You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I believe he was abducted': Brother of Philip Cairns says DNA could be key to finding the truth

The 13-year-old went missing 29 years ago this month. Gardaí are still actively investigating his disappearance.

File Photo Philip Cairns who has been missing nearly 29 years this month. Philips brother Eoin was on the Ryan Turbidy radio show today talking about it. Eoin Cairns, pictured here with his mother, brother of Philip.

ON 23 OCTOBER 1986, Philip Cairns disappeared without a trace in the Rathfarnham area of Dublin.

The 13-year-old had gone to school like any other day and returned home during his lunch break. However, Philip never returned to school. The last person to see him was his grandmother.

It’s been 29 years since he went missing. His brother Eoin Cairns, who was just 11 at the time, told RTÉ Radio One’s Ryan Tubridy today that he believes his brother was abducted by someone that day.

I do believe he was abducted, it could have been pure opportunism by somebody, because I don’t think that somebody had tried to gain his trust in some way or try and lure him away. I do think it was a simple case of snatching, an abduction.

Eoin said that day was like any other. They got up, got dressed and went to school.

His mother, who would usually be home by tea time, was a little late that evening having brought his sister to an appointment in the dental hospital in Dublin.

He never returned home 

Philip_Cairns Wikipedia Wikipedia

Upon returning home, she asked where Philip was. “We said we didn’t know, we didn’t see him,” said Eoin.

“She was a little bit anxious really, thinking, well, that’s not really like Philip, usually he would check in and say where he was going,” said Eoin. He said it wasn’t like his brother to go “off on a whim”.

Philip had just started secondary school, so his father said he was probably just out making friends and that he would no doubt be back when he got hungry.

However, Eoin said his mother’s intuition got the better of her and she decided to ring around some of his friends. One of the mothers of his friends told her that Philip had not returned to school after the lunch break.

“This was completely out of character for Philip, he hadn’t missed a day of school. It was completely off the wall,” said Eoin.

That night the school and the local football field was checked, but nothing was found. It wasn’t until a week later when a school bag was found in a laneway, was any hope given to the family.

File Photo Philip Cairns who has been missing nearly 29 years this month. Philips brother Eoin was on the Ryan Turbidy radio show today talking about it. File photo of the parents of Philip Cairns in 2004 when a computer generated image of what their son would look like was released to the public.

Discovery of the school bag

The bag was apparently bone-dry, despite being found in a wet laneway, which begged more questions.

Eoin says he remembers when the gardaí arrived at their door to tell them about the bag.

“They said he could be in the area and we could find him in maybe a matter of hours,” said Eoin.

Then it was really a case of waiting for more information, but nothing came of it, there was no further breakthrough. We thought this would be the key unlocking the mystery.

Eoin said it was a “crushing disappointment” for the family. 

However, at the time of Philip’s disappearance, the science behind DNA was relatively new.

At the time, the science behind DNA was only in its infancy so they would have need quite a sizeable uncontaminated sample to do a proper analysis of it. Now DNA is much better in terms of profiling, so there is a much better chance of them being able to identify different persons based on a small sample of DNA.

He said DNA evidence could be the key to unlock the mystery of who abducted Phillip.

The typical older brother 

Eoin said Philip was like a typical older brother in many ways.

We used to play football together. We’d have these ridiculously long football competitions. The crazy stupid things. We had an interest in sea fishing. My father was a member of Dublin Sea Anglers Club and Philip was very interested in it. Philip loved that… he was great fun to be around.

Last year, Philip Cairns senior passed away. The disappearance of his son was something his son, Eoin, said his father “compartmentalised”.

After Philip’s disappearance, his father had to get on with things, get back to work and raise his four daughters and son.

He had a very close bond with Philip… he rarely discussed the disappearance of Philip with me. It was difficult for him to talk about. He loved fishing, but for years he couldn’t go near a fishing rod. When he retired, he went back to it. And I think that helped him to deal with things and a sense of him remembering his relationship with him.

Eoin said he likes to think that Philip is still alive.

I’d like to think so. I like to think that he would just return to us. My mum obviously hopes that he will return to us, but really, after 29 years more than likely, the thinking is that we would just like to know where he is, where he remains really.
If he is alive, I hope he’s well. I would love if he’d contact us and let us know he’s well, I would love to see him again, of course. I know really, deep down, that the likelihood of it, the possibility is very remote.
You have to hope for the best and prepare for the worst. More than likely there won’t be a happy ending.
After 29 years we just want an ending. It is still an open investigation and every couple of years, we sit down with the guards to see if there are any new developments. The guards have been fantastic.

The case is still open and gardaí are actively investigating Philp’s disappearance.

Read: Seven years on, Gavin McCarthy’s murderer has never been brought to justice>

Read: Police identify kayaker ‘with Irish accent’ found dead last month>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

35 Comments
    Mute Rob Hall
    Favourite Rob Hall
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:05 PM

FF in second place? How quickly we forget

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:37 PM

Where are the people’s brains located in this country.?

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:39 PM

No I would say thats because of Martin’s debating. Personally I think he could be a great Taoiseach

See 40 more replies ▾
    Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:42 PM

Said it days ago, FG and media too busy working against SF, Micheál Martin performed very well in debates

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:47 PM

Brendan are you any relation to Rashers Tierney, another journal poster?

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:48 PM

Martin was part of the ff government that brought this country to its knees.

Mute James McCartney
    Favourite James McCartney
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:49 PM

Plus with a lot of new blood (people who didn’t hold ministerial positions and new candidates) in FF people are more willing to vote for them. Any of the old guard being returned were always getting in due to their individual popularity.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly

Andrew you are right. All the fighting between FG and SF people on here allowed FF to step back, laugh, sneak up and snake their way back into the ballot box.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:54 PM

LOL as if the journal counts in the greater scheme of things,
    get out of that bubble Greg

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:56 PM

This is first preference votes, I’m hopeful they won’t get many transfers from the independent vote as that was what right to change were advising people to do, just vote for their canidets and no preferences for the established parties.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:03 AM

@Brendan, what is the ideal government then?? what combination of all those muppets could lead a stable government??

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:06 AM

21 candidates in my constituency.
    Had to hold my nose after # 10 or so.
    Single FF candidate got a solid 21.

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins

You have a short memory, Martin was part of the ff government that brought this country to its knees.!!

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:08 AM

@ Brendan – you assume that the Irish people collectively have a brain!! This result proves that we don’t – we will get the Govt we deserve just as we did when we voted FF into power on 3 occasions in the 2000s and watched as they drove the country into the ground. Then we go on to punish severely the Govt that rescued us. FFS!!

