You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Tánaiste says that Paschal Donohoe should not resign over election donations controversy

Donhoe’s situation was likened to ministers who had resigned in the past, however Martin said that the government remains focused.

MICHEÁL MARTIN has stated that he is “satisfied” with Paschal Donohoe’s explanation over undeclared election donations and looks forward to hearing him address the Dáil on Tuesday.

Donohoe has faced scrutiny for the past week over an undeclared election donation from businessman Michael Stone, who paid for election posters of Donohoe to be erected in 2016 and bought Fine Gael ‘superdraw’ tickets from the minister in 2020 and 2021.

Speaking on RTÉ’s This Week programme, the Tánaiste said:

“He himself has decided to go back into the House, he made a decision last week. And he wants to give a comprehensive account to respond to questions that individual deputies may have.”

When asked if he had any questions to ask Donohoe, Martin answered:

“He spoke to me over the weekend. I’m satisfied with what he has said to me. In the context of he not being aware of what happened in terms of the erection of his posters, I am satisfied with that explanation.”

“I think he’s going to give really comprehensive account of all of that. And again, there has been, in my view, a misleading representation made by the opposition in respect of that point. And I think, again, it’s ultimately for SIPO to determine this.”

Precedent

Martin was pushed by the show’s host Justin McCarthy on the possibility of Donohoe resigning in order to prevent the current controversy from distracting from his ministerial work.

“We’ve had controversies in the past, around Dara Calleary, around Frances Fitzgerald, around Alan Shatter, around Barry Cowen, although in each of those cases they were subsequently cleared afterwards, they did resign their positions,” McCarthy said.

“Should Paschal Donohoe do the same?” Martin was asked.

“No, he should not. In this instance the government has remained totally focused,” the Tánaiste replied.

“I think the idea that just because an issue arises and is debated in the House, and is disputed, that in itself isn’t the basis for resignation.”

Martin added that he had confidence in Donohoe who he believed had made a “significant contribution” to the government. 

Garda assault

Martin also condemned the serious assault of a Garda that took place during an arrest in Santry yesterday.

The Garda was hospitalised with severe injuries to his hand, while a man has been charged in connection with the incident.

“An Garda Síochána is the physical manifestation of the protection of our democracy. There will be stronger legislation to be debated in the House in a matter of weeks that would bring in much stronger mandatory sentencing for people who attack An Garda Síochána,” he said.

“The minister will engage with the representative bodies. And we certainly give very strong consideration in terms of the establishment of a taskforce in respect of assaults on An Garda Síochána.”

“And also assaults on other members of frontline services, including transport workers, bus drivers, and people working in our transport services, I do think we do need to reflect on that,” he added.

Martin was also asked about the continuation of cost of living supports and the reduced VAT rate on gas and electricity bills, which are due to expire at the end of March.

“We don’t anticipate a total cliff edge, we will give this serious consideration in the coming weeks,” the Tánaiste said, adding that the government also needed to plan for the autumn and winter.

“There is a strong likelihood, an unfortunate situation that the war is going to continue into Ukraine.” 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Jan 22nd 2023, 4:57 PM

Of course he would. He should take note of the people on the streets yesterday if he is a serious political person but we sll know he is in it for the Money and pension

Mute G Row.
    Favourite G Row.
    Jan 22nd 2023, 5:00 PM

Ah well that’s it so, our revered Tánaiste has spoken.

Mute Liam Ó hAodha
    Favourite Liam Ó hAodha
    Jan 22nd 2023, 6:03 PM

He’d no problem sacking Barry Cowen for refusing to answer questions in the Dail

Weakest FF leader ever

Mute paul starrs
    Favourite paul starrs
    Jan 22nd 2023, 7:37 PM

Anything about why the donator then got a job with the government appointed Land Development Agency

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Jan 23rd 2023, 9:03 AM

@paul starrs: it was an unpaid position

Mute jim dee
    Favourite jim dee
    Jan 23rd 2023, 9:45 AM

@Patrick O Connell: Jesus Christ how daft are you altogether..

