You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

General view of the N14 at Murlog Google Maps

Man killed and two injured in Donegal crash

The accident happened near Letterkenny this afternoon.

Updated, 6.31pm

A YOUNG MAN has been killed and two others seriously injured in a road accident in Donegal.

The three, all men in their early 20s, were in a car that crashed at around 1.30pm near Murlog, near Lifford and close to the border with Co Tyrone.

One was fatally injured at the scene, while the other two have been taken to Letterkenny General Hospital with serious injuries.

No other vehicles were involved in the collision.

A part of the N14 has now been closed, and will be examined by a garda forensic team.

Any witnesses have been asked to contact Letterkenny garda station on 074 9167100, or the Garda Confidential line on 1800 666 111.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

7 Comments
    Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:31 PM

Thank god I no longer avail of their ‘services.’ Absolute rip-off for speeds that are a fraction of what you’re supposed to get, not to mention line-rental fees and crappy customer service. One of the worst companies I’ve ever had the misfortune of being stuck with.

Mute David Riordan
    Favourite David Riordan
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:40 PM

Upc jacked up their prices on our bundle (basic tv plus broadband) by €5 a month. It’s hard to go anywhere now and get value. Just imitating eachother, no one looking to compete on high volume/lower cost from what I can see.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:41 PM

Ever check out what they pay up north or the UK for TV and Internet packages? A fraction of the prices we pay..

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:23 PM

Oh , for Gods sake , just do price comparisons and change accordingly. There is no need for debate.

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:59 PM

On the Subject of Increases.. Why haven’t falling Oil prices lead to lower energy bills for Gas & electricity?
    I haven’t heard of any price drops from any Company’s. petrol and diesel have dropped in price. Will the government come out with some waffle again and say falling prices in energy bills will lead to more Taxes?!

Mute Summer Bay Devil
    Favourite Summer Bay Devil
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:29 PM

That makes sense. Can’t have any of that crazy talk here. You should be reported for that.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jan 15th 2015, 11:41 AM

I rang Airtricity the other day and got a 14% discount for the coming year.

Mute Colin Treacy
    Favourite Colin Treacy
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:29 PM

I’ll be cancelling in August when contract is up and moving to sky for broadband.

Mute Paul Martin
    Favourite Paul Martin
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:32 PM

They are changing the terms of contract you are entitled to cancel without penalty within 30 days of being formally notified of the change, why wait till August

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:54 PM

Try vodafone colin, defo worth a look for bb and fone landline

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:44 PM

I’m currently with Sky. Their service was mostly fine but their customer service was atrocious.

When my speed dropped to only 2mb at peak times over Christmas they told me it was dodgy equipment, despite me repeatedly telling them the equipment was fine. They just wouldn’t listen and sent me out new stuff even though I told them not to.

I’ve since cancelled and went to Vodafone, which won’t start until next week, but tbh I’ve not heard great things about them either. Only other option was eircom and I’ve made that mistake before.

Mute Gerry Ivie
    Favourite Gerry Ivie
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:17 PM

@The Doctor. Just giving u a heads up! If you’ve switched from Sky get to Ur bank ASAP and cancel ur direct debit if that how u were paying. They’re going go Into ur acc on the due date and take money irrespective of whether ur on a contract with them. When u argue it they ll insist it’s a penalty for not giving them enough notice or some such cr*p. Trust me! That’s what will happen so get there and cancel!

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:40 PM

Cheers Gerry. I’ll do that. ;-)

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:51 PM

Hidden charges. Don’t like Vodafone

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:53 PM

That’s exactly what happened to me. Cancelled in July was supposed to pay €8 as a last payment in august they took full amount in august and September had to call my bank to cancel direct debit. They are still i saying I owe them money, they are the worst of the worst.

Mute Quincy
    Favourite Quincy
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:44 PM

The problem with eircom that since they were privatised debt has been loaded onto the company’s books every time it has changed hands( until the last and current owners in fairness) .They just can’t compete.. Vodafone are shocking though had a terrible experience with them ..

