You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A man walking on Howth Harbour as large waves as Ex-Hurricane Ophelia battered Ireland Sam Boal via Rolling News

It could become a criminal offence to recklessly endanger emergency workers during a status red warning

Fianna Fáil spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Trade Darragh O’Brien is writing draft legislation.

Updated 3.15pm

FIANNA FÁIL SPOKESPERSON on Foreign Affairs and Trade Darragh O’Brien is to draft a legislation to make it a criminal offence to recklessly endanger the lives of emergency workers.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar told the Dáil today that he “very much agrees” with the sentiment of the legislation.

A status red weather warning was placed on the whole of Ireland yesterday as Storm Ophelia blasted across the country.

Despite numerous warnings telling people to remain indoors and avoid going anywhere near the sea, photos and videos emerged throughout the day of people risking their lives by getting into the sea.

“Emergency services were magnificent today. They deserve our support. I will publish legislation to give them the protection they deserve,” O’Brien tweeted last night.

“Strong deterrent against reckless behaviour which put emergency services at risk today is needed. I will draft legislation to do so,” he said.
https://twitter.com/DarraghOBrienTD/status/920055364468527104

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, O’Brien said that there should be consequences to those who put other people’s live in danger unnecessarily.

“What I’m trying to do is to bring about a deterrent of people doing what we say in Salthill, doing what we say in Portmarnock, Kerry, Wexford.

People have the right to do what they want but not when it endangers anyone else’s life and also when it wastes the time of emergency services. The emergency services are there when someone genuinely gets in trouble.

“I’m not talking about if it’s a windy day out there and people are walking along the coast. I’m talking about if there’s a specific warning like yesterday, it was a red alert, it was a hurricane, and people still thought that it was fine to jump into the sea,” he said.

Yesterday, five windsurfers were rescued by the Coast Guard after they got into difficulty at Dundalk Bay, Co Louth.

The Happy Pear businessmen were also heavily criticised after they posted a photo of themselves heading out for a morning swim. They later apologised and removed the photo from their social media.

Adding to this, people were spotted at Salthill walking, swimming and taking selfies, close to the time when Ophelia became its most powerful.
https://twitter.com/EdCartyPA/status/919920723833032705

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar paid tribute to the emergency services and local authorities for working tirelessly through the storm yesterday.

Fianna Fáil Micheál Martin leader asked the Taoiseach if he would be interested in working with  other parties on the new legislation.

Varadkar said he agreed with the sentiment of the draft legislation, stating that the lives of first responders were put at risk on a number of occasions yesterday.

There were two incidents in particular yesterday that almost cost the lives of emergency service workers, he added.

Fianna Fáil Councillor Niall Kelleher spoke out Facebook last night calling those who surfed during the storm yesterday “idiotic”.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Kelleher said: “Yesterday was exceptional weather. I’ve seen it, especially here in Kerry when we’ve had weather alerts in the past, where people have gone and have had to be rescued.

“They’re putting the lives of the people in the emergency services in danger by doing such an act, which may lead to a person needing to rescued and that was none too dissimilar to what we heard reports of yesterday. That’s why I’m in favour of a legislation like this.”
https://twitter.com/TeresaMannion/status/919910266749505536

Yesterday evening, the Irish Coast Guard made a direct plea for people to stay away from exposed coasts, tweeting:

We continue to advise the public to stay away from exposed beaches, cliffs and piers, harbours and promenades during storm conditions.

https://twitter.com/Squireweeks/status/919974776927588353

Despite this, Gerard O’Flynn of the Irish Coast Guard said that they’re part of a minority, and the vast majority of people abided by the extreme weather warnings.

“The two earlier incidents were innocent errors really. The bad weather hadn’t hit yet, and they were confident about what they were doing,” O’Flynn said.

“But it’s not the day for heading out to sea, where our resources could needed elsewhere.”

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar issued a warning to those out in the stormy conditions too, calling it a “matter of life and death”.

