You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The 42 is the home of quality journalism for passionate Irish sports fans, bringing you closer to the stories that matter through insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting.
Dragons 19-38 Munster
AN EXPLOSIVE MUNSTER ran in five first-half tries en route to a 38-19 win against the Dragons in Wales on Saturday evening.
Diarmuid Kilgallen, Alex Kendellen, Ben O’Connor, Dian Bleuler and John Hodnett scored for the visitors, along with a first-half penalty try, as they moved up to seventh in the table and back into the United Rugby Championship play-off places.
The 42′s award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
5 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
She seems a charmer. Goes to Clare County Council, looking for their support, and when questioned threatens to sue people. How to win friends and influence people.
@Dermo Adams: she’ll struggle to get them, I emailed my Independent TD to ask him to support her nomination, he took the well worn path of the Irish politician, Silence.
He fears he’ll lose a vote if he was truthful and a man.
Those at the Trough don’t want anybody rocking it.
You are literally commenting publically on her on one of Ireland’s largest media platforms.
There have been dozens of articles and reports on her over the last three weeks here on Journal, Irish Examiner, Irish Times, Irish Independent, Sunday Business Post, and all radio and TV shows.
That she cannot get a single Council to back her speaks volumes.
@Bernie Roche: so you think Jimmy Guerin shouldn’t be allowed to ask that rumour and hearsay about his sister’s death be thrown about with no evidence (or seemingly no plan to ever show evidence) because of another, unrelated situation?
Doesn’t seem fair to Jimmy if you ask me.
@Only here for the comments: I never said anything about Jimmy Guerin.
I was replying to brinster who said
‘That she cannot get a single Council to back her speaks volumes.
I guess people just plain don’t like her views.’
That sort of attitude is why corruption is rife in this country
People don’t like her views, Bernie, because she is a conspiracy theorist anti vaxxer who exploits misery, fear and ignorance all for the purposes of self promotion.
Then threatens to sue anyone who dares to question her on her own un-evidenced pronouncements.
She appeared in front of Clare CoCo to ask for their votes – as soon as they questioned her she threatened to sue them.
So I don’t think it is anything to do with corruption.
It is to do with her being the Worst Candidate I Have Seen in My Lifetime.
@Brinster: You forgot toxic. The people who don’t like her views are people who don’t like having the mainstream narrative questioned.
By the way conspiracies happen all the time, the banking and insurance cartels are 2 glaring examples.
Another one coming down the line is going to be gardai in cahoots with drug dealers.
You will have a great time with that one.
I do agree she is a poor candidate for the presidency
@Brinster: Speaking of evidence, you can produce yours of where she says she’s antivax? No? Didn’t think so, cause she’s not and you’ve just swallowed the narrative that MSM wants you to.
@Tweety McTweeter: Like her callanan penalty points conspiracy theory? like her missing 12 foot bood stained fence theory? like her mary boyle theory.?
@James Kiernan: she has a shniff for a story and she bases it off evidence. She doesn’t tend to flippantly remark on any rumour for no good reason. She built her career on building relationships with informants and people who know what’s happening on the ground whatever ground that may be. It might be unpleasant for her brother as he doesn’t want to reopen old wounds as do many victims families of falsely accused murderers.
Gemma was warned by another Guerin family member about possible involvement by the state in Veronicas murder. Gemma reported on it a good few years back. I don’t see what the problem is here.
@Brinster: She reported on it. It’s what journalists do. She didn’t do it as a publicity stunt as you state. But then again that’s all you FG shills do is try and muddy the waters and try smear any sort of opposition.
She has stated quiet clearly that she is not an anti vaxer either. But you still spread that lie about her. Won’t you.
@Brinster:
Nothing but an overreaction from Jimmy Guerin that’s been manipulated and fuelled on by desperate state corruption apologists folks like you flapping all around threads like this.
You should be ashamed of yourself but you’re obviously not.
I don’t see what Mr Guerin is getting so upset about. Nothing O’Doherty has claimed is an insult to Veroica or her memory. To say it is an insult is just obviously politically motivated hyperbole. I’ve no great opinion about Gemma O’D one way or another, by the way
@Paul Devlin: She’s claiming that the person convicted of the murder was not responsible.
That robs the family of justice. Of closure.
Maybe you could come back to us when a conspiracy theorist starts making up lies about a murdered member of your family before proclaiming that Jimmy Guerin isn’t entitled to feel sickened by this.
@Mick Barnier: adding Insult to injury there. suggesting that Veronica guerin wasn’t doing things of her own accord but instead was being pushed in some way? Typical of O’Doherty cheerleaders, there’s always someone behind the curtain isn’t there?
@Brinster: you are a complete contradiction. Veronica’s brother claims it was John Gilligan that had her murdered, however gilligan was never found guilty of her murder, so therefore the family is robbed of closure already. Just goes to show what a clown you are. You FG shill
@Paddy Downey: grand. But if she spouts nonsense should we not point it out? Or should she get a free pass because she’s running for office? That isn’t how it works for anyone else.
@Paddy Downey: I agree. I’m not sure how I feel about her but I’d definitely like to see her given a platform to speak and be challenged through a campaign. It wouldn’t be a good look for the political establishment if she wasn’t given the opportunity.
The woman is an embarrassment to genuine journalists. She should forget about the presidency and concentrate on her works of fiction for the tin foil hat folk.
@Willie: Oh, please name all of these ‘genuine journalists’ for us please? The ones afraid to step out of line for fear of being blackballed by INM, or the ones who report whatever the government and Garda press office hand to them?
@Brinster: Whats embarrassing is seeing you completely lose your shit and carpetbomb every presidency article with your anti-gemma o doherty infantile rants.
