You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Righteous Among the Nations plaque Czech News Agency/Press Association Images

91-year-old man returns Holocaust medal after his relatives were killed in Gaza

Henk Zanoli and his family were given the award for shielding a Jewish boy from the Nazis during World War II.

A 91-YEAR-OLD DUTCH man honoured by Israel for shielding a Jew from the Nazis has handed back his medal after six of his relatives were killed in a Gaza air strike.

Henk Zanoli returned his Righteous Among the Nations award to the Israeli ambassador in The Hague this week after an Israeli F-16 destroyed his great-niece’s Gaza home, killing all inside.

Zonoli and his mother had hidden an 11-year-old Jewish boy at their family home from 1943 until the end of the war. Zanoli’s father had already been sent to a concentration camp at the time.

“It is with great sorrow that I am herewith returning the medal I received as an honour and a token of appreciation from the State of Israel for the efforts and risks taken by my mother and her family in saving the life of a Jewish boy during the German occupation,” Zanoli said in a letter.

According to Zanoli’s letter addressed to the Israeli ambassador, the bomb dropped by the Israeli military on 20 July during its massive Gaza offensive, flattened a four-storey building at the Bureij Refugee Camp, killing all inside.

“The great-great grandchildren of my mother have lost their grandmother, three uncles, an aunt and a cousin at the hands of the Israeli military,” Zanoli said in the letter, published by liberal Israeli newspaper Haaretz and widely circulated in the Dutch media.

“It is particularly shocking and tragic that today, four generations on, our family is faced with the murder of our kin in Gaza. Murder carried out by the State of Israel,” Zanoli said.

The Israeli Embassy in The Hague today confirmed it was “familiar with the issue,” but declined to comment or give details.

The nonagenarian was too frail to deliver the letter in person, but instead sent it, with the medal, to the Israeli embassy in The Hague — the same place he received the accolade three years ago. He wrote:

For me to hold on to the honour granted to me by the State of Israel under these circumstances, would be an insult… to those in my family, four generations on, who lost no less than six of their relatives in Gaza.

Zanoli’s family were outspoken opponents of the invading Nazis and his father was murdered in Mauthausen concentration camp. Zanoli’s own brother-in-law was executed in the dunes outside The Hague for being in the Dutch Resistance.

The Righteous Among the Nations is an honour accorded by Israel to non-Jews who risked their lives to protect and save Jews during the Holocaust.

Almost 2,000 Palestinians, most of them civilians, have been killed in Israel’s withering offensive on the isolated Gaza Strip, aimed at ending militant rocket fire.

“The actions of your state in Gaza these days have already resulted in serious accusations of war crimes and crimes against humanity,” wrote Zanoli.

As a retired lawyer, it would be no surprise to me that these accusations could lead to possible convictions if true and unpoliticised justice is able to have its course.
What happened to our kin in Gaza will no doubt be brought to the table at such a time as well.

- © AFP, 2014

Read: Despite everything, one couple got married at a UN school in Gaza today > 

Read: Five more days of peace: Israel and Hamas agree to extend ceasefire > 

View 122 comments
122 Comments
    Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:20 PM

A truly honourable man.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:36 PM

Or as haaretz describe him a “righteous gentile”.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:56 PM

And I would add a man of esteemed principles

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Ray rogers
    Favourite Ray rogers
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:17 PM

Esteemed principles? I think anyone who had 6 relatives killed would be handing the medal back. What makes this powerful, and connects with people, is that it is an ordinary man caught in extraordinary circumstances.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:28 PM

Wait a minute, so he only decided to return the medal AFTER some of his own people got bombed.

If he had any honour he would have done it as the innocents in Gaza started dying.

Mute Haya Ab
    Favourite Haya Ab
    Aug 16th 2014, 12:27 AM

Please Ciara, the adults are talking here. Go play outside.

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:02 AM

@Ciara Ryan

Or if he had any honour he wouldn’t be perpetuating “the big lie” so wouldn’t have got the medal in the first place. Isn’t that the way you think, Ciara?