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:09 AM

Motherof ok will take that back. But in general FF have managed to take a few % off Sf and Fg here and there along the way through debates and other means and thats why SF and FG went down and FF went up (shouldn’t have assumed 50 or so of us political anoraks influenced the country!!!! :)

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty

All left to get jobs abroad

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:11 AM

And FG punished the country even further. Despicable parties both of them.

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:22 AM

I never felt very rescued by FG/Lab. I’m a public sector worker. My wages are lower than 5 years ago due to a raft of extra taxes and stealth charges. I’ve no prospect of a payrise until at least 2018 thanks to LRA. I’m working longer and harder for less €. The recovery is not happening here. That’s why I didn’t vote FG. Thousands more like me in the public sector feel the same.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:24 AM

@phil Are you basing that on his prior performance in govt?

Mute Diablo2014
    Favourite Diablo2014
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:32 AM

FF were the ones who cut public sector wages. And good luck to you if SF ever got power

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:37 AM

More than anything this election will show not that we have a collective brain but that we don’t really enjoy a range of choice. It’s a case of “cleanest dirty shirt” and about as depressingly poetic as the song that quote is from.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:42 AM

Greg, you spent most of your time bashing sf and not ff or any other party. You fall into that category yourself.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:42 AM

Rob: what you mean?

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:44 AM

Brendan: one is here but not many ppl voted for me.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:46 AM

Two people in particular that I am watching to see how they fare. Regina Doherty I hope loses her seat and Lorraine Higgins who can’t lose her seat as she has failed to get elected 4 times already but it would be sweet if it happened for the 5th time.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:52 AM

Regina Doherty and Higgins are the female versions of Phil hogan and angry Kelly.Another two charmers.

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:53 AM

this country should be run as a business. let Michael O’leary have a go.

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:56 AM

FG were handed a poisoned chalice.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:01 AM

And they emptied that poison on to the needy, the vulnerable and the workers.

Mute Britney Spurs !
    Favourite Britney Spurs !
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:17 AM

Phil your a tool,just martin

Mute Noel Howley
    Favourite Noel Howley
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:22 AM

Countries are not businesses, they are societies, what would a business do with a homeless person suffering from mental ill-health for instance?

Mute Oisin Gilmore
    Favourite Oisin Gilmore
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:41 AM

Complete eejits.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:44 AM

Michael O’Leary running a country sounds like hell. Every time people say these things I wonder how thick you have to be to suggest it. If you can’t see how it would sick for working people you must be doubly thick.

Mute Velma Greene
    Favourite Velma Greene
    Feb 27th 2016, 3:07 AM

Like Browne’s cows… they resist new tracks – ho hummm…!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 27th 2016, 4:28 AM

@rob hall. Never 4gotten but a better optiin than FG. We need some change at least.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 27th 2016, 4:32 AM

@offtheball. People have had enough of FG & austerity taxes. FG told us of recovery but nobody felt any improvement apart from business’s. FG should have looked after its citizens First.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 27th 2016, 4:37 AM

@n. Howley – Exactly. FG & to a lesser extent Labours policy has been totally business orientated. People did not matter. Lessons to be learnt.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:05 AM

The Entertainment Budget would take a hammering, if that happened!

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:30 AM

Because it is the older generation and senior citizens voting for them who don’t look at party policies only romantic ideas of parties in the past.

Mute Rob Hall
    Favourite Rob Hall
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:13 AM

@everyone – FF created the mess and coupled with a global recession that destroyed us. But I’m hearing (and I can’t believe it) that we should hand the car keys back to the Irish version of the wolves of wall Street even though they wrote the car off? OMG people, so you think FF had changed its spots? 80 years of them repeating the same behaviors in power says no, no, no.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:29 AM

Whoever voted for FF, shame on you and you should have your vote taken from you.

Mute nikki
    Favourite nikki
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:36 AM

@watersedge Higgins only cares about her own town. Forgot about the rest of East Galway until it was time to canvass. Amazes me how the town is littered with posters of all these various people looking g for out vote and I’ve only ever seen Two of them in our town.

Mute nikki
    Favourite nikki
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:37 AM

@ Noel what have the government done for homeless people or those suffering mental health issues? Bad example.

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:15 PM

At least when we voted for gay marriage you felt good after voting.it wasn’t like today trying to vote for the pig with the smallest snout.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan

@{james,
    We all didn’t vote for gay marriage.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy

Poor Eamon has his knickers in a twist.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

It’s ‘panties’ Keith…Eamon has his panties in a twist.

Mute Ronny Mull
    Favourite Ronny Mull
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:23 AM

As South Park put it, it’s like voting for a douche or a giant turd

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:29 AM

Turd sandwich was it not?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:48 AM

@Keith Wizzy,
    You look like the type who would wear knickers.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:38 AM

Sorry Eamonn but transvestism is common among straight men. Are you self hating and repressed? You’re far too brave for me to judge you from your supplied profile pic.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:40 AM

@Keith Wizzy,
    No, I’m just a normal red blooded straight man.

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:57 AM

Even if you voted no Eamon you voted for something you feel strongly about can you honestly say you were inspired yesterday.

Mute nikki
    Favourite nikki
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:40 AM

Very true!

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Feb 27th 2016, 11:34 AM

@ james,
    No, but I’ll be glad to see the back of FG/Lab.

Mute Paddy James
    Favourite Paddy James
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:22 PM

Anyone else having trouble refreshing the articles…

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:38 PM

Yes, but it could be down to the sh**y broadband in West cork.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:51 PM

FG and FF will do a deal with another general election before Christmas

See 29 more replies ▾

I think it’s sorted now but I was having trouble for the last hour too

ck
    Mute ck
    Favourite ck
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:01 AM

From 2011?

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal

I wonder who Fine Geal will be sentencing on the day of the second election.

ck
    Mute ck
    Favourite ck

Our Gerry?

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Apart from their broadband, west cork in particular isn’t a bad place. In fact, there are other qualities in that stretch of Ireland that make broadband or the thought thereof look rather ridiculous. A Dubliner.

Mute Brendan Kerins
    Favourite Brendan Kerins

Yes I think someone is editing the posts as they are being posted.

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk

Probably that IRA pedophile guy, why?

ck
    Mute ck
    Favourite ck

Feckin editor with a big jackeen’s head on them.

Mute Báidín Fheilimí
    Favourite Báidín Fheilimí
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:15 AM

Slán abhaile Judas Joan. Hope to never hear that blood curdling voice again.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:41 AM

Yes journal refreshing is frustrating but anyone else want to discuss the banker car torturer ? Comments disabled obviously but jaysus some people have too much time

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:43 AM

Like the government

Feb 27th 2016, 12:46 AM

Ah chewey , I hate cats but wouldn’t wish that on any animal . I don’t get why they’ve set up a gofund page , the guy is a banker , he should be forced to pay for the cat’s treatment .

