You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TD Michael Healy Rae

WATCH: Michael Healy-Rae rails against social media companies with passionate speech in Dáil

“When I saw one night her name being used in a derogatory way and in a political way, that pushed it over the line for me.”

IN A IMPASSIONED speech in Dáil Éireann today, Independent TD Michael Healy-Rae railed against social media companies and their failure to stop the spreading of false information about individuals on their platforms. 

Addressing the Taoiseach, Healy-Rae used his speaking slot to question why more is not done by social media companies to stop this. 

The Kerry TD told the Dáil that hurtful, derogatory comments have been made about his late mother online and that it is not acceptable.

The Journal / YouTube

“I am going to call something out here today and I want to see what you, your government and the rest of the people inside this house think of it.

Why is it acceptable in the Ireland of today that people can go on social media platforms, and they can say whatever they like, about whoever they like.

“It can be members of An Garda Síochána, it can be politicians. 

“They can say outrageous things, they can say hurtful things, they can attack people’s families, they can attack individuals,” Healy-Rae said.

He continued: “And if you want to know why I’m cross today Taoiseach, I’ll tell you why. They can say whatever the hell they like about me because it won’t worry me. It won’t take one minute out of my headspace. It won’t bother me.

“I don’t like it when they attack my family because they are my family. When they attack my friends, I don’t like that. But I am going to say this… My late mother died in 2015 and she was a highly respectable woman.

She could speak seven languages. She never said anything bad about any human being. She supported all of us in every way she possibly could. And she was a nice lady.

“And when I saw one night her name being used in a derogatory way and in a political way, that pushed it over the line for me.”

The Kerry TD asked the Taoiseach what is going to be done to tackle this behaviour on social media and the failure of social media companies to act.

He added: “Just because you’re a minister, just because you are the leader of a party, it does not mean you have to have lies accepted about you and that people can say horrible things about people they really don’t even know.

“It’s ridiculous. And I’m asking you will you please try to do something to bring a bit of normality into the situation so that people can’t be telling lies, blatant lies, about people.” 

Taoiseach Simon Harris said in response: “Well said indeed Deputy Healy-Rae, and thank you for saying it.”

“I’m really sorry and I know everybody in this house is to hear of the abuse that you and your family had to put up with. Particularly the comments and images of your late mother.

That is utterly despicable and reprehensible and there is not a member of this house on any political side who doesn’t think that.

The Taoiseach said it was a seriously important issue being raised by Healy Rae that impacts on people right across the country, particularly children and younger people. 

He said he was seriously concerned about online abuse and the use of faceless accounts used to intimidate, silence and bully people. 

Commenting on what the Government is doing to address the issue, he pointed to the establishment of the media regulator, Coimisiún na Meán.

He added that the Online Safety Code is to be formally adopted later this year which sets out actions platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and X, formerly Twitter, must take to protect users.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

56 Comments
    Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:25 PM

Michael Healy Rae is right. 5 words I never thought I’d utter.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:30 PM

@Anthony Curran: If only he could be as passionate about the false information that get told in the Dail on a daily basis.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:54 PM

Internet anonymity has to go.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:07 PM

@Temp Stuff: you should practice what you preach

Mute Scimon Harris
    Favourite Scimon Harris
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:26 PM

@Temp Stuff: says the person with an anonymous online profile……. Nice

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Anthony Curran: Quite I am in shock too, but he is indeed right.

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:15 PM

@Temp Stuff: trolltastic

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:25 PM

Is this the man who claims Dail attendance expenses while at the same time attending funerals in Kerry or am I mistaken.

Mute deadslys
    Favourite deadslys
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:54 PM

@Jp Cleary: What’s that got to do with what he’s saying right now ? Damned if you do..

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:57 PM

He’s 100% right, I’m sorry for him and his family, but that’s the price of living in a free speech society, although painful, degenerate and low class, this is not hate speech inciting to violence. The moment we start controlling what you can and can’t say is the moment democracy dies.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:06 PM

@J Ven: ‘Free Speech’ doesn’t mean you can say what you like about whoever you like.