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 3:08 AM

@Haya

Adults look at all the evidence, they don’t make laws to block out something they do not want to see, but yes, adults do lie and push agendas and exploit a victory to push policies on the masses who take their word at face value, now is it the nazis who are pushing debt slavery on the world or is it the allied victors?

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 3:12 AM

@Claire

If he had honour he would be looking for the truth Claire, that is the way honour and truth is, not just down to my way of thinking Claire.

The Liberation of the Camps: Facts vs. Lies
    http://www.ihr.org/leaflets/libcamps.shtml

Mute Mike O Connor
    Favourite Mike O Connor
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:04 AM

@ciararyan
    Was it the Nazi’s or our Allied victors.

The simple fact.
    How many of the culprits who fired the rockets have been killed?

How many every day Palestinians have been killed?

Please when your ready to get off the fence and stop hiding behind “was it them that started this conflict” a child’s reasoning if ever there was one.

Come back to me…

Otherwise enjoy your weekend

Mute DiarmuidMurphy
    Favourite DiarmuidMurphy
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:05 AM

Pure class.

Mute Simon Murphy
    Favourite Simon Murphy
    Aug 16th 2014, 10:31 AM

Claire, quoting something from the institute of historical review is the historical equivalent of saying “I heard it from a guy I know down the pub”.

Mark weber, an arguably committed white supremacist, set it up to prove his theories. That automatically negates all historical objectivity.

Articles that source 80% of their evidence from the same journal they are written in are construction of bias.

If you want to argue that the holocaust was inflated by propaganda, sure go ahead. ‘Everything’ post war was inflated by propaganda.

But don’t go looking for all your evidence from the IHR and YouTube.
    You’re doing yourself and all around you a disservice.

Mute Simon Murphy
    Favourite Simon Murphy
    Aug 16th 2014, 10:31 AM

Meant for Ciara

Mute Haya Ab
    Favourite Haya Ab
    Aug 16th 2014, 10:53 AM

People like Ciara are an amusing paradox. They have some belief that through watching youtube videos and reading the rantings of bigots and social outcasts that they are privy to some special info and that we’ve all been brain washed into believing something that’s a complete construct of propaganda. The paradox is that what they believe is happening to others is in fact happening to them. They are the brainwashed ones. Everyone sees them as crazy cranks and they actually take this as an indication that they must be onto something and it entrenches them deeper in their belief. Having been to a number of mass graves and concentration camps, having visited and heard from people who lived through the holocaust, the idea that someone could invent such an horrific story and convince so many thousands of people that it happened when it didn’t, well, it’s just insane. People don’t create horrific memories and stories. If anything they will create good memories and will forget some of the horror so that they can go on with their lives. I’ve often wondered what it is in these people that make them so easily convinced of such rubbish. I think perhaps it’s some idea that they are special, and because they are too lazy to actually work at becoming someone of exceptional skill and talent, they trawl the internet thinking they are like a secret agent discovering some big conspiracy, and they believe that when they’re proved right people will then appreciate how special & amazing they are.

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:13 PM

There are many inaccuracies there, if all these people weren’t killed in the camps, where did they disappear to? That’s what holocaust deniers can never explain.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:00 PM

@Simon
    Their articles are not debunked as you claim.

Here you are, not one fact against any of the articles and facts published, but instead, you focus on a smear campaign.

“IHR is this. Mark Weber is that”

That is the main thrust of so-called debunkers. Address the evidence instead of diversionary mud slinging.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:07 PM

@Lisa
    Jewish population losses in the German sphere of influence during the World War II
    http://www.historiography-project.com/misc/graf_jewishlosses.html

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:10 PM

@Haya
    Except it is not yt videos, as you can see I have posted articles that reference Allied docuements and nurmeburg trial testimony, in fact most of revisionist articles rely on the allies own testimony to show them up.

As to videos, is the jewish “survivor” telling lies or not? So what is wrong with video?

Aren’t the survivors themselves using “video” to make their claims, which no doubt you proffer to bolster your own nonsense. One rule for the pushers another for the truthers.

