You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Martin and Harris hold 'positive' meeting and agree party negotiating teams will meet tomorrow

Government formation talks are to gather pace this week with a number of other meetings in the diary.

LAST UPDATE | 9 Dec 2024

FIANNA FÁIL’S MICHEAL Martin met with Fine Gael’s Simon Harris today in what has been described as a “positive” and “constructive” meeting.

“The Taoiseach and Tánaiste agreed the need for a stable government, underpinned by mutual respect and clear policy direction for the next five years so that it can deliver for the Irish people in face of great challenges,” said a statement issued by the two parties this afternoon.

The two party leaders have now asked their negotiating teams to commence talks tomorrow.

This move signifies government formation talks stepping up a gear, though a question mark hangs over whether a new government can be formed by the new year.

Labour leader Ivana Bacik has said this afternoon that she has contacted the leaders of Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael each by phone and agreed to meet them leader to leader in separate meetings.

Bacik will meet Martin tomorrow at noon and Harris at a time later in the week.

The Labour leader also spoke with the leader of Sinn Fein Mary Lou McDonald about future engagement. Labour’s parliamentary party also agreed with Bacik’s proposal to write to the leaders of the Social Democrats and Green Party to seek further development of a centre-left common platform.

While there has been much speculation about the carving up of ministries and the rotating Taoiseach model, it is understood the focus between Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil is on policy and who will make up the third pillar of the next government. 

As reported last week, the two party leaders appear to be optimistic about a stable group of Independent TDs shoring up the numbers, but the Labour Party is still in the mix, with Martin and Harris understood to have discussed their options at today’s meeting.

Independents 

Martin has already held personal meetings and spoken over the phone with a number of Independents in the last week, with Harris has met with a number of them today. 

It is understood the Taoiseach spoke with Wexford TD Verona Murphy this afternoon, and is due to meet with Dublin Bay North TD Barry Heneghan shortly.

Harris will tomorrow meet with the other Independents such as Galway West TD Noel Grealish, Tipperary North’s Michael Lowry, Longford-Westmeath Kevin “Boxer” Moran and Sligo-Leitrim’s Marian Harkin.

Aontú is the latest to join the Dáil technical grouping of Independents, with party leader Peadar Tóibín confirming to The Journal that the party, with two TDs, have joined the ‘Regional Group’.

The group now consists of ten TDs, with eight Independents having agreed to register as a technical group earlier this week. Technical groups are typically formed to increase speaking time for its members in the Dáil. 

The eight Independents are Seán Canney, Marian Harkin, Barry Heneghan, Noel Grealish, Michael Lowry, Kevin (‘Boxer’) Moran, Verona Murphy and Gillian Toole.

Tóibín said that he and his party colleague, newly elected Paul Lawless, would not be negotiating government with Fine Gael or the Greens. 

Despite recent chatter about Independents, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael still have a focus on the Labour Party and whether they might be open to forming the next government, despite the Social Democrats stating that they would not join forces with Labour in any talks. 

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael have selected their negotiating teams for the talks over the next number of weeks, these include: 

Fianna Fáil: 

• Jack Chambers
  • Darragh O’Brien
  • Norma Foley
  • Mary Butler
  • James Lawless
  • James Browne

Fine Gael: 

• Paschal Donohoe
  • Jennifer Carroll MacNeill
  • Martin Heydon
  • John Cummins
  • John Paul O’Shea

It is understood that those in both parties see there are advantages and disadvantages for going in with a party such as Labour or an amalgamation of Independents. 

Avoiding banana skins

Throughout the talks there will be a focus on ensuring there are effective structures to ensure accountability and delivery, so as to avoid any banana skins for the next government. 

Having effective dispute resolution mechanisms is understood to be of paramount importance. 

In terms of parity of esteem, something Harris has been insisting on in recent days, Fianna Fáil is minded for the party to hold more Cabinet positions, as reported by The Journal last week

Martin confirmed his position on Friday stating that the election result (which gives Fianna Fáil ten seats over Fine Gael) needs to be reflected.

If the rotating Taoiseach mechanism is agreed again, which is not a certainty, then Martin is understood to want to hold the position of Taoiseach first, and for a longer period, with Harris perhaps given the opportunity to step into the role in the final year and a half of the next government term.