Mute Noel Howley
    Favourite Noel Howley
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:54 AM

Okay I get that M Martin was a good debater but I just can’t locate what exactly Fianna Fail are supposed stand for, can someone give me one thing they stand for, just one thing?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:12 AM

If this means iphone joan and bellenda gets divorced i think we are all happy

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:11 AM

Why do you hate cats, Suzie?

Feb 27th 2016, 2:15 AM

Grot , they freak me out , I’ve never even held one . I hate the way they jump up on the worktops and tables . I just don’t trust them ! .

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:25 AM

..”We can’t make totally accurate predictions about Dáil seats yet, because tonight’s exit poll only takes into account first preference votes.”

I took part in the IPSOS MRBI poll outside St Endas National School, Whitefriar St, and was asked who I gave my 1st and 2nd preferences to.

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:38 AM

Power

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:56 AM

Is it just house cats or do you hate the big cats too?

Mute evil lynn
    Favourite evil lynn
    Feb 27th 2016, 4:17 AM

Yep I’ve been seeing the same shite for years

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Feb 27th 2016, 4:26 AM

Had trouble posting comments earlier !

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:55 AM

Well traditionally, from the 1930′s forward, FG stood for the powerful insiders within Ireland’s new Establishment, privileged folks with substantial property/land holdings, the strong farmer, professionals, long established businesses providing significant employment, shop keepers, etc; all of those with the iron grip on old money.

FF, on the other hand, stood for ambitious folk, not born with a silver spoon in their gob, but wanting part of the action, willing to haggle, hustle, struggle, strive to secure a better education for their offspring, to not be a burden on anyone, including the state, and to achieve a better life, similar to lifestyle experiences of those with Fine Gael tendencies!

Almost 100 years on…

Mute Joe McCormac
    Favourite Joe McCormac
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:30 AM

@ Rory. That’s a pretty accurate description of both parties.

Mute Darragh Joyce
    Favourite Darragh Joyce
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:39 AM

No no! This makes perfect sense. if he’s a banker then we all pay. Thats the way it works in this country.

Mute Edmond Mc Grath
    Favourite Edmond Mc Grath
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:08 AM

Election!! That’s about it! Or one could say they stand for everything and nothing at the same time!

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:11 AM

Themselves

Feb 27th 2016, 9:11 AM

House cats , Grot .

Feb 27th 2016, 9:13 AM

Very true , Darragh !

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:16 AM

Delighted Labour are in the bear pit..they deserve every single lost vote that will dump them out..bye bye Moany

Mute TheCredibleHulk
    Favourite TheCredibleHulk
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:04 PM

You know the country’s in trouble when the biggest party are no party independents!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:24 PM

Those figures ad up to over 110% – they’ve forgotten to deduct the smaller parties from Indy/Others

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:25 PM

That figure is wrong, on Times website it’s around 19%.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:39 PM

Irish Times exit poll showing:

Bad result for Labour and Sinn fein (on where they were at)

Not great for Fine Gael , Soc Dems or AAA/PBP going down on expected recent polls.

Good result for Fianna Fail and Greens (How did the greens get up 3.6%?) and Renua over doubling from 1 to 2%

I think Michael Martin single handily managed to bring FF up that high.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:41 PM

Greens on 3.6 because they’re running a candidate in each constituency. May not translate into a single seat.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:43 PM

Sinn Féin have increased their vote by 50% on 2011 election, I don`t know how you could call that bad

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:44 PM

Greg, possibility of SF nearly doubling the amount of TDs they have is a bad result to you?

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:46 PM

“The poll indicates the first preference votes of the parties are: Fine Gael 26.1 per cent; Labour 7.8 per cent; Fianna Fáil 22.9 per cent; Sinn Féin 14.9; AAA/PBP 3.6 per cent; Greens 3.5 per cent; Social Democrats 2.8 per cent; Renua 2.6 per cent; Others 16.1 per cent.”

FF only 3% away from FG.

SF as predicted. 1% increase a year in 5 years of austerity? Jesus that’s bad. Will take them ten year to get anywhere at that rate. Bye Gerry. FF gained more in the last 2 weeks than SF did in 5 years.

Mute Susan Carabine
    Favourite Susan Carabine

We have one running here in Kerry, he doesn’t even live here but will move back if he gets elected…

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill

Greg with likely transfers SF will get between 26-30 seats. Hardly a bad result, in fact at that rate they could well be the leading party in 5 years time! Personally thought SD’s would do a wee bit better, delighted that Lab are getting the beating they so thoroughly deserve.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:52 PM

1% increase??
    In 2011 they got 8.8 % of the vote, now they are on 14.9%
    How did you work that out luke? Noonans calculator?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:53 PM

Irish Times exit poll has FG, after five years in govt, on a lower percentage of the vote than in 2007, after a decade of FF

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:55 PM

You must be using Gerry’s calculator. SF got 9.9%

I said 10% so as to make it simple math.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:59 PM

Luke’s figures are correct for Sinn Fein in 2011. 10%.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus

Have a look Luke – actually it was 8.48%
    Spin away there though DJ

https://www.tcd.ie/Political_Science/staff/michael_gallagher/Election2011.php

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:00 AM

My bad i should have declared percentage of seats

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly

Luke in fairness you are right. FF managed to sneak in and take about 2/3% off SF and FG each and that’s why they jumped up in the last few weeks.

FF did increase their vote in the last few weeks more than SF did in 5 years.

C’Oneill SF are always transfer toxic and have been for 40 years. They may improve but you will see a lot less transfers to SF than to other parties. I don’t think you are wrong on their increase in seats by the way (won’t be 30 but will go over 20) , just a bad result compared to where they should have been at if you look back 6 months ago.

FF were the sneaky ones though and like I said above Michael Martin single handidly has done this for them. Other than Him who else has even been near the media from FF in 4 weeks?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

Luke has it dawned on you Fianna Fail were by far the most supported party in Ireland since time began hardly rocket science that they would make a come back, Sinn Fein have done remarkably well considering?

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

And Independents and other have also outstripped SF by the looks of it.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Sinn Fein were also on 15% for the locals two years ago. Looks like no improvement since then.

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal

Fair point, although local elections are always considered to be very poor indicators of general elections, with voters punishing the governing parties. In which case for SF to have held on to those votes would be a considerable achievement, but I suppose that is not something you would agree with.

Mute Enda Dirrane
    Favourite Enda Dirrane

PR dude

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:26 AM

@luke not all about M.M. a lot if candidates working hard in the ground for the last 5 years. Thomas Byrne Darragh O’Brien Lisa chambers for example. They had to take a lot of stick but kept there heads down and worked hard. Unlike F.G. this campaign started 5 years ago for F.F.

