You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Maurice McCabe has access to PULSE system restored

The decision follows 18 months in which McCabe had no access to the system.

Updated 19.55

GARDA WHISTLEBLOWER MAURICE McCabe has had his access to the PULSE system restored.

McCabe had had his access to the system curtailed 18 months ago after making serious allegations about fellow gardaí.

His accusations form the basis of the Guerin Report, which was published yesterday, vindicating McCabe.

Today, a Garda spokesperson confirmed that McCabe will be allowed to use the system, which is integral to a Garda’s work.

Interim Garda Commissioner Noirin O’Sullivan informed the Minister for Justice Frances Fitzgerald that following a review, McCabe’s access to the PULSE system was being restored immediately.

McCabe was informed of this decision yesterdayand it was confirmed to him in person by the Assistant Commissioner for the Eastern Region Kieran Kenny today.

McCabe’s fellow whistleblower John Wilson today said that the report vindicated his colleague and said he had no personal animosity towards former Justice Minister Alan Shatter.

“He took it all at face value. And really for a Government minister to do that I think it’s most unfortunate.

“have no personal animosity against Alan Shatter,” he told Marian Finucane.

Originally published 16.38

Breaking down the Guerin report: The complaints, the cases, the mistakes>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

102 Comments
    Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall o' Sullivan
    May 10th 2014, 4:47 PM

That was quick. It’s amazing how one politician losing his job for incompetence, makes everyone else get the finger out.

Mute scaldbag
    Favourite scaldbag
    May 10th 2014, 4:53 PM

Why is the senior department official still in place, oh I forgot , they can,t be sacked….sick little country.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    May 10th 2014, 5:00 PM

A miracle!!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    May 10th 2014, 5:00 PM

Well I hope Frances Fitzgerald takes the advice John Wilson gave on RTE radio news yesterday. He said the minister should not allow the resignations of any of those Gardai implicated or mentioned in the report to resign and walk off into the sunset with their pensions.

He’s dead right, and if she took his advice we may finally see the beginning of the end of such a practice.

Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It
    May 10th 2014, 8:01 PM

The Dossier Part II at a dail committee/confidential recipient/gsoc or media outlet near you soon.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 10th 2014, 8:09 PM

The only thing there Niall is, isn’t that what he did himself, so like them all it’s do as I say not as I do.

Mute Dominic Hearns
    Favourite Dominic Hearns
    May 10th 2014, 8:33 PM

What a balls-up,,, imagine,,, we have to endure the opinions of that Wilson fellow in relation to what should or should not be done now concerning the running of an Garda Siochana. What qualifies him ? Was he some amazingly talented crime fighter /manager ? I’d love to know what’s the REAL Mr Wilson like. Seems to me to be an attention seeker, just another crank with a chip on his shoulder.
    Ah, it’s all fairly sickening at this stage. I wonder if all the people who are on here criticising the GARDAI would, themselves stand up to the microscopic scrutiny that they are heaping on the GARDAI ?
    It’s a difficult job, cut them some slack.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    May 10th 2014, 9:37 PM

It’s a small start and it shows the benefit of the removal of Callinan and Shatter.

A good man was traduced.

It’s time for the other members of the force to relent from their campaign of intimidation of Sergeant McCabe.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 10th 2014, 9:42 PM

We should not cut slack for Garda misconduct. Those who enforce the law must also be subject to the law as should all of us. It’s the rule of law.

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    May 10th 2014, 10:01 PM

Correct . He walked off into the sunset . He gave a quite different interview to Marian Finucane this morning which is well worth a listen to. He fluffed the question about his pension and made some startling admissions.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    May 10th 2014, 10:22 PM

Something you’d read about in a history book, back in Stalin’s era and very much in existence today!

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    May 10th 2014, 10:37 PM

With you there Dominic

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    May 10th 2014, 11:09 PM

@Dominic Hearns

You’re a report in the making.

Remember, the Gardai have been the untouchables for many many years. That’s over as of now.

The big issue at stake here to me, in fact the only real issue going forward, as Gardai reform is now inevitable, is the issue of Gardai discretion.

