You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Lowry, one of the TDs in the Regional Group Sasko Lazarov/RollingNews.ie

Eight independent TDs form 'Regional Group' amid government formation talks

An independent grouping could potentially be a key player in government formation talks, much like one was in 2016.

LAST UPDATE | 4 Dec 2024

IN THE WAKE of the election, eight independent TDs are coming together and registering as a technical group in Leinster House.

The ‘Regional Group’ met today and agreed to register as a technical group, which are groupings that can be formed by independents as a way to secure more speaking time in the Dáil – and will likely now also play a role in terms of communications with larger parties about the prospect of independents propping up a government.

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are collectively only a few seats short of the numbers needed to form a government and are eyeing up a potential partnership between the two of them and others, whether that be with a smaller party or independents.

The eight TDs that have signed up to the Regional Group are Sean Canney, Marian Harkin, Barry Heneghan, Noel Grealish, Michael Lowry, Kevin (‘Boxer’) Moran, Verona Murphy and Gillian Toole.

These types of groups have sometimes played an important role in the past in government formation after an election when one party does not win enough seats to hold power alone.

Galway East TD Sean Canney and Longford–Westmeath TD Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran, two of the members of the Regional Group, were previously part of the 2016 Fine Gael-led government as part of a group of six independents known as the Alliance group.

Canney and Moran shared the role of Minister of State for the Office of Public Works and Flood Relief during the lifetime of that government.

In a recent interview with The Journal, Canney said that was a “stable government for four years“, and that it “wasn’t independents” that ultimately led to that government ending, saying also that he takes issue with any suggestion that independents create instability.

Asked about his priorities if he was involved in government formation talks, Canney said there are regional infrastructure issues that need to be tackled, such as railway lines in the west of the country and traffic congestion in Galway, but also insisted independents don’t just focus on “parish pump politics” and that his “biggest issue” would be about accelerating housing construction.

Wexford TD Verona Murphy, another member of the Regional Group formed today, was elected to the Dáil for the first time in 2020 as an independent. She previously ran in a 2019 by-election as a Fine Gael candidate but the party did not select her for their ticket again due to criticism over comments Murphy made about migrants.

In an interview on RTÉ Prime Time  yesterday evening, Murphy wouldn’t confirm whether she had spoken to anyone in Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael but said that she has been “on the phone for hours and hours” over the last few days. 

She was part of a group in the last Dáil known as the Regional Independents Group, which also included Seán Canney, Noel Grealish and Michael Lowry.

Of the eight TDs in the group, only Gillian Toole (Meath East) and Barry Heneghan (Dublin Bay North) are starting their first term in the Dáil.

Heneghan is understood to be a protégé of Finian McGrath, a former TD who was himself a member of the Independent Alliance grouping and served as junior minister for disability during the 2016-2020 government.

The Journal politics team has reported that it understands that Heneghan already has a ‘wish list’ ready engaging in any discussions about government formation talks.

Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Sinn Féin are each convening a meeting of their parliamentary party today to determine their plan of action during government formation talks.

Labour, the Social Democrats and Sinn Féin have also agreed to hold meetings with each other this week.

Fianna Fáil secured the largest number of seats of any party in this election (48). Sinn Féin is the second largest on 39 but neither Micheál Martin nor Mary Lou McDonald appear inclined to go into coalition with each other.

That leaves Fine Gael as the next largest parliamentary party with 38 seats. Fine Gael is open to going into coalition with Fianna Fáil but has signalled that it would want ‘parity of esteem’ that would give it equal footing despite having fewer seats.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Sep 14th 2013, 1:52 AM

DIT – The city is our campus…….HA

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Sep 15th 2013, 2:35 AM

The Edge studied in DIT. Kevin street for a while – then go a better offer

Mute Ciara McArdle
    Favourite Ciara McArdle
    Sep 14th 2013, 3:10 PM

Samuel Beckett did not describe Trinity students as ‘rich and thick.’ He in fact said that in response to a reprimand by the Head Master at Campbell College in Belfast who told him he was teaching “the cream of Ulster.”
    “Yes,” replied Beckett, ‘rich and thick.”

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Sep 14th 2013, 1:07 AM

TheDublinJournal.ie

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    Sep 14th 2013, 9:06 AM

Not defending trinners or anything, but Russian-English Dictionaries of Diplomacy have probably been very handy this last week.