Mute Osine
    Favourite Osine
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:28 AM

Michael McGrath gave a good account of himself against both Leo and Noonan. One to watch.

Mute Dave Guilfoyle
    Favourite Dave Guilfoyle
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:30 AM

Barry cowed had preformed solidly on TV debates

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:31 AM

Reg, you know.. ‘locals’..

Mute Enda Dirrane
    Favourite Enda Dirrane
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:35 AM

You sound scared, All Ireland people on the move, maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon… We don’t need guns anymore… You and those of your ilk are finished simply by our reasoning.
    Now fruck off to your safe place Konmandant

Mute Enda Dirrane
    Favourite Enda Dirrane
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:40 AM

Comment intended for Luke Kelly (the troll, not the Sage)

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:43 AM

The left footers are still at it,Sinn Fein are on the rise!!the media campaign led by Rte has been nothing short of a witch hunt against them..news talk played dirty too along with the o brien owned papers bar a few decent journalists.
    Next government will last 3 months at best,going by the exit polls we’re a nation of masochists interbred with goldfish.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:51 AM

There won;t be any champagne bottles popping in SF HQ tonight, Davie. Suck it up, kid.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:04 AM

Never mind the champagne, there won`t be any labour candidates in labour HQ tonight Luke,
    Suck it up kid.

Mute Charlene Curran
    Favourite Charlene Curran
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:09 AM

‘MM singlehandedly won it for FF’??? Ah come on now. It wouldn’t have mattered if he had have been a wooden board set at that podium, Irish people’s natural tendency to get scared of change (owing largely to a lifetime of never having any), an older rural population that are not totally yet up to speed with multiple information channels, and a blackout negative sweep of SF by the Irish Media, en masse I might add, all factor into why FF has gained ground. The media tactic worked on a population of scared sheep! When history looks at this election, that will be its testimony! FF didn’t have to lift a finger, and they knew it!

Mute Julie Denning
    Favourite Julie Denning
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:10 AM

Luke said a year.Read the post again. A trip to spevsavers might be in order

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:13 AM

Whatever way youse look at it, this election is a disaster for fg and labour. I’d imagine that the mood in sf hq will be a hell of a lot better than the one in fg/lab hq.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 26th 2016, 10:59 PM

Between the count and the rugby, loads of entertainment tomorrow!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú

Fuc the rugby.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

Too true we’re out anyway

Mute Gerry Healy
    Favourite Gerry Healy
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:27 AM

Best prediction today!

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:32 AM

Yeah but it’s England – you have to get behind the lads.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:33 AM

But it’s England, so what and I hope England wins the competition.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer

Ireland. The cheated on wife that can’t help but keep going back to the husband that doesn’t give a s#it about her.

Mute Iúrach
    Favourite Iúrach

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3AyS6yAAJk

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stockholm_syndrome

We’re living under a crypto-fascist (ultra-corporatist) regime. Hopefully that will change by the 10th of March.

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery

What happens then?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:57 PM

Here here.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Observer, you are a sad little thing. Whilst Ireland will always be a great country, regardless of their elections -You won’t be able see that, but that’s OK.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:02 AM

Easter bunny steps in to save the day is my guess

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:49 AM

Where?

Mute Rob O Reilly
    Favourite Rob O Reilly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:03 PM

Hung Dail, do it all again !

Feb 26th 2016, 11:44 PM

FF and FG combined are on 50%. Just add a couple of others and hey presto you have a govt.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:30 AM

FF and FG should have more than enough seats without needing anyone else. Remember that 50% of first preference votes would almost certainly translate to more than 50% of the seats. The IT reckons FF and FG will probably end up with at least 90 seats between them, which would be a very comfortable majority (79 would be a majority).

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:31 AM

FG/FF/L or Renua?

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:39 AM

Why would they need labour and/or renua? FG would have gladly gone in with one or both of those parties if it allowed them to form a govt with out FF, but it won’t. And since FG and FF on their own should have enough seats, why would they include anyone else?

The only question for me is whether FF and FG really will go in together, or whether we have another election.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

Bye bye Labour.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

Bye nye Gerry too.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus

Sinn Féin increased their vote by 50% over 2011 election

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

1% a year for 5 years in the worst austerity budgets we’ve seen? FF gained more than that in the last few weeks ffs man. This time an hour and a half ago you thought you were destined for a majority and the polls were wrong ffs.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

Luke’s Fisher Price calculator ran out of batteries,lol! Almost as bad as Find Gael and their extra 4bn!

Mute Iúrach
    Favourite Iúrach

Why are you taking this as Gospel, Luke?

The sample size is 5,260.

When searching for the exit poll earlier, I came across a Reddit article with a sample size of 1046. Sinn Féin is leading at 20.1% of 1st preferences, while Fine Gael have 13.5%

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/164Tg1hp55K_P-6Eg-Hk32ld7Y8qzfUAt2NdwJTmowwI/viewanalytics?usp=form_confirm

Maybe the RTÉ & INM brainwashing will have paid off, but I honestly doubt it.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:04 AM

These are people that voted and the MOE is much lower 1.2% on this IT poll.

Mute Gerry McGuinness
    Favourite Gerry McGuinness
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:04 AM

Yeah, and 90% of today’s votes were cast by men. Highly accurate poll.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:10 AM
    Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo

Rest of Leinster
    In the rest of Leinster, Fine Gael is on 25.6 per cent; Fianna Fáil is on 23.9 per cent; Sinn Féin is on 17.8 per cent; Labour is on 8.5 per cent and Independents and others are on 24.3 per cent.
    The 24.3 per cent for Independents and others in the rest of Leinsterbreaks down as follows: Green Party 4.9 per cent; AAA-PBP 1.8 per cent; Social Democrats 5.1 per cent; Renua 2.9 per cent and others 9.6 per cent.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo

Munster
    In Munster, Fine Gael is on 24.1 per cent with Fianna Fáil on 25.9 per cent. Sinn Féin is on 11.2 per cent; Labour is on 8.8 per cent and Independents and others on 30 per cent.
    The 30 per cent for Independents and others in Munster breaks down as 2.7 per cent for the Green Party; 3.5 per cent for AAA-PBP; 1.5 per cent for the Social Democrats; Renua on 1.1 per cent and others on 21.2 per cent.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:12 AM

Connaught-Ulster
    In Connaught-Ulster Fine Gael is on 30 per cent, with Fianna Fáil just behind on 29.4 per cent. Sinn Féin is on 15.5 per cent, with Labour on 3.3 per cent and Independents and others on 21.8 per cent.
    Of the 21.8 per cent for others Connaught-Ulster, 1 per cent is for the Green Party ; AAA-PBP have polled 0.3 per cent; the Social Democrats are on 1 per cent; Renua is on 0.7 per cent and others are on 18.9 per cent .

