they’ll be bought off to ensure they vote the current gangsters in.

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:41 PM

Blah blah blah blah wally. Have you heard yourself? After 10 years 60,000 euro?!!!!! For doing something a monkey could do?

Mute Al Guy
    Favourite Al Guy
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:58 PM

Fundamental flaw with your argument Wally is your not accounting for inflation.

Inflation destroys wealth but also reduces the purchasing power of “ordinary working people”

In the medium to long term higher wages ALWAYS causes higher prices!

If your concerned about growing inequality tax accumulated wealth not income or the incentives to work

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:59 PM

Brian I hate to step on your anti-public sector rant but the company running the Luas are a private sector company. The workers are private sector workers not public sector workers.

What they appear to be trying to do is establish a pay relationship with Irish Rail which is a public sector company. But heavy rail is not the same as light rail and is a more onerous and responsible job.

If Luas workers feel they are worth this enormous rise (a negotiating tactic one would presume) then let them put forward their case. They have rejected the Labour Court. An option normally reserved for employers. Their employer is losing money. What they are banking on is that the State will not let the private company running the Luas go to the wall. Well they may have to!

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:31 PM

I’m still laughing at wallys opening line “Solidarity with the workers” .. the workers who currently earn in excess of €800 per week , if these workers where low paid i’d fully agree , But these demands are monthy phyton comedy type stuff !!!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:34 PM

a monkey can make a bed and take a blood pressure reading also karen.

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Favourite Darren Mccarthy
    Jan 14th 2016, 6:48 AM

Can a monkey pass a four year nursing course Paul? I know it can sit on it ass and move a stick back and forward.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 14th 2016, 11:34 AM

nursing course stop ffs answer phones take blood and change beds 4 years training for that jesus wept then treated strike 2 maybe 3 times every year.

Mute Gearóidín Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Gearóidín Ní Shúilleabháin
    Mar 25th 2016, 12:25 AM

What about graduates who spend 4 years on a degree, then maybe a masters and their starting out wages are on average 20-22k. People in skilled jobs are being paid buttons by greedy companies, yet these guys, who are on salaries that some of us will probably never see, are crying and striking.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:19 PM

Did they not agree to the T & C when they started the job?

Mute Wally Mooney
    Favourite Wally Mooney
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:28 PM

Did FG not say they wouldn’t introduce a recurring tax on the family home?

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:51 PM

Whether t&c were agreed or not every employee has the right to stand and fight for better conditions. Dont you agree???

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:54 PM

Mooney do you or AAA agree with Sinn Fein in keeping USC as part of future taxes

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:49 PM

Yes you can look for better pay and conditions and if you’re told no, suck it up or get another job if you think you’re skills deserve it.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:24 PM

Zero support from me

Mute D walsh
    Favourite D walsh
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:18 PM

They asked for too much. What employer would agree to 100% salary increase to €60k after 10 years service.

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:04 PM

Judging by pay levels here pure greed seems to be a factor in this dispute,there is no way this privately operated loss making company tram company could survive on the pay levels demanded by this union,the fact that Irish rail drivers pay levels are only possible because the taxpayers continue to bail out the never ending loss making state company seems lost on them,then again maybe the union would prefer to see this private company pull out and leave the taxpayers to fund yet another state run disaster.

Mute T_witter_name
    Favourite T_witter_name

Dont agree with the strike but the real problem here is the ridiculous salaries being handed out to Irish Rail, Dublin Bus and BusEireann. If the salaries of the civil servants working in trasport was sensible then this strike wouldn’t happen. Its just a case of the green eyed monster.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:05 PM

T-Witter not to be pedantic but no civil servants work for State transport companies. Commercial semi states are more akin to private companies and they are usually referred to as “public sector workers”. Most as far as I know experienced no wage cuts during the downturn unlike all civil servants and other public servants. But to blame workers in semi states for the actions of private workers who are employed by the privately owned and run luas operator is unfair in my view.

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:17 PM

I can’t actually believe this. 35k – 42k for a job that’s easier than driving a go kart. And they want 60. Where’s the application for this. I’m dropping outta college. Two family members are SNAs, their job requires college qualification, they go through hell and get paid is.

