You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Carnaveagh, Castleblaney, Monaghan Google Maps

Gardaí appealing for witnesses after man in his 80s found dead on Monaghan road

His body was discovered in Carnaveigh, Castleblayney at around 4pm.

GARDAÍ HAVE LAUNCHED an investigation after a man in his 80s was found dead on the side of the road in Monaghan this morning.

His body was discovered in Carnaveagh, Castleblayney at around 4pm.

A blue Opel Corsa car was found crashed nearby.

The driver of the car, a woman in her 20s, was not injured.

The body of the man has been removed to Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital where a post mortem examination will take place.

The road at the scene remains close as an examination is being carried out by Garda Forensic Collision Investigators.

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to contact Castleblayney Garda Station on 042 9747900.

Read: Man found dead in cell at Cloverhill Prison

More: Woman avoids jail for allowing preparation of heroin at her home

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:14 PM

More and more people are starting to get fed up, I can guarantee you people won’t stick these measures much longer, mental health is important too,

Mute D walsh
    Favourite D walsh
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:22 PM

@LFCMAD_94: Quite a lot of talk is why there is one law for the majority while fruit pickers and ethenic groups can just ignore those same laws. Why do we bother listening to a Garda telling us to turn around and go home.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:23 PM

@LFCMAD_94: Agreed a tricky situation. There’ll be a very small decrease in restrictions from May 6th, far too many think its going back to “normal” from then, which is pure fantasy. Either everyone loses the head and goes out & about for their mental health reasons causing a second likely wave OR they keep at it, adhere to guidelines making the rest of the year more bearable with restrictions slowly easing up until Christmas.
    (Pubs, cinemas, shopping centres may open back but with major restrictions)
    Far too many assumptions too hard to call, just all keep an eye on Austria, Czech, Denmark & NZ see how that goes, who are 10 to 14 days ahead of us.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:25 PM

@D walsh: are they ignoring those laws? How so? If you’re hearing a lot of this talk it’d be a good idea to correct them on their errors

Mute Tom Malone
    Favourite Tom Malone
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:25 PM

@D walsh: Perhaps you should speak out against such thoughts and not simply repeat them?

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: a lot of stuff coming out about the actual amount of cases out there is higher, we’re only testing around 1,500 a day a couple weeks ago when there was thousands more looking to be tested there’s no accuracy in these number of cases whatsoever

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:45 PM

@LFCMAD_94: history shows that there’s always been a break down in these sorts of quarantines, usually ends up in rioting, people beheaded all that sort of thing, so possibly isn’t far away from that, but just with Facebook and twitter dislikes and posts being in place of the rioting and no beheading. But you’re not wrong, will be interesting to see what happens and what line they take to keep the lid on it all.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:04 PM

@LFCMAD_94: absolutely

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:13 PM

@LFCMAD_94: not that important if your dead or you pass it on & kill other people

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:15 PM

@LFCMAD_94: Just remember this comment if your grandparents die. And remember that you were the cause

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:28 PM

@D walsh: Whats the difference between experienced migrants workers who are accommodated close to Keelings travelling to work everday, and Irish citizen’s ( those who would actually do the work and not think it beneath them) traveling from different areas to Keelings everyday. This is an essential business, it needs to be kept going. And don’t fall for the “but strawberries aren’t essential” buIIshit. Strawberries were used by those wishing to ridicule Keelings when the fact is they are just a fraction of what Keelings produce and what these workers will be harvesting. The pretence that the problem people have is an issue of public safety is sickening. Irish workers from the most infected region in Ireland are ok, immigrants go home !!

Mute Oracle Steve
    Favourite Oracle Steve
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:39 PM

@Tommy Roche: where are they accommodated?

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:52 PM

@Tommy Roche: Its called Irish logic….the funny thing is the countries that these migrants are coming from have low virus rates, we on the other hand will give it to them and they will bring it home. Paddy logic at its finest, cannot seem to grasp simple logic just a load of nonsense in their heads that seems to somehow make sense.

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:09 PM

@Vin: I wasn’t the cause, the governments decision not to close borders before paddy’s weekend and still to just last week with the migrant workers, and FYI I haven’t seen my grandparents in 3 months and I won’t see them until this passes

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:16 PM

@D walsh: why don’t you do the fruit picking then if you think they’re having such a great time?

Mute Yolita Ferue
    Favourite Yolita Ferue
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:26 PM

@D walsh: Hi I’m Irish and I was a fruit picker in Australia and there are many foreigners like me who are on the receiving end of xenophobia from locals for just working as well as being accused of being carriers of the virus. I can understand the position these Bulgarians are in. Please do not look down on the Bulgarians. If you were Irish in Australia doing fruit picking work, you’d understand.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:34 PM

@LFCMAD_94: vin’s comment was disgusting and didn’t merit any reaction. Don’t feed trolls.