Mute Brendan Crowe
    Favourite Brendan Crowe
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:53 PM

Can you not get upc in your area? 240mb broadband and phone for 45 euro

Mute Stephanie G
    Favourite Stephanie G
    Jan 15th 2015, 1:30 AM

I’m with vodafone. Find it great! BB excellent, son constantly using it for playstation and me for computer. Never a problem and never over data limit. Plus I’m in Donegal which usually had crap coverage.

Mute Andrew Doyle
    Favourite Andrew Doyle
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:17 PM

The cost of everything is going up.
    You know what’s not going up? My salary!

Getting harder and harder to pay these bills.

Eircom are the worst though. The most expensive for the worst service.
    They mostly get the older crowd to sign up because Eircom is a name they know and *think* they can trust

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:25 PM

but enda told the media today people were ringing him asking was there a mistake as they had extra money in their wage packets this week………or was that just more spin

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 15th 2015, 1:34 PM

Yeah. They took €200, but gave me back a fiver… whoopty do, eh?

Mute Shirley
    Favourite Shirley
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:50 PM

Just rang eircom there, its says u are entitled to leave them with no breach of contract. They be posting a letter out informing people of increase, then u can cancel

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:43 PM

You can cancel within 30 days if notification of price increase, without penalty! Or transfer to a different supplier.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:47 PM

Jason. Thats good to hear. Now everyone who gets a hike in their bill leave th, show them they went too far.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:41 PM

We only have 3 as an alternative here, tried it, they could not get the signal here at all, no choice.
    Hope the agreement made with them holds as I feel if we have to keep our part of the bargain then don’t they?
    Yes, my ignorance showing but I am not a know all, just do my best.

Mute Jonathan Ross
    Favourite Jonathan Ross
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:37 PM

The worst company in the market.and yes there irish.whats new? people say buy from irish company’s to keep the money in the country. Why should we when there the ones ripping us off. everyone with them should cancel their bill and move network. gangsters.the worst thing about this country getting back on its feet is all the price hikes that come with it. We were better off in a recession .

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:58 PM

Eircom is an Australian company.
    Owned by Babcock & Brown.
    G’day.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:58 PM

That was years ago. It’s got about 150 new owners nie but babcock left years ago.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:01 PM

@Gerard thats worse, bad enough our own robbing us but even other Countries think they can.

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:52 PM

Worst shower of cowboys in Ireland. Customer service is a disgrace, not the staffs fault, management don’t give a sh*te. Fobbing customer off is encouraged, 7 out of 10 calls will get no satisfaction.
    I worked in the galway branch for a year in college days. Crazy the amount of auld ones who would ring just to let you know they’ve paid their bill

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:33 PM

Awful company to deal with my gran which has late stage dementia has got a letter threatening the next letter is a court summons for phone rental! funny thing is she is in a nursing home for the past year and I made it perfectly clear that she is in a home and to disconnect.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:36 PM

I was considering them for broadband when I move into my new place next month. I don’t think I’ll even bother looking at their website now. And their TV offering is diabolical. You get a better variety on freeview and that’s free…

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:56 PM

Don’t even consider eircom Brian, dreadful company to deal with.
    They put my mum on a ‘phone deal (without informing her) a few years ago when she got the OAP ‘phone allowance, she used to pay off weekly, say a fiver, so only had to pay a couple of bob when the bill came in. She got taken very ill, so I took over the household bills for her, turns out the ‘deal’ was 30+ euro a month, local calls, no international included, my brother lives in the UK so you can imagine her bills. That was for phone only, no TV, no internet.

Tried to cut off the phone when she came to live with us, terminally ill with cancer, all they wanted to do was try and put her on another deal – Jesus the woman was dying and they didn’t give a sh*t.