Additional reporting by Christina Finn

Read: School closures, power outages and widespread disruptions: How Ophelia will affect Ireland today

More: LIVE: Crews from Northern Ireland and Scotland to help restore power here

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

130 Comments
    Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 1:17 PM

I bet there are also a few current plots in motion by Ukraine and its allies too try to kill Vladimir Putin, because that’s what happens in conflicts…

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 1:22 PM

Though it only appears newsworthy or important enough to put a face in those at the top that are kept far from the conflict, not the poor sods on both sides dying in a conflict that the USA is willing to continue to fight until the last Ukrainian…

Mute J Ven
    Favourite J Ven
    May 7th 2024, 1:27 PM

@Dvsespaña: And good so, last I checked Ukraine is the one being invaded, it’s normal for them wanting to take out Putin, but the Russians doing that to Zelensky, being a good leader or not is plain psychopath.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    May 7th 2024, 1:35 PM

@Dvsespaña: ‘that’s what happens in conflicts’, but the conflict shouldn’t be happening in the first place. It’s Putin’s fault that it is.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 2:02 PM

@J Ven: The reality of Ukraine both currently and in the years between the fall of the Soviet Union and the Russian invasion, is not as simplistic or clear cut as the Russians are bad, Ukrainians are good, Americans are best of all, frankly the ludicrous designations we have been invited to believe, don’t stand up to reading a history book or reviewing the available facts, rather than blindly accepting a bite sized spoon fed finger painted picture of geopolitics, look beyond the propaganda on all sides.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    May 7th 2024, 2:05 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: it’s the indiscriminate bombing in the east of Ukraine since 2014 trying to get rid or kill Russian speaking Ukrainians because they wanted self rule but be still part of Ukraine. So after 10 years of looking for help from Russia, they crossed the border to shield them from a planned invasion to overwhelm the rebels by 100,000 Ukraine troops backed by the USA. So it was the USAs fault. They saw an excuse to use Ukraine as a battering ram against Russia. Ukraine is now falling apart.

Mute Dan Skelton
    Favourite Dan Skelton
    May 7th 2024, 2:11 PM

@Dvsespaña: In fairness, I say 99.9% of the world wants that to happen. The 00.1% who don’t are either allies, or the troll bots that plague social media.

Mute Brendan O'Brien

@brendan C5: You really do swallow Russian propaganda whole.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 7th 2024, 2:32 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: presumably another russian bit. Anybody who bothers to check Ukrainian history can see through this nonsense. On that basis, only somebody in thrall to or in the pay of putin could even contemplate pushing this narrative. Putin is an imperialist adventurer. His govt colleagues beneficiaries of this. Lavrov peskov and others are the leeches that cling to and feed off putin, along with RT, diplomats like the mudak filatov. In fairness to Xi, at least he does it with style

Mute Fergus Cullen
    Favourite Fergus Cullen
    May 7th 2024, 2:53 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: tell me how it’s Putins fault? He waited years, in fact some say too long, for a peace deal. He even recommended Donbass region not to join with Russia and instead make an agreement with Ukraine. Unfortunately Ukrainian troops, backed by NATO, built up in the east ready to ethnically cleanse the Russian speakers and Russia had no choice but to intervene. Since the US backed coup in 2014, Russians and Russian speaking Ukrainians have been vilified and dehumanised to justify an unnecessary war. Please look up Victoria Nuland’s phonecall and John Mearsheimer on YouTube.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    May 7th 2024, 3:01 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: No conflict should ever happen, but alas, it’s been going on since the dawn of humanity. It’s all about power and resources. People have been forced to fight for what their leaders want.The use of religion was used to effectively brainwash people into fighting for their gods over others, race was used to fight against invaders of you leaders land. The good guy in any conflict is always the victor. It doesn’t matter who started or why it was started. Conflicts are never black and white. To Russia we’re seen as the bad guy just as we see them as the bad guy. Putin for sure is a “bad guy”, but by equal measure the USA is just as bad. Nato is just as bad. Citizens of these countries are all forced and brainwashed to fight for what they perceive to be right by their leaders who only care about wealth and legacy. If Ukraine win the west is good russia bad and usa is the corporate, capitalist, hero who saved the day. American and EU interests will make billions rebuilding ukraine and get the resources there to. If Russia wins it will go down as the hero who stood up against the western Corporatocracy who sought to cripple their way of life and steal their resources and the american and european interests will still make billions rebuilding ukraine and Russia. Social media is the modern weapon used to brainwash and control the narrative by bombarding one side of the argument with biased rhetoric. It creates trolls who demonise those who would question the war on all sides and claim its side is the seeker of righteousness. The reality is the current economic structure of the “superpowers” requires conflict to drive the economy and keep the elite rich. To think putin is any more or less evil than his western counterparts is naive, and to suggest his invasion is wrong just because it’s not your side of the conflict is simplistic. We assume it’s just Putin’s ego driving the war, but in reality one man can’t control an entire nation no matter how deranged and powerful we’re led to believe he is. It’s a conflict driven and manipulated by the global superpowers. I wouldn’t be one bit surprised if putin is having tea and biscuits with the Americans laughing and having a bit of craic about the wealth the war is, and will be, generating for them all.