IMO, the most important weapon and tool any Garda has is discretion. If these Gardai reforms come at a considerable cost to Garda discretion, it will be the biggest possible mistake we could ever make.

If the reforms remove the ability of Gardai to use their own common sense, compassion, and judgement – we are in deep deep trouble. That would be the worst possible outcome of reform, no matter what.

Gardai, as individuals, should always have a level of autonomy.

But we are not talking about that in this case. In this case we are talking about possible negligence and abuse of power.

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    May 10th 2014, 11:22 PM

@JonnyBannon

Separate the man from the problem.

First up, I didn’t hear Wilson on the radio this morn. But I have heard him previously and he strikes me as a very honourable man.

Do you not think Wilson and McCabe and their families have had enough shit thrown at them at this point?

Remember. They were right, not wrong, they were right.

If it was a hospital and they were whistleblowing, I’d reckon attitudes of some on here would change pretty lively.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 11:52 PM

Hear hear…..

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    May 10th 2014, 11:57 PM

I suggest you listen to it. It changed my opinion of him.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 11th 2014, 12:49 PM

Yes Johnny , and interestingly , he is wondering how he will be seen in the future, what his legacy will be, well he just may rue his next statement where he now has become an advocate for Ian Bailey , well let’s sit back and see how the outcome of that one treats Mr Wilson and mr Clifford’s reputations.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 11th 2014, 2:32 PM

Now that you are back on pulse Maurice… can you look and see if the gardai force is registered as a business company ltd

Mute Alan Reardon
    Favourite Alan Reardon
    May 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

And this man should also be promoted to a more senior rank as he did a better job of knowing and dealing with what is wrong in An Garda Siochana than the disgraced former Commissioner did.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 10th 2014, 5:11 PM

The GRA and other force representative bodies also need to apologize to these 2 men.

They have been subjected to attempted frame ups and smears in work, all of which thankfully were exposed so bent members of the force resorted to spreading the most vile rumours about them.

Anything to discredit them. It didn’t work and they are completely vindicated and the criminal element in an AGS is coming under pressure in a way it never has.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 5:18 PM

Have you a link to that? I didn’t know that

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 10th 2014, 5:31 PM

Ask any one from around Cavan about the smears that certain guards have been putting out around McCabe.

As for the frame ups look at Mick Clifford’s articles in the Irish Examiner.

Namely the Lynch case and the Laptop.

Except for an honest Guard warning McCabe he would have been destroyed.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    May 10th 2014, 5:32 PM

What did the GRA do or say to him?

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 5:34 PM

And the representative bodies?

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 10th 2014, 5:46 PM

I didn’t hear them backing these 2 men and thanking them for their public service or demanding that anyone involved in the harassment of these men be subject to investigation and disciplinary action.

There was no motion from any representative body for McCabe to be returned to full pulse rights.

If the Representative bodies of an AGS are truly representative then the problems are very deep.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 10th 2014, 5:55 PM

now to show how treason has a meaning and works …seanie

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 6:18 PM

Only AGSI represents him. And having read Mick Cliffords report on the laptop they did so with legal representation.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 10th 2014, 6:25 PM

Seanie you’re very fond of hearsay.

Mute Donal Buckley
    Favourite Donal Buckley
    May 10th 2014, 6:27 PM

Sgt Morris Mc Cabe our superman in uniform:
    Dysfunctional it
    ‘Promotion in recognition of his heroism and dedication to duty.
    A role model for every Garda.
    Now onto root and branch reforms of the Justice system.
    Start with in depth study of our lower court dysfunctional justice system.
    The cradle of corrupt cronyism and nepotism spawning abuse of human and legal rights.

This is where our Higher courts are groomed in dark exploitation of human rights.
    Our new Minister will be sorely tested to reform such a cess pit of power and position exploited.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 10th 2014, 7:04 PM
    Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 7:24 PM

I still don’t get where you are coming from in your comments the past few days saying the entire force and their representative bodies needs criticism? Everything in the public domain points squarely at certain Garda Officers and a group of bogey Guards in Baileboro? The penalty points plot had nothing to do with anyone below inspector rank which is about 80% of the organisation, I wholeheartedly agree that everything was handled dreadfully with regards to Maurice McCabe and the clearly defective Monahan/Cavan district. But I can’t for the life of me understand why you feel EVERY one in that organisation is somehow defective?

