You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Harcourt St Garda station acts as the force's Dublin Metropolitan headquarters. Google Streetview

Man suspected of spying released without charge

However, another suspect remains in custody.

A 32-YEAR-OLD man arrested on suspicion of spying on a Dublin garda station has been released without charge.

A file is being prepared for the information of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

A second man, aged 41, arrested in relation to the same incident remains in custody.

Both men were detained after Harcourt Street-based gardaí became aware that a person known to them had booked a room in a nearby hotel. It later emerged that the Harcourt Hotel room had been booked under a false name.

Equipment which was being used for the surveillance of the station was seized in a search.

Two arrested over suspected surveillance of Dublin Garda HQ>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute The Viscount
    Favourite The Viscount
    Sep 27th 2012, 11:35 PM

Wtf. This scares the crap out of me, hence the anonymous profile. This has to stop. The guards need special powers to cope with this and the Dail needs to give them to them fast. These gangs and rira thugs are out of control and fearless. If theyll do this to a Garda station, theyll have no fear to rub out me or you, and no quams if innocent bystanders are injured in the crossfire

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Sep 28th 2012, 7:34 AM

how do you know it’s the rira?

Mute The Viscount
    Favourite The Viscount
    Sep 28th 2012, 8:00 AM

I dont for this, but that was the rira at the gang members funeral, thats what i was referring to.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:04 PM

I suppose a file is being sent to the DPP…yawn, check back in a couple of years.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:13 PM

Would you charge him straight away Joan?

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Sep 28th 2012, 11:08 AM

Due process has to be followed. “They haven’t gone away, u know”, G Adams.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:33 PM

@Gerard
    Relax ,absolutely not, innocent till proven otherwise etc…just think the justice system is sooo slow in this country?????

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:04 PM

The justice system is slow in every country.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:53 PM

@gerard. My son was assaulted in Barbados. The offender was caught, arrested, locked up, bailed, tried and convicted in 2 weeks.
    He skipped the country while on bail.

He is now on a wanted list and will be arrested and jailed if he ever sets foot
    the country again.

Mute Gerard Behan ®
    Favourite Gerard Behan ®
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:07 PM

They better keep an eye on that lad

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:08 PM

Probably making a sex tape with a fetish for Police :)

Mute DeadBelly
    Favourite DeadBelly
    Sep 28th 2012, 5:17 AM

garda not police

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Sep 28th 2012, 7:32 AM

same thing, don’t be stupid

Mute gary power
    Favourite gary power
    Sep 27th 2012, 8:48 PM

Still funny as hell

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Sep 27th 2012, 9:31 PM

Not if you are followed back to your family home from work it isn’t.

Mute Richard Lennon
    Favourite Richard Lennon
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:57 PM

That Hotel could attract tourists for a watch the Garda at work week end. and spot the under cover cop dressed as a dublin gurrier.

Mute McNamees On TheGreen
    Favourite McNamees On TheGreen
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:03 PM

It seems a very simple form of espionage. What ever happened to good old fashioned bribery and collusion. The comings and goings of a few cops on Harcourt st would hardly reveal much ?? Id say it was a couple of donegal supporters that got left behind !

Mute Gerry McGuinness
    Favourite Gerry McGuinness
    Sep 28th 2012, 9:40 AM

It’s not a Garda Station, it’s the DMR HQ so therefore has a lot of the more serious goings on being carried out there, it’s not a matter of spying on a few Gardai, it’s spying on senior people who are carrying out the serious end of policing.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Sep 27th 2012, 10:46 PM

So, it’s now difficult for mr and mrs smith to book a hotel room and make videos.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Sep 28th 2012, 6:50 AM

I’ve got this feeling…

Mute JayK
    Favourite JayK
    Sep 28th 2012, 1:18 PM

What’s the crime involved? Espionage? Offenses against the State?