Rip off merchants of the highest order.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:51 PM

Sorry to hear that.. that sounds awful.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:47 PM

Molly
    I am very sorry you all had enough to worry about, sad time for you all. I hope you are getting through this loss despite this shabby treatment.

Mute sam 987123
    Favourite sam 987123
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:04 PM

Think I may just be cancelling the tv and phone and watching netflix.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:54 PM

Get broadband with UPC and Google bit torrent.. you’ll never look back!

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:28 PM

Not everybody can get UPC..

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:48 PM

Will this have a knock on effect to the prices for vodafone/sky/bt fiber broadband prices?

Mute Charles Mcdonald
    Favourite Charles Mcdonald
    Jan 15th 2015, 12:18 AM

I use 3s 4g network. It’s great when I can get it at my house. Tethering out phone unlimited 20-50 mb bb. All in the cost of my phone bill.

For landline I just don’t see the value. Maybe I’m wrong but fiber might only have limited time. 4G can go over 100mb and the 5g in development will double that. The future is wireless.

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:07 PM

Well there goes your budget changes in the USC. Feeling any richer?

Mute angie pangie
    Favourite angie pangie
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:11 PM

Their customer service is unbelievably bad, been fobbed off from one person to the next everytime I ring. As soon as I go I will, hopefully you are right in saying you can cancel when they notify you about the changes because I don’t have €170 to buy myself out of a contract.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:40 PM

Useless.

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:01 PM

€70 for up to 7mb per month in my area from them. Not that I am taking it but they are refusing to give me the unique identifier address, of my house, so that I can go with a competitor.

Reported to ComReg for all the good that will do

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:45 PM

Call sky they can submit an LE enquiry and get your ARD key.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:50 PM

Thank you for nfirmation.
    Can you go,to citizens advice, local TDS ir something, get to,papers, you have rights.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:12 PM

I’d rather have no phone or net than be stuck with eircom. The worst company I have ever dealt with.

Mute Elaine Mc Eveney
    Favourite Elaine Mc Eveney
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:36 PM

A horrible horrible company that have poor customer service and shouldn’t be supported. Disgrace.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 14th 2015, 10:35 PM

Completly agree Elaine, its terrible how Irish companies treat people, In my experience, eircom, and “electric Ireland” (aka ESB) have the worst customer service I have experienced. The UK is so superior. They really need to learn a thing or two.

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:32 PM

And their Internet is shite

Mute Jonathan Smith
    Favourite Jonathan Smith
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:17 PM

Got rid of upc,three price increases in three years, I had enough of that shite, I’m going back to stone age

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:46 PM

How are they still in business!?

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:57 PM

As wholesalers to sky and Vodafone!

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:01 PM

True that, and Magnet.. oh Jesus.. that was the worst service I’ve ever had.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:51 PM

We have nothing else down here Ben, no competition as yet.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:57 PM

Dose.. and it doesn’t look like that will change soon for a lot of rural places either.

Mute Jason O Neill
    Favourite Jason O Neill
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:16 PM

No one will sign up as they are already too expensive. Just money hungry for profit.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:02 PM

I called their 11811 to get a local number & let them put the call through for me it cost 13 euro & 50 cent for a 5 min call!!!

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:27 PM

They have the Internet on computers now….

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:59 PM

Oh no sir, that computer is for suckers. Hey, you’re not a sucker are you?

Mute bandido
    Favourite bandido
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:37 PM

There’s nearly always other options. I’d rather be cut off from the rest of the world than go near Eircom. When enough people disconnect they will be forced to do something about their line rental racket.

Mute DPC75
    Favourite DPC75
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:24 PM

Eircom is the worst company I have ever dealt with. Their level of service, and their customer service, is an absolute disgrace and I’m paying for a broadband service that I rarely have. I’m moving to ripplecom. Neighbours finding their speeds are excellent.