@Dermo Adams: Now now Dermo, if the FG shills want to addfuel to the accusations that there’s a concerted effort to scupper the womans candidacy, we should just let brinster and his ilk keep doing what they’re doing.
I make an exception for anti vaxxers as I think they are the lowest of the low.
Dangerous people who feed on ignorance and misery.
And yet the people who are paid to post here every day lose the plot when I make a rare appearance.
Absolutely hilarious!
Dermo my good man – i will continue to expose anti vaxxers for as long as I want to. Annoying you and the other shinner bots here is merely the icing on the cake.
@The Risen: please, oh wise and well informed one, share with us poor ignorant citizens what’s really going on in our country. Or is it really our country? I hear the Illuminati have taken over.
A few weeks ago The Journal was full of O Doherty well wishers. People were going to vote for her in their droves. Not many people coming forward to support her. Classic Irish style drop the dead donkey.
@John Nolan: The Gemma “well wishers” usually crowd any article that mentions any of the other potential nominees. Strangely, they are mostly absent this evening when Gemma is front and center.
@Big Red: because he doesn’t believe in the daft idea of government collusion ?who would ?
Veronica Guerin uncovered a hornets nest of gangsters unbeknown to herself who like Cahill in his Mickey Mouse jocks, continued his criminal life with impunity .
The laugh of this notion is that CAB evolved from her death and if there was any iota of evidence of this nonsense claim it would have come out in the wash when millions of euro were being confiscated over the past 20 years . Heads rolled .Someone in the gang would have blabbed .
Guerin did not know what she was dealing with at the time and the thugs did not get into bed with anyone or were guided by anyone only by their greed
Did she explicitly say there was state involvement in the killing or are political and media opponents twisting what she said to throw a banana skin under her campaign
@Brinster: you seem to be a very bitter individual..you exhibit a hatred of Gemma o Doherty not based on political differences but something more twisted
@ruth mc cann: Labour Party, it’s rid of their ilk we need. Micky D got a taste for the champagne in the Aras and quickly forgot his one term pledge.
Typical Labour party member.
I would like it investigated if it was my sister,this journalist is hated by the establishment for exposing corruption etc in the country.recent revalations about gda in false murder fogures,false charges,false breath tests,false bank accounts.missing phones laptops belonging to 2 x commissioners.smoke is rising and the fire is burning.
@Brinster: That’s some slur on people, vile, full of bile, and totally unnecessary.
With such comments coming from you, who would normally be reasonable, but pointed, it makes me think that there is some real palpable fear from the political establishment in the country.
This woman exposes the naked corruption surrounding the top echelons of Irish society. Pushed to the fringes of journalism by DOB, she does valuable work in reminding people of who actually rules, not governs as best she can.
The other plastic paddies offering themselves have nothing but their own gain as the main goal. Gemma O Doherty offers a real alternative, an alternative to the yes men who won’t rock the boat on the wholesale corruption pervading Irish society.
She must be doing something right.
@Brinster: Sorry Brinster i don’t buy that at all. What she said was taken out of context. It doesn’t justify the total hysteria surrounding her attempt to get a nomination.
I’m not ignorant of the office of President, but i don’t know everything that surrounds it, what her powers are and aren’t.
But just wondering would her or anyone else being President give them access to documentation not available to ordinary people?? Would she have access to documents surrounding issues she has worked on, that would not be available to her under present circumstances??
She could cause serious trouble for a lot of people if that were the case.
I know my thinking is off on a tangent here. But the hysteria isn’t justified, it’s frantic in the extreme.
Here’s the anti vaxx link. https://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland/posts/2054268731292112
I’m not having a go at gamma (can’t afford the legal bills) but can somebody explain to me how she is going to tackle corruption from the aras? This is a serious question. I always believed the president was a ceremonial figure head whose main task was to sign bills as he was instructed and greet foreign diplomats and heads of state. Basically the Irish host.
I genuinely don’t understand how she can fight and expose corruption as president, would she not be more constructive in the dail or highlighting this from another platform.
Is she hoping that she will be exempt from the usual libel laws etc?
Can someone please explain this to me.
Just because Jimmy Guerin had a brilliant sister, does not make him a shining star. His opinion is no better and probably worse that the average ‘Joe’, because he is emotionally invested and maybe doesn’t want his ‘acceptance’ of events disturbed. No one can blame him for that, but one can blame him for not keeping an open mind and by his actions, seeking to keep an excellent anti-corruption candidate out of the election. Gemma Doherty is a shining light, similar to Veronica, shining a light into the dark and shady corners that few others have the guts to do. There are also those who like to think there are no dark and shady corners because it suits their ideal. But in the real world there are people and government who are willing to go to great lengths, including murder, to achieve their own agendas. Gemma Doherty seeks to ‘out’ these people, surely that’s a good thing and something we should help, not hinder. I believe Jimmy Guerin’s speech was unwise and possibly politically motivated. To try and hinder a person that is genuinely trying to fight corruption even ‘if’ they make small mistakes along the way, is just plain wrong. Corruption comes in many shapes and areas’ and it is this corruption that is responsible for the homeless, health, education, tax, infrastructure, services etc…. crises. Corruption, and incompetence. How will it be changed if people don’t play their part and support people like Gemma when they come along. Don’t just complain about corruption and then do nothing about it when you get the chance. The presidents office has the power of PR and little else, that may be enough to shine a light.
The burden of proof lies with the person making the extraordinary claims. Time to put up or shut up if she is not just a vile attention seeker using a viscous murder to spread lies and appeal to half witted conspiracy junkies.
Michael Shine: One of paedophile surgeon's earliest victims reveals he was abused 60 years ago
Saoirse McGarrigle
5 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: How much do you know about Irish exports?
7 hrs ago
Whatsdat
An AI chatbot has appeared on Irish users' WhatsApp - here's what you need to know
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say