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 10th 2014, 7:26 PM

The GRA did absolutely nothing to support these men and as their union the least you would expect is some display of support.But no they kept stone silent apart from praising callinan when he resigned and were gushing in their praise for him…So by their silence they showed support for those who covered up or acted in alleged illegal acts..The GRA by their silence supported Shatter and Callinans actions and description of both whistleblowers as been disgusting.Listened to Marian Finucane this morning and Garda Wilson said that citizens will be shocked and disgusted by certain Garda actions and behaviour regarding Ian Bailey when this report is produced..So thats what the GRA did.Bet their leader plus Garda Sargents union will be rushing out looking for protection for those who are found to acted illegally in carrying out their roles and responsibilities…then will be looking for whistleblowers charter to protect their members..

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 10th 2014, 7:46 PM

I stand corrected Seanie – certainly sounds like they have been subjected to a blackening of their character. This is so damn serious – what the hell was Shatter doing – Gerry Adams was correct to criticism of the minister.

It’s ironic that so much mud-slinging at the leadership of Sinn Fein about specific happenings that went on in the North – yet here is a minister in the advantaged position of having power over a civilised justice system – in a time of peace – and yet he won’t fix these despite the grave consequences.

I didn’t know he could be so careless in the extreme – so shocking.

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    May 10th 2014, 7:47 PM

And Seanie none of this would ever have come to light under a Fianna Fáil government and you you know it.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 7:54 PM

Nice research! Neither man is a member of the GRA….

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    May 10th 2014, 8:11 PM

Thank you for all you Fianna Failers red thumbing me, if 2 is the best you can do God help you in the elections.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 10th 2014, 8:13 PM

Do you sit at home making up this shite all day Seanie, give an example of one baseless rumour, or one frame up, are you hearing voices I wonder.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 10th 2014, 8:15 PM

Maybe they know more than you Seanie, it’s a hard concept for you to grasp, but time will tell.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 10th 2014, 8:18 PM

Ha , mick clifford, the only man in Ireland more paranoid about the police than you Seanie , water meets it’s own level they say , he’s one of Baileys biggest fans too, again time will tell .

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 10th 2014, 8:23 PM

” specific happenings that went on in the north” would that be 30 years of bloodshed murder, and misery ur talking about peter, and ye talk about sweeping stuff under the mat.

Mute Lm group
    Favourite Lm group
    May 10th 2014, 8:52 PM

@gerry, you off duty now????, can you tell us about Boylan, or Kevin Tracy goodman

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    May 10th 2014, 10:24 PM

Seanie’s party, picked all these guys to look the other way and retire before getting caught!

Mute Senan
    Favourite Senan
    May 10th 2014, 10:50 PM

Gerry, you clearly haven’t read the Guerin report.

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    May 10th 2014, 11:17 PM

@seanieryan in relation to your reference to a “criminal element”, what criminality has McCabe alleged against other Gardaí? I’ve read the report and the issues raised by him relate to inadequate investigations of crimes, lack of diligence and management failings, not criminal behaviour.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 11th 2014, 2:38 PM

I’d say ud have your own contacts there LM, not wrong am I .

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 11th 2014, 2:54 PM

And the gang tried it here on the journal ie Time for justice An apology would be nice but i know that the gang dont do sorry

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 11th 2014, 2:56 PM

GERRY TO TIME IS NOW

Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    May 10th 2014, 5:13 PM

Now it’s time for a close look at RTE and the whole ‘ bottle of smoke ‘ brigade

Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    May 10th 2014, 7:50 PM

Agree, the crime correspondents are way too embedded. Some of the one sided coverage from Renyolds really compromised him.