Mute Haya Ab
    Favourite Haya Ab
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:30 PM

Seriously Ciara, these articles are primarily based in semantics. The exact figure of people slaughtered is not the point. The point is that there was a brutal system put in place to identify all those of Jewish decent and to systematically exterminate them in the most efficient manner possible. Just because there are different estimates on the numbers killed and people have talked about their estimate before the end of the war is somewhat irrelevant. The fact is that there was a huge amount of people murdered. It was an attempt to wipe out a race of human beings from the face of the earth, because one man had pinned all his misfortune on them instead of accepting responsibility for his own part played in where he found himself in life. It’s the same mentality that looks to invent secret conspiracies and finds others who share similar misguided notions so that they can lay blame at someone else’s doorstep. Ultimately all we can do in our lives is do our best to act in line with our highest morals and ideals. A great man once said “be the change you wish to see in the world”. This means if you want to see an honest and peaceful world, all you can do and all you must do is be an honest and peaceful human being. You must be those things in everything you do, even the smallest of your actions. Do you really think that semantic debates and the exact number of Jewish slaughtered at the hands of the Nazi’s is going to have a positive impact on the world. Is this the best you can do?

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 6:53 PM

@Haya

I notice you repeatedly perfer to avoid the facts and throw insult rather than address the facts in the article.

It is not a matter of numbers, it is a matter of whether there was a deliberate policy to exterminate people, the evidence shows there was not, and that 200-300,000 died as a result of allied bombing on German food and medical supply convoys and depots, how much more relevant in the light that that is how the allies now conduct their aims on more innocents today. Nothing has changed, they got away with demonising a people who opposed their power grab, so they are free to continue, and by God they are.

140 Occurrences Of The Word Holocaust & The Number 6,000,000 Before The Nuremberg Trials Began
    http://balder.org/judea/Six-Million-140-Occurrences-Of-The-Word-Holocaust-And-The-Number-6,000,000-Before-The-Nuremberg-Trials-Began.php

Mute Haya Ab
    Favourite Haya Ab
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:14 PM

Ciara, I’m not throwing slander. I mean no offense. I honestly wish you all the best in the future and I do hope that you have a very fulfilling and happy life. Take care of yourself. :)

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:40 PM

@Haya
    Your earlier comment would seem to contradict that.
    “People like Ciara are an amusing paradox. They have some belief that through watching youtube videos and reading the rantings of bigots and social outcasts that they are privy to some special info”

Contrary to what you said, I do not believe I am privy to this, that or the other. The info is all there for people who wish to dig it out, I am posting articles which have very credible sources, who have themselves thoroughly researched the topic and of which most of the sources are from the documents and statements from the allies and exterminationists.

I do not approve of extermination, genocide or of blaming people of such if they did not. As always humans use the above to further their own subjective emotive partialities.

Mute Felix Quigley
    Favourite Felix Quigley
    Aug 17th 2014, 11:22 AM

The truth is that Hamas and Fatah were founded by a Nazi Arab called hajj Amin El husseini, the Mufti of Jerusalem. Not this medal but that is the main issue here

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 17th 2014, 2:33 PM

You’re some Mufti Felix.

How’s it going otherwise. You look better. Getting out in the fresh air?

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 17th 2014, 5:29 PM

@Ciara

Your argument is that the Jews got away with demonising the Nazis who opposed their power grab?
    Good luck with that one.

Mute Brendan Crowe
    Favourite Brendan Crowe
    Aug 17th 2014, 9:35 PM

Thanks for that. I was about to say she should look into retrospective abortion for herself.. And thats way too harsh
    . IMAGINE If I posted that….wow

Mute Starburst
    Favourite Starburst
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:23 PM

What a powerful and symbolic message! Holding up a mirror to the state of Israel, surely they feel shame at this late stage…

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:43 PM

They don’t know what shame is…or do the cowardly world leaders.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:19 PM

FairPlay to this man
    So easily people forget the predicament they were saved from.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:41 PM

The sickening thing is that none of the israelis responsible for the slaughter in Gaza were ‘saved’ from anything. Quick example, WWII ended 5 years before Netenyahu was born.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:49 PM

Then maybe they should stop talking about it like it happened to them and not their grandparents.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:49 PM

Kind of odd statements there. His parents were both in their 20s at the start of WWII. It’s fair to say that if either or both of them had been killed, he wouldn’t be here!