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:14 AM

That’s a very interesting breakdown.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:18 AM

Social Democrats doing incredibly well considering how few candidates they have.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:19 AM

FF the big winners if these exit polls are anything to go by – still early days, but while SF will increase their seats, this is not the result they wanted – not by a long shot.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Thanks everyone

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:23 AM

Haha who seriously doubted it!

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

It was as mainly women counting them..

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:47 AM

You guys do realise this is an exit poll and not actual vote counting results coming in ?

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:11 AM

Yep we do, but it gives an early indication of where we are going Boganity.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 27th 2016, 8:01 AM

It’s does ? There’s no clear winner ?

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 10:26 AM

It does Boganity, no clear winner, but losers becoming clearer and clearer.

Mute Bi88les
    Favourite Bi88les
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:13 PM

How can you IDIOTS even CONSIDER a FF government?! The Irish electorate are like goldfish and DESERVE what they’re going to get!

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:40 PM

Absolf’inglutely

Mute James McCartney

Again it’s down to new faces. A lot of the individuals involved in the party during the crash are gone. And while I wouldn’t vote for them, my personal circumstances (and possibly the circumstances of many others) pre crash were a lot better under them. I can see it being FF/SF/AN Other to form a coalition. Gerry will do the deal if it means he’s Tanaiste for the centenary.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne

Tell it like it is. Predicted this outcome 4 years ago. Irish people are far too insular in their views.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:21 AM

Yep, sado masochistic to the core. Way too conservative as a nation.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:25 AM

Liam, and who can blame them?

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:36 AM

Bi88les, ahh, gives us a break, you believe in the electorate having made any good decisions, ever?

Mute mick1
    Favourite mick1
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:14 PM

I must be the only one that was effected by the actions of the fianna failures / green gom beens in the last government , ruined the country and sent people all over the world to find work . What do the Irish people do ? Turn around and vote for fianna fail again , absolute joke !!! If there was a fire in a house you don’t blame the firemen for causing it !! What ever recovery that has started ,we can kiss goodbye . The people who voted for that shower are complete muppets!!!!

Mute john king
    Favourite john king

It’ll be a very cold day in hell before I vote for FF again. I”ll not forget or forgive either.

Ger
    Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger

And what muppets voted FG .The party of the rich.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

The rich!!! And those who vote how their daddy voted

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney

The rich, I imagine, Ger.

Mute john king
    Favourite john king

Wasn’t that how FF stayed in power for so long until things went tits up? Rich Daddy votes?

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

It’s how the two big parties have always operated.

Mute James McCartney
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:16 AM

@mick1 History repeats itself. However FF would not have spent 14 years in Government if they hadn’t been doing something right for part of that. I grew up in what would traditionally have been seen as a working class area but we had a good standard of living and didn’t want for much. On the flipside of that coin I also believe FF contributed to the situation we now find ourselves in. The head in the sand stuff from people like Ahearn cannot be ignored. However people are very quick to pass the buck. Some of my family members took out loans to buy shares and others made similar stupid financial decisions. They rarely blamed themselves. Always someone else’s fault. And while FF encouraged it and deserve a portion of the blame I don’t believe we’d be in such a bad state if the EU hadn’t decided to intervene and force their draconian austerity measures upon us. Realistically everyone who bought into the idea of a Tiger economy and lived like there was no tomorrow deserves to take some blame. Unfortunately a lot of those who suffered the most (people who didn’t buy shares etc and were never flashing the cash) and don’t deserve any blame are the ones who suffered the most.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

John King, you’re hard man. Just don’t forget that voting of the little man will never change the true powers.

Mute mick1
    Favourite mick1
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:15 PM

At least we worked hard for what we have not sponged off the state like most people on this site !!

Mute Mairead Ni Chleirigh
    Favourite Mairead Ni Chleirigh

Can I just say.. I’m going to miss you Joan

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:09 PM

23 percent fianna failed seriously beyond the ridiculous

Mute Andrew Corcoran

It is, but it’s a reflection on the behaviour of FG over the past 5 years. Ends Kenny has rebuilt the FF party from the ashes.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott

Yet they are one and the same when in power. Hopefully they join forces and form one party in the future. Their differences are none. Their commonalities are eternal.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

lol…true Andrew….Enda was FF’s secret weapon.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd

Simple really but in come the other crowd talk about kicking you when you’re down, ,stand up Fine Gael capitalist cronyism at its finest wrapped up in Irish Water, its killing them!

Mute Andrew Corcoran

That will never happen Gavin, it’s like a pact between them to share the gravy and we’re the waiters.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Ever heard that austerity parties aren’t re-elected – ever?

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:23 PM

Delighted. Enda and all his smugness is really regretting not calling that election last November.

Mute Enda Kennny
    Favourite Enda Kennny
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:09 PM

Hup ya boy ya. Keep my recovery going. Ha ha ha ha

Mute Finbarr Hughes
    Favourite Finbarr Hughes

A huge vote for independents and thankfully a vote against wooden puppet Kenny!

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan

Poor Hugh is going to cry into his cornflakes at this news. Great stuff!

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil

I can see a hung Dail and a second election before the summer is out.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Phil, I would much prefer the summer to be in first…

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:10 AM

May well be Phil.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Feb 26th 2016, 10:58 PM

Here we go again….. Ffs

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:41 PM

Remember this is before transfers and eliminations so is not the outcome of the final seats.

Bad result for Labour and Sinn Fein (who were hoping to be at close to 19/20%)

Not great for Fine Gael , Soc Dems or AAA/PBP going down on expected recent polls.

Good result for Fianna Fail and Greens. (How did the greens get 3.6%?).

I think Michael Martin single handily managed to bring FF up that high.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly

as it’s on over 5,000 voters they say margin of error is only about 1.2% much less than the other polls on 1,000 sample

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity

Your clutching at straws Greg

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat

Laughable assessment let’s deal in facts . FG and Labour have bleed seats . Independents massive gains and FG and SF have gained seats .

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo

Spot on Greg very, very early days yet.

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:58 PM

**FF and SF gained seats

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114

1% error margin. FG down 10%, Labour down 10%. Disastrous result for the government. FF will hold the balance of power. Looking like a FG/FF history making partnership with some like minded independents. What now for Labour? The rats deserting the ship.

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey

I voted for SF Mary Lou McDonald, because she was giving out free BreakfastMcMuffins all over Ireland today before 10am in McDonalds.