Mute Daniel Gilroy
    Favourite Daniel Gilroy
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:13 PM

@J Ven: With free speech comes huge responsibility. A concept alien to these corporations.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:13 PM

@J Ven: Democracy is being severely undermined by unaccountable free speech and opinions being presented as facts. Journalism and the legal system can never keep up with the sheer quantity of falsehoods and s-t-o-o-p-i-d-i-t-y. Free speech isn’t worth anything unless it’s backed up by the providers best efforts to be responsible (and to accept the consequences) and readers & listeners sincere efforts to try to verify what they read & hear. The argument that free speech must be prioritised ignores the realities of human nature, the news cycle and that the closest approximation to the truth possible is usually boring to grim (and not what many people want to consider).

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:31 PM

@J Ven: Say what you like, but don’t hide who is saying it.
    The right of free speech means that there is no need to hide in anonymity. It implies a responsibility to stand by your words.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:44 PM

@J Ven:
    Free speech is fine but this is not a free speech issue.
    I can speak my opinion in a pub, meeting or a debate. The person who disagrees with me can disagree right back.
    What he is talking about is publication of slurs and insults under cover of anonymity to a vast audience.
    They are not opinions covered by free speech. There is no opinion to be refuted.
    It is an Orwellian nightmare where Big Brother is now a twitter mob which can take down anybody for anything and nothing.

Mute Mark Anthony Savage
    Favourite Mark Anthony Savage
    Jul 10th 2024, 12:12 AM

@J Ven: But we don’t live in a free speech society. The Irish constitution while obviously not contemplating social media is fairly prescriptive in relation to the limits on freedom of opinion, conviction etc when dealing with other types of media. You’re relatively free to say what you want to someone else but publishing it is a different story.

Sorry can’t resist a bit of West Wing here:

Van Dyke: If our children can buy pornography on any street corner for $5, isn’t that too high a price to pay for free speech?

Bartlet: No.

Van Dyke: Really?

Bartlet: On the other hand, I do think that five dollars is too high a price to pay for pornography.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Jul 10th 2024, 10:48 AM

@Numinous20111: Well put.

Mute Stephen Blood
    Favourite Stephen Blood
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:58 PM

We Never did find out how aul Michael was clocked in to the dail and also at a funeral in Kerry

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:46 PM

@Stephen Blood: He’s a man of many talents – listing them might be unwise.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:37 PM

Sure he’s a senior hurler. He’ll get off Scott free don’t you know. They all seem to.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:19 PM

@reg morrisey: that Limerick hurler :(
    What an absolutely fine representative of the parish just like Crotty. :(

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:25 PM

@S Suilleabhain: the 2nd individual you mentioned is not from Limerick.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:33 PM

@James Leahy: Yeah im fully aware of that thanks. As i actually meant, that he is a creature LIKE Crotty is.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:15 PM

Speaking of which, is lefty 24/7 journal enthusiast Brendan O’Brien dead?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:30 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: a$$hole

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: No his alter ego Kevin is obviously alive & well, the only thing that is dead is one of the phones.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:48 PM

They should rename the website The Journal of Irish Rednecks.

Not everyone, of course, and not even the majority: however, the Journal does rise to the type of publication it should be.

Cannon fodder for taxpayer-funded hysteria and intellectual pretence leaves only room for the screaming of impotence.

Your call.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:46 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: cry me a rainbow hun

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Jul 9th 2024, 6:51 PM

Poor Michael, does he get as outraged about tourists getting seriously assaulted outside a chipper. He is some hypocrite, nothing to say about a family member kicking the shit out of an innocent man or him making millions out of housing Ukrainian’s, while complaining about them coming in. Contributes nothing to the Dail.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:44 PM

What about the day he was attacked by a suckler cow and ended up in CUH.Some lad on social media wanted to know was the cow okay.But the clown who put up derogatory images or messages about his mother was totally out of order.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:51 PM

As much as I agree with him that there is no place for people being abusive online, as is seen in comments sections on here every day, I just can’t take him completely seriously at all as long as he is wearing the cap in the Dáil.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Jul 10th 2024, 10:49 AM

@Sun Rise: Why?

Mute Andy Masterson
    Favourite Andy Masterson
    Jul 9th 2024, 8:09 PM

He’s only complaining when it effects him personally

Mute Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Séamas Mac Cárthaigh
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:08 PM

The construct of social media platform’s should be defined as public spaces and as such warrant the unrestricted access by law enforcement agencies as they would have in the physical environment.