The Dáil is set to meet on 18 December, but it is unclear if government formation talks will be completed by then.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

146 Comments
    Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:33 AM

The talks are like this… I don’t care about my party’s principles or your party’s principles, I don’t care what the country needs, I just wanna be in power… what about you?

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:26 PM

@KTH: That’s about right. The antics of Alan Kelly, after the election is proof. He was looking to cosy up to any party that would have him. Policies didn’t matter. A ministerial job trumps policies. In the end, Ivana had to rein him in, and put him in the dog house. I haven’t heard a tweet from him since

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:44 PM

@KTH: this is nothing more than a dictatorship, the people have no escape from these 2 power hungry tyrants.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Buster Lawless: Hey Buster, still haunting the place I see ;)

Never thought I’d agree with you yet here we are!!

They’ve captured and refuse to relinquish power!

I came up with a test of our politician’s commitment to us if ur interested? A suggestion to fix what’s so broken.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:53 PM

@Chutes: thanks my friend, what about a revolution like in Syria? Are you good with an AK??

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:56 PM

@Chutes: I hate posting uninvited links to my thoughts on other websites but my website started as a reaction to many of the comments I would see on here tbh, the comments section wasn’t enough to articulate my reactions to things so I did something like this to try and respond to the arguments often made here in isolation to questionable effect unless the intent is to confuse issues and people; any way https://greenlens.ie/2024/12/08/reforming-political-compensation-a-path-to-true-public-service/

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:56 PM

@Buster Lawless: I’m weapons trained yes.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:14 PM

@KTH: No doubt you are taking about Ms McDonald. Same attitude as McGuinness, Adams and Paisley. They dragged on the terror campaign until they destroyed the moderates and landed cushy jobs as MLAs. The Chuckle Brothers laughing at their electorate.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:17 PM

@Vincent Alexander: what planet are you on ,a total rewrite of history from the loyalist,lol

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:02 PM

@Buster Lawless: agreed, people in North Korea nearly have as much democracy as we do.

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:08 PM

@Chutes: I salute you soldier.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:35 PM

@Buster Lawless: talking to yourself again,chutes and the doe family and many more FAKE ACCOUNTS,,,,

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:19 PM

@sean weir: It’s SF that is trying to to rewrite history. There were numerous times that peace could have been achieved but it didn’t suit the PIRA until they destroyed the SDLP and the likes of McGuinness got cushy jobs as MLAs. As regards living on another planet I lived through the period . Are you now living in one of those places in the North that are awash with Hamas flags.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:21 PM

@Buster Lawless: Typical SF/PIRA mindset if they cannot win with the ballot box use the Armalite and then wonder why democratic parties want nothing to do with them.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:33 PM

@KTH:
    Sorry for you loss.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 9th 2024, 7:18 PM

@KTH: Well your positive contribution on here displays an intelligence that has me so grateful your not a participant

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:33 AM

So excited that these two are meeting to discuss how they screw over the Irish people for another 5 years.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:37 AM

@Ger Whelan: How are you screwed over?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:48 AM

@David Glynn: I said the Irish people didn’t I?. And I do consider spending over 300 grand on a bike shelter, 1.2 million on security hut, and all the other ridiculous waste of tax payers money while thousands of tax payers are struggling for the basics as screwing us over.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:24 PM

@Ger Whelan: has the country ever been wealthier?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:37 PM

@Paul Fahey: Ask the working families who are now forced to choose between eating or heating their homes, because government inaction has allowed costs to spiral. Ask the tens of thousands of people who are homeless how wealthy this country is.

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:52 PM

@Paul Fahey: The country economically hasn’t but it’s people is a different story. It kinda takes away from how well the “country” is doing. We’d all have a lot more money in our pockets if the govt didn’t help bankrupt the country. Many others would have a lot more money in their pocket if FG didn’t let the REITs go to town and if they didn’t something to fix housing in 2011. The amount of waste and overspending in govt also hits its people in the pocket. Many state services have been run into the ground. Infrastructure under invested in and allowed to rot. We also have a massive national debt…… That wealth you mentioned masks so many issues and means little of these lads in charge don’t know how to manage it!!!

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:57 PM

@Ger Whelan: rather than trot out the bike shelter for 5 years, have you a few other examples of waste recently and what you would do differently?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:01 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: actually the people have never been wealthier. Tell me a time where they were wealthier with even a remotely close standard of living.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:07 PM

@Ben dover: there are many many examples. My personal favourite has to be the near 1 million euros spent on a printer. What would i do differently? So many things for starters I would break up the HSE. Get rid of the top heavy management and actually improve our health service. I would ban vulture funds from purchasing our homes, I’d ban build to rent properties allowing people to actually purchase properties at affordable prices .I’d also put a price cap on energy prices.