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    Feb 27th 2016, 3:04 AM

Haha!!

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Feb 27th 2016, 3:58 AM

I genuinely feel like crying. Ffs. Ireland; the country obviously suffering from collective Stockholm Syndrome.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke

FF destroyed the country FG & LAB were just as bad and ejits vote them back in. I love my country, but I hate some of my idiot countrymen. Turkeys voting for Christmas.

Mute Consumer
    Favourite Consumer
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:45 PM

Chickens come home to roost for FG and Labour ……

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan

Who are people voting for FG are they – unbelievable!!! They must like punishment

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne

Just sheep

Mute Zool
    Favourite Zool

Who are the people voting for fianna fail they must be brain dead

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:13 AM

Just rigged :)

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:02 PM

That adds up to way more than 100% – did they even do a basic check on this?

Mute Damien McDaid
    Favourite Damien McDaid
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:11 PM

Sinn Fein must have done the maths on this poll. Oh!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster

They’ve forgotten to deduct the smaller parties from the Indy/Others

Mute lousybush
    Favourite lousybush
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:26 PM

Yea, that’s 112%!!

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

@damien, looking at how inflated the figure is its more like noonans fiscal space than Sinn Fein figures, though there’s not much between them

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity

It must have been edited because it adds up now

Mute Damien McDaid
    Favourite Damien McDaid

Ah I was only joking. Ya know, humour? I was very dissapointed trump wasn’t on polling card.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

With the way things are in this country he’d probably get elected too

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey

No they asked Michael 2 million Noonan

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169

Brinster – it does matter – it’s election!

Let’s keep the recovery going! Hahaha. What they meant was let’s keep our own little gravy train going, because nobody else is feeling it. Looking forward to the FG infighting now, should be good entertainment.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon

So much for the left revolution ..

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:27 AM

Jarrett, yeah, left is where we don’t own, just share. Oh, where is my landrover?

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica

The Healy Raes will have their Kerry International Airport, Casino and Petting Zoo after all.

Great day for the Independents.

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:34 PM

Cliff notes . Massive gains for independents . Massive loss for labour . Big losses for FG . Big wins for FF and SF .

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:07 PM

Hopefully correct. FG may be in government but they will be hog tied by FF or independents. Important to keep them neutralised as mu h as possible..

Mute Cathal O'Flaherty
    Favourite Cathal O'Flaherty
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:07 AM

In 1982,the combined FF/FG vote was 84%.In 2016,it’s under 50% for the first time.Things are changing,slowly but surely.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe

So its FF&FG 49%= government. SF & labour & other/independents 51% = opposition. Or another election

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley

Nobody has been elected yet, it’s not the referendum.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce

Sean Barrett has been

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin

What the actual f**k? There really is no point in voting in this country. If FF/FG/LAB get voted back in after the absolutely disgrace display of their parties towards the people, then I see no reason why to vote. Better to make friends with FG (like Hugh O’Connell from journal) and try and ar*elick your way into the kickbacks

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott

Social media is not ubiquitous. Not yet. Most right wing Irish folk have never heard of the journal. And the lefties only have a few hundred friends on here anyhow. Taking anything form from the journal is highly inaccurate.

Mute Zool
    Favourite Zool
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:05 AM

Enda Kenny and Burton managed to make a sows ear from a silk purse.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:20 AM

Some silk purse!!

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue

Here we go again….

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce

It’s deja vu all over again.

Mute Gerry Healy
    Favourite Gerry Healy
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:26 AM

shut up, you feckin eejit

Mute Derek Hughes
    Favourite Derek Hughes
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:12 AM

Fianna Fáil took the wrap for the Great Recession but it wasn’t all their fault. There was the base greed in the country at the time, banks were giving 100% loans for property people could not afford. The recession was world wide and no government in Ireland would have been able to fend it off. The real problem was with the ECB and the abundance of German Euro’s available to the Irish market. Not one of the German banks suffered as Herr Angela was their guardian angel and protected their interests while at the same time cutting the throats of the Irish people.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:16 AM

The Big Short is an excellent film based on a factual representation of how the global recession started and swept across the globe.
    The corruption is at the heart of the neo liberal capitalist economic system.
    The disturbing thing is that it will happen again and governments will be powerless to stop it.

Mute James McCartney

@Derek. They have to take a certain amount of blame. Think Bertie’s comments about people hanging themselves etc. In the grand scheme of things you’re right though. We as individuals have to be able to decide for ourselves what’s right and wrong. Had they stepped in and told us that they would manage our personal finances and decide what was best for us it would have been seen as a restriction of liberty and nanny stateism. Anyone who bought into the Tiger economy hype and spent more than they could ever afford to pay back is more guilty than any government party. The irony being it was the ones who didn’t buy into it were the ones who suffered most. And I mean suffered. Not, “I had to sell my big fancy car and can only afford two holidays a year”. People who worked all their lives and suddenly found themselves struggling to feed their families because they had been let go.

Mute Cathal McDonald
    Favourite Cathal McDonald

Still don’t get why we have to go to the Poles. Surely the Irish people should be the one to decide how we’re governed.

Mute Michael Fox
    Favourite Michael Fox

Nearly 50% for FF & FG, reflecting the fact that people are like sponges, soaking up the BS of our right wing media. This was not a democratic election.

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil

How not ? The people have had their say. Just because you disagree with the outcome does not mean the process is wrong.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor

The outcome is yet to be seen

Mute Naomhan Mc Crory
    Favourite Naomhan Mc Crory

Turkeys voting for Christmas! The electorate going to the polling booths to vote for who they dislike least, a sad state of affairs.

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Favourite John O Chrualaoich
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:17 PM

Delighted to see the main parties have manners put on them well done the downtrodden Irish electorate

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley

Votes move from Fine Gael to Fianna Fáil or independents, who are mostly Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil or unelectable. Yeah, lots of change alright…

Mute Ciaran Coye
    Favourite Ciaran Coye

Is it to be another one of those bloodless coups that Enda was on about?

Mute Joe Hunter
    Favourite Joe Hunter

As a friend said to me in 20 years off voting I have never seen or been questioned for an exit poll

Mute .
    Favourite .

SF were 26% in the polls a year ago now 14% what happened there? Might be FF and SF government FF please don’t wreck the economy again lads

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll

So ff fg and lab on 57% surprised its so high.

Mute Bi88les
    Favourite Bi88les

Goldfish. You Plonkers deserve what you’re going to impose on the rest of us.

Mute Liam Roche
    Favourite Liam Roche
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:19 PM

The people have spoken, the Bs!
    How could they do this? Just when the country has got back off its knees, we decide to have political instability and put it all at risk again.
    What are ye at!!!