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:36 PM

@D walsh: how are the fruit pickers flouting the law? They have to isolate for the 2weeks before they start work. With the low rates of Coronavirus in their country, they are probably in more danger from us.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:37 PM

@LFCMAD_94: But you being “fed up” might kill someone else’s grandparents. And some circus clown with an attitude just like yours might come across your own grandparents. All one in the same

Ah but yes, of course your low IQ brain turns to the govt and foreigners. So predictable. Go to the UK and join UKIP. Boring

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:39 PM

@Fabio Dillon: why was it disgusting? I’m not the one who lacks empathy.

That’s the reality of this virus. If burying your head in the sand and blaming foreigners makes you feel safe you’re just weak.

People are dead and more will die. Stay the F home, @ssholes

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:50 PM

@Vin: didn’t see the part of my comment which said “I”. I think you’ll find my IQ is fine and you should read comments more accurately

Apr 20th 2020, 3:58 PM

Your hard-done-by talk doesn’t do a lot on here. Why don’t you report infringements so that something is done about them, rather than use it as fuel for the Journal comments section?

Mute BallygunnerBoy
    Favourite BallygunnerBoy
    Apr 20th 2020, 4:18 PM

@D walsh: The fruit pickers and ethenic groups….can just ignore the laws… and put food on our tables…. like they are doing all over Europe. I suppose we could all grow spuds in a barrel.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:15 PM

They are causing all the complacency by their loose talk of reopening schools. Very mixed messages. No way should children and teachers become the frontline

Mute Edwardson Mike
    Favourite Edwardson Mike
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:22 PM

@Nell foran: Neither should construction workers or their families either be thrown in first as usual.

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby

@Nell foran:…. and by allowing hundreds of migrant strawberry pickers in.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Edwardson Mike: first? That’s a joke surely. Some people have been needed to work this whole time.

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:27 PM

@Nell foran: er, front line? I think that’d be all the people who’ve been working this past month. Obviously teachers are front line in other things, like teenagers attitude, name calling, BO, pushy parents etc. but perhaps not front line in this instance! I assume things will only open when the levels of infection decrease to where the risk is acceptable, no doubt demonstrated by some facts and figures to justify the approach.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Edwardson Mike: Construction will be back 1st. Its what keeps this country going

Mute Macker
    Favourite Macker
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:34 PM

@Nell foran: I dont think it is mixed messages, moreso that people have taken Holohan’s comments from Friday and exacerbated it to the degree some people who were adhering to the restrictions are not now.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason

@Edwardson Mike: some construction sites opened up this morning. Apparently housing minister gave the go ahead on Friday. Still haven’t seen an announcement on it. Government seem to be causing a bit of confusion on it.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:38 PM

@Cliff Burnby: Hundreds, eh ? The tale gets better and better with time.

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:20 PM

I’m struggling to become a virologist, epidemiologist, statistician and economist at this time, now adding in how the hell to judge levels of complacency, is this psychology I need? So many experts on the journal comments in everything, I feel embarrassed I can only make things up that aren’t based on research or competence!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd

@ThatLJD: Just keep doing what you are doing. Btw .. still waiting on the loaves and fishes video ..

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:38 PM

@Logan Shepherd: Well one of the disadvantages of living at home at 30 is the mother told me to stop wasting food. The step dad loved the wine trick. On the flip side of things, I’ve stopped being told to get a real job and to get a hair cut. the robes and sandals are great for that airy feel around the place and I’m still able to meet the 12 lads on zoom (zoom gave us all full access accounts after Peter told them who we were).

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:43 PM

@ThatLJD: Love it :-)

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:18 PM

@ThatLJD: you can measure and aggregate sentiment on a topic using mass scrapes of social media. It’s 2020 big data has been around for a good few years now.

It’s not even expensive to do this you can purchase this software yourself. Companies use it to measure sentiment on their brand

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:22 PM

@Vin: Ah don’t say Big Data, I really can’t be bothered learning SQL!

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:24 PM

@ThatLJD: You don’t need to know it. Smarter people already wrote the software and manage the server. You just pay for software

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:37 PM

@Vin: thanks for the heads up, I’ll stick to picking stones, suits me better and my soul.

Mute Brendan Woods
    Favourite Brendan Woods
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:40 PM

So what had Leo out today?? Another camera opportunity?? Was that a necessary journey?? He gets to stand around in the sunshine while the rest of us are stuck indoors and then wonders why we are frustrated with the lockdown. If the so called experts cannot tell us when this pandemic will end politicians should stop giving us false hopes. They too should stay indoors.