Dec 9th 2024, 1:12 PM

@Paul Fahey: Probably a few years before the crash. We have record homelessness figures. People are struggling to stay a float. Record rents, record housing prices which greatly reduce peoples disposable income. There was a time when you could buy a home on one salary, now you need 2 very good ones. That’s the stuff that eats into your standard of living…… There’s a great divide in this country with those that are doing well in the back of the economy and then there’s the majority that are struggling!!!

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:30 PM

@Ger Whelan: Do you think SF will do any better? A waiting list of144 wks for a general medical appointment, delays and overruns in the new Belfast maternity hospital and if they get their united Ireland it will cost us taxpayers some estimates are as high as 20 billion a year for 20 years. All this where they are currently in government or their policy. Majority here do not want them in government. Bilingual street signs their biggest achievement to date.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:42 PM

@Vincent Alexander: where did I mention SF?. You seem to have a rather unhealthy obsession with them.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:04 PM

@David Glynn: Seriously!. Do you want a list?.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:27 PM

@Ger Whelan: Don’t bother replying to the “Daves” – they’re ret*rded

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:36 PM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: laughable, so, I will ask it another way; when have the people of Ireland had so much? When have they lived longer? When have more been employed? When has the average wage been as high? To state we were better off before the crash is crazy, because the money was not there, it was all borrowings and ponzi type notions.

Further, the same two parties were largely the govt back then too, so please explain.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Dec 9th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Paul Fahey: If a measure of wealth is how much taxes you pay on a moderate income then yes we are very wealthy

Dec 9th 2024, 11:35 PM

@Paul Fahey: “the people have never been wealthier”…. Laughable. The top 5% have never been wealthier!!!!… You must be missing the articles of the rent crisis. Are those renters paying extortionate rent wealthy? The housing crisis with huge house prices needing two incomes to get a mortgage, are they as wealthy as they could be when most of their money is going to a bank and a builder? “Full employment” doesn’t mean wealthy citizens when the majority are living paycheck to paycheck… Who benefits from all this corporate tax wealth? Not the majority of its citizens who are still paying austerity taxes. Not the infrastructure which is rotting. Just the usual cronies, bankers, developers and anyone with a govt contract!!! You might want to take a peek outside the bubble you’re living in

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:00 PM

Excellent photo. It’s like SH is thinking about asking MM something. A kind of favour :D

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:06 PM

And as each day passes
    THE CRISIS IN HOUSING DEEPENS

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:33 PM

Did Fine Gael
    Not just come 3rd

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:02 PM

@Kevin O Brien: In seats yes but 2nd in votes 40,000 more than SF.

Mute Balloon Boy
    Favourite Balloon Boy
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:37 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: by that same measure, Hilary Clinton beat Trump in 2016.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Balloon Boy: We don’t have the same system as the US . It’s possible to have more votes and not win. FG had more votes but 1 seat less. It’s not difficult to understand.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:02 PM

@Balloon Boy: but he certainly whopped Kamala in 2024, he won big!!

Mute Rachel Mountney
    Favourite Rachel Mountney
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:06 PM

Martin: Will we just carry on as we were?
    Harris: Yeah, eff them
    Martin: Eff them
    *Clink brandy glasses*

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:23 PM

@Rachel Mountney: that’s obviously what the majority of the electorate wanted though, isn’t it?

Mute Jan Williams
    Favourite Jan Williams
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:46 PM

Their agenda should be keeping money in ireland to pay for public facilities and well being of Irish state and citizens . All money earned in Ireland should be inspected and taxed to avoid loopholes. Why would US. German or Saudi citizens benefit from property assetts speculation in Ireland

Mute Always Question
    Favourite Always Question
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:10 PM

It’s so interesting to see which articles comments are allowed on. Very easy to see who is paying the bills. Journalism and free speech?? Pah!

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:40 PM

They should get married! They are not short of it any how!!!

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:52 PM

This ridiculous charade is getting on my nerves.