Not defending Netanyahu or Israel in general btw – in fact I wholeheartedly condemn their actions in Gaza. It’s just a bit silly to pretend that the Holocaust didn’t really affect modern day Jews.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:02 PM

“His parents were both in their 20s at the start of WWII. It’s fair to say that if either or both of them had been killed, he wouldn’t be here! ”

It fair to say if most peoples parents were killed that they wouldn’t be there.

Netenyahus father moved to the middle east in 1920, his mother, Tzila Segal, was a native jewish palestinian (y’know, the place that apparently never existed)

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:23 PM

So easily people ignore they tell stories about the palestinians but believe mainstream media and Hollywood (owned by the same tribe) lies for 60 years.

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 1:58 AM

@ Ciara Ryan

Mainstream media and Hollywood owned by the same tribe? What tribe would that be?

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:38 PM

Ciara you’r not entitled to your opinion you should know that,listen to all the real opinions.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:32 PM

A man of absolute integrity and courage, he has honoured the victims of both the previous and current holocaust with this act. The cruel irony of having lost his family in this way must be unbearable.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:23 PM

What a significant move. Well done

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:20 PM

Reminds me of a Protestant doctor from my town who was highly decorated for his role in WW2. After Bloody Sunday he posted all the medals he received back to the Queen and started treating lads who. May have been shot in cross border activities.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:55 PM

@phil

Can you tell me the name of this doctor, please? I’d like to read about him.

Mute mmz
    Favourite mmz
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:50 PM

As the last generation of honest Americans used to say, “what goes around comes around.” A brave gesture from a true defender of liberty.

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:02 PM

A touching story that sums up the evolution of Israel from oppressed to aggressor, I saw a placard in one of the demonstrations it read ” Israel Hitler would be very proud” when you get to that mans age and one of your last big acts in life is to witness the slaughter of relatives

Mute Eamonn O'Regan
    Favourite Eamonn O'Regan
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:04 PM

God bless him. What a shining example and dignified action. The fact of the world’s 4th-largest army waging open warfare on innocent civilians and their children is beyond categorisation.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:44 PM

Israel is becoming very similar to Adolf Hitlers Germany!
    They are getting away with Murder because of the concentration camps!- if you speak up against them you are called anti semetic- in Hitlers Germany if you spoke up you were a traitor! – He believed Germans were the master race-Jews believe they are the chosen people and will inherit the earth!
    Too many people are turning a blind eye and we know from WW2 what turning a blind eye can lead to!!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:14 PM

Something that went under the radar which shows a slow march towards fascism…(I don’t think I can link to the article). They tried to run adverts naming the children killed in Gaza and were blocked by an israeli court.

“Israel has banned young people from serving with one of its most prominent human rights groups because of its opposition to the war in Gaza. B’Tselem, which campaigns against Israeli settlements in the West Bank, was informed on Wednesday night that it has been blacklisted as a civilian alternative to military service.

The director of the body responsible for non-military options for Israelis who don’t want to serve in the IDF, Sar-Shalom Jerbi, told Channel 2 TV that B’Tselem had “crossed the line in wartime [by] campaigning and inciting against the state of Israel and the Israel Defence Force, which is the most moral of armies”.

Hagai el-Ad, executive director at B’Tselem, said that the move was the latest in a campaign of intimidation and threats against the organisation over the last three weeks, during which it has voiced vociferous opposition to the war in Gaza. It had tried to have the names of Palestinian children aired on state TV during Operation Protective Edge, but was denied. Its appeal to the high court of justice was rejected on Tuesday.”

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Aug 15th 2014, 9:55 PM

A very honourable man.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:21 PM

Well done sir. You truly are an honourable man.