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    May 7th 2024, 3:08 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Others believe in western propaganda. Swings and roundabouts. The reality is that this war is being encouraged by both NATO to promote them and enable their expansion, the USA to enable them to profit from war, and Russia to profit from war and gain a bit of land. The only losers will be the Russian and Ukrainian citizens forced to die and fight for their respective leaders wealth generation.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 3:19 PM

@Dan Skelton: So in your expert estimation based on a strict diet of simplistic propaganda, you believe that 99% of the world wants to elevate the current proxy war conflict in Ukraine, into a global nuclear world war three, that eventually kills every living thing on the planet? You are obviously a genius and definitely not a troll bot and part of the problem…

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 7th 2024, 3:27 PM

@Dvsespaña: and all this would have been avoided had Putin shelved his imperialist ambitions.

Mute Maniac 2000
    Favourite Maniac 2000
    May 7th 2024, 5:40 PM

@Dvsespaña: not that I’d agree with taking out anyone but of course – it surely would solve a lot of Ukraines problems

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    May 7th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Roy Dowling: Gaza is not Palestine, and Israel withdrew from Gaza in 2005 – leaving a well developed region and abandoning all their settlements.
    The Gaza population failed to build on this opportunity and instead they elected a terrorist organisation to run the territory.
    What could go wrong? – with their main objective being to turn their water mains pipes into rockets, build tunnels instead of schools and invent the suicide vest for use in Israeli restaurants.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 8:28 PM

@Maniac 2000: Ok, lets look at this logically. Russia under Putin illegally invaded Ukraine, but not in an unprovoked attack, there was lots of provocation, does that justify the Russian invasion? No, but you can see why it might from their perspective.

The USA have pushed NATO up to the borders of Russia, with Ukraine being the most in their face middle finger of all.

In addition attacks on ethnic Russian Ukrainians living in the separatist areas, which were back by US intelligence services to poke the bear using Ukrainian assets from Neo Nazi groups in Ukraine, this isn’t some crazy conspiracy theory, its documented fact along with secret CIA Black sites that have been operating in Ukraine for years.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 8:35 PM

Russia has despite slaughtering tens of thousands of Ukrainians, fought this conflict with one or more hands behind its back. Russia is a nuclear super power that has not even unleased its full conventional power against Ukraine to date.

But if Putin was “Taken out” as numerous self appointed military experts that were all battle hardened in the campaigns of call of duty suggest, that itself would probably escalate the conflict straight to nuclear, because his successor would seek to stamp their authority on Russia and to be seen as the defender of Russia in the aftermath of its leader being assassinated.

We are as closer to nuclear war than we have ever been, the last time was when the Soviet Union tried to put it’s missiles in Cuba, which ironically doesn’t actually border the USA.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    May 7th 2024, 1:31 PM

@Dvsespaña: You castigate the US for answering Ukraines call for material assistance in defending itself from a murderous Russian invasion.

You, strangely, make no mention of Russias determination to continue its invasion of a sovereign European nation, whatever the cost. Whats the story there?