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:18 PM

less

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:39 PM

It is utter madness

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:01 PM

That’s a very generous salary I’d say…starting at 35k..wow

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:52 PM

I have an ungrad and masters and started on 30

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:12 PM

Hate to be those two if it was an open ballot.

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:26 PM

They’re on 42k a year for a job that doesn’t require further education or an apprenticeship or a 3rd level qualification I’d say they’re doing OK as it is

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:30 PM

And they’re looking for 60k after 10 years service…. For a job that takes 6 months training….

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:31 PM

Is there any jobs going there I wonder

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:38 PM

Neenee… I checked when I saw the wages and conditions… Not a hope… The only way in the door of that closed shop would be through a combination of having a family member in management and hiring a hitman to take out one of the current drivers…..

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:38 PM

Like Irish Rail, Bus Eireann and Dublin Bus – these lads are not living in the real world at all!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:47 PM

I support unions. They CAN be good things for workers – but 60k for driving a tram? Starting out at 35k? There are software developers, who have studied hard and qualified that wouldn’t get that as a starting wage! These lads can get f….

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:50 PM

When they first started recruiting everyone was in the trough of the ” Celtic tiger” and wouldn’t lower themselves to be a Luas driver so good to see that they are decent pay and conditions

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:58 PM

45k when you include the bonus. That’s quite a good wage for sociable hours, low skill requirement and no requirement for third level education.

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:07 PM

That’s bull Anthony plenty of unqualified people during the Celtic tiger were getting paid nowhere near that rate even people with 3rd level education wouldn’t have got it either

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:03 PM

Not necessarily the first intake of drivers were mainly made up of people coming into Ireland, Irish people weren’t taking the jobs up because there was better money to be made elsewhere

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:07 PM

The Joe Luas is the best thing to happen Dublin since the departure of the black n tans, it’s a drivers dream no steering, no contact with the public. Just sit back and let it rool, and 40k at the end of year

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:09 PM

Can you give me an example of these jobs that people with no skills or qualifications were getting with salaries of 42k including bonuses

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:54 PM

If software developers struggle to get these pay and conditions after 4 years of college as you say then that’s really the fault of software developers and not Luas drivers.

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:26 PM

Who mentioned software developers?

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:32 PM

I see scar said it now many highly paid professions don’t start off on a high grade of pay you have to learn your trade before you reap the benefits

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:16 PM

Neenee – many soft devs start off around 30k, and a good few will reach around 60k after a number of years in a skilled profession, while continuously upskilling, staying abreast of tech changes and learning new programming languages – or they could drive a tram along a line where they don’t have to take money or interact with commuters. See what I’m getting at?

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:36 PM

Totally agree with you I know what you were getting at

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 14th 2016, 11:37 AM

they can look for whatever they want fair play to them they ain’t going to get it but best of luck to them.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 14th 2016, 11:41 AM

your correct anthony the high flyers of the celtic tiger woulnd do this job and are now jealous of a lads pay when the bollix fell out of the economy best of luck to the drivers.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:04 PM

They want pay parity with heavy rail drivers for Irish Rail? And why not!

I’d like pay parity with the President of the USA, I know we don’t do the same job or anything like it, but it seems like thats secondary.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:21 PM

I propose a compromise, give them parity with rickshaw drivers.

Mute Jarlath Costello
    Favourite Jarlath Costello
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:25 PM

I’m loling all over the place at that one!

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:15 PM

What are these favourable pay and conditions? Don’t leave us hanging here.

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington

According to Irish Independent – Luas drivers can currently earn in the region of €42,000 per annum

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:57 PM

Or €807 a week if yiu need it broken down for you !!! Working for company thats making a loss no less

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:45 PM

A bonus of 6.5% each year for one…

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:10 PM

Luas management need to let drivers strike until it has cost the company the 30 million been demanded by unions. We will see then what the cost will be to use who use the service if this increase is allowed go ahead. It will be a pain but i fully support management here.