Aug 16th 2014, 1:44 AM

Fairly strong gesture, from a man of 91. Shows how deep this thing goes.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:19 AM

Shows how intertwined we all are too … ” Killing is such horrible sorrow !”
    Did you look at yer man in the taxi Jaimie – he’s gas !

Mute Heliolight
    Favourite Heliolight
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:19 PM

What a man.

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:20 PM
    Mute Joe Maher
    Favourite Joe Maher
    Aug 16th 2014, 12:21 AM

How the world has turned

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Aug 16th 2014, 1:02 AM

Huh???The world is always turning.

Mute Eleanor Reidy
    Favourite Eleanor Reidy
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:00 PM

He should have melted it down to a bullet and gave to Israel to use against a Hamas terrorist for puting his family in danger.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:11 PM

No I think the way he did with dignity is perfect.

Mute Dog Standard
    Favourite Dog Standard
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:15 PM

Don’t worry Eleanor, the Israeli government will melt it down themselves and make it into a bullet. They literally don’t care what people think. That was his point, his family were killed when his family did their best to save an individual during WW 2. Your statement Eleanor is typical of an Israeli apologist, always condoning extreme violence.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Michael Coyle
    Favourite Michael Coyle

Eleanor, I don’t quite understand your reply. Are you implying that he was wrong to do what he did or are you trying to suggest something else?

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc

Of course the Jew is always the persecuted party, Gentiles, what a laugh, such an honourable people.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:21 PM

Disgusting comment Eleanor, you’re an apologist for slaughter of innocents.

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:29 PM

What a disgusting person you are eleanor but typical of the low life comments that we have come to expect from low life terrorist israeli filth.

Mute Michael lynch
    Favourite Michael lynch
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:36 PM

Sickening Eleanor. Please tell us your family connection to Gaza or Israel
    that gives you the license for a comment like this.

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:36 PM

Eleanor Reidy – How deeply Offensive can a human being become , then an apologist for murder, advocating more murder and genocide .
    Everyone of your “contributions” ! over the past four or so weeks , have been so grossly obnoxious and thoroughly inhuman too .
    I’m feel personally disgraced , that you as an Irish Citizen could feel so negatively towards human life ?
    You really should rethink your attitude towards your fellow man !

Mute shouldweallbe
    Favourite shouldweallbe
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:38 PM

Eleanor pet. You should be melted down for moronic comments such as this.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:54 PM

Congratulations eleanor, there has been some serious competition as to who would post the most disgustingly infantile comment n relation to the slaughter in Gaza, but you’ve managed to beat off the competition with gusto.

Unfortunately for you, a person who has earned the right to render an opinion on israels actions more than just about anybody else on this planet has condemned them with a simple, dignified gesture, which is worth a thousand of the abrasive filth comments you extract from your posterior and sully these pages with.

Mute Paul Hughes
    Favourite Paul Hughes
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:57 PM

You are either a horrible person, a troll, or unbelievebly brainwashed.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:34 PM

She’s probably all three, Paul.

Mute Paul Hughes
    Favourite Paul Hughes
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:39 PM

Is this some kind of odd sarcasm that I’m not quite getting? If not, dachau? Don’t really understand your statement..

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:47 PM

@Paul
    Wiesenthal Re-Confirms: ‘No Extermination Camps on German Soil’
    http://www.ihr.org/jhr/v13/v13n3p-9_Staff.html

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:48 PM

@Paul

Mute Paul Hughes
    Favourite Paul Hughes
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:56 PM

I think you’ll find that dachau was a concentration camp and that it was in Germany. Can’t really see the relavence of this to the article or to Eleanor’s horrible comment though

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 16th 2014, 12:03 AM

Paul – In Ciara Ryan , we have a denier of Genocide and Holocaust in WW2 .
    The other Lady is in favour of it continuing in Gaza and Palestine !

Isn’t it amazing that we could have this extraordinary contrasting discussion points and both Parties to it so utterly perverse and wrong ?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Aug 16th 2014, 12:17 AM

I think Eleanor’s got some sand in her gentiles..

