You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Noonan: Fianna Fáil like people who plant a time-bomb and want others to change the timing

The Finance Minister has sought to downplay suggestions that thousands of taxpayers face a hike in USC next year.

MICHAEL NOONAN HAS downplayed fears that Universal Social Charge for 360,000 people will increase from 4 per cent top 7 per cent next year.

Noonan was responding to a story on the front of today’s Irish Independent which said that it would mean an increase of as much as €700 annually for a single income family on €40,000 a year.

The Finance Minister told RTÉ’s News at One that it was Fianna Fáil who had imposed the expiry date on the 4 per cent concession for certain categories of taxpayers, including families with a medical card and income not exceeding €60,000, in 2010.

“They’re like the people who planted the time-bomb and they want other people to change the timing mechanism on the bomb,” he said.

Continuing the analogy he had earlier deployed on Newstalk’s Lunchtime, Noonan said that the bomb was set “to go off” on 1 January next year but that the matter will be considered “very carefully” in the Budget in October.

“These things are manageable and when our priority is to protect vulnerable people you can see how it might be managed,” he said.

Noonan’s bombing analogy was criticised by one Fianna Fail TD, Barry Cowen responding on Twitter by saying there are “a lot of Angola’s (sic) about” – a reference to his brother Brian’s alleged remark that the Department of Health was like Angola because of the administrative landmines:

The veteran Fine Gael TD Noonan said it was too soon to be accurate about what the government might do, saying that this issue is among “hundreds” that will be discussed between now and Budget day in October.

He insisted: “I can’t make Budget announcements in the middle of May”.

The Finance Minister’s comments this lunchtime were in addition to a series of statements issued by Fine Gael and Labour backbenchers criticising Fianna Fáil for raising the matter in the first place.

“The fact of the matter is that the only reason there is any chance at all that people on medical cards will have to pay more next year, is because it was a specific provision of the budget legislation that Fianna Fáil rammed through in the dying days of the last government,” Labour’s Ciarán Lynch said.

Noonan also defend his welcoming of billionaire Donald Trump to Ireland earlier this week, saying that ‘The Donald’ had made an important investment in the country.

noonan-23

He added: “I can assure you if it was the IDA that were bringing a factory into Clare and I was invited to go down there and there was 300 jobs in it, I’d be there. ”

Watch: What economic advice does Donald Trump have for Michael Noonan?

More: Trump: I’m bringing hundreds of jobs — and yes, I’ll be a friend of the snail>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

78 Comments
    Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    May 16th 2014, 1:51 PM

Can anyone tell me when USC will end? How long is temporary?? I’m guessing it is here to stay..

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 16th 2014, 2:02 PM

It is temporary in that all human things are temporary but Newgrange is still around 5k years old.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 16th 2014, 2:09 PM

FF robbed this country, FG and Lab are driving the get away car.

Mute Neal Ireland hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland hello.
    May 16th 2014, 2:11 PM

Aw, you thought it was going to end sometime. That’s so cute.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    May 16th 2014, 2:13 PM

I’m hoping that FF will promise to get rid of it at the next general election to guarantee getting elected. Even I’d vote for the shower of treasonous gangsters if they did I’m sorry to say.

Mute NoddyFingers
    Favourite NoddyFingers
    May 16th 2014, 2:49 PM

And that Diarmuid is precisely why we will never rid ourselves of the parasitic cronyism that blights our country.

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    May 16th 2014, 6:10 PM

Retire you dinosaur!

Mute Mark Egan
    Favourite Mark Egan
    May 16th 2014, 1:44 PM

Fine gael like people who promised to diffuse a bomb but actually detonated it

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 1:57 PM

They certainly detonated their own homemade incendiary bomb last night, in unleashing Eamonn Coghlan on the Irish Nation as a political debater !
    He blew his chances of a seat in the Dublin bye election right out of the water , with his stupidity and gross FG ignorance .
    Enda must be gnashing his teeth this morning after a sleepless night , he himself having been caught out red handed ,regarding his “Diary” entries !

I wonder are there many other dodgy diary entries there too ?

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    May 16th 2014, 2:07 PM

Jesus, Eamonn Coughlan was a disgrace, I was actually embarrassed for him.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 16th 2014, 2:08 PM

Nice analogy Mark. Spot on.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 2:21 PM

Detonating bombs seems more like Sinn Fein’s line of expertise. Their only line of expertise really….

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    May 16th 2014, 2:25 PM

Mr Fantastic ,have you any new material than this old tired drivel ? Really pathetic trolling !

