You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Conor McGregor in racism and sexism row after saying he's 'half-black from the belly button down'

The Irish MMA fighter is currently promoting a boxing match with Floyd Mayweather.

Boxing: Mayweather vs McGregor-World Tour Conor McGregor in New York last night. SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

IRISH MMA FIGHTER Conor McGregor is facing fresh claims of racism after a press conference in New York last night where he claimed he was “half-black”.

McGregor was speaking on the third night of a promotional tour around North America ahead of a professional boxing match with undefeated American Floyd Mayweather.

On the first night of a tour in which both fighters have been throwing insults at each other, McGregor shouted at Mayweather to: “Dance for me, boy”.

TMZSports / YouTube

The comments towards Mayweather and the historical connotations surrounding McGregor’s use of the word ‘boy’ were criticised by people online and were picked up by some US media outlets.

The Washington Post was among those who did so. It wrote:

Possibly sensing that he had crossed a line, McGregor quickly changed his comments to, “Dance for me, sir. Dance for me!” However, that did little to allay the negative reception online for his choice of words, especially as some thought McGregor said “son” and not “sir.”

McGregor has been accused of race-baiting ahead of other bouts in the past and in New York last night he addressed the fresh accusations of racism.

McGregor did not apologise and instead seemed to double-down on controversy by saying he was “half-black from the belly button down” and gyrating his hips for “black female fans”.

His full comments were:

Let’s address the race. A lot of the media seem to be saying I’m against black people. That’s absolutely fuckin’ ridiculous. Do they not know I’m half-black? I’m half-black from the belly button down. And just so that’s squashed. Here’s a little present for my beautiful, black female fans.

(Click here if video doesn’t play)

Addressing McGregor’s comments on racism and towards black women Mayweather, who has multiple criminal convictions for domestic violence towards women, said:

He totally disrespected my daughter, he disrespected the mother of my daughter, he disrespected black women, calling black people monkeys. It’s totally disrespectful. Conor McGregor, you can’t disrespect black women, you can’t disrespect black people period. We’ve been through a lot. We’ve been through a lot.

Fight Hub TV / YouTube

The ‘monkeys’ comment Mayweather was referring to occurred on Wednesday night when McGregor was interviewed by Guillermo from ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel Show.

Asked about the movie Rocky 3, McGregor struggled to remember the film but asked if it was the one with “the dancing monkeys in the gym”.

(Click here if video doesn’t play)

After last night’s comments about being ‘half-black’, McGregor was asked directly about the accusations of racism.

He said such allegations were “ridiculous” and that he was just having “a bit of fun”:

If anything I wanted to squash that tonight and have a bit of fun, that was a playful thing. I included the daughter, it’s all fun on my part. If he is in that mindset, well that’s his business. I don’t care. I know who I am, people who are watching know. If he’s upset and angry well then great.

“That’s ridiculous. That’s why I wanted to bring it up tonight in a playful way,” he added.

(Question begins at 1.18)  

MMAFightingonSBN / YouTube

- With reporting by David Elkin on DailyEdge.ie

Read: ‘I’m half-black’ – Mayweather and McGregor take trash-talk tour to New York >

Read: Bet your whole fight cheque! McGregor and Mayweather trade verbal blows in Toronto >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

92 Comments
    Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Jul 14th 2017, 1:57 PM

snowflake generation.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Favourite Terry McSweeney
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Fear Uisce: yeah if you cant be a racist in this day and age.
    what is the world coming to.

Mute Chilli
    Favourite Chilli
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:28 PM

@Terry McSweeney: how id complementing their well documented larger size racist?

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:37 PM

@Chilli: big willys for all!

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:39 PM

@Fear Uisce: How I wish my generation possessed your skills of wit and originality.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:40 PM

@Chilli: referencing monkeys when talking about black people is what i think is more offensive.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:47 PM

Thought there was an over reaction to his ‘boy’ comment the other day, but I think he did step over the line yesterday. That whole conference was an embarrassing train wreck tbh.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:46 PM

@Fear Uisce: big time.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Jul 14th 2017, 6:15 PM

@Fear Uisce: i dont understand why people tolarate him. Im suprised his wife stands by him if rumours have any substance to them.

Mute Yap McGregor
    Favourite Yap McGregor
    Jul 14th 2017, 8:00 PM

Get the f#$k PC brigade!