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:18 AM

@Were Jammin

If Israel shouldn’t use the Holocaust to justify it’s actions, how does this man’s family’s actions during the Holocaust earn him any more right to render an opinion?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:30 AM

Claire ..if I may … The holocaust is an undeniable fact of barbarity …. The man who returned the medal recognised the same – forget politics forget religion ..his family protected a group of people that have now as a recognised Nation killed his family .
    If for example you acted as a safe house for a catholic who was under threat of torture in the north during the troubles and in the fullness of time the Northern Catholics established their own State on the Aran Islands and subsequently engaged in a one sided war against a population that was sheltering in a recognised international sanctuary and resulted in your family members being slaughtered would you hold onto a momento given to you in recognition of the act of kindness of sheltering … would you expect your family to ?

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:45 AM

@Fear

A denier?

So that’s what they call solid evidence nowadays. Can you present evidence for it?

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:49 AM

@Dermot

An undeniable fact?

No, it needs laws to protect people from stating the results of their research which show it did not happen as stated 60 yrs of allied victory narrative.

We are all permitted to research and question every aspect of history except this, when you publish anything outside the laid down parameters, then what happens is, you, your livelihood, career, family and life are targetted and destroyed.

Truth does not fear inquiry.

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 3:44 AM

@Ciara

There’s no law in this country forbidding Holocaust denial. You have every right to spout whatever nonsense you want. I have the right to ridicule it. There is plenty of evidence proving the Holocaust.

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 3:52 AM

@Dermot

There’s a lot of “IF” s in that statement I don’t agree with but I’m making the point that if Israelis are accused all the time of playing the Holocaust “trump card” it’s hardly fair to bring it out in criticism of them.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:33 AM

There’s one relevant If Ciara …but besides that ….
    What is fair about children being blown up on a beach or U.N sanctuaries being bombed when those who carried out these atrocities initially used the holocaust as a reason to get foreign armies to invade a land that they had a tenuous claim to , (at best).and when furthermore the same collection of individuals used the holocaust and its horrors to make the case that Israel would be a place of sanctuary for them ..
    The state of Israel used the holocaust to establish that which has now in the fullness of time reflected the very thing that was used as an emotional argument to get land !
    hitler went east and west for land and created the holocaust , the survivors went south and copied him … the parallels are staggering…particulary when one considers the flagrant breach of International law by both regimes !

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:53 AM

@Dermot

What are you talking about? What foreign armies? Israel was promised to the Jews in 1922 by the League of Nations, well before the holocaust. That international law has never been abrogated. The state they accepted joyfully in 1948 was a fraction of that first promised them. Your comparisons to Hitler are ridiculous.

Mute Cathal Golden
    Favourite Cathal Golden
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:17 AM

What neocon hole did you crawl out of reidy?

Mute Cathal Golden
    Favourite Cathal Golden
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:31 AM

So Claire when you PROMISE a country to someone, what becomes of the people that are there already! I think that is the crux of the problem!

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 9:46 AM

@Cathal

Wait, if we’re going on to a new point does that mean we all agree that Dermot’s talk of foreign armies and using the Holocaust as an excuse to found Israel is wrong?

Mute Simon Murphy
    Favourite Simon Murphy
    Aug 16th 2014, 11:08 AM

Ciara, The Institute for historical review does not provide solid evidence.
    It is at the extreme end of the bias scale of holocaust history. And other institutions and historians exist that argue the other end of the scale.

Don’t get me wrong, they have their right to historical debate. In which they are regularly debunked by peer review.

You can’t just quote evidence from one journal as fact and pretend you’ve done your research.

You are seeking evidence to prove a point and doing a poor job of it.

If you truly believe in your opinions, read articles from historians who don’t subscribe to the same beliefs as you. If your beliefs stand up to the criticism, you can quote them too and prove it.

Until then you might as well be quoting daily mail articles.

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:25 PM

@Claire

There are in Germany and other European countries, efforts are underway to do so here. Americas policy towards Gaza is a direct consequence of the emotional blackmail the holocaust lobby can exert over all of America, they are now using the same strategy here.

“Ireland became a full member of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance in December 2011. Prior to this Ireland was an observer country to the Alliance from December 2007, progressing to liaison country status in June 2009.