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    May 16th 2014, 4:54 PM

Ciarraioch
    I do believe that you should stay well away from the subject of bombs and incendiary devices . After all it’s only a few days since a leading Member of your Military Wing was arrested and charged for being in possession of a 60 lb device in the car park of a Dublin Hotel. Anything around that subject matter is offensive as was the intent behind the device.
    Thanks

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 5:59 PM

Now Richard Rodgers – and there were all your fans on these pages thinking recently, from your remarks, that you and The Dissidents are Very Close Friends , you sharing bank accounts with them in The Isle of Man Tax Avoidance Scheme that you share with them .

Unfortunately for you Richard – you have the wrong guy here – I’m not going to join The Dissidents with you !
    I hate violence and abhor any kinds of bombing or murder.
    I’m a great believer in a The GFA and have great time for all those who wholly respect it too.

After all the Citizens of Ireland must live together in harmony and Unity ultimately !

I’m sure in the meantime that you will be able to generate a war somewhere ?
    Why don’t you ask Canada to invade USA or the UK , or maybe The Isle of Man ?
    See you at the counts next Saturday and thanks for all your help with the canvass – Your remarks have generated thousands of votes for you know who ? Yes SF – Richard – Thank you Sincerely a chara !

Mute Richard Rodgers
    May 16th 2014, 6:15 PM

Ciarraioch
    Oops I do believe you have lost the plot. On the one hand it’s offensive to listen to Shinners talking about incendiary bombs and then you have a public go at employers who engage workers in other countries because of the local nature of their work. Without a bank account I couldn’t possibly pay them!
    So now we observe Sinn Fein opposed to the generation of business on a multi national basis.
    My point is simple Mr Kerry. Your Military Wing are still active in the Republic of Ireland during elections
    What part of a democratic society should tolerate that Mr Kerry?
    Perhaps we should still ask people to vote for you because the target of the bomb was North of the Border?

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 6:52 PM

Richard – Come down to the Election Counts in beautiful Kerry next Saturday a chara – We will treat you to lovely tea and vanilla slices , the nicest in Ireland .
    We have no tax avoidance banks here though – you will have to go to the Isle of Man to visit your accounts for those !

See you …..a chara ?

Mute Darren Taaffe
    Favourite Darren Taaffe
    May 16th 2014, 1:50 PM

Absolutely sick of the lot of them. The whole political system is rotten to the core. They are as bad as each other

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    May 16th 2014, 2:34 PM

It is. And things aren’t helped by RTE’s inability to programme properly. Why would you ask Noonan about last night’s Prime Time expose on Lottery money being used for slush funds (which it turns out he hadn’t even seen). Surely Fitzgerald and Reilly should have been asked about that

Similarly, why ask Trump about Clare without mentioning his business in Scotland

Finally, if you ask Noonan about USC he is obviously going to say that nothing has been decided yet

Interview was appalling. Badly researched, wrong interviewees, questions any idiot could have kicked off the pitch. Would drive you to despair

Mute Benny benson
    Favourite Benny benson
    May 16th 2014, 2:06 PM

Sick to my back teeth of them blaming Fianna Fáil every time we elected ye to do a job, GET ON WITH IT

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

Well they signed use up so why shouldn’t they blame then. FF still have a leader from the previous administration, complete hypersonic

Mute Declan J Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan J Murtagh Sr.
    May 16th 2014, 2:17 PM

They can rush legislation trough in a couple of hours when it suits them,they have 4 years to change this and it can’t be done. Can’t wait for the next general election.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    May 16th 2014, 5:36 PM

@ Declan: But how would YOU if you were the Minister fund the gap in the Budget left behind if USC was abolished? There would be a few billion euro of a gap there to fix. Which other areas would you cut? These are the kind of questions a Finance Minister in any country faces ahead of Budget day.

A more general comment. Noonan clearly stated this week that no decisions had been taken yet regarding the Budget. For a newspaper to then present a story stating definitively that this would happen is wrong. The FF Independent has clearly reverted to form and will likely have a slew of these scare-mongering stories ahead of the election. I expect Willie O’Dea and Celia Larkin will be dispatched on Sunday to write articles about the unfairness of it all and how things would be different under FF.