Mute Mike B
    Favourite Mike B
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:14 PM

Birds of a feather…

Mute Mike B
    Favourite Mike B
    Dec 9th 2024, 7:18 PM

@Dave G Doe: troll commenter’s like you

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:44 PM

Their meeting was Positive i.e. they want cabinet posts again.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:22 PM

@Garreth Byrne: yes, that’s why political parties exist: to get into power and implement their policies. Otherwise, what’s, the point of having political parties?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 9th 2024, 7:45 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Your last sentence makes a lot of sense.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:40 PM

Like Fianna Gael was ever in doubt. Wave gopdbye to your respectives partiez

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:50 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Gopdbye partiez

Mute North Phone Bowe
    Favourite North Phone Bowe
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:16 PM

Charade. 2 cheeks 1 arse pretending that they are different entities. Only difference is that each has more pus filled pimples than other at times.

Mute Camio 55
    Favourite Camio 55
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:39 AM

There is a need now to form a durable government that takes into account what people most need on the housing and health front. A change of emphasis is badly needed. A return to power of the previous parties cannot be a continuation of past management of our affair’s..

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:54 AM

Has any body noticed how each and every pro SF post gets around 350 likes? As regards the talks, the problem for them isn’t each other, it is the third element. From their point of view, the last thing they need is an opposition within the govt itself. From our point of view, we need a non SF opposition. Here’s hoping that potential members of this don’t get bought off (I’m not holding my breath).

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:07 PM

@Alan: I noticed that myself. It only encourages me to keep commenting!

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:14 PM

@Dave G Doe: SF have a media big project based up in Belfast.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:10 PM

@Alan: You need a non-Sinn Féin opposition so as not to highlight how Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are one and the same. The majority of youth voted Sinn Féin. So much better knowing that Sinn Féin are coming to power in the next 10-15 years and like your own parties, you can’t see beyond your own nose. You don’t need to be psychic to figure that one out.

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:25 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: do you have official figures to back up your claim.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:55 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: if the numbers keep dropping as they are for SF they wont be going anywhere. You dont need to a psychic to see that. What we need is serious opposition here. Sf have proven not to be this.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:06 PM

Steady as she goes, lads. Keep the shinners and other noisy ideologues out of government. Better for everyone.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:06 PM

@honey badger: Ha ha, oh the fear, you know Sinn Féin will be in power in the next ten years without realising how Sinn Féin have pushed Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil into a position where they can’t claim to be two searate parties and yet you lap it up. If you had a brain you’d be dangerous ha ha.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:21 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: You’re very excitable, Brian. One-fifth of the comments on this article are yours. The lads in Serbia will have to up their game now!

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:58 AM

First big topic of Government formation by FF and FG. Get a small amount of TD’s , look at their taxing policy and then bring them on board and implement their tax plan and come the next General Election, that party or independents will be annihilated by the electorate.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:04 PM

@Tommy: Hopefully it’s former Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil TD’S, sorry, independents and Aontù have thrown their hat into the ring who’s sole policies ate anti-abortion and anti-immigration, pretty much sums up independents outside of the left wishing us to go back to the way we were when we were the poorest country in Europe, yet they weren’t poor, the irony.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:43 PM

@Dave G Doe: no your looking in the mirror you d.i.c.k

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Dec 9th 2024, 11:42 AM

Great news

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:11 PM

@Dave G Doe: except in opposition,Dope ha ha, pushing Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil to amalgamate or die ha ha

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:35 PM

FF/FG/II would be an awesome government

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:57 PM

@Fintan Pox: So fantastic the last time that neither could get into government on their pwn never mind together. Your day has bben and good, the cpuntry no longer wants, I hope independents go in with them so can be wiped out, that is the former Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil independents. The irony, using Lowry to do this, read the moriarty report and tell me that he didn’t sell.a state contract. ‘Lowry does everything in Tipp’ why, it’s stuck back in the ’50′s.

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:01 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: and the beauty of it all is, no shinners lol

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:07 PM

@Fintan Pox: kicking the can down the road, with Sinn Féin coming knnthe nect 10-15 years. What is deliciously ironic is how Sinn Féin have forced Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil into an amalgamte or die position. Brains of a dying hen Pox.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:06 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: they are not SF thank goodness children will be safe from their touching hands.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:58 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: you’re talking to fintan Pox. Difficult to find you serious now.
    Knnthe nect 10-15 years. Your crystal ball is drunk.

Mute Ray Buckley
    Favourite Ray Buckley
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:15 PM

Don’t care , Rugger season is underway, off to the Maldives after the Crimbo , life is good .

