You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Royal Air Force helicopter, in the Glens of Antrim, which has started dropping feed to thousands of farm animals. Paul Faith/PA Wire

PICS: Snow-ice warning in place as Irish Air Corps aids NI snowbound livestock

Thousands of snowbound animals in the North are feared dead, but the extent of the losses are unclear as most are buried below thick blankets of snow.

MET ÉIREANN’S WEATHER warning is still in place this morning for Leinster, Cavan and Monaghan following a night of sleet and snow showers.

There are some small accumulations of snow on low levels and around 3-5 cm on higher ground as well as wide spread icy patches.

Today will remain cold but the frost is expected to thaw during the afternoon. There will be scattered hail and snow showers, mainly across eastern areas and will be frequent near Irish Sea coasts. Met Éireann says there will be a few sunny breaks too, best in the west.

AA Roadwatch are warning drivers to “slow down and keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front” as the snow is affecting motorists in a number of areas.

Gardaí have cleared two collisions from the M4 Sligo/Dublin Road eastbound between J7 Maynooth and J6 Celbridge but are now dealing with a third crash.

In the North, the Government has agreed to provide the Air Corps to assist farmers to deliver food stock to snowbound livestock as the agriculture crisis triggered by blizzards deepens. Thousands of animals are feared dead, but the extent of the losses is still unclear as most of the missing livestock are buried below the thick blankets of snow that have enveloped parts of counties Antrim and Down.

Here are some pictures of the weather conditions sent in the TheJournal.ie readers:

Snow and ice
1 / 7
  • Snow and ice

Snow in Beaumont. (Image: Sarah Sheils/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Happy Easter! (Image: Anon/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Dublin Airport at 8am. (Image: Michael Carr/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Snow in Clonee, Dublin 15 at 7.30 am. (Image: Paul Mullen/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Not a hint of snow Sligo. (Image: Claire/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Snow falling at Dublin Airport, picture taken at 07.10 am. (Image: Anon/TheJournal.ie reader)
  • Snow and ice

Day of the by-election and it's snowing in South East Meath. (Image: Master Joe/TheJournal.ie reader)

Read: Met Éireann issues weather warning as snow and ‘bitter cold’ hits >

More: Call into elderly during cold snap, says ALONE >

Read: Ireland escapes overnight rain but weather warning continues >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Conor McKenna
    Favourite Conor McKenna
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:28 AM

Too little too late for NI farmers, horrowing watching them dig out their sheep and lambs whom died of exposure shortly after being born. Troops be it regular or TA should be on the ground. Granted it is a localized problem Antrim & Down. But none the less rural communities are often neglected by Government.

Mute Kevin Dennis
    Favourite Kevin Dennis
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:18 AM

Horrible watching the poor animals suffering. During my 26 years on this earth and experiencing spring, I can never remember it being this cold. My back garden is full of snow.

People say that they emigrate due to the economy – not moi.

Time to move to a warmer clime. Bollix to 8 months of rain, wind and sneachta.

Mute Truthytruthteller
    Favourite Truthytruthteller
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:40 AM

@ Kevin

I think most people are thinking the same i.e moving to a.hotter climate.

Anyone would think this weather is a government plot…..

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:50 AM

Kevin

In my 44 years of being around I have seen it snow in April. My father in law in his 80 odd years has even seen it snow on in June.

Mute Kevin Dennis
    Favourite Kevin Dennis
    Mar 27th 2013, 10:32 AM

@Truth

I lived in Spain for a while. It was 21 degrees on the eve before Christmas eve. Ahhh, good times. If Ireland had a similar climate, I would never leave. Can you imagine our beaches, lakes, mountains and other pieces of scenery, if they were sun kissed for six months of the year?

@Carcu

Thats our weather wrapped up in a nutshell. I remember the mercury hitting 25, on paddys day 1999. I was playing a football tournament and got burnt to a crisp. Irish fecking weather.