Unfortunately they are entitled to do that, but what I find disgusting is that so many families who are struggling will be left in fear because a newspaper wants to support its favourite party.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    May 16th 2014, 6:22 PM

It seems Ryan that nowadays newspapers like to try and make the news rather than report the news. They just end up getting people all fired up and this suits,their own agenda. It’s a crazy carry on, the trouble is people see these headlines and take it for gospel.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    May 16th 2014, 8:49 PM

Exactly mcbab. Part of it is about getting people fired up – especially with misleading headlines. But actually making up a story like this to fire people up is wrong on so many journalistic levels.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 1:46 PM

Wonder how the FG trolls will try and spin this?
    John/Seb and Richie Rodgers when you’re ready lads.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 1:51 PM

“it was Fianna Fáil who had imposed the expiry date on the 4 per cent concession for certain categories of taxpayers”

That’s how it’ll be spun!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 1:56 PM

Government can change the expiry date, surely they were aware of it before now.Bit stupid of them to allow this come out before the elections.

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    May 16th 2014, 2:31 PM

LesBehan – FF might have imposed the expiry date but FG are imposing the increase except for those that earn 100,000 plus, their USC is going for 10% to 7%, nice for the rich again!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 3:02 PM

FF and FG are both cheeks of the same arse Jim.

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    May 16th 2014, 9:26 PM

Where are labour on this as then wanted to put another 3% on people on more than 100k
    O sorry I forgot sure labour are just there to make up the numbers

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    May 16th 2014, 2:17 PM

Same bull blame FF
    FG and Labour blew families apart with there policy’s and election lies

They failed to get 3% usc on earning over 100k but ye were able to
    1) Cut child benefit
    2) Tax maternity benefit
    3) Cut maternity benefit
    4) Tax water
    5) Tax the home
    6) Cut the phone allowance to old age people
    7) put more carbon tax on
    It make me sick to think that any person could vote for this government or FF
    Stand up and wipe them out on the 23rd

Mute Richard Rodgers
    May 16th 2014, 4:57 PM

Galway 2007
    You were going grand until you got to the last sentence and gave away your Membership of a Party contesting next weeks elections.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    May 16th 2014, 5:28 PM

will do.

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    May 16th 2014, 9:23 PM

I am a member of no party just a father of 3 young kids trying to survive who is living in the real world

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 16th 2014, 2:00 PM

Sorry Mikie, you dropped 40 years worth of anglo debt on our kids and grandkids, don’t try to make out you are any less despicable than the people you replaced.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 2:04 PM

But aren’t Labour in their election ads saying we have 30 billion less banking debt, surely they’re not lying.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 16th 2014, 2:07 PM

They’re not lying. There’s 30 billion less banking debt, because it’s been converted into sovereign debt instead. Result!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 2:21 PM

Guess you can’t type sarcasm.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    May 16th 2014, 6:41 PM

Blaming FF is getting tiresome.

Mute Toby_Parker
    Favourite Toby_Parker
    May 16th 2014, 2:12 PM

Worst Govt ever.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 2:14 PM

Who would you prefer? Sinn Fein? A party so economically illiterate they’d have us looking for another bailout by the end of the week.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 2:22 PM

Mr.Fantastic you were praising Fianna Fail earlier. You can’t get any more “economically illiterate” that Fianna Fail :-)

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 2:23 PM

Mr Fantastic – What are your other Trolling non de plumes please ?
    Don’t I recognise your “style” , or lack of it ! Sorry , your snide Blueshirt FG ignorance , from your other Troll names ?

Come clean and shame the devil ?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    May 16th 2014, 2:25 PM

Mr ’64 billion is a few euro here and there’ Fantastic is an expert on economic matters. I’m sure that he’s both read and understood SF’s economic policies.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 2:30 PM

Not defending FG. People are reacting to austerity like a spoilt teenager reacts to their parents when their pocket money is taken away. I guarantee that in 5 years people will look back at the FF government and realise that really they were the best option we had.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    May 16th 2014, 2:43 PM

Been played like a stradivarius .. isn’t that true,Mr Fantastic ?

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    May 16th 2014, 2:59 PM

Kids still get fed and keep there roof over there head if there pocket money is taken from them. Stupid statement

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 3:07 PM

*their

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    May 16th 2014, 3:40 PM

@mr fantastic. Does your rear-end ever get jealous of your mouth with the amount of crap that cones out of it?

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 3:56 PM

@Patrick. I wouldn’t know. I’ll defer to your expertise on this one.