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 1:54 PM

Americans are muppets. Honestly

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:28 PM

@Aaron Gibson: whats that got to do with mcgreogor making racist remarks honestly

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:36 PM

@Terry McSweeney: He didn’t make racist remarks honestly. Honestly.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:38 PM

@Aaron Gibson: if yo read all the comments on here you would think that he should be allowed say racist remarks.The excuses make me laugh. The comments are actually insulting people who think that his remarks were racist. And i guarantee you all of them are mcgregor fans..the theme of the comments section is if you think its offensive its because your a snowflake ,americans are idots , megregor was only messing etc etc etc . Well done lads.whats wrong with calling blqck people monkeys.

Mute Terry McSweeney
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:41 PM

@Aaron Gibson: monkeys black people in same sentence isnt racist now. I must of missed the memo

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:42 PM

@Terry McSweeney: They may not be McGregor fans, they just like to have routine d!ck measuring contests here where your manliness is directly proportional to the “un-PCness” of their comment.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:57 PM

@Terry McSweeney: I suppose that dignity and pride in ones self are sadly now a thing of past generations. Yes folks, make way for the Millennium Generation . Vulgarity, Entitlement, and lack of respect for others have replaced old fashioned standards.
    Conor looks the part and I hope he is successful without letting himself down.

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:25 PM

@David Conroy: It’s amazing to me that people can understand the complexity of an individual based on a couple of comments they have seen online.

It’s okay, though. I don’t think any less of any of you for having a different opinion. Have a lovely weekend.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:48 PM

@David Conroy: interesting arguments about the use of casual racism being something that only snowflakes and millennials are offended about. Like everything else, everything that is offensive (being personally subjective) should be allowed, but McGregor has a history of casual racism as part of his “banter” – from riding into favellas on horseback, multiple times calling mixed race and black people older than him boy, and making jokes about differences in black genitals; it might be acceptable, and hilarious, humour in virtually homogeneous Dublin, bit on a world stage, this type of racism comes across as immature, spoiled and will ultimately make a personally nasty character like Mayweather look like a dignified and deserving winner. He should grow up.

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:11 PM

@Terry McSweeney: the juice monkeys comment was directed at two white guys though.

Mute Stuart Parkinson
    Favourite Stuart Parkinson

Lol, he is some lad thinking he has a big “lad”. Cracking reference all the same. Now I must await the “offended brigade”. Some people need to open the curtains and get a life.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:34 PM

@Stuart Parkinson: think more people are a bit put out about the “dancing monkeys in the gym” comment.
    The rest i dont really see as that bad

Mute RealityHammer
    Favourite RealityHammer
    Jul 14th 2017, 9:42 PM

@Stuart Parkinson: many people today crave the feeling of being offended.

The outrage gives them an energy in an otherwise boring life.

This culture of offense is fueled by the media desperate to sell their products. You know who you are Sunday newspaper, after lunch entitlement radio and mid week outrage investigates.

Mute RealityHammer
    Favourite RealityHammer
    Jul 15th 2017, 7:20 AM

@neilo: great comment

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:16 PM

Oh dear, the easily upset full professional victim class as upset. God bless them but they’re so fragile.
    I do feel sorry for them, they have been purposefully engineered be like this. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJgDzB_Zc6TI0TeNZrwoX_FzzVvm-JKtJ

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:45 PM

@John Fergus: Yeah, people calling out clear racism are the real enemy here. Dumbass.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:49 PM

@Titus Groan: how is using a complimentary reference to black people racist?

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:03 PM

@Titus Groan: you haven’t a clue Titus. Mcgregor is relying on the pc brigade response to generate a box office response. Worked a treat. Snowflake.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:04 PM

@John B: Racism, when googled: “the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races.” Black guys are packing, Asians are good at maths. It’s the generalisating that underpins it all. Depriving people of individuality and assuming homogeny. Asking “how” this is racism is like when people go “I’m not homophobic, sure I’m not afraid of gays”. You’re restricting a term to what you feel it should encompass and not what it generally does to most people.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:47 PM

@vNblxOSQ: Oh? That’s why he backtracked on “boy”, is it? What absolute bullsh!t. “McGregor knew you’d all be outraged. He’s one step ahead of you all”. HA. He’s an overexposed jumped up little man who in any other version of his life would be laughed at and or imprisoned. Don’t give me this tripe. He was racist, he’s done it before, he’s done it now, it isn’t some Jedi mind trick. Twit.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:36 PM

entertainment for shortarsed ‘went to the gym once and now have a full sleeve tattoo and tshirt 3 sizes too small ” and skinny jean wearing chavs

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:26 PM

@Ken Pepper: My t-shirts are too small because I’m getting a bit fat.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:04 PM

Just the usual online nuts who get offended by absolutely everything.
    Exhibit A: http://www.dailywire.com/news/18494/deray-mckesson-super-angry-about-planet-apes-he-hank-berrien
    DeRay McKesson thinks the ape wearing the blue vest in Planet Of The Apes is a dig at him.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:10 PM

@Beachmaster: your hair offends me

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:12 PM

@Luke Campbell: Muted and reported!