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek

Yes, because stability is 1500 homeless children and old people dying on trolleys in hospital corridors?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

What are we at?…………….we’re punishing those who made private debt…sovereign. if it wasn’t for making private debt sovereign, we would be off our knees already. FF f**ked up and FG/Lab made sure we stayed f**ked up until 2044.

Mute Julie Denning
    Favourite Julie Denning
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:25 AM

Yes and unfortunately the parents of 380 of these children refused social housing because it was not in the right area. Not sure what the government can do about that

Mute DAVE KEANE
    Favourite DAVE KEANE

Wait until the count is complete before we make any judgements…everyone going by the exit poll..Tsk!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:56 AM

We are all free to make all the judgements we want.

Mute Bi88les
    Favourite Bi88les

Goldfish. You FF voters deserve what you’re going to impose on the rest of us.

Mute Zool
    Favourite Zool

Fianna fail! The people who voted for those crooks who wrecked the country are total idiots.

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:10 PM

Hopefully correct… Dont want any major party with too much control. The more hogtied the better..

Mute Seamus Corcoran
    Favourite Seamus Corcoran

The UK election tells us all we need to know about exit polls.

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:58 PM

Exit polls were accurate. The opinion polls were way out.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:25 AM

The UK exit polls were highly accurate. The prospective polls were slightly out but a small percentage shift in the UK system made a big political difference between the expected hung parliament and a small overall majority. Under PR, such effects are damped.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

KABLAMMO! FG/Labour the equivalent of everyone who gave FF a first preference.

Roll on the transfers !

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

* losing the equivalent

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:27 AM

FC, And the SF/Labour vote is down also in comparison to the polls of 12 months ago, compared to these exit polls today.

As you said yourself the only poll that counts is polling day and so far 14.9% (7.8 Labour) TODAY in the exit poll is the lowest for SF/Labour in years.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

FF took a kicking in Dublin. SF took a kicking in Munster.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek

I’ve lost hope for this country. FF FG they’re the same…its all about, you prefer DeValera or Collins. Irrelevant in 2016. Always a conservative led Government…always. Don’t complain if you vote for either, you deserve the consequences. We need to think outside the Fg/Ff box guys.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:34 AM

Spot on….it’d be hilarious if it wasn’t true.

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:41 AM

Oh, Derek, how did you come to such a revolutionary conclusion?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek

Oh bot head, or whatever the f’ck your name is…There’s no conclusion, just massive confusion and delusion. And lose the condescension, doesn’t suit you.

Con
    Mute Con
    Favourite Con

People giving out about how people voted in a way they don’t agree with. Terrible thing democracy!!

Mute AS15169
    Favourite AS15169
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:39 AM

Con, democracy is cool. Makes you think you have power. You just have to share it with 3mio ppl.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty

Up Sinn Féin.

Mute Cork Truck Driver
    Favourite Cork Truck Driver

I didn’t vote FF/FG/LAB or Greens and still we will end up with a crashed economy round 2. Trocaire boxes for the irish next.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

You don’t realise that this is good…..it will make the established parties take a good look at themselves and their actions.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

It’s a very positive result fro independents and I’d say if some of them are of a high standard the SD’s will hopefully poach them going forward.

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:04 AM

I guess YFG members are now wondering if all there hours trolling social media to all the left leaning candidates was worth it. FF huge gains mostly from there voter base . Better send Hayes back to Europe with his “let’s keep the recovery going and fiscal space ” slogans.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh

Bye bye boys and girls. Thanks for the memories, now move over !

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:34 AM

You do realise that FG are probably still going to be in govt? Based on these figures, there will probably be no viable coalition without FG. Even SF, FF and labour combined won’t have enough seats.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:26 PM

The poll adds up to 112.5% Ffs…

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:48 AM

First order of business, lads, two referenda to be held on the same day: secure all freshwater resources in the ownership of the Irish people, and delete the 8th amendment. Then we can get on with the business of much needed reform.

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil

Transfers will be key. I can see alot of FF transfers going to SF. FG to Labour and independent to other independents. Alot of people I know went independent the whole way down

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler

F.F. will transfer to Lab before S.F.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú

I predict Enda gets the door and Leo agrees to form government with FF. #GE2016

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:50 PM

I think Leo would have a tough time getting the FG reigns. FG is still a conservative Catholic party.

Mute James McCartney

@Fear Uisce. You’re not wrong. Coveney will be seen as the safer choice. While I don’t think someone should be judged on their sexuality Varadker may not appeal to some of the more conservative minded.

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon

Try and see this logically for a second. Ireland depends on investment from, outside. Ireland depends on trade with, other countries. Ireland is a member of the, eurozone. Exactly what do you think all these independents or Sinn Féin can do? Sweet f all because when it comes down to it their as much use as a pair of boxing gloves in a porn booth. The only leverage Ireland had was after the last election and See what happened then. Whether there’s another election or not if anyone thinks there’s going to be a change forget it. The State of Idaho has more sovreign powers than the Dáil now. Wait and see if anything really changes. Games and bread folks, thats all it is, just games and bread now back to Netflix, nothing to see here, move along now.

Mute Pol O Misteal
    Favourite Pol O Misteal

Looking at it logically for a second. The people depend on a functioning health service. A way to cope if things go tits up. A small inkling that they are not just pawns in the games of the elites. I don’t think any of those things, if achieved, would scare off Apple, but would make this a better country. Still, I suppose I’d better get back to my bread and water, and I’ve got Game of Thrones on pause.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:18 AM

Oh that’s just awful Mark Andrew. Tell me Mark Andrew, has it put you right off your quail eggs and champagne? Seriously…..what you just said above is that Ireland is the world’s b!tch. Well done old chap.

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley

Surely the end of civil war politics if nothing else. Interesting days ahead.

Interesting years ahead if the old conservative-in-power/conservative-in-opposition dail changes so the opposition is not conservative.

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce

Friends
    Countrymen.
    Tonight I am proud of you all.
    We came to bury Caesar…..and the job is done.
    Up the Republic.

Mute Liam Roche
    Favourite Liam Roche
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:20 PM

The people have spoken, the Bs!
    How could they do this? Just when the country has got back off its knees, we decide to have political instability and put it all at risk again.

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll

Ha!

Mute DAVE KEANE
    Favourite DAVE KEANE

Wait until the count is complete before we make any judgements…everyone going by the exit poll..Tsk!

Mute C Ní Bhaoill
    Favourite C Ní Bhaoill

Gombeen Dáil, hope Sinn Fein do well in count of the Centenary year of the Rising God Save Ireland

Mute Andrew Corcoran

Is it possible (I know he said he wouldn’t and we all know politicians are true to their word!) that M Martin could form a government with SF and some independents? Is it beyond the realms of possibility? Does he wants to be Endas’ Tanaiste or Gerrys’ Taoiseach?