Mute Aidan Ward
    Favourite Aidan Ward
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:31 PM

As bad as this is, just received a renewal letter for my van insurance, with a 250% price increase.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Jan 15th 2015, 8:07 AM

That’s normal. Just go online, find the cheapest quote, then knock a few quid off it and ring your own company telling them you got that quote, but will stay with them if they can match it. If you are claims free, they will. Saving you the hassle of no claims letters etc.

Mute Trudy Taaffe
    Favourite Trudy Taaffe
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:47 PM

My mother died last year and it took them 5 months to cancel her contract, even making me send in a death certificate. The customer service was horrendous and made an already difficult time a nightmare. Months of phone calls to get a final bill sent so I could close the account. On the day it was finally sorted I kept being passed to other departments and had to explain myself to 8 different people. I was so upset. If eircom were giving away their services I wouldn’t use them.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:22 PM

Eircom are the walking dead.
    How can anybody entertain them-unless you live in a rural area with no alternative..
    They are still a joke.!

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:28 PM

A nightmare of a company. THEY rang me in Nov 2013 to take efibre which I did. Still haven’t got it . Numerous engineers in my house who can’t sort it. We’ve had the same number existing Eircom broadband for over 10 years! They don’t know the meaning of CRM, time to move but to who ??

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:35 PM

Cant stand them, whenever I’ve had to move house if a eircom line is there the first thing I do is get rid of it. Remember Mary O Rourke and her brilliant analysis of the floatation of eircom. They’re a rip off and leave you holding on the line for hours.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:25 PM

Looking at getting broadband for the house( we have a dongle at the minute ) but because there’s no active landline it looks like we will have to go with eircom or is there another option.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:46 PM

Sky can activate inactive lines or provide new lines at no cost.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:54 PM

Tried sky but they said they can’t set me up

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:02 PM

You try UPC? to be honest I’d be getting on to Niall quinn for an aerial if eircom was the only line option.

Mute Alan Whitney
    Favourite Alan Whitney
    Jan 14th 2015, 6:40 PM

Depends on where you are. I’m in mid Kilkenny and use Alphawave. Works like mmds. Slow speeds but unlimited @ 30 p.m.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:10 PM

Thank you Ben
    UPC apparently about 20 miles away at present, costs about one third again. Someone looked into it for us.

Mute Liam Lyons
    Favourite Liam Lyons
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:43 PM

Eircom support is the worst. Every month I have to make a call because they have over charged for something or other. They charge for the phonecall also and put you on hold for an hour. They couldn’t mess up more if they tried I reckon. Now they are going to charge more. Disgrace and I cannot wait for my contract to be up.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 14th 2015, 10:10 PM

Surely if they change their charges they’re breaking the contract? Check the small print in your contract. They may have a getout clause about price rises due to unforeseen circumstances.

Mute Ciaran Fallon
    Favourite Ciaran Fallon
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:57 PM

I dumped them today for SKY Fibre. €60+ a month for rubbish upto 8mb, when most of the time I’d be lucky to get 4mb…

Mute Paddy Gerrard
    Favourite Paddy Gerrard
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:39 PM

Sky are using eircom fibre network so how will your speed increase

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jan 14th 2015, 10:07 PM

A whilw back, Eircom came knocking practically every week to see if we’d switch back. Eventually I told the salesman that he was wasting his time with us as we would never go back to them. Haven’t heard from them since, thank goodness.

Mute michael kerrigan
    Favourite michael kerrigan
    Jan 14th 2015, 10:26 PM

Where’s our regulatoro

Mute Marc O'Connor
    Favourite Marc O'Connor
    Jan 15th 2015, 12:17 AM

Theres always digiweb!

Mute Bart Renolds
    Favourite Bart Renolds
    Jan 15th 2015, 9:57 AM

Worst bb connection .
    Buffer face !!!!!

Mute Darren Collins
    Favourite Darren Collins
    Jan 15th 2015, 9:00 AM

If you can get eircom broadband you can get that same speed broadband from another landline provider, jus switch and save money.