Mute No Water Tax
    Favourite No Water Tax
    May 10th 2014, 8:19 PM

Garda Paul Reynolds and David Stalin Power should be fired.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    May 11th 2014, 12:55 PM

Well Huey , that bottle of smoke was used in connection with the very expensive, one nighter, preformed on the GSOC office, which led to Mr fitzgerald ‘s allegation that the guards were bugging him. What did it turn out to be, yep, a bottle of smoke , which he still has to be brought to account for.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    May 10th 2014, 4:59 PM

Congratulations Garda McCabe. We need a few more good men like him in this kip of ours.

Mute Mari Maxwell
    Favourite Mari Maxwell
    May 10th 2014, 4:55 PM

Good on you Maurice McCabe and family! Thank you for restoring public faith in integrity. Perhaps the Government will even thank you for your example of a fine upstanding citizen! The ones that matter, that make a difference, that stand up for those who can’t! May the balance of the scales continue. It’s now up to the commissioner and justice minister to continue the example.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    May 10th 2014, 5:31 PM

Great news. I deeply respect and admire that man who has experienced so much bullying by management,colleagues and our political elite just because he did the right and honourable thing.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    May 10th 2014, 5:17 PM

This should now mark that Sgt McCabe six year battle to clear his name is over. He no longer is a whistleblower but an upstanding member of the community who’s courage and that of this family is nothing short of inspirational. He has brought honour back to the uniform that he wears and should now be given some privacy to return to an normal mundane family life. public attention should now turn to those who have brought disgrace on the uniform who have perverted the course of justice. by their actions shown themselves nothing more than crimmials. Even the CAB should be used to see if the have profited from their actions. We need to know their names and their victims deserve justice.

Mute Anastasia Morley
    Favourite Anastasia Morley
    May 10th 2014, 5:14 PM

A few more skeleton in the cupboard yet but well done Sgt McCabe you are a true officer and gentleman I hope you get a medal . Let’s make Ireland better new blood in the government please

Mute Alan Skerritt
    Favourite Alan Skerritt
    May 10th 2014, 5:23 PM

Sergeant McCabe and former garda Wilson did their duties in being ‘Protectors Of The Peace’ – An Garda Síochána and kudos to independents Clare Daly, Mick Wallace and Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan who forced this matter through the Dáil until the message was finally received that our system is broken from the top, not the bottom. I hope Frances Fitzgerald has the strength and integrity to prevent further chaos and set in place proper procedures so that whistle-blowers are protected and our new commissioner is capable of defending those who are in a position of less responsibility.

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn
    May 10th 2014, 4:49 PM

Oh a few people are worried now

Mute Setanta Landers
    Favourite Setanta Landers
    May 10th 2014, 6:58 PM

I read the report in full yesterday and have gained a LOT of respect for sergeant McCabe.

He was blamed by another Garda for losing a laptop when he was not working on that case. A laptop which contained critical information in relation to an abuse case.

He assisted a colleague on New Year’s Day when he was rostered to be off. When the investigating officer and super had done nothing they used this one day involvement to try and pin their delay on him.

The Garda liaison officer who contacted a victim not to appear in court said he did so on sergeant mccabes instructions which was a lie.

He tried to highlight wrong doing and the incompetent and stupid and lazy tried to blame their incompetency on him. At every level up the chain of command.

He is nothing short of a national hero.

Mute Medb Nic Oireachtaigh Madigan
    Favourite Medb Nic Oireachtaigh Madigan
    May 10th 2014, 10:13 PM

The whistleblowers are admirable people who have endured more than anyone should. ..am proud that with all the other dodgy stuff going on in this country we have people of such calibre to give good example of citizenship.

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    May 10th 2014, 4:58 PM

Maurice McCabe must feel alive again after getting his finger back on the pulse…

Mute Pat Nolan
    Favourite Pat Nolan
    May 10th 2014, 4:50 PM

Next up should be a Scott Medal

Mute Mark Hannon
    Favourite Mark Hannon

The Garda Scott medal is awarded for acts of Valor. To suggest such a thing such as giving it to Maurice McCabe takes away from what the men & women of the Gardai have done down through the years, in some cases giving their very lives! What Maurice McCabe did took great personal determination to see it out but he’s been vindicated & is slowly having his good name restored. That’s where it ends.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 10th 2014, 5:27 PM

McCabe and Wilson should certainly receive the Scott.