“Noonan said that the bomb was set “to go off” on 1 January next year but that the matter will be considered “very carefully” in the Budget in October.” Well that’s it from that one sentence you just know it will be implemented along with the familiar refrain its your fault FF we are just mindless quislings implementing the Troikas instructions.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    May 16th 2014, 2:15 PM

Third world nations tend to have economies dependent on the developed countries and are generally characterized as poor with unstable governments and having high rates of population growth, illiteracy, and disease. A key factor is the lack of a middle class — with impoverished millions in a vast lower economic class and a very small elite upper class controlling the country’s wealth and resources. Most third world nations also have a very large foreign debt.

Mr. Fantastic, we do live in a third world country.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

Look at today’s list of top companies in Ireland. We might as well stop calling this place Ireland

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 2:35 PM

Victim complex.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    May 16th 2014, 3:34 PM

Not at all Mr. Fantastic, just stating the definition/classification of a ‘third world country’ according to the Encyclopaedia of World Geography.

Mute Kevin f
    Favourite Kevin f
    May 16th 2014, 1:59 PM

An article about a 70 year old Failed career politician being criticized by a T.D who’s drunken ,slovenly, inept and incompetent brother was one of the main reasons for the collapse of this state…..
    Christ is this what passes as newsworthy!!

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    May 16th 2014, 2:10 PM

This is what passes for politicians!

Mute Get Ta France
    Favourite Get Ta France

It kinda looks like hes been dribbling in the pic!!!!!!!!

Mute Fergus Gaffney
    Favourite Fergus Gaffney
    May 16th 2014, 2:34 PM

What a feckin slimeball! He won’t say that he is not going to change the thing so we can be sure that the USC will be rising to 7% for 250.000 people in January because of this half baked Turkey!

Mute Peader O Harlaigh
    Favourite Peader O Harlaigh
    May 16th 2014, 3:34 PM

Protect vulnerable people!! Don’t make me laugh! Total halfwit

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 16th 2014, 2:56 PM

Time bomb? Cut the blue(shirt) wire!

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    May 16th 2014, 4:24 PM

Noonan is living in a different world to the rest of us, he talks about silver bullets and time bombs. I think he will start talking about unicorns and werewolves, if he hasn’t already done so.

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    May 16th 2014, 5:00 PM

We know that FF set this date but FG&LAB have the power to change this by drafting new legislation.
    Sure why bother after the 1st Jan they can all jump up & down and blame FF for it nothing to do with us.
    Sick of the blame game at this stage.

Mute Colm Moylette
    Favourite Colm Moylette
    May 16th 2014, 8:05 PM

USC was introduced as a 1 year economic recovery and solidarity tax by Brian Lenihan…and the overlords have ensured the peasants will continue to pay this nothing tax. If you were wondering how they were going to tax fresh air…they’ve done it…it’s called USC

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    May 16th 2014, 4:55 PM

He’s just using it to gut the soldiers of destiny as a political stunt and take the spotlight of him and his labour pet doggies

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    May 16th 2014, 4:38 PM

“These things are manageable and when our priority is to protect vulnerable people you can see how it might be managed,”

Political poetry at its finest.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic

The only people trolling are those who say they’re struggling to get by every time a few euro is taken off them to help the country get back on its feet. I don’t believe any of it. You’d swear we were living in a third world country, attention seekers.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang

You’re funny. You must live in a bubble. You clearly have no idea what it’s like out here in the real world.

Journal mods, why did you remove his original comment? Better to have left it up, I can’t see how it violated the comments policy, and it would have triggered some funny responses, it was that ridiculous.

Mute Mr Fantastic
    Favourite Mr Fantastic
    May 16th 2014, 2:18 PM

I’m guessing it was the strong SF bias on this site.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 2:53 PM

Mr Fantastic, there are a lot of flat broke people out there.

If it wasn’t for the Fine Gael government they’d be loaded. That’s what Sinn Fein tell them, and they believe it. Still they each have a vote each so who knows what kind of mad lunacy we have ahead if Sinn Fein end up in Government due to people’s gullibility. When the Sinn Fein sugar merchant rolls up to their door with their fantasy economics promising free money, the gullible are willing to follow.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    May 16th 2014, 2:05 PM

They are not going to increase the cost of employment next year so I don’t know why people are up in arms over a newspaper headline. Have u nothing better to think about!

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    May 16th 2014, 3:36 PM

We borrowed 12 billion later years to fund the deficit. None of which was banking costs.

Where do the people here suggest we get the money? Increase income tax again? Increase the tax on property wealth? Confiscate a percentage of deposits above say 50 grand ?

Mute Andy Cahalan
    Favourite Andy Cahalan
    May 16th 2014, 7:35 PM

David, this is just income tax by any other name.