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:07 PM

@Brendan Woods: when will the gardai arrest the political elite for high treason. That is the destruction of hundreds of thousands of peoples jobs and lives and the implementation of the new world order. If the gardai are there to protect the people, lets see them do some real work in protecting people from tyranny.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:13 PM

@Brendan Woods: like being in jail do what your told very hard for people to stay in 3rd week now 2 more and then what? Good westy

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:40 PM

@Brendan Woods: why are you stuck indoors? Are you cocooning? Leo is not; the cocooning age bracket so he is able to go out.

Apr 20th 2020, 4:01 PM

Haha hilarious

Ed
    Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Apr 20th 2020, 6:33 PM

@Mary Oliver: looks like I have found a drama llama. Look at you sitting at home with your television and internet. If you are not cocooning then you are allowed leave your house.

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Apr 20th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Thomas McGrath: what did Patrick Pearse, James Connolly, Thomas McDonagh and all the other Patriots die for in 1916 for these corporate traitors to sell out the Irish people again and again on every issue. I can include Francis of Rome and all the bishops for abandoning their flock when most in need of support against oppression by an elite.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:37 PM

I have a mental health disorder that creates a lot of anxiety when I’m separated from my family. Which I have been for over three weeks now. I’m fed up and worried about my head.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:07 PM

@Fabio Dillon: people can’t take this isolation much longer poor people with anxiety etc

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Apr 20th 2020, 4:01 PM

@Fabio Dillon: I’d say your mental health disorder will also be exacerbated by reading and commenting on all these Journal articles.

The same device you are using right now can be used to keep in-touch with your family as if they were in the same room.

We’re all in the same boat.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:33 PM

Well at this stage they can stuff this lockdown up their backsides.
    We have been isolating for the past 5 bloody boring weeks and when we go out to get shopping there are hoards of people walking around.
    No shortage of cars either, we have been bringing shopping and other essentials to an elderly relative in Co Carlow and we have abided by the rules but it’s looks like a bloody joke.
    The absolute clowns purporting to run the country are too busy pandering to their buddies and allowing plane loads into the country.
    At this stage I am almost willing to take my chances (I’m not really but I am bloody well pissed off).
    Now Leo,Simon … either shit or get off the pot.
    We are in lockdown or not !!.

Mute Niall Concannon
    Favourite Niall Concannon
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Justice Mickey: Yes, as they have always said clearly. We are in lockdown. Hard to see what has you confused about it, other than that you don’t like it.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:03 PM

@Justice Mickey: The people coming in to pick fruit are coming from countries with low levels of infection, but somehow this seems to have slipped by the average paddy. We will infect them and send them home to spread it…..comical the logic of some people.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:34 PM

@Niall Concannon:
    No, only some seem to be in lockdown or have you got your windows painted black and don’t go out.
    It’s a slap in the face to people like ourselves that are following the rules to the letter.
    ” I don’t like it”… Really Sherlock, you think !!!!.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:41 PM

@Peter Hughes:
    Jeasus wept ,
    Where in the name of goodness did you see me saying anything about fruit pickers ??.
    I actually hope these people get time to enjoy their time here and come back again.
    I am talking about Irish people.. residents of Ireland that are out and about.
    People driving around to get out for a spin etc.
    People out in parks and walking.
    You wouldn’t see this amount of people walking around under normal circumstances.

Mute Niall Concannon
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:53 PM

@Justice Mickey: “We have been isolating for the past 5 bloody boring weeks and when we go out to get shopping there are hoards of people walking around.
    No shortage of cars either, we have been bringing shopping and other essentials to an elderly relative in Co Carlow and we have abided by the rules but it’s looks like a bloody joke.”

You don’t think the people who you saw, were doing the same as you mostly? Also, you can walk around your 2km for exercise. Just because you seemingly haven’t been doing so, doesn’t mean the people you saw were wrong. The content of your original post suggests you might spend a lot of time in a general state of outrage.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Apr 20th 2020, 4:31 PM

@Niall Concannon:
    Seriously, learn the art of “Copy & Paste” will you.
    What state of humour I am in is sod all of your business alright…
    Are you another one of The Journal medics or psychological wannabes that can identify a persons psychological condition.

Now read over the statement again and then get back to me .