They have suffered everything from assaults, families being intimidated and harassed, dead rates nailed to their door, work placing bullying, attempts made to frame them for crimes, vile rumours spread about them so as to destroy their good names.

They knowingly took on a body that has the capacity and will to try to destroy them and their families. They still went through, courage like that is very rare.

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    May 10th 2014, 5:29 PM

It was an act of valor ….

As Maurice McCabe wrote himself last January ‘I don’t think that I would do it again . It destroyed me, my career and my family’

Mute Niall o' Sullivan
    May 10th 2014, 5:38 PM

Certainly, there should be formal recognition of the men. What form that would take I’ve no idea.
    There should also be a role for Wilson as an advisor in the upcoming reforms.

Mute Donal Buckley
    Favourite Donal Buckley
    May 10th 2014, 6:50 PM

Whistle blowers have even more far reaching impact than the singular heroism of deserved Scot Medals recipients.
    A different heroism may demand a new recognition or symbolism.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    May 10th 2014, 4:56 PM

It’s shows there is a lot of problems at the top table a few more heads should resign .

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 11th 2014, 2:50 PM

The shame of it all the way to the bank

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    May 10th 2014, 5:14 PM

About time . That poor man has been to hell and back. Maybe now we will get less corruption and more transparency in the Gardai and government in general- or am I being a little naive……..

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 9:15 PM

Maybe just a bit….

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    May 10th 2014, 5:09 PM

I propose Maurice to be the next Garda boss.

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    May 10th 2014, 5:15 PM

I agree!

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 11:18 PM

Convinced now that most of these red thumbs are Gards.

Mute fionn mac cumhaill
    Favourite fionn mac cumhaill

Ah yes…. PULSE. Which im told stands for Police Using Loads of Sh!te Equipment

Mute Myles Duffy
    Favourite Myles Duffy
    May 10th 2014, 6:33 PM

Maurice McCabe should be promoted to Garda Superintendent within 90 days.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 10:31 PM

Whp are all these red thumbs anyway???

Mute Frank Leonard
    Favourite Frank Leonard
    May 10th 2014, 4:52 PM

The fat lady didn’t sing yet

Mute Daniel Murphy
    Favourite Daniel Murphy
    May 10th 2014, 6:49 PM

Poor Martin he deserves to be a hero not treated by dirt by his so called colleagues

Mute Senan
    Favourite Senan
    May 10th 2014, 7:54 PM

As well as this it’d be fitting for him to be promoted to Superintendent / Chief Superintendent of a division, someone like him should have power in the service.

Or if he’s still being ostracised and just wants out after everything he’s been through, (understandable) it’d be great to see him offered a senior role in the new independent policing authority next year.

Appointing a guard would obviously undermine the whole ‘independent’ element, however if there’s any exception it’s him. He’s proven his unequivical integrity and he knows the organisation.

Public consultations are being sought on it up until May 31st.

http://www.merrionstreet.ie/index.php/2014/05/public-consultation-on-establishing-an-independent-policing-authority/?cat=3

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 9:28 PM

All this happened before and nothing changed. Im referring to Garda corruption in Donegal and the framing of Frank Shortt. It cost the state millions. That should have been enough to open everyones eyes but clearly it didnt. So why should the Guerin Report make any difference? You can get away with massive white collar crime in this country once you can pay off judges but 99 per cent of the Irish population will find themselves behind bars for misdemenours like non payment of parking fines. So its nice to think that the Guerin report will bring truth and justice to the system but… I’m not convinced.

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 10th 2014, 8:57 PM

Just goes to show that there can be every management qualification in the book, every theory and practice of modern policing but you can’t bear old fashioned integrity, bravery and principle.