Mute James McCartney

Spot on there I think.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:30 AM

Definitely viable. Perhaps with a change in the near future with Mary Lou or Pearse Doherty taking over the Tainaste mantel post 2016.

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:58 AM

I guess the monkey and our favorite driving instructor are crying into their Enda sleeping bags . Can’t wait to see there spin on the present government bleeding seats .

Mute Noel Wilson
    Favourite Noel Wilson

Greens have done well on these numbers, hopefully it will translate into seats. Climate change hasn’t gone away y’know!

Mute James McCartney

The Green Party are never likely to get many seats in times of austerity though. Many of their policies are extremely commendable and Trevor Sargent was without a doubt one of the most honest politicians this country ever produced (think Don Lydon getting him in a headlock when he waved a cheque from a developer around asking who else had been sent one) but people are less concerned with conserving the environment when they struggle to put food on the table.

Mute The IMF are here
    Favourite The IMF are here

Sinn Fein don’t get transfers historically or even in the locals in 2014 so 16% means decent seat return but nowhere near what they planned.

Mute Declan hehir
    Favourite Declan hehir

What had they planned

Mute Stephen Luco
    Favourite Stephen Luco

Brilliant

Mute StrontiumDog
    Favourite StrontiumDog
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:19 AM

Voting independent and protest voting I understand. Voting FF I cannot understand….. like WTF?!! You do know they handed over the keys to our sovereignty for others to do the books because of gross mismanagement?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

FF and FG for a right wing government.

Analysis by a German bank indicates that the desired outcome is an FG led government because FG is most favourable to the Irish Banks.

The real power and control in Ireland resides with the ECB, the German Banks, the Irish banks and the Irish politicians who perceive of the interests of the Irish banks as coinciding with the interests of the Irish people.

It’s a financial isel economy and the interests of the Irish Banks are paramount.

Mute Michael walsh
    Favourite Michael walsh
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:49 AM

This country has a short memory
    Shame on us
    We’ll end up with the same rubbish as Spain

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:20 PM

Independents win. Lol. People are really confused in this country. Perhaps another election. People voting FF and not keeping the simple recovery going are anarchists. (Same people who voted FG last time)

Mute Andrew Corcoran

The vast majority of people don’t see this so called recovery. The people have spoken. Isn’t democracy just the worst!!

Mute Patrick Doyle
    Favourite Patrick Doyle
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:33 AM

Fianna Fáil. The party for all.. Until you look at the evidence. So many muppets ,.. So many

Mute James O'Sullivan
    Favourite James O'Sullivan
    Feb 27th 2016, 1:42 AM

To compare this directly with 2011 votes the result would be

FG 36 – 26 ( down 28%) ……. LAB 20 – 8 ( down 60%) ……. FF 18 – 23 (up 28%) …… SF 10 – 15 (up 50%)

So despite the huge and deliberate media campaign SF gained 50%. It is a credit to the public who can now see beyond propaganda and should give the Spin Doctors something to think about. Future politics in Ireland will be a clearer left v right as FF/FG merge.

Mute Cathal McDonald
    Favourite Cathal McDonald

Still don’t get why we have to go to the Poles. Surely the Irish people should be the ones to decide how we’re governed.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Feb 26th 2016, 11:40 PM

Wasn’t funny the first time

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:00 AM

Anything is funny compared to the news of Fianna Fail being forgiven by the electorate.

Mute Richie Meade
    Favourite Richie Meade

Let’s do it all again. History repeating people

Mute John O Chrualaoich
    Favourite John O Chrualaoich

It’s like Mrs Browns boys had never happened

Mute Liam Roche
    Favourite Liam Roche

Oh no

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:03 AM

Irish people are stupid. Voting FF after what they did to this country. Irish people deserve everything they get. Mucksavages should be denied a vote.

Mute Laura Ryan
    Favourite Laura Ryan

Well well well….

Mute John Mossy Naz Scales
    Favourite John Mossy Naz Scales
    Feb 27th 2016, 3:47 AM

Anybody seen dermo??? Lols please keep an eye out in your local pond/lake.

Mute postmanbill
    Favourite postmanbill
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:51 AM

The people have spoken labour finished as a party of the ordinary people.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Feb 27th 2016, 2:39 AM

A breakdown of 1st preferences by region would be interesting (where FF made the gains and where FG/Labour lost seats). Also worth while tracking what happens to government TD’s who loose their seats and what employment opportunities the more senior ones get in the near future (e.g Peter Power after Feb 2011)

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Feb 27th 2016, 3:15 AM

BTW, again with the nuns Journal?

Mute Declan hehir
    Favourite Declan hehir

I presume there 4% error warning on these polls which would throw the thing all up in the air or are exit polls meant to be more accurate . Anyone have thoughts on this

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Feb 27th 2016, 12:35 AM

It was a large sample. 5000 i thnk. Margin of error 1.4% or so..

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan

Rainbow then?

Dec
    Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec

We’ll have to do it all over again soon. …

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky

Cat among the pigeons

Dec
    Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec

Another election in a few months?

Feb 27th 2016, 12:20 PM

So S.F. could create a government with Independents then?

Mute John Pidgeon
    Favourite John Pidgeon
    Feb 27th 2016, 6:31 AM

Time for Enda,Joan and Gerry to step down.

Feb 27th 2016, 12:21 PM

Time for Enda and Joan to step down…

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky

Cat among the pigeons haha

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Feb 27th 2016, 9:49 AM

I made a very pessimistic comment here yesterday about the futility of voting while parties are allowed to maintain the whip system.

I’m glad a well versed reply compelled me to get up off my keyboard and do it. The exit polls are promising for Independents There’s a shift in the tide here. That’s the only recovery we need to keep the momentum on.

Feb 27th 2016, 12:15 PM

So those Red C polls are just full of it, makes you wonder how much power has the government over them…

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky

Cat among the pigeons. .haha

Mute NiallD
    Favourite NiallD
    Feb 27th 2016, 7:24 AM

Irish people are not stupid. more Greedy. We partied and got one hell of a hangover.

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Feb 27th 2016, 5:26 AM

The maths here is deceptive. For an example, a rise from 16% to 28% is a rise of 12% of the *total poll*. It’s a 75% increase in support on the baseline. This is not being pedantic; the figures have exact definitions for clarity; this article lacks this. C- for the author.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky

Cat among the pigeons ha ha

Mute Paul O Neill
    Favourite Paul O Neill

Labour whipped Fine Gael kicked most off all the establishment torn apart.

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions and subtitles off, selected