Ireland’s work to implement the Declaration of the Stockholm International Forum on the Holocaust are undertaken by a broad range of stakeholders, including the Department of Justice and Equality, Department of Education and Skills, and Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, along with civil society organisations including Holocaust Education Trust Ireland, the Irish Jewish Museum, and academia.”
    https://www.holocaustremembrance.com/member-countries/holocaust-education-remembrance-and-research-ireland

Eamon Gilmore wants to block freedom of speech
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Df4rBWqJIq4

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:26 PM

@Claire
    Can you show me some of the evidence that proves it, as you say?

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:53 PM

You are are a gorgeous person. I want to have your babies.

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:58 PM

Promised to the Jews… Promised by who. Please explain

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 6:43 PM

@ Yossi Mac

The League of Nations in 1922 It had nothing to do with the Holocaust http://www.mythsandfacts.org/conflict/mandate_for_palestine/mandate_for_palestine.htm

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 6:45 PM

@Claire

Any evidence for the holocaust?

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 17th 2014, 2:39 PM

@ Claire.

At least you stepped away from the god argument.
    So do you believe in a 2 state solution, or are you like Benny and just stalling till you can evict the entire Palestinian population and build new settlements on them?

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 17th 2014, 5:32 PM

@Yossi

I was never in the god argument.

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:06 PM

I posted a comment on Press TV tonight that got published…..

“This is a fine example of a man of honour.. when we compare this to the likes of Antichrist Barack Obama that has STOLEN the Nobel Peace prize in 2009 and has absolutely NO intention of handing it up……it is written… “By his peace he shall destroy many” Daniel 25:8

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Aug 16th 2014, 1:00 AM

They probably posted it as an example of CRAZY!!!

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Aug 16th 2014, 1:47 AM

Marie, care to elaborate or are you just here to try insult people, anything to actually add to the discussion is what I mean, just in case you found that hard to understand.

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:12 AM

@Ablitive

Press TV? Ah well, that’s not biased then….

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:15 AM

@Gary Brandon

You think calling Obama the Antichrist is sane, do you?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:22 AM

Claire …. can you thin k of a better candidate …just a general question ..not agreeing or disagreeing !

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 5:00 AM

Well now that I think about it, Dermot……. Lol

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 16th 2014, 6:02 PM

So Claire… What’s your definition of ‘terrorism’?

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:28 PM

Calling him an Antichrist is simply to describe a really vindictive manipulating mass murderer, which by all accounts Obama is and to top it off he laughs about it :) so yeah a pretty sane description if you ask me and the rest of the world. In fact ask the families of the innocent murder victims in Iraq, Afghanistan, the Middle East in general. Ask them how they feel about Obama murdering them and their families, are these people insane too? I ask the same question as I did above, what facts evidence even opinion do you have to add or are you just fishing for a few thumbs up to boost your self esteem?

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:46 PM

Gary, check out @Ablitive’s website and then get back to me. It’s Obama793.com ! When he says Antichrist he means antichrist, don’t you Ab!

Mute Claire Finn
    Favourite Claire Finn
    Aug 16th 2014, 9:40 PM

@Gary Brandon

Oh please, between you and Ciara, this thread is like the twilight zone.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Aug 16th 2014, 9:53 AM

The greatest gesture of disgust at Israelis carry on possible, pity some nations, including our own , haven’t the moral fiber of this man.

Mute Motiontwister Ae
    Favourite Motiontwister Ae
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:48 PM

stop blaming Israel!
    http://youtu.be/_Ugsv5u-sW0

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:34 AM

Why ? They bombed the U.N. ,

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Aug 16th 2014, 7:46 AM

Fair play to him. He’s more than qualified to decide what to do with the award. I would love to hear his opinion of hamas and their sharia ambitions. Is he aware of the dramatic rise in honour killings? What’s his take on the aid money being sent to support palestinians being blown on tunnels, weapons and luxury for the hamas leadership.
    Be good to get a full interview either way.