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:34 PM

@Beachmaster: that source offends me.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:44 PM

Your slightly altered comment in almost every article doesn’t offend me but it doesn’t make for intelligent commenting either.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:29 PM

@Beachmaster: whoopi Goldberg called DeRay out on that bs.

Mute your bustin
    Favourite your bustin

……..maybe he is

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:57 PM

MMA is a WWE spinoff and as real as an episode of Desperate Housewives.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:56 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: Congratulations on the most clueless comment of the day.

Mute vNblxOSQ
    Favourite vNblxOSQ
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:07 PM

@Beachmaster: that’s our daisy. He’s a doozy

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:23 PM

@Beachmaster: Oh dear. Are you triggered? Is your #fragilemasculinity crumbling? Alright then, it’s totes 4real and not faked and certainly not homoerotic in the slightest.

You can come out from your safe space now.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:33 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: You do realise that women participate in MMA too, right?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Beachmaster: It’s encouraging that you think female participation somehow lends it some sort of legitimacy.

Mute Damian Baker
    Favourite Damian Baker
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:34 PM

The belly button remark made me cringe but can anyone show me the exact moment in the film that he was referring to when he said dancing monkeys? He calls a lot of people monkeys & it’s nothing to do with race.

Calling mayweather boy might sound racist to an american but not in Ireland. Just careless.

All these press conferences are cringeworthy anyway. Very WWE.

Mute Dante Marquinhos
    Favourite Dante Marquinhos
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:18 PM

End of discussion!

Leonard Ellerbe Shuts Down Racist Accusations Toward Conor McGregor
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeUx6I1Uhcc

Mute Aaron Gibson
    Favourite Aaron Gibson
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:27 PM

@Dante Marquinhos: Smart man.

Mute Stephen Coveney
    Favourite Stephen Coveney
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Dante Marquinhos: yay another YouTube video.

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:00 PM

they just elected trump, this would actually appeal to a lot of Americans, other than that its just nonsense.

Mute jonathan coughlan
    Favourite jonathan coughlan

Typical snowflakes on the left ….give out about anything and everything ….

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:37 PM

50% black. 100% jumped-up knacker.

Mute John Shea Hen
    Favourite John Shea Hen
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:50 PM

I can’t understand how so many Irish people hate this man. He is an inspiration. 4 years ago he was on the dole, now he’s strutting around like he owns the planet making millions. He’s such a showman but underneath it he actually is a lovely guy (I know one of his old mates).

On top of that he really is a shining example of believing in yourself, using your talent and following your dreams.

Hate on Bono? Sure, I’m with you. He is a dick. But give McGregor the love he deserves. He will be remembered as a true legend in the fight game one day. Enjoy having lived through it.

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:13 PM

@John Shea Hen: Irish people have a problem with their own becoming successful for some reason.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:37 PM

Unfortunately true.”Put an Irishman on the spit, and you can always find another Irishman to turn him”.

Mute neo1
    Favourite neo1
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:40 PM

Boy is a word used a lot in Ireland

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:08 PM

The only ones pushing the racism agenda here is the media. Everyone needs to stop being offended by every little thing that is said.

Mute john culhane
    Favourite john culhane
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:40 PM

Conor is a knob alright

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:13 PM

Let’s get this fight over. I want both of them beaten. I just wish Wladimir Klitschko could get in there with them and beat them silly.

Mute Ballybunion
    Favourite Ballybunion
    Jul 14th 2017, 7:09 PM

@The Girl: Why not Anthony Joshua who beat Klitschko? Or did your racism get in the way of you mentioning him?

Mute brains mc
    Favourite brains mc
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:47 PM

Every1 wanna grow a sense of humor

Mute jerry curtin
    Favourite jerry curtin
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:04 PM

Mcgregor is such an embarrassment, I sincerely hope he gives up fighting. Such a cringe.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:48 PM

Still 7 weeks to go. Not sure I care anymore.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:25 PM

I missed the Rocky 3 movie. Was there dancing monkeys in said gym? Could someone who has seen the movie please enlighten me?

Mute Metempsychosis
    Favourite Metempsychosis
    Jul 15th 2017, 3:57 AM

Exact quote: “Rocky III? I’m trying to think which one was Rocky III…that was the one where they had the mad celebrity gym…there’s a monkey…the dancing monkeys in the gym and all? That was where he’s in the…yeah…”

There is absolutely no way that Apollo’s gym, seen in the video in this article, is the ‘mad celebrity gym’ McGregor means. It’s a grim concrete gym, down an alleyway. The complete opposite of a ‘mad celebrity gym’. Earlier in the film, there was a flashy gym full of fans and photographers. Mick the trainer called it a zoo several times, and said they should open a circus. That must have been the ‘mad celebrity gym’ Conor meant.