Do you think you might deign to acknowledge Ukraines agency in its own defence?

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 1:52 PM

@honey badger: You appear in all your comments about the conflict in Ukraine to start the timeline from the Russian invasion and suffer from selective amnesia about all that went before, as far back as the fall of the Soviet Union.

This isnt a simple regional conflict in which the Russians are the only responsible party.

It doesn’t justify their illegal invasion of Ukraine, but to claim the USA and the rest of NATO are the hero’s coming to aid Ukraine in a conflict in which they had no part in instigating is delusional to say the least.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 7th 2024, 3:42 PM

@Dvsespaña: you mean from the invasion of crimea onwards or from the moment russia planted its forces in east ukraine onwards?

Mute 087 bed
    Favourite 087 bed
    May 7th 2024, 2:14 PM

I think the US may be ahead of Russia in taking the C lown out, The war is over, Russia won. What a waste of life, all to enrich US investors.

Mute Washpenrebel
    Favourite Washpenrebel
    May 7th 2024, 3:21 PM

@087 bed: The US said it would give billions to Ukraine. The truth is that the money never left the US, straight into the bank accounts of the military industrial complex. Then Russia hits the silo where the weapons are stored. War is a profitable business for a few rich men.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 7th 2024, 3:22 PM

@087 bed: if the war is over, and russia have won, then why is it continuing?

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    May 7th 2024, 3:49 PM

@087 bed: you really shout get out more.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    May 7th 2024, 1:44 PM

@James Groden: I condemn both the Russian invasion of Ukraine and Israel’s ongoing crimes against Palestinians: do you?

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan
    May 7th 2024, 2:00 PM

If the Russians wanted him dead they would have killed him by now. They can drop a missile on him whenever they choose.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    May 7th 2024, 8:07 PM

@Des Hanrahan: Evidently not Des. Did you read the article?

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    May 7th 2024, 1:16 PM

Unsurprising really given the despotic russonazis just continue their slaughter unabated.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    May 7th 2024, 1:53 PM

Concurrent sentencing should be abolished in Ireland.

That said, hopefully some agent manages to get something into Putins food that causes him to explode.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 7th 2024, 1:31 PM

De @ th to putin

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    May 7th 2024, 2:07 PM

@Paddy Ryan: learn your history from books not rte, BBC or sky news. Your completely brainwashed god love ya.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    May 7th 2024, 3:51 PM

@brendan C5: says yer man.. you’d be a hitler supported if this was the 1930s, I’ve no doubt about it.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    May 7th 2024, 1:38 PM

@James Groden: Please link to this cheerleading you fetid putin fluffer. Thanks in advance.

Mute Dan Skelton
    Favourite Dan Skelton

A plot to assassinate Zelensky? Who would have guessed it!

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    May 7th 2024, 1:53 PM

Might be a question with an obvious answer, but how can an account be shown as 10y, but I’ve never seen the account name before (Dvsespaña)? Account name changes? Also, and I can’t believe I have to type this, all wrongs are wrong, regardless of which country, government or citizens commit those wrongs. Human rights and morality don’t get ignored because of borders (Wallace & Daly and the emerging Far Right here please take note of this Sesame Street level knowledge).

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    May 7th 2024, 2:07 PM

@Numinous20111: Perhaps its all a plot being perpetrated by the journal.ie in league with myself, the FSB and Putin??

But in reality, I have been posting here for ten years, perhaps you are just not as observant as you think…
    :-)

Mute Des Hanrahan
    Favourite Des Hanrahan
    May 7th 2024, 2:50 PM

@Numinous20111: Re. Accounts , Remember when they changed the system about a year ago ? Well the record of how long people were commenting on the Journal went crazy . I have been on for more than 10 years but am shown as 1 year .

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    May 7th 2024, 3:24 PM

@Des Hanrahan: that account is new to me too. Suspicious, isnt it

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    May 7th 2024, 1:30 PM

I think they both need to be carefull with the cup of tea.

Mute Malachy Cox
    Favourite Malachy Cox
    May 7th 2024, 3:07 PM

One of them two of them in my opinion.