Mute marty dot
    Favourite marty dot
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:45 PM

Privatise the service that will put an end to this nonsense …. Oh wait it is a private company

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:49 PM

You made that joke last time.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:54 PM

for those lucky enough to be in career where they can effectively hold a gun to the heads of their employer, the salary has nothing whatever to do with education, training, skill, years of service or whatever.
    The salary is proportional to the mayhem they can cause if they go on strike, Mostly service industries in the public or semi public sector.
    Hence the inflated salaries of
    ESB workers
    Train drivers.
    Gas workers.
    Teachers.
    Civil Servants

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:59 PM

After visiting Paris and using metro a lot I could not stop thinking why its cheaper then LUAS…now I know.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:08 PM

Remington, well you’d be wrong. Metro workers in Paris are among the most pampered workers in France. The reason fares are low on their metro is because of the massive subsidy from the French State which dwarfs the subsidy given to public transport in Ireland. The Luas receives no direct subsidy except for the State absorbing the capital costs. It is privately run. The fares meet the operating costs.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:14 PM

SIPTU trying to wreck another company. 60k to push a lever forward? Crazy

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:41 PM

Public transport drivers are safety crirical workers and responsible for the lives they transport. They should get paid to reflect this responsibility not just for pushing buttons.

They have every right to pursue better working conditions regardless of what naysayers or keyboard brain suckers have to say about it.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:58 PM

responsible for the lives they transport ?
    No they are not, actually. It is the company that is responsible!

better working conditions ?
    They are hardly working down a col pit !

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:37 PM

Travis your the tye of person that would do them more harm then good with your uneducated and out of touch comments

Mute Jarlath Costello
    Favourite Jarlath Costello
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:34 PM

Top rate for Dublin bus drivers is about €43k and they are responsible for the lives they transport. Surely the job they do is much harder as they aren’t on a rail with their own traffic lights clearing the Way for them? Yet they deserve more money? Greed.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:25 PM

How is the company losing money???

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:58 PM

Grossly overpaid drivers would be an obvious starting point !!!

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:43 PM

Obscenely overpaid surplus desk jockeys…..more likely!

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:47 PM

The company is loss making?? No way.. every team between 8 and 9 in the morning is wedged.. companies like this cool their books to look not as profitable as they are.. in saying that I don’t agree with striking.. they start on well above the median wage..

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:06 PM

It might help if they weren’t ferrying all the “athletes” in Dublin around the place all day free or charge. Added advantages to that would include a more pleasant service for paying customers and a reduction of zombies in the city center.At the very least reduce the free travel for under 65′s and non disabled to certain hours.

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:58 PM

There you go sean baylon you are the first to acknowledge the money is there and is a plenty

Mute Travis Bickle
    Favourite Travis Bickle
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:35 PM

??

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:46 PM

If I were an employee , I would certainly be worried about the advice and guidance SIPTU is providing , it seems to me that they may have misjudged the temperature here . This could irreparably damage the relationship between employer and employee .

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:24 PM

Don’t think the Luas operating company would have much problem filling driver positions with that salary.Drivers need to look at what other job options would available to them on a comparable salary!!NONE

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:25 PM

The demands must not be met.

Mute Don
    Favourite Don
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:27 PM

Luas drivers signed up for these terms and conditions when it was set up 10 years ago knowing full well their relative pay scale to Irish rail drivers. They know where they fitted into the overall pay scales and had no dispute about this up until now.

This is not about decent workers rights but opportunism. Now that the economy is turned unions think its open season for massive pay rises. The country is still running a defecit and amassed over 150 billion in debts over the past 10 years.

Personally, I think SIPTU have come a long way from their founding values. This is SIPTU completely chancing their arm, and they are threatening their own workers livelihoods. The company go to the wall, drivers get statutory redundancy payments and a new company could be set up.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:23 AM

Typical IBEC-esque, ill-conceived union bashing tripe when they are merely seeking to represent their membership as delegated and mandated by them in good faith however legitimate their initial claims, subject to ongoing negotiations and inevitable bargaining until both sides can be seen to declare hollow victories, of sorts!

Mute Gearóidín Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Gearóidín Ní Shúilleabháin
    Mar 25th 2016, 12:08 AM

So, they are already earning more starting out than what most people earn starting out in skilled jobs that require a 3rd level degree or masters? The whole lot of them deserve to have no jobs.