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:46 AM

You know times have changed in the North when a Sinn Fein minister asks the asks the RAF if they can use their helicopters

Mute Simone Fennell
    Favourite Simone Fennell
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:06 AM

Or a Stormont regime asking the Irish Defence Forces to cross the border

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:14 AM

A very significant development in cross border co-operation when you think about it

Mute Dan Selfridge
    Favourite Dan Selfridge
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:45 AM

@vocal – true, but the British Army Air Corps and the Irish Air Corps have cross trained and co- operated for years, right the way through the troubles. Especially where life saving is involved. It just wasn’t publicised. Many a time for example, when the Irish navy are at a rescue and co- op’ing with a RAF maritime patrol aircraft. So, it is a good sign of the times that that cooperation can be celebrated and our soldiers and airman get the admiration they deserve.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Mar 27th 2013, 10:02 AM

Dan

Don’t forget the long standing fire brigade agreement between Belfast & Dublin fire brigade, which stretches back to the 1940’s. At that time when Belfast was bombed during the war members of the Dublin fire brigade would travel to provide assistance to the people of Belfast. Even today the understand remains that should the fire brigade of either city require additional help members of the other city would make themselves available.

I think all these examples shows that the professionalism of all sides of the divide can and do make themselves available for humanitarian efforts regardless of religious or political beliefs of those affected. Something our religious and political leaders should have long ago learnt.

Mute Truthytruthteller
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:14 AM

Gotta love the snow, hides all the rubbish.

Now if only we could have snow at 25 degrees………….

Mute John Gorman
    Favourite John Gorman
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:41 AM

I’m putting the decorations back up this is great. Turkey on Sunday and a long weekend, yippee. Sorry about yer lambs though.

Mute Truthytruthteller
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:47 AM

lol

Turkey, stuffing, snow, chocolate, wine, beer, snooze.

Repeat ad nauseum

Mute Joe Cassidy
    Favourite Joe Cassidy
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:20 AM

The teachers should be made clear up the snow!

Mute Simone Fennell
    Favourite Simone Fennell
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:43 AM

How many times have you heard people say “We don’t need a army ‘cos de Brits will help us out if we ever need one”?

Well there you go now

Mute Truthytruthteller
    Mar 27th 2013, 12:11 PM

The free state army are nothing more than a british army regiment.

Mute Simone Fennell
    Favourite Simone Fennell
    Mar 27th 2013, 1:34 PM

Lol!

Mute Paul Whelan
    Favourite Paul Whelan
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:26 AM

Am I too late to mention bondholders?

Mute Brian Larkin
    Favourite Brian Larkin
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:32 AM

What kind of aircraft do we have that can aid the farmers in the north. I don’t think we have any chinooks

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:44 AM

Air Corps have the following helicopters.
    6 Agusta Westland, & 2 Eurocopters.
    Not a lot but anything that can aid in the efforts will be most welcome I would assume.

Mute Dan Selfridge
    Favourite Dan Selfridge
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:47 AM

Augusta Westland AW139. Six of them I think. Plus a few other fixed and rotary wing aircraft. They can carry up to 14 fully loaded troops, so a couple bales of silage hanging under them shouldn’t be a problem for them.
    Ireland has a very skilled and capable Air Corps. They also fly the Garda helicopters.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:13 AM

Just a quick question, but why are they not assisting farmers down here, or are the conditions much worse up north, hence greater threat to livestock?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:32 AM

Vocal, maybe because the farmers down there don’t need help as much as up there!

Mute shadow75
    Favourite shadow75
    Mar 27th 2013, 11:05 AM

First their fleg was taken down off city hall now they have aircraft flying overhead with the lovely green white & orange painted on the fuselage,their knickers will be getting twisted

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:44 AM

I think this is the almighty above who ever we believe in telling us to stop sining and repent.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Mar 27th 2013, 8:45 AM

So out with the threesomes so?

Mute Truthytruthteller
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:08 AM

Denise…

Shouldn’t we all be sun burnt, maybe the almighty is mixed up……

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:49 AM

WHAT???

Mute shadow75
    Favourite shadow75
    Mar 27th 2013, 10:48 AM

No Denise it’s just plain ol snow,not fairy dust

Mute vic
    Favourite vic
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:04 AM

Any of our polish migrants will laugh at this story. That’s not snow!

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:23 AM

Eh, it is. I live in Poland and it’s been snowing on and off since November sometimes with temperatures of -18. But not at one stage over the last five months have I seen snow like that in the pictures I’m seeing of Ireland recently.

Mute Gail McKeever
    Favourite Gail McKeever
    Mar 27th 2013, 9:26 AM

@vic…have you seen the snow in the north? I don’t think anybody from any country would be laughing!

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    Mar 27th 2013, 10:32 AM

I agree some of the people in NI might need a bit of help, but while the Government is spending OUR austerity-raised money, could they not pay attention to the call from ALONE and give some extra money to the old & infirm here for extra fuel costs?

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Mar 27th 2013, 10:59 AM

You can’t please all the people all the time..