I can’t believe that Irish media would spread this tripe and that people would believe it without the slightest bit of checking.

Mute Flip off
    Favourite Flip off
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:54 PM

The terms racist and sexist have been diluted to such an extent that nobody gives them any credence anymore. Feminists are inadvertently doing the same thing to the word rape also. A tremendous disservice to actual rape victims.

Mute Brian Casey
    Favourite Brian Casey
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:30 PM

The only way to squash these racist accusations is to stop saying racist things.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:16 PM

@Brian Casey: boy isn’t a racist term in Ireland – I’m from Cork I hear it here all the time. Just because of the history of the word “boy” in the US, it doesn’t give them the right to decide what other countries can say or not.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:32 PM

Great, more McGregor news. Not like anything else is happening in the country.

Mute Kira
    Favourite Kira
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:59 PM

I saw ( all eyez on me ) this week ok enough film, in it they often called each other ” Nig*** ” joking with each other, What I don,t get is some african americans might call each other “Nig*** ” joking no1 really cares, some1 else says other then “Nig*** ” – and people get all offended , the mind boggles .

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:12 PM

Oke not found of racism or any other” ism”
    However before the PC ” oh Im offended ” people at least when I met or heard an individual being or speaking some shite it was easier to cross that person off my list of worthy of any consideration. Now with the PC brigade cowardly accusing people whether they are What ever they been accused of right this moment , is harder to separate a dick move from a total dick, as for McGregor and his opponent isn’t it “a thing” for fighters to insult each other before a match to generate a publicity thing sell more tickets ? Let them off I don’t even believe they themselves are at all upset by it is all show .

Mute Conor Byrne
    Favourite Conor Byrne
    Jul 14th 2017, 8:20 PM

He’s not part of the “row” because he doesn’t care. So who is rowing with who exactly?

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:01 PM

So is anybody going to mention the fact that Mayweather is a woman beating, homophobic piece of sh#t? Nobody?

Mute Kevin c
    Favourite Kevin c
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Laura Walsh: Lol Conor will at tonight’s presser haha

Mute ARIS
    Favourite ARIS
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:00 PM

Society is going backwards. Neanderthal behaviour. Cop on conor and grow up. That is really subhuman talk.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Jul 15th 2017, 7:53 AM

There’s only one dancing monkey its the little hood with no respect for his national flag

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Jul 14th 2017, 2:26 PM

What would you expect from a brainless thug whose followers idea of sport is kicking the shit out of one another.

Mute tae
    Favourite tae
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:08 PM

What is your idea of a sport then Dave?

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:17 PM

@Dave Hogan: Mcgragor will cry himself asleep tonight on his bed of millions of dollars after reading your comments.

Mute Dave Hogan
    Favourite Dave Hogan
    Jul 14th 2017, 3:23 PM

@B9xiRspG: so might some of the parents whose children are the victim of unprovoked assaults by drunken fans of Richie rich.

Mute Andi Black
    Favourite Andi Black
    Jul 14th 2017, 11:55 PM

I admire him for his steadfast commitment to his sporting career, (I would never and will never watch this genre of sport) I would hope that someone who has his best interests at heart would give him a reality check. It’s obvious he doesn’t have that personal mentor or support.

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady

Poor Conor Mc Gregor is such an idiot.. I can understand the media fascination with such a nobody…

Mute **eefs**
    Favourite **eefs**
    Jul 14th 2017, 8:21 PM

World is so PC these days.
    Still hate this p r i c k though.

Mute ....
    Favourite ....
    Jul 14th 2017, 7:50 PM

I hear you’re a racist now father. Getting a bit much, WTF was he wearing.lol

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    Jul 14th 2017, 5:42 PM

This guy is only a dirty common piece of shit.. it only proves all the money in the world cannot buy you class or manners. .

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Jul 14th 2017, 10:02 PM

MC Gregory is a dumb nut

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 15th 2017, 5:38 AM

Headlines and hype. Exactly what the marketing campaign is, well done general public for lapping it up like fools unaware they are being played with.

Mute No one
    Favourite No one
    Jul 14th 2017, 4:12 PM

Sexism ?

Mute Jimmy Carlo
    Favourite Jimmy Carlo
    Jul 14th 2017, 11:57 PM

This is turning into a mega Ching Ching ” Pay Out ” event..
    I can also see them promoting the Re-Match already ..
    and then we will have the 3rd and deciding fight..