Mute G Row.
    Favourite G Row.
    Jan 23rd 2023, 10:16 AM

@jim dee: Unbelievable at this stage how these party followers refuse to see what to the rest of us is blatant cronyism.
    Maybe Patrick was thrown a bone?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Jan 23rd 2023, 10:25 AM

@jim dee: Paddy is pretty daft alright. A firm believer of anything FF and FG.

Mute Ivan Genockey
    Favourite Ivan Genockey
    Jan 22nd 2023, 6:02 PM

You’re dead right Michael he should be questioned by the police for corruption

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Jan 22nd 2023, 8:18 PM

Laughable when we remember how much FF and FG hated each other. Now they’re in bed together and it’s all buddies and pals. Oh well, roll on the general election. Change required.

Mute Chris Avison
    Favourite Chris Avison
    Jan 22nd 2023, 8:56 PM

@Stephen Deegan: Change to another bunch of corrupt wasters? This lot now are only in the halfpenny place compared to Johnson and his cronies over there! We are probably quite lucky to have what we’ve got?

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Jan 22nd 2023, 9:50 PM

@Chris Avison: I suppose we’d be lucky to have what we’ve got if there wasn’t an ongoing housing catastrophe that hasn’t been brought under any type of control since the government was installed. Or we’d be lucky with what we’ve got if people weren’t dying for the want of a hospital bed. I could go on and on. We’re not lucky Chris, we’re saddled with this crowd. Although even this gang makes the Tories in the UK look professional, and that’s not saying much!

Mute Paula Dunne
    Favourite Paula Dunne
    Jan 22nd 2023, 11:13 PM

@Chris Avison: are you actually serious? Us lucky ?

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jan 23rd 2023, 12:31 AM

@Chris Avison: per capita no way, our lot way ahead.

Mute jim dee
    Favourite jim dee
    Jan 23rd 2023, 9:47 AM

@Chris Avison: that’s what pee wee Flynn said for Christ sake.

Mute john maher
    Favourite john maher
    Jan 22nd 2023, 6:57 PM

Shower of changers FF. And FG

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne
    Jan 22nd 2023, 6:59 PM

He will do anything for power two corrupt party

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Jan 22nd 2023, 7:47 PM

Should all go. One questionable guy defending another. Nearly as bad as the Tories in U K

Mute O'Brien
    Favourite O'Brien
    Jan 22nd 2023, 6:35 PM

This is an intentional provocation of social unrest. Occam’s razor.

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Jan 22nd 2023, 9:04 PM

That’s that so.Smithers has spoken.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Jan 22nd 2023, 9:07 PM

Bet Martin has done was worse just hasn’t bees found out yet. Think he was caught with some dodgy money in his or his wife’s account. He’s another Bertie,!all crooks

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Jan 22nd 2023, 10:47 PM

But but but but Sinn Fein

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jan 22nd 2023, 9:03 PM

Let’s see how he will deal with the fallout from that tragic murder in Cork Mercy Hospital.

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jan 22nd 2023, 11:38 PM

He obviously thinks the tribunals never happened.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jan 22nd 2023, 7:39 PM

He is dead right. It was a storm in a teacup from the beginning!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 22nd 2023, 7:54 PM

@Chris Gaffney: Pascal O’Donoghue certainly doesn’t think so. Martin’s political life depends on FG. If a person makes a mistake concerning revenue or social welfare an apology would not be acceptable. This government has made more apologies than the Catholic Church.

Mute G Row.
    Favourite G Row.
    Jan 22nd 2023, 8:01 PM

@Chris Gaffney: You party boys are hilarious.
    Paddy the ould eegit will never die.

Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    Jan 22nd 2023, 9:57 PM

Paschal is by far the best Finance Minister we have had for a long time. I’m no FFG fan but this is clearly another pathetic attempt by the opposition to cause a fuss when there are legitimately hundreds of other things I’m more concerned about than an election donation.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 22nd 2023, 11:10 PM

@Adam: It I’d the duty of the opposition to hold the government to account. When last in opposition Martin and FF kept Varadkar and FG in power with a confidence and supply agreement. Bit hypocritical don’t you think when now Martin and Varadkar criticise the opposition for asking questions.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jan 23rd 2023, 12:27 AM

The Clash had a song about this sort of mess.