Mute Niall Concannon
    Apr 20th 2020, 5:15 PM

@Justice Mickey: As the man said: “Okey doke, we’ll leave it there so”

Mute classic
    Favourite classic
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:24 PM

Does he mean air traffic

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:28 PM

@classic: Road traffic by me has definitely increased over the last few days

Shem
    Mute Shem
    Favourite Shem
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:31 PM

The increase in traffic is since Thursday afternoon. Also much more people out then previously. I imagine people think they are fine, so no need to adhere to protect others.

You might a carrier ! think about.

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett

What about the 25 caravans in the curragh,were they monitored?

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:18 PM

Unrelated, but could someone advise if the banks have officially announced an interest holiday on mortgage debt?
    Or is the debt still rising on people’s mortgages?

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:30 PM

@Michael Byrne: You need to apply to your bank yourself for it.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:35 PM

@Michael Byrne: Rising. Its in there T&C.(aib anyway)

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon

@Michael Byrne: banks will never not accrue interest.

Mute shirls
    Favourite shirls
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:37 PM

Their saying nothing to calm peoples fear.alot of ifs and buts.we need clear direction and where not getting it at moment.people will get restless and that’s when we may get into serious trouble with this virus.

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:05 PM

Since about the middle of last week, the south city center has become notably busier around lunch time. Workers basically, often going out to lunch in groups. Contractors have returned to work at a hotel near me. There was a large congregation on Montague St when I passing, of people waiting to get into one small open coffee shop. A lot of people are still trying to socially distance, but there are groups of people walking around now between 12 and 3 with little regard for others on the footpath.

I say all that to say – I don’t think it’s people being ‘fed up’ in this case. It seems to be more employers calling workers back into the office for some reason. Compared to a couple of weeks ago, when the same areas of the city center were dead.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:40 PM

@gofreak: do you call theatres theaters?

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:44 PM

@gofreak: there is only so much work that can be done from home.

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Apr 20th 2020, 7:58 PM

@sjr: True, but it seems definitions of ‘essential work’ may have slipped recently, without guidance from the government changing at all. Nevermind that employers could do more to impress upon their employees the need to maintain social distance when they’re out of the office, whatever about when in the office. People were going crazy at builders for not socially distancing coming to and from building sites… which led to building sites being shut down. Yet now there are some offices doing the very same.

Mute Yolita Ferue
    Favourite Yolita Ferue

It’s easy for him to stand in his privileged position as Taoiseach and talk down to the rest of us like we’re children. Everyone has a responsibility to take precautions to limit the spread, but we all have the right to live our lives too, not just exist. He says he knows it’s hard on everyone’s mental health, yet he and his colleagues are doing nothing to support those in isolation. Leo, nobody is going to take you seriously if you can’t respect your people’s human rights.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:26 PM

Our village is now getting regular Garda drive-bys. Lots of walkers/cyclists around as it’s quiet and off the main routes.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Apr 20th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Logan Shepherd: I see! Interesting. And what part of North Korea is your village in Logan?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:00 PM

@Stephen: Glad you are interested Stephen. It’s a little village in the west of Ireland, mostly made up of elderly people. I’m guessing one or more if them reported the increase in activity, hence the Garda drive-bys. Does that help you in any way Stephen?

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:05 PM

@Logan Shepherd: Ahascragh?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:17 PM

@Darren Byrne: Brings back memories but no :-)

Mute Michael Patrick Newell
    Favourite Michael Patrick Newell
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:27 PM

Imagine a lad who only got in on the 5th count of the election still thinking he has any sort of power left, hey Leo when u are lecturing people on complacency, does that include non Irish citizens flown in on Ryanair and put to work picking strawberries for a company that really didn’t need to have this done since strawberries arent a priority for people now, or is it just the ordinary folk who live in Ireland and don’t have influence or financial clout to do as they please

Mute sjr
    Favourite sjr
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:45 PM

@Michael Patrick Newell: food security is a priority.its not just strawberries that they are harvesting.

Apr 20th 2020, 4:04 PM

Well maybe if locals wanted to tend the crops, they wouldn’t need to be flown in? Only wanted when it suits I guess?

Fresh (healthy) food is a priority vs junk like chocolate and alcohol.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Apr 20th 2020, 2:21 PM

I feel like the same morons who downplayed the virus back in January are starting to come out of their shame caves and share their unwanted opinions once more.

The grown ups are making decisions. Stay indoors and play with your crayons. Thanks

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Apr 20th 2020, 3:32 PM

I’m afraid that I’ve personally witnessed Some of our Eastern European residents visiting each other’s houses, greeting with handshakes, not observing 2 metre rule.
    Is it because they have their satellite dish pointed to a different satellite and are not getting the message being delivered here.
    In any case it’s just going to delay us.
    Maybe a Polish language poster campaign or leaflet drop might help.