UCD is like Fianna Fáil.. It skilfully combines the rural gombeen with the south Dublin jackeen. Accent and appearance aside they’re pretty much the same thing.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Sep 14th 2013, 6:17 PM

“Oh my gawd, Fintan. They have compoiled an article in thejourno which bundles us Trinners with the loikes of UCD. Even worse, they mention the college the girl you met last week was from when you really decided to rough it – was that DCU or DIT?”

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Sep 14th 2013, 10:27 AM

A report last year showed that the colleges with the highest % in employment 6 months after graduation were UL & WIT so take that Dublin.

Mute Niall McCarthy
    Favourite Niall McCarthy
    Sep 14th 2013, 12:24 PM

Tesco check-out doesn’t count.

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Sep 14th 2013, 4:16 PM

A fact they don’t like to face up to. I went to UL for my degree and did my h.dip in UCD. I was honestly gob smacked at people in Dublin telling what ‘an amazing’ campus UCD has. It is, by comparison with UL, ugly, insufficient and out dated. Also, the standard of lecturing and organisation left a lot to be desired. The academic standard in UL was very competitive, more along the lines of the ethos of the old RTCs, which was a really healthy thing.

Maybe UL has an advantage as it secured a lot of private funding over the last 25-30 years, especially from Irish-Americans. However, that’s down to their own hard work and genius. No offense to UCD, but it simply doesn’t compare in most facets.

Mute Niall McCarthy
    Favourite Niall McCarthy
    Sep 14th 2013, 4:31 PM

TCD 61st in the world, UCD 139th….UL 451-500. Bit you’re right, UL is pretty.

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Sep 14th 2013, 4:51 PM

I’m afraid it’s about more than being pretty, which UL certainly is. UCD focuses hugely, probably disproportionally, on publications of papers and this is one of the core criteria of QS ranking of universities. This was an expressed opinion of a h.dip supervisor from UCD I spoke to a couple of years back. It’s a financial strategy more than an educational aim. And that is the problem with UCD. Maybe that clarifies it somewhat for you. My experience of both was vastly different. All institutions have their problems, but UL seems to have a very clear, structural development alongside very high academic standards. Sorry if it that doesn’t sit well with your assumptions .

Mute Niall McCarthy
    Favourite Niall McCarthy
    Sep 14th 2013, 5:02 PM

I spent a year in UL, left because of those much-vaunted standards you speak of. I don’t see how having a staff that focus primarily on the publication of research is a negative, but then again an institution like UL with a local/regional outlook really can’t be compared to national and international institutions like TCD and UCD.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 14th 2013, 5:47 PM

UL and WIT may have higher employment rates at first because they teach fairly specific degrees which can be directly applied to the job market.

The NUIs and Trin teach broader degrees across a wider spectrum of fields which can’t in many cases be directly applied to the Irish job market. This is why there is a difference.

Mute Len Raynor
    Favourite Len Raynor
    Sep 15th 2013, 12:25 AM

Source please?

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 14th 2013, 6:32 PM

Adverts.ie should stick to advertising unwanted sofas and not writing “funny” articles. That was cack

Mute Liz Burke
    Favourite Liz Burke
    Sep 14th 2013, 11:07 AM

The Ugg Boot winner in BESS in Trinners by a long shot, DBS a mere runner up

Mute Producer
    Favourite Producer
    Sep 14th 2013, 12:15 AM

In a way we all have a Doctor of something in life, be it a father a mother a hard working grafter, or just even in a simple dog walker.

Mute Maria Pearse
    Favourite Maria Pearse
    Sep 14th 2013, 1:27 AM

What?

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Sep 14th 2013, 6:53 AM

A love doctor maybe?

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Sep 14th 2013, 8:21 AM

Definitely a trinity head

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 14th 2013, 6:28 PM

Think your doctor is looking for you, it’s happy pill time

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Sep 14th 2013, 6:58 PM

DAFUQ you on about lad?!

Mute JurassicArse
    Favourite JurassicArse
    Sep 14th 2013, 8:44 PM

Shut your hole

Mute John Johnson Kcco
    Favourite John Johnson Kcco
    Sep 14th 2013, 9:04 AM

Learnt all I needed to learn in the bestest collage in ireland. Mount Joy.

Mute Rob Mackey
    Favourite Rob Mackey
    Sep 14th 2013, 12:28 PM

bestest ? im dubious bruv

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Sep 14th 2013, 2:27 PM

Also collage.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Sep 14th 2013, 7:49 PM

Mountjoy is one word…

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Sep 14th 2013, 10:38 PM

* I learned

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Sep 15th 2013, 2:20 AM

He’s a collage artiste for chrissake, stop taking him to task on his grammar.