Mute paddy dunne
    Favourite paddy dunne
    May 10th 2014, 11:56 PM

The reason why you got so few thumbs down is because the red brigade can’t grasp the significance of what you wrote: Bravo

Mute paddy dunne
    Favourite paddy dunne
    May 11th 2014, 12:45 AM

Seems their catching on:,Finally!!

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    May 10th 2014, 4:56 PM

I’d imagine that system has been scrubbed clean.

Mute Keith Moore
    Favourite Keith Moore
    May 10th 2014, 6:01 PM

About bleeding time

Mute Joe Hill
    Favourite Joe Hill
    May 10th 2014, 7:05 PM

About time

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    May 11th 2014, 12:11 AM

Whistleblowing is treated like a sin when in fact it is the right and honourable thing to do. It should be revered rather than reviled. People still have a hell of a lot to learn. My hat is off to sergeant McCabe.

Mute Mark Malee
    Favourite Mark Malee
    May 10th 2014, 8:55 PM

About feckin time!

Mute Cian Devane
    Favourite Cian Devane
    May 10th 2014, 11:08 PM

John Wilson should be asked to rejoin the force. They need people like him and McCabe.

Mute Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Bambi Keeling
    May 10th 2014, 5:58 PM

Is this man still a gaurd ?

Mute paddy dunne
    Favourite paddy dunne
    May 10th 2014, 7:48 PM

Lots of negatives for the whistleblowers here,from whom I wonder? From serving guards and their relatives no doubt,who have no concept of proper values,their mindset is ‘we’ll fix you boy’. Stitch you up for watching child pornography .What sick petty little minds thought that up.The inmates of mountjoy ? .Naw it was our boys in blue, I’ve met so many decent guards in my time and it grieves me that they have been besmirched by those criminals in uniform.

Mute Ollie Golden
    Favourite Ollie Golden
    May 10th 2014, 7:58 PM

Yes!

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 10th 2014, 8:59 PM

Still a Guard and a credit to the Force. Respect. It takes just a few good men to identify he evil cancer. One brave and principled man equals a thousand of those who turned a blind eye to the obvious.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    May 10th 2014, 9:09 PM

A thousand? In Baileborough? Or is it just a broad, sweeping statement. Never let the facts get in the way of a BROAD, SWEEPING STATEMENT EH???!!!

Mute Peter Richardson
    May 10th 2014, 10:32 PM

Thank goodness for Sergeant McCabe and former Garda Wilson. It is sad that their own colleagues in Cavan and elsewhere failed to support them.

Mute paddy dunne
    Favourite paddy dunne
    May 10th 2014, 10:46 PM

Disappointed by the number of red thumbs,but yet enough of them to prove my point: they have no proper values by condoning the heinous crime by serving guards of trying to set up one of their own for watching child pornography.Would the ex-commissioner call that ‘disgusting ‘ I wonder.
    Think about it!, these red thumbs condone an attempt to virtually destroy another human being and his family,a man who broke no law, a criminal conspiracy by sworn protectors of the law is alright?
    Should the number of anti Sergeant McCabe’s posts on this page reflect the opinions of serving Garda and their relations and friends then we’re in worse shit than we thought:, and if these perverted values reflect the views of an equal percentage of the general public then we deserve this type of police force. Guards are part of the human family,and in the future,near or far,members of their close family will also undoubtedly suffer at the hands of such a police force that continues to hold such perverted concepts of right and wrong.Think about it,

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 11th 2014, 3:06 AM

Well that kind of had to happen, didn’t it!? Now that our government is all about transparency, accountability and REFORM again coming up to an election.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 10th 2014, 10:39 PM

Corruption may be part and parcel of the Gardai but we have a bit to go to catch up with US cops. Check out You Tube and TYT for evidence of absolute corruption American style. Is this where we are headed??

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    May 11th 2014, 2:51 AM

Like the other male dominated organisation the church, I wonder do they move the guilty ones to different stations once they commit a crime. It happened me 40 years ago I was left deaf in one ear from a baton charge in which 16 people going home from the cinema were attacked by drunken Gsrdai. The usherette from the cinema was dragged across the street and another young man had an arm broken. Only 1 detective was moved out of town.