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:52 AM

Charles – So explain please – Is the IDF way of murder and genocide, a more “efficient” and more acceptable type , then say what you describe as “Honour Killings” ?

Those of you that justify murder , genocide ,the stealing of another’s land and the maintenance of the largest Concentration Camp – Gaza City , in the history of the World’s History – would you tolerate the same thing if it was to happen say in Ireland , The UK or The USA ?

Mute charles
    Favourite charles
    Aug 16th 2014, 9:07 AM

Kerry. Whataboutery at its finest. call me old fashioned but I just plain hate Islamic extremists.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Aug 16th 2014, 10:24 AM

Charles, would you like me to post links of the brave Israeli soldiers murdering kids in the West-bank? The brave Israeli soldiers systematically arresting kids between 5 and 10 in order to terrorize the Palestinians living in the West-bank? How they treat those children when they arrest them at gun-point. What their holding cells are like?
    The Israelies are the terrorists. There are no rockets coming from the West-Bank. The Palestinians there live in a state of fear. Unlike Israeli where a handful of civilians were murdered over the last decade by ‘extremists’, literally hundreds of unarmed Palestinians in the West Bank have been murdered on the Order of the Brave Israeli government over the last 5 years.
    Charles, please feel free to challenge me and i will post the You tube links for everyone to see and make up their own minds on who the terrorists and extremists are.

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 16th 2014, 10:30 AM

So Charles – As you dodged ” the Bullet” of the first thread ( how ironic the phrase ) , by not answering the question I posed to you – as you always do !
    Explain ‘Whataboutery’ in this instance?
    And why the Racism / Religious bigotry?

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Aug 16th 2014, 9:53 AM

Not picking sides into this thread but playing the Nazi card demonstrate the lack of intelligence of whoever mentioned it. Something that happened 70 years ago, when there are more recent and comparable examples to make a point. If you don’t agree but don’t now what to say, play the Nazi card!…

Mute Motiontwister Ae
    Favourite Motiontwister Ae
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:49 PM

watch this and THINK!
    http://youtu.be/_Ugsv5u-sW0

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:55 PM

Motiontwister – Is that an order ? It certainly sounded like A Nazi type order from a thoroughly arrogant bullying type!
    Fortunately , ones average Irish-person, is free thinking and will not be bullied or hounded .

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:10 PM

What do you expect from these people when they class us as Gentiles, a deluded people.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Aug 16th 2014, 12:58 AM

@fear…”not be bullied or hounded”… although ye try so hard to do that here. eg Eleanor pffft.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 2:31 AM

Motion ..you left out “Like us !” at the end …no thanks if it’s alright with you ..if the U.N . is bombed then nowhere is safe !

Mute FearCiarraioch
    Favourite FearCiarraioch
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:59 AM

Ciara Ryan – Presumably Chairperson of The Irish Nazi Party ?
    You are a really very weird person !
    You really do need to catch up on authentic History and not just Nazi Propaganda !

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:50 PM

@BucahaillCiarraí
    Except it isn’t Nazis who are presenting the evidence to the contrary..

Irishman David McCalden is not a Nazi here he explains his motivations:
    Holocaust Revisionism for Beginners by David McCalden – 5/8
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mU0Om01dshw

Mute Ciara Ryan
    Favourite Ciara Ryan
    Aug 16th 2014, 4:50 PM

@BuachaillCiarraí
    Holocaust Revisionism for Beginners part 1 – 1/5
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIB-Q6sH9vY&list=PL449435DF07C8DBC9&bpctr=1408205858

How about this from Jewish David Cole who also points out contradictions and gaps in the accusation.
    David Cole – The Truth Behind The Gates Of Auschwitz 1 of 2
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oinItLYg7qQ

Mute Yossi Mac
    Favourite Yossi Mac
    Aug 17th 2014, 2:43 PM

@ Doc.

I think the correct term is Goyim. Gentile us used in polite company.

By the way, Goyim is not a polite term

Mute miketrout
    Favourite miketrout
    Aug 16th 2014, 6:09 AM

Just give Noah an Ark, flood the whole lot of them, and start again. There’s no winning this one.