Mute Paddy Short
    Favourite Paddy Short
    Jul 9th 2024, 8:48 PM

Instead of being the playing the villain he could play the hero and turn on this treacherous government and spill the beans on what’s really happening behind the scenes, instead of currently being a part of it and enabling it.

Any politician, or party, could remove themselves from all social media and avoid this direct avenue of attack from the neanderthals. It’s use as an electioneering tool does not serve the electorate well anyway.

If they ram the hate speech legislation through like they did the migration pact it will be the last nail in the coffin. Every criticism of government and its members from an individual or an organization will be shut down as hate speech. Not only will we be oppressed, we will also be voiceless, and therefore powerless.

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:26 PM

The irony of him saying that while noted anti-vaxxer conspiracy theorist Mattie McGrath is seated beside him.

Mute Richie Whelan
    Favourite Richie Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 10:52 PM

@Rochelle Hart: you would what to get informed about new information about the vacinne before calling people anti vax

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:35 PM

@Rochelle Hart: people who tall about the impact on their loved ones and on society from boosters arent conspiracy theorists Rochelle. I nearly got the J&J single doser two years ago, many people who got it before I think it was pulled? died of brain bleeds, then there’s the rest including myocarditis

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:18 PM

Here we go again. What a hypocrite he is all hate and targeting like this, should be called out and not tolerated under law but hate speech laws are an absolute no no. Completely authoritarian. Moreover, he’s been guilty of hate speech
    Passionately opposed marriage a few years ago as though he gave a damn about young gay lads or girls who might live rurally, play gaa, he sent a message of passionate fear to them then. Hypocrite

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:03 PM

How many understands what Coimisiún na Meán means? If it is to inform people please use a language they understand.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Vincent Alexander: Coimisiún na Meán is Ireland’s regulator for Broadcasting and online media.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Vincent Alexander: I had reason to call city hall in Limerick 2 years ago & from the reply of the receptionist I thought I had dialled the wrong number but then realised she was speaking in Irish. I said, in my limited Irish, “ba mhaith liom cupla focal a rá le an tusal X?” She replied “Sorry, I don’t understand” & we continued, of course, in English. It’s the stupid pretence, suggestion or implication that Irish is spoken in Limk that really irks. On a related note, the office in Limerick which helps immigrants is called Doras luimni! Most of the locals wouldn’t get that one so what chance do immigrants have? Embarrassingly pretentious.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:09 PM

@Ger Whelan: So then they should call it that (regulator for broadcasting) and have done with it. Then show the Irish language version. At that point we’ll ALL know what it means.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:50 PM

@Ger Whelan: Tá fios agam, ach cé méid a tuigeann é.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:50 PM

Most of what I see are commenters trying to be outrageous in the absence of being inspirational and creative. It takes courage to face those who are supporters and followers of someone else’s opinions when ideas and innovations are being presented.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:54 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: do you ever get tired of mindless ranting?

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Jul 9th 2024, 4:58 PM

@Ger Whelan: At least we know who has Michael Fabricant’s wig now…

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:19 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: You realise nobody reads your rants right?

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:31 PM

@Ger Whelan: It’s a bot.

Mute Padraic O' Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O' Sullivan
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:21 PM

Shure don’t forget the 1000s of voting phone calls. That was gas

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jul 9th 2024, 5:35 PM

NumBSkull.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:36 PM

@Phillip Smyth: he is such a narcissist. its ALL about them and they dont really care about anyone.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jul 9th 2024, 8:48 PM

Finally, we’ll be able to find out who Brendan O Climate change really is.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:49 PM

Maybe he picked this issue to fill a speaking slot, without saying anything that would cost him a vote.

Mute Sean O
    Favourite Sean O
    Jul 9th 2024, 7:03 PM

It’s the only place to see and hear the truth don’t forget

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jul 10th 2024, 5:38 PM

Think my comment was removed? for calling HR a hypocrite who didnt remotely consider young gay lads and girls who may live in rural Kerry before spouting a load of homophobic anti-marriage nonsense right before the CIVIL marriage debate here in 2015