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:33 PM

@Ray Buckley: Sounds magical Ray, don’t worry about the rest of us peasants, quietly going about our business.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 12:59 PM

@Freda Peeple: Says you that is so easily willing to attack immigrants so as the rich can keep maintaining control tye money you claim immigrants get. So easily and willinhly used. Tell me why we are the fourth worst for wealth distribution in the EU? Tell me why we’re the ninth biggest tax haven in the world, all the immigrant’s fault though, clueless.

Mute Ray Buckley
    Favourite Ray Buckley
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Freda Peeple: Ah a little bit of sarcasm never hurt anyone, Happy Christmas.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:03 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Calm down Karen, you are dribbling on your keyboard again. I’m pro immigrant, but Ireland can’t take anymore in until we can cope with what we have taken already.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 9th 2024, 3:53 PM

@Freda Peeple: “I’m pro immigrant” – did you type that with a straight face?

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:11 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Go away you little lonely man, I am pro immigration, 5 out of 14 lads I employ are immigrants, I don’t agree with plantation centers or tripping over immigrants doing drugs in tents along our streets though,, We have taken too many unskilled chancers into Ireland. The lads I have, 2 of them are jumping through hoops trying ti buy houses and secure citizenship. Nothing was handed to them.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:20 PM

@Freda Peeple: ah would ya get outta here, you’re rewriting your own history. Bye now, you lonely little person

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:32 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Never once said I was against migration you frail husk of a man, I am against the sudden thousands of MEN arriving with nothing to offer the country. You should go out and picket outside the welfare office so Joseph Poulanis parents aren’t going hungry during the court case.. you know that unemployed chap that had €350000 in his house alongside the severed heads of his victims in sligo. They are the types I’m against.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:42 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: the uneducated are always willing to jump on the anti-immigration bandwagon

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Dec 9th 2024, 5:22 PM

@Freda Peeple: you’re insane

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:11 PM

In other news, earlier reports that Bashar Al-Assad had turned up at Catherine Connollys constituency office have proven to be unfounded. (His feud with Jacob Rees Mogg for the title of ‘worlds most haunted pencil’ continues.)
    Back to you in studio…

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:49 PM

@honey badger: Get some new material. Catherine is a sincere Irish political voice, representing the views of many Irish people. She is a pacifist. You, on the other hand, are a US/UK/Israeli war crime apologist and propagandist.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:16 PM

@Darth O’Leary: Ah yes, the crestfallen tankie is back! Why has St.Catherine scrubbed any reference to Syria from her Twitter? Luckily, people have kept the receipts!
    ( If anyone wants a laugh, ask tankie o’leary here why he calls the documented use of chemical weapons against civilians in Syria by Assad “western propaganda.” You never appreciate the tankie mind until its forced to break cover)

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:43 PM

@honey badger: Robert Fisk would never be accused of being pro western, he was dubious about the claims of Assad using chemical weapons.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Dec 9th 2024, 6:00 PM

Good to know bacik is trying to carry on the liebour tradition of slow bicycle race negotiations and trying to cover all bases,,, Pathetic!

Mute Neil Harvey
    Favourite Neil Harvey
    Dec 9th 2024, 2:11 PM

There are some very strong headwinds on the horizon and I hope our government have secure seat belts!!

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:06 PM

They need to do form the government quickly – asylum seekers arrive in tens of thousands and have to sleep in tents. Time to open Thornton Hall and Crown Paints asylum centres asap. Roderick O’Gorman should retain his ministerial job to house people he invited.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Dec 9th 2024, 1:14 PM

@Sergej Simonov: The irony, the attitude of those who greeted the Itish, oh, you forget about Irish immigration to Angl9-Saxon countries, half a million during the recession created by the bubble which is forming again in regards to properties and their prices and no, the Irish weren’t saint’s at all when they left as you might like to make out.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Dec 9th 2024, 4:39 PM

@Sergej Simonov: get off the bandwagon and maybe educate yourself. .

Mute Pius Atomori
    Favourite Pius Atomori
    Dec 10th 2024, 9:04 AM

FF and FG know that Irish people are like black people in America. They will keep on voting for them no matter what. People don’t trust SF but keep voting for the same shit every 5yrs. I think it’s time to try something new even though SF is not trustworthy. Let’s give them 5yrs I am sure it can’t be worse than the last century of FF and FG