Mute Niamh Ní Fhoghlú
    Favourite Niamh Ní Fhoghlú
    Sep 14th 2013, 12:42 AM

NCI – NOT a COMPLETE INSTITUTE

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Sep 14th 2013, 10:36 AM

Sounds about right. Just hope its inproved sunce my day

Mute Mari Madigan
    Favourite Mari Madigan
    Sep 14th 2013, 10:47 AM

Conor if only I’d remembered dublin jackeen when I called my brother’s new girlfriend a dublin jackass….haunts me to this day

Mute David Gazeley
    Favourite David Gazeley
    Sep 14th 2013, 9:47 AM

I am going to ucd and as a lad who lived out in the countryside all my life,it was a big change

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Sep 14th 2013, 2:27 PM

Indoor toilets took a while to get used to?

Mute Michal Boleslav Měchura
    Favourite Michal Boleslav Měchura
    Sep 14th 2013, 1:33 PM

Since when is Russian “obscure and ultimately useless”!?

Mute Luca Costa
    Favourite Luca Costa
    Sep 14th 2013, 7:34 PM

Since the 80s

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Sep 15th 2013, 8:51 AM

Russian: Spoken and used by over 200 million people as a first language
    Irish: As a first language : less than 100, 000

Mute Garreth Fitzpatrick-Pothin
    Favourite Garreth Fitzpatrick-Pothin
    Sep 14th 2013, 9:16 AM

I know it isn’t true but when I was younger we used to joke that if you weren’t in an NUI you graduated with a hard-hat, a box of crayons and the keys to a hiace!!! Friendly banter is brilliant!

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Sep 14th 2013, 12:49 AM

Eh…Griffith. Worth a mention? Thanks a bunch :P

Mute Rob Hunt
    Favourite Rob Hunt
    Sep 14th 2013, 2:28 PM

Griffith’s Private, the others on the list aren’t.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 14th 2013, 3:31 PM

Pretty sure Griffith sums up Rich and Thick a lot better than Trinity.

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Sep 14th 2013, 5:21 PM

DBS is private.

Mute Neil O'Leary
    Favourite Neil O'Leary
    Sep 15th 2013, 1:09 AM

It was a good while ago when I did the leaving, but that year was the first year DBS were included in the CAO system. Griffith to my knowledge is not. So if that’s still the case, it’s at least part-public, so to speak.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Sep 15th 2013, 3:36 AM

They’re all included on the CAO these says, however no matter what you get you can still but yourself in regardless of points anyways.

Mute Conor Bredin
    Favourite Conor Bredin
    Sep 15th 2013, 4:44 AM

No grá for St Pats? It’s a small college but jaysus Coppers would go out of business if it weren’t for it!

Mute Chris Dunne
    Favourite Chris Dunne
    Sep 14th 2013, 5:21 PM

I srarted in trinity last week as a mature student and I was completely overwhelmed by the place

Mute Ping Pong
    Favourite Ping Pong
    Sep 14th 2013, 2:19 AM

The towel flickers! South side homos just don’t get it

Mute James Keane
    Favourite James Keane
    Sep 15th 2013, 8:30 AM

The article was both terrible and offensive in equal measure. Consolidates my view never to read these sponsored stories…curiosity got the better of me this time.

Mute Jason Weir
    Favourite Jason Weir
    Sep 15th 2013, 12:17 AM

dire article cut and paste gone down the jacks

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Sep 15th 2013, 6:54 AM

Get a job! Load of bums won’t be ready to start working until they’re 35 years old.

Mute nicole
    Favourite nicole
    Sep 14th 2013, 1:30 AM

Go IAU – best college in Dublin :)

Mute Julie O'Connell
    Favourite Julie O'Connell
    Sep 15th 2013, 1:46 AM

ITB – Forever dodging the clampers!

Mute Liz (10) (^_^)
    Favourite Liz (10) (^_^)
    Sep 15th 2013, 8:55 PM

St Patrick’s College Carlow all the way lads. Not much to do in the town though.

Mute Keith Gaule
    Favourite Keith Gaule
    Sep 16th 2013, 11:08 AM

That’s predominantly a priest’s college … Carlow has a pretty big IT, where you won’t find Dub 4 knob-ends guffawing about the “Lass” they ‘snogged’ in Coppers, like .. ya … Also there’s tonnes to do in Carlow town. Did you ever leave the college grounds??

Mute Jim Healy
    Favourite Jim Healy
    Sep 16th 2013, 9:51 AM

This song probably sums up the NCAD stereotype:

https://soundcloud.com/bennysmiles/ncad-girl-day-draft-benny