This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Monday 25 March, 2019

Who got the nod? And who lost out? Here are Varadkar's new junior ministers

These are the backbenchers who just got a promotion today.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has today appointed his Ministers of State, with others losing junior ministries they had previously held.

Varadkar had warned that there would be disappointments and there certainly were – with some losing jobs and expectant others not getting them.

Varadkar promoted a number of TDs to junior ministries for the first time. Here is your full list of Ministers of State, including four Super Juniors who will be allowed to sit at Cabinet (but not have a formal say in its business):

Super Junior Ministers

Chief Whip and Minister of State for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands

Joe McHugh (Donegal)

Tourism 784_90502327 McHugh, second from right Source: Sam Boal/

Minister of State for Higher Education

Mary Mitchell O’Connor (Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown)

6629 Mary Mitchell_90514878 Source: Sam Boal/

Minister of State for Disability

Finian McGrath (Dublin Bay North)

PastedImage-33804 Source: Sam Boal/

Minister of State for Defence

Paul Kehoe (Wexford)

PastedImage-8145 Source: Leah Farrell/

Junior Ministers

Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform

John Paul Phelan (Carlow/Kilkenny)

jp phelan Source: @JPPhelan

Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development

Damien English (Meath West)

90432614_90432614 Source: Sam Boal/

Minister of State for Financial Services and Insurance

Michael D’Arcy  (Wexford)

jp phelan Source: @michaeldarcy

Minister of State for European Affairs

Helen McEntee (Meath East)

Meath East by-election Source: Niall Carson

Minister of State for Food, Forestry and Horticulture

Andrew Doyle (Wicklow)

download (15) Source:

Minister of State for Public Procurement, Open Government and e-Government

Patrick O’Donovan (Limerick)


Minister of State for Community, Natural Resources and Digital Development

Seán Kyne (Galway West)

download (5)

Minister of State for Mental Health and Older People

Jim Daly (West Cork)

PastedImage-27524 Source: Twitter

Minister for Trade, Employment, Business, EU Single Market and Data Protection

Pat Breen (Clare)

download (4)

Minister of State for the National Drug Strategy and Health Promotion

Catherine Byrne (Dublin South Central)

download (14)

Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development

Ciarán Cannon (Galway East)

90344583_90344583 Source: Sam Boal/

Minister of State for Equality, Immigration and Integration

David Stanton (Cork East)

download (17)

Minister of State for Training and Skills

John Halligan (Independent Alliance – Waterford)

JOHN Halligan has called on the gardaí to question the surviving Bon Secour nuns who worked in the Tuam mother and baby home. Source:

Minister of State for the OPW and Flood Relief

Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran (Independent Alliance – Longford/Westmeath)

90434145_90434145 Kevin 'Boxer' Moran with Health Minister Simon Harris. Source: Sam Boal

Minister of State for Tourism & Sport

Brendan Griffin (Kerry)

90431167_90431167 Source: Eamonn Farrell/

The Demoted List

Dara Murphy, a Coveney supporter from Cork, lost his position at the Department of Foreign Affairs where he served as the junior minister with responsibility for European Affairs.

Marcella Corcoran Kennedy has also lost her junior ministry in Health.

With reporting by Sinéad O’Carroll

New ministers in Finance, Justice, Housing: This is Leo Varadkar’s Cabinet

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


    Trending Tags